Reviews for Return to Castle Wolfenstein

95

Underrated game

Grauhl | July 17, 2014 | See all Grauhl's reviews »

This game was amazing. I remember it was the first time i saw a flamethrower making fire that actually looked like fire. The game has some very nice difficulty levels which will keep even the more hardcore player busy on the hardest difficulty.

I will highly recommend this game.

72

An average, functionally sound and thorough FPS

mugaro | June 24, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Nothing about this game is great, every category is a 7/10 or 8/10 at best. I felt like a lot of the levels were copied straight from Goldeneye, but were still lame & dreary. There's nothing wrong with this game, its just mediocre or okay at everything.

Pros: There's nothing broken with this game other than a few gameplay directions. The cinematics look pretty good for 2001, the voice acting gets the job done and it presents an interesting story about the Nazis and their quest for illusive magic. It's also got a great multiplayer component to it, a lot of games were built off of this very solid engine.

Cons: The terminator fights are annoying, the paratrooper rifle makes the game too easy, the cinematics are boring & the story, the graphics look dated, the final boss is too easy. Most of all, instant failure stealth missions are not enjoyable. Most games dont do that now.

If you like FPS games from the xbox/ps2 era, this is a solid entry.

68

A Good Reboot

Azrael360 | April 30, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

Return to Castle Wolfenstein is a reboot from 2001 of the entire series with elements of the both games from the 90's. It retells in more details the story of the failed mission of the Office of Secret Actions to infiltrate the Castle Wolfenstein, and how Blazkowicz, one of the captured agents, has to escape from the castle while still carrying his mission of investigating the activities of the SS Paranormal Division.

While id Software has almost nothing to do with it, the game has become a classic in its genre. Even though by today's standards is quite old, still has that unique Wolfenstein personality. It doesn't look good, but the silly action and the nazi paranormal theme make this game worthy to add to any collection, especially for any Wolfenstein fan and those looking for something classic.

68

Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Not a game from id Software

Azrael360 | April 23, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

This game was good back in the early 2000's. Today, not so much. But still it's a long and worthy Wolfenstein game, even though id Software had almost nothing to do with it.

Serving as a reboot in the Wolfenstein series, here is explained with more details the purpose of the Office of Secret Actions and the role of Blazkowicz, the main protagonist, who must escape from the castle after some events in the beginning of the game.

It is still an entertaining game, although don't expect too much from it.

95

This game still holds it own

augieg | April 19, 2014 | See all augieg's reviews »

Even though this game was made in 2001, and does show its age, it still holds up. I played it back in 2001 from a CD I have long since lost, and it still holds my attention. I was amazed by it back in 2001, and still am having about as much fun on the second play through.

Now, I had tried running the game on a machine with an AMD card about 6 years ago, and couldn't get it to run. I'm now running an Windows 7 machine with an NVIDIA card, and it runs beautifully. No problems at at. I was concerned, but at the current price, it was worth a try, and it paid off.

So, I think this game is a classic, and completely worth the current asking price. If you haven't played it, by all means, give it a try.

90

My favorite game to play for 10 years

Highlander9782 | April 18, 2014 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

I started playing the demo of this game back in 2001, then I got the game in 2002 and haven't stopped. The multiplayer of this game is fast paced and one of the best I've seen in a game. You get to choose different classes such as medics, lieutenants, soldiers and they all have different advantages, soldiers have more weapons to choose from like the Panzer and sniper rifles, medics can revive fallen team mates and give medic packs to heal them, lieutenants can give ammo and do support fire with massive explosions. The graphics of the game aren't bad even for todays standards. The multiplayer is the reason I go back to this game, even today, but beware that there are only a handful of servers with people that still play this game.

80

About the best this series has to offer to date

Gmen | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Although the game has “return” in the title, its proper intent was to be a remake of the first game by id Software, Wolfenstein 3D.

It uses a modified version of the Quake III: Team Arena engine, and it is quite obvious to those with a keen eye. As far as its looks, it’s not too bad – the effects such as explosions are particularly good. Being an old game you won’t be wowed by its rather evident lack of physics. This was released back in the day when the concept of ragdolling hadn’t even entered its infancy. This was in a time when unvaried death animations were still common.

Many of the sounds in the game were recycled from another game, Kingpin – a previous title by Gray Matter, then known as Xatrix. And it definitely has the same feel as said game in several ways. The music consists of a track or two that will instantly bring memories of the original flooding back.

The story is decent enough, and it is interesting to see enemies besides the Nazis come back. The Wolfenstein series, or at least Wolf 3D and Spear of Destiny, has always been centred around the bizarre and the supernatural, so RTCW definitely has a more fictional twist to it than its contemporaries such as Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. That might put some looking for a more true to life experience off. Then again on the other hand it might give those who have long since tired of the same factually correct WW II shooter some hope.

But that doesn’t necessarily save this game from being a bit of a slog – a standard run and gun action title when all is said and done. Yes, it’s definitely superior to its predecessors in the way that you have more varied mission types, and it isn’t all corridor shooting monotony, but even so somehow the game fails to be as tense or as fresh as the originals were back in their day and does become a tad boring after a while. It certainly isn't a game that I go back to very often, so after one or two playthroughs, the only option left would be the multiplayer, which was always the most popular feature of the game in any case.

This certainly is one of the better WW II shooters on the market, but it isn’t the best in my mind – not by a longshot.

94

One of the best first person shooters I've ever played

Raggzie | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Raggzie's reviews »

I was given this game Christmas of 2001, the year of its release. I used to play the demo on a map called Beach. The battlefield was filled with people in the multipayer game mode. I had never experienced anything like it. Snipers, rocket launchers... medics that could revive fallen team mates, lieutenants that could drop ammo, and Engineers capable of blowing up doors and entire walls!

I played Return to Castle Wolfenstein with a group of friends and for some reason it never seemed to get old. Its a classic Axis vs Allies shooter that the community took over and developed hundreds of maps for.

Whether you are playing objective, or death match, or even a trickjump game mode, you can be assured the game will always surprise you.

The single player is also amazing. It is very immersible with a great story like and plot. Assume the role of an Allied soldier captured by the Axis powers and locked away beneath Castle Wolfenstein. Escape and defeat the evil horrors the Nazis are experimenting with.

There is still a strong player base in Multiplayer, and the Singleplayer alone makes this iconic game worth getting.

70

B.J. Blaskowicz is back more 3D than ever !

JohnySVK | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all JohnySVK's reviews »

I don'like the monster-everywhere games but Wolfenstein is a legend so i played it and the game is, well it is pretty ussual fps with a lot of monsters no stealth lot of guns and a bit of fear. Build on CoD engine by some of the people who actually did CoD. Starts with B.J. in a locked cell taking down the guard and letting you kill all the Nazi's and there is a lot of them, trust me. You will see the results of Nazi's experiments through the war and a creature that was buried for really long time and your only mission is to return to castle Wolfenstein, kill the monster and as always save the world in the skin of agent B.J. Blaskowicz. P.S.:Gameplay is pretty average but till funny. :D