Reviews for Mafia II

85

Good for one playthrough.

Obsessor | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

And the title pretty much sums things up. The game has great story, very nice music - that's one of the reasons I'm giving it such a high score. But it's linear. If you played it once... Nothing will be different on the second go. Not even a minor change. You have to do things exactly as they were designed to be done. I was expecting a bit more "GTA like" gameplay. With likeness to GTA IV and some choices you had. This made me play the game second and third time. In Mafia 2... Well...

Still I think the game's very, very good. Especially if you like, as I do, the 40's and 50's atmosphere, with it's styles in music and clothing.

85

I went in with low expectations. Was pleasantly surprised.

ashleymurray | Aug. 8, 2014 | See all ashleymurray's reviews »

I was told that this game was not good. By almost everyone I spoke to. They said the world was simply lifeless and to not expect a sandbox experience. Whilst these critics were correct to an extent, and I found that Mafia II was more of a linear story, this did not detract from the surprising enjoyment I had whilst playing the game. There are still side-missions and such to complete and collectibles to find around the city, but what I believe is that this game is about the story. The story is great; really great. It takes you into an old-school gangster paradise within the backdrop of WWI and post-WWI. The cars and music are really top-notch. There is one scene in particular (no spoilers, don't worry, but this is definitely one of the best scenes and missions within the game) where the character and an accomplish sing along to "Return to Me" by Dean Martin, and that was truly when I appreciated the game for what it is and was transported out of my computer seat. And what the game is is a phenomenal story with a glorious setting to boot, even if it doesn't live up to "sandbox expectations."

90

Epic Music

SirKitty | Aug. 8, 2014 | See all SirKitty's reviews »

So I started out playing this game and I was excited before I even got it. I started it up and got to the opening sequence where you drive a car. I thought the graphics were stunning. So I continued to play the game and finished it in about 3-5 days. I completely loved the story it was so amazing. The physics worked great for the game, the cars was very fun to drive. It was a little hard to drive some cars and I thought that was fun. I continued to play it alot even after the story was done. Some bad things was for example getting money was very, very easy. You could just rob stores over and over and you would have over 40,000 dollars before you can say SuperCaliFragilisticExpialidocious. Anyways, the game is really fun. Money isn't really either the most important aspect of this game and it think it was pure gold to have the game.

100

You won't regret buying this masterpiece

hateah | July 25, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

It's an amazing game. The graphics looks so real and good.. The movement is very good, better than some of the new tittles in the genre action. Mafia 2 is an amazing shooting/ action game. After completing all the missions, mafia 2 becomes into an open world. But you have to follow the main storyline in order to "unlock" that feature. The cars and the whole city is drawn and made so real, just like the cars back in 70's. The combat system is amazing,it's my favorite probabbly, the punches are so real and they "fit" the character just like it should be. And the slow motion when you kill someone is also very good idea. You can finish him with a kick in the face or a punch. You can fight with whoever you want,steal cards, by breaking the windows and opening the door just like real life stealing a car would look like. The dev's thought about everything to make you feel comfortable in the 70's world. The driving movement is also very, very good, it looks like Grand-theft auto if you played it and know how the car moves there. Very smoothly, not wooden movement. The main character is an normal looking outside man, but actually he is one of the thieves, working with the mafia. That's one of the best games that have ever been made I can say. A golden master piece.

82

Explosive Game

luci2100 | July 25, 2014 | See all luci2100's reviews »

Ive got this game some time ago im really happy with it,its a classic game which is worth playing any time even after a few years i have finished this on a friends PC and i got it too i had tons of fun around New York really great soundtrack's they tried to keep the game as realistic as possible which is the most impressive part such as robbing store's,stealing cars,police following you i totally reccomend this totally worth the money,buy it!

80

"Old" GTA

philip08533 | July 23, 2014 | See all philip08533's reviews »

This game is fun. It is open world and has fun game-play and good graphics. It's like an elderly Grand Theft Auto. You basically go around and shoot people. It has a good story even though its linear. Its a good game to add to the collection. Worth every penny.

80

A nice take on the Noire setting.

JesusIsMyLordy | July 17, 2014 | See all JesusIsMyLordy's reviews »

I really enjoyed Mafia II for what it was. A noire crime epic that has it down from the accents of the characters to the detail put into the entire city.

The graphics (on PC) are pretty great (with a few low textures here and there) especially since, just like it's advertised, takes advantage of PhysX by NVIDIA.

The gameplay was alright, one major problem that everyone else has talked about to death also is the linearity, it would be great if there was a bunch to do in your stay in Little Italy like play some pool, grab a drink with some women at your stay, perform hitman operations at the side, favors from people, being a vigilante, that sort of stuff which is one thing that this game lacks. Though I did hear that Joe's Adventure does have a sandbox mode which sort of resembles a free roam mode that's completely missing from the base game. And even when you try to free roam (I'm the type that loves to go around killing bystanders and such), when you die, you have to start from the mission checkpoint, that's how linear it is, no hospital, no police station, no nothing. The gunplay + the cover mechanic does it job, no problems thus far.

The driving in this game is pretty realistic which isn't my cup of tea, I prefer the fun, arcade style driving controls which is another thing this game lacks. With its two driving modes (normal and simulation) they don't seem to have an arcade mode otherwise this game would be really comfy to play. There's also somewhat realistic cop control meaning that if you speed in like a 60 MPH zone and such, the police will go after you and give you a ticket or you could refuse and go into a high speed chase. If you hit the policemen's car, you get arrested, no questions asked.

The soundtrack is very good, in my honest opinion, captures the 1940s/1950s very well and I find myself always turning on the radio when entering a vehicle or resting at my apartment.

Lasting Appeal: (Without the DLC) I didn't find myself a reason to play back again since this game doesn't encourage you, nor let you, free roam this beautiful world that 2K Czech created. Maybe with the DLC I'm probably going to purchase soon, I might find more enjoyment, though I've read that many of the story DLC are very short. I should give the first Mafia a shot when I ever have the chance.

Let's hope the rumored Mafia III fixes these issues.

85

The best gangster/noir game

Jackassman | July 14, 2014 | See all Jackassman's reviews »

Though i never liked the first one as much as everyone else, and i didn't expect so much from this sequel, it really surprised me! It has a great atmosphere, with great characters, and lovely voice acting. I personally love the 50'/60'/70's gangster movies, and stories, and this one is probably the best so far. It has kinda cliche, but dramatic storyline, with a good picture of the mafia. The only downsides are that it is not much of a sandbox (there is not many options besides doing the quests), and it is toooo damn short! This is a deal you cannot refuse... (at least when it's discounted).

98

An amazingly immersive and historically correct open world game

BlockAgent | July 5, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Mafia 2 is such a beautifully done open world game. It immerses you in 1940's new york city with a ton of accuracy. Nothing seems out of place, everything makes you think "I bet this is really what it was like". From the fact that most residents have accents due to being new to the country, to the billboards, to the music, everything makes you feel like you are experiencing history.
The world of mafia 2 is one that is impressively alive. Every person you see on the streets seems to not just be there to walk by, but that they are living thier lives. I saw a person slip on a patch of ice as I drove by, I stopped on the side of the road to help a woman fix her car, I listened to guys shouting up at a window to a man's wife trying to get her to let him go out drinking with them. This is the level of detail and aliveness the world has. Grand Theft Auto should take note. The gameplay is great as well. The shooting, sneaking and driving all feel spot on and are never cumbersome.
The game runs well and doesn't seem to have any major glitches. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes open world games. Even if you don't want to play the missions, just exploring the world and interacting with it are worth the purchase price.

89

Not really a sandbox, but still awesome.

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | See all reginleifx's reviews »

I remember getting this game a year ago, and giving it a try a few months later. Mafia II might not have impressive visuals for the year it came out, however, it's not something you should care about. The gameplay is great, since it's basically a quite linear sandbox. Sure, there aren't many things to do but to follow the plot (Which I'm going to talk about later), but you can still do the basic things almost every sandbox has, like stealing cars, fighting pedestrians, and running from the law. Now, I really love how the police works in this game: Depending on your wanted level, they'll take different actions (1 Star, they'll give you a ticket, 2 stars, they'll try to arrest you, 3 and 4 stars, they will try to kill you). The game is quite realistic, with things that have really happened being talked about in the different radios, which are great as well. However, there's a bit of anachronism (That is, there are things that didn't happen in the game's time period), like songs from the '60s being in a 1945 radio. Soundtrack's actually quite impressive. The tracks made for the game fit really well, and the radios are amazing as well. As for the plot and characters, well, they're awesome. Most of the game is basically a flashback Vito (The main character) is having, in which we get to understand quite a lot of things about his life, like, why he became a member of the mafia, and how he did it. Most characters are charismatic and lovable, and most players I know wanted to get to the end to see whether Vito and Joe (His best friend) got a happy ending, or not.

79

Heavily GTA Inspired Mafia Game

884okeoJ | July 4, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Mafia II is a flawed yet decent game that shines in some parts, but is weak in others. The story is fantastic, telling a rags-to-riches tale of Vito Scalleta, a veteran of war who has returned to America and joined the Mafia. While it is not the most inspired plot, borrowing heavily from GTA IV, the way it is told keeps you on the edge of your seat.

The graphics are fairly good, being at the same level of most sandbox games at the time. The voice acting is phenomenal, and the music is great. The gameplay is nothing to write home about, with standard shooter mechanics that don't do anything to innovate. If you can find this game on sale, it is definitely worth buying.

91

Awesome.

Ghostbacks | July 1, 2014 | See all Ghostbacks's reviews »

Rich story line, beautiful graphics and a great game. The mechanics and controls are easy to use and really the game is just fun. Unfortunately there is no free ride option to just explore the city and do what you want as the story line is linear, but you can always find time before starting a mission or at the end to go and mess around in this giant gorgeous city in the 40's or 50's.

90

Not sure what expected, got much fun.

Furrek | June 22, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I picked it up when there was a rewards on playfire for this game. I'm not sure what I was expected, but got so much fun. I don't remember the first Mafia game very well, but I spent almost 10 hours in this one in one sitting. The story totally sucked me in. Characters in this game are amazing. Atmosphere of 40s and 50s are something great. The almost very begin part of game is set up in winter, and when I was walking around saw a guy that slipped on ice. It's not much, but that left me with big smile on my face. Also, the music. I just love music from these times. Not sure what more there will be for me after finishing this game, but I guess I will go hunt for playboy magazines. It's a nice way to reward collectible hunters with something more than just plain numbers. This game should be played by everyone - it's a good game, worth every price and time spent in. Not sure how DLCs are, since I haven't played them yet, but if they give a bit more to the story then I will be sure to get them.

80

Nice game with a Hollywood movie script

borobobo | June 18, 2014 | See all borobobo's reviews »

Mafia 2 is an open world action/shooter/adventure game similar to that of Grand Theft Auto or Sleeping Dogs regarding the gameplay and free roaming. Though, the story is set in 1940-1950 period it offers an alternative gameplay experience to that of the previously mentioned modern time games. The city is Empire Bay, a fictional city well made by the developers regarding the buildings, sceneries, cars, people and the whole atmosphere in general(some nice songs that your radio plays from time to time are still really popular nowadays). The story of the game is really good and reminds me of many Hollywood movies that it might have inspired this game, with mafias,mobsters,police chases,killings etc. The main character is Vito Scaletta an immigrant of Italian origins who along with his friend Joe Barbaro join some mafia families in order to live their dream and become rich. After a long struggle, many killings of either bad guys or friends the game ends and leaves you with mixed feelings and you don't know if you are happy,sad or just convinced to deal with the way life really is.

TL;DR: The game even though it's quite old, it deserves your time that you might spend playing it. I hope I helped :)

80

Great shooter, but little to do in the free roam

shadowrock528 | June 14, 2014 | See all shadowrock528's reviews »

Let's clarify something from the beginning: Mafia II is a great game. It's quite long, has some amazing missions and a good story. The gameplay is good: You'll have many weapons and cars aviable (as long as you've got the money). Cars can also be tuned, to be able to escape from the police easier. The game is pretty realistic, wich is great for the free roam. It's not like other open-world games where you can just pass a red light or get over the maximum speed limit with no consecuneces. Here, if the police sees you commiting an infraction, they'll chase you. (you can opt to bribe them, but it is really expensive). Other realistic detail, for example, is that vehicles run out of gas, and get broken. Son if you spend to much time using the same car, you'll most likely have to go to a gas station to ask for a refuel, or if you destroyed the vehicle to much then you'll have to go to a mechanic (who can also tune your car and change yor plates if you need to). If you are in need of money, there's always the options to steal shops, but beware: some shops have guards dressed as civilians. Otherwise, it's a normal TPS. The sound is just great: the music you'll hear while you play (most of the times while listening to the radio on your house or while you're driving) is music taken directly from that period of time, which adds to the feeling that you really are in that period of time. The sound effects are also great. One cool thing is that in the radio you'll hear, as well as music, some news, which will tell you about "new inventions that allow you to change the channel on your TV without getting up" and things like that, which adds realisim to the game. On the graphics side, the game is good. Animations are ok, but the facial expressions are nothing special. The world and the vehicles are well designed, and overall is very good. In conclusion, MAFIA II is a great game, and if you like open world and like stories like "Good Fellas", then get it right away.

70

Why this game is so good... and then its flaws.

wareagle3085 | May 24, 2014 | See all wareagle3085's reviews »

Mafia 2 was one of my main reasons back then that I began loving the look of a retro city like LA Noir and well.... that's pretty much it. These two are all the games I can think of with a setting like this (and Bioshock). Mafia two is a eye opening look at the post WW2 era of america through the eyes of a mobster in the making. The game tries its hardest to let you walk around and be a free roamer but it is instead cut up into chapters in a weird hybrid sand box/level select form. All in all the game is awesome with its design but the hybrid style of getting through the city is just weird.

80

Surprisingly Great

Tobzors | May 24, 2014 | See all Tobzors's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a great game. It has a captivating story and well written characters with excellent voice acting. The world is captivating and feels real, and the songs in the radio only adds to the atmosphere. The combat system is very fun and works really well, as does the driving system. There's also a lot of clothing you can buy and wear. The only downside to the game is that besides the main story there isn't a whole lot to do. There aren't any random encounters or things to spend your money on, as a result the world feels kind of big and empty.

Still a great game.

8/10

80

Not "truly" open world, but still a good time

Fiftybottles | May 22, 2014 | See all Fiftybottles's reviews »

Mafia 2 touts itself as a Sopranos-like tale of the mafia in the 40s through 50s, with a large and sprawling open world. Well, that's kinda sorta true. The open world exists, sure, but there's simply nothing to do with it. It seems as if the developers spent an enormous amount of time crafting this wonderful world, but then realized they had simultaneously created an incredibly linear, story-driven game (which isn't an inherently bad thing) to go along with it. So they sort of just shoehorned the latter into the former.

That being said, Mafia 2 is very far from a bad game. Quite the opposite actually; its shooting and driving mechanics are solid enough and its story is well presented and intriguing, even if it's a bit too predictable a bit too often. It's not the best the market has to offer, but it does what it does well enough, and if you're on a gaming "dry spell" and can't seem to find anything to play, Mafia 2 will service you more than well enough.

82

Great game but with little free roam.

jasonwsc | May 21, 2014 | See all jasonwsc's reviews »

This game is in many ways an improvement from many of the other open world games. Animations are fluid, and the police AI in the story are much smarter, as they remember your face and your car.

My only gripe with the game is that there is a lack of free-roam experience. Most of the game has the waypoint set in and you do mission after mission. Yes, there is free-roam in the DLC, but it is still slightly disappointing.

91

Definitely a competitor

mrminecrafter1 | May 20, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

Mafia 2 is simply amazing. The storyline is unique and the characters are well developed. The atmosphere and detail of the game is just stunning. You could almost feel like you were actually in the city, roaming around as Vito Scaletta. There a couple of annoyances such as the voice-overs which are a bit irritating to the ears at times. Driving is a bit debatable. To some people, it feels realistic and great; while other people think that driving is like trying to drive across ice. Overall the game is definitely worth a shot and hopefully a new sequel comes out. GTA and Saints Row, watch out for Mafia.

70

Lesser brother of GTA series

RakuPL_Markolf | May 14, 2014 | See all RakuPL_Markolf's reviews »

Don't get fooled by the review title. It doesn't mean Mafia 2 is bad game. It just feels that the first Mafia was something good then the 2nd is just a mix up of the 40s and GTA, but with less polishing than the original. It's not so exciting and the story is a bit worse. But still a good game if you want to try something else than GTA.

88

Mafia 2 goes where should go

thesorrow47 | May 12, 2014 | See all thesorrow47's reviews »

Mafia 2 has what people want for the sequel from one of the best games ever made. It's possible that you don't like too much like the first one, but that doesn't mean that the game is bad. But the first was a experience like any other game and this game is just a good sequel. But has good moments and the game feel like the first. I just think that they could give us more content. Overall, if you love the first, you'll like this game.

79

Unique storyline, open world, but wait for sale

cup99 | April 14, 2014 | See all cup99's reviews »

Mafia 2 brings you back to the times of the Italian mafia, and is a unique game. The time period weapons are very enjoyable, and the cars have a great damage system. For $30 however, it is not worth it. I recommend waiting for a sale and paying $20 or less. The game is fun but is easily boring once all levels are completed. Nothing keep you playing the game after you get bored of rampages and car chases. The voice overs are quite annoying as well. This game has good graphics that run on lower end computers such as mine smoothly. It is an overall pretty well done game.

83

Pretty good!

MartDrummer | April 5, 2014 | See all MartDrummer's reviews »

Mafia 2 is pretty great. It has a VERY interesting story, and it made me interested in the Godfather movies. The gameplay is not too shabby. The game has a great cover system and weapons that just feels right. The city is very open, however you have nothing to do in it outside missions. You drive A LOT in this game, and that can sometimes be frustrating. However, the great story and good gameplay makes up for that!

79

Unique story with explorability

Tancong | March 24, 2014 | See all Tancong's reviews »

The game mechanics allows you to roam and do anything you want. The only thing really, is that it was much too similar to the GTA series. However, I do find the storyline compelling and the gameplay somewhat interesting. There are things the game could do better but overall, not bad.

100

like a good book you can sink your eyeballs in :D

damienjameswebb | Feb. 20, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

First off.... i strongly believe that this game is still worth the 30$, and i will say that my only issue is that i wish it was longer and more linear.... it does do some story cutting and "6 month's later" kind of things, but i'll live.

anyway... this game WAS AMAZING and deserved every bit of your attention. It is an open world Gangster story from beginning to end. it starts you off as a new recruit into the family and sees you all the way to your rise and fall within the belly of the mob. the graphics - great. the soundtrack - great. the cars - gorgeous. and the story was so mouthwatering-ly intense i never wanted to put down the controller. I hope one day they release another chapter of this amazing IP

77

Surprising

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

First going into this, I wasn't expecting much in terms of innovation, however after playing it for a few hours, I was instantly surprised at just how incredible the game is, mainly in terms of both atmosphere and gunplay.

Driving around the city and abiding the law really lets you get a good sense of the city. You have people walking along, socializing and doing their everyday tasks whilst the day goes on as per usual. However, should you choose to release the evil within, the sounds of gunfire echoes through the streets as you drop person after person, screams falling short and sirens getting ever so closer. Rockstar really delivered in terms of immersion, and for that, I'm sure everyone is thankful.

The world isn't all that big, but the first time that you venture through it, there's plenty to see and explore. Compared to Rockstar's other titles such as GTA, it's nothing special, but if you're focused on completing the story, it won't be too much of a problem at all.

Overall, the game is beautiful, though it won't deliver if your intent is to find a vast, open world sandbox game. If you are, however interested in both the story and gunplay, I can happily recommend this to you.

81

A Brilliant Free-roaming Gangster Game.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

I never played the first Mafia, as I was too busy playing GTA San Andreas, which is a brilliant game by the way. So, when I picked up Mafia II for free for the golden joystick awards, I came in to expect a okay GTA clone, but to my surprise, was a much different approach to a free-roam game.

This game takes place somewhere in the early to mid 1900's. You are Vito, a war soldier that comes back to his home for a couple weeks until he has to go back to war again, but that changes when you meet his friend, who takes you clean off the papers to get out again, so you can stay with him. After which, you find your sister now owns money to a mob, so you have to earn 2000 dollars in a week, but in order to get that kind of money, you need to join the mafia with your friend.

The story is pretty good, as the story isn't usually valued in this kind of game. The setting, though, is probably in my top 20 favorite gaming worlds now. It feels like a city full of life, and comfort, due to its beautiful artwork of the game and the live people around the sidewalks.

Like GTA, you are a gangster, who wants to earn big bucks, so you steal and kill to earn it, but instead of doing it for yourself in GTA, this game says you do it for your family, or you wouldn't do it at all. It's approach makes it a much deeper and richer story, all in a time period you probably haven't lived in.

All in all, a great representation of a new way to play a GTA-like game.

85

Great atmosphere and story

IDprofile | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

The story is this game is great with good voice acting, immersive environment with amazing graphics, good looking and handling cars, and a true '40s/'50s feel. The guns sound and feel great with plenty of recoil and destructive environment you feel like you have a truly powerfully machine in your hands. Anytime in between objectives you can go where ever you like on a very well made map, stealing cars, robbing shops, running from the police, shopping for clothes, driving around at high speed, jumping your cars up ramps and over houses, going to your crib to eat a sandwich to refill your health, shopping for guns, finding collectables hidden across town, etc. You should play this game if you haven't already. It's own of a kind and a great experience. I've replayed the game three times so far.

89

Good game with a unique story.

godoftoast1992 | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all godoftoast1992's reviews »

Mafia 2 is sequel of one of my favourite game Mafia. It takes place in 1939 New York. It has free roam like games like the GTA Series and Saint Row Series but however has a set story with chapters which are impeccable. You play as Vito Scalleta who joins the war in Sicily and later returns home after a gun wound and finds himself in family issues. Throughout the story he and his best friend Joe Barbaro who helps Vito to succeed in life and help his family. The Graphics of the game is great and better than your usual Saint Rows, The Story is brilliant and well thought with twist and turns and characters who feel real. The gameplay is stunning but with minor glitches in my play-through with guns disappearing enemies glitching through walls. Not to mention there are collectibles to find from Play Boy Magazines to Wanted Posters to make sure you have something to do. In summary Mafia 2 is a brilliant game and is a must have in your game library.

81

Overall a great experience

sonicchaos | Jan. 25, 2014 | See all sonicchaos's reviews »

While Mafia: The City of Lost Heaven had a natural protagonist, a good man with his own flaws and fears that becomes engulfed in a life of crime without knowing how far it can go, I never could care about him. Of course criminals aren't people we should root for, but in a game at least we should care about what we're doing to this poor fellow. But Mafia 2 fixed that by introducing us to Vito Scaletta. There's a lot to say about this guy that we couldn't say about former protagonist Thomas Angelo (who had a memorable name, but no family, and was a cab driver). Vito has a backstory, from his child life when he came to US from Sicily with his family to find a good life and instead found more hopes and poverty, to the days of his juvenile delinquency days and war, ironically back in his native home town. He comes back on leave (after getting shot) to visit his mother and sister, but his old pal Joe Barbaro (now in cahoots with the mafia) convinces him to leave war behind and dedicate his time in helping his family. There's more to that, as his father tragically and suspiciously dies drowning and apparently under influence, and many other characters we meet down the road.

Gameplay is very familiar, a good action-adventure game set in an open-world city much like the first game was, in fact set in the kinda same city, only now named Empire Bay instead of Lost Heaven. There's a lot of space to explore, but sadly there's nothing much to do if you want to roam around between missions, except for collecting magazines and hunting achievements. But the city still is amazing, and even if this is one huge level, there's variety to it, as the story branches between the winter of 1945 and the colorful 1951. Much like how Driver Parallel Lines handles it and many players tend to compare the to games a lot. The missions are varied, even a couple of interesting stealth missions and brawling. There are even a few throwbacks to the first game. Surprisingly enough, players will find out at some point that they're playing the role of one minor character in the first game.

Obviously, there are downsides to this game. Fans complained about the lack of the Freeride mode, but honestly I didn't see a point to it as driving around the city is enough of a freeride as it is. Despite the characters being memorable and interesting and the story superb, the game is a just a bit too generic and forgettable, except maybe for the last mission and the ending which alone make up for every drag. The soundtrack is comfortable and nice, but nothing as glorious as the music was in the first Mafia.

As I need to wrap up with many details left out, I have to praise the beautiful visuals, the voice acting, the character acting, the rich Jimmy's Vendetta and Joe's Adventures DLCs (and I rarely endorse DLCs) and i have to wholeheartedly encourage you to give this game a chance.

70

Decent.

TETfromLondon | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Mafia 2 is an open world crime story following a well voice acted and realised albeit extremely generic Italian-American gangster named Vito. The characters are possibly the highlight of the game, as they are all well done, (although get ready to here a lot of Goodfellas mobster accents) and the facial animations are excellent. The story is also well done and it is nice to see the environments change.

My main issue with the game is to do with the fact that the open world feels unnecessary and tacked on. It is not well fleshed out in the way that games such as GTA or Saints Row are, and this is particularly noticeable when you see that all the clothes shops are run by the same character model, and all the gun stores and so on. It is very empty with no real side missions, and the only interesting moments that aren't during the main story are during police chases, often when I had stolen the money from the various shops around the city. And although the police are vicious when chasing you, they are fairly easy to outwit, as sometimes they were summoned to my location by a gunshot when I stole money, but didn't notice me when I ran out of the store because I had holstered my gun. Also, the economy is stupid, because once you have robbed a few stores, you have more money that you will ever need, because you can buy nothing but guns, ammo and clothes, and if you kill the shopkeepers, you can steal those things anyway.

Overall, while Mafia 2 isn't bad, if you are looking for a good open world game, then this isn't for you. If you are looking for a good story driven game, then this may be more your thing.

87

this is very fun

toasterflakes | Jan. 10, 2014 | See all toasterflakes's reviews »

so i got this game for free in the joystick rewards event. i said free game why not. well one thing i have to say is. "why i didn't get it sooner!"

this game for me really felt under the radar. the story is good, driving is fun especially when you try to out run the cops and its all in that old 1940's time. the down sides thought are there really isn't much to do after you beat it, but replaying it is still fun. yet one good pro is that the collectibles are playboy mags with good real life models, not just some dumb thing you need to collect 1000 of to unlock art work, that doesn't have boobies.

70

Great moments marred by massive downtime.

Discostink | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Discostink's reviews »

Mafia II has a lot of really great content in it. The writing is of high quality, the gameplay feels quite nice, and the in-game rendition of New York is absolutely beautifully crafted. Mafia II manages to create a great atmosphere tied to the mafia stories of the era, through both dialogue, visuals and music. The game is also quite long in comparison to most other modern games.

The problem however, is that the length of the game is made up primarily of rather tedious downtime. Mafia II plays like an open-world game related to the same vein as the GTA series and the like, and almost every time you finish a mission, start a mission or are between missions, you are tasked to drive through the city from destination to destination, often times from one end of the map to the other. By the time you get halfway through the game, this starts to feel very, very tedious, especially as it starts to feel more like padding than actual gameplay. It's rather tragic, as the missions in between the driving are very, very good. If you have the patience, or if you can derive enjoyment simply from driving through the city and enjoying the sights, then Mafia II is a fanastic buy. If not, it's still good, though it carries a risk of burning you out before the endgame comes around.

85

great gameplay and good story

madxskillzxgame | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all madxskillzxgame's reviews »

the gameplay is awesome it is better than any other free roam game the guns are better and the fighting is better than games like gta and saint rows.the story is also great you learn about the characters and you start to care about them so if anything happens you actually care unlike a game with a bad story and characters so you wont care about them.so my final thoughts

graphics - it looks better than any other free roam game out

story - you actually care about the characters and their development

gameplay - good fighting and gun use feels good and accurate

90

All round great game

Jempa92 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all Jempa92's reviews »

I got this game from voting in the Golden Joystick awards in 2013 and I have thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it. The gameplay was great and the graphic were top class, especially the PhysX. The driving is realistic, but for me, the story was the best part and it helped to deliver a great game. I would also recommend getting the Joe's Adventure DLC and Jimmy's Vendetta as they add a lot more to the story and overall experience. The other DLC is good too, they just add more cars and outfits, but unfortunately nothing new to the story.

80

Great Game with Intense Storytelling

Freako | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

Mafia 2 the sequel has done very well. I played MAFIA when i was a kid when this game released i was very excited to try it out.

The storyline is amazing, you play as a normal guy an average middle age man then somehow you found out a better way to earn money through the underworld. But the underworld is not as easy as it seems you make good buddies and horrible enemies too.

I really enjoy the car chases but there is one flaw i don't really like is the gun play. The gun play seems fine in the first few hours but later it becomes repetitive. You have trouble take out your gun and start shooting the fun goes downhill real fast.

Other than that, storyline is great with memorable characters.
Game is definitely worth a buy but it's best to wait for it to be on sale.

88

A fun open world game.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a fantastic game with good voice acting, nice music and a great story.

The gun fights were fun and the driving controls are well done.

There is a few downsides in this game as it has a big open world to explore but there isn't much to do except for the main story. Also the game will not last you very long as you can complete it in a day.

Overall its a great game and is worth playing.

75

Good violent open world game

lachking | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a pretty solid game that in alot of ways reminds me of GTA. In the game you drive around, walk around and engage in crime related missions around a large city. Some missions revolve around killing certain people and others may involve driving to a certain location which is quite similar to missions in GTA. Others may also involve stealth and picking locks. The graphics design is quite nice and the portrayal of 1950s mafia conflict is done really well, with in-game radio music to support this. The game is not for the faint hearted however, as it is quite violent, and the language is quite extreme with a fair amount of swearing. The main problem of the game though is that it feels a bit empty and lifeless. Although the city is large, it does feel a bit lacking in substance as there are not many interactive locations like those in GTA. Some of the missions are also a bit dull and pointless, for example putting crates in a truck, going to the fridge to get something to eat or answering a call on the telephone. All said, however, Mafia 2 does most things pretty well, but it is nowhere near as good as GTA.

92

Amazing

penguinfizzy | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all penguinfizzy's reviews »

Graphics: 9 - Game is set a long time ago and looks very accurate.

Audio: 8 - The voices sound great but they can be very repetitive.

Controls: 9 - I played this with a controller and its easy to use.

Story: 10 - Loved the story

Lifespan: 10 - I still haven't finished it but some chapters can be very long and repetitive.

Overall: 92 - Great game to get if you are bored and just want to try something new. Waiting for the sequel!

75

There's no path of redemption here. Only the way of the mafia.

Shaheed_Jamal | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all Shaheed_Jamal's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a strange little beast. On the one hand, it truly is a labour of love. The world of Mafia is painstakingly realistic in it's depiction of New York in the late 40's and the 1950's. You truly feel like you've found yourself transported to a different time in America. Everything from the music to the vehicles feel authentic to the time-period. It truly is a testament to the developer's attention to detail.

On the other hand, the lack of things to do in this world is absolutely jarring. For a world so realistic, not having things to do in it is absolutely weird, especially in the age of GTA and it's many clones.

Graphics:

The game definitely looks aged and reflects the 5 years it took to make the game. The characters have stiff faces when they talk and it takes away from the immersion. The world outside is a sight to behold and it feels authentic to the world that existed in the 40's and 50's.

7/10

Sound: The sound is the best part of the game. The music that plays in the radio is what i remember most from the game and the original score is a delight.

9/10 Gameplay:

the gun-play and driving is top notch.

9-10

Lifespan:

The game despite having a wonderful story does not have much else to offer once the campaing ends.

5-10

75

Well crafted Mafia story

gforcesa | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

One of my favorite games when i was young was Mafia and the sequel doesn't disappoint at all.You play as Vito Scaletta and in the beginning of the game you and your best friend Joe rob a jewerly store in the process of which you get caught by the cops while Joe escapes.In stead of going to prison you are sent in the army to fight in the war.I won't tell anything else about the story because i'll leave that to you.The story is well crafted and the game mechanics are similar to Grand Theft Auto which is good.I do have to admit that in Mafia 1 the missions were more unique and were hard at somepoints but Mafia 2 is not a game to miss out on.

77

Very well-crafted game, but still in shadows of precedessor

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | See all Kordas's reviews »

Mafia was incredibly well-known game when it came out (especially on East). I remember that when I played it I was feeling like I was really one of them. That I was in mafia. Mafia II continues telling good story with of course a lot of technical improvements like graphics, gameplay and so on. The game is definitely fun to play and every Mafia I fan should try to play the sequel. Although it lacks so many shocking moments, it still has some great characters, big plot twist, and the ending that left my jaw dropped - it was that good. Shame that the game is quite short. Maybe it's because you don't really have a lot to do in the town between missions. It looks impressive, but in fact it's quite empty. It's definitely not GTA in terms of amount of content. That said, Mafia II really stands out as one of the games that can tell good story, and even though it is nothing that I'll remember to the end of my life, I still recommend it to everyone that wants to experience a good story in a world of mafia.

82

Wonderful game, with slight shortfalls.

TwelveGaugeSlug | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all TwelveGaugeSlug's reviews »

I really enjoyed my time with Mafia II. Its been a couple of years since I played and beat this game, but I really enjoyed it. The graphics were about average for last gen (xbox 360) and the controls were a tad less than perfect, but once you got the feel they worked fine. I liked the story, it was pretty easy to keep up with and interesting to boot. It was open world, but there wasnt much to do besides the main quest IIRC. But I didnt even care to play any side quests because I enjoyed the main story so much. All in all a definite buy, especially if you can get it on sale.

90

Better than expected...

harrykirkby | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all harrykirkby's reviews »

Not sure how I ended up with this game, and frankly, however I did I'm grateful. For a game that is years old, my first expectation was for it to be quite lame, not very fun or just a plain copy of GTA.

Boy was I wrong. Mafia 2, being my first Mafia game anyway, enriched the whole series into one full throttle, action packed game that kept me in love ever since day one. The game proved me that GTA can be beaten, such as GTA 4 being slaughtered by this game, and I can't recommend this anymore. The transition between 1940-1960 throughout the game is outstanding, recaptures all my history lessons as a kid.

100% recommend.

75

Could have been better

mcofdiablo | Dec. 4, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I had very high hopes for Mafia 2, because I liked the first Mafia very much. But what came out...Let's call it the game of unfulfilled promises and dreams.

To start with the pluses of the game, I have to admit the graphics look great even now. Considering the game was released in 2010 the facial animation impresses, and the game itself looks better than some modern ones. The shooting and driving mechanics are very well done. You feel different weapons and cars differently, you have to adjust which is really great.

What concerns minuses, the main character and story itself. It's just boring and poorly written. The main character is so plain and not interesting, you can't relate. The story has some bright moments, but for the most part you just drive the car. Over and over again. I felt that I was playing taxi driver simulator and not mafia game.

All in all, the game is not bad,it's mediocre. It could have been much better.

69

Good game, but a bit repetitive

RedFrix | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a good "what life would be if you're in the mafia" type of game and it really impresses it's storyline. Sadly, I did not find really fully satisfied by it as it seemed a bit lacking of character development for me, something that did not happen on the first Mafia game. While it has an open world map, you can not roam completely free as you still have a message box saying to the mission, but if you're able to ignore it's a really fun sandbox experience. What I don't like about Mafia 2 is that the first chapters you'll basically doing "Go here, do this, go there, do that" since there's low action and a lot of cutscenes. Later on, you'll really have a good experience.

85

Fun, but has it's shortcomings

Bytrine | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Mafia II is a very wonderfully made game. It looks great, feels great, and has a really good story. Not only that, but the voice acting is really good, as well. Whilst playing through the game, I felt like I was in the Mafia, and I felt as if I was actually doing all of the dirty work that was required in the early 1900's mob. It's very action-packed and you will fall in love with this game! However, towards the end it just seems as if the developers dropped an anchor and it slowed to a crawl and then lost it's way. It's a good game, but has a few major issues, You should still atleast rent the game and play it that way.

75

Building to Great But Lost Its Way

Stuman31 | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

3rd Person city games are being released on a more regular basis, so they need to do something new to stand out from the crowd. Mafia II started out amazing, without going into any details that could be possibly spoilery i was blown away. It looked good, and it felt like it had the courage to do things, story progression wise, i hadnt seen much in games before. However, the final 3rd of the game was a let down as it abandoned this progression and suddenly just felt like a game that had lost itself purpose and was just setting itself up for a sequel. Still enjoyable though

80

Not bad

TekilaShot | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all TekilaShot's reviews »

Ah mafia II, it was so underestimated, you really feel like you live in that area. I liked the fact they give you the choice between the driving , either simulation or arcade.For me the graphics and the music are the best part, the story is fine but too linear maybe? If you play it doesn't expect it to be LA noire or GTA, it's just another type of sandbox maybe not that fun but a good one. If you love the 30's - 40's go ahead you won''t be disappointed, if it's not your cup of tea you should get another game this one will felt too short to justify the price.

67

A fun game for action fans.

iiilker99 | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all iiilker99's reviews »

This game has a good campaign and a story but could be even better. Because it was VERY easy while I was playing in normal. Your health regenerates if you don't take damage .But it makes the game fun :) .Also, missions are a bit short but not boring .

Graphics are exciting and very realistic. Also It doesn't lag like other games. The voice is not bad and music is awesome. Good game for action fans.

90

A cinematic masterpiece

sunshine_avis | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all sunshine_avis's reviews »

At the end of the day, this game really is a different experience. It is probably one of the only games that I have truly enjoyed watching all of the cut scenes because they were so well-written and animated. In short, it is a story-telling, cinematic masterpiece. And it is ridiculously fun to play. The story draws you in; you really become invested in the characters, which is a fairly hard thing for some games to accomplish. The mechanics are great, very smooth and easy to pick up. I've only played a little bit of GTA so I don't know how the driving holds up to a title like that but I really, really enjoyed cruising around town in a really nice car I stole. The car customizations are nice, though writing your license plate can get tedious if you were using a controller like me. The missions are a lot of fun; they are varied so you don't get bored. Best of all, the ending was brilliant; I was scared that the game would build up so much tension and than fizzle out but it was a great ending. I would have liked to have seen this game be a bit more open world in the traditional sense with side quests and more NPC interactions (which were sadly a bit lacking) but overall really great game.

95

The best game ive ever played

marvthecrashkin | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all marvthecrashkin's reviews »

Mafia 2 puts you in the life of Vito Scaletta shortly after World War 2.He just came back from Italy,when his friend Joe helps him to earn money with criminal activities.You punch and shoot your way through bar and gang fights,blow up hotels,rob stores and many more things.The developers did a great job at making the game.You literally feel like you were in that time. It still has some bugs,but still,id give it a 95/100

70

Enjoyable, easy and short game

Tofik2000 | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all Tofik2000's reviews »

I'll start from things i liked in this game. First advantage is stylisation of the world. World is created just as it was back then. Architecture, music, behavior of NPC (like driving off when you're going head on or telling you to back off when you are too close to women), are created perfectly. Especially chit-chats in car while driving on missions. Unfortunately every other experience in the game will be neutral or negative. Storyline is too short and way too easy. You can easily beat the game in hardest difficulty in about 10-13h of play without any problems. Gameplay is .. lets say neutral, because even if you pointing at something, you will take action on nearests object. It's very annoying from the start, but you can get use to it. Storyline is as linear as possible. You will surely enjoy playing the game but will be disapointed how quickly it ended.

79

Good, but no GTA

RedPhenx2000 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all RedPhenx2000's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a period sandbox game taking place in the 1940s, against a backdrop of Mafia family dealings. If you go in expecting wild driving, etc like GTA or Saints Row, you will be disappointed.

However, knowing that it is not case, you will easily get 15-20 hours out of the game. The car handling is supposedly similar to 1930s-40s era cars, the voice acting is good, and the missions are fun. The only downside is the linearity of the game.

74

Great for gangsters fans.

DrDeath | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all DrDeath's reviews »

This game opens up as an interesting story that keeps going until ends up on an even more interesting story, going from a thief wanna-be that joins the US Army Light infantry Airborne unit to ends up as one of the biggest Mob leaders of New yor...... Empire city.

The first mafia has been just a rip off from The Godfather (IMHO, best PS2 game ever). But this game REALLY does a good justice to the genre of mobsters sandbox. Of course, there are flaws, but nothing too big. The weapons are somewhat lacking, and the ammo is not universal between some of them like how it should be (the .45 ammo used in both M1911, and both Thompsons) and the Crosshairs are not really useful either at all... but this is not the first time we have seen this, so its not really game-breaking.

The graphics DOES looks dated somewhat, then again, we are talking about an 2010 game here, but trust me, it won't look like that in a lot of times, the biggest complaint would be also that the Cutscenes are not rendered with the same quality than the in-game engine, but that they are inferior too (something odd and EXTREMLY rare in games). But the shadow quality is at least, good, and i cant say much bad about the textures either.

The game tries too hard to be interactive, maybe a little bit too hard. Some parts of it itself are glitching because the interaction is up to where your character is looking, not where you are pointing at, and being a Third Person Shoter, that's not a good idea. Not that its a big problem, after all, almost nothing that you can do inside your house is really useful... you will be only using the fridge, the guardrobe, maybe the radio, and the phone for certain missions.

Talking about the radio, a big complain would be the lack of radio stations, in the first part of the game that takes in the 1945 has just 3 radio stations (too little) but at least the song in them its not bad, its pretty good. Then, after the second half wich takes you into the US of 1951, the radio stations are there, with the music of the time, not even their names changed.

Now that i mentioned the second half, i have to say, its REALLY well done as an enviroment, some places changed, the cars changed, and you can see everything by yourself how the whole US changes in the time of the war and after the war.

The main difference of the 2 parts would be the weather, wich in the first part is snowing (vehicle handling is affected) and the second part is Autumn/Summer.

About vehicle handling: Its no TDU or car simulator, but its doing a pretty damn good job at it. I haven't touched the arcade setting, but the realistic vehicle handling its just fantastic.

The AI its just the good old classic Sandbox AI, TERRIBLE. And the cops may look like if they took car driving lessons from the ones in GTA. But at last, the Cops AI its not so bad, it does behaves somewhat in a realistic manner, the only exception would be that going over a red light its not considered law infringement, or at least i haven't been chased by passing over a red light.

This game is FORCING YOU to stay in cover, wether this is good or bad, its up to you. Also, i should be explaining that the AI only reacts to you, yes, granted, this is better than COD, friendly AI actually does something, but the game really put the spotlight on you.

The system to buy things is bad. You cant buy cars, the tunning its not good until you have unlocked everything in the last section of the game, and the cloth stores do not tell you wich item you have already bought before, or wich one you haven't. This is turning the game into a more GTA IV style approach, as you cant even buy houses (not that it really matters, as there are just 4 houses for you, starting one, first half, mid half, and a bad last half one).

The dialog is greatly written, and there is nothing else to say that i just love it.

You WILL have to remember that this game doesn't give a thing about your money, as in 2 parts of the game they force you to leave everything behind.

There is a lotpicking minigame to steal cars, but dont get too excited, it may be silent, but its still attracting cops, its not really realistic at all (how hard would it be to make it realistic? really!), but its a nice add to the general game.

There is no much thing to say about this game other than:

DO NOT trust the demo, in that demo you are with a suit and a house that comes up later in the game, with weapons that you unlock, but at the end you dont have nothing of it in the final game.

90

Salieri sends his regards

VaderJacobs | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all VaderJacobs's reviews »

The story stands alone from it's prequel, but has the best reference to it I've ever seen in game series ever. The story is great, the missions vary a lot are and are always fun. You don't have to drive too long to get at the destinations and the ending made me want the sequel even more than I thought. The gameplay is surprisingly good, all the driving, shooting, fist fighting goes smooth and feels right and the graphics are really nice too, let's put it this way: if the game was published today, no one would have serious critic on it when it comes to the graphics. The mechanics are good too but I've seen some odd things happening trough out the game like a spastic tie and uh, lets call it "magic climbing". And to finish, the pros and cons list: pros: - good story that drags you in and has very cool characters - good gameplay and graphics - very varied missions - good atmosphere and map - nice radio stations and cars - playboy cons: - the open world doesn't offer a lot - hard mode isn't very hard

Conclusion: a well earned 9.

90

Best Gangster game out there

Highlander9782 | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

The graphics of the game are still topnotch and the story is equally as good. You get to play through different historical eras of time like World War 2, and New York in the 1950's. The level design and maps are large and great to explore. The gameplay is great as well, with crazy shootouts breaking out from nowhere. Lots of nice little touches let you feel like you're in the 1950's especially with the great soundtrack on the radio, and clothing customization for your character. Definite buy if you love open world gangster games. The only con I can think of is that its hard to get away from the cops when they're chasing you. There's also DLC that adds to the story campaign with Joe's Adventure and Jimmys Vendetta.

70

Good, but...

bauwan | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all bauwan's reviews »

At first, I almost fell in loved with Mafia II. First mission was amazing and then it all got worse. Don't get me wrong, the game itself was pretty cool, the setting was really interesting and it has many great features (like for instance, changing the license plate to get rid of police), but I expected something else. Great story with good characters, many interesting features that you won't get in GTA or SR series, but despite the open city, I haven't found anything interesting, beside the main story.

90

An excellent mobster story

commanderhavoc | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

Out of all the gangster games I've ever played, this one has to be the best when it comes to well written characters and an engaging story about trust, family and betrayal. 2K Czech did an outstanding job at capturing the spirit of the 50's in the US, back when people still believed in the elusive American Dream. And the main character Vito Scarletta and his longtime best friend Joe are great protagonists, especially Joe as he sometimes gets himself in rather silly situations that Vito has to bail him out of and even when he sometimes nearly end up killing both himself and Vito, they still stick together as the best of friends. Of course, the music is also important for the game and they also did an outstanding job here at choosing some great songs for the radio stations to play as you cruise through the city, including John Lee Hooker's "Boom Boom" and many others.

85

I am a gangster

MOSCOW456 | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all MOSCOW456's reviews »

Mafia 2 throws into the life of Vito Scaletta an Italian immigrant whose father moved over to Empire bay when Vito was a boy. Money is always a trouble for the Scalettas and when Vito turns to a life of crime and gets caught he is forced to fight in WW2 and this where the story truly begins. While the gameplay certainly isn't anything new or innovative it isn't bad either, it is the same with the graphics. What really sets this game apart is how it makes you fee.l You really do feel like a gangster the atmosphere and setting are awesome. 85/ 100. Would reccomend.

94

One of the best games ever

Teh_Thrasher | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all Teh_Thrasher's reviews »

This game is simply awesome. I've played it till the end and the only thing i gotta say is that it's one of the best games out there. Worth the time.

90

Recommended

Webciu | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Webciu's reviews »

Realistic gun fights, good graphics, well written story and much more! Mafia II is absolutely worth playing.

90

Addictive in its Own Right

RvnBlk | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all RvnBlk's reviews »

Played through the storyline on the weekend, I just couldn't put it down. Everything from the setting to the characters and the story...it kept me hooked. Often I find myself humming along to the songs on the radio. A real throwback to the 40s and 50s.

Gameplay does have its faults. Like Vito would take cover at the nearest surface and not where I'm pointing him to. Missions can be repetitive. Anyone can gun you down. And this game is a limited open world.

Despite all that, this game is a must have for anyone interested in gangster games, 3rd person shooters and action/adventure fan.

83

Fun mobster game

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

I expected GTA in an old setting and therefore got somewhat disappointed.

However this game is a solid sandbox game with a very good story line, great style and graphics and great gameplay (handling). You do feel like you are a mobster during the 1940's on your way to power and glory.

The biggest draw-back is that the story is really lineair which kinda sucks in sandbox games.

By far superiour to other mobster games like the godfather.

For the Nvidia fanboys, this game features Physx.

92

Mafia II: The Real Mafia Experience

Azrael360 | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

Mafia II is a fantastic sandbox-action-driving game. With an excellent story, superb graphics, sound and music, great gameplay and ambiance, it is highly recommended for anyone looking for a more mature sandbox game.

The level of details that this game has, is sometimes unbelievable. From simple things like pedestrians, houses and cars, up to bigger things, like buildings, streets and roads; and that includes even the smaller of things, like a cup of coffee or a newspaper. And don't forget the "playboys"...

You'll get easily, at least 15 hours out from it, and probably more. I have this game on Xbox 360 and now on PC, and always get at least 25 hours going for everything this game have, and that's just playing the base game without the DLC. And never get tired of it, that's how I really enjoy and love Mafia II.

As for the game itself, the story is amazing and the characters believable. Starting in the '40s and followed by the '50s, you will see that everything will change according to the years: cars, clothes, even the aspect and the climate of the city. The driving is also good, and every type of cars drives differently. Also the action is good and feels right, you can aim properly and also protect yourself behind something, and still be in control of your character to do what you want. And with a great selection of weapons at your disposal, you can always try different types of weapons according to your preferences.

With a big and beautiful city to explore, good cars to drive, and missions to unlock, you can't go wrong with Mafia II. Again, highly recommended.

75

Nice Atmospere and story

roelgort | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all roelgort's reviews »

I really liked Mafia II. The story was good, nice characters. Driving mechanics felt good, and I really like the feature where you can cap your speed to what's legal. The city was nice to drive trough, too bad there wasn't much to do and the game stops after the final mission. Do not expect a GTA-style game in the 50's, but a good (linear) story.

93

Epic Setting

Kevster123 | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all Kevster123's reviews »

I love the setting in this game. 1940s New York is the perfect backdrop to your mafia adventures. The architecture and fashion of the time is represented very well. The soundtrack works very well with it too. My only concern is that free roaming with these 40s cops can be a bit difficult. Otherwise, this game is great.

88

Good Game!

nasirdude3211 | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all nasirdude3211's reviews »

Good game very good story line. Plays like a dime with a controller. I enjoy the 3rd person view a lot. 2K did not cheap out on the details. Driving is the only thing that bother me. It take forever and since the cars are older the slide more.

Overall: Great game pick it up if your looking for a 3rd person story mode shooter.

100

Best Mafia Game Ever

el_pelado95 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

This game is awesome. The graphics are supreme and it runs smoothly on a medium range computer (without any trouble). The 1940`s are perfectly recreated (costumes, cars, enviroment, buildings and even animals) and the driving gameplay is ok (maybe too easy). You can do Stealth missions or nice shoot and covers (with cool bullet effects and explosions). Extra points for the Playboy magazines. For me, an epic game.

92

An eternal masterpiece

MisterRay97 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all MisterRay97's reviews »

This game is, in truth, a masterpiece. The storyline is amazing. The graphics are breath-taking and the game physics and gameplay is enjoyable. You play the character of Vito Scarletta. Each and every mission in the game is interesting and you'd only want to play more after completing each mission. The storyline is very beautifully written and you'll engage with what Vito and Joe are upto. The beauty of the city of Empire Bay and it's time is very amazing. This game immerses you into the character. You'll feel like you are the character; this game makes you feel his emotions. The gameplay mechanics are fantastic. The shooting is decent, the driving is amazing and the game feels really good to play. The physics are realistic and the missions are perfectly balanced; not too easy, not too hard. There's also some Playboy magazine collectibles well placed around the city to collect. The game will put you a load of hours spending on the missions. This game provides the perfect lively feel of the good ol' times and the Mafia. The soundtrack is good and the game feels that it has been worked on well. I'm giving it 8 points less than the perfect 100 due to it's lack of actual proper free-roam after the completion of the story.

Overall, this game is a well made game and is a must-play for all the single-player fanatics (like me) out there.

95

Fan-diddly-tastic

Gedehamster | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all Gedehamster's reviews »

Well, well well... Will you look at this... Mafia II ! This is a great game, I enjoyed it so much. I'd go as far as saying that I enjoyed it more than GTA 4,Max Payne 3 & L.A. Noire. If you ever thought of ''how is it being in, you got it, the mafia?'' you should definitely try this game out! I went in with the thoughts of something somewhat like ''Ehh... I hope it's worth my time.'' And I can tell you, holy shit it was. Point is, buy this fucking game. You won't regret it.

90

Fantastic game

Jimmysil | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

The first thing you will notice about Mafia 2 is the atmosphere in the game. Graphic is really nice, and you don't need the best PC on the market to run it on full details. The gameplay is really good, gunfights feel real, and you can set up if you want arcade or simulation driving. Story is also well written, and you won't have a problem with getting closer to game characters. The city could be more alive, because there is not much to do after you finish the game.

90

Great Story, Graphics, Fun Missions

Highlander9782 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

Entertaining game where you get to experience life in the 40's and 50's. It has a great soundtrack, making you feel like you're in that time period, eventhough technically some of those songs came out after the year you're playing in. The graphics are the best for a open world game, better than the Grand Theft Auto and Saints Row games I say as well, until GTA 5 comes out lol. The missions are very diverse and you work your way up to be a badass mafia man. Only bad thing is when you get chased by cops in the game, its hard to lose them.

75

Fantastic story

Dinosawrr | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Dinosawrr's reviews »

This is such an improvement on the original. The story, and mechanics of the game are really fun, but the only downside is that there's no real free roam feature when you complete the game.

80

A fun and enjoyable experience.

ShadowViper0010 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all ShadowViper0010's reviews »

While I have not yet beaten the game, I feel I have played it enough to give it a review. The game's firefights and all around gunplay is satisfying, the characters are enjoyable, the story has been good and fun to go through. All around it has been a great game. It goes on sale very frequently so I wouldn't recommend paying full price for it, but it really is a fantastic game.

90

Excellent game!

mkyprice | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all mkyprice's reviews »

I have played it for more than 100 hours and feel that it is the greatest mafia game out there. It has a very alive open world that makes you really feel like you are in that time period more than any other game can.

100

A great game

tulsamadman | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all tulsamadman's reviews »

i preordered this game months before it came out, and after my first play through it had become one of my favorite games of all time. i love this games to death and have invested about 18 hours into each play through. great lovable characters and amazing story

85

Was hooked on this game while playing.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Caputalis's reviews »

Mafia II is one of those games where you feel like the character have come to life, and you begin to find yourself angry at being screwed over, or relieved when your buddy comes to help you out. Although the driving could have been worked on a little, this game had very good controls. Aside from the story, my favourite part of the game was the music, whether it was the game's soundtrack, or some of the classics featured on the radio. If you're into the 1940s and 50s, I'd highly recommend, if only to stroll around in the beautiful setting modelled after the late 1940s New York City.

80

An enjoyable game

garybermuda | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all garybermuda's reviews »

I quite enjoyed playing this game, though I found the draw sort of petered out towards the end. I did not like how the chapters really broke the sandbox aspect of the game up in to sections, but that would be the easiest way to simulate significant periods of time passing. Good overall.

89

It's hard to stop after we start

thesorrow47 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all thesorrow47's reviews »

I'll be honest, I really love the original Mafia, the story of the game is excellent. Everything on the first game worked 100%. So I was curious to see what they would do now, and they didn't disapointed too much. The worst problem is that this game looks like more incomplete than the first one, We feel like "you should put more things here and there". So it's good, but when we reach the end of the game we though "It's the end?". Besides that, this game deserves all the attention.

85

Worse than the first one, but still definetely worth the time

Thoosa | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

Packed with action and a good story, which is usually bashed by many people, but it is certainly good. Even though, it is advertised usually as a sandbox action like GTA, do not be mistaken: This is not the truth. The game itself lacks almost anything to do besides the main story, but of course, if you like to drive in you stylish vehicles, doing nothing except listening to stylish music from the 40th to 60th, go ahead. The DLCs are fine aswell, but nothing spectacular. Jimmy is worth the price, but Joes Adventure, just lack cut scenes except for the main missions, and it gets repetetive and boring too soon.

88

Great, but not nearly as good as the first

darkyhbk | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Mafia is my favourite game of all time, so I had really high expectations from Mafia 2, considering the lengthy production time. Mafia II is a fantastic action game in itself, but pales in comparison when coming against its predecessor. The graphics are really amazing, and the game treats you with some of the best cutscenes ever made- it's a pleasure to watch them. Everything looks fantastic, from the snow on the roads to explosions and character faces. The sound is also brilliant- perfect quality and variety of effects, alongside a great and perfectly chosen soundtrack, much of it consisting in jazz and blues, and some of the finest voice acting present in a videogame. The story is a mature one, featuring a number of really jaw-dropping moments, and some really brutal ones, as well as a number of laughs. However, it is not nearly as good as Mafia's story, which is really in a league of its own. The gameplay is exactly what a Mafia game should be, sacrificing GTA's complexity in favour of more storytelling, which is fine by me. Although it is all very solid, the attention to little details that Mafia showed, such as having to stop at red lights, speeding above a limit or simply blinking your lights when turning, is gone, and none of the moments seem as memorable as in the first game. Again, Mafia II is a fantastic individual game, but just not as good as I'd hoped it would be.

85

Great game

pbjallday | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all pbjallday's reviews »

I got this game right when it was released but just found out i could write reviews now. This game is very fun and has a great story and even when you're not doing the story, goofing around in cool vehicles just running around in the open world is enough for me to buy this game. I highly recommend this game to anyone.

87

Great 1940s mob GTA style game

bashscrazy | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all bashscrazy's reviews »

This is a great game. It is open world but not free roam. The game is very linear. There are several chapters to go through and you are always on mission. You don't have to do the missions and can just "free roam" if you would like but the game is meant to be played quite linearly.

The story is great! The characters are very good! I fell in love with Vito (the protagonist) and Joe his friend. I was always wondering what would happen next in the story.

The driving is different from modern games because the cars are older. They come with speedometers! You have to keep track of the speed you are driving because the police will come after you for speeding! That's pretty cool in my opinion. The fistfighting is quite unique and fun and the gunplay is quite enjoyable as well.

If you are into GTA style games and are also into good stories and characters this is the game for you!

82

A good game with an interesting story

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Being the sequel to one of the best open world games of all time is not easy, especially when the company making it has had 8 years to do so. Unfortunately, this game does not quite live up to the hype set for it, but, you will find plenty to enjoy and will find that this is the closest thing we will get to GTA 1940s until Rockstar decides to do so.

87

GTA: Backwards in time.

08woodh1 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

This is without a doubt what you'd imagine GTA to be like if it were based in the 1940's - 1960's. Explosions, gun fights, exotic cars, classic songs, great models, this game has it all. The realism in this game is one like no other when it comes to cars: petrol gauges that run out, a speed limit enforced by cops, and damage is applied to the player in car crashes. One thing however, is no matter how many times you try to hit a pedestrian with your car, they will always somehow dive out of the way; there is no ragdoll in this game so it takes some realism out, but I have always loved this game.

85

Great game for a mature audience

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

Like the original Mafia this game is more suited to a mature audience, not a 14-year old with an attention span of 5 seconds. The car handling is better than most racing games (with simulation physics), the gunplay and cover system is fantastic (again better than most shooters), music is great (no hip-hop, just the good classics :P). The game is rather realistic so your character can't take too many bullets, another feature reviewers rated as a flaw.

Some reviews claimed this game has unskippable cutscenes, which is untrue. You need to press start to skip cutscenes.

This is not really an sandbox game like some have mistakenly believed, it's an action adventure which takes place in an open world. This means there isn't that much to do outside of story missions, but the game still clocks in at a reasonable 10 hours. Everything good has to come to an end, but at least in this game you don't need to go bowling every 10 minutes.

81

Welcome to late 1940s mob underworld

suvojit91 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all suvojit91's reviews »

Mafia II is an action-adventure video game, the sequel to Mafia: The City of Lost Heaven. It was developed by 2K Czech, previously known as Illusion Softworks, and published by 2K Games.

The game is set in the late 1940's - early 1950's era of Empire Bay, a fictional city based on New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles, Boston and Detroit.There are 30-40 vehicles in the game (45 with downloadable content) as well as licensed music from the era. Many firearms from the previous game return, such as the Thompson submachine gun and Colt 1911, as well as a pump-action shotgun. New World War II-era weapons like the MP 40, the M3 submachine gun, the MG 42 and the Beretta Model 38 also appear in the game.

The city looks amazing and has that 60's feel, great shooting mechanics, and a somewhat interesting story.This game was a very enjoyable game with a great, though a rather short story. There was plenty of stuff to do besides the story such as go back looking for collectibles or just roaming the streets and doing the side jobs for money. It's very immersive and shows the times the game was based in very well. There are beautiful visuals and plenty of weapons at your disposal. Lastly, vintage playboy magazines to be collected! All in all, it is worth the $29.99 and would recommend buying it.

Rating: Gamespot: 8.5/10 PC gamer: 78% Game Informer : 9/10

75

Interesting at first but dull further on

hasib11m | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all hasib11m's reviews »

Positives: The city looks amazing and has that 60's feel, great shooting mechanics, and a somewhat interesting story

Negatives: The world is mostly dead (no side missions), most of the cars are fairly slow (given the time period), the main character lacks emotion, the game is fairly hard even on normal (causing you to repeat the mission several times), speeding and hitting other cars is prohibited (causing police to chase after you) which makes for extremely boring driving sequences.

All in all, the game is enjoyable for a short period of time and make sure not to play the game around family because there are nude vintage playboy magazine collectables also beware that your forced to look at them before putting away when picking them up.

80

Very very good game

simodeso | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It's the sequel of Mafia (story is not linked) and it's very very good. Gameplay and story are awesome, if you enjoyed the first mafia this i think it's even better! There are also some dlcs but this game is a must BUY it's so well made that you can't even imagine, if you play it you will realize how it can immerge yourself on 60's.

89

Classic 1950's "Free Roam"

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

First off let me just say, I loved this game. The story drove me to fall for the main character, Vito, and motivated me to get behind his cause. The story and atmosphere are the two big factors that make this game amazing, but it could've improved slightly in some areas.

What I loved:

The story, the characters. Vito's best friend Joe makes for an amazing character that helps propel the story.

The environment. It really sets you in the late 40's, early 50's and it's beautiful environment of cars and buildings also helps set the tone. But unfortunately a lack of interaction with the city makes the game a little shallow.

The playboy collectables. It is just amazing to collect one of these HD centerfold pictures around the city and looking at them. It's one of the best side-quest collectable missions a game has ever offered.

What I disliked:

As I've mentioned, the lack of interaction the city has to offer is pretty depressing. When compared to games like Grand Theft Auto, Saints Row, True Crime, and Red Dead Redemption, Mafia 2 is low on the scale as far as world interaction goes. It just makes the city feel empty, and depressing.

Other than that, the game's story and missions are extremely fulfilling. I love this game, but it did have the potential to be one of the best ever.

88

Live and feel the "Family"

XenonPK | July 11, 2013 | See all XenonPK's reviews »

I have to say, this game made I'ts message come through like few others did... It usually gets trashed all-round, by GTA and whatnot fans... What people forget is that GTA by itself is not a genre, and is unfair to expect a "clone" and forget that people behind the scenes really poured dedication and time into the game... Sorry it's not as open as most people were expecting, but it is a game with identity, and It's own message... Totally worth it!

75

Enjoyable Game

arthur12345 | July 11, 2013 | See all arthur12345's reviews »

This game was a very enjoyable game with a great, though a rather short story. There was plenty of stuff to do besides the story such as go back looking for collectibles or just roaming the streets and doing the side jobs for money. It's very immersive and shows the times the game was based in very well. There are beautiful visuals and plenty of weapons at your disposal. Lastly, vintage playboy magazines to be collected! All in all, it is worth the $29.99 and would recommend buying it.

95

MUST BUY

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

This game takes you back in time to the 60's when mafia ruled the cities and there was polices that you could bribe with money. This game is like gta but better if you like sandbox games like gta saints row etc. this is a must buy.

95

One of the best games i've played in years!

Saggy1 | July 6, 2013 | See all Saggy1's reviews »

Mafia II follows the story of Vito Scaletta as he becomes a mobster and later a made man. The game has a great narrative that drags you head first into the story and gives you a sense of sadness when a character dies. Mafia II has a great soundtrack as well with songs from the late 1940s to the early 1050s , and from what i understand got a lot of gamers into the music from that era which is always great.

Hopefully the rest of you will love this game as much as i have because of its soundtrack and characters.

75

Good Ol' Mafia

DocNuka | July 5, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

I’d never played Mafia before, so when the second game came out I wasn’t really paying attention to it. However, I saw some gameplay and I bought it when it was on sale. To start of with, the graphics are great, and the voice acting is top-notch, and it really immerses you into this historical fiction world 2k Czech have created. The gameplay is rather bland, however, as it basically uses the typical third-person mechanics, and it has taken on the chest-high wall cover system that is used by almost every third-person shooter these days. I do wish they innovated a bit in the gameplay department. The story is great, and it is a realistic tale of crime. However, it’s story is almost exactly the same as GTAIV’s story. I also do wish there was more sandbox action, and free-roaming multiplayer would be awesome if it was in. As it stands, Mafia 2 is still a good game which you should definitely pick up if you have the chance.

85

More Mafia fun

Kiwislash | July 3, 2013 | See all Kiwislash's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a great game, though a little bit short. There's a reasonable variety of weapons that are fun to play with. My personal favorite was one of the pistols, solely due it's accuracy (made head shots a lot easier), but every so often, I'd let loose with the shotguns, or machine guns. There's just something satisfying about using a machine gun while wearing a classy suit.

The music is era-specific (and while most of it wasn't really to my taste, it did add to the atmosphere), as are the cars. The cars were great. Some of them have terrible handling, but that just adds an element of challenge to the game. It's also quite fun seeing just how fast you can try to get them going, though it often leads to a fatal car crash...

79

Immersive story

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is one of those game that delivers on the story, it is very immersive and very enjoyable that makes you feel like you are in the mafia environment. Gameplay wise is similar to other types of open world game with shopping and collectibles. Down side about the game it is very linear and short, the game duration should only be about 8-10 hours but there are collectibles that can prolong the period. Another great thing about the game is the cutscene, it is very amazing and beautifully done so even if it is only 10 hours, the game is greatly worth giving a try.

80

Decent Game

cammyk123 | June 28, 2013 | See all cammyk123's reviews »

Mafia II is a pretty good game with a lot to do in it like buy guns and nice suits but I thought that they main story was quite short. Even though they were short they were really enjoyable to play through, definatley worth a buy.

90

Much better than reviewers seem to think

LauridsA | June 25, 2013 | See all LauridsA's reviews »

Just finished the game after buying it on an edge since so many reviews on different websites seem to put this game down but I think the story and the setting of the game are absolutely phenomenal. Most reviews critisize the game for the open world being dead with nothing happening, and I do agree that there is a lack of stuff to do, if you don't do the collectibles but I don't really mind, since that's not what the game is really focused around. The game is focused around the story and the characters, and while I agree the characters are rather flat as many reviews are saying I believe this is intentional since the game seems to be more of a commentary on the Mafia life rather than, say, being about the characters per se. All in all, a great game, definitely worth playing.

100

Mafia II

Tabbo7 | June 25, 2013 | See all Tabbo7's reviews »

This is by far the best Mafia game I have ever played out of the two that had been released. This takes everything the first one was good at and just multiplies it 10000 times. The gameplay is mostly based around driving and the driving controls are really solid and tight just how I would expect them to be in a game of this nature. Not to mention the graphics are just wonderful and absolutely high fidelity when you look outside the window of your character's apartment its like you took a step back in time and its completely believe-able almost like you're right there with him. The gunplay is excellent although I wish there was more of it in this game. This is a pretty great game and I recommend everyone try it out.

76

Most awaited sequel fails to deliver yet it's intriguing

spycid | June 23, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Despite the highly anticipated sequel being a great game both storywise and gameplay wise, the game wasn't successful since the expectations were sky high. The real reason is, the game didn't have enough side missions and free roam. If they had added those even in dlcs then the game would've have been. It's a must play for Mafia fans and those who love retro setting.

87

Very Immersive

thegaminglyfe | June 22, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Mafia 2 is an amazing Mafia experience. You feel like you're in a Mafia movie. The story is great, the gameplay is great, and the graphics and sound are both exceptional. The gameplay gets a bit hard and frustrating at times but still fun. The game looks like you're actually in a WWII New York and it sounds like it to. Highly recommended to fans of gang and sandbox games.

89

Great game

One3rd | June 22, 2013 | See all One3rd's reviews »

I picked this up in a another sale a number of months ago and definitely enjoyed the game and expansions. If you enjoy Gangster movies made in the 80s and 90s, then you will enjoy this game. It's got a great story and the execution of the game play and excellent graphics really are well done.

I was actually quite surprised at how good the game play was even on my older GPU (560Ti). The PhysX implementation was pretty good as well, adding to the immersion into the game.

73

Decent, but not brilliant

pickyourcliche | June 21, 2013 | See all pickyourcliche's reviews »

This is a good game, though lacks a certain feel that was in the first game. This feels generally somehow "off," which is a little frustrating because it is a pretty game, very fun in places. I guess more than anything it's the standard gangster fare, you know exactly what's gonna happen, and roughly when. Some missions will continue the story in a different way depending on whether you succeed or fail, which is a nice touch, and may convince you to play through it again to see the other way it turns out. For my money it's well worth a couple of quid, but I'd never buy it if it wasn't on offer.

82

A Pretty Good Open World Game

ravestar | June 21, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

Mafia II is right up there with GTA, Saints Row and Scarface as one of the best open world gangster game. You play a guy, who works his way up in the Mafia by constantly following orders (Shooting, driving, beating up people, climbing, sneaking, make money, etc.)

The story takes place over years and is set up with black humor and exciting scene. Weather and climate of the huge city varies from chapter to chapter (day, night, winter, summer, rain, etc.). The feel from the fifties has been designed with great attention to detail. You always discover new sights and.NPC passersby have witty conversations with each other.

The only negative is that there are no side missions that you can choose freely from, the story is linear. An online or multiplayer mode is not included. All this did not bother me in the slightest. Overall, an entertaining excursion into the 50s is what Mafia II delivered..

98

Verry good

Bolo | June 21, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

A pretty good game, runs nicely, great graphics, has nice characters and voice acting. It's an immersive game that makes an old style game with a 1940-50's setting feel fun. It has a great story, a great graphics (with physx is really awesome) and music and a great gameplay. The only problem I see is for those people looking for a sandbox. Be aware that this is not a sandbox and it is very linear.