Reviews for Spec Ops: The Line

90

Wow! Just. Wow!

martinni | March 31, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

I bought it 'cause a friend recommended it. He's not quite a shooter person, but he loved it! Due to that i began playing it with high hopes, i was expecting it to be a great one, and it certainly is!! I'd be quite surprised if it hadn't been recommended by such a person as I wouldn't know what to expect. It's a remarkable game, beautiful story and everything. For me, a must have! It was recently released for OS X on Steam(Play); for all the Mac users around the world, it runs like a charm! I'm not exactly sure whether it is native or port, but it looked pretty native to me xD

87

Play it for the story

ki11fr3ak | March 1, 2014 | See all ki11fr3ak's reviews »

This game has one of the best stories that I've ever come across in my gaming journey. It gives you choices that'll haunt for a good while. This is one game that questions the justice in war: Whose side is right? Who are the good people? Why do we need to kill each other to prove a point? The game starts of as any other war game would but as it moves forward it take you through some dark twists and turns.

It has everything you expect from a cover based third person shooter. In this aspect its your regular TPS. Graphics are good and sound effects are also pretty well done. Some areas might really frustrate you in the harder difficulties but you will keep wanting more and more from it.

I recommend this game to each and every gamer out there. It takes around 20~hrs to 100% it.

82

Hidden Gem

WolfeClawz | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

What looks like a boring third person shooter on the outside is actually a game that has surprised countless gamers with it's in-depth story, characters and mature take on modern shooter titles we see today.

Whilst the game remains relatively linear, it makes up for it with regular twists and incredible art direction. The graphics are nothing to behold, however thanks to the unique environments and attention to level structure, the player is kept immersed.

The gunplay in this game is rather stale, so if you're expecting new mechanics or features to pop out and make it more interesting, you may be disappointed. Despite this, it's not bad enough to make you want to stop playing, because the story should grip you enough to make you want to continue playing.

Not much can be said about this title without revealing too much, so I'll keep it short and say that if you have the money, definitely try and pick this up if you're looking for an interesting twist.

80

Lackluster Review: Spec Ops:The Line.

Valtheknight | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all Valtheknight's reviews »

Oh dear... Well i can for starters say that i'm at an disadvantage since i last played the game through about a year ago and i completely forgot that i bought it from Greenman. Also since there is a "credit"-gain from review so.. Might as well.

Before i start, i really should mention that i really cant remember everything about this game. Because of the one year gap. So most of the stuff i say will be mostly about my personal experiences and should be taken with 'nth amount of salt. (Since i'm a little bit biased..)

Well the first thing that needed to be done with the game, was to actually get it to run. Since it had some startup-problems with it, this caused some grey hairs at first, but a quick venture into the promised land of PC-GAMING WIKI. Helped to resolve that problem quickly. Unfortunately, since the game uses encrypted options files. Tweaking other aspects of it will prove difficult, if you wish to, for example, change the FOV.

(I don't remember if the game was updated to include an FOV slider later on.. Again i last played it at the start of 2013.)

Well i think that's the mandatory technical jabber out of the way, onto the game itself.

The story is in itself deceptively straight-forward, it starts of with a group of soldiers, (Delta-Force if memory serves correctly.) On a mission to investigate what happened in Dubai after it was supposed to have been evacuated, before some heavy-duty sandstorms started wrecking up the place.

And that is pretty much the easiest explanation of how the story starts, i really can't write about it that much since i feel i would be doing it no favors. Instead, i will only say that the story only gets more darker and stranger the further it goes. With some actual character-development and i don't mean the "put-points-to-sht-to get-the-biggest-deathcck" -way, but in the storytelling sense. Some of the stuff you see and hear the team say and do really start to show later down the line.

That's enough spoilers for the story part, next!

The gameplay is pretty standart 3rd-person cover-based shooting and that is pretty much the thing that kind of kills the novelty-value almost instantly, because people will automatically make references to any other Military shooter almost instantly. I on the other hand right now started thinking about the Normandy landing scene on Medal of Honor:Allied Assault, nicked almost to the T from Saving private Ryan... Oops Digressing statement.

Later down the line, the game has a turret section, and another, and another yet again.. That kills the feel a bit, since you wonder "Why did it give me another turret section? Can't i just run around and shoot them in the head instead?" Actually, at one point you can, but it makes it a bit harder. But don't get me wrong, the helicopter segment at the start of the game (and the redo of it later) was well executed. I cannot really say the same from the rest though.

Anyway, the biggest sin, i feel from the game-designs part is the linearity. It shows from the start and it carries through to the end. The strangest thing though... I noticed on my last playthrough that i had missed options in the story. All because the game told me to this instead of that and now i need to download it again to see the other parts i missed. Since i feel, "if i missed that one so obvious, what others i missed ?"

CONCLUSION:

Even with its story, The Line seems (to untrained eye atleast) a generic 3rd-person shooter. Even the changes the characters go through during the story, kind of brush by with a big red sign over their head saying "FEEL SH*T". And some of the stuff does have some shock value, but it loses even that rather quickly. All and all, the story (if flawed, yes flawed. Shoot me if you disagree.) is the only thing that is interesting about this game. Is it enough to carry it? No. Is it enough to make it stand out from the rest? Yes. Is it actually worth playing? Maybe.

86

Just amazing story

TheDarKnight | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all TheDarKnight's reviews »

This is one of the best games i've ever played of this type, you really have a great story, not the best graphical but it s worth to buy, if you have the opportunity buy it, You'll not regret it.

88

Gentlemen, welcome to Dubai

sonicchaos | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all sonicchaos's reviews »

What is it about? Spec Ops are the three main characters sent into the ruins of former Dubai, now ravaged by sandstorms, to find out what happened with the squad of american soldiers and Colonel John Konrad, voiced by Bruce Boxleitner. Our playable protagonist is Walker, the Captain of the three-man team, voiced by none other than Nolan North, and then there's Adams and Lugo, both great guys. The Line? I don't know. It's probably a subtle wink to the events that unravel during the story, when after a few unsettling choices, once at the end you may find the thin line between right and wrong, between madness and sanity. Or it may be just referring to the linear nature of the game.

How does it look? Very good actually. The visuals are amazing, the textures are truly high def, and there's quite the level of details. I also enjoyed the palette of colours mainly used in the lighting. In a game filled with sand you'd be right to assume the blandness of brown and yellow. But no, this game is very colorful, and probably the best blue vanilla sky I have ever seen, before Bioshock Infinite that is. I also love how the characters change not only mentally, but also physically, burns and wounds that affect them, and in the end we see the scars. Literally.

How does it sound? Not only does this game have a good voice cast, but there are some songs throughout some levels that are played on speakers by a radio guy that we have to find at some point. Shoot the speakers, get the achievement. Also, the soundtrack does a great job highlighting the gunfights and the danger some enemies pose.

How does it play? It plays like a cover-based shooter from a third person perspective. There's also a reticule in the center of the screen. You point that at the guy who threatens your character and press the shoot button until it moves no more. I hate to be that guy, but that's the most I can do. Yeah, you have some choices to make, but those don't really matter as only your character will live with the consequences, and as I said, you only have two choices at a time and both are equally awful. Except for the ending. There's a set of choices that will affect how your story ends. You can also give commands to your squad mates, much like in Mass Effect, except all in real time, but you'll hardly use them, unless you hunt for achievements. There's also a multiplayer. Never tried it, so I don't know how that is except from what I've head, and I haven't heard good thing about it. All in all, the story campaign is a must play. It's a great shooter and the ending alone makes up for all its generic features.

95

What is a Hero Anyways?

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a third person military shooter that based on the box art and first few missions leads you to believe it wants to be a stupid fun action movie. Three soldiers are sent in to do recon on a Dubai assaulted by colossal sandstorms. Then the game pulls a cloak and dagger on you, stabbing you with questions about what you're actually doing when you go into a place you're not welcome and slaughter all in front of you. There are good reasons why the story is praised by many, Spec Ops is one of the few titles I can think of that really deals with the hell soldiers have to deal with. The pain, the psychological suffering, and most importantly the consequences of one's actions. There are no quick cutaways from the carnage inflicted, and the story does a great job at putting you under the same stress the main character, Captain Walker is enduring. Speaking any more about the fantastically weaved story would do a disservice, you need to experience it, period.

As stated, the game originally sets out as a standard military shooter, thus you have your typical cover shooter mechanics and simple squad commands at your disposal against the enemies set before you. I could criticize that other games have done this and were more interesting about it like Gears of War or Mass Effect, perhaps that's the point. For the story, being a standard military shooter is the perfect medium for getting down to the raw horrors of war.

In a point in it's favor though, even within the standard military gameplay, Spec Ops does offer a few nice tweaks to the formula. The game is actually rather colorful when you aren't assaulted with sand with Dubai's luxurious buildings full of color and detail rather than the whole game being a muted brown color palette. Sand plays a role in the combat as well as there are several points where you can use the environment to bury enemies in it by breaking windows or use grenades to kick up a sand cloud to blind people. It controls rather well too whether you use the mouse and keyboard or a controller.

There's also a multiplayer mode, but honestly, the community is mostly dead at this point, it's rather average thanks to the game mechanics themselves, and it goes against the questions the single player game asks. Considering this part of the game was tacked on by a different developer thanks to the publisher 2K, I believe the original developers didn't wish for this to be a part of the experience anyways.

Spec Ops: The Line is a very rough game, but in a good way. It will punch you in the gut with its look into human nature and suffering, and if our actions are really worth the consequences. Though the campaign itself only lasts about 4 hours or so, the game is very effective at telling a story in that time, making much more of an impact on me than other recent story driven games like Gone Home or Dear Esther. I can't recommend this game enough, but I will say that you should prep something cheerful or get a damn ice cream when you're done. You'll need it.

77

Underrated gem

Sganotak | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

I had a lot of fun with this game and it is surely one of the best TPSs I played. It's too bad that it flew under the radar of most gamers

The art direction is amazing. I've never played a Shooter game with such amazing world art and environmental beauty. The story is another strong part of the game and unlike the other unrealistic and mindless military shooters like COD and Battlefield, it is dark, mature, emotional with realistic and believable characters

The shooting mechanics are stellar and there are also some good tactical options for squad management. What I didn't like about the game is that it's pretty linear and really short. It took me 5 hours to complete it on Normal and the amount of challenge was just right.

There's also a multiplayer mode but it's pretty average and the community is dead.

If you're looking for a single player focused TPS with a deep and emotional story, then Spec Ops is the game for you

100

True war

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

I have never been to war but I would imagine it in a very similar manner this epic third person shooter pictures it. Cruel, depressing and without any winners. The game follows a three man firing squad from their arrival to Kabul as they fight their way through hordes of insurgents. This is, however, all a secondary thing in my eyes since the main strength is creating an atmosphere and delivering a powerful story. I do not want to spoil any of the game but Spec-Ops: The Line is probably one of the best war themed shooters out there just for showing that war is rarely about the heroes riding in and saving the day from the evil forces, but it is in fact people fighting people. Everyone should play it who wants to see a tragic story masterfully delivered in the medium of a videogame. Even if you don't like shooters.

95

My Game of the Year 2012

JakeG92 | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all JakeG92's reviews »

I have just finished replaying this game and it's just cemented it firmly within my top 5 games of all time! At first I bought it on PlayStation 3 as a way to boost my trophy count... but it turned into the biggest surprise of my gaming life!

You follow a group of soldiers who have been sent to Dubai to find another soldier who is MIA. You find Dubai in complete ruin, and are dragged kicking and screaming through hell on earth! The interesting thing is that the actually gameplay and controllers are not that great. They are just standard 3rd person shooter controls.

Where this game shines like a diamond in the rough however, is it's story. You go through thinking, "Hmm, another CoD...", but then some weird things start to happen and before you know it, you're witnessing some of the best story telling in video game history.

What is rather annoying is now I have to play every military shooter that ever comes out just in case it is one of the best games ever, just like this one!

The multiplayer is very much throwaway... just play the game for a second time on Fubar difficulty (good luck) and make the other choices that you didn't one your first way through (that's right, different endings too!!!).

I amazed me that Yager (the devs) managed to capture the subject matter of PTSD so well.

Honestly, purchase this game and you will never be sorry. I wish I had of paid full price purely because the devs deserve every single penny!

As I've already said, one of my favorite games of all time is right here on this page... buy it... it's astonishingly amazing!

85

Heart of Darkness

Mscigniew | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Spec Ops : The Line ,is a game inspired by the book "heart of Darkness" by Joseph Conrad and boy the screenwriters did their homework.The surreal,dark atmosphere is all over this game.The action takes place in Dubai,you and 2 of your men are send as a rescue mission,which shortly becomes a journey into your own heart...your own darkness.There are no easy choices in this game,whenever presented with a choice you gonna feel the weight of the consequences.The story is powerful,along with the graphics it makes a very suggestive combination so I recommend it only to more mature gamers.As for the gameplay its fun and satisfying,the game forces you to be a bit of a tactician on a battlefield.Graphics and sounds are well done and the game is well optimized,meaning it will run smoothly on older machines.

83

The line between what´s right and what´s not

Elder91 | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all Elder91's reviews »

The game has a very good story that keeps you playing the game the 6-8 hours that last the campaign. Gunplay may not be as entertainment as many people would expect, but there´s so many moments when the adrenaline wont go down as you see a lot of the crazy (and "WTF") moments of the story.

In terms of performance, game runs smoothly and it doesn´t require a high-end PC to play it on high settings, yet the graphics are mostly acceptable (they didn´t use Unreal Engine 3 as everybody would´ve expect, but like i said, its acceptable).

In other words: Action may or may not convince you, but story is what will make you love this game

85

Desert of the Mind

Myzery | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all Myzery's reviews »

This game I would recommend to those out there that have a heart. It's hard to talk about this game without spoiling anything. The gameplay is really mediocre I must admit. It isn't bad, but there just doesn't seem to be anything that really stands out as, "that's kinda cool." Some of the choices of music hit me hard. It's quite jarring to hear anti-war music in a war game. It really drives it point home. The story is what kept me moving. I don't want to talk about it much for those who haven't played the game yet, but I will say I like how the game unfolds. This is the only military/war game I've played where I felt human. Not once did I feel like a super soldier just going in and saving the day. This made me very happy as a gamer.

75

Definitely underated

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

This game is amazing, it has some pretty twisted themes and an a really unique setting , more games should definitely be set in Dubai. The gameplay mechanics aren't that strong but I still had a blast whilst playing this game. This game makes you do some really messed up stuff, I really wish that you had a choice in it, making the story feel more interactive, but that is just a minor complaint

85

A review does not do this game justice!

ShapEile | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all ShapEile's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line was a huge surprise to me. At first glance it looks like a typical modern military shooter. When you first play it, the shooting is average at best and the characters seem cliché. However, you must stick with it as it is one of the most satisfying games in years. The story is what makes the game phenomenal. Inspired by movies like Apocalypse Now, the story develops characters in such a real way that highlights their mental state during a time of great stress and crisis. It also makes you question what a game should be. It is linear yet it isn't. You have choices but they may seem one way when you make them and then they are completely different later in the game. The graphics are great and the physics in the sand are fun to use, if not ground breaking. It does have it's flaws though. Of course, if you can't stick with the game for the whole 10 hours of gameplay then it will be enjoyable and is really something you have to play through entirely. The gameplay is simplistic and enemies can feel bullet spongy however not to the extent of Borderlands. The multiplayer is a waste of time and is just flat out bad. Don't bother with it.

Play the game and then play it again because you will notice things the second time round. Just don't play the multiplayer... just don't.

90

Great Story

gforcesa | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Spec ops is underrated.Not many people have played it because they think its just another 3rd person shooter.The Line is a very well done game in my opinion.I'ts visually stunning.I'll just say that the story is great and you have to experience it for yourself.The gameplay is somewhat repetitive but you really can't get bored with it.There are many twists in the story which you won't see coming at all.Overall i recommend you give this game a go, it's really something you should not miss.

90

Great underrated game

brandaofilho | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all brandaofilho's reviews »

Underrated Game with a Epic Story for the mature Audience. If you like movies like Full Metal Jacket oder Apocalypse Now, Get it.

You´ll love it. For me The Game started with a Problem , i had no sound but after tinkering around i have to say , the time spend was worth it. Even if i had to tinker a bit too much in my system to play it, it was just worth it.

I had this rare moments in gaming where i just think "hell...it´s a game but...what am i doing here?"

Action heavy but the Story is the part you will love

88

Great Story for a Military Shooter

mulletov | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all mulletov's reviews »

This game should get more recognition. The gameplay is awesome, similar to the Uncharted series. The shooting mechanics are great. You use cover and environmental hazards to kill enemies. Although it's a military shooter, the story is actually quite interesting with a nice twist at the end. You are part of a 3 man commando team deployed in Dubai looking for survivors of a failed operation. Sounds really similar to Apocalypse Now and I'm sure that's where the inspiration comes from. Get this if you enjoy movies like Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket, Blackhawk Down, or Platoon. I started playing with an Xbox 360 controller but switched to mouse+KB to get greater accuracy for aiming.

95

One of the best games of the last decade.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 13, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Having scrolled down the review page, I've seen reviews saying 'Decent cover based shooter. 66/100'. Those people have missed the point. I honestly have no idea how, because it was sitting in front of them in flashing neon lights, but they missed it. Spec Ops: The Line is a shooter with decent gameplay, good interaction with your squad, a good cover mechanic, very nice environments, and satisfying gunplay. It also has one of the most powerful stories of any game ever made. Taking heavy inspiration from the novel 'Heart of Darkness' (the book that Apocalypse Now is based on), Spec Ops: The Line is an emotionally jarring story following 3 soldiers in a sandstorm ravaged Dubai. The voice acting and writing are phenomenal, and make the atrocities of the story harsher and more vivid. Very few games have attempted to tackle the horrors and true toll of war. Modern Warfare 2 attempted to do it with the notorious 'No Russian' mission, but Spec Ops takes it to another level. It is darker, grittier, and infinitely more mature. Adding to this is the fact that you see your two jocular companions change throughout the game. You see them deteriorate mentally and physically throughout the game. No game has ever tackled the effect of war on a person's mind in this way, and it is a very bold move to do so. It even goes a step further and makes the player feel genuinely guilty for some of the things they do throughout the game. Trust me when I say that you will feel awful after some of the things you do. The game is topped off by several excellent endings, all of which adequately complete this harrowing experience.
All of these features make the game stand out among the increasingly generic crowd of modern military shooters that are all that ever seems to sell these days. I would not hesitate to call it a masterpiece, and would immediately recommend it to anyone. There are few games more worthy of your time than this one.

81

Dark twisted game

lok0812 | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Spec Ops is probably one of the darkest FPS games in the market to date. As the game progress it unravel the main character and his squad's mission while it is slowly going down to hell. Many plot twists and a very surprising ending. Player have the ability to choose that will slightly change the game's ending a bit. The graphic of this game is very good especially with the vibrant feels of Dubai. Control can be a little sluggish with the cover and sprint mechanic which could lead to many deaths in FUBAR mode. Overall, a great FPS games with awesome plots and definitely a must get.

85

Solid gameplay and a fantastic story but with little choice.

pixel | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all pixel's reviews »

Spec ops the line is a game you should play for the experience above all else. The gameplay is solid enough to say fans of 3rd person cover shooters will be satisfied. A good variety of guns and explosives with the ability to command 2 squad members to do a variety of helpful actions keep the combat from getting too stale. The presentation is highly polished with a surprisingly high amount of colour and beautiful vistas. The musical score is also really well done with songs that fit the tone of the game exceptionally well. To describe any aspect of the story could potentially ruin the experience but the characters, voice acting and script is all fantastic. The only story flaw is that once you reach the conclusion the choices presented during the game prove to be kinda meaningless. Overall if you enjoy a game for an interesting experience that will stay with you long after the game over i highly recommend giving spec ops the line a try.

80

Standard Gameplay, But Unique Story

1nc1n3rat0r | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all 1nc1n3rat0r's reviews »

Spec-Ops: The Line appears at first to be your typical third-person shooter, but as you progress through the game you realize that it is much much more. The game play mechanics are nothing special, there is a cover system much like the one used in gears of war, you have a access to a somewhat limited amount of weapons, and the game is very linear.

Where Spec Ops: The Line really shines is within its story, warning some very small spoilers follow. The beginning of the game starts out as any other war-type shooter, you are deployed in a location and have a mission. You only come to realize that something is not right in the situation and begin to explore. Its through this that the game really starts to take a real unique direction of the story. You begin asking yourself if this really all could be happening.

Throughout the game you will encounter very disturbing or depressing events that take a toll on you and your team, but this makes the story all the more unique since most game story lines try to tell the tale a hero. Without getting into too many details of the story, although linear, it is extremely captivating and disturbing, with an ending that will blow your mind.

All in all, this game has a pretty solid and non-creative third-person game play, but the story alone is the reason to purchase this game. Really experience what story lines in today's games could be. Do yourself a favor, purchase this game, but only if you can handle the brutal and depressing reality that is introduced.

90

War is hell....

commanderhavoc | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

If you're thinking this game is another action game where America is the run of the mill hero, then you will be quite surprised. You do play as a Delta Force recon soldier by the name of Walker who is sent into Dubai alongside with two fellow Delta Force soldiers, Adams and Lugo, to investigate the sudden disapperance of Colonel John Konrad and his "Damned 33rd" after they volunteered to stay behind and help people who got stuck in the city after what is considered the worst series of dust storms in recorded history hit Dubai, the rich and elite downplayed the whole thing and left in secret while leaving Emiratis and foreign migrant workers stranded in this living hell. However, Adams and the others soon discover the John may have gone rogue and that he is doing horrible things to the remaining civilian survivors of the storm. And don't expect any happy moments in this game either as it will show you the true horrors of war and what it does to man as well as what man can do to their fellow men just to stay alive You might even find yourself looking down at your hands as you play the game and come to a rather horrible decision you have to make and just wonder if it is really the right thing to do... The game has a multiplayer mode, but it was shoehorned in there by 2K Games while Yager wanted to make this a single player only experience. If you're looking for a game that actually shows you how horrific war can be and how cruel man can be, then this is something really worth taking a look at, just give the multiplayer a pass.

95

Good, way too good, and cruel

albery92 | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all albery92's reviews »

You play as Walker, a Delta Force soldier, along with two soldiers. You are being sent to the post-apocalyptic city, struck by sand storm which used to be Dubai. The aim of the mission is to find about the mysterious transmission sent by Konrad, the commander of 33rd infantry who stayed in the city with his troops after refusing the order to evacuate and then forgotten.

Before playing the game, just a remainder; you are not a hero. You are not like the protagonists of other games of this kind where you and your buddies slaughter the enemies and become a hero. Instead, you will be forced to see the consequences of what you have done. They are too cruel, way too cruel that you will turn your face away from it. Only the downside is that it is narrated too well.

Nothing turns out well in this game; no matter what you do, you have to kill to survive and you are getting away from succeding the mission. Gradually everyone becomes mad, distorted, and killed. The 33rd infantry soldiers are committing crimes for the sake of maintaining orders and CIA is trying to massacre everyone to cover up what 33rd infantry has done. The survivors turn themselves away from the Delta Force team. The worst part is, you've got to kill them all sooner or later, even the survivors.

If you would like to play this game, go ahead and play it. But, remember; you are not the hero. You will have to put blood on your hands and you cannot avoid it, whether it was for the sake of good or bad.

80

Terrifiyngly Good!

siktirgit_115 | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all siktirgit_115's reviews »

The campaign is the biggest reason to get this game. At one point you seem like a war hero, and at the other you are just as bad as what you call enemies. The story is such a beauty as you travel from skyscraper to skyscraper and witness what Dubai has become. The shattered city of Dubai will make you feel astonished of your sorroundings. This games deserves more attention than it has been getting, and you should help it by buying it, just fantastic!

80

Influential game, although mechanically simple

kavukavu | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all kavukavu's reviews »

Spec-Ops the line is an odd beast to judge, on one hand it has all the trademarks of a modern-war shooter, and mechanically it tries absolutely nothing different. If you were to judge this game purely on that, then you'd simply say its bland and boring, its got regenerating health, chest high walls as cover, and you usual assortments of expected weapons.

If you do that however, you're missing the point. Spec-Ops is rightfully to be mostly judged on its story and presentation. It handles some very heavy subject matter with an almost obsessive attention to detail.It would be a disservice to spoil the places where this game goes, so I won't. Rest assured that as heavy as the story is, it doesn't serve itself presumptuous too often, although it always keeps the tone heavy.

There is a multiplayer, but honestly its a bit rubbish and boring and no-one is really playing it anymore, so there's no value there.

Final verdict? I think its worth it, it has a very important message and it handles the subject with just enough reverence to be taken serious.For that alone, this is worth looking at, though I would only really get it on the cheap because you play it once, and you're done.

87

Welcome to Dubai, gentlemen.

TheCrownless | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all TheCrownless's reviews »

What makes Spec Ops: The Line a very special game, one that I feel has been overlooked by in large the community as a whole is the attention to story; the subversion of expectation. Indeed it is hard to talk about the game without first going into the story.

On the surface, the player is presented with a seemingly generic third person shooter, under the military category. The gameplay is serviceable, gunplay varied and enough to keep the player engaged but nothing to groundbreaking at all. The player has the ability to switch between two main weapons, carries a variety of grenades and a nice feature implemented is the ability to order your two squadmates around the battlefield. The gameplay itself will, truth be told, not be engaging enough as it's own to continue onwards, as stated it's the story that pushes you forward.

Captain Walker is an interesting man, almost amiable to begin with, driven by the noble goals of saving the last remaining survivors in a Sandstorm torn Dubai. The banter at the beginning of the game is quite indicitive of this, falling very much into the rather Jingoistic styled attitude of "We are the US and we will save you" and such. Yet as the game progresses, the player discovers that all is not as it seems.

The sound design for the game too is top notch. Most of the gun's sounds are serviceable, snipers and desert eagles in particular sound like they pack quite the punch. The voice acting for Captain Walker, done by Nolan North too has to be commended as his voice and attitude changes drastically over the course of the game. Now finally, the music selection for this game is by far the stand out feature, with music giving a very much Vietnam War vibe. The choice in music fits incredibly well with the aesthetic designs of the game, and even music made for the game fits incredibly well.

Graphically the game is standard fair, but it is the Art Design which more than makes up for this. The beauty of Dubai ravaged by a monster Sandstorm is something which needs to be seen to be experienced. The tranquil beauty compared to the destructive nature of the people within it giving the game a wonderful backdrop. The art assets in game, be it graffiti, artwork, architecture really stands out in comparison to the rather cut and dry military found within.

So in summary, Spec Ops: The Line is quite the experience, one which is by far worth your money. In an age where Story seems to be more and more a backdrop or an excuse to go in guns blazing, this game is a great subversion of expectations. You owe it to yourself to give this game a look.

80

The Horror...

BavarianGod | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all BavarianGod's reviews »

It would be easy to look at Spec Ops, groan and promptly write it off as another addition to the bloated cabal of modern military shooters, but to do so would be a mistake. What, on the outside, looks like a game about three hardened delta force commandos shooting up brown people in another sandy Middle Eastern hell hole defies outward appearances and proves to be a bit more clever and surprising. Given the fact that the earlier entries in the Spec Ops franchise pro occupied themselves with cut and dry tactical military action you would be forgiven for making such an assertion. The game opens with a bombastic set piece that seems to have been ripped out of Call Of Duty. It looks like a deleted scene from True Lies, with your character manning a mini gun, shredding lesser enemy helicopters between the sky scrappers of Dubai. You shoot through large glass walls at choppers on the opposite sides of buildings, one unfortunate bird smashes into a crane as things are constantly going boom. It's what we have come to expect from this kind of game. The sequence ends and you flash back to the beginning of the sequence of events that led to that point. No surprises so far. You play as Walker, a Delta Force operative (voiced by Nolan North of Uncharted fame) and are accompanied by Adams and Lugo, your trusty wing men, on a mission to rescue the people of Dubai and locate Colonel John Konrad. The narrative is loosely based on Joesph Conrad's Heart of Darkness and it takes a lot of cues from Frances Ford Coppola's Apocalypse Now, which is also based on Conrad's novella.
The not-so-unusual set up is followed up with some not-so-unusual third person cover based shooting as the game introduces you to Dubai and your squad mates. The shooting mechanics work well enough. You take cover, blind fire, pop out of cover to take precise shots, order squad mates to throw flash bangs and attack. Left to their own devices, Lugo and Adams prove themselves to be competent. They will kill enemies and they generally stay out of your way and make an effort to preserve themselves. It's very refreshing to have AI squad mates that do more than shout, “Reloading!” and “Stay frosty!” every five seconds. In short order, the first wrinkle to otherwise not-so-unusual formula is introduced—environment based attacks. You will find the sandstorm has left mounds of sand heaped behind fragile barriers that can be destroyed in an effort to bury your foes. These environmental advantages are sprinkled throughout the campaign and really brings the setting to life. Engulfing enemies in sand isn't enough to warrant playing any game, but from here Spec Ops only gets more interesting. The second major deviation this game makes is placing you in the middle of moral dilemmas. These sections don't have any lasting effects on the game's narrative but act as a means of reinforcing the game's themes. These are not about playing a “good” soldier or a “bad” soldier but rather having to make a choice you may not want to make. Making these choices strips any pretense of being a bad ass hero, they remind you that you can't save the the day all of the time and sometimes you might not be able to save anything at all... One of the most uninspiring and unappealing aspects of modern military shooters is the art direction. I can only wade through so many brown mud huts, gray warehouses made out of tin and steel, and dilapidated villages before I want to gouge my eyes out. In spite of all of the sand, Spec Ops offsets the desaturated, sandy sun baked sections with vibrant, colorful interiors. You wade through seas of abandoned cars on highways, blast your way through luxury hotels, crawl out of the apocalyptic center of the city, and bounce across glass filled rooftops. Dubai, as depicted in Spec Ops, is a surreal place. The art style lends itself to the narrative—more specifically the character's mental states. What you see may or may not be real. The characters themselves are detailed and they become more haggard and war torn as the game progresses, animations are altered a bit to reflect the change in characters. There are some visual metaphors sprinkled about if you pay attention (and you should) to the detailed and engaging setting. It's not the technical marvel that Battlefield 3 on the PC is but the art direction makes this infinitely more interesting to behold. Also the soundtrack deserves special attention. Dubai has also been rigged with speakers and a DJ, known as The Radioman, is broadcasting throughout the city. He sounds like an aging hippie and the music he plays kind of reflects this. Did you ever think you would have a shoot out in a modern military game while Deep Purple's Hush plays in the background? What about Martha and the Vandellas Nowhere to Run? It's fantastic. The juxtaposition of these tunes with the violence of the gun play creates and truly unsettling tone. It seems really obvious that Apocalypse Now was a huge influence on this aspect of the game. There are also some noteworthy ambient, largely guitar-based compositions that sew together the sections of the game that don't have licensed tunes playing in a cohesive manner. The voice acting is also commendable and the writing is very self aware of genre tropes and plays off of them. The whole game centers around critiquing and in some ways defying what you have come to expect from other games in this genre. You won't play anything like it. What sets Spec Ops back, and is likely to turn off most gamers, is its short length. It is completable in a single sitting and most players will clock in about five to eight hours depending on skill level. The moral dilemmas are not designed to extend the game but rather to set the tone for your play through and experiencing their different outcomes really doesn't extend the game play experience in any meaningful way. Spec Ops was clearly designed as a single player experience and the multiplayer is best ignored altogether. Playing the game in co-op will only further shorten the experience. It's a shame that completing the main single player experience doesn't unlock bite sized missions or episodes from your squad's past. Given that PTSD and war induced stress are huge themes it would have been an appropriate way to add to the game's content without artificially extending the main campaign. The gameplay itself doesn't quite come to a climax. There is a tough final stretch which I was expecting to pay of with a unique gameplay finale. Instead you shoot your way through some of the same late game enemy types utilizing the same tactics that carried you through the rest of the game. The final chapter doesn't involve firing your weapon at all and while I am not opposed to that in any way I was hoping to see my struggle to get to the final chapter culminate in something unique. There is a strange imbalance between the big narrative conclusion and the comparatively lukewarm gameplay conclusion. Spec Ops is one of the most mature and interesting games of the year. It is an experience. One unlike any other in terms of the way the game mechanics reinforce the themes and concepts put forth by the narrative. It should be on your radar but don't expect to put dozens of hours into it. In terms of gameplay it's competent rather than exceptional, but where it excels is where other games in its genre need to take a hard look at what they are doing. Games like Spec Ops and Bioshock will be important examples in video game history for integrating gameplay mechanics with narrative themes. This alone makes it worth playing and possibly revisiting in a few years time.

93

Not what it looks like

dooder39 | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all dooder39's reviews »

The game is absolutely not what it looks like. Its not another generic shooter (In my opinion every shooter looks the same in gameplay wise). The story is so good, its not another “shoot everything that moves and things will be all right”. Its more like the opposite, when you follow the story you will see how war truly is, how cruel it is. And you’ll find out, there is no good thing in war. When you play the game as Martin Walker you won’t get more information of what’s going on then he does. Also not the opposite. Every reaction of Captain Walker was exactly my reaction when thing happen. And the end, it’s a huge surprise since you don’t see more then Walker did. It’s a huge recommendation!

90

But this isn't real, so why should you care?

RedRedKrovy | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all RedRedKrovy's reviews »

I heard good things about this game but waited until I could get it on sale but I don't suggest you do the same. This game is worth every single penny you pay for it. I don't know who green lite this game and I'm sure they took a big chance but I thank them for it. This game is a mediocre shooter in terms of gameplay but the story will blow you away and the more you dig into it you realize it's like and onion, it has many layers. It's hard for me to explain to you what I mean by that without spoilers. It questions not only your actions as the main character but your actions as a player too. There is no black or white in this game, everything is grey. No choice you make is easy and all choices have consequences, don't forget that. How far down the rabbit hole do you want to go?

85

Living on the Line

vinuraba | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all vinuraba's reviews »

I know I'm a little late to the party, but I just finished Spec Ops: The Line. I wasn't expecting to be blown away by the story since it seems like "just another shooter," but I was so wrong. The combination of visual story telling, utilizing the excellent PC graphics and the writing was amazing. For being in a desert, the environment was surprisingly always different and stunning. I was a huge fan of the animations also. While the violence may seem over the top to some, I felt it added a visually impressive display of animations and physics. I do believe the combat can become difficult and repetitive at times, especially when the last auto-save was 15 minutes before the fight you just died in. However that shouldn't take away from the experience you will have when playing through this finely crafted game.

82

A dusty, dirty and dreamlike Dubai

MarcoCav | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Although the gameplay is not particularly excellent, with a strong repeatability and longevity rather limited (no more than 8 hours), Spec Ops deserves to be played due to its dusty, dirty and dreamlike Dubai, like it was the Vietnam of Apocalypse Now. The choices (a few actually) that are proposed to the player are never split into "good" and "bad", and whatever you will do, you will always have the feeling of sinking into a world that has lost his mind.

80

Amazing story.

abelegu2 | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all abelegu2's reviews »

This game's set up in a post-ruined Dubai, sunk under the sandstorms. It's a different view of Dubai, and it's a different set-up for a game - refreshing to see after so many generic-colored shooters out there. Albeit it's not a great shooter, its story-line makes up for it all the way. It's captivating, shocking, and interesting. The cover mechanics can get really annoying at times, but they're okay overall. I was recommended this game because of the story, I bought this game for the story, and I was not disappointed. It was completely worth getting on sale, no doubt about it.

86

Not what I was expecting...

csveloz | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all csveloz's reviews »

I got this game bundled with some other games and I had no idea what it was. I honestly had never heard of it so I assumed it was some mindless shooter with little to no story. I was right about the mindless part, but isn't that why we play these games in the first place? Some mindless innocent killing in the digital world to escape reality for a couple hours. Anyways, the story in this game was very surprising and in a food way. And it definitely helped that the voice actor who did Nathan Drake in the uncharted series voices the main character in this game which is top notch voice work in my opinion. The gun mechanics are smooth and fun, kind of gears of warish but without the meat heads with legs like tree trunks. And the sand use of sand in combat never gets old even though it is pretty scripted and you aren't able t make use of it at will. But again the story is the main draw in this game. Even though it may not be the most complex it definitely made me feel like my actions had consequences. This game is honestly one of the best games I have played and I plan on beating it again just so I can try and make things turn out differently. You owe it to yourself to give this game a chance.

92

Don't hesitate

mosborn1309 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all mosborn1309's reviews »

It's the complete opposite of COD or any other military shooter for that matter. The story is cerebral and superb. It starts off generic but quickly takes a serious departure from the genre. The game makes you think about the actions you've made and your consequences as a result. The gunplay is good, not amazing but it's still really enjoyable and the cover system works really well. It's one of the better stories that I've experienced in a while and easily the best military shooter that I've played. Can't recommend this game highly enough. This is a game that should not be missed.

91

Great vision of Dubai hit by war and sand

Fichox | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all Fichox's reviews »

We need more games like this on PC. This game is like playing action movie from the 80's. There is action everywhere, people are shooting, bullets are flying around you, mostly total madness. While it has lot of action, still in some segments is very realistic. So you need constantly take cover or you will die, there is not enough bullets, guns have pretty good recoil... Cover system is the main focus of the game which works good, but brings nothing new to the genre. Second focus is on the sand which decreases your visibilty and which can be use as a mighty tool against your enemy. While the game is located in sand covered Dubai, level design is really great and the sand is used in really creative way, so you don't have to worry you'll walk only through the monotonous desert. So eg. in parts whitout fighting you'll walk through really imaginative buildings which are always full of interesting signs and grafittis and next to that you will have a nice chit-chat with your friends. Yes, you have 2 friends which you can command with only one button and that is great cause you can focus on the battle. The game itself can sometimes be a little heavy, but you'll always know that dying is your mistake. One thing that is not typical for this kind of games is that this game has one of the greatest story in gaming history. What's even better is that you're not playing the game because of the great story, but because of great gameplay and the story is only like a great dessert in the end.

66

Decent cover based shooter

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all Bobafett2k6's reviews »

(review also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

Cover based third person shooter, short campaign of 7-8 hours kept me entertained. Not much new, the usual array of weapons and some destructible cover. The setting is pretty nice looking, it's set in an abandoned Dubai that is overcome by sandstorms and the story ain't anything great. The cover mechanics can sometimes feel frustrating overall aren't bad.

All in all, it's worth getting on sale to kill a few hours.

74

An emotional journey

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

This game is phenomenal, it certainly more than surpassed my expectations, despite what some say, the graphics and physics are actually pretty awesome.

There are moral decisions to make along the way, and your character develops throughout. Really good game.

92

Fantastic game from any aspect.

GTROCKSTAR | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all GTROCKSTAR's reviews »

I am actually laughing when I look back on COD or BF.. It is just an amazing underrated game, which gives you plot from another world. if we can be sarcastic, the game is in Dubai, and I did not see gold :D

81

Welcome to hell

NinjaMonkey91 | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all NinjaMonkey91's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a Third Person Cover Based Shooter set in the ruins of a sandstorm ravaged Dubai. The story follows a small recon team as they attempt to look for survivors in the city.

Whilst this initially seems like a fairly 'cut and dry' military story it soon develops into a complex, gripping tale about the horrors of war and the effect it can have on the human mind.

In regards to gameplay, Spec Ops is fairly 'average' and doesn't bring much new to the table. Progression is largely a case of eliminate enemies, move to next area, repeat but there are a few good set pieces which break up some of the monotony. (A personal favorite involves hunkering down in a beached yacht and defending the position whilst a sandstorm blasts the area, greatly reducing visibility).

One interesting feature is the ability to shoot out glass ceilings or walls, allowing built up sand to flood the area and engulf your enemies. However there were not as many opportunities to do this as I would have liked.

Graphically, the game is beautiful! With some spectacular views from the higher buildings and some wonderful architecture and interiors to see. Despite its ruined state, Dubai is still a wonder to behold and the developers have done really well in capturing the essence and feel of the city.

The story is what really elevates this game to 'must play' status though. The difficult situations that your group is placed in coupled with the difficult choices they face make for an intense gripping ordeal that will stick with you long after the game has ended.

Make no mistake, this isn't a Gung ho, 'Hooah!' Military shooter. Spec Ops aims to make you question your actions, objectives and who the bad guys really are, and, in many ways it has succeeded.

87

An underrated "antiparody" of the modern military shooter

FhexSans | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

Now, before I start, I must say that Spec Ops' gameplay is really... average. It's not really anything revolutionary in the gameplay department at all. Just shoot, walk to the next area, shoot, so on so forth. The multiplayer, too, isn't really that exciting. In that way it's pretty much like your typical military shooter.

But...

What this game does have is atmosphere. By that I mean... well... let's start with the environment. The game is set in what could be described as post-apocolyptic Dubai where the luxurious decor of old clashes with the sand and debris that brought it to its downfall. Indeed, the setting is just absolutely unique and brings much much draw into the game.

Even stronger than this is the narrative of the story. At the beginning the whole story seems as a very simple rescue mission. Find the soldiers and civilians and get out. But as the game draws on, you find that the story begins to become more and more complex. Simple actions and decisions end up blowing back into your face, you find yourself slowly becoming an antihero from catastrophe after catastrophe. The protagonist and your squad will show this change from their outward appearance and their mannerisms. The characters and their development throughout the story is just impeccable. At the beginning they seem childish and playful, joking around, but near the end... they become hardened. And so do you, in a way. In the end, you'll find yourself wanting to play the game a second time, maybe to understand the story a bit more, maybe because you feel compelled to make it right all over again. I'm not sure if you can do it right...

The game is very heavy about decisions and although they don't really affect the way the game ends in any way, they still feel like they hold a lot of weight, morally. Especially if you're the type that likes to immerse themselves in a game, this is the right game for it. And its that immersion that makes the game not some tacky shooter, but an absolute adventure, and that's what Spec Ops does the best.

In the end, I must explain why this is an "antiparody" of your run of the mill modern military shooter. Your typical modern military shooter is shallow. It tries to act all gritty, and even though it tries to make you do dark things... you don't really "feel" like it matters. It's just what you do. You don't really care all that much about the people you're shooting or why you're doing it, you're just... doing it. Why? Because the game tells you to, of course! Sure, the game might try to be deep, but it's shallower than a kitty pool.

Spec Ops: The Line completely turns that on its head. The game is so deep, gritty, and just absolutely fantastic at giving you that dark feeling in the pit of your stomach, it pretty much mocks other military shooters like it. It doesn't mock it with comedy like a regular parody, it mocks it with tragedy, and that's what Spec Ops really is... a classic tragedy. And that's why it's an "antiparody".

Don't be fooled by its generic sounding name. I was fooled, but... I'm glad that I've played this game. It's an absolute underrated gem and its narrative is probably one of the best seen in a shooter, and I'd definitely recommend it.

89

When in Dubai, pay attention to the story

darkyhbk | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Spec Ops The Line came as a real surprise to me. I started playing it because I was in the mood for a third person shooter, and the setting appealed to me, but I wasn't expecting much. This game really managed to surprise me. The setting in a devastated Dubai is quite unique, and it's a real graphical marvel to behold. The sand effects and physics were especially beautiful, but everything as a whole looks just amazing. The same can be said about the audio part- with great music, voice acting and a special attention to little details- such as, for instance, the cracking of glass windows under the weight of the sand. The gameplay isn't mindblowing, but what it doesn, it does well and without any quirks. It's a pretty generic cover shooter, but the levels are smartly designed and it gives you the possibility to use the environment to your advantage. However, the standout component here is the story, which slowly unfolds, and has a few twists and turns along the way. It's pretty damn difficult to do such a Josep Conrad-ish twist to an otherwise generically seeming plot, but the developers surely did it. So, do try this game out, be it if you like the setting or you want to be impressed by a really solid and inspired story.

70

A game that is worth your money.

zachprkr | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all zachprkr's reviews »

Going into Spec Ops: The Line, I had big expectations. I keep reading about how amazing the story was and how people just walked away in aw. Well after playing I can say that while this is a fun and entertaining game, it doesn't really bring anything new to the table.

Gameplay wise, Spec Ops reminds me a bit of Tomb Raider and Gears of War. It is a third person shooter and you have the ability to take cover on almost all of your surroundings. The controls are great and responsive and the covering aspect works great. In the beginning I really enjoyed the fire fights and battles, but after sometime this grew mildly repetitive and the respawning enemies became very frustrating.

I know everyone recommends this game for the story, but overall I felt it was your standard war story with a twist. They flesh out the characters well and the story is always progressing, but there just seemed to be missing. I also felt the ending was pretty cliché and mildly predictable.

Overall it is a decently fun game and the story is good enough to keep you wanting to play. I finished it in a few sittings, but I don’t see myself going back for multiplayer or second play through.

77

Psychological action-thriller

KingMassive | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all KingMassive's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is short but fun action-thriller third person shooter. It takes about 5 hours to get through, but those hours are filled with lots of shooting and explosions in a very cool setting of deserted Dubai.

The game mechanics are pretty basic cover-based shooter mechanics, and the few tiny flaws won't matter in the end. Graphically the game is also pretty basic, but it does have its moments.

What this game is really about, is the story. Your character encounters situations that he could've never predicted on a mission like this, and he has to choose how those situations will go. This will make him doubt his sanity, what they're doing there and what is really happening, and in the end it is a really fun, action-packed, psychological thriller.

Remember to use a voucher or buy it from a sale, because even after all of it's good qualities, the 5 hour gameplay just isn't enough for the full price.

80

Thought provoking, brutal action game.

thomasfinal | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all thomasfinal's reviews »

It's very Apocalypse Now-esque with lots of disturbing images, and mostly a bad experience as a human being, but for a gamer, it's a well made shooter, with interesting plot twists.

90

Let’s go in Dubai

Warning_origina | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Warning_origina's reviews »

I can only say one thing: you should really play to this game! The gameplay is very good, the game is funny and well balanced, never frustrating, Dubai is wonderful under tons of desert sand, the soundtrack is wonderful, but the most valuable aspect of the game is its plot. The game is a travel into human madness, looking for the truth... It shows you the contradictions inside every war, what, unpleasantly, push a man to do what he would never want to do. So Spec Ops the Line is game at which you should really give it a chance, you won’t regret it.

90

Story driven "choice" gameplay

Nhb93 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all Nhb93's reviews »

This game is probably my GOTY 2012. It was just that good. The story is based on the classic novel "Heart of Darkness" but set in a new location, much like Apocalypse Now. It's not exceptionally long by any means, and I'm not sure how much replay value there is to get out of it once you beat the story once, but the story the first time you play through it will blow you away. I felt that it really took video game storytelling to a new level. The characters all had their personalities well thought out, and they were all voiced appropriately, with your character being voiced by Nolan North.

Throughout the story, you get given choices, a la RPG, not shooter. There aren't dozens of choices, and they all feel meaningful. If you get lost in the game like I did (nearly beating it in a single sitting), the choices have some weight to them and really make you think about which one to make.

The AI could certainly be better at many times, but they do try to flank and use cover during large firefights, of which there are many. The game is visually appealing, with animations being fluid and the whole nine. I didn't notice any visual bugs.

If you like story driven games, this is certainly a game to be looked at for all that it offers.

74

An experience

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all RadiatorFanboy's reviews »

People often comment on how average and mediocre the gameplay is in this and compare it to The Walking Dead but I disagree and think this is a fairy good 3rd person shooter, above average in fact. Just as with any other game you may feel the controls to be slow or clunky but it changes with time to the point you can enjoy he gameplay People try to only say that the plot points were only able to make the game a success which I disagree with. This is a pretty good shooter with an interesting story that was well executed.

85

Funny isn't it...

squirrel6314 | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all squirrel6314's reviews »

... That is something you wouldn't usually hear when someone is reviewing Spec ops the Line. "Funny isn't it." the reason why I say this is because of the sheer depth and bravery that this game has, especially in this day and age of Military shooters. I'm not someone who likes Military shooters, but there is something brave about this game. It has a story and characters that you will care about. And you will feel horrible at a certain part of the game. You will know the scene when you get to it.

Ok let’s cut this short, the gameplay is not that great. It’s horrible generic and slightly crappy in terms of controls and shooting feel. Thankfully this is a frame for its story and characters. There are three characters you are lumbered with, you, and your two AI team members. The two team start of as dicks but then you will feel a little worried about them at the end. Now, the story. It is deep and complex. it talks about morality and how soldiers die while at war and the weight of their deaths and how you are destroy innocent lives in the process and how no one is the good guy and how we are all bad guys and how you will stand up, pause the game and walk away ad return in 10 minuets time to carry on. yes there are a few scenes which are just so... shall we say unique to games that will make you feel a tad sick and it's all f**king wonderful.

the fact that this is a military shooter and it has a story and characters which you care about and you will feel like a dick for killing people, maybe that’s because you aren't killing brown people more of white people... I'll just leave it there. Spec ops is great but it's a game you can only play once a year, play it on Christmas, feel sour on that day, cry live the next year play it on Christmas, feel sour, cry repeat. The only bad thing about the game is the gameplay, something which might feel like a big hindrance but it's not, it's just not on par with the games story.

90

A gem that stayed under the radar.

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Play it for the story. That's what my bottom line advice is going to be about Spec Ops: The Line. When I saw so many people recommending it, I was confused. I never heard of the game! When I started, it was pretty slow. I couldn't see what was so amazing, and that's because the game's story is what makes it shine. The game plays like a really solid generic shooter, and you won't find anything to special that stands out. Where the game does stand out though is the story. Decisions, consequences, and moral questioning will have you playing this game to the end. The game will have you questioning yourself constantly, and it's a unique story experience that you won't find anywhere else.

I don't want to tell you anymore about anything about this game, because the less you know before you go in, the better your experience is going to be. This is a movie of a game.

82

Gameplay only serves as a way to serve you the story.

Shosray | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Shosray's reviews »

And that is fine.

As you start the game, the gameplay seems incredibly familiar, but new enough to keep going. The story in the beginning of the game, is almost non-existent. As you progress through the game, these two swap roles, and you push yourself through the sometimes tedious and boring gameplay, to see the next bit of story unfold. It's dark and realistic, and makes you hate yourself, the characters, and the game, but all for a reason.

85

Fantastic story with some great gameplay

nleibert | July 26, 2013 | See all nleibert's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line provides you with an amazing (but depressing!) story that will really captivate you and have you on an emotional rollercoaster throughout the entire game.

The gameplay of Spec Ops: The Line is pretty generic but still lots of fun and it can be very challenging at times with how many enemies they throw at you. The scenery of the game was absolutely BEAUTIFUL and Spec Ops does a great job of putting you in Dubai and giving you the experience of fighting in a desolate sand filled city (you can even use the sand and environment to your advantage during some of the battles).

If you're in the mood for an action game with an amazing and emotional story with some great gameplay, than you'll love Spec Ops: The Line!

80

A generic shooter with a great atmosphere and story

Cuuleri | July 26, 2013 | See all Cuuleri's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is the go-to game if you're into immersing yourself into the story. However, if you're one of those who just like to play the game for the gameplay itself, it's best you look elsewhere. The shooter elements of the game aren't terrible, but they don't really shine out either, aside from the very nice cover system.

What makes this game great is the story. You're with two of your buddies in Dubai, and a simple mission that's given to you will turn into chaos in a short amount of time. All the time you will do what you think is best, yet you're not always right.

76

Nice third person shooter, great story

francesco314 | July 17, 2013 | See all francesco314's reviews »

Gameplay mechanics are really similar to the last mass effect (cover and shoot). The story is intriguing and well told, maybe the game would be even better with a bit of rpg flavor (experience point and maybe skill to unlock, something really simple). Solid title nevertheless.

80

Great Story!

arthur12345 | July 11, 2013 | See all arthur12345's reviews »

This game had a great story, it was chilling and shocking. The fact that there are many different final outcomes of the game is a nice refreshing change from the predominately linear shooters that we have now. At times the game could get rather emotional due to some scenes and things that you unintentionally do as your character that would make the player thing "what that hell have I done" in the post-apocalyptic Dubai. The shooting mechanics were not amazing but, they were not terrible either. All in all, it was a great game for the story and made you think and rethink about what you have done and what you should have done!

93

Not a game, an experience!

MrScavenge | July 10, 2013 | See all MrScavenge's reviews »

This is a fantastic game. A game that will make you feel hate, pain, sadness and hype. This game's story telling is matched only by the best of games like Telltale's The Walking Dead or Half life two. If you let this game into your world it will really suck you in to the point where you can't stop playing it.

The game focuses around a squad of soldiers trying to evacuate Dubai but finding the lost souls of the 33rd. And i should just stop there to not spoil the epic and engaging story. Buy it! It's worth it!

80

Decent shooter, Great Story

Paulgusman | July 7, 2013 | See all Paulgusman's reviews »

Pros: -Story is gripping. -Game is fast paced -Break from mundane shooters Cons: - Relatively short, only a few hours. -Gameplay isn't bad. Just not good enough to warrant mentioning. -GLITCHES! Overall: If its on sale, and you want to see a good story play out at home, instead of heading to the cinema, its worth the price of a movie ticket.

85

Fantastic story and good gameplay

gmel8387 | July 7, 2013 | See all gmel8387's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line has one of the best stories I have ever experienced through a video game. Watching the evolution of the three characters from men with a clearly defined purpose to three soldiers fighting for both their sanity and their lives is nothing short of incredible. The story draws you in and truly makes you feel the experiences of these characters. Although it starts out fairly vanilla as a three man Delta Force squad sent to retrieve COL Konrad, the story quickly descends into a madness resembling Apocalypse Now.

The only issues I have with the game are the short campaign length and the functional yet unremarkable gameplay. The campaign clocked in at about 6.5 hours for me playing on the hardest difficulty available for a first playthrough (you unlock a harder difficulty after completing the campaign). This short length means the fantastic story is over far too quickly, leaving you with the bland gameplay and multiplayer.

The gameplay is a by the numbers 3rd person cover based shooter the likes of which you could find done as well or better in any number of games. The one this that shined in the game was the enemy AI. The enemies you faced were very aggressive and smart, making good use of cover and constantly maneuvering to flank you and your team. It was refreshing to deal with actually challenging enemies.

There are also some tacked on multiplayer modes that are very sparsely populated and no where near as good as the campaign.

For a final verdict, if you're looking for a military shooter with a thought provoking story with the same grit and darkness as Apocalypse Now, look no further. If you're looking for a fantastic multiplayer 3rd person shooter, it's best you look elsewhere.

80

A Breath of Fresh Air

Arcadium | July 7, 2013 | See all Arcadium's reviews »

Recently, big AAA games have only given us either stories that ended on a happy note or that had a protagonist died for a noble cause; Spec Ops The Line shakes things up by doing neither. Here we have a game brings back memories of things like Apocalypse Now but is the first game to actually recreate its themes. I wouldn't really say this is a "fun" game to play through in the same way I'd say something like Apocalypse Now or No Country for Old Men aren't "fun" movies to watch.

Unfortunately the game does end up suffering in the gameplay department. It's not bad per say, but it just isn't good either. The solid level design makes up for it though with some incredible areas you'll fight in and the element of sandstorms showing up really spices things up. There's also a multiplayer component but it's the very definition of what you'd expect of a tacked on MP component.

The only significant downside to the game is how short it is, clocking in at 5-6 hours. Nonetheless, that shouldn't stop you from trying this game out.

87

great story, not so good mp

chakad | July 7, 2013 | See all chakad's reviews »

this game has one of the surprisingly great - 3rd person shooters story line, i truly didn't expect story on that lvl.. you know you usually get basic target with basic environment and then just go and shoot everything else. well here the story have a very strong impact on your game experience, you do feel like part of the story, you drive by it and not pass by it..

but the mp isn't that good, logging problems, not enagth players, lags... (thing that i can understand because it is just 2nd feature to the storyline)

so if you like great story-this is the game for you, if your looking for a multiplayer experience then im not so sure this game is for you..

98 - for story 74 - for multiplayer (in a good day)

95

Masterpiece!

Plasros | July 5, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Spec Ops combines mediocre gameplay with impressive visuals and a compelling story to create a must-play experience. The 3rd-person shooter gameplay is pretty unimpressive: the cover system is temperamental, the aiming sucks, the weapons are boring, and stealth is rarely possible. Moreover, the two squad mates which you are obliged to work with are rarely more than a liability. Thankfully the game makes up for these major shortcomings by placing you in a truly impressive setting: the sand-covered city of Dubai. Not only does this uniquely-opulent city serve as eye-candy (the attention to detail is as impressive as the models themselves), but it creates a truly memorable geography: the sand-dune you're fighting on might turn out to be on top of a skyscraper, or you might take refuge from a sand storm inside a hotel with a giant aquarium beneath your feet. Finally, the narrative told through the game and the emotional impact of the events as they unfold are very good. Spec Ops does a surprisingly good job of not only telling a compelling story, but of making you empathize with the characters and internalize your actions. It's a game that will make you question your own actions within the game and by extension, your attitude toward such military/shooter games. Despite its flaws, this is a game which I wholeheartedly recommend.

93

A game that redefines what we thought was war

drizzt1666 | July 5, 2013 | See all drizzt1666's reviews »

I have never ever seen a game so deep as Spec Ops: The Line. Mostly everything that is happening on the screen has a dual purpose. It tries to cater to both COD fanboys and to people with emotions. I give you an example: You are constantly throughout the game will scale downwards while you progress on the levels. What does this mean to the MMS fanboys? Cool graphics. QT events. What does this mean metaphorically to the rest of us? This means that you are getting lower and lower mentally because of the severe PTSD and eventually you will reach your own personal hell. Another example. You find a satellite controlled napalm launcher on a level. When you start using it all you see are white dots from above a plane. Of course you will start firing without question, right? Pew pew! Die! After you clear out the map from the dots you are FORCED to witness what you just did. You killed a bunch of civilians. Some of them are still alive while some have their limbs missing. Some of them are still burning and crying. Has anyone told you to kill them? No. Yet you did. It was cool. Right?

Spec Ops: The Line is a take-off of everything we believe is war and shows us how distorted is our vision is about the military and it's soldiers...

95

Great game

tkrysiak | July 5, 2013 | See all tkrysiak's reviews »

Surprisingly a very good game judging by its low prices everywhere. Storyline is great and even though it starts fairly slow it is worth investing a bit of time as it is very enjoable. Now with 75% off on GMG there is absolutely no excuse not to buy this game ;-)

80

Fun, refreshing gameplay and an interesting story.

JasonAFC | July 5, 2013 | See all JasonAFC's reviews »

Don't be fooled by the title and title image of this game, there is much more to this game than a brainless running and gunning.

This is a third person perspective shooter and the shooting mechanics in this game are solid, it never stopped being fun to shoot and watch enemies fall with satisfying death animations. The only aspect of the shooting I can fault is the cover system. Although it works well most of the time, there are times where it is clunky and doesn't respond perfectly to where you'd like to go.

Although the gameplay is sound, it's the storyline that will drag you through this game. You and two squad-mates (who can be ordered with basics commands) are dropped into Dubai and your adventure begins. I didn't follow the story perfectly but the ambiguous nature of the morality of your actions is abundantly clear and continuously surprises you.

Give this one a try.

85

fps with a story FINALLY!

simodeso | July 5, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

If you want to play a game where you want to shoot a lot of people but you want also a story to follow, this is your game. In this game you have to make choices and each choice can change the final of the game (there are a lot of finals). I enjoyed play this game a lot because the enviroment of a post-apocalyptic Dubai is awesome and at the end of the game you will say this:"oh my god what i have done." It can let you see things from a different prospective and when you realize that it's too late. You can't go back. So my advice it's to buy this game you will enjoy it :)

95

Masterpiece...

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

A game that took everyone by surprise, this excellent third-person/over-the-shoulder shooter places you in a unique environment and excellent story.

Fans of 2K's Bioshock series will fall in love with this game.

I really can't express my love for this game without spoiling it, please, do yourself a favor and buy it now.

97

2012 GOTY.

sixfeet | July 3, 2013 | See all sixfeet's reviews »

Truly a remarkable and visceral game that will leave you with a deep foreboding in your gut on the decisions YOU made in the game. Really don't want to go into it too much for fear of spoilers.

You play as the leader of a 3 man elite team, Walker, tasked with entering Dubai after the city was engulfed in a series of catastrophic sandstorms and a US battalion went in to try and secure safe passage for it's citizens ultimately only to disappear. After a cryptic message is sent from inside Dubai, you are ordered to find evidence of any survivors and report back.

The game play is third person cover based shooter, although a little 'clunky' and 'unresponsive'. But this kind of helps sell the topics the games story touches upon of PTSD, the horrors associated with war and the disconnection of reality between FPS games and actual war.

Truly amazing, an experience and game you must play.

97

One of the best games I've ever played

Squeeble | July 3, 2013 | See all Squeeble's reviews »

While the story is worthy of praise, what's more impressive is how the themes and symbolism are integrated into the game's design and presentation. Spec Ops: The Line is art. It's not pretentious or even overly intellectually deep, but it's layered, it has a point, and it's crafted with enough subtle nuances and attention to detail that someone was able to write a 160 page novel analyzing it.

Let's just say it's a game worthy of discussion and definitely something that should be played.

One thing about it that I should mention is that it's not all that fun. In the context of the tone of the game there's a reason for that, but if you're just looking for something to turn on, listen to music, and kill some dudes, you won't get that here.

Give it a chance. Even if you don't love it like I do, I guarantee it's not what you're expecting.

95

Quite Good

general_ace0 | July 2, 2013 | See all general_ace0's reviews »

I quite enjoy third person shooters, and I feel there is not enough of them. I would say that this is the best TPS out there to date, still. In fact, even in the future it may still be the best simply because of the story line. It's definitely thought provoking.

I had to take off 5 just because the camera can be stupid at times, and the mouse just doesn't feel quite right. That still should not make you shy away from playing it.

78

Average shooter, GREAT story

lok0812 | July 2, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is your average third person shooter at best but the story is what made this game great. The story itself is a pretty sad one as you progress through the game. The graphic is very beautiful as you and your squad mates are in a setting of a sandstorm post apocalyptic setting in Dubai. Nothing is new to this in terms of gameplay, if you have played any form of shooting games you will feel right at home with this one. Definitely must get to enjoy this story with the decisions you made in the game. None of those decisions will get you a good ending of the game because all the decisions will lead you to this sad ending, just how sad will your ending be?

90

A surprisingly engaging and thought-provoking masterpiece.

kufooru | July 2, 2013 | See all kufooru's reviews »

Now here is an unexpected gem. Despite the generic and run-of-the-mill vibe you might get when you first lay eyes on this game - partly due to the overflooded market of TPS military games and, yes, partly due to the rather unimaginative title - don't let that put you off, for beneath it's seemingly bland exterior lies a surprisingly deep, thought provoking and, at times, downright sickening (in a good way) experience, that deserves your attention.

The game is set in a post-apocalyptic(ish) Dubai, torn apart by constant sandstorms and civil conflict. Despite how overused the middle-eastern setting might appear at first, the game bolsters some pretty impressive visuals, both in your immediate surroundings and off in the distance. I have to say, this has to be one of the best looking Unreal Engine 3 games I have seen to date. The visual style and feel is surprisingly varied, even though that's not something to be expected, given the game's setting. You'll be taken from the city's outskirts, through the underground and back, ending up on the massive spires, that are Dubai's skyscrapers.

The gameplay itself is what you'd expect. It plays like your typical TPS; no better, no worse. Movement and shooting both handle as expected (with the usual slight margin of error) and generally feel comfortable. You're given a pretty basic set of weaponry, each arguably as useful as any other in any given situation. One thing worthy of note, is that you won't constantly find entire stockpiles of weapons and ammo just ripe for the taking; the game sets the mood of a torn and ruined city and it stays in this mindset, meaning that you will find the occasional ammo crate, but for the most part you'll need to scavenge what you can from the battlefield, which really does enhance the game's feel.

But now onto the aspect that truly sets this game apart from it's peers, and where it shines most bright - the story. Now take a moment to let that notion set in. A military third person shooter with a good story. I bet you didn't see that one coming. And it's not just a chain of cut-scenes, whose soul purpose is to tie together all the shooting gallery scenes and give them a neat little context. This game sports a genuine, thought out story.

It starts out pretty basic. You're part of a 3-man military squad, known as Delta, tasked with getting into Dubai and preping it's inhabitants for evacuation. Pretty cliché. However, things gradually get darker and more complicated as you're taken through the city streets and into the heart of darkness, both literally and metaphorically. The reason I chose those exact words, is because the story is actually a sort of reimagining of Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness, with heavy "war is hell" overtones and, to the game's credit, they're presented masterfully. And what brings it all together is spot-on pacing, that eases you into the terror and gruesomeness, as what's truly going on in the war-torn city slowly comes to light. All of this literary goodness gets wrapped up nice and tight in one of the most shocking and (at least to me) completely unexpected twist endings I have ever witnessed in any game, and one where you're also given one last, final choice.

As far as the game's length goes, it's about 6-10 hours, depending on the difficulty and how much you explore. There are also additional multiplayer modes, however they're rather shoddy compared to the story mode, so unless you're REALLY interested, you won't be missing out even if you skip them entirely. The meat of the game is in it's campaign anyway.

The bottom LINE (get it?) is, if you're interested in a game with a higher purpose than simply to entertain; one that aims to tell a story and convey a message, I think you owe it to yourself to play through this game. It is yet another underrated and underappreciated title, but definitely one that should not be shrugged off so easily.

95

A different shooter, a unique history.

kalil | June 27, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

We can not describe Spec Ops as a game shots. It's hard to compare it to Gears of War beyond its dynamic coverage and would be very bold to call it Call of Duty: The line.

No doubt we have a different game. Where for the first time in a long tells a story that goes beyond the boobs american stories that saturate the argument.

I want esplayarme in history, so I will describe the gameplay of the game.

This is presented with the very typical hedge SISTEAM. But they have nothing to envy to games like Gears of War or other gender related. In Spec Ops shootings are a fun espáculo that develops smoothly and above all very intelligent. The frame of the game itself is hard, so play on high difficulty is prioritaro to feel the experience of survival more closely.

The enemies will sell his life dearly and rarely expondran like idiots to give us a clear shot. Blind shot from corners, they separated to attack from different angles when you can and you will if you atrincheras grenades raining. His aim is enviable, not being the typical maximum diicultad game where enemies gives superhuman marksmanship. Especially satisfying are the violent executions you can perform against fallen enemies. Graphic violence is ensured in a title where we see the worst of human beings.

The atmosphere is also great. As if nature remind us every step of who this world, the ruins of the city destroyed and buried waste under the sand will be our constant companion from start to finish. Golden statues used as parapets, coated silk carpets bodies, large and luxurious hotels whose only host is death ... and sand, lots of sand. Such is the work done on this item if we throw a grenade explosion on the sand lifted a cloud that will blind the enemies that surround it (and you do not leave a lot of visibility).

Sand storms also be a constant. In parts dle game these will surprise us and our visibility is drastically reduced, along with our aim.

The sound of guns can be improved. But still very good, along with the music that accompanies it will also have a high bar. Throughout dle game feel that the ammunition is not plentiful, it joined the miss just being able to carry two weapons (which are be) makes the game forces you to forget having an arsenal to the letter and in other shooters. Where if we like a weapon the game will handle ammunition supply it to the end of the game.

In this game you try to take the same weapon to be our favorite player normally stops after a parapet shot at from all angles and unable to defend themselves because they have no bullets.

As aa story revolves around a Delta Force team led by Walker (who drove) whose mission is to go to Dubai, the Utopian city pinnacle of wealth and waste ravaged by nature as a brutal sandstorm. So much so that during the game we mentioned that the storm was able to start the car paint.

The mission of the Delta is simple. Search for survivors, as they have received an emergency call from the city unknown.

This could be the case for any shooter, filling the typical story. But do not create a scenario consistent with atypical (Dubai razed and sepulcrada between sand) in this game give us a story without pecedentes.

Without american stories without blunders. A story that as the game progresses presents the human being in all its glory. No flags, no honor and homelands, just survival.

The game itself throws us a subtle and subliminal messages only. For CoD player (say a saga that has destroyed smart shooters) you will not see more things unfinished. But the observer will note a complex web of hidden messages created to tell a stark story.

Make a level where endow put the player in an airport with a weapon and must shoot all civilians is uan a morbid, stupid and brainless to create atmosphere. An insult to the intelligence dle player, which stamped him with all the violence of a scene to stimulate your motivation to keep playing the story ...

But in this game we have much, much more. The characters lso Tinen echos perspective that changes surprisingly simple principle an argument that gets harder as the game progresses. And as I said many, many hidden messages and symbolism.

To give a couple of examples, tips typical loading screens sometimes other messages appear more "strange". Also, as I said earlier. In the game you can use a key to execute enemy wounded at our feet. The Walker runs early in the game are quick, violent but quick ... this pattern gradually changes considerably. And as these, very many messages that the game will happen right under our noses but we often realize.

As I said, with these details a player "flat" see nothing beyond. But the observant player will be collecting all these pieces and will be unable to ignore this game has something more to shoot people, has a message. The game also gives you to make decisions in certain parts of the game.

To go summarizing. We have a game above all fun and innovative as the stage. With a mechanical and views but much improved and satisfactory. Little ammunition and challenging AI will force us to sharpen aim and reflexes if you want to survive.

Vilencia A brutal game, but not that of creating a scene filled with bodies, blood and corpses. In Spec Ops have a much deeper violence yet raw.

A visible character development.

And above all, a story with a capital. Which may like more or like less, but we will inevitably reflect a while at the computer to finish the game.

By this way of telling a story, and the times where it seems that every shooter history reduces to kill the terrorist in office. I think the game has a deserved 10 innovation.

A game capped with a lot to offer and lessons to give.

85

Fun Game with an Intense Story and Meh Ending

danny333 | June 26, 2013 | See all danny333's reviews »

The gameplay in this game is nothing to boast home about, but the story based around making tough decisions of fighting and killing your American "comrades" makes this game an emotional one at times.

The graphics are above average for its release date and it ran silky smooth on my GTX 670.

The story kept me intrigued enough to be the game in just a few days. I think it took me 6-8 hours. I actually prefer games that are shorter because my backlog is so long. I wasn't impressed by the ending, but a great game nonetheless and worth the money when on sale.

83

Adventure in Dubai

ravestar | June 24, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line delivers with it's interesting setting in Dubai, good atmosphere and very good action. The story could very well fit into a movie, it visually very well presented (a few bad textures aside) with great graphics.

The main characters are well developed enough that you feels the emotions with them. I also like the cool soundtrack.

However the gameplay didn't offer much new ideas and the difficulty level require patience for beginners.. Also the length of the game is not very long, just over 10 hours for me to complete.

I found Saving initially stupid - on the other hand, it later become clear to me that this "death - and continue to play immediately in the same place" is basically just a measure to shorten the game time.

Conclusion: This game is worth the money. It is a polished product where the developers really put the finishing touch on various aspects - and players should have alot of fun with it.

80

One of the best stories I've ever experienced

CSonTi04 | June 24, 2013 | See all CSonTi04's reviews »

The game's story is amazing and does not loose his grip on you until you reach the climax of the story, which unfortunately happens quickly, on normal difficulty it takes about 6 hours of gameplay to reach the end of the game. The road to damnation is quite frustrating somtimes, some of the firefights are really difficult, but the outcome is guaranteed to be shocking for everybody. The whole story is really good at showcasing the darker side of war and the life of soldiers. I can only recommend the game for those, who enjoys a very mature, bit darker and grimmer story, than the usual.

88

Unexpected.

Bojanglez152 | June 23, 2013 | See all Bojanglez152's reviews »

Well loosely based on the novel "Heart of Darkness", and loosely it is, follows the exploits of soldiers and the duty to protect civilians during a catastrophic sandstorm.

It has been a while since I've played this game so some information will be wrong (at least I can admit that) and this will be based solely on the decisions I personally made with my play-through.

This game has got a rather compelling story, since it was required reading in college to read the heart of darkness, and having watched another war movie based on the book as well. (Apocalypse NOW!), this war game presents choices for you to make and based on those choice the story will somewhat change, not greatly but enough.

I will keep this spoiler free as possible but your character (mine in particular) goes bonkers.

Nearer to the end of the game you face more difficult and harder choices that honestly have no good outcomes only slightly worse and horrible.

That's for the story, the controls for the game are a very standard 3rd person cover based shooter scheme. Which suffice to say isn't bad, just nothing groundbreaking.

The camera angles sometimes gets a little wonky as well and the multiplayer aspect is garbage.

And when I say garbage I do mean the absolute worst multiplayer servers I've ever seen.

Well that's my opinion on Spec OPS. Play it for the story not the multi, or its sometimes cumbersome combat system if you can overlook those problems you'll be satisfied. I am honestly considering playing through again to see what happens if I don't choose to be an absolute monster of war.

80

So. Gritty.

Dr_Toboggan | June 23, 2013 | See all Dr_Toboggan's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is unlike many shooters I have played before. The atmosphere to the game is something else entirely. I give it an 80/100 because it has a some problems, but the story line makes up for a lot of it.

91

One of the most underrated TPS in recent memory

spycid | June 23, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

This game has arguably the best and strongest storyline in any TPS ever. It is not just any other generic shooter. Gameplay might give u a feeling that you have played this before, but the storyline is sole reason you should play this game. The dessert atmosphere looked brilliant. Must play title for anyone who wants more than a generic shooter with good storyline.

86

The best plot in TPS the genre

Demilisz | June 22, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

At the surface, this game is just another linear modern shooter. There are some secrets to find, but you wouldn't be wandering too much to find them. And shooting itself, the core of genre, are only good. But thi isn't where this game shines - the real reason anyone should play this game is plot and narration. This is the game that shows you, as best as possible, the horrors of real war. That there is no good guys and bad guys, only "we" and "them". This is game where, in single player campaign, you will shoot American soldiers before they shoot you. And the fact that you are American soldier as well doesn't matter. And narration - sometimes during cut scenes, while characters are talking to each other, in reality they are more like addressing player. Truly shaking experience.

91

This is different

RegentAsteroid | June 22, 2013 | See all RegentAsteroid's reviews »

This is where you should put your money, in games that take risks and succeed. If your looking for another call of duty I implore you to get this game, because the shattering of your expectations may just leave you panting on the floor in cold sweat and in a state of existential crisis. This game is not meant to be fun, its mean to be good, and it manages to be amazing.

81

Unique!

drafek | June 21, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is made well, this time you're in a third-person shooter, which you don't see often these days. The graphics are done well, they sometimes are slow to load but that's okay, it doesn't effect the gameplay. The combat is done well. The sound also is okay. The story is interested. Worth picking up at the full price.