Reviews for Borderlands 2 and Season Pass

90

If you like shooters and RPGs then buy this game

gnrl_deathstick | July 7, 2013 | See all gnrl_deathstick's reviews »

This game has it all. Guns, vehicles, leveling, skill trees, cool graphics, several classes, humor, open world, plenty of missions and loot, CO-OP, and an interesting story. Pick this up before it goes back to $60. Game and DLC for $15 is a steal.

90

Awesome game, Just What I Was Looking For

wizzlegmg | July 7, 2013 | See all wizzlegmg's reviews »

I'm a huge Diablo fan and have played tons of FPS games throughout my life. This game combines the two perfectly. You'll be grinding for gear but you can also free roam and complete as many or as few missions as you want.

Great game!

91

Amazing game, will keep you coming back for more.

devonel | July 5, 2013 | See all devonel's reviews »

I've put nearly 20 hours into this game in the past 5 days or so and I've barely made it into the campaign. I highly recommend this game. The atmosphere and art style is great, and the jokes are hilarious. There is also a lot of crazy loot. The addiction of possibly getting a rare gun at any time will keep you playing late into the night. Some of the quests get a bit repetitive but you won't care because the gameplay is so interesting and, most importantly, fun. I highly recommend this!

100

A wonderful gameplay for a long, long time!

Shav | July 2, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Borderlands is one of my favorite series ever. I recently started to play it again, from the first one with my friends, as it truely shines in co-op mode. I already had Borderlands 2 and played it for like 25 hours (which is nothing in this game, trust me!), but seeing as it was so cheap here on GMG with Season Pass I've bought it.

The game is just amazing - the graphics, music, storyline and characters are great. What is best though is the fact that there is always something to do - main storyline is pretty long , there are tons of side-quests, secrets and hidden gags. If it wasn't enough, the season pass included in this bundle adds 4 completely new expansion packs, with new missions, enemies, and weapons, as well as a Vault Hunter Upgrade Pack, which increases the maximum level you can get for even more gameplay!

Afterall, this is one of the best games of 2012, and you shouldn't hesitate to get it - just buy it with season pass, as each of the expansion packs is unique and very fun to play.

90

Wonderful game

kayn24 | July 2, 2013 | See all kayn24's reviews »

It's awasome since first minute, humour, action, beautiful design :D

80

More of the same and that isn't a good thing (Borderlands 2)

Foamy89 | July 1, 2013 | See all Foamy89's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is a very good game don't get me wrong but its gameplay is identical to the first (with the exception of not having a killer bird on demand) and its humor is atrocious compared to the first borderlands. BL2's idea of humor is just memes, memes and more memes. In terms of story BL2 is vastly improved however its areas aren't as interesting or memorable as the first's. Overall BL2 is a great game but it just doesn't live up to its predecessor in terms of humor or area design (Enemy design whilst much improved, feels more bullet spongy than the first.).

92

An awesome bundle

Xiphora | July 1, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is one of the funnest and funniest games released in the past few years. It boasts a great story, clever dialogue, great rpg elements, satisfying first person shooter gameplay, unique graphics, and interesting settings. Borderlands 2's season pass, which contains 4 additional DLC stories, only adds to Borderlands 2's great experience. The first three DLC's. Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty, Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage, and Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt, provide fun stories, additional hours of Borderlands 2 fun, and a lot of loot for your character. The fourth DLC, Tiny Tinay's Assault on Dragon's Keep, is the star of Borderlands 2's DLC, with fascinating settings, hilarious dialogue and story, and creative presentation and levels. Borderlands 2 and its Season Pass are both great buys for anyone who appreciates humor, story, role playing, and shooting in games.

93

Great Game with Tons of Play Time.

Xenolith | July 1, 2013 | See all Xenolith's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is a great first person shooter RPG. It has tons of fun with a fantastic storyline and many tough bosses. I love this game although it is a little glitchy.

98

Gearbox did it right!

Eat_Pushy | July 1, 2013 | See all Eat_Pushy's reviews »

I've spent countless hours searching for chests filled with loot to achievements galore and all filled with action to boot. Killing every thing and anything in my path, and this game is no push over in ultimate mode for the true test of your skills and your arsenal. A real game for media heads from movies to other games music and much more spoofs on just about any thing so it's not a mindless game of shooting and questing. Add the season pack for more gut wrenching action in some mad capped lands off the beaten path from the norm! 6 classes to play (not included in this deal is another class psycho) 3 skill trees for each and so many ways to play them with what weapons you have and don't worry re-spec your skills any time to suit your needs! Can not say anymore you just have to play it for yourself and with 3 others to for the full effect of difficulty.

85

EXCELLENT DEAL with Season Pass

HKZonda | July 1, 2013 | See all HKZonda's reviews »

At the risk of being ignored right off the bat, I must admit the first game never hooked me. The style and heart was all there, but some mechanics just felt a bit out of place and I felt like the game dragged on in the early portions and the interesting moments were few and far between. I'm happy to say that this game no longer suffers from that.

From the intro that once again wonderfully sets the tone, from the sense of humor that is much more prevalent throughout the game, to the finer handling of some of the controls I am finding that this game exceeds its predecessor in all that ways that tell you the developers were truly trying to make a great game and not just jump aboard the money train with a quick sequel. They've even gone out of their way to provide additional settings that most other developers seem to leave out. The field of view slider was a great addition to me because a bad FOV will set my head spinning within thirty minutes, but I've been able to play this game for hours at a time without any issue.

The environments are beautiful and often a lot more detailed than you would expect to be, and I never find myself looking around trying to distinguish one portion of the game from another. While there seems to be some recycling from the original game (unless the bandits have been redone and they're just dead too quick for me to tell!) there is also a lot of new things to be seen, and some of the characters they introduce had me grinning on a fairly regular basis. But then I'm a sucker for well-placed sarcasm.

The game itself is pure fun. A lot of the earlier mechanics are the same, but the special abilities and some of the talents feel a little more well thought out this time around instead of gimmicky. One addition that I've yet to make up my mind on yet is the bonuses you can unlock using the tokens you receive for completing in game achievements such as killing 50/100/etc of a monster, using 1000 bullets, etc. It certainly makes getting those achievements more exciting because now there is a tangible reward to it that you can use to boost your damage, shields, recharge timer, and a few other things -- but I wonder if after you pile the stats on for a while it starts to make the game far too easy. These bonuses apply to all of your characters, not just the character you unlocked in on, but the good news is that there is a way to disable it if you find it's making the game too easy for your taste.

Also, for those of you like me who lived through the complete frustration of getting co-op to work in the first game, opening ports, fighting with Gamespy, and then getting dropped at random, I was extremely excited to see the ability to use steam for this purpose. It makes getting your party together so much easier and I am so glad that they went this route. They seem to have learned from all of their mistakes and the result is a truly fantastic game. If you liked the first game, consider this a great expansion. If you just couldn't get into the first game like me, you might still want to poke around. You might be surprised.

94

SALT THE WOUNDS!

toasterflakes | July 1, 2013 | See all toasterflakes's reviews »

got this in a deal. so far great game. tons of easter eggs and loads of guns. warning though, this game is best with friends or else it might get very stale. thats what happen to me at first but after getting my friends on it is a blast. if your looking for a great coop game look no further minion because here it is!

93

SO MANY GUNS, SO MANY PEOPLE TO SHOOT

IAmUnaware | July 1, 2013 | See all IAmUnaware's reviews »

Borderlands 2 has the broadest and most varied shooting of any FPS I've ever played, and a fantastic number of different weapons. The controls are tight, there's a great number of different enemy types with different behaviors and weaknesses, and the game features some of the best writing in modern video games.

The Season Pass contains four DLCs that combine to be roughly the same length as the (fairly long) base game, with more of everything the base game does right. There are tons of new gun types, more than a dozen hours of new quests, and more of the excellent characters and plot. The earlier DLCs (Captain Scarlet and Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt) do drag a bit in places, but the the Torgue DLC is hilarious and Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep is the new standard by which FPS expansions should be judged.

This pack offers more than twice as much game as any other FPS on the market, and it's a better game than most of them to boot. This is a fantastic buy for anyone who loves shooting games, sci-fi action, or LOOTSPLOSIONS.