Reviews for Mafia

100

Feels Like a Mafia Movie

thegaminglyfe | June 18, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Mafia will make you feel like you're in the Godfather or any other similar Mafia movie. There aren't many weapons but the weapons you have are fun to use. There are lots of unique vehicles to drive that adds to the feeling you're in the old days. The story is amazing and immersive. The graphics were very nice when it came out but haven't aged very well. They still look quite nice though. The soundtrack is nice to listen to and sounds very nice. The missions are lots of fun to play through and you will have a great time. Highly recommended to any sandbox and/or action fan.

99

The best action game ever made

panz3r88 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Mafia is probably the best action game ever made. This third person action game has a really amazing story with many cool characters . The various chapters of the game have a good variety with gun fights and section where you ride cars or you must protect or fight with other characters The game is not easy , there are many hard parts, but the game is never frustating. Even if you are not a fan of action games, buy this masterpiece!

80

Grab if on sale

StewartX | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

I'm a fan of the Godfather and this game makes you feel like you are in the thick of it. Building your way up from a small fry driver to one of the Dons top hitmen. Though this game is old (Released in 2002) it is still a great game to play today. It is the same game style as GTA 3 where it seems that the police have nothing better to do other than chasing you down for speeding. It isn't without its flaws though and has some bugs but not enough to ruin the gameplay. The one thing that really annoyed me was the cars, it always felt like they are going so slow, to the exception of the F1 race in the game. I think that was the hardest part in the game, it was like trying to control a brick being thrown through the air. Still, I would recommend this game to anyone. The story alone makes it worth the purchase. Also if you own Mafia 2 you'll notice a direct link to the end of this game. I won't give any spoilers.

The story in this game is absolutely amazing, right from the get go you are hooked on it. You feel for the characters and actually care about what happens to them. I had a great time with this game, I hope you do to.

Graphics: 5/10 (Hasn't aged well) Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 10/10 Multiplayer: No

Final words: "You know, the world isn't run by the laws written on paper. It's run by people. Some according to laws, others not. It depends on each individual how his world will be, how he makes it. And you also need a whole lot of luck, so that somebody else doesn't make your life hell. And it ain't as simple as they tell you in grade school. But it is good to have strong values and to maintain them. In marriage, in crime, in war, always and everywhere. I messed up. So did Paulie and Sam. We wanted a better life, but in the end we were a lot worse off than most other people. You know, I think it's important to keep a balance in things. Yeah, balance, that's the right word. Cause the guy who wants too much, risks losing absolutely everything. Of course, the guy who wants too little from life, might not get anything at all."

91

A beautiful game, just play it!

Finka_Karfein | June 13, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

If you are looking for a game about mafia... Mafia is the one to get. While many game about snipers titles Sniper are of low quality, this one is a proud banner of video games about mafias. Linear but great story with awesome dialogues and plot twists. Fantastic music and challenging varied gameplay. A huge and living city to explore with so many different cars and weapons. And that gangster atmosphere... There are minor flaws in this game. The main is that police reacts only to our misbehaviours. The other concerns graphics. Sometimes things appear out of nowhere and Lost Heaven is a festival of clones (once I rode the train with 3 other passangers - all of them identical...). You hesitate on buying? Do not, just buy it!

87

One of the best stories ever

softwareo | May 23, 2012 | See all softwareo's reviews »

Mafia is a game with an awesome atmosphere and what comes to story telling it is one of my all time favorites. It may not be technically the best game ever made but the good definitely outweigh the bad.

The game makes you feel like you are actually living the good old days. The music suits the game very well too. The only drawback for me was the driving really. There's just too much of it and it can get a bit boring.

You can have hours of fun with Mafia. And when you're done you'll newer forget this game. I strongly recommend Mafia to everyone. After completing the game you should think about getting the sequel as well. It didn't get the best reviews but it's still an awesome game in my book.

85

An offer you can't refuse

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

Mafia is one of those games a lot of people pass off as a bad GTA clone. Superficially it does appear to be a very similar game, but in reality it's a much more linear story driven game than GTA is. The driving segments are mostly there to pad out the length of the game and give you some downtime, there isn't actually very much to do outside of the storyline missions.

The story follows the exploits of Tommy Angelo, and is told retrospectively by him as he informs the police of Mafia dealings in the hopes of getting excused from his own misdeeds. He starts off as a cab driver around what I believe is a recreation of Chicago during the 30's and 40's. One night he gets pulled into a car chase by some fleeing mafia types, and upon receiving a phenomenal pay check for his services and an invite to work for them in the future, decides it's the only way hes ever going to get ahead in life. What flows is a compelling story of how he got everything and then lost it all, it's one of those 'crime never pays' stories.

The atmosphere of the game is excellent, everything looks and sounds like it belongs in the setting, there is a proper licensed soundtrack and even the cars fit right in. The game is set during the height of the gangsters reign and it really feels like you are there. The characters are believable and the voice acting is all excellent and fits the setting. The driving sequences can be a little bit of a challenge as the cars handle quite poorly and I get the feeling they were designed with a game pad in mind, but the gun play works fine. My one complaint is that the game can be brutally hard on you. The last mission in particular was extremely difficult.

Overall the game still plays great and is highly entertaining, for the great story if nothing else.

90

Great game with amazing atmosphere

Aladar | June 27, 2011 | See all Aladar's reviews »

Maybe I'm a bit biased when I say this, but here it goes anyway: This was, until not so long ago, the best GTA clone you could get.

But that probably wasn't the main reason why the game was so popular in it's time - at least for me, that would be the story and the setting. The game does absolutely brilliant job of getting you sucked into the game world set in 30s USA, full of bad guys, beautiful women, guns and illegal booze. While it may not have had the best graphics in it's time and a licensed all-star OST, the atmosphere the whole city emits is just incredible. I imagine the story is to thank for that as well - it's a great, thrilling story about a guy that was just in a bad place at a bad time, and it changed his life forever. It's engrossing, and I would love to see it on the big screen.

The gameplay itself, admittedly, can feel a little bit off sometimes - AI probably gets the biggest flak - but it doesn't intercept with the gameplay much, or, not at all - at least it didn't in my case. The only other complaint I have would be sometimes unnecesarry spikes in mission difficulty - remember the dreaded Formula 1 mission?

Other than that, this game certainly left a beautiful memory, and I would recommend it to everyone.

54

Why?

Muzicjohn | April 20, 2011 | See all Muzicjohn's reviews »

I'll never understand, why this game have so big metascore. It's full of bugs, people in city acts like idiots (for example: tram driver crush police cars if they stay on his way). And the whole police exist only for catching our character, crimes made by others does not interest them. Shooting system don't have any new elements, we've seen this before milion times. Only the story is pretty nice (I mean - still isn't perfect, but it's better than stories from other games). For me it's just usual, not bad game.

85

A great classic

niniendowarrior | April 14, 2011 | See all niniendowarrior's reviews »

Mafia tells the story of Tommy Angelo and his rise from a lowly cab driver to being a made man. It's a very straightforward story that is told exceptionally well with very well executed scenes that build up as each key moment unravels. Much of the game is dated at this point, but the core shooting mechanics and driving sequences still hold together. In addition Lost Heaven still looks good and instantly slides you into the 1930s with ease. The music from the likes of Django Reinhardt are perfect addition as the game's city tunes, while the orchestral soundtrack add tension when the game presents its more dramatic moments. Mafia is a rare gem and deserves your consideration.

80

Gamer cred, yo

xtrench | April 13, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

You play Tommy, a cab driver who gets a fare of his life when two gangsters enter his cab. Tommy finds himself in deep trouble after helping the gangsters with their rivals and finds no alternative to save himself other than to join the Don Salieri family for protection.

Mafia is an open world filled with different missions through which Tommy's story is told.

While the game starts slow it finds its pace quickly but not before you complete outrageously difficult race mission that the developer added a difficulty option to it in a later patch due to gamers grief and it's recommended you complete it on easiest level because after that mission the game really starts to shine with exciting main story missions. While the game has side mission they're rather bland compared to the main missions and reward the players with cars upon completion which you have to retrieve yourself.

The shooting mechanics are a bit clunky and haven’t aged well but they aren’t frustrating and the car handling can be punishing sometimes all in the name of "realism".

Still this game is yet another classic that will be remembered by many for a long time and anyone who considers himself having a "gamer cred" should definitely play this game.

95

Masterpiece!

matesko_ | April 9, 2011 | See all matesko_'s reviews »

Films have Godfather, games have Mafia - classic, but truely perfect story about crime, betrayal and loyalty. Tomy starts as a taxi-driver and becomes a raspectable gangster... Many people say that Mafia is a GTA-clone. In fact, we don't have such freedom as in GTA, but it's not a fault; we have great story, specific characters and varied, epic missions (in hotel, for example - just like from movie!). The graphics have their own style and can appeal even today. Soundrack is in my opinion one of the best ever. Who needs more?

97

A real Godfather adaptation

fearon | April 7, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

If you expect from games deep and exciting story, you must choose Mafia. History of a man, who has been involved into crime family is much more better than gameplay. But when you play Mafia, you don't watch a movie - there' s a lot of unique missions and living city, that you never forget for a long time.
Story, level design and great atmosphere of Chicago '30. That is Mafia.

100

Absolute classic

mikim | April 4, 2011 | See all mikim's reviews »

Classic of computer gaming. It is obvious that graphics are old, but every other part of this game is just PERFECT. Story - great, I don't want to spoil, but it's better than in many crime films nowadays. Audio - great old music and good sounds of cars, etc.

Also, level design is just EPIC. I'd really like Mafia II to be like Mafia I, just with old story.

Absolutely great game.

95

Absolute classic

keeveek | April 4, 2011 | See all keeveek's reviews »

Absolute classic, who eats for breakfast previous GTA parts. Why not give this freedom, like GTA rival, but it definitely makes up for the script and characters. Interestingly, the graphics defends to this day. Textures can not overthrow the new games, but have their own style. A large number of weapons and vehicles authentic to the era will satisfy those who love these times. The plot contains many twists and keeps you in suspense. This game is an absolute classic that you need.