Reviews for Commandos 3: Destination Berlin

80

The last good Commandos title

Gmen | May 8, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

The graphics are pretty much the same as Commandos 2, so nothing revolutionary in terms of looks. In fact, because of the locked resolution, it may even be worse.

Some of the voice actors for the commandos themselves seem to have changed, which may or may not be disappointing to some out there, and a lot of the sounds effects are just recycled from previous Commandos titles, which I feel is a tad lazy.

Commandos 3 is different from previous Commandos games in the way that missions aren’t as large, and the focus is not on squads of several men like in previous games. Most missions will have 1, 2, or 3 operatives at most, and they all have the ability to use most of the weapons and grenades. Couple this with the fact that missions are more difficult than previous games on the whole due mostly to the fact that a lot of them have time restrictions. So you have a game that will only really appeal to core fans of the series, and even then it really borders on alienating said fans. The time limits force a fast-paced, more action-orientated play style, and don’t allow for careful timing and plotting strategies like the prequels do.

Overall, this game feels like an expansion for Commandos 2 rather than a proper sequel. However, Commandos 3 is still a somewhat decent game, and should provide enough of a challenge for most.

70

Last hurrah

Jason_Xmen | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all Jason_Xmen's reviews »

Commandos 3 is not exactly the last of Commandos series but it is the last great one IMO. It is epic and complex, just like fans of series would like. sadly, it is not as big of a leap as C2. That game was a really huge step for the series. Thankfully, the great semi2d visuals and classic gameplay are mostly there (where is pilot!?!!!).

It is somehow harder though. Because of that, this is recommended only for fans of previous games or something similar like Desperados.

79

This is "Toy soldiers" done right

AkiMatti | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

You ever play with those little plastic toy soldiers as a kid, fighting with them in your room? This game is a lot like that, but instead of controlling an army, you'll be controlling only a few men who will have to survive and successfully complete dangerous missions while being overpowered in all fronts.

There are different kind of characters you can use and they have different skills and different items. The core of the gameplay comes from utilizing those talents and items in the right way to achieve your goal.

The game can be very challenging, especially if you are new to the game (series). It shouldn't take too long to get a grasp of things, though, and this game is hardly the most unforgiving of the series.

If you enjoy sneaking and infiltrating behind enemy lines, this is your game. Look also into other games of the series, they are great as well, although they are much harder.

70

Solid game in the series

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

I'm a huge fan of the commandos series since the first title and the series is quite a strong one. Though, Commandos 3 lacks a bit in its control design and it could have been a bit more daring in its approach. It's more of the same for the series, which isn't a bad thing. But there could be a bit more new stuff in the game.

56

It's a Commandos game, however....

jpbuntinx | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all jpbuntinx's reviews »

Commandos games are known for having very select missions with very select objectives which have to be completed in a certain way. This game takes out everything past the "select missions" but and makes it more accessible to more players, which is not always a good thing. It's still Commandos, but far too easy compared to the other games. If you're new to the franchise, this may be a good place to start.

75

The repercussions of making a game for everyone

abelfs | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

The missions of the previous Commandos were long and difficult, not for everyone. Pyro Studios took note and made a game more accessible in order to be more commercial, but betraying all the fans that have gained since Behind the Enemy Lines". The result is a good strategy game, but without the satisfaction when you complete the missions...

77

Commandos 3 review

carlyle | Nov. 28, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Commandos 3 characters in the game are not specialized as in previous episodes: for example, the Green Beret can now use almost all firearms as well as the pistol: this makes the missions less linear, since it takes less time required the use of a character in certain situations. In addition, each character has its own inventory, where they can be collected objects taken from enemy corpses. The character of the Pilot has been eliminated, and some of its features were incorporated in the Engineer, the Thief now has a lethal weapon standard that was missing before (the piano wire).

70

Old but gold!

Raoin | Sept. 4, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

I know Commandos is kinda old, but to be honest, I played it for the first time months ago. It's not my type of game, but I found it really interesting. Basically, you have a team, which each member has unique skills, and you have to act strategically to complete missions. I think the game mechanics is satisfatory and justified on its release date.

80

A good RTS

Zinzun | Sept. 4, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Like the others Commandos title,this game is really good.Every men of your squad has specific skill and ability to use,so you must choose well each men to complete a mission.The graphic is "Diablo style",but the game it's worth it,now it's only 2 euro.

69

Similar to Commandos 2 but easier and shorter

panz3r88 | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Commandos 3 Destination Berlin is very similar to its predecessor and looks like an add on of Commandos 2. The game is an original RTS where you must command a few specialized men. Each commando has an inventory and unique abilities you must use in the best way to achieve your objectives. If you have already played the previous title of the Commandos series, you will find the singleplayer campaign very easy: the mission are shorter and not so complex like the one of the predecessor and you can complete all of them in more or less 6-7 hours. Compared to the other title of the series, Destination Berlin is worse then the previous titles, but it can be a good title for who wants to try for the first time the unique gameplay of the Commandos series

49

What happened?

Cooberstooge | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This game is so vastly different and inferior to previous entries in the series, one would easily be forgiven for thinking the devs got run over by a tank during the development process, squishing out all the Commandos goodness into the mud.

This is a decent RTS, but knowing what came before it makes it all feel so mediocre. Not to mention the bugs - ye gods, my game crashes every 20 to 30 minutes for no reason.

Sound and graphics seem to have taken a step backwards as well, with everything looking like it's getting shown on an incorrect aspect ratio, and guns sounding like pea shooters.

Really not impressed with this one, and I unfortunately must recommend that you avoid it. There's plenty out there better than this.

90

Awesome Game

tichimu616 | July 17, 2012 | See all tichimu616's reviews »

Long time before i had so much fun with a game. I recommend the whole Commandos Saga

25

Tests your undying patience, alright!

ebencomo | July 15, 2012 | See all ebencomo's reviews »

I'm new to this game and never played the first two Commandos. I find the graphics primitive and too large to see much around you. "You can zoom in/out with the +/- keys" it says but very little. The controls are not intuitive and there are a lot of keys to remember that are needed to control you crew. If I had not gotten this game for free, I would be pissed.

73

Losing its essence

heatley | July 14, 2012 | See all heatley's reviews »

When you hear the word Commandos, what you think first is strategy, a game that requires patience, deep study of guard movements, ways to infiltrate and, of course, stealth. In the first games of the series you could spend hours to finish a level, you had to find your way in to the most difficult situations using the special actions of each character, so a lot of preplanning was required. The first installments were strategy-oriented, the potential players could be people who disliked traditional strategy, either real-time or turn based, and that was the most relevant aspect of the series; without that, it is not Commandos anymore.

In Commandos 3, most of these elements are still in there but are less important. If the last Commandos is considered (the FPS one) the path followed by the series is from strategy to action. So Commandos 3 is a more action packed game with very nice graphics that is more suitable for people who do not want to spend too much time analyzing the scenario, how to proceed with your crew, and such. The possibility to enter inside buildings that was added before also makes things more direct: you can go fast, engage in close combat without being outnumbered. So this addition in conjunction with smaller levels reduces the stealth component of the game. You will find yourself many times waiting around the corners for the guards just to smack them and keep going forward.

Of course it is not a bad game, it is still enjoyable, has good audio effects and graphics. You will not be disappointed. However, if you have not played Commandos, in my opinion it can be better to start playing this one and then go back to the first two expecting an increase in difficulty and tactical approach. The other way around will make you feel that this game lacks of the original essence that made the series stand out between the game catalogue back then.

65

Not bad for a strategy game

Progaine | July 14, 2012 | See all Progaine's reviews »

Seems like a decent game for people who are fond of the strategy genre but, for me, it's not my cup of tea. I felt that gameplay is quite smooth and fun at times but was boring for the most part. I'd say if you like WWII games and strategy games, you should give this one a try.

70

Worth playing for Fans and Newbies

dantepicasso | July 9, 2012 | See all dantepicasso's reviews »

I have always loved the Commando Series. This addition might not be liked by some because of the smaller, faster style of play. However it still gives you a fun experience. It is also good for people who never played a game in the series. Sometimes I game need that level of pick up and play to encourage gamers to appreciate the other series titles more. I enjoyed it a lot.

66

Fun but reduced

Maniacal | July 7, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Commandos 3 sadly reduced the sizes of the parties, maps and generally made the gameplay more action-oriented instead of strategy oriented. There is also less emphasis on stealth :( It is really sad to see developers "dumb down" (although it isn't too bad in this case) their games to appeal to people afraid of a real challenge.

Thankfully the game is still fun and some of the interface changes are good. The over-arching campaign is also rather enjoyable.

72

Commandos 3: Destination Berlin - Review

SirGray | June 22, 2012 | See all SirGray's reviews »

Commandos 3: Destination Berlin is, as its name implies, the third of the Commandos games. All three have had the same basic premise, that you control a small group of specially trained soldiers (the commandos) and use them to infiltrate Nazi bases and generally make life difficult for the World War II bad guys. But with two games, not to mention an expansion pack, preceding it, was there anywhere for Commandos 3 to go? Could it possibly be more impressive than Commandos 2? The answer is no, and I don’t think developer Pyro Studios even really tried.

It’s not that Commandos 3 is such a bad game; it’s just that after two years in development, it feels a little too much like a Commandos 2 expansion pack. Comparing the minimum system requirements, something must have changed in the game’s engine, because the requirements took a significant jump up, but just from playing the game, it looks about the same. There are some nice new effects, like newspapers fluttering in the breeze, and the cut scenes look much better, but the mission graphics look like they were lifted directly from Commandos 2.

So what’s different about Commandos 3 then? Mainly, the interface. When I first started playing the game, I thought Pyro Studios simply made some cosmetic changes, so people would be able to tell they were playing Commandos 3 rather than Commandos 2. But then I went back and played some more Commandos 2 to refresh my memory, and I realized Pyro Studios did a lot of good things with the interface, along with a couple bizarrely bad things.

For example, Commandos 3 now has subtitles (note to developers: every game should have subtitles); the tool tip system is friendlier, so you don’t have to use binoculars to identify enemy soldiers, and you no longer have to shift-click on doors to open them. Just clicking on them does the trick now. All that’s nice, but then Pyro Studios took out almost every hotkey in the game, making it much more cumbersome to control, and that one change alone negated every small improvement they made. Plus, they took out the difficulty setting, so if the game is too easy or too difficult, there isn’t anything you can do about it (it was too easy for me, but I’ve heard others complain it was too difficult); they removed the ranking system, so you can’t see how well you performed in each mission; and they took out the detailed objectives, which used to include checkmarks to show you what you had completed so far, and to bring up a map to show you where to go. But now the objectives simply show a (sometimes vague) sentence or two, and it’s annoying when the game assumes you know where a traitor is going (for example), when you don’t. I can see where a developer might neglect to put certain fancy things in a game, but why take them out?

Also a little curious about Commandos 3 is the new set of campaigns. The missions take place on much smaller maps, and they’re less creative than they were before. You won’t find yourself drugging somebody’s food to get a key this time, and forget about puzzle pieces. In fact, most missions are simple cases of “kill all the enemies,” and while stealth is important in a couple, Commandos 3 is much more action oriented this time than it ever was before. However, on the good side, I sort of liked the idea of campaigns rather than a series of unrelated missions. It was fun to play linked missions chasing down stolen French art and single-handedly conducting the invasion of Normandy. I just wish the campaigns had been a little longer, or that there had been more of them. Because of the small size of the maps, you might run through the game’s 14 missions (including two tutorial missions) in less than 20 hours.

If you’re a fan of the genre, then you’re probably going to buy Commandos 3 regardless of what I say here (assuming you haven’t bought it already). But if you’re new to the genre, this isn’t the game I’d suggest you start with. Commandos 2 is better (and cheaper at this point), and either of the games from Spellbound Studios (Desperados: Wanted Dead or Alive or Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood) are probably more accessible. In fact, given the sort of workmanlike effort in Commandos 3, Pyro Studios might want to emulate Spellbound Studios and try a different theme with their next game. I think they’ve done about all they can with World War II anyway.

Ratings: (30/40) Gameplay (15/15) Graphics (12/15) Sound (05/10) Interface (08/10) Campaign (04/05) Technical (04/05) Documentation

80

Smaller, Shorter, Much less Badass!!!

faraany3k | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

While Commandos 1 and 2 focused primarily on stealth and tactics, Commandos 3 shifted its focus on more faster action oriented gameplay. Although this is by no means a broken approach. Its just not true to the old mechanics, series veterans have come to love about. Still action here is stronger and bigger then ever. You have a smaller squad to control and maps are noticeably smaller compared to older games in the series, this game is still good enough for anyone to try it out. But i must suggest you to play earlier Commandos first if you are a new player, to really appreciate a revolutionary gaming series on PC.

95

The best Commandos sequel!

newn | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This was the first Commands I've played. I also loved Commandos 2, but not as much as this one. This part of Commandos trilogy (I'm saying trilogy, because I count Strike Force as a different game due the the first person view) has got great sounds and EXTREMELY INCREDIBLE explosions! I just loved the explosions in this game. As a comparison to the older parts, it's got plenty of tactical planning need, I don't know why others some people are saying differently... It's got a lot of features, all the cool characters. On the other hand the maps are a bit smaller. Well, some of them.

I definitely recommend getting this game both for Commandos fans and new players, especially if you love good explosions. You will have great few hours in this game, it's definitely worth the price!

65

Less Strategy, More Action

IganX | July 21, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

Commandos 3 was a bit of a let down for a Commandos fan like me, for it leaves to the side the pure tactical concept previous games had, to concentrate in developing a faster-paced game with more action and killing, rather than sneaking. The squad size has been reduced, we see less characters than in Commandos 2, but some improvements have been made to skills. Besides the main drawbacks, it is still an enjoyable game which will entertain you for many hours, with some decent graphics, gameplay and storyline.

60

Sneaking with explosions?

fearon | April 8, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

Commandos 3 is different than past games. Party is smaller, maps are smaller and game is faster. You also wouldn't find any secret missions. What is Commandos 3? It's a combination of action and sneaking. Now you must think fast and run your party throught explosions in the first line. Is this a better concept? I don't think so, but still it is a quite good game.