Reviews for Tom Clancys Splinter Cell Blacklist

90

Great Comeback For Sam Fisher!

Kezzz | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Kezzz's reviews »

I was a bit skeptical about this release after seeing it being demoed at E3. It felt like it looked and played a little too much like Conviction which was frankly nothing to do with what Splinter Cell was. However Ubisoft proved me wrong and they could have possibly listened to the Splinter Cell fans this time round. It has that modern, casual conviction feel mixed with the good old Sam Fisher Splinter Cell Chaos Theory gameplay. Some of the levels are brilliantly designed and the story mode alone is massive. Graphically it is very stunning, just the opening scene got my eyes wanting more. Stealth is definitely back to its roots with this franchise and none of this hero rubbish that we saw in the last installment. The characters have some "heat" between each other (Grim/Fisher) but they work well together during the campaign. I do like how characters have specific unlocks that can help upgrade weapons, their plane, medical/armor and much more. One big gripe that isn't specifically about the game is the fact that it uses Uplay. I hate that client and just wish it was for Steam. So much DRM and hassle. But don't let that stop you from buying the game.

100

One of the best of the series

cor_sleep | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all cor_sleep's reviews »

I was a fan of this series from the very first game. Till Conviction the fifth of the series was kinda disappointment. The game changed into something casual feelings, and couldn't say it's a stealth based game. there were only two levels of darkness not like old games. Bright and dark. I understand the old series with various levels of darkness, were too hard for most casual gamers, but I still couldn't accept it as a Splinter Cell. What makes Splinter Cell is tensions, seek and hide, lights and shadows, not action packed gameplay. Well anyway I enjoyed Conviction at that time.

Now I got Blacklist and this game is almost perfect. actually I want to say it's perfect but there are still some glitches and some missing elements. The basic gameplay is similar with Conviction. You can still do mark and excute and shoot down bad guys easily. but there are something added for old series fans. Perfectionist difficulty.

In this hardcore difficulty, you can mark but you cannot excute, and your goggle won't let you see through the walls. If you got hit few times, you will pass out instantly. You have to play hide and seek in tension to survive. Fire fight is the worst idea on this difficulty to pass through a hallway. and you can move the corpses to hide again.

The best part of this game is multiplayer, and coop. The volume of coop missions is much bigger and there are some customization elements which could gives you some opportunity to put some characteristics into your Sam Fisher or Briggs.

Multiplayer Spies vs Mercs is even better. It's a hide and seek game basically. Mercs have to find the spies and spies have to hack the three consoles on three locations in the map while perfectly cover their locations. There are not many playable maps but, the map designs are deep. worth to explore for hiding spots. It's been months I've been playing this game but still I find some new spots to hide for hacking from time to time. there is a classic SvM mode too which not allows you to customize your outfits and weapons and gadgets. means 56 leveled master player and 1 leveled newbie's going to play the game in perfectly same condition except their know-how.

Oh I forgot to mention there is not much lag even with players from overseas. I've encountered various national players while I play but there was no problem playing with them. USA, Russia, Canada, etc. and I'm Korean myself.

If you were a fan of the series, even for old ones. I recommend you to buy Blacklist. it's one of the best of the series. I say Chaos Theory is one of the best too just to let you know guys. Hope to see you on the fields soon.

95

A very nice game

euskalnono | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all euskalnono's reviews »

I've played all the Splinter Cell games and this one may be the best one. You can play your own style and still be rewarded. Of course, and fortunately, the reward depends on the style. So being unoticed grants the best reward. But still, you can shoot everyone if that's why you bought the game. Between these two styles, there is another one: eliminate silently the guards, one by one. A very good idea to me !

The single campaign is really not bad, and long enough to interest you until the end. One VERY BIG FLAW for me: the interface to select the missions is very bad. I understand the good thought to present on a global map all the missions, but it is poorly done. It is then a nightmare to start again the campaign missions in the right order.

I've played during a short time the Multiplayer. It is quite fun. One good idea is that you can earn money you can invest for the single campaign (and vice-versa). However it doesn't have a lot of different game types.

Finally the co-op campaign has the merit to exist. I'm not a big fan since it's quite hard to find a serious mate to play with. But if you already got a friend, I'm sure it is a lot of fun (but difficult too !!!).

Anyway, it is for me a very good game, quite complete. Hope the series will continue that way, without the few bugs and re-thinking the interface.

95

Great Game

votchamacallit | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all votchamacallit's reviews »

If you liked Chaos Theory and Conviction you will like this game. You will spend hours not only replaying missions but also multi-player.

Single Player

The single player is amazing they improved and fine tuned it and took all the best things in the previous games and stuck together into this. I'm not going through the story in this review just because. Also Ubisoft better release more content later (sooner rather than later would be great and not too soon where it could be buggy but soon enough that it works and everyone is happy)

Co-Op

Co op is fun. But I noticed that most of the bugs in this game appear in co op more than any other mode in this game. You will spend a lot of time on this trying to get everything and perfecting your skills in the game for multi player.

Multi Player

If your new to the series the multi player side of things might be a hit or miss, but if you stick with it and unlock the other modes (which doesn't take to long) and unlock more weapons and gadgets and armor you will enjoy it more. The premise of the multi player is basically a cat and mouse/Hide and seek style of play for the most part. You do get team death match as well. But the most fun comes from hacking the terminals as a spy or defending them as a Merc.

Overall: I would recommend this to anyone, even if they didn't like the series to begin with I would sit them down and make them play it.

95

Fast Paced, Stealth Action!

TK4EVA47 | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all TK4EVA47's reviews »

Splinter Cell has always been known for being one of the best stealth franchises of all time but after Conviction, many were confused on what Splinter Cell wanted to be, the answer is Splinter Cell Blacklist. With Sam Fisher now the head of 4th Echelon, he now has the ability to do what must be done to keep the US safe. What this means for gameplay is that Stealth is back with all those amazing gadgets, but many of the great features of Conviction are back, making it in (my eyes) the best Splinter Cell to date.YOU HAVE NO CHOICE NOT TO BUY IT!!!!

79

A good shot at pleasing everyone

TBTheBritish | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all TBTheBritish's reviews »

Blacklist tries really hard to please the fans of classic Splinter Cell and the fans of the ConViction era. It comes close to pleasing all of them, but probably falls a little shy of keeping everyone happy. That's not to say it's not good. It's great and I played it happily to completion, then played it again to try in Panther and Assault mode and all three modes are fun in their own way. Quick note: This game is big. Really big. I've played it a ton and I'll probably still be playing it again this time next year, just trying to get through all the missions out there and the multiplayer which is... potentially great... but can't say it feels there just yet.

100

No talks just buy it

kapamaru91 | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all kapamaru91's reviews »

After the indifferent for me Conviction, the Splinter Cell: Blacklist returns at last turn on the right track, while managing not to scare the audience probably won his predecessor. It is a game that allows us to choose how we want to finish each mission with each tactic to offer a completely different experience. Not only that, but after a bit disappointing content of Conviction, The Blacklist is a fairly hearty experience, whether we are talking about the main campaign, the co-op missions and competitive multiplayer. If you're a fan of stealth titles, then do not think for a moment, invest fearlessly.

92

A good game with some flaws

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Blacklist is a great game. The gameplay is varied and rewarding and the cover from Splinter Cell Conviction is used here too which is a useful gameplay dynamic which adds to the brilliant gunplay and stealth mechanics. The story is also interesting and will have you hooked from the start. Another great thing about the game is the graphics, I loved the enviroments and the way they spanned, giving each level a sense of extreme areas to play around with. All in all the game is a great addition to the Splinter Cell franchise.

90

Superb Stealth Game

Stebsis | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

After the quite action heavy Splinter Cell Conviction I doubt anyone expected that much from this, everyone thought this would be just another "CoDified" stealth game, but that's just not the case.

You play as Sam Fisher who's trying to stop a terrorist group. Not that original and story, though well written and quite entertaining, offers no surprises whatsoever. There are moments when you think something interesting might happen but no.

Where Blacklist succeeds better than almost any other stealth game is the stealth aspect. You have three choises in how you want to approach the missions. You can go stealthy and not kill anyone, or quietly kill enemies and try to avoid them more than hide, or go in loud and shoot your way in. All these are viable choises and each give you points after each mission. You're given a ton of different gadgets to use in variety of situations. Sleeping gas for silent takedowns, smoke grenade for stealthy kills and flashbangs for loud entrance and a ton more. You also have a tri-rotor, a fun remote controlled camera that you can attract guards attention with, stun them, set them just as flying cameras to keep tabs on guards or explode it in their face. You even go first person couple of times when you play as a different character, but don't worry, it doesn't turn into fps shooter if you don't want it to, but actually mimics the third person stealth quite nicely. If you want to go in loud there are a ton of weapons, shotguns, assault rifles and sniper rifles, for you to choose and shooting mechanics are quite solid.

Levels are varied and give you a lot of room to maneuver. There's usually the best way to go in but you're not restricted to it, you can decide to take high or low ground, find out hidden stuff and sometimes you need to capture a high value target if you want a little extra money to use on gadgets.

There are couple silly things that I just didn't like, for example the execution mechanic where you can mark couple targets and Sam takes them out immediately, or goggles that let you see enemies through walls. I just don't like that stuff in a stealth game, and fortunately if you pick the hardest difficulty it disables these things which is great, you don't need to purposely limit yourself.

Splinter Cell Blacklist should please every long time SC fan. It's really fun and solid stealth game with quite impressive lighting effects and really fun multiplayer modes that I haven't played that much yet. Ubisoft manages to make a game that should please almost every shooter and stealth fan, even though usually that'd mean the game is just horrible because it doesn't focus on what it should, but not Blacklist, it is a stealth game more than anything. I say buy this now.

100

This is Splinter Cell as it should be

IrishFeangol | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all IrishFeangol's reviews »

After playing through the entire single player campaign, twice.. I can safely say that it well worth it. No matter what style you play in this you'll like. The stealth approach is very challenging in some places then rather easy in others. The maps are very well designed and often force you to think fast and even occasionally force you to change play style.

100

WOAH!

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

Blacklist is just perfect, it's dynamic, fun, extensive and just pure awesome. The graphics are phenomenal, the story is awesome and the multiplayer is amazing, with a really great community. Would recommend without hesitation!

88

A Return to Greatness

Kiant | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all Kiant's reviews »

After a short break sulking in the shadows, Sam Fisher returns to our view and the question on our lips, is how is our grizzled spy?

Luckily he seems to have come back in good shape, after a few bumps in the long running series cough Double agent cough and some could say Conviction since it focused more on the action side in a series most known for it's stealth and not it's action side it was always going to be tough with this new entry. They clearly knew action would attract players but at the same time, the old Splinter Cell fans want true stealth back to the series.

Luckily this game manages the balancing act very well. On one hand you can play it as an action game, however you don't get rewarded as much money per mission. A hybrid style about being silent but still able to kill targets or you can play it purely silent and don't kill anyone and only subdue. You are not locked into doing any as you can freely choose during a mission.

So the developers are pushing you towards being silent since it has the most rewards but it does allow the players who don't wish to do that a choice. The fact they have been able to pull that off, shows full credit should be given to the devs.

When you throw in the Co-op and the return of the highly addictive Spies Vs Merc you have a very attractive package for the price, also your money to buy upgrades etc transfers across all aspects of the game and all aspects of the game are accessed from the singleplayer on your plane.

The only problems I have with the game is the story and the changing of the voice actor. The story is not exactly ground breaking and feels pulled from any number of Spy thriller stories out there but it doesn't diminish the fun factor of the game, after all gameplay is king in Splintercell games.

Secondly the voice actor is kinda weak. Not really his fault per se' but more that the direction he was given was not up to scratch. Ironside pulled off a more convincing job of a grizzled veteran, after all this game isn't a reboot, it's a fully fledged sequel.

And finally for all you PC gamers, the port is strong in this one so no need to worry about that :).

Overall a return to form for Splinter Cell and I hope Ubi continue with the direction they had in this game for future titles.

82

Splinter Cell: Redeemed

Omaeka | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all Omaeka's reviews »

I was skeptical about buying this, because despite how great it looked in the advertisement footage, the change of voice actor for Sam Fisher seemed like a total fan service failure. I purchased a Nvidia GTX 670 and along with it came Blacklist, which I didn't even know about until the card arrived! So after swapping out my tacky 7950 and replacing it with the 670, updating the drivers and running a few benchmarks, the first thing I did was redeem Blacklist through uPlay (a painful process) and after 10 minutes I was hooked!

The introduction level is quite boring, as it is the standard overly Hollywood-ized experience with a tutorial to bore you to death with, however as soon as it is over and you disembark on your first mission to the Middle East, the game comes alive. It is a fantastic title with AAA quality graphics and brilliant optimisation, you do not need a powerful computer to get this game looking good, a 5xxx AMD or a 5xx Nvidia range cards with an i3 or better would be more than enough to play this game with most settings maxed.

It retains features from Conviction, however on perfectionist difficulty (the only difficulty worth playing) the horrible mark & execute system is disabled, which is nice. The cover system is back, but I always thought that was a strong point of Conviction, as it adds a lot to the way the game works. If you are behind cover and an enemy is between you and another cover that you can switch to, you can take him out very easily during the switch. Animations are fantastic, as is the voice acting and story. There are also some very light RPG mechanics in the mix, with customizable weapons with upgrades, many different combat suits and monetary rewards for completing missions and side missions. Despite a fantastic single player experience, coop is where the game really shines. Games are easy to find and teamwork is possible without direct communication, which is always a great feat.

Spies vs. Mercs returns from Double Agent and it is better than ever with customizable classes, a brilliant first-person shooting mechanic for mercenaries. and spies control exactly the same as Sam Fisher does in singleplayer and coop. There is a new mode in Blacklist, a standard deathmatch where you can choose to be either a spy or a mercenary and go at it in the very well designed levels which leads to some interesting experiences to say the least.

All in all, Blacklist is the ultimate Splinter Cell experience and delivers a magic long forgotten since Chaos Theory. Despite the change in voice actors, any fan of the series would be insane to pass this up!

Graphics: 7.5/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 8/10 Dialogue: 7 Voice acting: 7 Multiplayer: 9.5/10 Level design: 9/10 Engine: 9/10 Replayability: 8/10 Value for money: 7.5/10

89

WOW!

DanielZo0 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Splinter cell Blacklist delivers what appears to be a generic story, but surprises us with an unforgettable gameplay that we haven't seen since Chaos Theory, released for the xbox, pc, and ps2.

We can recognize some familiar faces and some well used gameplay mechanics while the game surprises us with a vivid beginning, that makes fans feel identified and welcomed to another entry in the series. The gameplay and characters start setting flashbacks of past games like Conviction and the well so acclaimed, Chaos Theory, while presenting to us the new mechanics that lie ahead on this new entry to the series.

But eventually the false illusion that the game manages to create in my mind, just isn't enough in order to carry on with the awful voice acting. I have to say that i couldn't avoid feeling a little defensive and even regresive, to the fact that the beloved Michael Ironside was replaced by the infamous Eric Johnson, but even then i had a little hope that this would be recreated by the fact that Sam Fisher was just in another completely different state of affairs than the ones he is in this game, but sadly the fact that Eric Johnson had the role as the raging, old, Sam Fisher, only manages to ruin everything that comes out of the mouth of our protagonist, Sam Fisher, by making each sound, sound just forced and out of place.

Eventually a lot of questions are going to start growing into your head, and you're going to begin question the kind of logic that evolves around, the ages, and the looks, of the different characters that are represented in the game as just, bland, weird, and even just straight weird at times. This affects the entirety of the experience that the game is trying to offer to you by just bothering you constantly about the actual time period and characters that are here. Sure there are several characters that make you feel welcome once again in the world of Splinter Cell, just to name a couple of them, Andrew Kobin, Grimm, Vic, etc… But even with their presence is just not enough, because they never manage to feel the way they did in the past games, even Sam, as i was mentioning before is just not Sam, he doesn't feel like him, he doesn't talk like him, he is just not him.

The game manages surface back to the top after you actually get to play it, the gameplay is just a mash up between several different Splinter Cell games that i can't really compare to any game that i can think of, it feels like a mash up between Chaos Theory, with some Conviction elements. Each location is just memorable at a undescriptible level, they certainly capture the old cinematically approach that a lot of missions used to have in the past splinter cell games.

Shocking, killing, and marking and executing, are going to be the majority of game mechanics that you're going to be using while playing the game. Panther, Ghost and Assault style each dynamically change while you're playing the game, if you don't get detected and you don't kill anyone in an entire level section that will build up your Ghost style, if you do decide to kill in a stealthy manner that would obviously progressively increase your Panther style, and if you get noticed, well i think you know that you're going to be switching to the Assault style. This could work if it wasn't for the assault style being a complete waste of time and production in general, the style shouldn't even be present for a wide variety of reasons, you never get to use it because if you get spotted you're dead immediately, in any difficulty, and the entire game is built around being an stealth game, it just doesn't work and it should never have been there in the first place.

You get a misleading path of revenge that drives Sam into fighting a new terrorist organization known as "The Engineers" which believe it or not, middle eastern people are finally treat with the bare minimum of decency that you can find in any game until know, i love it because is not a game that focuses on the ethnicity of the countries itself that are represented as enemies, no, i love it because it manages to use that as a bridge to get to a much more bigger and intriguing point that can even seem worthy and reasonable to fight fore in some occasions.

The kind of balance they maintain between the villain that assimilates your classic soft, intelligent, middle aged bearded man, that represents a terrible monster desperate for a reason that can seem just deliverly the own human nature manage to create a tension on one and other, that can easily be build up into something that just came out from a great action, drama flick that can be subjectively seen while we interact with it.

80

Good story with an addictive multiplayer

jasbro | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all jasbro's reviews »

I am a huge SC fan and loved all of them even Double Agent, and this one does not disappoint when it comes to story, its definitely the best one since Chaos Theory.

The Engineers an organized militant group sends a threat to the US demanding they call back all their troops overseas or face the penalty of a series of crippling attacks which they have dubbed The Blacklist, and its up to Fisher and his team to find out their agenda and stop them.

The gameplay hasnt changed too much from conviction so fans should feel right at home, the graphics are quite impressive and with the benefit of your home base being set on a plane you get to visit a great varity of places and they all look stunning.

The coop has been changed a bit in that instead of playing a couple of random spies you actually play as Fisher who is joined by Briggs, you can do most of the coop missions solo but there are a few that require coop and i highly recommend you do all of them since you'll need the money they provide to buy new equipment and upgrade them.

The multiplayer, one of the main reasons i actually bought the game since i've always been of a fan of Spies vs Mercs from when it was first introduced so long ago and was so happy that they brought it back for Blacklist, you have the classic 2v2 pitting the spies against the mercs, the new Blacklist version with 4v4, as well as some other modes.

Overall the game is alot of fun and i do highly recommend it to any Splinter Cell fans out there, the only bad point is ofcourse the replacement of the voice Micheal Ironside who for me is and always will be Sam Fisher, but if i can overlook this travesty, anyone can.

80

Good

Bolo | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist is a dynamic action game with the view from third person perspective (TPP), produced by studio Ubisoft Toronto. The story shows the struggle with the international terrorist NET. The player directs the actions of agent Sam Fisher, who along with Four Echelon has the task to stop the terrorists planning a series of attacks on the United States. Audio-visual-Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist has been prepared with great care and cinema flourish. The character models and animations (made using motion-capture) look very natural, and the game is rich in detail.

90

Brilliant

courtingpsycho | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all courtingpsycho's reviews »

SplinterCell is one of the most famous stealth action games of all time, Players seemed to get drawn into the perfection of completing the missions without getting spotted or even firing a single shot.

But then it took a turn for the worst with double agent which made most fans run for their lives at how terrible it was shortly after that came conviction which started reviving the series and did it in a rather action-packed dark way that made the players understand the story and why fisher was doing his job.

Now comes Black-List which does a u turn yet again not for the worst but for the good, blacklist uses the good features from conviction aka the cover system, spotted , mark and execute etc and improves them.

The story is on par with the 1st 2 games in the series which many classed as the best and the gameplay yes can get clunky now and then but nothing a patch will not fix so its no big deal.

Blacklist brings the classic multiplayer mode spies vs mercs back and it does have you at the edge of your seat trying to figure out where your going to die from next or how to kill the mercs without dying.

91

Super duper awesome!

AlbusDlx | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

This is the best part yet. It looks stunning, only surpassed by Crysis 3 if you ask me. The Unreal engine still shows off what it can do to this date. I am lucky to have access to the American release. 2 more days of SC6 gaming then my fellow europeans!

You start off by unwillingly being paired with Grim and 2 other main characters. I´m not gonna ruin anything, but the intro is a playable level in it self. A group called the Engineers threaten the U.S with a blacklist attack every week for a year unless the U.S withdraw all their troops from all 151 countries, It is your job as Sam Fisher to put a stop to them and save the day,

Like I have said, it looks really really good. a solid 8.9/10. I would give Crysis 3 a 9.3 as comparison. The controls are very similar to Conviction, So is the actual gameplay. The weapon and tools upgrade system is extensive. The MAJOR difference between the 2 games are optimization. I can still not max out Splinter Cell Conviction, putting this game in the "bad port" category. Blacklist runs like a well greased engine, a well greased Unreal engine =) I max Blacklist out @ 1080p with v-sync and 4xMSAA enabled on my PC.

(AMD 8320/HD7950/8gb RAM @1866)

The only thing I can complain about is the fact that they switched out the voice actor for Sam Fisher. But the new guy is not bad at all. Just a downer to a dedicated SC-fan. Grim and Vic are the same. The 5.1 surround sound works great, I love sneaking around and being able to hear enemies behind me.

All in all. Super fun game.

9/10