Reviews for Aliens Colonial Marines and Season Pass

80

Not the Alien you were looking for..

XenoSilence | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all XenoSilence's reviews »

But it is the Aliens game they said it was.

Many expected a horror survival title but Aliens (2nd movie) wasn't exactly a horror movie. This game scratches the itch to kill the most iconic sci-fi bad guy ever made and it does it well -- dead aliens by the droves.

Multiplayer is awesome, its only flaw being p2p hosting being very unreliable making it hard to find a decent game but when you do it is great fun and definitely more terrifying than campaign.

Over all it is an enjoyable singleplayer and multiplayer experience if you enjoy blowing up aliens and never asking questions -- before or after.

80

Above average game!

iFLIP07 | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all iFLIP07's reviews »

This game is great when it comes to online multiplayer. Though the singleplayer didn't make me as happy as the multiplayer did. The singleplayer can be fun with friends (coop) it makes you forget about its poor story. Didn't enjoy the story at all. The gameplay is a bit weird, from the way friendly NPC do things to the alien's movements; its almost like a glitch but yet I don't think it is. Graphics is 4 out of 5 which is good but could've been better. SFX and Music gets a 4.5... made the game more suspense and intense.

Multiplayer is my where I got my best experience from. You can play as a human and as an alien and really enjoyed playing as one too. Always funny whenever I kill a human friend.

Game is hard for both single and multiplayer. If you like a challenge, get this game!

68

Decent After Patches

iDangl3z | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all iDangl3z's reviews »

Before the patch, I thought this game was garbage. Some of the graphics were horrendous, and it just didn't feel like a finished game. Now that it has been patched, the game looks much better and modes like survival are really fun to play! Story is okay and so is multiplayer, but this game is definitely worth playing at least once

80

Keeps Getting Better

PlagueofMidgets | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all PlagueofMidgets's reviews »

I would say it is worth it now after the patches. The game is not nearly as bad as people say it is. The console versions maybe but the PC version has gotten increasingly better over time. The bug hunt DLC is a fun co-op experience as well. I purchased the game with the season pass bundled for $8 and I am very happy with my purchase. I grew up with the Alien franchise so perhaps I can appreciate it a bit more. It isn't an award winning game but it's no Bad Rats or Secret of the Magic Crystals and people still purchase those. Hope this helps!

70

It had bad impression however in some sense, it ain't bad also.

Cronoblade | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Cronoblade's reviews »

The 1st time I played this game, it gave me an bad impression. The texture ain't great, the sound for the pulse rifle has loop and a pause in the middle, the flow of the game gets boring.

The graphics isn't as good as AvP. The worse is that it doesn't look as good as they demo last time. You can see the character movement is stiff. Some textures, you will noticed it low quality. However, it was fixed with patch and it is alot better than last time. It used to have bad performance due to bug but it is fixed now. Whatever they demo, you ain't gonna find it here.

The sounds for the pulse isn't good. The shotgun is generic, so no issue. Others are fine. I ain't gonna complain on the voice acting. The aliens hissing and death scream is fine. Nothing much to talk about it. It had 1 good atmosphere during the sewer level. The story is between the aliens 2 and alien 3. It talks about the event after aliens 2 movie. It has memorable event and easter eggs in the game. If you're a fan of aliens, you will be happy to see them. However, in terms of how they do the story telling. There are alot of plot holes and sometimes it doesn't flow together well with the previous aliens 2 movie. No spoiler here but you will know when you play it.

Now for the gameplay. When you play alone, it's ok. When you play with coop, it's fun after using the highest difficulty. This game is dirt easy. The good part is that you can to fight alot of aliens. Maybe 5 on the screen compared to AvP. However, this game doesn't have the tension or atmosphere that would creep you out. It is more like an action game. In way, it's good but old alien fans will not be happy about it. The combat is fine when fighting aliens but i felt that the close quarter feels buggy. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn't. Aliens AI are fixed, they don't get stuck that often. The AI sometimes gets stuck and you can't progress the game until you restart. Now the AI doesn't block you anymore like last time, you can go through them. They fixed this so you get stuck when the AI doesn't move. When you play SP/Coop, you gain level to upgrade your weapons.

The demo overhyped the game badly. You won't experience the same event in the demo. Even when you killed the aliens, they just dissolve compared to demo, which it stays. Although the levels is there but it doesn't have the same epic event it supposed to give to you. Even the introduction of the demo is better than the actual game.

The game isn't as bad as most people said. It is playable but forgettable. The multiplayer online is kinda dead since nobody is playing now. Get this if you have enough friends to play with for cooperative.

72

Not to bad

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This game is a slight disappointment. It's no where near as good as it should have been. The game play isn't terribly enjoyable and the story can seem a bit repetitive but I enjoyed the game never the less and I would recommend it to anyone that likes the aliens films or a fun first person shooter.

75

Decent Game, not terrible like critics say.

Highlander9782 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

The graphics are decent, not as good as they should be for a current gen game, the storyline is decent as well and all the weapons from the movie are nicely done. Had potential to be great based on the previews, but its still a good game if your'e a Aliens fan, especially with the 4 player co-op that you can play the whole campaign. Haven't played the game alone so I don't know how your teams AI will be but I wouldn't trust them. The multiplayer is the best part of the game, lots of different modes to choose from, aliens vs marines team deathmatch is my favorite. The Season Pass is worth it to unlock all the weapons, game modes and maps for multiplayer. Worth it if the game is on sale, especially if you got buddies you can play 4 player co-op with.

65

Don't believe the hate

nemesis44uk | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

I never followed the previews or demo videos of this game's development, preferring to go in cold. After reading the slating that this game received by virtually anybody who played it, I held off on buying it at release.

Having picked it up recently in a sale, I was pleasantly surprised - the sounds are lifted straight from the movies and the graphics are decent. Downsides include the difficulty, which is all over the place and level design is averagely generic, although it does have some "jumpy" moments.

I have given up on a KOTOR type Alien game - one which is different enough to be interesting and new, yet retains just enough connection with the source material to make it feel like you're in a familiar universe.

This, then, fails to hit all the high points, but certainly isn't as bad as the internet makes out.

Therefore, with lowered expectations, I would recommend this as a good purchase, especially if on sale.

75

Better with the new patch

Hunork | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

Aliens are like Superman. You can't make a game about them without compromising the very thing that makes them so powerful. So the Man of Steel has a health bar and can be beaten up by Sub-Zero, and xenomorphs - described by Ash in Alien as a 'perfect organism' - can be killed in droves by a single Marine with a machine-gun. In the films they're cunning, merciless, and intelligent; here they're little more than dumb animals.You don't actually see a xenomorph in Aliens for almost an hour. In Aliens: Colonial Marines you're up to your shins in fluorescent green gore within ten minutes. This is because James Cameron understands things like pacing, storytelling, and tension - and because the devs don't. In fact, they don't even seem to understand Aliens. They think it's a film about guns, one-liners, and being 'badass' - a word you'll hear a lot here. But for all their bravado in the first act of the film, the Marines are absolutely terrified when they realise what they're up against. "How could they cut the power, man? They're animals!" The aliens are so unstoppable - so perfect that even an entire squad of highly-trained Marines can't survive an encounter with them.

80

Fan-Game

Compax | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Compax's reviews »

Although not great by any means I have definitely enjoyed the single player campaign as well as multi-player. People bash this to no end but many of my friends enjoy this title as well and take it for what it is. This game is made for Alien fans. This game has thrill and it was really what we wated for. It said action shooter game, not a adventure. It may not be the true sequel you might have waited for. But it is still an Alien's game.

73

Average: Colonial Marines

iggy81 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all iggy81's reviews »

As a fan of the franchise, the game is very cool. Concept of Aliens: Colonial Marines is cool. While the game certainly lives up to capturing the look and feel of the movie with the environments, gun sounds and music, it still plays like an ordinary FPS. Gameplay: Feels a little too much like CoD. There's nothing innovative in the way the game controls, its mostly been ripped from other FPSers. Level design is a least pretty good. The game has many branching corridors that you can sometimes get lost in.

69

Shame on Gearbox

Eat_Pushy | July 2, 2013 | See all Eat_Pushy's reviews »

Overall I love the game whom does not love the Alien saga and rich history that comes with it ? Getting your hands on some hi-tech weapons and blowing away hordes of Aliens and not defecating in your shorts. But countless attempts were made before to make the game that would live up to the movies/ comic books and all have failed, yet this game does not take it to another level.

Once again Gearbox dropped the ball on such a pristine part of the sci-fi history and with out even an apology for the rush job all to meet a deadline. When all they had to do is post pone the release date and not do another(wrecked another classic game) Duke Nukem. So They stood behind laws said nothing and posted on the videos AFTER the game was released that images in trailers will not reflect actual game play. Dozens of patches later the game was sort of fixed.

Never have I felt so burned by the industry and all the hype of pre sales and let the game developers/ publishers sit on their product. Only to get paid after we get a true review of the game and or DLC's/ season passes with some sort of factual details as to whats to come with the purchase. Shame on shafting the consumer to keep them selves afloat and not being held responsible for their own actions. RATING IS BASED ON GAME PLAY NOT GEARBOX