Reviews for FINAL FANTASY VII

100

Legitimately one of the best RPGs of all time.

Pokeheart65 | April 14, 2014 | See all Pokeheart65's reviews »

The fact that that a game from '97 is still talked about, reviewed, and critically acclaimed as much as this, you already know it's a good game. But it's not just that. It's not just great. It's not just amazing, it's perfect. FF7 will stand the test of time for years to come, and I want to make sure when I grow up, my kids will play this masterful experience.

75

Strife

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | See all damodarko's reviews »

Final Fantasy 7 is my all time favourite game. As many will agree it was a childhood foundation to my love of RPG's and gaming. This is a game that has saved "Square" from hard times and really pushed the bar in terms of games content. It is fantastic and I could not rate it high enough, it's a must play and that's the end of it. If you haven't you are in for a treat, don't argue, just buy it.

HOWEVER, this re-released version to make it playable and readily available for todays market, is not perfect. A few things have not traveled very well and the biggest mistake has to be the music. This game has a beautiful score, but sadly this port has failed to them justice. I hope modders have fixed the bugs along the way, I however have defaulted to my old copy on the ps1. For those of you unlucky enough to have missed that boat, I still implore you to buy this game. With all it's little bugs, it's not a deal breaker, it's just a little pity.

TL;DR: This is one of the greatest games ever. Even if the port has a few minor issues, if you don't have this and especially if you have never played this, buy it and do so asap. FF7 is a right of passage to every RPG fan. I have only lowered my rating for square enix's poor handling of this port.

97

One of the best

Pr0SparUs | April 8, 2014 | See all Pr0SparUs's reviews »

FFVII, back in it's day, was regarded as one of the greatest RPG's ever made. Guess what, here we are is 2014 and that sentiment still holds true. This game is an absolute masterpiece, with every bit remained intact for it's re-release on PC. While the graphics are the same as they were when initially released, everything you've come to love (or will end up loving) is still very much alive in this game. The story? Fantastic. The music? Untouchable!

This truly is an absolutely marvelous game and everyone out there who considers themselves a fan of RPG's will surely have their hands and hearts full with this one!

93

My Childhood

CHC123 | Feb. 1, 2014 | See all CHC123's reviews »

FFVII is such an awesome game! Totally reliving my childhood. I must say, the updated graphics are amazing. Despite how old this game is, I would still play this over some of what passes for an RPG these days. The controls take some getting used to, but once you get past that the game is just like us old school gamers remember. In fact the controls are a lot smoother than the PSX controller. It’s totally going to suck, watching Aeris get stabbed in higher quality graphics, though I can't wait to see what Knights of the Round is going to look like.

92

One of my all time favorite games!!!

robinvanvooren1 | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all robinvanvooren1's reviews »

I first played this, when it came out. I love all the memories it brings. The game was well thought out. The storyline and quests intermesh well. The game grew more difficult as you progressed. The combat is turn inventive and fun. The graphics work well and so does the audio. I found no glitches or bugs in it. It has great replayablity! There is a vast number of things to discover and enjoy in this game. If you want hours of fun . This is a must have!!!

93

Unlike Non-other

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This has got to be the most classic and probably the best JRPG ever made in gaming history. The storyline and characters are the elements that draws you into the game. The boss battles are hard too, and if you die during a boss battle, you sometimes have to start from the last save point, which is like far from where the boss battle actually takes place. It's a good challenge though.

I would get it again, but I don't feel playing it on my PC that much. That's because I still have it on my PS1!!! Gotta play a classic game with a classic system. I only have two games on the PS1; Final Fantasy and Legend of Dragoon. If you guys don't know what Legend of Dragoon is, should definitely check it out because it's almost on par with FF VII.

99

Amazing game

Brotality | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all Brotality's reviews »

Quite possibly one of my favorite games. The story is incredible, not to mention quite lengthy. Despite how long it is, you never get bored with it. The controls on PC are wonderful, the bugs are mainly gone, and it looks amazing. Definitely a must play game, if you haven't already.

90

The best game ever?

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Thats the opinion of many gamers around the world.The game is a port from PSX,from 1997.Yes the graphics are outdated,but in a RPG game with that good story and pretty dynamic,even though turn based combat,graphics dont matter.Its a legendary game,that started something new in JRPG genre and I think every gamer should at least try it.So is it the best game ever?Not for me,but its pretty close.Oh and the game is long something like 120 hours is needed to finish it.

86

A JRPG to remember

cordin | Jan. 11, 2014 | See all cordin's reviews »

Final Fantasy VII though old in time, is still able to hold up to new game standards, the story is great and the amount of fun that can entail is outrageous, The character development is great in this game, in short this game was a gem when it came out and still is today.

95

Probably the best JRPG ever made

Sharptap | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I still remember the first time i played FFVII . It totally changed my definition of JRPG. When it was re-released on PC I bought it instantly. No regrets. Its still the same I remember playing except better. A lot of bugs are fixed,the visual look cleaner and the gameplay is still the same. I couldn't ask more! (except a complete remake with new graphics) The story is good and the game will keep you occupied for about 39 hours , or even more if you explore the various locations. You should buy the game immediately.

95

Best Game Ever

scanner786 | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all scanner786's reviews »

This is a great game, very fun and enjoyable for hours of gaming, some players may even find this game to be very addictive, so you will need huge gaming hours to dedicate to this game to progress through the story.

The story line is also very good but the RPG style of the game where you can upgrade weapons and skills and add many different styles of combat to suit you.

I highly recommend this game. 9/10

87

My 4th time buying it

doubttom | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all doubttom's reviews »

And I still love it. Game is pretty accessible and the story is good albeit a little disjointed. The pacing is broken up with mini games you can later replay at the casino /arcade. Don't forget to keep leveling and swapping out materia. Also get to the front of that train.

90

The Game that Changed the JRPG....

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all faerie241's reviews »

It is difficult to play any modern JRPG without drawing comparisons with Final Fantasy VII. Its turn-based battle system may seem slightly outdated at first, but after playing for a few hours, the amazing depth and nuance will start to show. Yes, it looks a bit archaic graphically, but once it is taken into account when it was first made, its actually quite impressive. The story is truly amazing and is better than most modern JRPG's. Bottom line: If you don't already own this game, but it now. It's amazing.

90

One of the best jRPGs

5474IV | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all 5474IV's reviews »

This game is for people who are looking for great story and challenging gameplay. Many people claims that this is the best game from Final Fantasy series. It's hard to complain with this statement. Plot is very interesting and changes a lot, fights are challenging but if you would like to enjoy the story and you don't want to spend some time in developing your team, then there are some optional features that will help you. Graphic is of course archaic, but looks a bit better than it's original version. This is must-have for all Final Fantasy fans, but also for people who love good story and vivid characters.

95

Everything an RPG Should be

harpiegirl | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all harpiegirl's reviews »

As a kid, I played FFVII with my mother on the Playstation. It was a great experience and it stuck with me. Since then I have played the PSX version myself.

Now, I picked up this game for PC and it is even better. The game is visually much more clear, there is no lag, it retains the W-item(duping) glitch for those interested yet also removes other minor bugs. The addition of achievements is very fun and some are very challenging. The game also now features cloud saving(you can also save locally) and a game booster which gives you in-game items and materia.

Technicalities aside, the game itself is wonderful. It has a fantastic story that will keep you interested, and only gets better. There are many sidequests to entertain yourself with, super bosses and there are also different outcomes to certain scenes. Overall, to see every outcome for the influenceable scenes, you'd need about 3 playthroughs. The character customization is great, and something I really like. There are endless possibilities to each character's skills, or if you really wanted, you could make them all similar. The game usually takes 35+ hours to finish without stopping to grind.

I recommend doing a first playthrough with one as character doing melee, a mage and a healer and just enjoying the game once. Afterwards, go through another playthrough and get all the achievements and secrets.

100

One of the greatest games and RPGs of all time, for 12 bucks

xAFBx | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

Really if you don't know anything about FF7 at this point I'd be shocked. But I'll go into it a little. It's amazing. Tons of areas to explore, tons of optional missions and bosses that give you weapons for the final boss fight, an amazing story with really unexpected twists, romance/dating aspect, tons of minigames in a huge full blown casino-type place, really interesting characters and dialog, amazing music, amazing atmosphere, and for the time amazing visuals. You really can't go wrong with FF7. My only gripe is that this version is the one that syncs to Square's servers and it gets annoying when 80% of the time it can't connect and you have to wait for it to sync, which lasts maybe 45-60 seconds, then it says it can't so it was all useless. But it doesn't matter as long as you have your saves locally.

100

Possibly the greatest game of all time!

ThomasG101 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all ThomasG101's reviews »

I first had this game on PS1 as a child and absolutely loved it. Since then I've picked it up every 3-4 years or so and played through it again. Each time I play it I love it just as much as the last. Having this game on steam makes it so easy to just pick up and play whenever I want to.

This is basically the standard PS1 game with slightly improved graphics and HD text. The music has been changed slightly as well but is not something that has changed the game in any noticeable way in my opinion. I can't stress enough how good this game is but then again that's because I played it first on PS1.

If you are a gamer that has never played this game before try it. You may not get into it as the graphics may put you off, but hopefully you'll enough it the way I have. But if you're like me and played it back on PS1 and are wondering whether to buy it again to play on your PC then definitely get it. The memories it brings back are worth £10 anyday!

92

A measuring stick for all turn-based RPGs

Helkaweth | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all Helkaweth's reviews »

Besides Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy VI, no game has ever made me love the turn-based battle style RPG like Final Fantasy VII. As far as graphics and sound, for it's time, was possibly some of the best I've ever witnessed. Even today, it's amazing to look at the polygons that make up each character.

The story is enthralling and massive. Like any RPG, you can choose to do some parts of the story or not. However, the overall theme is amazing and makes for a great tale.

Honestly, for the price it's usually at for download, it's a great buy. If you're hesitant, don't be, it's worth the money, but prepare to put in the time.

91

Couldn't put it down

stader | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all stader's reviews »

Everyone enjoys a good classic and this truly delivers. Not that much of a graphical improvement from the original but it's great to have on PC. Also as much as i love the characters it's always a blast to rename them to ridiculous things. I tried using my xbox controller to play which worked out pretty well but you can't really remap the buttons and there aren't any hints as to the controls while you're playing. Sometimes i had to restart parts because i simply didn't know what button to press. If you're playing with the keyboard the game is great about giving the necessary keys. Otherwise it's trial and error until you remember which one is which.

95

Throwback city

ejim941099 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all ejim941099's reviews »

I expected the graphics or a slight overhaul (perhaps the cinematics) would be upgraded but everything that I love about the game is here. A must for those who have never played this game. People, this got me hooked on the RPG scene. Worth buying for the cost. 99+ hours spent for me and guaranteed. The keyboard controls are clunky and need to get used to. Other than that, enjoy.

87

Nostalgia'd

Nigee | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Nigee's reviews »

FF7 was perhaps the game that brought the Final Fantasy series into the light in the West. At the time this game had just about everything, and to near perfection. Rock Solid RPG gameplay, an amazing story with amazing characters, and it all took place on a large explorable world, which for the time was quite rare. It even boasted tons of secrets, like not so secret bonus characters ( each with their own story and personality), bonus bosses and materia(this games magic) to find. If you have never played FF7, or if you are fixin to feed that nostalgic hunger, days will quickly pass by, and I am sure that you will notice that there is alot more to the game and story than you may have originally realized the first time you played through. The graphics may be the only thing that set you back, as they are quite dated, but don't let the nub hands hold you back.

100

A dream you don't want to end when you wake up

rockman_uli | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all rockman_uli's reviews »

Its 1997, a very sunny day and you're running back home, you hear the ice cream truck but even if your tong screams for a Popsicle your heart pumps you to get back home with the game you just bought with your savings, as you arrive home your mom offers you a glass of lemonade, you kindly wave your hand saying Hi and not now crawling to the console near the tv in the living room and popping the disc in, and all of the sudden as the game plays the intro on the tv you knew this memory will be carved in your brain for the rest of your life, seconds later your wife ask if you're OK while telling you shes taking the kids out to see grandma, yes, you are full-grown up but you still have the feel of that sunny Sunday when you first get final fantasy vii and your life changed forever, go play this game I'm not going to spoil the plot because you already played till the disc wearied out, and if you're new, embrace the first time you push the start button cause you will remember it the rest of your life, at least that's what happened to me.

99

The Best Game Ever...

legmaco | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all legmaco's reviews »

This game was a pioneer in many ways, but the first time I followed these legendary characters through their hardship I was forever changed. This game is responsible for my RPG love and the reason I now have learned the japanese language. The combat system is the beloved ATB system and the best thing is the great materia system, a system that let's you improve your spells/skills as you use them (or have them equipped). Also there are many hidden secrets and story bits that can be found around the world map. If you are going for the achievements then expect to spend hundreds of hours in this fantastic game (^_^)

93

Playstation Pioneer

nico7 | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all nico7's reviews »

FF7 is phenomenal. In my opinion, the greatest of all FF games to date. More time, energy, and creative genius went more into the seventh installment of the Final Fantasy series than any before or after it. There's my introduction...

Graphics - For the time, very good. 3D polygons on top of beatiful pre-rendered backgrounds was very nice for the time. Battle scenes were the best. Hooves and blocks turned into hands and facial features when you fight enemies. It made the fights something to look forward to. Cut scenes were impressive and definitely top of the line for when it came out. All the magics and summons were unique and nice to look at.

Gameplay - The materia system should be brought back. None of the systems developed since FF7 have been as good. Leveling up materia was more important than leveling up your character. Each weapon had different number of "slots". Each slot could hold one materia. Those materia would level up according to however much AP you were earn through battles. Some weapons would chain the slots so that if you put an "All" materia with "Fire" materia, you would end up casting fire on all your enemies. Combinations were interesting. Chocobo raising was also fun and worth the investment. Without doing so, you would lose out on special items, summons, and weapons.

Story - The shining accomplishment. Character development was obviously important in this game. You learned to care about the people in your party. Some more than others. The deep relation between Cloud and Sephiroth has to this day carried into the mythos of the RPG and anime universe. That should tell you something.

I would highly recommend this game. If not for the game itself, then just to say you've taken part in a special point in RPG history.

80

A classic game, perfect for nostalgic but still nice to discover

SayEstLow | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all SayEstLow's reviews »

Since my old Playstation 1 can't run anymore my game discs and the fact that the first PC edition of the game can't run on modern PC, I couldn't ignore this new release.

The game is still great nowadays. You'll have numerous hours of playing. The gameplay is deep; thanks to the "Materia System" which allow you to heavily customize character's abilities). The story and its universe are breath taking.

However, if the game can't get a perfect note, it's totaly because of the range of the remake. You'll have the full experience of the original game, but they did as little work as possible : - no improvement for the models - they put midi generated musics instead of the original, not compressed ones - they didn't even enhance the cinematics - they just had a "in the cloud" saves which don't work (but you can still keep them local)

But the game is still a classic, a must-have if you never played it.

100

A childhood favorite now on PC

kollar | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all kollar's reviews »

This game has always been on the top of my favorites list. The story is like no other. The game play and skill system(materia) is so fun and easy to use. I suggest anyone who likes a great RPG to buy this title.

88

Great Game

waddlesticks | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all waddlesticks's reviews »

Probably one of the best old school RPG's I've ever played. Get it whilst you can!

90

One of the bes FF game

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

When i firstly saw the FF IX at my cousins, i had a feeling: "this game is damn good". Unfortunatelly, i haven't got a PS One, but they had the FF VII on PC, so i borrowed it from them. This game was my first JRPG experience, and i enjoyed every minutes. The sightly combat system and attacks were very awsome. The graphics were not the best, but the game has a style, and that style was verry impressive.

The best FF games are the PS One episodes in my opinion, these are the FF VII, VIII and IX. The other games not let any impress in me. So, don't wait, buy it, you get an excellent JRPG.

88

Brilliant to have a digital copy!

stellarcommando | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all stellarcommando's reviews »

I first played this game in high school, while I was supposed to be doing homework. Then again, in high school, is there really any other time? Anyways, I was pulled in by the draw of the story as well as by the atmospherics. That first trip up Shinra Headquarters...the feeling when you reach the top floors is just priceless.

A game for the ages.

96

Truly, a classic - finally on PC

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

This is one of the games that started it all for me. The gameplay style and story style have made it a legend among gamers. From the good days of Square JRPGs, this game is basically the format for a great JRPG. It has an unforgettable story, great mini-games, and dozens of hours of gameplay for anyone who takes it on. Now that it is on PC, of course, there is mods. Mods offer up a renewed experience and/or fresher graphics. Something only possible that its now on PC.

90

Finally a working PC-Version! One of my childhood memories

MalcolmR | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all MalcolmR's reviews »

In 1998, i got my first PlayStation and with it I bought FF VII. It was my very first 3D-RPG and sucked me in like nothing before. I was only ten years old, so I basically didn't catch all of the complicated story arcs in the game. Because of that, I chose to re-play the game on PC - which was a little discouraging because until 2012, no proper PC version for Windows XP or higher was available.

But now, I can finally relive my childhood memories. The conversion into widescreen format is a little uncomfortable in my opinion, but that's all: The game itself is a legend. And finally I can understand everything (the german PS1 which I have played as a child was a pain in the ass in matters of translating). So, I am very pleased with this re-release. This is THE game of the late 1990's!

85

A classic.

crankafoo | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

This isn't the best RPG ever made, nor does it hold up very well. But it is exceptional and definitely a game any RPG fan should play at least once. This paved the way for 3D RPG's we have today and should always be remembered by gamers for it's great story and solid gameplay. It's lengthy and keeps your attention for the duration with a compelling story and characters. Sit back and enjoy, this one's a classic.

92

Not necessarily "genre" changing, but still in its own class

superhoboman | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all superhoboman's reviews »

The Final Fantasy series is notorious, probably one of the most widely known RPGs ever. This game was their first transition to something different, "3D" I guess you could call it. Going from FFVI to FFVII, this game is a HUGE jump visually for the time, and even though it's dated today, that doesn't take away from the experience. The mechanics from running, to materia usage, to huge boss battles were quite groundbreaking.

Very highly recommended if you're into RPGs at all.

100

The one that started it all...

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all PeppaJ6's reviews »

For me, this was the one Final Fantasy title that started an incredible series. As a birthday gift of my brother's, he had been the first one to play the title, and got stuck at the very first scorpion boss at the end of Cloud's first job with AVALANCHE.

I took it upon myself to try and beat this boss myself [Spoiler]He's a robot! Use lightning![Spoiler], and the amazing experience this game and the series it belongs to opened up for both of us. This was definitely one that left its mark on both of us, and as an introductory title to the series, it's unbeatable.

Even today with its antiquated graphics, (which were absolutely awesome back then!) the classic gameplay, character development, and storytelling is what makes it worth the buy more than anything, as is with most Final Fantasy titles. Being optimized for PC makes this one all the better!

If there was one console game I could suggest to anyone, it would be this one (or Final Fantasy Tactics - if you haven't tried that one, do so!) Do not hesitate to buy!

84

A Classic Brought Back To Life!

Plasros | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game got recently released (again) for the pc and while I didn't actually buy it again for this platform (I stick with the original Ps1 copy, thank you), this game still holds up as one of the most memorable JRPG of all time. But not the best, and don't take me wrong if I say that even I once thought so, when I was a kid, because it was one of the first RPGs I ever played, thus it was pretty much everyone's favourite for the same reason. But let's start from good things: it's still a very solid RPG and has both a good story and a good combat system; the story is very deep and has great twists now and then and while the graphics aren't great, the game itself is good. The combat is good as well, with turn-based system combat at its finest (nowadays everyone's hates it though), and with a lot of customization thanks to the Materia system (in short, every character can do any role, as long as the right materias are set). Add up the fact that the game is HUGE, has a lot of secrets, Chocobo farming, many secondary stuff to do and also secret characters (since you can also skip them if you don't know how to do them), this game is definitely a solid game as it is.

90

Lovely!

AznChronos | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all AznChronos's reviews »

I have played the entire Final Fantasy series since it's first ever release and I must say that it is quite the shiner when I found out that the PC is getting an HD revision being released. Though the idea of having to play it just to gain achievements is absurb, but I guess that's something new to add

100

The game that changed a genre

Infantaria | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Infantaria's reviews »

First of all, this was the second Final Fantasy I played, the first being VIII, and I never had heard about this game before. One day, I found it in a store and thought "I loved VIII, VII should be good too".

I was almost right. VII is perfect.

The story is top notch, the characters are memorable. Sephiroth, Cloud, Tifa, Vincent, etc, are still talked about today.

I was a teenager then, and I still remember spending many nights just loading my savegame, selling all my stuff and just spend hours having fun on the in-game amusement park, just playing the crap out of those minigames. To this day, I haven't seen nothing like it.

All in all, a must have, must play, must experience RPG, for any RPG fan or gamer in general.

90

Great Game. A must play if you haven't previously!

zachprkr | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all zachprkr's reviews »

I first played this game when it was on the Playstation and was so happy when it was announced for the PC.

Everything about the game is top notch. Great story, engaging battle system, and amazing world to explore. Graphics are dated, but it doesn't deter from the rest of this amazing game.

Highly recommended!

90

A game to try before you die

grunts00 | July 31, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

If you've never played this game, or any of the Final Fantasy games for that matter, you should DEFINITELY try at least this game. Everything about this game is absolutely amazing (and that's not nostalgia talking for me). The narrative is extremely well written and the characters are very likable and you feel a connection with them. The game came out many years ago, so the graphics aren't up to date, but really that's the only downside. If you can get past the graphics, please try this game. You won't regret it!

85

An Old Classic with a Supportive Community

Zartemis | July 30, 2013 | See all Zartemis's reviews »

Final Fantasy 7 was a massive notch in the series' bedpost, to work an analogy. It marked the series' step into the realm of 3D, and drew a massive fanbase. Some fans are rabid, as fanbases are wont to have their zealots. But underneath all that troublesome nonsense, there lies a solid game that was amazing for its time. The graphics haven't aged well, and it doesn't require a massive level of system mastery to put almost every gameplay aspect on cruise control, but the story is an experience that everyone should have. That said, this may not satisfy you for one reason or another. It did not do so for me, and were it not for a certain fact, I would not have repurchased this years after the release, let alone have been pleased with it. No, the reason this got a Steam version repurchase from me was FF7's modding community.

I will not link the site here, for risk of this review being invalidated, but there is a forum out there DEDICATED to modding Final Fantasy games. Being the massive game this is, there is a massive section for Final Fantasy 7, and even with the re-release, it continues to be relevant thanks to these mods. They do wonders, from changing the textures of the characters and their portraits, to changing the difficulty of the game itself, altering monsters and even adding new ones. Rumors say even the story and FMVs are being edited.

In conclusion, if you've never played Final Fantasy 7, it's a strong title in the series that holds up well. If it's graphics stopping you from playing, do drop me a line, or go looking on Google and find yourself the mods to make it enjoyable for you! If you've played Final Fantasy 7, and own a copy already, I can safely say this is a good purchase to make for the sake of modding it to Brisbane and back, because it's almost like playing a new game with familiar tastes of the old. Nostalgia is good, but nostalgia with a touch of something fresh is something every re-release should aim for.

85

Enjoyable!

Trollfaceyomama | July 30, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

I never played Final Fantasy 7 on the original PlayStation, as I didn't grow up with one. So, I wasn't able to enjoy it exactly as it was meant to be played. However, this port is great, despite common criticism. While the graphics are rather dated and the default controls can be awkward, investing in tweaking your controls to your fitting make playing this a much better experience. I won't go too far into plot but I can say that it brings you in nicely and the characters are easy to connect with. Also, the combat system is very easy to figure out.

90

A Gane for the Ages

big2dot | July 28, 2013 | See all big2dot's reviews »

When this game was initially released in 1997 for the original Playstation, fans everywhere were blown away. Being the first 3D Final Fantasy installment didn't hurt it's chances.

The question is whether or not the title holds up over 15 years later and to me the answer is a resounding yes. The story, characters, combat, and mechanics are well designed and executed and while the game isn't perfect, it's a gem of a title and one that is well worth every penny of the asking price.

If you dislike farming or grinding this may not be the game for you if you want to play it genuinely. The Materia system will require you to grind from time to time depending on what you want to accomplish. The new Character Booster feature lets you work around a lot of the grinding and I'm not a fan of the tool. Overall it's a great game that needs to be played by everyone, both fans of the genre and those that have never got their feet wet in a quality JRPG.

92

Nostalgia

Peaceall67 | July 24, 2013 | See all Peaceall67's reviews »

The game is amazing, so many memories came back to me throughout my play through. If you want you, or if you prefer a well written narrative and deep characters over nice graphics, look no further.

91

Amazing Game

qwoodmansee | July 23, 2013 | See all qwoodmansee's reviews »

Played it when I was younger, and am now replaying as an adult. It's absolutely incredible and fun! Highly suggest, and a great way to start Final Fantasy if you've never played one.

87

A truly epic adventure

katchouni | July 23, 2013 | See all katchouni's reviews »

One of the best adventure that has been produced so far and I think the second best episode of the Final Fantasy series. The story and the protagonists' personality are extremely well written. Note that if you want flashy graphics, you can go your way. But if you want adventure and a memorable campaign, play this game. It's a love letter to gamers, a gift we can play on pc today.

94

That turn-base mechanic.

Halt | July 23, 2013 | See all Halt's reviews »

Honestly, I think a lot of us were like 11 and playing this game, and at the time it was the greatest game ever.

After over 15 years, it still holds that nostalgic feeling that we all had with it as a kid.

If you haven't played this, you really should. Man, I miss the turn-base battles..

92

worth every penny

wolf29 | July 23, 2013 | See all wolf29's reviews »

Really this was a monumental game when it came out and i am glad that they brought back this classic to the pc again. The graphics aren't great, but you will fall for the story that happens.

96

One of the greats

mczolomon | July 23, 2013 | See all mczolomon's reviews »

One of the best rpgs ever just got better. New high res models make the aged graphics alot easier to look at, but its the story and awesome gameplay that make this arguably the best FF ever.

90

Revolutionary...

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | See all darkbreaker3200's reviews »

It's not my favorite RPG, that honor goes to a 2d RPG of the same era and platform, but FF7 was down right revolutionary; it marked the golden age of console RPG. For those not in the know, it's a turn-based RPG that required about 60+ hrs to complete; very standard for the time. It featured some of the most iconic characters ever conceived by Square. Whether it was score or graphics, VII had few weaknesses, if any. If your a fan of the genre and decide to play a game from this period, as much as I would like to drop 2-3 other games, you must play FF7.

97

MASTERPIECE

KellinCore | July 19, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

the best strategy game of life, contains everything you need, action, design, graphics, sound, life, wraps around, and contain everything you want. Best FF In each and also one of the best games of all time

81

A Nostalgia masterpiece

albero78 | July 19, 2013 | See all albero78's reviews »

This game is the real proof that high-end graphics don't make a game a masterpiece. When this game came out it was an excellent game and still is. The storytelling is amazing and it is one of the typical game where you say "5 minutes more and I quit". The characters are very well detailed and it possible to do a lot of customisation. Combats interface is well done and it will give you this nice feeling of having everything under control. Music and sound effects are from another era but they remain epic. Furthermore this new version adds PC optimisation and it runs pretty fine. Cloud support and achievements are the little details that make this game a real pearl in 2013 if you love RPGs.

90

JRPGs at their finest

azninja30 | July 18, 2013 | See all azninja30's reviews »

FF7 had memorable characters that made the world unique and it just kept getting better the further u progress within the world itself

91

Worth it just for the nostalgia

ShushKebab | July 17, 2013 | See all ShushKebab's reviews »

What is there not to love about the Final Fantasy VII? Arguably one of the greatest games in the series - Final Fantasy VII cemented the classic JRPG formula into what it is today. The fomula of time-based battle and use of magick ensures that your heavily involved with your characters as they level up. Add that with a wonderful story to boot, and you have your reasons for loving this game.

While the graphics and audio are subpar for such a PC release, it is entirely possible to mod these out for a more modern experience in terms of higher-def character models and so on.

100

the best of western and jrpg.

kobudosai | July 16, 2013 | See all kobudosai's reviews »

this game helped intergrate jrpgs into western rpg fans and vice versa. the store is one of the all time greats in the final fantasy universe. i would love to go into detail but i dont want to spoil it for any first time players. good luck and see you all on the other side.

95

Classic

rydad | July 16, 2013 | See all rydad's reviews »

There's not much to say about this game. It's a classic, pure and simple. One of the best RPG's around and my personal favorite of the FF series.

85

A Masterpiece

Dimbark | July 16, 2013 | See all Dimbark's reviews »

This game is a masterpiece; it's something that changed the industry when it was first released, and it hasn't aged that poorly. The graphics are as bad as graphics could be, this being one of the first Playstation games ever made, but the gameplay and story are still as astonishing as ever.

The environments are so very well designed and a lot of effort went into this multi-million dollar game. The story is full of twists and turns and forms a world that comes across as completely different and alien, yet the narrative manages to explore the world without making you feel overwhelmed.

Get this game. If you haven't played it before, you need to. You can't say you're a gamer if you haven't.

94

A Key Game in JRPG History

Baust | July 13, 2013 | See all Baust's reviews »

The game that popularized JRPGs and changed them forever is back. While it may not be the best in the Final Fantasy series, it certainly has its moments and is well worth playing. So, what are you waiting for? Go check it out if you haven't!

85

Good game

mihancoc | July 12, 2013 | See all mihancoc's reviews »

Not as grand as I remember. Sad that they used the midi sound from the '90s version of this game. Still, a fun game to play through, if only for the nostalgia.

90

Nostalgia For Old School Gamers

Crommelf | July 10, 2013 | See all Crommelf's reviews »

I'm not a die-hard jrpg fan at all, but this was the game that really changed my views on what an rpg can be. Classic turn-based combat, a great story, and hundreds of hours of potential gameplay to sink your teeth into.

Unlike a lot of games today, leveling, collecting and grinding actually feels like progression because content doesn't level up with you (my pet peeve in Skyrim). It's possible to reach a boss, get your butt kicked so bad it's embarrassing, and then have to go back and look for more materia and level up. Yay for games that don't coddle players!

97

Time can't diminish gameplay.

ikarugan1984 | July 10, 2013 | See all ikarugan1984's reviews »

FF7 is the game that pretty much wrote Squaresofts meal ticket outside of Japan. Oh, they'd had success with other games on the SNES, and in Japan had basically used that console in the same way an Olympic Horserider uses a horse. It's is THE rpg, an alpha for pretty much every RPG that came after it, to quantify it as either bad or good is beyond me, it's too big a concept, the game simply IS.

Although, I think most of us can concede that the graphics have aged in places. And I think we all need to admit that the rest of the world didn't have a patch on the Midgar sections, but that's basically it.

Essentially I have a top 5 FF games, and objectively this is the most well rounded in terms of gameplay, graphics, innovation, storyline and music. It does everything well, if not perfectly, which means it gets the number 1 spot. Although FF9 is a strong strong contender.

I'm not sure if there's anyone here who hasn't played this, but for that one guy, you play (mostly) as Cloud, a recent member to band of militant greenpeace hippies who object to energy reactors powered by the ACTUAL lifeforce of the planet. Of course the cyberpunk styled Megacorporation that runs the world objects to your blowing of said reactors up and a good deal of the game is spent dealing with them. Then Sepiroth a corporate Captain American style supersoldier who knows magic and swings an overly large sword gate crashes the party, kills the CEO of Shinra and leaves a blood swathe through the entire building.

He then tries to summon a giant meteor to punch the planet with so he can become a deity by absorbing all of it's lifeforce. Which is standard villanous fare for JRPGs.

What's good here is that all of the cast get a decent amount of screentime, every one has an adventure detailed to them that fleshes their character out nicely. Some characters obviously get more than others, and the hidden characters have optional backstories that are in fact an arse to find. Vincents especially since it requires essentially scouring the entire worldmap for obscure waterfalls. Yuffies is also annoying in that it shuffles all of your carefully aligned materia about.

Which brings up the Materia system, which allows EXCELLENT character customisation. What a healbot Barret and a blackmage type Aerith? Doable. What a Blue Mage Cloud backed up by a summoner Tifa, sure, why not? As long as you have the Materia, you can basically optimise your party any way you want. If the game HADN'T taken the time to define the characters OUTSIDE of combat, the lack of defined role for characters in battle might have been a downside, but luckily this game addresses that point nicely.

I could go on. I could talk about the mountain of hidden mini-games, I could talk about the artwork, I could talk about the musical score. God almighty I could talk about that, the only thing Square have that comes close is Chrono Triggers score. I could go on, I really could go on for a very long time. Surely that tells you everything you need to know?

If you don't have it, or played it, there is a gap in your gaming knowledge that needs to be addressed.

100

An amazing classic

Woonam | July 9, 2013 | See all Woonam's reviews »

I remember seeing the first commercial for Final Fantasy 7 with the newly announced Play Station. I remember begging my parents to buy me it. I remember finally getting my hands onto the game, playing it(but without a memory card) and having the time of my life with it. I've spent countless hours playing the game by myself and with friends. Regardless of how dated the game is it's still a worthwhile purchase for people that have never played the game or for fans that still have their old discs laying around. And with the introduction of cloud saves you can now bring the game anywhere with you without having to bring your Play Station and disc for the ride.

Final Fantasy 7 is a perfect 100 from me, I've had so many great moments and memories of this game that even now I can still play and appreciate it

85

Finally here!

Manueel | July 9, 2013 | See all Manueel's reviews »

What I can say about this awesome game? Everyone must know that this is a classic, and only for like 12 dollars you can have it! Traveling around the world of Final Fantasy VII is the one of the best adventures that a have ever played, so, I can say that this game is worth it! Give it a try people!

75

SAME as always

hombre_feliz | July 8, 2013 | See all hombre_feliz's reviews »

I've already beaten the old pc version like 8 times, but appart from the cheat engine and the "remastered" graphics and music. It is still the same game. Same story, same dungeons, same sidequests. They didn't even fix the translation errors or the 2x1 bug. It feels great to recover the compatibility on newer platforms, but come on, it's been like 20 years from the release of the original game. They could have added some additional content, some new enemies, a new dungeon, maybe a new weapon boss... anything. Well, they actually added that s-e drm bullshit, which requires internet connection to play a SINGLE player game, in order to leech personal information (-10 points just for that). Get the PSN version if you have the oportunity, since it costs the same and it is the same, but without that s-e drm

90

Loved this game!

perryr23 | July 8, 2013 | See all perryr23's reviews »

I loved this game as a kid. I still have my PS1 discs. But the addition of cloud saving and achievements make this a must play again!

90

FF7, what more to say

mor0se | July 7, 2013 | See all mor0se's reviews »

Final fantasy 7 is as many would say the greatest rpg in the history of games. as for me? i dont know about that but it is a part of the top of that list. This classic takes you on an adventure you will never forget, memorable characters and a fantastic story line will keep you up all night playing this. And you won't regret it

90

Must get epic adventure

lok0812 | July 7, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is by far one of the best Final Fantasy game from the series, even after such a long time has passed this game will still provide the epic adventure to new players and veteran players. As a re-release of the original PC port, nothing has changed except the compatibility of the modern OS. Gameplay and everything remains the same as we all loved back when it was released for the PC. Many mods have been introduced at this point to give the game a fresh look. This is a must pick up for any fans of the RPG genre as this is one of the deepest and epic storyline ever in RPG.

90

Great game

Celonex | July 5, 2013 | See all Celonex's reviews »

Do not use the cloud saving service. It does not work right. I lost my saves today 12 hours into the game.

This is not the games fault mind you. FF 7 is like the best RPG ever. Just dont use the cloud.

91

An Absolute Classic!

crispy52 | July 5, 2013 | See all crispy52's reviews »

This game is a must have for anybody that loved the older Final Fantasy Games. Although, if you already have played this and still have this with your PS1, you might want to think about holding onto it and just playing that version instead. Although you can mod this version, it is EXACTLY the same game as far as I can tell. Just a few bugs were fixed and they added a few things such as cloud saves, and a character progression thing that I think may end up being a let down to some of the hardcore FF7 fans. Although it is optional to use, it can be tempting. The Character Booster as they call it, basically gives you health, mana, and money at the press of a button. Which is lame because one of the best things about FF7 was the difficulty factor. Again you can just not use that though. Another thing is the music. All the files are original MIDI files from the PS1 version but just converted to PC so they kind of sound a little harsh on the listening side. Another thing, the game isn't exactly an HD remake. While the game might look a lot better than the original PS1 version, it is still the same game. The graphics are constructed of nothing but polygons rather than actual NURBS shapes like most newer games are.

Aside from that, the game actually plays pretty well and provides a great sense of nostalgia to current Final Fantasy fans. The turn based combat is precise and due to the difficult factor, it requires a lot of strategy especially during the boss battles. It isn't anything like the newer ones, so if you aren't a fan of FF13 or 13-2 i would recommend this game. This was one of their first big hits and is said to be the game that industrialized their success. It has some of the bigger names in it as well that all of you may be familiar with. Cloud, Sephiroth, Vincent Valentine.

Conclusion: Although the game is lacking in a few things that would make it stand out in 2013, it still represents the original classic that it was back on the PS1 and developed by Squaresoft. It brings a great nostalgic experience to those that played it originally and it provides a new and exciting experience for those that may have not tried it yet. And the gameplay is just amazing as far as strategy goes. You generally feel very rewarded after leaving each battle, unless of course you are just one hitting the mobs, and it provides for a great amount of fun.

95

The Best RPG EVER

Azell | July 5, 2013 | See all Azell's reviews »

Finally we have this game in GMG. Years waiting for this, I recommend this game to eveyone who likes RPG. The story is amazing, characters and battles are incredible. Probably the best game by square. BUY IT!!

88

Classic!

travistravis | July 5, 2013 | See all travistravis's reviews »

This is THE final fantasy to play if you want Storyline. The graphics are a bit dated, but it's all about the story anyway. The music is amazing, and the characters are fun.

95

Must have for RPG fans!

Reble | July 4, 2013 | See all Reble's reviews »

A classic RPG from an era where video games were much more than online capabilities and achievements. A time when "replay value" actually had meaning. This is the first installment of Final Fantasy for the 64-bit gaming area. I considered the graphics horrible even back in 1997, but the gameplay/story line made up for the lack of graphics. A story loved by many that included several spin-offs such as Dirge of Cerberus (action shooter) and the movie FFVII: Advent Children. The bottom line is that the name and story has already proven itself, now it's your time to relive the fantasy...

90

Back on the PC!

Angorath | July 4, 2013 | See all Angorath's reviews »

You can now play the good ol' Final Fantasy 7 on the PC without needing the 3dfx card that made the game look and run awesome back in the days. It has been reworked so that it works on modern day machines. And it's just as good as in the day. It even adds achievements to the game that you can go after.

Even though this is the steam version, it does still require a Square-Enix account which handles the cloud saving. Which may not work all the time. Just wait for the server to sync up and you should be able to save again.

100

Final Fantasy VII

Stebsis | July 4, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Wow... this game... I adore it, I adore this game so much. The best game I have ever played, period. I've already bought this from Square-Enix store, but I'm glad it finally came to Steam and Geenmangaming. Final Fantasy VII is a legendary game that probably everyone knows, quality of this game can of course be argued, some just don't like JRPG's, but no one can deny the impact this game had on the whole gaming industry when it came out. Square-Enix was one of the companies that made it successfully to the 3D era, not many succeeded in that the same way SE did with FFVII, and this is still the most sold Final Fantasy game to date, and also one of the most sold and highest rated games of all time.

The story begins as Cloud, the main hero, arrives on top of a train to one of the sectors in Midgar, this big city powered with Mako, planet's life force. He's joined by one of your party members, Barrett, who has a gun for his arm, and you're a member of Avalanche, kind of terrorist group who want to save the planet from Shinra, a company who runs Midgar. Your first job is to blow up a giant reactor that sucks out the life energy from planet. This is one of the greatest openings in a video game ever, the music by Nobuo Uematsu fits perfectly and pre-rendered backgrounds are just beautiful to look at. It gives you taste of combat and and a great boss fight, and shows you how to play the game without holding your hand.

As the story progresses you eventually leave Midgar and a big world awaits you as you leave the city to chase after Sephiroth, one of the most famous video game villains and everyone knows his ridiculously long sword. The story gets more intriguing as Cloud starts to remember memories that might not be his, there's a deep mystery about what happened in the past and how Cloud became SOLDIER, a member of Shinra corporation and why he left.

You are joined with group of interesting characters that you meet along the way, 2 of them secret party members that you may or may not find. There's a talking dog, undead man, guy who builds a space ship and yes, you even go to space in this. These are all interesting characters with their own story arcs that you sometimes have to go a bit out of your way to find, because not all of them are part of the main story.

Combat is a ton of fun, you can choose 3 members to take in your party, Cloud almost always has to be in, and even if he doesn't, you should keep him as he's the most powerful character. The game uses active time battle system that's kind of borderline turn based, not quite though. You wait for your turn as the meter fills and then you choose your attack, you can use your normal attack, magic, enemy skills that you learn by letting enemies use their attacks on you, or powerful summons that are just ridiculous sometimes, like Bahamut Neo that lifts your enemies to the sky on a big piece of land and blasts them with powerful Giga Flare attack. Some of the summoned creatures are pretty hard to find, but they're really cool and powerful.

As enemies hit you, your limit break meter slowly fills and you can then unleash a powerful attack that look really cool, you can speed the meter's filling by giving hyper to all your characters which also makes you take more damage, but I found this to be pretty good balance as it gives more challenge because your health goes down faster, but you also can do these powerful super attacks more frequently, the game is on the easy side for the most part anyway, and the more you unleash these limit breaks, the faster you get new ones.

There is also this materia system, that lets you choose what summons and magic attacks your guys have. You get these materia stones that you equip to the characters, how many you can equip depends on the equipment you have, more powerful ones usually have more materia slots. If you decide to give one a lot magic attacks, it'll take off your health and/or attack, so you're not as powerful, but you'll get more magic power and mp, it's up to you what you want to give tham and to who, but I've noticed that in the end it doesn't have that much difference.

Outside of the main story and at the end game there're 3 powerful foes to defeat, Omega Weapon, Ruby Weapon and Emerald Weapon. Especially the latter 2 are ridiculously hard foes that you probably won't beat even at 99 level without a good strategy and first knowing how they fight. There're tons of hidden stuff, the most powerful summon and chocobo's these yellow giant birds you can ride on, that you have to race on tracks and grow better chocobo's that can go over mountains and even on water. There's snowboarding and submarine minigames too that are just ridiculously fun, surprisingly even the submarine game, and you can also find the best weapons and limit breaks for all the characters.

I have one bad thing to say about the PC version though, MIDI soundtrack... it just boggles my mind why they didn't put the better Playstation 1 version soundtrack to this rerelease. Gladly there is a mod called Anxious Heart that I recommend you to use, as it lets you put in the original soundtrack which is just much, much better. The music is good, really good, some of the best ever put in a game and MIDI just doesn't do it justice.

Despite the MIDI sounds, this is still a superb game with deep mechanics and fun minigames. If for some reason you haven't played this yet, buy it now. The graphics are a bit better and framerate smoother from the Playstation 1 or original PC versions. If you've played this many times before, this rerelease doesn't bring anything actually new, but you might want to try out some of the mods that can make the game pretty hard.

80

Timeless classic

Radulf | July 4, 2013 | See all Radulf's reviews »

The game, as everybody knows unless living under a rock for the past 20 years, is awesome. But the current port that Square has released is lacking and overpriced as hell. A game this old should never cost more than 8 dollars, especially if there is no improvement over the original version. The graphics are the same, the soundtrack some could consider it to be a downgrade over the original, which is pretty terrible news. I don't recommend this version, but the game is so awesome that if you never played this, give it a try.

100

Favorite Rpg ever

Kiwislash | July 4, 2013 | See all Kiwislash's reviews »

This game is awesome. Great characters, and a good plot with a variety of nice music that really helps set the atmosphere.

Though, the customization and choices are my favorite part. - The decisions on which characters to use at any given time, can be as simple as a matter of preference, or more tactical (e.g. these limit breaks will be most useful here). -Item choice. Do you go for items with the highest stats, or with linked materia slots, or lower stats but nice bonuses (e.g. absorb fire, or triple materia growth). -The possibilities with materia are awesome. Any character can be any role. You can go pure melee, pure magic (with a range of spells, or just a single spell with a ton of bonuses), a summoner, or just combine a little of everything.

The only possible negative thing I can say about this game is that the graphics are rather old, but you expect that much when you buy such an old game. It's easy to overlook this, due to everything else that is just right about this game.

95

FF VII Is One Of The Best RPG ever!

ravestar | July 4, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

Final Fantasy VII is a classic among the role-playing games. Classics in this sense that one can always load it back and replay it, without being boring.

Of course the graphics that set standards at that time is, now out of date. But what does it matter? FFVII is filled with thoughtful characters and the captivating story, detailed battles, as well as the ingenious music.

The only thing negative which is on ALL Final Fantasy is that you must read the dialogues for yourself, it is not "spoken" at any point, but this is a minor issue.

Added bonus is that the PC version to come off a lot better with the translations. This is a must play because the development of the characters and their relationship to each other is what makes the story unbeatable. FF7 is no doubt a highlight of the Final Fantasy series.

95

Best RPG ever

Raiyne | July 4, 2013 | See all Raiyne's reviews »

Relive your childhood with this old classic or perhaps finally play the game that your friends have been talking about for years.

Travel to a world as the ex-SOLDIER Cloud Strife. Spend hours and hours discovering the vast world. Meet amazing sidekicks and dangerous villains. Next to the main story arc there are plenty of side quests and mini-games to keep you occupied for another bunch of hours.

This new PC version lets you enjoy the game without having to mess around with multiple CD's. This is definitely a game to buy for the coming summer!