Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown

90

Awesome game !

cubecka | Dec. 5, 2014 | See all cubecka's reviews »

It is an incredible game. And most importantly, when to play it from your friends with which it is even more fun. Always have been among my favorite strategy games. If you have not definitely recommended, as I said, especially for people who like strategy. The game has many awards and I can only confirm the well-deserved! I also have an older version of the game but this is the best ever. Great strides made in predu developers have added a 3D game engine ktory moved a few levels higher. Thanks again man green society that we can have this game! Thank you!

My rate 9/10

100

Awesome and fun game.

LautaroCompleX | Dec. 4, 2014 | See all LautaroCompleX's reviews »

XCOM is really that, an awesome and fun game. It has RTS, Shooter and even RPG elements. If you like strategic action, if you enjoy turn-based games, if you feel your blood pumping when killing bad guys, you'll love this game. And you'll love it probably even if you don't love all that stuff above. I highly recommend giving this game a try, because it's just a solid, fun game you'll enjoy even if you're not totally into turn-based games (let's face it. Nearly EVERY gamer enjoys a bit of shooters). Personally, the thing I enjoy the most about XCOM is its metagame, getting resources and managing them so as to make your troops better and tougher. It's much like Pokemon if you think about it. Well, let's not review games that aren't XCOM. Right, so as I've said before, just give it a try. It's really fun and you'll most likely end up loving it. Oh and by the way: It has multiplayer. It's not the most popular thing ever, but it exists. And it's super fun to play with friends. I guarantee that.

81

Epic Turn-based strategy game!

karlsanada13 | Nov. 19, 2014 | See all karlsanada13's reviews »

I've played this game for a lot of time now. It's epic, it's gorgeous and outstanding.

What is Xcom: Enemy Unknown?

Xcom: Enemy Unknown is based on a fictional Earth wherein they were attacked by Aliens and most countries decided that they have to fight back, and they build Xcom. The main priority of Xcom is to limit the invasion and drive the aliens back.

The graphics of this game looks good and decent enough. The environment is atmospheric, especially when it's raining. The gameplay is really solid. the cover mechanic is automatic though I really am pissed off about the pathfinding of the aliens and even your team. Sometimes they just go off right in front of each other and get killed because they're too stupid to go to another way. You can also research a lot of things. From Alien corpses,captured aliens, their weapons and such. The battle maps can be a little bit repetitive though in which I don't care as much since there are different enemies coming at you and you cannot dictate what's going to happen.

Storyline, well, is average, I do enjoyed it even though you can say it's almost non-existent in my opinion. It's like get this and get that and bam, we found their base. Sound of the game is awesome, there's a creepy atmosphere here when you're in battle and haven't found an alien yet. It's like you're going to be proned to ambush.

The replay value is well, above average. I mean yeah, you know the ending, but you haven't tried to build all the facilites or heck you haven't even tried combinations like using the robots or go rambo with the heavies.

Overall, the game is fun to play, I really recommend it.

89

Pure Strategic FUN

akassassinn1 | Nov. 18, 2014 | See all akassassinn1's reviews »

Strategy games have evolved slowly over time , and every strategy game developer says he's gonna change it all , but the only studio that I believed lived up to their promise is Firaxis with their XCOM:Enemy Unknown , time spent interacting with the story in this game will not be regretted , no 2 players will experience the same the same stuff , which gives you infinite possibilities and unmatchable re-playability value! sure the story is a bit on the downside but a meaningful decision making system set in place to make you feel the control over what's happening , charging you with consequences of YOUR own decisions, if you're a strategy addict like me, then this is one experience you'll never forget.

90

Higher strategy game ever done

CriSilCart | Nov. 16, 2014 | See all CriSilCart's reviews »

The game is very entertaining and sticky, it has a unique theme, and the gameplay behaves as the perfect solution to this because it provides you the control of the team as the greatest leader. The control that you have makes you feel as the responsible of every act, when you manage it, that's why is so surround. On the other hand when you try to order to open fire, it feels frustrating when they miss, that mistake carries a lot of consequences, I think this make the game very strategic in a higher level than the earlier games. About the difficulties levels, it seems very equitative, but you are going to feel the change when you switch from one to the other, at higher difficulties the game turns imposible to play.

84

A really enjoyable turn based strategy game

smilzoboboz | Oct. 27, 2014 | See all smilzoboboz's reviews »

Old school evil aliens invade the earth and you are the commander of an elite team that should be able to defy that menace. Fortunately the game doesn't take it too seriously and is therefore enjoyable even if it features "evil alien invaders".

The plot was surprisingly varied, considering we're talking about evil alien invaders, but it actually just need to support the turn-based in-field combat mechanics change throughout the progress of the game. It was the first time I approached turn based combat games (and the only turn based strategy game I ever played before XCOM: Enemy Unknown was Sid Meyer's Civilization V) but I found XCOM: Enemy Unknown gameplay system pretty straightforward and enjoyable.

Game graphic is nice, I wouldn't have changed anything on that part, music instead sounds often repetitive even if it matches the atmosphere.

Now, the cons. Percentage system is not totally random but randomly predetermined: if you miss a hit, no matter how many times you reload a savegame and/or change actions before that very hit, it will miss (even with 98% hit chance). The movement system gets you hard time with ramps/levels/obstructions. Finally, this game has a few bugs, one above all it may happen that the game still runs without any visual issue or crash BUT no matter what button you press, you can't do anything and you need to force quit the game (happened 1 to 3 times per finished game).

To recap, if this game was made for PC in the first place a lot of things would have been better, but it is clearly adapted to consoled limited controls (gamepads != mouses) and then ported to PC. The good thing is that, controls aside, the game has a lot of customizable options and since it uses the unreal engine it's pretty solid. Also, the game runs on linux, I'd say it runs really good on linux and I can only praise that.

If you enjoy turn based strategy combat games this game is for you, if you don't give it a try anyway, I really enjoyed it as my first time turn-based combat game.

85

Good strategy

Alfa8789 | Oct. 22, 2014 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

I haven't really played the old XCOM and I'll sound like a fan boy, but I'll keep this review short. This game is very fun and some what frustrating but is only because I was losing when I played on hard mode and getting my butt handed to me. All I can say is if you like RST games or military (REAL) simulation either way, and if you want to get away from the Call Duty generation or the FPS games this is the game for you.

75

XCOM Getting angry at RNG

Grimsqueaker11 | Oct. 20, 2014 | See all Grimsqueaker11's reviews »

XCOM is a game which will seem easy on the normal difficulties at first but later on will become very infuriating when the character you spent 14 hours getting to colonel is suddenly killed by exalt who drop in behind you and despite your best efforts kill your favorite soldier. Despite this xcom can be very enjoyable and if you get used to it very intense and a good strategy game.

90

Great Game!

SpielerLoL | Oct. 18, 2014 | See all SpielerLoL's reviews »

This is a strategy game where you need to defend the earth from aliens who are coming to here. For who like strategy games this is AWESOME!

90

Strategy in its finest

Legendahkiin | Oct. 18, 2014 | See all Legendahkiin's reviews »

It's rare that you find a classic strategy game like this one, and when you find a game like this, it's a treasure.

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a turn-based strategy games which focuses on alien invasions on Earth, and a secret organization, whose duty is to defeat the aliens and bring back peace on Earth. You play as the commander of this secret organization, and it is your choice how you will handle who to help, send satellites to, and a lot lot more! Build laboratories, capture aliens, venture out in the vast world, go on missions in different countries, and shoot down UFO's: that's what you'll be facing in XCOM: Enemy Unknown.

Graphics wise, the game looks nice, and gives you the feeling that you're actually in a shot-down UFO. The models in the game are very well done too, not to mention the alien models.

The reason I'm not rating this game 100/100, is due to some minor bugs here and there, that should have been patched. Luckily they aren't all major bugs, but there are some that could and will cause problems if you run into them.

To end off this review, I would like to say that XCOM: Enemy Unknown is one of the best strategy games you can find out there, and if you like the extraterrestrial, then I highly recommend to buy this game.

90

One of the most exciting RTS games I have ever played

Sinorea | Oct. 18, 2014 | See all Sinorea's reviews »

I played the original X-com games and they were great in their own way, but this reboot of a classic, just blows my mind! When they announced the game I was skeptical as I was a big fan of the series and wasn't sure if this was going to be yet another cash grab on a successful franchise. But wow, I was proved so wrong.

Good Points: 1.)The game is well balanced and still challenging on normal difficulty, however the harder difficulties are fantastically nail-biting and tense, just what I've always wanted from a RTS. 2.) You bond with your squad and get their own personality in your head, so you actually care about losing a squad member, something which other games of a similar type have never pulled off. 3.) Great turn-based combat system which really plays to the games' tense atmosphere, especially on hard.

Bad points: 1.) Sometimes maps that you play on, repeat quite a lot. Which takes away from the immersion. 2.) Graphical glitches sometimes happen with bullets, where the image shows you hit them, but says you completely missed. 3.) No certain squad progression. Your members can go from rookie, to anything randomly picked and it means you can't necessarily tailor your squad to your liking.

Overall though a solid RTS genre game and well worth a play.

85

GREAT GAME and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

funnyman228 | Oct. 16, 2014 | See all funnyman228's reviews »

INTRODUCTION: XCOM Enemy Unknown is a remake of the classic UFO and X-COM games from 1994 - 2004, the 2012 version aims to bring back the turn-based genre into mainstream market. It does so by introducing the series to modern day graphics, technologies , and a streamlined and revamped gameplay.

The player assumes the role of the XCOM Commander who is tasked to lead an elite team of soldiers, scientists and engineers from all across the globe in an effort to thwart a massive alien invasion. You are Earth's first, and last line of defense.

PROS:

  • High Replayability: -Not all playthroughs are the same. Although the main story arc remains static, each individual missions and enemies that comes with them, are not. This makes each new game as unique as the last.

  • Difficulty: -The difficulty is absolutely brutal specially in Classic and Impossible difficulty. With the added option of Ironman (no saving), the challenge can be taken to a whole new level.

  • Streamlined Gameplay: -The classic X-COM games were extensively in-depth. The 2012 remake revamped the game system in favor of easier management and control so it can be accessible to a wider range of audiences.

  • Well Optimized: -The game's engine was surprisingly well optimized for the PC while being a multiplatform release. This game was able to run on a friend's old desktop with a 5 year old graphics card. This is something you rarely see in other multiplatform titles.

GREAT GAME and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Well worth its full price. I never had the pleasure of playing the original X-COM games and I know that some of the hardcore fans might have been put off by the streamlining of the series. As for me however, the 2012 remake is a game that delivered one of my best experience on any turn-based strategy game in a long time.

90

Best strategy

lorddarwid | Oct. 6, 2014 | See all lorddarwid's reviews »

Have ever wondered what would happen to the world in the event of a hostile alien race invasion? Are we even prepared for such occurrence? Well guess what? We are prepared. We have always been prepared. We have created the XCOM project, designed to protect the Earth from Alien invasions and YOU have been chosen to command it!

Pick a team from the best soldiers in the world and take them out into the battlefield in a spectacularly designed turn based strategy game. Build your base by adding laboratories, workshops, generators and much more... Research new weapons and equip your soldiers with them, make new armours, new jets, everything to send those pesky aliens out! But remember... They aren't showing their full power...

94

The Greatest RTS of 2012

RyannHUNN | Sept. 6, 2014 | See all RyannHUNN's reviews »

After playing XCOM: Enemy Unknown I feel ashamed of not playing any XCOM games before! I don't really like turn-based tactical games except for Civ , but I can honestly say 2K did it again!

The best thing about the game is that it gives you freedom. You are the one who looks after researching, building, and you'll have to choose to whom you're are helping. And if you fail, you'll regret it immediately.

The gameplay is fun, the graphics look really good, and the soundtrack is awesome. Every RTS fan should play this

92

That's a proper reboot of series

creagen | Aug. 31, 2014 | See all creagen's reviews »

For all that didn't play the original Xcom series this will look like pretty interesting but nothing amazing turn-based tactical game. For all the guys that played it... Aww boy!! This is what reboot of old classics should look like. Even though the initial release did suffer from bugs, Firaxis fixed those pretty quickly and made playing this game a rewarding experience (any Ironman fans out here?). For those tl;dr gamers out there, buy this game as there are many price drops recently and you won't be disappointed!

90

Great Strategy Game

mizentrop | Aug. 30, 2014 | See all mizentrop's reviews »

This is a definite purchase. X-Com: Enemy Unknown takes on the old classic from way back and does so with style. This is a Turn-Based Strategy game that really makes you think. Besides all the fun in the combat, there is an element of preparation and premeditation in the your base of operation: the X-COM HQ. That's where the real magic takes place: You need to set research goals, decide what to build and where, and most importantly - who to protect. A failure to think things through at the start of the game will cost you in the long run. With all that said, this is a fun game - trust me, you'll end up starting a mission more often than not, just to get it right. And i didn't mention that there is a great expansion pack called X-Com: Enemy Within. Very Recommended!

80

Firaxis take on X-COM

d2cmp | Aug. 28, 2014 | See all d2cmp's reviews »

The original X-com is one of my favorite games ever and i was really excited to see Firaxis develop a new turn based strategy game based on it, however while the game is excellent it falls apart in some points

Graphics wise the game is pretty good, you never feel that the characters blend in the background a common problem in isometric games, the artstyle also resembles the original comic book motif of the original. Also a special mention to the rain effects they look gorgeous

On the technical side the game had some hiccups on release, but most major bugs were patched by the time im writing this, other than that the game works fine even on low end PCs, has gamepad support, etc.

Getting to the meat of the review lets talk about the gameplay, the core aspects of the game remain the same, you build a base, intercept ufos/receive calls of emergency and you send your men to fight the aliens in turn based combat

Lets start with the bad, the game lost depth in some of its core aspects, you can only build and manage one base and thats enough to cover the entire world instead of strategically placing several bases to cover it, your base could also not be attacked until the expansion was released

The UFO interception was one of the few weak points of the original and unfortunately Firaxis didn't take the chance to improve much on it, its even slightly simpler

Now onto the main game Firaxis decided to add their own take on the combat, your units have 2 actions which can be spent on moving, attacking, using a skill or a combination of these depending on your soldier class. I liked the combat, but it could have used more options, the expansion partially fixes this

The system you use customise your soldiers looks and skills is a definite improvement and the expansion improves it even more, the only criticism is that the class rookies get assigned to is random

To close this review i would like to state again that the game is very good, kudos to firaxis for making a hard, punishing turn based game ins this age and i would definitely recommend it, but to truly surpass its predecessor it needed more depth, multiple interceptions at once, multiple base management, more gun types with different shooting modes, more mission types, etc

90

What a great strategy

Worle_14 | Aug. 9, 2014 | See all Worle_14's reviews »

if you like turn based strategy shooter games, blowing up aliens and destroying pieces of cover with grenades and rocket launchers, this game is a must for you! very fun and can be quite challenging at times, especially on the higher difficulties.

96

surprised with greatness

whambam87 | July 14, 2014 | See all whambam87's reviews »

I had never played an xcom game before but managed to pick up xcom enemy unknown for cheap. At first I was reluctant with purchasing as I didn't know much about the game and now I'm gutted I didn't buy the complete edition.

The reason for this is that enemy unknown, is hugely fun and rather addictive game. I never thought I would enjoy a turn based game as much as I am while playing this. I generally cant believe its taken me this many years to get round to playing this great game. If anyone is reluctant to purchase this game then don't be as the game plays so well and there's some much which draws you in. Easily my new favourite game.

This game nearly scores a perfect score, only reason why not is that I don't have the dlc. Maybe if I had all of it then this would reach the perfect number. Don't hesitate go out and buy.

93

Fantastic reimagining

stemot | May 10, 2014 | See all stemot's reviews »

X-Com on the Amiga 1200 was one of my favourite games of the era so I was eagerly awaiting this reboot and it didn't disappoint. While it streamlines a lot of the originals UI into a more user friendly version and removes the concept of time units for a more simple two action turn, Firaxis have done a a great job of bringing the old game right up to date for a modern audience. The new game still focuses on your team members and their progression through the ranks with experience, making it all the harder when you lose them permanently because you made a stupid decision during combat. The visuals are very good for a strategy game and although the story ends on a little of a bum note the progression through the campaign and it's alien invasion story line are enough to keep you playing. One of my favourite games of last gen and a game all fans of the original should play.

90

Time Vampire

H4ZD4M4N | April 28, 2014 | See all H4ZD4M4N's reviews »

I never played the original XCOM games, but I am highly tempted to do so after playing this one. Please note that I also have the expansion - XCOM: Enemy Within - which adds quite a lot of extra content.

I have spent so many hours in the single player mode of this game, time goes scarily fast when playing. I don't plan on stopping any time soon though, this game will be draining my free time for a long time yet.

The turn-based combat makes for exciting and strategic battles and you are harshly punished for your mistakes in the form of losing the characters you've put so much effort into creating. Both the combat sequences and actual management of the XCOM program are difficult enough to keep you on your toes, ('Ironman mode' really adds to this too) it took me a lot of learning from failed attempts before I actually finished the story.

The range of enemies are very diverse and each introduction to a new species of alien is very well done. You won't find yourself wondering how to combat an enemy upon meeting it, it's all about your execution of the tactics.

The multiplayer allows you to play as humans or aliens - or even a mixed team of both - but it certainly isn't the focus of the game. It's fun when battling a friend (although we did experience a few connection issues when trying to set it up). There is a very limited amount of multiplayer maps too.

If you want a thrilling single player experience, I can't recommend this enough. If you want a good multiplayer game, I'd say look elsewhere.

95

Alien invasion by 2K

Asmo2 | April 17, 2014 | See all Asmo2's reviews »

I pre ordered game here at GMG and this was a good decision. Game is good (played a lot). Every one fan of turn based tactical games should buy XCOM.

In XCOM we have single player campaign and multiplayer. In single player campaign we have option to change difficulty (before new game and in game). Iron mode is only for hardcore players :D

I want recommended Long War mod (nexus site). What s new in this mod ? Eight soldier classes, including the scout, infantry, rocketeer and engineer - Up to eight X-Com soldiers on missions - Up to a dozen missions per month. Abductions will take place one at a time. - Multiple base missions that allow you to retake countries from the aliens - Revamped and new perks structured to force difficult choices at each level while creating powerful complementary abilities - Aliens conduct research and their soldiers and UFOs will grow tougher over time, although X-Com can slow their advance - Interceptors gain experience and grow more accurate - Many new items, alien pods of up to eight x-rays, alien leaders and navigators, and much more!

92

Amazingly good remake.

jah00 | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all jah00's reviews »

After playing the first X-Com to death on the Miggy, I wasn't expecting this remake to be any good, especially given the first trailers that came out for it - which seem to be what The Other X-Com became!

However, I was pleasantly surprised. I got the pre-order on the off chance and was glad I did. It was played almost constantly when I had the PC switched on. Extremely addictive and accessible to all levels of gaming capability.

I look forward to the DLC.

90

The epitome of TBS.

cannibalwombat | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all cannibalwombat's reviews »

I'm generally not a fan of turn-based strategy games. It certainly took a lot of recommendations for me to give this one a chance. I can't believe I waited so long! This game is incredible in every way.

The set-up is brief; aliens are attacking Earth for some reason and you have to lead the mysterious XCOM initiative to combat the extra-terrestrial threat. Now off you go! Once you're in that driving seat though, you don't want to get out until you're done.

Everything shines in this game: the base building, the research and engineering systems, the UFO battles, the squad development and skill trees. You really feel like each squad member is unique, each research advance or satellite will make a difference, each enemy kill is a small victory. Most of all though, the gameplay during encounters is so, so satisfying. There's nothing quite like getting a successful critical elevation headshot with a plasma sniper rifle on a Berserker! The animations are fantastic, both allies and enemies.

I love this game and had a great time playing it through. The only thing that really disappointed me was the ending. The final alien base mission was actually really easy, when all the other big build-up missions had gotten progressively harder. The final boss was a particular disappointment. The ending narrative was brief and somewhat cryptic, leaving you with a big information black hole, and when it came to taking him down, you could count the number of moves it took me to do it on one hand.

Final boss aside though, this game is a triumph. Whether you've played another XCOM game, any turn-based strategy game or nothing like this at all - it doesn't matter. This game will not disappoint you.

90

A surprisingly well made game

DaranV | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all DaranV's reviews »

I received this game as a pre-order bonus to purchasing Bioshock Infinite. Having viewed several video game reviews, I decided it was not the game for me and put it aside. I was eventually found myself bored enough to give it a go; I was glued onto my screen for the subsequent three days. The game initially put me off as turn based squad strategy did not appeal to me as much as real time strategy. I was very wrong. You end up getting very personally invested in your soldiers. The graphics are amazing - it runs on Unreal Engine 3; the same engine that powers Mass Effect 1, 2 & 3. The mechanics require some learning curve but with the help of an initial tutorial, it soon becomes second nature. However the story itself remains slightly aloof and hollow and it is difficult to become engrossed; instead the story only serves to provide a series of objectives that need to be fulfilled. Another concern is that for most missions, the maps are randomised. It would have been nice if maps were unique to their locations; it only adds to the game feeling distant. Having seen XCOM: Enemy Within it seems that have held back the best gameplay elements for the standalone expansion. Now that the sequel has been released, you would be better off buying that.

90

This is how you revive a franchise

smajor92 | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all smajor92's reviews »

This game just blew my mind on release, I could not believe how great of a game it was. Although its strategy, you feel almost part of the action when in battle and nothing sets the blood pumping than a clean one hit sniper shot kill on an enemy. I honestly don't know a person who has played this and not enjoyed it thoroughly. I think this is a game people will remember for years to come.

80

A turn based strategy that will blow your mind

drakso | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

One of the better titles of the X-COM franchise. It is a hell of a fun turned based strategy and it is not afraid to show it. I must say that the game was released in a terrible state and a lot of bugs are not fixed to this date. Now that that is out of the way, the other sides of this game are amazing. The graphics and animation are flawless, and the sound quality is really good as well. The single player campaign is awesome, with many soldiers to level up, gear up, make a base and upgrade it. For me, to experience the true game, you MUST play in ironman mode. The mode basically makes that when a soldier dies, it really is dead and you can't play with it any more. That makes you care for the soldiers more and it adds a lot of tension to battles. If you overlook the bugs that this game has, it is one of the best turned based strategies that came recently.

97

One of the best remakes ever

Neonberry | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

If XCOM - Enemy Unknown would have first been released today it would - and should - have been exactly as it is to deliver all the glory it originally did. Almost all the features of the old game are perfectly executed and/or changed to suit today's standards. Generally you manage a secret organization that fights off aliens. The game is composed of two main parts: the base part where you manage resources, research, build and arm your troops - and the combat part where you manage your small team in a turn-based tactic manner to eliminate the alien threat. The game can get pretty difficult and you can choose a bunch of options to to make it more difficult - Ironman for a single save slot (you will find out why this is terrible when they shoot down your best sniper), random skillsets for the units (who level up of course and get some pretty awesome perks), random unit stats and development (as it was in the original) and so on. In the end you can make the game pretty much as it was in its first incarnation (except you have a different movement system so no way to get rid of the auto-crouch). The only thing I find annoying is that if you haven't pre-ordered the game then you have to buy a DLC to be able to customize your troop's appearance. The game is recommended to everyone who likes aliens, turn based tactics, future-tech and saving the world.

99

Hello Commander

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

That game is G E N I U S,X-Com is the best tactical game I ever played.The whole base-phase of the game makes you feel like you are an actual commander during alien invasion.Graphics are very nice and build the atmosphere,most missions(if not all of em)take place during night which is also very climatic.Music and sounds are brilliant.The game often presents you with though choices cause you can answer only one cry for help at once,and the other countries which you choose not to rescue suffer incrised panic level.You can customize your squad,develope every single member to your liking,which makes you really care about those guys on the battlefield and every single loss,makes you want to restart the mission.Overall one of the best games I ever played and I highly recomend it.

85

Next generation of turned-based

Freako | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

X-COM is the most anticipated turned-based strategy game i have played.

When i hopped in honestly i was confused , i had no idea what to do. But as i went through the tutorial i start to realize. This game was confusing to start with but i am starting to get the hang of it and love it.

Turned-based games are so common nowadays majority just look the same and play the same.

X-COM takes another step into turn based strategy game by putting shooters inside and taking cover. The usual turn based games are straight forward but X-COM with it's learning curve makes you want to play even more.

There are many units to play with and a variety of skills to be customized and played around. There is storyline in this game but honestly i rather play Multiplayer 1 v 1. It's so much more challenging and interesting to see other players play out their move and how they control their units.

90

How turn-based strategy should be done

RixRaw | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all RixRaw's reviews »

Remake of the 1994 game UFO: Enemy Unknown (aka X-COM: UFO Defense), X-COM: Enemy Unknown is a very polished and well designed turn-based strategy game with a pinch of base management and a dash of RPG elements. While the semi-cartoony graphics are a pleasure to look at during actual gameplay, as well as both in-game cutscenes and pre-rendered cinematics, X-COM's main strengths are the near flawless execution of tactical gameplay, and its replay value. Albeit the game has a few minor bugs, these are mostly graphical, that will not affect gameplay. Some players might be bothered at first by their units' line of sight not making sense in some rare cases, it's nothing a fan of tactical games should not be able to adapt to quickly. Higher difficulty levels and additional features such as ironman and second wave (a series of game altering options that can be unlocked by completing playthroughs) make X-COM very replay worthy. All in all an outstanding game, possibly my favourite of the year 2012.

85

Excellent TBG!

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all icole8's reviews »

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is one of those games everyone simply must play at least once; it's extremely capable of being an excellent time-waster, as I can personally attest to.

You step into the role of a commander in charge of XCOM (an organization dedicated to stopping an alien invasion). The missions you undertake are more or less the same - but how each one goes is up to you, and it is immensely satisfying to see aliens die after being shot/blasted, just as it is to name your soldiers after friends and ensure they live to the very end.

It's cheesy, it's corny, but it's excellently done in that respect, and Enemy Within adds a whole new ton of fancy stuff to play it through a second time.

Get it, you won't regret it.

86

A must have for strategy fans

bungrudi | Dec. 11, 2013 | See all bungrudi's reviews »

I have played this title in PS3 before, and it had suck numerous worthy hours of my life. As soon as I got my new PC (only have laptops before) I decided that this going to be a must have game.

One part of the game is about management; you're running a base, funding research, building new weapons, managing a fleet of fighter craft and generally trying to keep a small number of rich and powerful funding nations happy enough to keep on funding you. The other half is tactical game. You're taking a small squad of soldiers out into the field for turn-based combat. There are several class of soldier with their own specialty.

Both part equally weighted and well crafted to make you rush for more dose; a little game before you go to work, after you get home from work, and when having dinner as you can play it when having your meal.

If cannot claim you love strategy games if you don't own XCOM Enemy Unknown. It's a must have, along with Civ V, and Total War series.

And oh.. I bought Elite Soldier Pack DLC just because its on sale, knowing that it wouldn't add anything essential. But boy.. I never knew that making the soldiers look like Power Rangers could be so fun!! The Slingshot DLC also add more customization to the look. Get the DLCs when they're on sale. When they're not, I think the price is a tad to much.

91

Best turn-base game on 2012 in my list.

Mk1900 | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Mk1900's reviews »

I love to play turn-base game and this game is my first Xcom game. I spend over 120 hour and still have some challenge to do. If you love to manage your troop and base , if your love to use your tactic to eliminate your foe , this game is worthy buy. I recommend you play this game on classic or impossible include ironman mode because normal is very easy if you play other turn-base game before. A second wave option is make this game more challenge,you should open it all when you have some experience in this game.

90

We need more games like this

Chibidono | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all Chibidono's reviews »

For some reason studios are very restrictive with going outside the norm of the genres. This is not the way with XCOM: EU. I think they succeeded well with the balance between "overworld strategy" and actual combat strategy. The only thing you could want added is a undo button as some of the mechanics are not always as straightforward as you'd like. Overall it's a game that can easily eat up chunks of your time and make you forget yourself while in the immersive position of commander of the XCOM base. Do try it out.

70

Good Combact, poor Strategy

lucasart | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all lucasart's reviews »

Despite a technical realization certainly not perfect, the X-com Firaxis is a tactical and a fairly successful remake of the classic series. The part of the fighting is solid and fun, full of options and possibilities of approach. The challenge, especially towards the middle of the game is acceptable, shame about the mode iorn man is extremely tricky, especially for a rookie. Something else how strategic rather poor and schematic, not at all acceptable in a way that should also focus on this mechanism.

92

XCOM Enemy Unknown: Infinite replayability, Meaningful choices

ChrisRARC | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all ChrisRARC's reviews »

XCOM EU puts you in the shoes of a base and battlefield commander, taking on missions around the globe with a team of 6 operatives to combat the unknown alien threat. It is equal parts turn-based strategy and base operations planning, the former being a glorious slugfest against ever increasingly potent enemies and the latter an easy to understand base set-up game that encourages planning ahead to maximize building adjacency bonuses and tech tree unlocks.

The game is infinitely replayable thanks to alternative upgrades, dozens of maps, mutators to the campaign, and variable difficulty modes that are mitigated somewhat by the ability to quick load a save every time an operative bites it.

Your choices on soldier abilities have impact because choosing one route usually locks out the other. You have limited funding and have to juggle weapons and armor production and research and base expansion.

With the upcoming Enemy Within expansion set to release, now is a great time for anyone who fancies turn-based action RPGs to hop in and see what the fuss is all about.

60

A Restrictive Remake of a Classic

Renemesis | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Renemesis's reviews »

A great game! But not as good as the original. It feels like it offers less, in a more graphically updated package. The game is good tho! And it can be properly damn challenging if you don't go for the easiest setting! The sad thing is all the DLC's for it.. they offer nothing. And the game already feels lacking on content like weapon selection, armor types, and types of enemies. Sure, there are some of everything, but it becomes a rinse-and-repeat fest pretty quickly, and it's just the same old over and over again to get more resources so you can get more of the same stuff. It's also bugged, and none of the updates fix it. Aliens can spawn in the middle of your group for no bloody reason, which if you play on ironman (only one constant save allowed), that pretty much means that all your work was for nothing, and you just lost all your best units. Great fun. Not.

90

Turn based strategy game that makes you value your every move

JetStreamJam | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all JetStreamJam's reviews »

This is a remake of the popular XCOM game in the 90's. Although I was not able to actually play that game and was only able to watch videos of it over the internet, I still see how a good game it was before. Fast forward 2012 and we now have XCOM: Enemy Unknown, the remake of the original XCOM, Which I bought from this website. This game will give you different kinds of emotions while playing it. You will feel fearful of these aliens who tries to invade and kill your squad members. You will feel tension with the different member countries of the council due to the politics it entails as they ask for assistance with these invasions. You will feel stressed out on which upgrades you need to do first, but you will also feel satisfaction whenever you upgraded something and is extremely useful for your next missions.and lastly, you will feel a bond and attachment to your squad members which will be with you through thick and thin, from being a novice up to the time they really pack a punch. One wrong decision may spell the end for your squad member and you can never bring him back. This is the epitome of strategy. You will never be successful without thinking everything through. You will enjoy this game with all its rich content, so try it out and don't leave the enemy remain unknown.

90

An intense and enjoyable turn-based strategy game

commanderhavoc | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

This remake of the classic X-COM game is without a shadow of a doubt one of the absolute best to be ever released on PC, PS3 and Xbox-360. The aliens you will be facing during the many battles you partake in will test your tactical skills, especially when facing the dreadful Chrysalid that can turn civilians and your XCOM troops into zombies before they burst open as a new Chrysalid comes out, this is something that scared the living daylights out of those who played the original DOS version back in the 90's. But the game does suffer from a few problems. The most glaring one is the fact that you only have one Skyranger to transport your troops around the world, which doesn't make any sense when the XCOM project is supposed to be protecting the world and can only send a single team to one country while letting the other ones suffer from the alien attacks. In the original game, you could have several Skyrangers if you had more then one landingpad in your base. Also, you only get to have one base throughout the entire game and it never ever gets attacked by the aliens, as with the original game, your base could be found by the aliens and be attacked by them and you also could have more then one base throughout the world, thus allowing you to respond more quickly to alien attacks. Other then those annoying issues, this is an excellent title that tactical gamers will enjoy.

86

Excellent revival of turn-based strategic gameplay

DannyBizzle | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DannyBizzle's reviews »

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a polished, fun turn-based strategy game, with a hub-based (and turn-based) mission system. The game was developed by Firaxis, and thus it's not surprising that it has a fair few underlying similarities with the Civilization franchise (especially Civ V).

The gameplay is excellent throughout - satisfying turn-based, squad action versus alien enemies. The slight problems arise for me in the career mode, where I have a hard time feeling if the game should be played as a roguelike, or more like a long drawn-out Civilization-style campaign, or as something else. I feel the game should do a better job communicating the way in which the career mode should be played out. Then again, maybe I just need to spend more time with it. Not a hard thing to do, given that the game is always fun.

90

Brilliant Game!

Pvtmini | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all Pvtmini's reviews »

My experience with Xcom: Enemy Unknown, was nothing short of Amazing. I was faced with a seemingly impossible task, of fighting aliens while also managing a base and the economy of it, plus having to please a council of the major nations on earth.

And believe me when I say it was hard. In fact, a lot harder than I initially thought it would be when I first heard of this game. But the feeling of having beaten back an alien strike force, with nothing but four guys and their Assault rifles, is amazing.

I found the online part, however, to be a bit repetitive. That's the only reason I do not feel I can justify giving it a rating of 100.

but this game, is a must! I highly recommend it!

90

Great remake

santiagopl | Oct. 14, 2013 | See all santiagopl's reviews »

I played a lot to the xcom franchise. I tried all the games, since they came out, enemy unknown, terror from the deep..and so on.

When i found out this game was being developed i was thrilled by the idea of going back to hours and hours of building and researching. And when i tried it, it paid off the wait. This game is really good!

93

XCommendation

TabulateNewt8 | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all TabulateNewt8's reviews »

Xcom: Enemy Unknown is, simply put, the best turn based tactical strategy game I've ever played. It's a game where both the combat missions and base management feel fleshed out and useful. It's clear Firaxis spent huge amounts of time on both the games main elements. Certainly, neither one feels underdeveloped in favour of the other.

The UI is clear and easy to use in both missions and base management, giving aspiring commanders all the information they need to properly analyse the situation at hand, whatever the circumstances. The game also has huge replayability with both ironman mode to disable reloading saves and 'second wave' options which change the gameplay dramatically for the commander looking for a bit more challenge in his experience. Not that the game isn't hard enough without them! You shouldn't have to many problems during your easy or normal playthroughs but the hardest difficulty (Impossible) is nearly impossible! Anyone who completes the game at on impossible deserves a medal for persevering!

A word of warning though. This game has a steep learning curve as new aliens are introduced. If this is your first time I highly recommend enabling the tutorial as it explains how all the games systems work very well. Also, unless you're playing on easy and/or are experienced with Xcom, it's highly likely you'll lose men through out your playthrough. It's incredibly frustrating watching your top rank soldier being killed by a lucky shot so if you're not a patient person, you may want to think twice.

Overall though, Xcom: Enemy Unknown is a fantastic game and comes highly recommended, for newbies and series veterans alike.

90

Xcom enemy unknown

boesgaard | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all boesgaard's reviews »

With little more than 100 hours of gameplay I can say that I love the game. Sure its very repetitive at certain points and you never have the amont of recources that you want or need, but sending your solders into battle knowing that every mistake you make might cost you dearly, is awesome. With the Slingshot dlc and the upcoming expansion Xcom enemy within there will be atleast another 100+ hours before you grow tired of it.

90

Great tactical game

Thoosa | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

I will not lie, I won this game. But I was pleasantly surprised, when i found out it is actually really great and I spent around 30 hours in it already. The gameplay is fun, I love the base building, but obviously, the main reason is the tactical gameplay the missions provide for you. You have 4 classes of soldiers, every with different roles in a mission. It is really up to you to make great moves and come out victorious. The ever enhancing aliens are becoming more resilient as the game goes on, so you will never become a good and it will always be challenging. The only thing that bothered me were sudden fps drops after you return to your base, mainly when the cutscenes do appear.

95

Best tactical turn base strategy of morden games

jump76 | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all jump76's reviews »

I will start with the down side that is there is some time graphical bug, and some UI bug, and sometime unit bug. But all of them are not game breaking (just annoying in some time)

Then to the good side, so this is the best tactical turn base strategy that capture the original. While make it easier from the original but not easy that destroy the core concept of the game. It's is actually difficult that you will need to think carefully each turn. But when you get used to all the concept of the game it will be all joy that will make you play it over and over. I can't wait for the expansion of Enemy Within.

90

Great game, judged on its own merits

bills6693 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all bills6693's reviews »

Perhaps the biggest downfall of this game is the fact that, through its title, many people compare it to the original (and rightly so).

On its own, this game is outstanding. Unfortunately there are bugs which have plagued this game since release, which will hopefully finally get fixed in November, but it is too long to have to wait. But the gameplay is solid and engaging, the story (aside from the ending) is interesting and it is nice to listen to all the opinions of the base personnel on your first play-through. Second wave and varying levels of challenge offer good re-playability.

90

Worthy of the name.

Numbi | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

My husband is a huuuuge fan of the original Xcom games and I must admit that I got caught up watching him replaying them after I bought him the Xcom Complete pack. When this game was released I knew it was time for me to jump in myself and get my feet wet with the genre.

Overall I had a great experience with the game and found it to be challenging without being overly complicated. The game is also very engrossing, especially if you assemble a team named after your friends! At the current price this game is a steal and I can't wait for the Enemy Within DLC to be released.

80

An excellent tactical title

jep1138 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all jep1138's reviews »

Having never played or heard much about the classic XCOM games, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this modernised version. As it turns out, the game proved very enjoyable. The strategy, tactical combat, and role-playing elements complement each other nicely.

The biggest problem with the game is the fact that it is riddled with bugs. Even this long after its release the developers still haven't ironed out all the problems. Besides that, I would advise you not to play this game if you find games based around random number generation to be infuriating, as the entire combat system in Enemy Unknown operates this way.

Overall, this is a very good game, into which one can easily sink a lot of time. If it wasn't for the bugs, I would have given it a 9/10.

90

XCOM - review

WastedAlmond | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all WastedAlmond's reviews »

This game is in the vein of the turn-based strategy/tactical games of old, It's hard, unforgiving and ultimately extremely satisfying. The gameplay is fantastic, albeit some bugs still linger here and there, some of them even freeze the entire game (not your entire computer thankfully).

The gameplay divides into two "levels" tactical and strategic. On the strategic level you manage your base, manufacturing weapons and equipment for the troops, build new facilities and research new technologies. You also have to build satellites to monitor different continents, and to detect and intercept any UFO's violating the airspace. You also have to manage panic levels on nations that are supporting you, by launching satellites and helping them out if need be.

The tactical level is when your team is needed to: "Save the day". Tactical gameplay is turn based and you have 4 soldiers (later 6) under your command. After your team is out of actionpoints the aliens get their turn. The missions play out until all objectives are complete or the aliens kill all of your squad members. Soldiers can also level up and gain a class (like assault, heavy etc.), with special perks available to each class, this also makes high level characters extremely valuable, and losing them can put you in a dire situation.

This game manages to be both very challenging and very rewarding, also it has tremendous replayability. This game is a gem, and a must have for anyone looking for a challenging tactical game.

85

XCOM: Enemy Unknown - review

balbo79 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

The game is a cross between a title management and a strategic turn based. Once you choose the nation in which to build our base (this choice will affect certain parameters), we will have to skillfully manage the monthly funding received from the various nations of the council and economic revenue derived from the sale on the gray market of technologies and alien artifacts recovered. This disposable income will allow us to fund the underground complex of X-COM. Careful preparation in our underground base will allow us to better address the strategic part. It will be important to study in a careful scenario and the various covers that, if well managed, will provide protection from alien attacks in the form of a percentage that will indicate in advance the chances of success of an attack. It 's also a certain component GDR, through which we can enhance the abilities of our soldiers, increasing the number of elements in the mission (four to six), to turn them into real war machines. The longevity of the title is another of his best sides, in which the complexity and variety of available tactics, numerous unlockable items, the amount of soldiers to recruit, the patterns of attack of the opponents (which vary every game) and four levels of difficulty make X-Com a title which you will tire very difficult.

85

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

kynzburn | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all kynzburn's reviews »

A call back to the Classic XCOM games to which, from this day, I still play (e.g Terror from the deep). I can say some features from the classics didn't carry over to this one which deeply disappointed me (full customization, base defenses which i love, free aiming but the ordinance has it ) the gameplay has been given an overhaul, updated and streamlined for modern gamers to adapt while staying faithful to the original game.

Your units can only do 2 IMPORTANT actions from which you have to think and bear the consequences for your orders. They also limited your squad to 6 making your squad that much important. also applying class-based units, although weapons are limited by their class, it will make you think which kind or what loadout will your team be composed of.

The customization as i pointed out earlier was limited, but giving your units their own names, or your friends name makes you much more attached to them adding to the immersion that the previous XCOM games had.

The game has 4 difficulty to which you can adjust to your discretion; easy, normal, classic, and impossible. I recommend going for the Classic, as it will give you the feel of how the old XCOM games was. there is also the ironman mode that disables saves, but activates an autosave feature that saves your progress at every turn so you have to make sure that you know what the hell you just did.

The XCOM base and mission selection is what makes up a part of your strategical thinking inside the game. selecting your research priorities, building new equipments to be on-par or to have the advantage over your Alien adversaries. Deploy satellites, stationing interceptors, and making the decision to which will your skyranger will respond to adding more urgency and importance to your decisions.

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a well-rounded Turn-Based Strategy game, to which the veterans of the old game will appreciate and a warm welcome to players picking it up for the first time.

90

XCOM legacy

Bebop182 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Bebop182's reviews »

XCOM new gen is the perfect mix between tactical squad based combat, base management, and tech developpement. You are in charge of the project XCOM, and you feel it. You have control over everything. You build the base infrastructures. You command your scientists to research tons of alien technologies that you bring back to base with your assault squad during missions. You produce every single piece of equipement, manage and equip your troops. By far the best game in its category. But as stated in a previous comment, even if you can choose to set up your xcom base almost everywhere on earth and bring recruit from every country, they all talk the same, i'd love to get some german and russian speaker as well as other languages.

It worth its price, 40hours gameplay at least.

95

Wonderful

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I haven't played previous games of XCOM franchise, and I didn't even know what to expect from this one. But the moment I launched the game I understood - I love it.

This game has two parts: first, you micromanage you base - decide what to research, do upgrades, ect., second, you fight against aliens in a turn-based way. It's a perfect combination the developers Firaxis tried and perfected in Civilization series.

Through interesting cutscenes you follow interesting story. The visuals are great, and gameplay is addictive. What else is necessary for a wonderful game?

82

This! Is! XCOM!!!!!

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

This is an incredibly hard game. You not only need to plan your immediate moves, but you also have to plan a long game where you must make the world happy and free from alien attacks. Think it sounds easy? Well, maybe, if you're playing on easy, but WRONG!

Two times I was permanently left behind by alien technology.

Three times I ran out of able-bodied soldiers.

I beat the game twice. Once on easy.

Maybe I'm just an idiot, but this is a very tough game only for those up to the challenge. Not saying that it is bad. It is just brutal.

99

Xcom wish i new

touchmychunks | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all touchmychunks's reviews »

Xcom was a fav of mine and still is love the lil Easter eggs and the story line is just fun to play with ill give it 100 if i knew what the point of it lol 10 more mins and i think i would have my Q's done with

95

Nice to have XCOM back!

blofeld | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all blofeld's reviews »

I played the original Xcom extremely much so it is safe to say that I was very excited when I first heard about a remake. This game takes the original and makes it better, in most ways.

The graphics are outstanding, maybe a little bit too much cartoony for my taste, but that is just my opinion.

The gameplay is solid, and there are enough missions to keep you busy for a long time. However, the micro management from the original Xcom is no longer there. The base playing paart of the game which was a huge deal in the original Xcom has been dumbed down. There are no longer any base attacks, so it doesn't really matter anymore where you place a new structure, as it did in the original Xcom.

The selecting of the soldiers is also a bit clunky, but still ok. At least you don't have to add ammo, it is taken care for you automatically.

I would very much recommend this game to anyone who likes sci fi and/or turned based strategy games.

100

Fan pleaser!

Bobafett2k6 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all Bobafett2k6's reviews »

As a fan of the original XCOM games from so long ago, I expected so much from this game, and I got it.

It captures the feel of the original even with modernised gameplay and the ever present risk of death for your soldiers, and in this game death means death. The tactical turn based gameplay is brilliant, send your assembled team of soldiers with different classes (support, assault, sniper, heavy) up against many different types of alien enemies, watch for them flanking and always, yes always use overwatch as death comes quick in this game. Back to base and everything is there that you would expect from interceptors and engineering to the science labs. Get researching quickly to make use of captured technology and get your engineers working hard to replicate it. Hire soldiers and promote them based on previous battles, unlocking some very handy skills along the way. Don't mess up or the council for each nation will pull their funding, leaving you with less finances each month.

An absolute must for old fans and new players alike.

90

A very nice introduction to a previously untouched genre

SArcher | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all SArcher's reviews »

As a long time fan of adventure, shooter, fighter and racing games. The strategy side of things was before this, unexplored territory. Having heard good things about XCOM I decided to throw myself into it telling myself to try it, who knows, I might just like it. Turns out I've been missing out on things for the last few years. With the gameplay complex while easily approachable, it seems like a game for new fans of strategy and veterans of the genre alike. Overall, a very fun game which will be sure to suck away many hours of your life. Worth it

80

Very Good Game

iamkyo90 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

I am a antiguosy jugardor I played the UFO and XCOM ... and to me the game I like. I like when you buy it, liking followed me when I finished. I like more now with the improvements that have been put in the last update. The jugabildad is very good, although sometimes limited viewing angles will not let you enjoy it all. Is it or is a peguita. Also a bit annoying but the limitation of inventory much pr against missions are invigorated. There is a general balance between change and improvement, this well thought ultimately, despite sharing the limitations of the consoles does not become negative. The technology is good, worse really improved. A midrange PC can run it at max with no problems, at the cost of sometimes excessive simplification, the result of compatibility with consoles. The cartoon style is nice, and is doing very well to the title, although I think I could have mejrado paragraph graphic PC, like the rest of the elements tecnilogicos. Good sound, but not s soundtrack too flashy, but fulfills its mission. It is an innovative game as an inheritance aporvecha masterful, and offers some significant improvements over its predecessor, and overcome him in some ways.

85

Legend is back!

gba94 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all gba94's reviews »

There are not much things to explain XCOM to turn-based strategy players. Only thing we can say the legend is back as a modern game. For people who know nothing about XCOM, this game is a turn-based strategy game basicly. The main theme of the game is hunting Alliens and saving the World. You are responsible for a base which is set by yourself into a continental. You are related to XCOM project and you have to use your base for training soldiers, engineers, scientists and using them to take Alliens down. At the beginning of the game, it might be hard for you, but make sure you will get used to it. Anyway you will use your base as a scientific research center, as a satelitte uplink center, and as a factory for gears, weapons etc. And of course the missions... The damn missions actually. The missions are very important for XCOM project because it causes your degree at the end of the month. If you have succesful missions you will get better degrees and gifts(like cash, soldier, scientist etc) and also the affected area will be safe for a while. If we mention about inside the mission, from your soldiers position to gears they equipped, a lot of things affect your success. You should set your soldier behind the true covers and move them very carefully (If you dont be cautious you may lose your soldier by an overwatching allien). In short the strategy fans definetely should check this game out, try the demo and be a true XCOM player. So, Good luck Commanders :)

90

Welcome back to Xcom

Neothanos | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all Neothanos's reviews »

A classic of strategy is reborn.Aand unlike some remakes who just want to cash in the brand name, Its a very worthy sucessor to the original. They managed to speed up the pace while keeping the strategy element very much alive. The squads may be smaller but the tense do or die battles are very much here. The game just lost some points to me over two issues a somewhat confusing ending and no alien attacks to xcom base.

If you liked the original and/or are in squad based strategy this is a game for you.

90

A brutally addictive game.

djkr | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all djkr's reviews »

I bought XCOM after hearing great things about it from my friend. Little did I expect it to be such a great game.

XCOM combines tactical play with RPG elements superbly. And every decision you take could mean life or death of your squad. But it is this permadeath consequence that adds that tension and excitement to the game. You will sink hours into this game suffering from 'one-more-turnitis'. Defending the Earth from deadly aliens has never been so addictive.

My only real gripe is that for a game that boasts multiple nationalities, all the soldiers sound like they are from North America. Varied voice acting representing soldiers from all across the globe would have made this game an ultimately more immersive experience.

But if you have been on the fence for this game, wait no longer. XCOM is a treat for every kind of gamer.

90

Wothy of its name

Bliddo | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Bliddo's reviews »

A great modern approach to the XCOM series. The gameplay is rich and deep, but it's also easy to pick up and play, even when you come back to the game after a while. The story is forgettable, but it's a mere tool to let you play the missions. Overall an amazing turn based strategy game, faithful to its routes.

90

Tense thoughtful gameplay

bradysam | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

It is easy to see why this game received such a high amount of praise from critics and why the turn based genre has been making a come back. The game play is excellently done, it initially guides you without ever feeling that it takes the control away from you and keeps ramping up the difficulty every time you start to master the battles. It's definitely possible to lose this game and you need to manage your resources and base building very well to ensure that you will succeed. Once you have a grip on everything though and once you finally start pushing the enemy back it feels as if you have really achieved something. Everything about this game is excellently done. If you're a fan of the strategy genre then it's definitely worth getting this game if you haven't already. If you're not then you should try it at the very least and it will probably convert you because it is that good.

90

A superb remake of the original game

metalos1 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

It is no exaggeration to say that XCOM is one of the best turn-based strategy game in recent times. The original one is a cult game, and the remake will be too. The Firaxis made an awsome strategy games with lot of tactical elements, action, base building, and much more. When you loose a soldier, who experienced a lot of battle, that is a big venesection, so we must take care of them. The alien enemies are brutal, they surround me, made tactics, so the AI is very good. The controlls are simple, but the camera management could be better. Conclusion: This is the way, what the developers must be follow. This is a remake, that is close to perfect.

93

Turn based strategy genre is not dead

Gojko | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Legendary X-COM series is well known to the older players, but this franchise unknown to younger gamers as it collapsed in the late nineties. Over the last decade came a few clones that were a pale shadow of original games. For a decent return legend deserved the Firaxis Games.

Game-play is divided into two areas: database management and fighting. At game start, select a location for their base of operations from several options. It is small and has only a few plants, but is well hidden under the ground. It houses the control room and situation in which track the level of panic in countries that are members of the Council. The choices are more limited in the original X-COM game, and create a database that is only one that will operate during the entire game. If you're a fan of the original game, this limitation of only one database can be a cause for concern, as well as the lack of frequent invasion of the base. This can be seen as simplistic game-play, but if you want a good challenge, it is best to play at the Classic level of difficulty, instead of the default.

Fighting against alien force is in 3D environment with the isometric perspective of the square structure at which you move. View you can rotate and zoom. You also have the possibility of including action cams. These are moments when the film is tense situations. Breaking open doors, windows and running for cover while under fire, with full action feeling.

Minor deficiencies that the game has not something that should worry the players, because XCOM: Enemy Unknown strategy that is beautiful and easy to play, whether you use the mouse and keyboard, or controller you. The dramatic tension is present at every turn, and you as the commander should eliminate enemies and save mankind.

This game is the proof that turn based strategies from mid 90's are not dead!

78

Love the strategy and difficulty ramp

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

Seriously if you like strategy and a relentess AI enemy that drives you into a corner and still kicks you while you're down (making it all the sweeter when you get the upper hand) this is you're game

I dont recommend it for hardcore action junkies or realtime strategy addicts Unless you're cool with turn-based gameplay stay away

93

Intense turn-based strategy

zipnox | July 31, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a science-fiction strategy game where you combat invading aliens to save Earth. Playing the game, you feel like you're part of an action movie, the turn-based combat provides many intense moments and hard to make decisions. Who lives and who dies in your heroic squad of soldiers?

The graphics and soundtrack are great, they mesh well with the rest of the game. The only downside to the game is how quickly you can get run over, the randomness of the game can mess with you, big time, especially on the harder difficulties. But don't let that stop you from buying this gem, there are a variety of difficulties to suit your preference.

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is an excellent strategy game that will entertain you for countless hours. If strategy games are your thing, don't miss this one!

80

A game of suspense and intensity

Dangerman1337 | July 25, 2013 | See all Dangerman1337's reviews »

While I have not played any other games in the X-COM series I finally decided to pick this up and I have greatly enjoyed it. It has a combination of Turn-based tactical combat where even a misstep can be gravely exploited by the alien menace and with a fog of war system this gives it an atmosphere of suspense since that your XCOM troopers can be wounded and be out of service or even permanently killed even by lowly Sectoids despite XCOM having the best of the best out there which gives the feeling of dread. However to help against the menace you can acquire more advanced weapons, equipment and Armour via researching and gaining materials from recovering from your fallen foes or/and taking down alien UFOs which is another layer of the game where UFOs appear often which requires interceptors to take it down (and those can be upgraded to go against the more powerful UFOs). There is another layer where funding depends on the nation members all over the world and their support is determined on their panic levels which is dependent on alien incursions into nations that contribute to the XCOM project and often you have to choose where to intervene or not out of three locations.

There are overall multiple types of missions:

Alien Abductions: Reports of the Ethereal abducting humans in a specific location in a city and require XCOM to find out and eliminate the hostlies within the area.

Council Missions: Special missions that the council requests such as retrieving VIPs and Bomb defuse.

UFO Missions: After locating a UFO on the ground or taking down a flying UFO you are sent to clear it out and retrieve any technology and materials. Failure to comply may result in satellites be shot down which are extremely useful in keeping panic levels down and increase funding.

Alien Terror attacks: The Ethereal may launch a terror attack where they basically terrorize a location to cause a larger amount of panic than other types of missions and involve the safety and lives of civilians which you must ensure.

Failure to comply with terror attacks, abductions and council missions can result in increased panic levels which if they get high enough for individual nations then they can permanently leave the XCOM project and take their wallet elsewhere which gives you the hard decision sometimes to intervene at one location out of three.

The three major problems I have with the game is that even in late July there are bugs that can be quite major such which can break the game in the Ironman mode where there is one save and you even cannot load that one up and if a game-breaking bug appears then you have to start again. There is also a problem with line of sight where is very hard to tell if you move a soldier to one location they may have an extremely poor view sight which can significantly reduce accuracy. The third problem I had was that the locations keep being re-used often and gives the feeling that you only play missions in Western Europe, Australia and the US despite having locations in Russia, China, Africa, India and South America, more environmental variety would have been a great benefit.

Overall I would recommend this game if you liked the demo.

88

The ultimate Strategy series is back !

MichalM | July 24, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

XCOM, one of the greatest strategy-economy game is back even more powered up! With graphics suited for current gen hardware is a big improvement to the series, of course, as an old XCOM: Ufo Defense (UFO: Enemy Unknown) fan I see few flaws in that game. It's more open for new games, In normal difficulty level it's okay to play but the oldest fans will have to try Classic or even Hardcore difficulty level to get what they want which is fun. Graphics is okay (game is based on well-known Unreal Engine 3), optimalization is perfect and sound effects are amazing, specially when you can hear but cannot see an alien under the war cloud. There are new elements added to the game, for example sattelites that you have to launch to protect and provide yourself surveillance in other countries. It's a great comeback for an awesome strategy game series ;D

85

A minor victory

Veniu | July 24, 2013 | See all Veniu's reviews »

It seems like in the age of speed-making of games, the XCOM Enemy Unknown made it to become something more than just a "medium" game. Why companies always hurry with the games they produce?

In XCOM you see the beautiful valors of making the game and putting your heart in there. Some may say, that XCOM Enemu Unknown is long only because of turn-based action. True, but don't forget that you get random missions. When I played the game, in average of 2-3 days. That's really quick.

The previous XCOM series and the new one, aren't exactly the same. Sure we can build our secret XCOM base and customize our soldiers and (kind of) our airships, but that's actually it. Thought its hard to come up with good new ideas, right?

Graphics, and animations. Perfect. Kill animations/cutscenes never, ever get boring. I mean, there's never enough of devastating squads of Xenos right? Especially with a (literally) badass "killcam". Grpahics are perfect. I was afraid that in making such a game, they'd make a candy-like graphic and textures, but no, the whole visual suite gives us an amazing experience and literally plants a seed of darkness in us.

Have I mentioned that you almost never can be safe? Each single time your soldier levels up, the missions get harder and harder. Because of the new enemies we meet. From 3hp standard Grey's, to a badass over 30hp mech that can easily annihilate our whole squad if he's not dealt quickly enough.

Sound is just fine, not as good as in some well known games, but it matches my needs. Though, the shotguns could use some new animations and sounds...

The only thing left to say is about the aircrafts and air battles. Yes, they don't only exist, but also have a huge influence on our xcom project. Skipped ufo partols can destroy our satelites, and every single destroyed ufo is an opportunity to gather some resources and inteligence about our enemy.

The game isn't and ultra hit on the market, but I feel its way better, than many releases during these days. It doesn't have many bugs, its fun and great to play, has a multiplayer mode and its very friendly for new fans, and extremely hard(core?) for the old fans. Though it lacks that "something" we've seen in previous XCOM releases, no idea what it is, but it literally lacks some magic in it. Its still worth its own price. Totally recommended for strategy fans, and a must-have for turn based gameplay style lovers!

85

The Turn-Based Strategy Game that one should play.

ADUAN | July 23, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

I liked to play turn-based strategy games, although having said that, I was a little skeptical of getting this, however I eventually picked it up, and I did not regret it.

Pros: The game is very challenging. While I am not a hardcore gamer, I do enjoy some challenge, and this game delivers it with enough style. The enemies that I encountered always keep me on my toes, and the risk of possibly losing a good soldier in the battlefield is always lingering at the back of my head.

The music by Micheal McCann (who also did music for Deus Ex: Human Revolution) fits the tone nicely, especially during alien encounters.

Gameplay is solid. I always try to varieties during different playthoughs of this game, trying to see whether a different strategy will work. Choosing what to upgrade in the GeoScape, be it weapons or armor, as well as trying to manage and optimise my output is also quite engaging. The turn-based combat is also quite fun, especially when one of your soldiers manages to land that shot that kills the threat.

Cons: The game still quite glitchy; sometimes aliens will just spawn directly in front of your soldiers, and sometime the game will not accept the mouse or keyboard input, although that seldom happened when I was playing.

In addition, the aliens can be quite a cheater, as they can sometimes land shots- and kill or injure your troops- in quick succession, while your own soldiers will keep missing, no matter how accurate the percantages claim to be.

Conclusion: Overall, I find XCOM to be fun, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to play a good turn-based strategy game.

80

very enjoyable

odren | July 22, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

X-com is a great game, it was let down at release by being quite buggy, but since then most of those bugs have been ironed out and now the game is pretty stable.one of the most enjoyable things i found about X-com was ironman mode, which means you only have one save file for a game and the game automatically saves after every turn so that every move you take is final and if someone on your team dies then that's it. it adds more tension and makes you as the player more cautious which i found made the game more enjoyable

88

Both fun and intense

ConorEngelb | July 20, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

XCOM: Enemy Unknown combines turn-based strategy with tactical shooting (and a little bit of base management) to create a game that manages to be primarily based on the best of each of these. To successfully survive a mission requires tactical thinking and the strategic management of soldiers' loadouts, as well as trying not to let your troops panic and kill each other in the middle of combat.

85

Really fun

gggmggg | July 12, 2013 | See all gggmggg's reviews »

My first time playing an XCOM game, and my first time playing a turn-based strategy game. Really had a lot of fun, the game is a fantastic experience.

Graphics are solid, sound and music really set the mood. Most important of all, the game as a whole is a truly memorable and fun experience that pulls you in.

Don't play classic mode unless you have some experience with the game/genre, since it is absolutely punishing on mistakes and randomness. Make sure to save regularly in and between missions too, if you want to make things easier on yourself.

Really recommended!

93

A prety good Turn Based Strategy

Dagizmo | July 11, 2013 | See all Dagizmo's reviews »

This game captures the essence of the old game, and adds it own to it, you will fight the aliens triying to survive and get resources, and hope you can do it will all your soilders intact, the pacing is good and the missions got more tense the more you advance, playin in Ironman Mode its the way to roll.

78

Fun and nostalgic

RicBac | July 11, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

This is a really fun and nostalgic game for those who play the original.

The graphics are nice with a couple of camera bugs in action replays. The only bad thing about the game is it gets a bit repetative and the surroundings look to much alike each other, especally the crashed ufo sites.

Other than that fun turn based strategy game for your alien killing needs.

80

Great game, but with some polish could have been fantastic.

ikarugan1984 | July 10, 2013 | See all ikarugan1984's reviews »

Whilst this game does away with several gameplay related aspects, Time Units and the like, the gameplay itself, although simpler, is by no means poor or inferior. It's got a combination of the original UFO:EU feel wedded to a "just one more turn" quality not usually seen outside of Civ games . It's the sort of game you start up in the morning, and next thing you know it's dark outside.

And a tuesday.

Of course, it's definitely not without faults. An array of bugs make me wonder just how thorough the beta phase was, the repeated instances of aliens shooting through impenetratable walls is such a common appearance that I can't help but feel that a proper playtesting period SURELY would have caught it. At one point I got locked into a mission I couldn't complete due to a bug not letting me evac, I lost my entire A squad. It was an Ironman game. These are bugs that reduce enjoyment.

Then there's the overly gamist design choices in a game that was meant to have a brutal sort of realism, such as a heavily stripped down selection of vehicles, as well as giving you a single backpack item slot. Apparently the soldiers of tommorow only have enough room for 1 grenade. Although I will concede that infinite amounts of ammo probably does take up a lot of space... because that doesn't completely invalidate a much beloved staple weapon of the original game does it Mr Laser Rifle?

Theres also the easily exploitable way in that alien groups wont activate until after you've spotted them, and the fact that this is bugged so that the camera will show them before they go active. Of course sometimes the bugs work against you and a squad of Sectoids spawns right in the middle of your team.

Alien Base assaults are compressed down to a single mission that's part of the campaign storyline, and assaults on X-Com HQ are gone completely, as is setting up new bases elsewhere on the globe.

Don't get me wrong, the old magic is still most definitely here. Getting into a tense close quarters firefight with a squad of Mutons in a side-alley, only for your Heavy to get bored and fire a missile downrange irrespective of collateral damage is EXACTLY the sort of thing the original was known for and is perfectly possible here. Your first encounter with the Cryssalids is still as utterly terrifying here as it was twenty years ago, and whilst the Snakemen are gone, in there place are the nightmarish (and occaisionally hilariously buggily animated) thin men which fills in the gaps as to how the Aliens are able to infiltrate nation states.

Theres a lot to love here, and above all else it IS an great game that pays a good solid homage to it's namesake. But I can't help but feel that this was kicked out of the door before it was really ready to go. It really needed a longer playtesting period, or possible a playtesting, period. Also hiding something like the customisation options behind a DLC paywall is despicable behavious from Firaxis, the game is a chore without the ability to colour code your various classes. Or give them all the classic guile cut hair from the original, and something so basic should be in by default from the start.

I feel I've been overly negative, ultimately, this game has lots of faults, but is got bigger successes that go a long way to overlook that. Essentially, it's a great game, but it could have been fantastic.

87

Brilliant if repetitive at times

Elethomiel | July 9, 2013 | See all Elethomiel's reviews »

This has to be the best turn based strategy released for years, it's consistent, mostly fair and beautifully executed. I would have liked more options for weapons as it gets bogged down in a huge amount of racing to better your weapons that you sacrifice some of the joys of tactical play. That's just focussing on the negative though. Enjoyed playing it, played it through thrice and loved it every time.

88

Best game of the year

lowchia | July 9, 2013 | See all lowchia's reviews »

X-com is extremely addictive which u can stay in front of the computer for numerous hours

90

Fresh RTS for new players, excelent game for Veteran

JackHayter | July 7, 2013 | See all JackHayter's reviews »

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is the sequel from all the games from the XCOM series, and introduces a new mechanic from the old games and cranks up the difficulty level. The game makes you think about the decision you take in order to have a world that can be safe for everyone and also to be able to defeat the aliens terrorizing Earth.

In-game is only 5 types of missions (Search and Destroy, Disarm Bomb, Rescue, Terrorist Attack and Defend) but since most levels are random and most feel fresh, game feels new everytime you play.

You will love this game, even if you don't know the story, you will like it.

9/10 because some bugs can take the inmersion of the game but overall a great game for everyone.

90

Awesome Tactical Strategy Game

Xflasher | July 6, 2013 | See all Xflasher's reviews »

Although it isn't as complicated as the old Xcom Games, it is really awesome and would highly recommend it if you like strategy games but you must be ready cause it's a REALLY HARD game.

88

The Best Strategy game of the last year!!

mrg | July 6, 2013 | See all mrg's reviews »

Xcom history was awesome and make you play more and more, but the scenarios where soo repetitive and the aliens where a bit bugged, also the multiplayer was good, but there isnt anybody to play whit!. But the customization and emocion make this game a good one .

88

An impressive Turn Based Strategy

DeathRowMax | July 6, 2013 | See all DeathRowMax's reviews »

XCOM, developed by Firaxis - a company that knows a lot about strategy games - is probably the best turn based strategy game from the past 5 years.

The strategy aspect is well set up and easy to grasp even if you are new to the genre. I also felt the need to bump my review up from 80 just for the fact that there is controller support - something that never seemed achievable in strategy games. It's great to use the Xbox remote from the sofa rather than fiddle around with a keyboard.

What's more, it is very good at achieving an exciting, cinematic feel. The opening sequence is a clear reference to War of the Worlds and I feel it almost outdoes Spielberg's blockbuster. Quick cut scenes as aliens are discovered or shot also create this feel, despite being a little buggy (just like almost every video game, scenery often obstructs your view).

There may be a few frustrations for perfectionists as much of the game consists in choosing who you want to save at the risk of losing others. But this creates an appropriately tense atmosphere.

You will not regret buying this game, even if TBS is completely new to you - even if you get tired of the single-player game there is an online 1vs1 to keep you challenged.

98

Utterly fantastic achievement in strategy games.

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

I was never interested in strategy games, especially hex and grid based but XCOM stands out superbly with its simplified mechanics and genuinely attractive UI. Only flaw is the occasion frustrasion with the randomness.

95

XCOM - one of theb est TBS game for such a long time

xfahmix | July 3, 2013 | See all xfahmix's reviews »

Have been playing XCOM franchise long time ago. Although Firaxis has simplified a lot mechanics of the games, they managed to make the games more fluid and interactive. I've enjoyed thoroughly the whole experience and was hoping that Firaxis will re-do the whole franchise including terror from the deep and XCOM apocalypse!

90

best strategy game of the year

waynehwc | July 2, 2013 | See all waynehwc's reviews »

nothing eles can be said best strategy game released this year only thing lacking is the multiplayer system there only 1v1 online, single player lacks intresting story but the gameplay is the best and has lots of value in replaying

87

A triumphant return of Turn-Based Strategy

Forceflow | June 28, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

I wasn't familiar with the original, but I found XCOM to be an absolute gem. It has a really addictive "just one more turn" quality to it, and the missions are nicely structured and paced to build up to the finale.

There's pretty much endless replayability here, since enemies always spawn in different places, the squad you get will depend on some random factors (who gets to be a sniper, support, ...) and the order in which you research stuff also heavily impacts the game.

It runs very smooth on the U3 engine, nothing too fancy there - cinematics are pre-rendered. The action shots (when you shoot an alien/ are under fire) are pretty well staged though, and add to the action-y feel of the game.

The overall B-movie aesthetic is also very much present, and a welcome addition to the all-too-serious mainstream games of nowadays.

Recommended, even if you're not a big Turn-Based-Strategy buff. I'm not, and I thoroughly enjoyed this.