Reviews for The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of The Year Edition

70

Another good rpg game

Seibitsu | July 21, 2014 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

Morrowind is one of those old rpg games that despite being a little bit date, you'll enjoy it. As always you start being a prisoner who goes to a brand new land, Morrowind. There you'll be free to live your own adventure and it won't be like the ones you had in Oblivion or Skyrim. Brand new landscapes, a totally different style and of course, the same amount of fun.

99

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOA

Laputa677 | July 19, 2014 | See all Laputa677's reviews »

Wow....just....wow. There aren't many words out there that can properly express the love I have for this game, but I feel like I have to say something about this. The atmosphere and enviroments are the greatest I've ever seen in a game, the music is stunning and fits perfectly into the game. Yes, it has a few flaws, such as the slow intro and the mind-numbingly boring NPCs, but trust me when I say that if you're willing to perservere with the game for a few hours, then you'll fall in love with it very quickly. And as for the NPCs, you get some really cool NPCs with the LGNPC mod. Trust me, it's worth downloading Speaking of which, there's mods for this. Lots. A huge amount, in fact. Bugs and glitches bothering you? There's a patch for that. Want to explore new places and take up new quests? There's a mod for that. Feel like the game looks dated? There's a mod for that. The game was already long in vanilla, but with all the mods out there to improve the game's experience it's safe to assume that you'll probably never run out of things to do in Morrowind. Simply put, it's an RPG masterpiece, and anyone with a passing interest in RPGs needs to play this game

96

You don't regret buying it

CARLEST | July 5, 2014 | See all CARLEST's reviews »

This game here is one of the best games you'll ever play. The story in this game is awesome, monsters are cool, spooky and hard to beat. Morrowind might seem old to you, but the storyline counts more than graphics. This game has best storyline that's ever been made! But still, if you can't enjoy it because of old graphics, you can download some mods and make it look even better. Some people also make SkyWind, a mixture of Skyrim and Morrowind. If that mod is finished, you can play Morrowind with Skyrim graphics. Anyway, this is one of the best games you'll ever play. I can recommend this to everybody. Only con of it is that it isn't fully voice-acted. It has a lot of text that you must read without any voice, but it isn't that bad. Now, go and buy it!

84

Dated yet Great

884okeoJ | June 30, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

I picked up Morrowind a while ago and finally sunk my teeth into it over the past few days. While the combat is admittedly clunky and the graphics have certainly not aged very well, Morrowind is still, at its core, a masterpiece. The sprawling world is full of quests, dungeons, and caves that will cause you to spend countless hours immersed in an enthralling fantasy world. The leveling system is in-depth and allows you to truely customize the way you play. The sheer amount of content Morrowind provides compounded with the potential for additional mods to be installed is enough to warrant a purchase for any role playing game fan.

70

Extremely dated, but wroth it.

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

Let's start from the cons:

the combat system is dated. It relies on your stats to determine your chance to hit or miss, which means that no matter you want to be a flexible thief, an unstoppable mage or a fierce warrior, you'll still spend countless hours killing cliffhangers outside of a town to level up.

A lot of worthless text. NPCs have very little to say that's unique to them. That means that whether you ask about the town from a bartender, or a guard, the version that they tell you will be word for word the same.

Graphics. Especially the low FOV. Fellow players that are suffering from dizzyness from FOV doing low - get ready to mod!

Pros

A very very unique atmosphere. I recently bought the Morrowind Isle DLC for Skyrim and well... It doesn't capture the magic of this one. If you're interested in TES series this is one instalment that you're not allowed to miss.

Story. The story and the side quests are all very interesting. The world feels worth exploring. There's so much lore in this game.

To sum up - it's not anywhere the standard of a new game. It feels clunky and old. However it's a must play for all that it is and for everything that it feels like.

86

One of the best RPGs ever!

DemiGoth | April 1, 2014 | See all DemiGoth's reviews »

I've bought Morrowind when it was released back in the days and still have the discs and box. I also have bought both the DLC packs on dics. But time progresses and inserting discs becomes 'not of this time'. so I decided to buy Morrowind digitally as well. Now that I have Morrowind digitally I will most likely play it more than when I have it on CD ;-) Though the game has aged over time (good thing there are a number of graphical MODs out there to counter the aging).

Back in the days I have played Morrowind for over 100 hours for sure, and never made it to 'the end', as far as there is an ending to this game, but now I hope to get to 'the end' of Morrowind. The atmosphere of the game is excellent, and the world really feels alive. It's a world where your actions matter and have consequences. In all, I even dare to say that this one is the best Elder Scroll game to date!

85

Admittedly flawed, extremely dated, undisputedly a masterpiece.

Shodex | March 30, 2014 | See all Shodex's reviews »

It's 2014 at the time of writing, Morrowind is an old game. It's seen two sequels, Oblivion and Skyrim. But despite the huge financial success of it's successors, Morrowind is still the reigning champion of The Elder Scrolls franchise.

Morrowind thrusts you into the island of Vvardenfell, homeland of the Dunmer (Dark Elves), an otherworldly and mysterious world ripe for exploration. You begin your journey in a small village named Seyda Neen in the boggy Bitter Coast, your first quest see's you headed to the city of Balmora. On your trip you'll head through the Ascadian Isles and see giant mushrooms tower above the trees, jellyfish like creates float through the sky, among all other mannerisms of deliciously bizarre scenery.

The Elder Scrolls doesn't need an introduction, you know the basics of the gameplay. You adventure around a huge game world, going as you please and making a name for yourself as a hero. But if you're coming from Skyrim or Oblivion, your road to legendary won't be so easily walked this time. Morrowind is much more in depth and challenging, combat has more in common with D&D dice rolls than the action combat of the sequels. If you want to just jump in and have some fun without worry Morrowind simply isn't for you.

If you're a patient RPG enthusiast who loves learning interesting lore, exploring every nook and cranny, casting a wide range of spells, and using all sorts of weapons, Morrowind is an unmatched experience. And like Oblivion and Skyrim after it, Morrowind's mod support is phenomenal. Though sadly at time of writing many old mod sites have since gone down and disappeared, but there are still more than enough mods to be found online to expand your playtime or just make the game a little less dated.

Morrowind can be painfully slow in the early portions of the game, it's old and it shows it, but even through all it's dust the pure gold shines brightly. This is a game that all hardcore RPG fans must play.

93

Unforgettable

robinrs1212 | March 30, 2014 | See all robinrs1212's reviews »

The first of it's kind. This game redesigned how games are played and kicked off a great series of games that get better with every release. (I don't count the previous elder scrolls games as they have the feel of a different game)

100

The genredefining game that saved Bethesda from bankruptcy!

sas41 | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all sas41's reviews »

The game that showed me the what and RPG should be like, a game that gives you so much freedom that most often than not, you will be lost! This is Morrowind, this is "The" RPG, and my all time favorite Elder Scrolls game, and here is why.

MW (Morrowind) is a game that from after the first 5 minutes, let you be completely free, you can go anywhere, do anything, kill anyone, steam any item, or break in to any house. Every Quest in the game is optional except the main quest and even that is something you may not finish in your first (10) tries. The entire game is based upon freedom and it tells you a story if you want to listen, and gives you the freedom to do or not do any of the quests. Is your quest to find a ring? KEEP THE RING! or Give it to its owner. The choice is always yours but beware, for there will be consequences! The game for its time is regarded as the genre defining masterpiece, a gem crafted so carefully, that to this day it stands the test of time simply by reputation. Every complaint you might have based on personal preference can be fixed by using 3rd party mods, some improving graphics with crazy levels of detail and hight polygon models and high-res textures, or completely changing the dice-roll combat system, this game is regarded as a classic, and for a good reason. It has so much replayability that, you might play it for months to come if not years!

90

This game showed me what an RPG game was. Just try it.

homes223 | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all homes223's reviews »

Story: You are the chosen one. Fufill the prophecy.

Graphics: Good for it's time.

Audio: Mostly text dialogue but some voiceovers. Not bad.

Missions: Hundreds of Quests.

Controls: Classic TES. Remap to your liking.

Features: It's TES, Amazing. Combat is bland and could use some work/

A.I.: Sometimes feel like cardboard but it's playable/

Loading Times: Average.

Multiplayer: None. Mod's if you want it.

Requirements: Low/

Weapons: Many.

The Good: One of the longest games ever.

The Bad: A.I. and combat could have been better.

The Ugly: The last boss, he's nasty.

Replay Ability: High.

The Bottom Line: This game showed me what an RPG game was. Just try it.

93

The "big bang" in the elder scrolls franchise

drakso | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

This is basically the game that threw the Elder Scrolls franchise up on the gaming charts. The vast land called Morrowind with its many creatures, cities, landscapes and factions made the game a masterpiece for its time. The world tells fantastic stories and even tho the textures and models are not up to snuff in this current generation of games, the ideas and designs of the creatures and cities are very well done. The many talents, spells and gear just make the game more engaging. One thing that no other Elder Scrolls game has is the combination of spells and making your own. For those of you that really want to experience this game but are turned off by the graphics, there is a mod for HD textures and better animations, so look that up. This game is one of the games that made me love the RPG genre and I really recommend to anyone that loves that kind of games. The only thing that gets a bit boring is the GUI and the lack of voice acting, meaning: you have to read all the quests, and the texts are usually not that short.

72

Interesting Setting, Wanting in other parts.

bareknuckledbri | Dec. 8, 2013 | See all bareknuckledbri's reviews »

I'm into the Elder Scrolls series. I'm into rpgs in general both of the modern and crpg variety. My favorites include the likes of Planescape, Baldur's Gate and some recent rpgs like New Vegas (definitely pick this up if you haven't) and the Witcher.

I want to love Morrowind, but my countless attempts to play through it both when it was launched and when it gathered a diehard fan-base just haven't panned out. My biggest issues with Morrowind are just that it's gameplay is so meek it hurts every single other aspect.

Combat is of the dice-roll variety, with attributes determining the chance of hit, block, and spell-cast. I'm normally fine with this, but it just doesn't transition well to this 3-D fps action-driven combat. Each attack with a weapon has a varying damage based on the angle, but there is never a reason not to use most damaging attack. There's no special properties to the attacks like in Daggerfall and Oblivion. There isn't even the ability to shield-bash or dual-wield like in it's much streamlined grandson Skyrim. Even with magic thrown into the mix, I just find newer and older rpgs in my inventory that have better combat than Morrowind. The difficulty just isn't there once you understand what attributes contribute to your success, and once you master combat, it's just a brainless chore you have to complete to progress your journey through this intriguing world. There's not a single encounter I recall where I had to use a tactic above switching to a different weapon and spamming the attack (stopping occasionally to down a potion).

Truly, I think Morrowind would've been better with more quests and choices where you could entirely avoid combat through dialogue. Because the world and characters are the most interesting aspects. It's much like Planescape as in your immersion relies on how far you delve into the world. If you're a story-oriented person (whose perfectly fine to read before listen), ignore my combat comment and play this game now. It personally didn't appeal to me, I've just never been a fan of the prophesied hero story. Yet I won't deny the writing is above average for video games (uncommon in Bethesda) and the lore kinda interesting (if you're into high fantasy like DnD's FR). If there's one thing I must point out to those coming from Oblivion and Skyrim, it's this.

There's no waypoints. Only points on the map you fill out. You will have to read sometimes humorously crappy directions. You'll have to remember these directions. You'll spend a good deal of time on the map screen. You'll also have to write those directions down if you easily forget things. This doesn't bother me, but I've seen some people uninstall the game and never give it a second chance.

You can bemoan this, but I've always honestly felt the directions and map screen just distract from my immersion in the world (I prefer to spend less time on screens and remembering directions). I've gotten familiar enough with the map that I never have to peek at the screen again, but it is a learning curve. A curve I can't blame anyone from criticizing.

In the end, I just can't say the whole package is perfect. There's just too many things that are dated in Morrowind that prevents me from recommending it to everyone. If you're curious about the older Scrolls games, give it a shot at the current sale ($9.99). Just remember this isn't your Oblivion or Skyrim, it's older, clunkier, but it might have a charm in the story that will appeal to you.

But me? I'll stick to my old isometric games. For story I'd recommend the fantastic LoK games over Morrowind. For game-play? New Vegas and Dark Souls will feed you well. Both of those also possess exceptionally interesting worlds that by my preference outshine Morrowind.

96

A Deep, Intellectual Game

cybrxkhan | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all cybrxkhan's reviews »

Morrowind may be over a decade old, but I was still enchanted by it when I picked it up relatively recently a couple of years back. Having already played quite a bit of Oblivion, which I enjoyed immensely, I was expecting good things from Morrowind. Sure, while Morrowind may lack the gameplay and graphical improvements of Oblivion and Skyrim, it more than makes up for it with lore and one of the best-crafted settings in fiction - ever. The amount of detail and nuance put into creating the deep and complex society of Morrowind was, and is, and will probably be, something that is rare among video games. Here is a game where you could, if you wanted, consider the consequences of colonization and the struggle between tradition and newness; here is a game where, like in real life, history as told by the authorities may or may not be accurate, and even the “bad guy” has his own perspective and bias; here is a game where you can eat strange food like scrib jelly and go into mines that mine insectoid eggs. Morrowind is a magical place, a place that feels, in some way, real, and very similar to ours in the complexity of its setting. If you’re looking for a game with a complex and nuanced setting, and the freedom to do whatever you felt like, Morrowind is a safe bet.

96

Gorgeous Game, Not Without a Few Glitches

Asuyuka | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all Asuyuka's reviews »

I am a big Elder Scrolls player. When people ask me what my favorite game is, they're often surprised to hear it's not Oblivion or Skyrim. It's Morrowind, the oldest of the 3D main games, who has, by now, aged a few years, and on some respects, it shows.

But don't disregard it just yet. At its core is an RPG experience worth remembering. Beautiful, alien worlds of large mushrooms and ash lands, a story that is quite memorable, large dungeons with tons to explore.

It does have its own quirks though. Your ability to successfully cast spells or hit things with weapons is severely limited at early levels, waiting until you level up your stats a bit. The bodies are atrocious, as they come out of the box, but this can be fixed with a couple of mods.

The mods. Yes, I've come to the mods. This game is amazingly malleable, with some of the standards being graphic overhauls and the Better Body mods, and others let you add custom races, armor, spells, new storylines and quests, entirely new continents to explore, etc.

In short, don't let its age fool you. This is a good, solid game.

92

Great Game

JJ136wain | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all JJ136wain's reviews »

This is a old game and the graphics are now outdated but don't let that put you off. this game is a masterpiece. It has great a great soundtrack, interesting quest lines and has a lovely world to explore. If you do buy this masterpiece I would recommend Graphics overhaul 3.0. It improves the graphics and adds in patches and over amazing helpful tweaks. Not to mention the character creation/customisation what is amazing it gave your character a lot more depth. The only flaws are what I believe are the dungeons they all seem the same but are filled with action when you come to the mini boss fights. But if you loved oblivion or skyrim this is a must buy it has a more gripping main quest line and a better combat system.

88

The begining of a passion

indoom1 | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all indoom1's reviews »

After playing morrowind, I was seriously left with only 1 option.. Make a new character and replay it. Over. and over again. This game brough me into the RPG genre. make a character, and who it is is totally up to you, a map that takes untold amounts of hours to explore, even with its dated graphics you can enjoy this wonderful game.

89

Very good game from Bethesda

segrand | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all segrand's reviews »

Extremely good game that has great support for mods. You can improve it in every possible way, adding more and more new things, improving the present and play najprawdę good production. Of course it is good to start from the previous section. Want to play Skyrim'a? Consult first with a true legend!

97

May not have aged that well, but there are mods for that!

BubbaSquare | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

Morrowind once was a revolutionary, groundbreaking game. It was mind-blowing back then much more so than Skyrim today (and some say Morrowind is a better game anyways) The graphics may have not aged that well, but there are TONS of available mods that would fix that, which, in my opinion, is the only fault of the game. The gameplay, fighting mechanics, and overall quest makes it an epic game that no PC gamer should miss!

94

Great stuff, especially for it's time

DarkGolbez | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all DarkGolbez's reviews »

It still holds up today, but the graphics are a bit dated now, but that's expected. I only have 2 complaints about this game: the repetitive caves/dungeons, and the atrocious leveling system. Other than that, the exploration, vast world, and variety of styles that you can play will keep you coming back for more. It's easy to get distracted on many different tangents that catch your eye. Pick it up on the cheap, as it often is these days.

100

Alright

Xillion | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

This game is quite old. The character customization is great and so is the music. The graphics posed as a problem as i played through the game but it can be fixed. With the morrowwind overhaul mod, the graphics are renewed and it looks absolutely beautiful. It automatically tops off Oblivion and Skyrim in terms of story. If you want want a real adventure, definitely get this.

93

Hard to beat

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

I think this is the game that originally got me into RPGs, and even today it sends me shiver down my spine when I hear it's theme. The primary thing I enjoyed about this game was the grinding, it takes a while to become strong but is well worth it. Also has a superb campaign, and I recommend this to anyone who likes a good tale. If you like old games and Skyrim, you'll probably love this!

41

I didn't like it that much.

ColeYote | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all ColeYote's reviews »

Admittedly playing Fallout 3, Fallout NV, Skyrim and Oblivion before this might've ruined it for me, but I didn't find this a particularly enjoyable experience. It just hasn't aged well. My biggest two issues would be the game mechanics (many of which are really, really dated) and the lack of voice acting.

92

Truly engrossing!

Angelos79 | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Angelos79's reviews »

Though simpler than Oblivion, this game is truly one of the best, most immersing games you can purchase today. I would suggest giving it a thorough playthrough (actually, thorough is relative in this Case) before advancing to Oblivion. I first got this game as a gift with an old Video Card and have never forgotten the experience, Live the experience, it will be worth it! And then move on to Fallout 3 :)

97

Bethesda's Peak

Asrafil | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Asrafil's reviews »

After all this years and games, Morrowind still stands as the best work from the team at Bethesda. The weirdness of the world catches your attention from the start, the amount of options at your disposal (skills, weapons, spells,etc), quests and hidden places is impressive. While the story has been always a low point of the saga, this entry managed to finally deliver a worthy story for an epic game.

100

Probably the best game, certainly the best game of it's time.

EDP | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

Just looking at the huge community Morrowind had and still has must mean something. It's not strange this game got so many awards, it is a masterpiece and it still is. The graphics were way ahead of it's time and still can look awfully decent with or without some graphics enhancing mods.

This game's success way the one and only basis for the huge Oblivion and Skyrim successes. No wonder Oblivion and Skyrim got their mother-load of awards in their time. All because of Morrowind kicking all other same-genre-game's asses so the way to the top was cleared.

On Morrowind GotY: this is such a wonderful set of content for this game. It's a complete world with so much depth. The lore itself has fan sites dedicated entirely on it. This is your second life, only back in 2002 when this game was first released. Get it now!

100

One of the best

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

Morrowind was the first Elder Scrolls, and indeed Bethesda games I had ever played. Immediately, I was blown away- I've spent hours upon hours on this legendary game- and I can honestly say that it is 10 times better than a lot of games on the market today!

100

Beats most games today!

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

Morrowind was the first Elder Scrolls game I'd ever played. It was so open world and free that I could hardly put it down! The game is so vast, and Immersive that hours could go by, and it would only feel like seconds. I'd easily put 50 hours into this game, and every moment of it was amazing! Creating your character was so cool, for the first time you felt like you'd actually just made someone that feel as though they could've been a real person, or monster, and then getting to play as them and complete quests, it's such a cool feeling! You can choose who your character becomes by doing deeds or good, or deeds of evil. You can join different guilds that represent different things, like the thieves guild, or the warriors guild. The possibilities in this game are simply endless! And since this comes with the two extra DLC, that means that you could new weapons, perks, more quests, and add so much more content into the game! This game, is totally worth the buy!

100

Still a amazing game.

drafek | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Morrowind was one of the first open world games I played, it's a gigantic map, and I really enjoyed everything about it. In the beginning you wake up in a ship, and the empire has ordered that you'll be leaved at Morrowind. There are alot of weapons sorts and there also are alot of unique weapons. There also is magic, which is done great. I've played this game 200-300 hours. The cities are great and the villages are done well. One downside is the people say more than let's say skyrim, but random enemies all say the same (there is a mod that fix that though). Because this is the GOTY edition there are also 2 new dlc, in one of them you can transform into a werewolf. This game could be outdated for some people, but there's a fix for that! There are alot of mods (armor's, extra quests etc) and also mods that make morrowind a nicer game, better detail and better models, or you just can download skywind (a mod that plays morrowind in the skyrim engine) if you own skyrim. Best game ever in my opinion.