Reviews for Frozen Synapse

67

Appealing to the eye and to the mind

lipfter | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all lipfter's reviews »

Frozen Synapse is a nice replica of virtual chess, everything is based by turns, so you could call it a TBS, yet this game has a unique way of showing TBS aspects. Two players meet each other in a battlefield where their soldiers are scattered around randomly, each player orders all of his units to move to any place on the map and turn on additional options, functions such as - "shoot on sight" or "stop on sight". The game requires luck, skill and anticipation. Graphics are really beatiful, they are not good but they are certainly detailed that they seem like they were really good and the effects in game are really quite appealing. In Frozen Synapse even a weak player could win against a good player if he would be lucky because weak players are sometimes unpredictable thats why its hard to play against them in this TBS game. The soldiers you are given are all different and do different things from sub-machine guns to bazookas or lazers. Worth buying.

62

Didn't quite hit the mark

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

I love the idea of Frozen Synapse, turn based tactical combat where you move troops, set fire orders etc. However it didn't quite hit the mark for me, I found the ui/way of controlling your guys a little cumbersome.

The art style is quite TRON-esque and I quite like it, thanks to its relatively simple nature it can run on low end PCs which is nice. The music is great, very fitting, I ended up getting the soundtrack as well as it's worth listening to some of it on its own.

I tried the multiplayer, and once I'd got a game I found I had the issue of the opponent taking an age, and there didn't seem to be any way to force him to take his turn/there wasn't a time limit. This may be due to the mode I played, but I wasn't really sure what I was doing and I found the game didn't really assist me in any way to find out what the modes were etc.

If you're a patient gamer then this game has a lot of potential, offering a nice slow paced tactical game with lots of planning and calculating needed, but it's not the friendliest of games to get into.

95

Easy to Learn, Hard to Master

calculator42 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all calculator42's reviews »

How the game works:

The game is "turn-based" but with a twist. You and your opponent each have a team of units to control. You play from a top-down view and give your units their orders but here's the cool part: the units of both teams only start following their orders after BOTH players have pressed the "End turn" button. In other words, while you are making your own plan of attack, you also have to try and figure out what your opponent's plan of attack might be!

Learning Curve:

The game is easy to pick up because its basics can be learnt in a few minutes, as units/objects have simple, very clear strengths and weaknesses. However, the game will probably take a very long time to master because of the puzzles/mind-games you'll be playing against your opponent.

Singleplayer/Multiplayer:

In my opinion, the game is mainly for multiplayer, although it does have a singleplayer campaign. I haven't played much of the campaign, so can't speak on how good that is. I loved multiplayer though and MP has multiple game modes as well. Examples of game mode:

Extermination Light:

Each team has to kill the other team (or get a score advantage by the end of the rounds, which are by default 8). Both players can see each others units at all times.

Extermination Dark:

Same as the above, but a player cannot see the opponent's units until the opponent's units are in line-of-sight of the player's own units.

Charge (also available in Light/Dark):

If I remember right, in this mode, one team tries to get across the map while the other team tries to stop it.

There are a few other modes as well.

Community:

From what I saw, the community is on the small side but there were almost always enough people online (30+, I think) to play with when I checked.

Game speed:

Players often seem to play multiple games at once. For instance, I'll start 2 or 3 games, make my turn in one game and then, while my opponent is still making his move, I'll switch to the 2nd game and make my turn there. You can even make your move after days if you want. However, after both players have done one turn, one time restriction sets in place: if a player does not make his/her move for two weeks, he/she loses the match. In my experience, people usually make their moves in minutes, or a day, so there usually wasn't too much waiting for me.

Note: the DLC gives both players the option of customizing the time limit given for each turn. I don't know if the non-DLC game does this too.

Price/Value:

The game has previously been in two Humble Bundles and I am pretty sure it has been at 75% off multiple times. So, in my opinion, you can expect it to go on sales later. As it works similar to games like Chess, Frozen Synapse certainly has a lot of replay value for its price.

83

Frozen Synapse - review

Neapolis47 | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Frozen Synapse asks us to manage a team of specialists armed programmable through a series of waypoints that indicate where each unit to move on the game map . On the field, made ​​up of walls and windows randomly generated by the CPU , we find another team , enemy , which is handled in a similar way by the CPU or a human player . Once you have decided on the move to go to the testing phase that will determine whether our units will move properly through a simulation. Obviously, at this stage the enemies are real estate, because to understand the movements of the opponents is our task, but it is still a useful tool to detect possible errors in the formulation of orders. At this point you can start the round proper during which each unit automatically engages the enemy that lies ahead . And it is at this stage that involved a number of modifiers that determine who can shoot and when you can do it. In fact, a unit is moving slower to fire than a firm , who wields a gun is faster to shoot the other and a soldier with the rocket launcher works late but can destroy a wall killing those who are in the affected area . We must then consider that each weapon has a different radius so it is good not to leave units with short-range weapons in the aisles or standing in front of a window. Finally, each action can be delayed with a timer that allows you to determine the timing of each movement with absolute precision. But the modifier is undoubtedly the most important aims . During the planning and staffing in fact the key element is the viewfinder that determines the point at which a unit will look during the action phase . The greater the alignment between aims and position of the enemy , the greater the chance of an opposing unit to cool the first time. In short, for every move , almost as if we were playing chess , it is necessary to provide as many actions as possible opponents .

77

Stylish and Surprisingly Addictive

BronYrAurStomp | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all BronYrAurStomp's reviews »

I've found Frozen Synapse to be extremely rewarding and frustrating at the same time. It is one of the games that when you get your tactics right you will fist pump the air in joy. It's a game designed to be played slowly and thoughtfully. Each stage requires perfect planning, especially when played against a human opponent. It can be extremely unforgiving and at times down right unfair, but it has a nice style and addictive game types.

Best played with a friend on coop - Expect a thrashing if you play multi-player

80

Tron style, Jagged Alliance gameplay

mahon | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

I was a little hesitant about this game and I think I passed various offers for it many a time. It looked so much like Tron, which is not my favorite style. Yet when I eventually got it and tried the gameplay out, oh wow, I was positively surprised! Under the layer of Tron-like graphics, Frozen Synapse is a great tactical shooter in the kind of Jagged Alliance and XCom series. You set orders for your units and then let the timer run to see if your decisions were any good. The game leaves you very much freedom and flexibility in your commanding, even though initially it seemed a bit simplistic - it was only a false impression. I quickly forgot about (or maybe got used to) the graphical style and got immersed in the very enjoyable gameplay, which convinced me that I can recommend it to all players of good old Jagged Alliance games. I would only wait for at least slightest discounts, as the full price is a bit high.

60

Complicated but worth the effort

Nivear | July 21, 2013 | See all Nivear's reviews »

Frozen Synapse is a turn based strategy game with a lot of control. The game starts off complex and you need patience to get used to the visual representation along with how to execute commands but once you figure everything out it is quite a fun game to play. The multiplayer matches are certainly challenging and the campaign levels are a great way to prepare yourself for them while learning the finer points.

80

Great but slightly overpriced

Scorpy | July 16, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Like chess, it's fairly easy to learn, but impossible to master. The gameplay is fun and rewarding and has a clean style. Planning out your moves to be executed simultaneously with the opponent can lead to amusing clashes. The only thing I feel it lacks is co-op vs AI and team battles, which they say they are working on. On a side note, the soundtrack is great.

At the asking price of $25 you might want to wait a bit, but this is definitely something you should consider picking up at some time.

90

Remarkable

jaredsilver | July 9, 2013 | See all jaredsilver's reviews »

Frozen Synapse reminds me of the tactical police simulation software that various major crime fighting groups are said to use to strategize before a given mission.

Reminiscent of a beautifully designed game of chess, Frozen Synapse is the tactical battle simulation I know I've personally always dreamt of.

Add an astoundingly brilliant story, and this game is truly remarkable.

Plus, with unlimited replayability in the form of instant skirmishes and cross-platform multiplayer games, this indie game is undoubtedly one of the best.

Highly recommended for anyone who prefers to think and stretch his or her mind as opposed to mindlessly stare at the screen for hours on end.

76

Original and awesome concept

DukePaul | July 7, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

I can say Frozen Synapse gameplay is a mix of Worms and those Pre planning screens from the old Rainbow Six games, this is a strategy game with turns, where you have to a lot of actions for the members of your team, like dodge, wait, focus on one direction, these actions can be a little complex at the start of the game but you will learn how to use them properly, the game has a great tutorial.

The game is for multiplayer matches with a lot of rules and modes but it has an awesome campaign with a lot of levels and challenges.

Buy this game if you want to try something different and you love turn based games,

99

One of the best

waynehwc | July 7, 2013 | See all waynehwc's reviews »

one of the best indie games made, a must get game, no doubt about it if your a fan of strategy games. only down side about this stoping it from getting 100 would be graphics abit to simple for some people.