Reviews for NBA 2K13

65

Really 2k?

haider786 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all haider786's reviews »

Sadly to say this game was a bust on pc. Once again 2k removes key features in this game that are present on consoles and not pc. The graphics are toned down from the consoles as well. I dont know why they would do this . Just pick it up for the console and you will be more satisfied. The pc version removes VC which is 2k's new currency. The online sucks and this game is just a No on pc! Spend your money well and pick it up on console. Pc= Not recommended. Console= Highly recommended

80

NBA game basketball lovers should own

GeorgeS45 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all GeorgeS45's reviews »

This is game fantastic for both basketball lovers and non-basketball lovers. As someone who experienced an injury during a bball game, I was able to interact with bball again through this game. The gameplay is fabulous and the gameplay is very realistic. However, the graphics (people) lower its realism due to the weird animations OCCASIONALLY. Overall, I think this game is well worth it especially when I got it for nearly $3.75. An NBA game that you should buy!

85

Fun Basketball Game

lizardspenguin | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all lizardspenguin's reviews »

I have played every NBA 2K game going back to the dreamcast. I have always found this series the most entertaining and exciting bball game on the market. Animations look natural, commentating is pretty good, and the dunks are exciting. The presentation is okay. The intros leading into the games are pretty good, but the generic half time show doesn't match it. The coaches on the sideline look strange sometimes too. They always seem to have a blank awkward stare on their faces. I feel like the cpu defense has been dulled down a little compared to 2k11 & 2k12. It makes for a more enjoyable experience and exciting plays, but games are still competitive. I managed to grab this during a 24 hour sale for $4 so I feel like I easily got my moneys worth :) I would give it a 90, but I'll have to drop it down to an 85 just because they feature Justin Bieber in the game...

90

Great NBA game

omgimahero | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all omgimahero's reviews »

Play in the NBA as yourself however you like it and however you want your character to look. I made a 100pound unstoppable dunker. Overall a great game and requires some time to learn the technical moves in game but this made it really realistic.

A must have game in your library if you are a fan of basketball! Get it now!

84

Best NBA game, so far.

BubbaSquare | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

As NBA 2K14 is around the corner, you may be asking; Is the investment toward a soon-to-be outdated game worth it? And the answer is yes. As of now, the number of modding capabilities for this game is limitless (want to play as DC characters instead of the regular old NBA players? Modders got your back) The graphics are also boostable through modding (making the game far better looking than the 360/PS3 counterparts). The gameplay, and more specifically Career Mode, makes this game a hell of a lot of fun to play, and also addicting as chocolate milkshakes! 2K14 is around the corner, but you have to also realize the extremely large and well built modding community already exists for 2K13. Overall, excellent game, don't hesitate to buy :)

45

False reviews

maf | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all maf's reviews »

This game game is worth few dollars. Good for occasinal players who will excuse older graphics. Do not believe everything you read on internet and do not believe all "user" reviews. Especially many positive reviews are paid and not authentic. Maybe the best you can do is watch some gameplay video and make your own opinion. Beware all those "THE BEST OF BEST" reviews.

83

Really great

Stanovk | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Stanovk's reviews »

This game is excellent. everything feels more on point. everything is how it should be, the only thing bad is the multiplayer, i cant get somebody with a stable connection. Great game though, its produced by jay-z so it has amazing soundtrack. This one is good for if you have friends over, and something to do when the game isnt on.

86

Best ever

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

NBA 2k has really won over tons of basketball fans and why shoulnd't it? Its certainly the best basketball game around ,well to be fair its the only one but for good reason. They are simple put, the best basketball game ever. Its a great simulation of the real sport, very realistic. You can't just shoot 3 pointers all game, you have to actually work the ball around and utilize all of your players on the court. You can't spam the steal button either when on defence or jump like a mad man trying to block a shot. The graphics are also top notch and some of the best and most detailed around for as ports game. If you're a sim fan and a fan of basketball, its definitely worth buying.

85

Definitely the best NBA game

Jimmysil | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

If you want to play basketball on your PC, then you have to play NBA 2K13. It will take your breath away. The soundtrack is just great and you won't mind listening to the same songs all over again, because they have chosen the best they could. The animations of player fells like real, and I believe some people couldn't tell the difference between the real match and the game match. You would recognize hundreds of NBA players as they are made with a great details. And finally, you will enjoy every second playing this game.

90

Love it

DizzyDao | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all DizzyDao's reviews »

I was never really into sports games, but when I played NBA2k11 I got hooked and I had to buy this game since it was dirt cheap. I can't wait on 2K14 and it seems it is easier to play with a remote control. More of a console game unless you have a controller and a big screen like me :)

82

A good game, but better on console.

CashNotCredit | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all CashNotCredit's reviews »

NBA 2K13 has nice graphics, solid AI, and a nice mode in MyCareer. Having said that, a lot of features, like All-Star Weekend DLC and My Team, are missing from the PC version of the game. This is still a very good game, but it's disappointing to know that console players are having a more complete experience.

86

Solid NBA game

SMart187 | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all SMart187's reviews »

Solid game, just as expected from 2k sports. I wish there were more online players but the seasons and my players are lots of fun. Hope they add crews to the new game as that is lacking.

Overall a game I have recommended to multiple friends and have spent countless hours grinding out multiple seasons!

80

Fines of the kind

Thomazen | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Thomazen's reviews »

THE MUSIC! That's said, that's all, because the soundtrack for this NBA game is simply refreshing, new, and filled with tempo! Not only has the gameplay of the popular NBA-series continued on in this game, but also now with amazing tracks underneath the game.

That said, you might have to get a joystick for your PC to play this, because with all the different controls, it can be difficult playing it on PC.

73

Get some mods and itll be better than any EA Sports PC Game ;)

CorpsmanHusky | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all CorpsmanHusky's reviews »

Only downside is custom teams and players are saved under rosters so they get overwritten by the new rosters. Rosters also do not auto update like MLB 2k12

88

Ready for the show?

Warning_origina | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Warning_origina's reviews »

Nba2k13 is true show! At my first match I thought to be in the arena! The players acts like real nba stars. They have all their repertoire of moves. If you like the genre you can easily don't stop playing for hours, the rythm is high and you have to focus on the match until the end. Repeat the '98 Final beetween Bulls and Jazz is always something awesome, and there are more historic teams such as Dream Team and much more. The only limitation is due to the controls, a controller or two, for playing with friends, is absolutely necessary.

80

Great NBA game.

TheeYohoinator | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all TheeYohoinator's reviews »

In the latest installment to the NBA 2K franchise, you will notice many improvements in the game and some things the developers left out. The movements from the players seem to flow a lot better than in the previous games. They also added the Dream Team and Team USA to see who would win in a head to head game. The Dream Team would obviously win haha. You can not block dunks in the game unfortunately unlike in past games in the franchise. The celebrities also shouldnt be as good as they are. You will also need a controller of some sort to play the game for an optimal experience. Also, the Lakers are better than they actually are which kind of throws off the simulation part of the game but nothing really major. All in all, it is an NBA game that was made very well and should be played if you have any interest in playing it.

100

Amazing

con24 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all con24's reviews »

A very good sports I game. I love how challenging it can be. Creating your own player in career and talking in after match question/TV meeting sort of thing makes it even better.

87

Sports Games Finest

Eleiy | July 6, 2013 | See all Eleiy's reviews »

The NBA 2K series are obviously the best basketball games out there, but I would dare say they are quite possibly the best sports games period, now that opinion may be biased due to my great love of basketball, but nevertheless NBA 2K13 is simply brilliant.

The different game modes offer quite a bit of content, but what really stands out to me is the My Career mode which sees you create a player and go through the draft and play out the career of the player.

You will really want to play it with a gamepad though as the mouse and keyboard controls are horrid as they are with most sport games, not due to any fault of the developers but simply because of the inherent difficulties in designing a control scheme for a PC sport game.

Those issues hardly matter though as it is a great game that I've stayed hooked on for hours at a time.

81

Better but not much

kalil | June 27, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

It´s a NBA2K12 menu with another updated roster for sure, the graphics are good but not the best, the gameplay is the same, with the odd smallish hardly noticeable improvement. The point I'm getting at is that this game is a hair taken for pceros no comments in Spanish, without the all-star weekend, things we were waiting anxiously and then not show up and then learn that the DLC are not to PC, a total disappointment. It is emphasized that the game has bugs of the most diverse and this is a stone in the shoe for someone who wants to enjoy the game. It is also the best in basketball games now, the gameplay is very real and the graphics but not the best fit perfectly.

75

Almost Impossible Without A Xbox 360 Controller

yomegA | June 26, 2013 | See all yomegA's reviews »

Playing this game with just keyboard and mouse is like trying to catch a fly with chopsticks. Graphics look, the mycareer is addicting, and games can really get you emotionally into the game. However I STRONGLY say you play this game with a xbox 360 pad. Good game,but poor port.

89

A good game despite the shortcomings in the PC version

kalil | June 24, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

GAMEPLAY: This is most noticeable in the game, at least par to me. The movements and how they end are very real, they give you the feeling of having made a good move and a good move and differentiate the technique about talented players some not so good.

TECHNOLOGY: certainly movements are fluid and with a variety of them. Yesterday I played with Saquille O'neal and how to go around the defender and two-handed dunk hoop hanging ... totally reminded me in its infancy with Orlando.

GRAPHICS: good, not bad or anything, all players are different to back, but are lagging somewhat behind other games, in my case I have in mind the graphics.

SOUND: for as no surprise to anyone that the comments in Spanish are not present even after they heard I have to say I would not, take away quality to the game. One thing for me and I have not improved to take into account what is the sound of ball bounce, the shock of a pivot against another, hitting a Shank Matt Kemp type, that would give it more realism. I've changed the sound for it, but could be more exaggerated to enjoy a good mate.

INNOVATION: of course the addition of the right analog stick has been a success, but we must relearn the movements again, but I find each of them in training is a joy to stay with the ones you like and then use because memorize them all is amazing.

CONCLUSION: forget the fact the PC version will have been a decisive factor not to buy for many, but I get to enjoy both a good match (having raised the difficulty) that almost made forget all these problems.

NOTE: could having added street parties (1vs1, 2vs2, ...) random selection of players and that the players chose PC. In PC there is also no online play this kind of way.

86

NBA2K13 Is A Must Buy For NBA Fans

ravestar | June 24, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

Thi is a absolute top quality game, anyone who is a basketball fan should get this. Why?

NBA2K13 has highly realistic gameplay and relatively high degree of difficulty, The opponents AI are pretty good, which create a tense and challenging encounter.

Very Extensive game modes ...You can customzie players details down to the shoes, bascially you can create and modify everything.

The career mode is great fun, you take the created player and proves yourself in the rookie mode to be drafted as soon as possible against the best in the NBA. There, you play to be better than regular players or get off the bench for minutes of the game depending on how you can prove yourself.

With each success, it also earns you some money which you can invest in skillls to improve the players. So NBA2K13 is worthwhile buy and, a lot of fun for basketball fans.

92

Just Great!

ChaosDEATHLORD | June 24, 2013 | See all ChaosDEATHLORD's reviews »

"Best rated and the best selling NBA game on the market." The feeling of the game is really good because Jay Z helped the 2K team to top this game up. The game has a very good player creation and you can improve your player to the superstar level with attributes and special skills. In my career mode you can build your player and find there social and community options with NBA statistics. In season mode u can lead your team to win in a NBA season. You can find there news, statistics and also other stuffs! In multi player option u can play a blacktop, a match or you can make up a team with your friends and ball against other players.

It is all about having fun! I give 92! :)

90

The best basketball game out there

Demilisz | June 22, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

I'm not a fan of sports game and basketball in general, but this one keep me in its grasp for quiet some time. The featured MyCareer mode is the main dish - you create your own character and lead him from rookie to professional basketball player that can stand in one line with Jordan or Bryant. Starting with the fist draft and forward, this mode is very entertaining, though has some flaws (especially grades system that favors assisting rather than scoring yourself). With time you get better and can unlock additional moves for your character - this works great and you really feels that your player is getting better.

All basketball sims fans should get this game right now - there is nothing better on the market right now.

77

like basketball? You'll probably enjoy this.

drafek | June 21, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

First of all I haven't really played any basketball games before. The game does have good graphics, normally those sport games don't have really good graphics. The sound is very realistic it sounds like that you're really there playing the game yourself. The controls are a little hard to learn but if you play this game for a while you'll get the hang of it. The game does have little features. Shoe creater, here you can create more then 40 unique shoes. You also can make your own animations but this is a little hard. Worth full price if you're a real basketball fan, but I recommend picking it up on 50% off or even more.