Reviews for Commandos 2: Men of Courage

93

Even better than the first

Gmen | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Commandos ended up being quite a hit, even spawning an expansion pack. But getting on to the sequel – it had to be even better than the original game, and boy was it.

Missions now have beautiful music that plays in the background (in my opinion one of the best game soundtracks of all time). The sound is much better in this game, with incredible detail right down to the footsteps on surfaces and more variety than the original game. There are new characters introduced here, and the look and animation of all characters is improved. Their abilities go far beyond the limitations of the original, with all characters now able to drive vehicles except tanks (almost rendering the driver redundant), wear enemy uniforms, and you can climb just about anything, and swim just about anywhere too.

The graphics in this game are better in general, and while it is still played from an isometric 2D angle, one can even rotate the camera so you aren’t stuck with the same boring and restrictive view all the time. You can even zoom in to get a better look.

Even more varied locations are visited in this game than the original, including the Pacific theatre where you fight the Japanese, and add to that there are some bonus missions as well, altogether making this my favourite in the series to date. It's also arguably a bit easier for new players to get into initially, but make no mistake, the missions can and do get challenging later on.

95

One of the Best Sequels of All Time

phool | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Taking the same gameplay mechanics from the first game, Pyro Studios have fine-tuned, tweaked and refined them to perfection for this follow up to Commandos. Taking the same core group of elite soldiers (i.e. commandos) that was present in the first game - with a few new tricks to boot - and a sprinkling of new characters, you must make your way through missions deep within enemy territory to put a stop to the axis forces.

While not as difficult as the previous game, the difficulty reaches that fine balance of being challenging enough to be rewarding when you complete a mission while not being overly difficult that it becomes frustrating. Commandos 2 is a shining example of what all sequels should aim to achieve in improving on the original game.

While it retains all of the aspects that made the first game fun and enjoyable, Commandos 2 polishes them even more and adds a plethora of new content and gameplay (including the ability to enter and exit buildings). Coupled with the gorgeously rendered environments, and unique personalities of each member of your squad, makes this one of the best sequels for any game ever.

89

A very good game

odren | July 22, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

I first played commandos 2 years ago and I found it enjoyable, it was difficult and took some time to work out ways to do its very varied levels and also to collect all of the bonus books in each level. I enjoyed it enough that i play it every so often even to this day. if you've never played it then it's worth giving it a go and if you played a long time ago it's worth giving it another go

74

Fine Game.

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

Good game if it is on a deal , like 75% or so. Good strategy game. Average story. and campaign.

92

A better but easier game than its predecessor

abelfs | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

One of the best games that I have ever played of its genre. And it is a Spanish creation (yes, I am from Spain). There's this excellent aura that works well with pretty graphics for 2.5D and its level of difficulty. There's nothing more fun than setting up a plan and killing a myriad of enemies. Once you find out how manage with the new controls, you'll find that the game is easier than the first Commandos. First, you have to accept that this isn't a rambo style game but more of a stealth and conquer. Design gets a 9 for the time it was made. The OST is incredible.. Gameplay is fluid and not restrictive for 2.5D. Plot is average, like all 2nd World War based games, but it pans out nicely. Highly recommendable.

84

Best Commandos Game

dark2025 | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

Commandos is a fairly unique game in that it's a real time tactics game where your group of units are trapped deep behind enemy lines. You are outnumbered and outgunned. Stealth plays a HUGE part here. If you get involved in straight up gun-fights then your chances of getting out alive becomes pretty minimal. Rather, you have to observe the enemy soldiers, set traps or distractions and kill silently or just plain avoid the guards. Then you must make your way to accomplish objectives such as rescuing somebody, blowing up certain structures or installations, etc.

It can be difficult, but if you're patient and clever in your tactics you will be rewarded. Highly recommended.

76

Commandos 2: Men of Courage

maciej2601 | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Continuation of a great tactical game series, in which we control a group of commandos. Each of the men has a distinct skill, so it is necessary to close cooperation. This time, developers have prepared ten missions located in different locations (Europe, Africa, etc.). The novelty is fighting inside buildings and objects, for example, the possibility to exchange between team members.

88

A particular strategic game

panz3r88 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Commandos 2 is a very particular strategic game. In each mission you must command a few soldier and you must use their unique abilities in the best way to reach your objectives. The mission are very long and hard but amazing and a good variety of objectives. The collectibles present in each level represent and extra challenge during the level: if you get all these collectibles you can even unlock bonus levels. Commandos 2 is the game to buy if you like strategic games and you want to find a good challenge

91

Best of the series

Cooberstooge | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Looking for some old-school RTS action? Commandos 2 is your ticket! Placing your guys where they can do the most damage, yet stay unnoticed is unbelievably fun. Letting them rip apart objectives is fun in its own right, and their personalities just add to the obvious care the devs took when crafting this game.

Graphically, the game is very well-detailed for its age, and you'll often find yourself just looking around at the scenery before and after completing a mission. Commandos 2 manages to have its own style, without varying too much from the ton of other RTS war games that came out around the same time.

The voice overs for your squad are great, and you can tell each person gave it their all during the recordings. The characters become much more unique and real with them, unlike the usual Mr. Monotone most games seem to employ.

I cannot recommend this game enough - you just have to play it!

84

Good Game

simonsix | June 21, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Good Game. There's nothing more fun than setting up a plan and killing a myriad of enemies. At first, it was really hard and only because I kept rushing. Finally I got around to accepting this wasn't a rambo-esq style game but more of a stealth and conquer.co-op with 2-3 friends it is astoundingly good .

90

A must have sequel!!

faraany3k | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Commandos is one of the best action RTS of the yesteryear. You are to control elite British commando squad in a variety of fabulously created WW2 battlefields. Combining elements of tactics and split second actions make it an instant classic. For a strategy game graphics are also top notch. If you are new to the series or a returning player, game has a loads of interesting and new stuff to offer. This part is true to its roots and has all the elements that made part 1 such unique and exhilarating experience. Another thing that a series veteran might notice is this game is actually easier then its previous parts. But easy in not a bad way. They have actually removed the elements that made first 2 parts spanking difficult.I suggest to get this game asap, as this is the benchmark rts game, the best this PC genre has to offer.

95

The second best Commandos!

newn | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This is the second best Commandos, which was improved a lot compared to Commandos 1. It's got much better sounds, improved graphics, better AI, new gaming features, like abilities for the characters. This sequel is a bit longer than Commandos 3 but shorter than Commandos one. I don't really know if it's shorter because it's easier, or because the levels are just shorter.

It's an extremely fun game and requires a lot of tactical planning in places, if you liked Commandos 1 - you'll love it. It will definitely give you at least a few hours of great gameplay; if you like exploring everything - even more!

90

The best commandos

SaadKhawaja | July 31, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

I really didn't get into the first game that much but this one just simply blew me away. It was fantastic to plan your moves and put your commandos in the right place to take out the right enemy. One of the best strategy games I played. The new toys you get were fantastic and each commando had so much personality (even without voice overs for the most part) that it was simply fun to watch them tear up an encampment on their own. Solid 9/10

80

Sequel to one of the Greatest

IganX | July 21, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

Commandos 2 is a very decent sequel to Commandos, the game which started a new concept in RTS. This game has made some major improvements with respect to the previous, such as the better graphics, the better control of your squad, the increased amount of units that appear, and some really cool missions and storyline. You can play this game even if you didn't play Commandos, so if you are new to the series and the 1st game's graphics make you doubt, this one is a great way of getting started.

90

Really good sequel !!

megnamon | June 11, 2011 | See all megnamon's reviews »

I think the Commandos 2 : Men of Courage is really great sequel . Overall , everything is improved.

First off , the gameplay is remained same with some additions . We can revive back squadmates using Syringe Health . On first game, we cannot revive the squadmates, only can simply heal them . This is better because help for newbie players to play without frustating failure to repeat the mission because the comrades is died. Another feature is improvation of GUI . Easy to understand , clear with explaination for items and has some hotkeys for some items like medical pack , grenade .

Moreover, the most SURPRISINGLY feature is the graphic . I saw it, really wonderful. Although using 3D rendered with pre-textured animation , it still the best . The drawback is that its camera. It only can be rotated 4 axis . This is a bit annoying because we cannot seamless rotating the camera to see the surrounding for tactics .

The weapons feature is also great . Many weapons can be choosed and used such as pistol , rifle , machine-gun , flame-thrower and even a bazooka ( what a totally destruction ) .

Beware, i advice this game for patient player only.It requires strategies to accomplish. Although we can save game, it only reducing the realism when we playing.

Finally, this is best game i've ever played. I recommend to everyone to play it.

75

Just a good sequel

ZippaLip | April 15, 2011 | See all ZippaLip's reviews »

Commandos 2 is a good sequel. Pros: the graphic improvements (you can now enter into the buildings), more details (you can search into buildings, there's also some pieces of maps to unblock bonus levels) , good simulation of 3D effects (the game is still isometric), new gameplay features (such as the noise when yo move that can be heard by the enemies), new characters and abilities (for example the thief and his dog), new locations worldwide (including the Asian front against the Japanese). The weaknesses are: only 10 missions and the difficulty is easier. You can complete the mission in a faster way, the deep exploration is optional, only if you want discover maps or special items. In fact now you can act more whit “Rambo style”: killing the enemies in action instead of catching them whit stealth tactics, so the atmosphere of the original Commandos is somehow gone. But overall is a good game.

90

Behind enemy lines. Again...

fearon | April 8, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

Commandos 2 is what we can call a perfect sequel. It turns tactical sneaking on brand new level and gives an opportunity to acomplished goals in lots of ways! You'll challange lot of mission, each one unique and with personal atmosphere. You'll find enormous references to the classic war movies, such as Bridge on the River Kwaii. But it's not everything. You can unlock bonus missions, each for one normal. If you ever wanted to command you're own deadly dozen, Commandos 2 is the best choice.

85

Thankfully, not a botched sequel

Jahman | April 7, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

Commandos 2: Men of Courage is an honest successor to the first part in the series and it's expansion.

While the gameplay remains mostly the same, it brings in a couple of new characters (like the thief), loads of new skills and actions (such as climbing up the walls or entering buildings through windows). This alone is more than enough to want to jump right back into WW2 action after finishing the first part of the series.

Unfortunately, while the graphics have vastly improved, the introduction of the 3D building interiors was, in my opinion, not the best idea. It's not always the case, but often, coupled with awkward the camera work and pixelated objects in the 3D environment, you won't notice the enemy until you walk right into him. Still, the higher resolution levels are much more visually pleasing than the one in the previous installments.

Simply put, Commandos 2 is as much fun as the first part if not more. New additions really improve the gameplay and, while it still requires a lot of patience, improve the pace and add many new solutions to the presented challenges.

My favorite way of playing consisted mostly of clearing the entire map, one German at a time, and while it might sound monotonous, believe me - it was fun - and that alone says something about the game.