Reviews for Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

100

One of the Best Games + DLC

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | See all Rcoder97's reviews »

Borderlands is one of the best games out there, but with the addition of its quirky dlc makes it that much better. I've already reviewed the game so I'm going to talk about the dlc. Dr. Ned: This dlc is insanely fun. The atmosphere is creepy, the story is good, even the music is great! I loved this dlc. Mad Moxxi: This dlc is fun for a minute but I could only recommend playing it with friends. The bank is a lifesaver though! General Knoxx: This is the best dlc for this game. The environments are great, the story is so fun, also the reward at the end is the best ever. Claptrap: I liked this dlc because it was very different from the others. The story is fun but the environments aren't the best. Also it has a very lovely reward at the end.

95

Welcome to Pandora

Mscigniew | Jan. 13, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Borderlands is a FPS/RPG game,taking place on a planet called Pandora.The planet is occupied by bandits,vagabonds and all kinds of bizzar creatures.We start our journey as either a soldier,assassin/sniper,psychic or a tank and we become a "vault hunter",which is a treasure hunter.On our journey we gonna visit couple of settlements and towns,we gonna meet some pretty original characters,collect tons and tons of loot and kill a lot of enemies.The game is made in a comic-book style,and looks awesome!Quests are fun and so is the character development,One of my favourite games and GOTY edition has all DLC`s included,just buy it!

96

Perfection by DLC

xiluxpain | Jan. 10, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

For those who have no idea what Borderlands is, Borderlands is a must for all RPG lovers out there. Whether or not you've ever played shooters, or even if you are usually against them, this experience will leave you wanting more.

This title offers a choice of four classes, each with their unique personality and phrases. Each of the four main characters offers another way to beat the game, adding replay value.

Characters aside, Borderlands brings you into a chaotic world where war, criminals, and hunters run wild. It is up to you to deal with the baddest.

The DLCs that come with this game will also enhance your gaming...

The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned bring you to into a world of zombies where there is oddly a reference to Scooby and his gang.

ClapTrap’s New Robot Revolution is another region where ClapTraps have revolted against humans, and it is your task to eliminate the threat. Both this DLC and the previously named will scale to your level.

The Secret Armory of General Knoxx is another world, one providing more challenges after the main story is won and over with.

To top it all off, Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot is an arena styled dome where can either fight waves after waves of enemies to test your abilities and claim prizes as you go. You can also store your most prized possessions in a bank.

As someone who was never a fan of RPG or shooters, this game kept me playing until the very last moment.

90

Shoot, Loot and Shoot Some More

Rhoobarb | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all Rhoobarb's reviews »

Borderlands is an action/rpg, first person shooter, set in a space western universe. The game in particular focuses on a frontier planet called Pandora. Pandora is a planet with civilisation on a steep decline as bandits, murderers, and generally bad people slowly take over the scattering of towns and industrial areas from the good hard working folks. In between these decrepit signs of life, are all manner of alien monsters and beasts who are more than a little willing to feast on whoever is unlucky and unprepared enough, passing through their territory. Generally speaking, Pandora is not a holiday destination.

Pandora has one last attraction though. Universally renowned for being the location of the "Vault", a campfire story based mythical alien place where, supposedly, loot and riches beyond the wildest dreams of the greediest of people are kept. Like prospectors of the old west, Vault Hunters flock to Pandora in search of fame and fortune as the one who finds the Vault, and its contents.

You are one of these vault hunters, from a choice of 4 dissimilar characters: Brick – The hard hitting bruiser. Close combat brawling are the order of the day. Roland – A no-nonsense soldier, who prefers heavy fire from a variety of weapons. Mordecai – A hunter of sorts who’s preference is sniper rifles and pistols for long and short range attacks, ably assisted by his pet ‘Bloodwing’. Lillith – A ‘Siren’, one of only six mystical females in the universe at any one time, Lilith has a range of psychic style abilities.

While each character has a wide range of traits, strengths, and weaknesses that can be upgraded as characters progress, Borderlands main focus is on guns. Lots of them. Most of the combat is done using guns from six different classes; pistol, shotgun, sniper, smg, assault rifle and rocket launcher. All the weapons have a variety of stats and rarity values, with some having special abilities. What this means is that Borderlands has 3 million possible gun combinations. Most dispatched enemies drop weapons, add to that the limited storage space in your backpack. You will find a lot of your time taken up comparing guns to pick the one that is slightly better, or more suitable, than the one you are using. This is a heavily looting focused game after all! The rest you can sell at one of many vending machines to turn a nice profit.

The story is incredibly simple and done well enough, but nothing special or surprising. There are plenty of characters to meet or fight while in your search for the vault. The characters are decent, with a couple that shine out (CL4P-TP for one) and add to the experience. Boss fights are fairly varied, ranging from bandit leaders to some particularly nasty local fauna, most of which can be replayed to help on your leveling quest. Generally the nastier the enemy, the better the loot from its still warm corpse.

The game is meant to be played co-op with up to 4 people. The difficulty level and quality of loot increases the more people you have playing. There is plenty of playing time within the base game alone, with hundreds of small side missions hidden among the main story quests. But if you are still thirsty for more, the 4 DLC’s included in the GOTY edition also add a hefty amount to the game.

The cartoony cel shading visual style used, reminiscent of the last gen shooter XIII, makes a welcome change to gritty realistic graphics. The gore flies in nice high contrasting colours, set against some very pretty backdrops of the desolate alien landscape that is Pandora.

Now the bad bits.

The game tries to cover up some seriously repetitive grinding to unnecessarily pad out play time. One instance would be receive a mission that involves collecting pieces from certain fallen enemies. Bring those pieces back to the mission start, the follow up mission is then to collect more of the same pieces from the same, but slightly harder, enemies. After a few repeats you find you are collecting whole scrap yards of useless junk over, and over again. Considering the game is quite big without this repetition, I would assume it is for the benefit of those who like grinding their way as much as they can early on, to make the later missions slightly easier.

99% of the enemies appear to have been pumped out by the Acme High Speed Cloning Machine. In a single battle you could fight over 10 duplicate enemies, with exactly the same appearance and catchphrases. It would have been nice to have some variation of their appearance as it just smacks of being a little lazy in the design process not to include some interchangeable clothes and heads.

To me the good far outweighs the bad as I enjoy a little grind.

To round up, if you do not like grinding, then this is not the game for you.

However, if you would like something other than the current string of realistic war shooters. If you are looking for something with a lot of enemies to kill, and don’t mind a few stats modifications or endless comparing of weapons just to get +2 on a damage, then Borderlands may just what you are looking for.

88

Good Game and Good DLC

TPCGorillaMunch | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

This package includes the base game and all of the DLC, which will provide you with many, many hours of playtime well worth the cost. The game is an RPG shooter with 4 playable characters, each with different strengths, skill trees, and a unique special ability. There is definitely no shortage in loot and guns to find, which will keep you coming back for more.

The story is definitely a weak point of the game, if you like story based games, don't expect anything fantastic from borderlands. Although it more than makes up for the weak story with amazing game-play and FPS mechanics.

It is an enjoyable game played single player, however, the best part of the game is the co op experience playing with friends. The game has good replay value due to the fact that you can play through the game with the same character multiple times and also start fresh with a different character.

80

Pretty good game

MOSCOW456 | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all MOSCOW456's reviews »

This is the first game that I have ever played with cell shading and personally I really like it. The customization in the game is crazy with guns, mods and gun mods. The game is probably best played with friends but is also pretty fun solo. The single player has some really enjoyable missions and some good dlc to-boot. The story is also enjoyable but what really sets this game is the game play with its fun hyped up characters and crazy guns, the main characters are all also very gun and crazy in their own ways. Overall very god game. 80/100. I would very much so recommend this game.

98

just awesome!

shivam13 | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all shivam13's reviews »

so, i bought this long time ago but downloaded recently and playing now. now about the game, game has awesome story mode with co-op there are too many missions(haven't counted them yet as i'm still playing), so its long. also, the graphics are too cool and game is optimized well that my HD7770 runs it very smooth on 1080p. also, as four character classes, i can play game min of 4 times so its has great replayability, and with randomized item system(like diablo, torchlight etc), i can get many type of weapons(who doesn't love them?) and kill the npcs. also this have 1v1 pvp, which i tried and failed miserably(no really), so i need more practice. also, the soundtrack is good, not that great but suits the game completely. and GotY also have 4 dlc's which are quite good, and and the content they added for this price=priceless. also, the game is quite funny sometines so it'll make u laugh while you are shooting enemies. so, final words, just buy it. do not wait and be a vault hunter.

78

Fun and nice to look at

nico7 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all nico7's reviews »

I was skeptical at first because I wasn't sure how I'd take to the shading style graphics. It didn't take long to get a feel for the style and learn to appreciate the vividness it creates. The learning curve isn't bad. How the experience, point, and weapon system works is pretty straight forward. Here's a quick summary of the pros and cons:

Pros: Easy to jump in and play. You can get right into the action without having to suffer through a long back-story or much training. You never really have to worry about ammo. You pick up loot constantly and buying is cheap. Just unload your weapons, witch to another and unload again. Hurry back to the next vending machine and max out your supplies because money is not hard to come buy. The fighting strategy requires cycling through a few different kinds of weapons. Some enemies are weaker toward different kinds of elemental weapons, so doing a little study or trial and error and you can pretty much figure who is weak to what very quickly. The number of weapons you can buy or find is enormous. In this respect it's much like Diablo. The mission system, experience, weapons, it's all modeled off Diablo so if you're familiar with that you'll feel right at home. If you like leveling, moving from mission to mission in different environments, mowing down enemies with different weapons, you'll like this

Cons: The story. It's almost non-existant. You have to be very intentional to follow whats actually happening. I like story so I was careful to listen to all the tapes as you find them. It can also get too repetitive. Again, if you're familiar with Diablo then you'll understand. It's much better to play with friends if you have them. Just be careful not to jump into a game with others who are much further along then you are. I'm one to keep my mission system structured, so if you accidentally enter into a game where the players have many more than you in their file, you will permanently have them in your list also. I found that out the hard way.

Conclusion: Great game and plenty of hours to work through. I would recommend this to any FPS and open world gamer.

90

All-in-One version of your favorite all time shooter

nightassassin1 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This is the one of a kind amazing Borderlands first person shooter that everyone knows and loves wrapped up neatly with all of the DLC. This is a great buy for any Gearbox or 2K Games fan. Borderlands in its own right was an amazing game with antics that most other companies were afraid to attempt in a video game, but the expansions are what made the game. The Zombie Island expansion added a horror aspect to the loved borderlands game, the Robot Revolution DLC added a very hilarious ClapTrap themed expansion that just knocked my socks off, and two others that I personally was not too hyped about, but they were still playable and added nice content to the game. If you want Borderlands or liked it and want the game again, this is your buy. It comes with everything in one and is just the best FPS play you will ever have.

I give it a 90 due to the still high $30 price line. It should be better priced to $20

100

Epic Game

WideChunk | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all WideChunk's reviews »

Borderlands is a cell shaded style first person action shooter rpg game. There are so many different guns in the game!! A lot are of course similar with just different stats. The FPS elements are great and enjoyable and the RPG elements are equally great and enjoyable.

There is a lot of great humor in this game as well with 4 different character classes each with a unique ability and skill trees. The game can get repetitive as it is mostly mission based shooting enemies and collecting things and then boss fights but the game is quite enjoyable still. There is a story as well but it's not the main source of why you would want to play it. The game is mostly about the gameplay and humor. Graphics are unique and play well with the games style.

87

Great game!

bashscrazy | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all bashscrazy's reviews »

Borderlands is a cell shaded style first person action shooter rpg game. There are so many different guns in the game!! A lot are of course similar with just different stats. The FPS elements are great and enjoyable and the RPG elements are equally great and enjoyable.

There is a lot of great humor in this game as well with 4 different character classes each with a unique ability and skill trees. The game can get repetitive as it is mostly mission based shooting enemies and collecting things and then boss fights but the game is quite enjoyable still. There is a story as well but it's not the main source of why you would want to play it. The game is mostly about the gameplay and humor. Graphics are unique and play well with the games style.

95

Great game,Great combat sístem and Great DLCs

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

t's that undeniable impulse that pokes at the pleasure centers of the brain when you're looking at that sleek and impossibly flat television at the front of the electronics store. How much better and brighter would life be if only you could bring it home? You consider what's in your wallet, what kind of space rests between credit balance and limit, maybe for a second what your family might think, and perhaps more importantly how jealous your friends would be. It's what drives economies that thrive on consumerism, and that urge to snatch up glittering new toys is what keeps the action energized in Gearbox's Borderlands, a first-person shooter title that caters to the thief, hero, and adventurer lurking in all of us.

For the uninitiated, this is a loot hunting game like Blizzard's Diablo. The action begins and you're flung out into an open world with a handful of quests and legions of baddies who'll do whatever they can to prevent you from killing their leaders, wiping out an arbitrary number of their compatriots, opening drain valves in their hideouts, snatching up important artifacts and documents, or collecting a large number of shiny objects. There's a tale of a secret vault and advanced technology and a snowy image of a female face that pops onscreen when important things are about to happen, nudging you forward and providing additional narrative context, but this isn't a choice and consequence game with morality systems and labyrinthine quest strings. It's the loot that's the real motivator here.

85

Great shooter with Diablo-style loot system.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Borderlands is one of those games where you can pick up and play, as there are many things to be able to do. After choosing from the 4 playable characters and completing the mandatory tutorial section, you can start getting quests to do, most of which just rewards you with money, but some will give you a sweet weapon. Alternatively, you can go around the wasteland shooting bad guys and monsters, and they might you some good weapons, or you can explore the wasteland and find chest that give you some weapon, although whether they are good or bad is up to your own opinion.

The Diablo-style random drops mean that maybe a gun you got of a dead enemy could serve you throughout a good portion of the game, and with the entire wasteland (mostly) out to kill you, you better be prepared for whatever that may come your way.

The multiplayer aspects means that you can team up with other friends and work together to fight the wasteland, and help or hinder each other whenever you are splitting the loot. Overall, its a good game that can get a tad-bit repetitive, but it is still good fun.

86

Excellent Co-Op Gaming

ConorEngelb | July 18, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The very first time I played Borderlands was with a group of friends, and I do not regret deciding to join in. The game lends itself perfectly to 4 person play, even if two of you absolutely insist on being snipers. The DLCs add some good fun stories and items. And the unlimited number of guns makes it worth buying.

95

Welcome to Pandora!

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface.

96

BL is best game for Co-Op ever

iggy81 | July 7, 2013 | See all iggy81's reviews »

I'm bought my BL on sale for only 5€ and I'm very satisfied. The game is beautiful. Co-op. Tried the co-op last night and it was the best online experiance I've ever had. The game is overly ambitious and makes a lot of boasts, such as a claim that there are hundreds of thousands of weapons. his game looks great, and the art style really pulls everything together.

91

Walk Pandora! Best in Coop.

kalil | June 27, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Game for lovers of the genre Shooter, regardless of the platform on which you play.

Gameplay: Like any shooter, the more COD style, the button layout is the same as ever. No special powers or anything or Bioshock Bulletstorm style, everything is purely weapons. The movements of the characters are well done, sometimes feel a little jerky movements but nothing remarkable. In the weapons section, the algorithm manages to give us an outstanding amount of possibilities, weapons of all levels with different elemental damage types categorized by levels. The customization options are null characters limited to only change the color of the suit. Each character has a wide range of options to modify your stats, including shields, class modifiers, grenade modifier and four weapons to choose. There is no difficulty to choose from, it just start the game. That if!, A second journey that will challenge those who did not feel the challenge the first run. Great scenarios that can be boring if you do not have a car or fast travel.

Technology The game is a revolution in paragraphs, while the Cell-shading gives a freshness with respect to others of its genre, fails to amaze. The game has almost no weather effects, although we have options like dynamic shadows, fulfill their purpose but not exactly essential to activate this effect. Optimization of title not more, because in a decent team AAx16 and textures in high quality runs almost at 60fps. The physics of the bullets is well done, the electrical effects, and fatty pyric met, the water effects are almost nil. Coop system is certainly very good, so much so that I have not felt any lag with a 2mb connection. Playing with four friends is the best title, so do not become so boring missions.

Graphics The artistic apartador is bearable, the Cell-shading fails to meet expectations, but not greatly. The quality of the textures in many cases is weak, even with the maximum effect, the quality is somewhat low. The enemies are well recreated, come in all types, but something reprehensible reuse, many are merely similar, almost identical to each other with subtle differences. Moreover, if you stand heads, each with a unique style, with beautifully drawn art. The NPCs are very charismatic, with different characteristics, being well represented graphically.

Sound One of the best aspects of this game. We could praise the great work of dubbing, which although not the best of this world, if it fulfills perfectly. Each character with their respective voice. The comments of mercenaries to kill help us continue to play without despeinarnos by boredom, enemies with voices that challenge us to keep shooting NPCs known for his wild comments, giving orders around here and there, completely masterful dubbing. We are grateful that the title is completely in Castilian.

Innovation It is not the panacea between shooter, but if it manages to quench our thirst, this very well done and gives us many hours of fun. The amount of weapons is surprising, note that the algorithm used is very well worked, since this point gives you many more hours of gameplay. Playing with friends is very good, and this increases the level of the game so our loot will be much better. Other than that, the side missions go on to become an ordeal, are extremely tedious in most occasions and divinity to detract game, game linear worst situations is your weak point. The inclusion of this luxury car, but it would have greatly appreciated the inclusion of other more personal transportation, motorcycles, scooters or any other futuristic invention that does not take away those moments of boredom in which to travel from point A to B is a torture.

85

A great start for a new franchise.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Lately, there haven't been a lot of new good franchise. Lots of games come from long time running series, like Fallout, GTA, Metal Gear, etc... However, this one shows good creativity, some replay value and more. Even though it is not perfect, it sure worths playing it.

You have the choice of 4 characters at the beginning. There is a hunter, who has the ability to send a sidekick to kill the enemies and recover some items. There is a badass guy who can run and hit with his fists. There is a siren who can become invisible and a soldier who can assemble a turret to kill the enemies. In my walkthrough, I selected Mordecai the hunter, so I will write my review based on this experience.

The first thing you will see with his sidekick is that if you are too far from the guy you want it to kill or hidden behind some cover, the bloodwing as it is called will not be able to get to the enemies. So you will have either to be closer to your target or get out of your hole before sending it. Enemy AI can sometimes be very wise and come and get you, and some other times it can stick to a place and not move before it get killed. Other than that, the gameplay works fine, you have some slots in your backpack for your guns, shields and abilities that can be expand by rescuing some claptraps, which are most of the time friendly little robots.

The graphics are very cartoonish and stylish. It is the first time I see something like this in a AAA game and that looks great. Sound is also great using Dolby Surround. However, the voices were still low compare to the rest even after trying to tweak them.

The Game of the year edition comes with all four expansions including: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned, Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot, The Secret Armory of General Knoxx and Claptrap's New Robot Revolution.

The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned speaks for itself. You kill zombies, period.

In Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot, you will have to get through waves of enemies to get a skill point. That's disappointing because of the time you have to invest in it. You have to complete an entire level, which consists of 5 rounds of 5 waves before being able to save. That's if you do not die, if you do, you have to restart about 1 round.

The Secret Armory of General Knoxx is the biggest dlc. It contains a lot of cool guns and gadgets. However, you have to be at least level 35 before thinking to be able to survive more than 10 minutes in it. A sad fact about it is that you will have to travel a lot with your vehicle, without being able to save in the other maps as it is the case in the main game. Each time you start the game, you will come back to T-Bone Junction, which is the headquarters even if you were 3 maps further. This time again, that means you have to have a lot of time ahead of you before playing it.

Claptrap's New Robot Revolution is also self-explanatory. Claptrap wants to control the world, so you will encounter a plenty of angry robots. For me, that's the best dlc.

Missions gets repetitive after a certain amount of time, but you can still have a good 40+ hours of fun before getting bored. I never encountered a crash or major bugs. That's amazing considering the fact that the environment is wide open.

As I told previously, for around 30$, it sure worths buying this game before Borderlands 2 comes out next fall.

91

Bored? No more. Borderlands is your solution.

AfroMetal | June 25, 2013 | See all AfroMetal's reviews »

So. Everyone play MOBA, online FPS and you are just sitting here masturbating? No more.

Get your facts straight and believe that Borderlands don't deserve it's second name 'Boringlands'. All you need to change this game completely is bunch of friends or just random people that will play it with you in wonderful coop mode.

Yes. Cooperation is THE thing. That one simple element which changes all gameplay and all experience you get from this game. So if playing Borderlands bored you once you will get all new game just by inviting more people to join you. In cooperation you will get fun not only from Claptrap's jokes but also when you talk with mates through build-in voice communication. They thought even about this.

Last but not least: when you are done with main plot, DLC's added to this Game Of The Year version lets you get tons of fun beyond that. You like new trend for zombie games? No problem, you get zombies. Lot of them. You liked Claptraps? No problem they are running little revolution out there and you are the one to help them. Still hungry for killing some Psychos and Bandits? All of the stuff you loved from base game is there plus one.

So do not disregard this game when next time you hear about 'Boringlands'. It is not boring when you have friends to share fun with.

90

Action, Destruction, and Comedy.

xtremeg12 | June 24, 2013 | See all xtremeg12's reviews »

If you ever wanted to play an FPS shooter with RPG elements in it with a great storyline, Borderlands is the game to buy. The moment the game starts you already get a sense of the vault hunting adventure you're about to embark, but also realize there will be situations where you can't help but laugh at the hilarious commentary. Single player is good, but if you want to have a great time, playing with coop friends is the way to play this game while progressing through each boss fight. There is a bit of back tracking when doing secondary quests, though each quest progression is shared when playing in coop making some quests easy to complete in a timely manner. The graphics aren't very appealing for being a game that is just over three years old, but the story, unique NPCs, bosses, and character models more than makes up for it. Each of the four characters you can play are specialized in their own type of weapon to deal more damage, but they are not restricted to it. The game is sort of linear with different loading areas and tougher enemies as you progress through the main quest line, however beating the game and playing the second play through will prove more challenging as the monsters will be the same level as your character or the person hosting the game. Replaying the game is mainly for people who want to continue being challenged by the game and want stronger weapons, otherwise the story remains exactly the same. The game lacks the ability to skip the long intro and cut scenes when starting the game, but a simple configuration found online can help reduce this frustration. Completing the main storyline and the DLCs will easily give over 30 hours of game play which is well worth the regular price of $30, but with consistent discounts of this game being under $10 on GMG, there's no excuse not to buy this game immediately for yourself and for your friends.

97

The revolutionary fun fps with gazillion guns

spycid | June 23, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Just when you thought fps games can't offer anything new anymore, Gearbox Software started a revolutionary franchise Borderlands. The game is worth playing for its literally thousands of guns collection, storyline is decent too. And gameplay is unique since you can choose between various characters according to your playstyle. Since it has all dlcs and it's a game of the year, it's a must buy for everyone.

95

RPG and FPS

Zippop | June 23, 2013 | See all Zippop's reviews »

When I first bought Borderlands I had no idea what kind of game it was going to be. And it was absolutely amazing! And even better when played with friends in co-op. The idea of fusing elements from RPG and FPS was simply wondrous. I fell in love with this game after playing it for an hour and soon i had spent 100 hours on it. Definately worth getting, especially the GOTY edition since the DLC were also surprisingly good.

95

Borderlands

acsct3 | June 22, 2013 | See all acsct3's reviews »

A game that revolutionized the shooter genre, Borderlands was first released in 2009 and was developed by Gearbox. In the game, you play as a "vault hunter", and, as the name implies, you hunt for a vault filled with weapons and technology on the planet Pandora. On your way, you'll have to fight wild mutant dogs, crazed bandits or giant enemy crabs with an extensive arsenal of weapons, ranging from pistols to rocket launchers. The game has an insane amount of gear that drops from fallen enemies, all items being generated procedurally, resembling games like Diablo or Torchlight. Borderlands features a distinctive art style with cell-shaded graphics. In your travels, you'll visit deserts, caves, towns and canyons but I wish it had more variety. One of the biggest selling points of the game is the fact that you can play the game with 3 more friends to make the game more fun. Combining the abilities and weapons of the different classes in the game is really enjoyable and I recommend playing the game with a friend. The Game of the Year edition comes with all the DLC packs, adding quite a lot of content and raising the level cap so it's a must if you want to get more out of the game. In conclusion, Borderlands is a fantastic game that you should not miss.

75

Good game

144mage | June 21, 2013 | See all 144mage's reviews »

Borderlands 1 is a top game. It's fun to play and when you buy it for a deal (€5 usually) you'll have a lot of fun for hardly any money! There's a lot of weapons, you can play with friends and you can choose out of 4 classes (Sniper, Siren, Brute and Soldier) All of them have their own unique abilities so if you are done playing with 1 class there's always another class left to play for completion. It takes a bit of time to get the hang of it tho, it's not instantly a cake walk as it requires actual evasion and dodging of attacks. All in all a very good game.

92

Borderlands!

drafek | June 21, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game does have a cartoonish graphic style, which I really liked about the game it makes it unique. The game does have amazing sound. The gameplay is really fun and will get you going for some hours. The controls are easy to learn. This does also include 5 DLC's which will give you some more hours to the game. Co-op also is done well and worth trying out. Worth picking up on the normal price!