Reviews for Wolfenstein 3D

89

Must be at least this old to appreciate this antique classic

mugaro | June 24, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

I can't really imagine a lot of people enjoying this game that were born after about 1992, which is when this game came out. Back in the day, this was it. This game is so old, you don't even use the mouse to look. You use the arrow keys to navigate, CTRL to shoot, spacebar to use. Most of the levels look the same, most of the enemies are the same.

If you appreciate cult classics, if you don't mind playing very old games, if you want a blast from the past and can appreciate vintage 1992 FPS games that started it all, this is the definitive place to pick up along with doom 1 & quake 1 from the FPS grandfathers iD.

89

Pretty hard for such an old FPS

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Wolfenstein 3D can be regarded as the birth of the FPS genre, even though Marathon did the same thing before it, and better. Anyhow, Wolfenstein really brought this thing to popular gaming conscience.

I've tried to finish this game many times but never have I gotten to the end. There are lots of secrets to discover and the guards and the enemies as a whole are pretty ruthless, especially on the harder difficulty levels. I cannot remember how many times I've lost gunfight duels with them!

Not to mention the dogs! Those crazed canines! Always getting a bite out of me! Speaking of crazy, this game works crazy well still after all these years. There is just something that makes it work, maybe it is the simplistic nature of it, I don't know, or maybe it is the challenge. Somehow, this game that I have yet to beat has earned my respect. Much more so than Doom even though I've played Doom to the end.

At least try the demo, but don't blame me if you end up buying the full version. After all, Hitler is not going to kill himself, at least not in this game!

95

Birth of FPS

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Wolfenstein 3D was probably the first PC game I ever played. Looking at it now it aged really well and still has all the charm it once used to enchant little children (that would be me). You are a hero in a nazi fortress shooting up all the Germans you can find. Corridors, nazis, secret doors, treasures and.... WHAT? A GIANT ROBOT HITLER? Well, yes, this game has it all. Even though it is dated the game still holds up very well and ensures hours of fun while going through mazes of gray corridors and take down The Third Reich. I would recommend this game for everyone, for the great gameplay, tons of fun and undeniable historical significance.

85

One of the oldest and greatest

Gmen | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Say hello to what many proclaim as the “grandaddy of ‘em all” – of course referring to first person shooters.

This is as basic as FPS titles get as you might expect, and it will not appeal to younger gamers who perhaps are more used to Call of Duty or Battlefield titles. There is no multiplayer, the visuals are dated, and gameplay revolves around finding keys, navigating samey indoor maps, and making it to the elevator in order to exit the level and progress to the next without getting killed by the sheer number of Nazis around who are more than willing to put you down.

But – and I'm not kidding – it still has that tense atmosphere that you rarely get from games made even today. A large contributor to this is the sound, particularly the music made by the legendary Bobby Prince. And let's not forget the memorable and challenging boss fights.

If you wish to see what the game that supposedly started it all is really like, or you’re an old school gamer who wishes to have it as part of your collection and relive your childhood, then you can’t go wrong by picking this up.

82

One of the best

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

One of the best all time first person shooter games. It started it all for me, without this game I doubt I'd even enjoy first person shooters even remotely. Its a classic throwback game , nostalgic to say the least. Its your typical shooter from that era, can't really move much but it works, gunning down enemies is very satisfying but can be challenging . Lets also not forget the it has the best final boss in gaming history . Its an old game, doesn't hold up that well but if you can get past that and the visuals and sound its a fun game to just mess around it for old time sake

94

Father of the FPS's

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

The very cult classic, one of the first FPS. The game released in 1992, more than 21 years ago, and yet, we are playing in this time, again and again like the Doom, DN3D or Blood. These games have such a feeling, that the modern FPS haven't got. This is an unexplainable thing, what is actuate you to playing it. Doesn't not matter that, it has an ugly graphic, repetitive gameplay, zero story and frustrating maps. The Wolfenstein 3D is a cult game. If you don't beat it, you miss a game, what deserve that, you play through. So, put it your basket, download it then go and play it.

80

One of the first shooter

simodeso | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

As the title says is one of the first shooter on the world.. it was fantastic. And it is still fantastic! If you haven't played it yet do it, because you need to know how different they was games 25+ years ago. My advice is to buy it and play it, you have to defeat nazi soldier and discover every secret of these places! If you enjoyed Doom I and II this game is for you .

80

This is it!

danteveli | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Wolfenstein 3D is a cornerstone for PC gaming. The title that created one of most popular genres is here. We play as BJ Blazkowicz - Allied soldier that wanders through Nazi bases with mission to stop incarnation of evil himself. From todays standpoint the game is pretty easy. We practically just run and gun collecting treasures and finding secrets. Still the gameplay is highly addictive and game has some iconic moments like the fight with Hans or Hitler. From graphical standpoint it may look really bad and poor with blue walls and doors and everything we are seeing from perspective of someone with really bad sight but no correction glasses. To be honest it doesn't matter with this title. Anyone should pay it, especially for that price.

82

Very old-school shooter

MichalM | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

Wolfenstein 3D is a great reminder of 90s in term of fps games, Doom, Quake and this, one of the first great fps games with "3D" graphic ;) For that price, 1.24$, you should take it without any doubts. Of course, Call of Duty players won't like it because there's no "great" multiplayer and "great" graphics. But if you were kid in 90s, that's a game for you, definitely and no question about that. A lot of people in their 20s and early 30s grown up on this type of games. There's a lot of Nazi elements in this game and I love that, no censorship and no one turned into some kind of people killer because of playing it as a kid.

Really, If you like that kind of nostalgia, It's a proper game for you.

80

A real cult classic!

Shav | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Many of the developers are keep on releasing prequels, sequels and remakes of various title, but believe it or not - playing a classical, old-school game provides very unique feelings.

Wolfenstein 3D is one of the first games that I've ever played in my whole career as a gamer, and I have to say it was a great experience. Even though today everything has aged pretty badly - the graphics and sounds are terrible, and the gameplay seems dull and repetetive it is still worth playing! Why you may ask? Because of the sentimental value, and a chance to see how games evolved. Actually, Wolfenstein 3D can be considered a father to all the modern FPS games - like Call of Duty, and so on.

For a dollar in promotion it is a nobrainer - just get it and play it yourself!