Reviews for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Deluxe


One of my favorite games.

Lithyin | Nov. 20, 2015 | See all Lithyin's reviews »

Admittedly now a days the graphics are a bit wonky compared to new games, but I have sunk over a thousand hours on this game (combined time on xbox 360 and PC). Mods add a huge chunk life to the game. Huge open world with great RPG use to create whatever kind of character you want, Ive tried tons of combinations and still come up with new character ideas. The Shivering Isle dlc that adds another whole strange plane of oblivion to explore. Sheogorath is my favorite NPC and daedric prince, his realm is so diverse and interesting as well. Everything to the extreme. Knights of the Nine adds an interesting option especially for characters that follow the path of the holy man or do-good-er.


One of the best RPGs there is

The1337N00Bx | July 21, 2015 | See all The1337N00Bx's reviews »

I played this game when it first came out and was the only game I played for probably a month afterwards. Insanely addicting and fun, great story, huge open world to explore, and hundreds of hours of side quests to explore. Of all the Elder Scrolls games, this is the one I poured the most time into. Graphics aren't great, but for a game of its age, that's to be expected. Any RPG fan needs to play this game.


The middle child of the modern Elder Scrolls.

Shodex | June 24, 2015 | See all Shodex's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind was a very harsh and alien game, it was an old school CRPG meant for old school CRPG players. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim was, by contrast, a very streamlined game. It was much more balanced than it's predecessor, and much more easily accessible for any type of gamer. Well, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is the transitioning point. Often seen now through rose coloured glasses, Elder Scrolls fans were very split on Oblivion. Honestly can you blame us? We were used to the complicated and challenging nature of Morrowind, the unique and varied landscapes. Then Oblivion takes away all of that challenge, and all of the landscapes look like the same forest and meadow. So does that make Oblivion not worth playing? No, because despite the bold steps it took to make The Elder Scrolls more easily acceptable. There is still a great game lying beneath. It's just brought down by some new ideas that would later be refined in Skyrim. On the surface, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a much simpler game than Morrowind. The combat is easier, there are less skills and items, NPCs have less dialogue. But what you get still ends up being a grand adventure, with a level of freedom few games have ever come close to replicating. I would recommend, for anyone looking to get more of a challenge out of this game, try playing with the Oscuro's Oblivion Overhaul mod. It removes the level scaling in favour of Morrowind style enemies and loot. The mod was so well made that Obsidian hired him to work on Fallout: New Vegas. That is really Oblivion's saving grace, with the magic of mods you can make it the game you want. Whatever that game may be.


A good time all around with a few caveats

testygamer | June 6, 2015 | See all testygamer's reviews »

Do I recommend Oblivion to you? Yes. Of course there are some things to keep in mind. First let me just say some really great things about this game. Overall I do think this game stands its ground even with the release of Skyrim. This game has some really memorable side quests (some of which leave you in awe). You could absolutely lose yourself in the many side quests Oblivion has to offer. I will give you an example of one of my favorite side quests(I won't spoil anything). You are given the task of finding a young girl and you are told that she was heading to a certain town. When you get to this town you find that everyone there is very distant and the town itself is rather empty. If you ask about the girl, people get very annoyed and even tell you to stop talking nonsense and to leave if you didn't want trouble... This made me very suspicious because when I went into the local tavern and into one of the rooms I rented out for the night you find an item that belongs to this girl. So now you know she has been here and ....I'll let you figure out the crazy things that ensue afterwards. The shivering isles dlc is a great add on and it seriously adds many hours to the game. It is however very difficult at times(at least for me). The beauty of pc games is that you can just type the good old (tgm-toggle god mode) and go through a level if you really wish to ( I do recommend trying to actually beat the missions manually). Negative: One of the biggest negatives is the fact that enemies scale to your level. Yes that may sound counter intuitive but it really is a draw. As you level up the oblivion gates become really difficult. And if you go high enough they can become downright unfair. It is definitely wise to go through as many of the gates you can at a lower level so that you can have an easier time with them. However, if you know this ahead of time I can't see this being too much of an issue. I would absolutely get this game if I were you. It isn't as pretty as skyrim but it definitely is worth playing. P.S The dark brotherhood missions in this game are way better than the ones in skyrim(I love the mission in the "mansion" esque cool)


It will make you forget to eat and sleep

akassassinn1 | April 23, 2015 | See all akassassinn1's reviews »

get ready to indulge in the biggest RPG you've ever played , and to make a huge deal of decisions along your journey in the Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion . You're tasked to find the heir of the emperor of Cyrodil after a number of attacks from the Oblivion realm on the Empire start increasing threatening the existence of the world , a very good and well executed plot that makes the game enjoyable but you'll soon forget since the game has so much to offer and encourages you to stray of the path and look for more outside the main quest , many guilds to join and many tombs to raid and plunder, huge amount of rare loot to gain , and 10 distinct skills to master to increase your chances of surviving , the game offers many play styles to pick from magic , heavy and rogue like combat , you start the game by choosing your race and few skills that will determine how you play the game ahead , few issues in the game might be game breaking as it's absolutely huge , you'll encounter a lot of bugs so it's imperative to save the game as often as you can , and some fighting systems are under developed like the archery ( my favorite) ,which was saved by the ability to mod the game, huge collection of mods that will change and shift you experience entirely and add even more quests and whole campaign lines to your game . there are 4 main factions as well as 9 or more side factions with a load of stuff for you to do , if you were a hardcore RPG gamer or just a casual player ,you'll find something to do here, an absolute must play classic .


Hundreds of hours of fun

LSD | Dec. 20, 2014 | See all LSD's reviews »

Oblivion was the first RPG game i played, and i absolutely loved it. If you've played a Bethesda game before, you'll know exactly what to expect -- and when i say "exactly", i mean "precisely", because every game since Oblivion has been more-or-less a copy & paste experience. If you haven't, though, then Oblivion is the perfect place to start. The graphics are fantastic, if a little dated (and severely over-saturated), and the gameplay is 100% the same as the recent Bethesda titles, which means there's no need to be put off by the fact the game is over 8 years old. The game is essentially a huge open world comprised of 9 large cities and hundreds of individual settlements, dungeons, ruins and forts; and to go with those hundreds of locations are dozens upon dozens of quests -- some of them intricate questlines, others short side-missions. The world is interesting and varied, the characters are numerous and life-like, the quests are all good fun, the story is fantastic... ...sadly, however, the the level system is severely flawed. The level system is just awful, forcing you to min-max to avoid being hampered, as the game levels all foes up with the player, while also forgoing the use of experience -- instead granting level progress based on your usage of skills. The flaw with this is that if the skill-ups you received weren't combat-related, you can't level up combat-attributes, meaning you'll be facing levelled up foes with stats that might not be able to match their abilities. It's still a fantastic game, but the level system really drags it down.


I Never Even Played the Main Quest

tedesco75 | Sept. 17, 2014 | See all tedesco75's reviews »

Looking back on Oblivion, it was good at the time and it showed glimpses of what would become Skyrim but to go back to it now is an exercise in difficulty. The voice acting is great (who doesn't love Patrick Stuart?) but as with most Bethesda games the story is not really the main draw here so you may not really hear all of it unless you are drawn in to the story (I wasn't). I have logged over a hundred hours in this game and I have never made it past the second or third story quest as there is so much to do and so many ways to play that you can get distracted. Of course as I have said many times not all is roses there are a number of problems with this game that only seem more glaring as the years go by. The leveling system is downright atrocious. It is cryptic and difficult to understand. Once you do figure it out you might decide it's better to not level at all as the world levels with you so soon you will be facing bandits wearing armor to match your own. This is something that Bethesda fixed in Fallout 3 and Oblivion but if you want to play without mods be ready. That segues into my next big beef with this game which is the combat it is not really very fun to play as a melee character and I opted to go full stealth so I never really fought anyone. It is neat you can roleplay that much but I did it because the mechanics sucked. Overall Oblivion was fun at the time of it's release and there is a lot of good stuff here, but you are better off playing one of the new Fallout games or Skyrim.


Old but gold

CARLEST | July 5, 2014 | See all CARLEST's reviews »

Have you ever wanted to visit Oblivion? Now is your chance! This game offers you everything that you need in a good RPG. It has a good storyline, nice graphics and good voice actors. Mainly, what you need to do is find the kings son and shut the gates to oblivion. There are many cool monsters that you need to fight with and it is pretty hard sometimes. The cities are really nice and colourful. And the most awesome building, White Gold Tower is really nice. First I bought this game to visit those nice cities but now I play it and the game is really awesome. The DLCs add really much content and are pretty long in my opinion. I'll recommend this game to everyone. Go and get it!


A fantastic fantasy world

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I initially played this game when it first appeared, in 2006 and I remember that I loved it a lot back then, the game had me hooked instantly, with the epic story and beautiful scenery. I had no mods back then. But now I do and I must say that thanks to those, this game is better than many games that were released in 2010 or later. There are mods for everything (better graphics, fun and content) and whereas the initial game keeps its extreme level of epicness, these spectacular mods improve the replay value and make it worth a lot more than its price. This game is worth every penny and it will have you hooked for hundreds of hours, just like Skyrim.


Adventure, Anyone?

xiluxpain | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

One of my very first RPG game was coincidentally The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. What makes this game appealing at first sight is easily the brilliant art. When I first observed a family member play Oblivion, I was enchanted. I immediately went out and found myself a copy. What makes Oblivion a great game is the ease of control. You, yourself control the movements of your character with great flexibility. You will soon find the list of skills, magic, and variety of weapons and armors that affect your movement and progress in the game. In Oblivion, you start off as your in-depth, customized character that may be one of several races. You find yourself in a jail, but are soon free to face an unknown danger. Aside from the main story-line quests, there are many side quests which greatly enhance your game. You can join many guilds, wield a variety of weapons, own property, and journey on your own. One of the greatest features, in my opinion, is the freedom of side quests, and most importantly, the option to simply slay everyone in sight. That's right, you can kill just about everyone so long as they are not required for the main quest. There are also tons of mods you can download to further enhance the game. Stripping your fallen enemies is also an option. Till this day, I don't believe I've even completed all the quests possible.



mcofdiablo | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

Well, Oblivion. It was my first big RPG game. I have spent so many hours just travelling in its world,having forgotten about the main story. It is beautiful. Although, the main story is also interesting to play, but it is pretty short. You start as the nameless character (just like in Skyrim). You complete the first few tasks which serve as a tutorial, and then you are free to do anything you want. You can visit cities and complete different quests given by NPC's, you can enter different fractions (thieves, soldiers) and complete their quests. Gameplay is exciting, as well. Comparing to Gothic, which is also considered as one of the best RPG's, Oblivion has some advantages. The main one is that you have to repair armour and weapons. Simple thing, but if adds some realism. And there are horses! I know, today it isn't a surprise, but back in 2009 it was. All in all, if you missed this game, shame on you. Buy it. Right now.


One of the best games i've ever played!

Goldenheaven | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Goldenheaven's reviews »

I fully enjoyed this game as i played i found it has an engaging story and will keep you busy for some hours a day, even when i got bored with the history i went down to the brotherhood to become a vampire and wrecked chaos. You can engage in various activities in this game like lockpicking, thievery, horse riding, become a mage and these are just a few. If bored i also recomend to search for some mods, but i kid you not when i say this game will be carved in your memory for the years to come.


A great game that can play on almost any computer!

cordellv | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all cordellv's reviews »

Although the PC interface is a little clunky, I love this game. It's main story, plus all the side quests and DLC quests make for a very engrossing and long game. I could easily put 100+ hours into the base game itself. And, with the glorious PC edition, we got mods, and a very good community for them! You could easily triple the amount of content and add new types of gameplay. I used to have this game on my old laptop that was fairly competent in gaming, and I could play it on high settings with a mid range graphics card and 4 gigs of ram. I now have a computer with 3 gigs of ram and a basic video card and I can still play it on the low settings! I recommend this game to anyone who likes free roaming western RPG, or anyone that likes games in a fantasy setting.


One of My Favorite RPGs of All Time

rct2guy | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all rct2guy's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a very beautiful game. Although its graphics seem quite primitive for today's standards, the lush, floral scenery mixed with the use of HDR and set to the tune of some Jeremy Soule classics help bring this game up to be one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Although combat can sometimes feel clunky, and some bugs make the game seem quite broken, the storytelling in the game is unbelievably good, and allows the player to immerse themselves and literally hundreds of hours worth of content. With the expansions and plug-ins included with the GotY Deluxe edition, and the available custom content via the modding community, this game is definitely worth the incredibly low price it's currently offered at.


Best RPG

JJ136wain | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all JJ136wain's reviews »

Oblivion has to be my favourite RPG I've played. I really love this games storyline its tense and gripping but if you are not a big fan of it there are plenty of other storylines like the dark brotherhood or thieves guild. With oblivion I get a totally different feel than I did with skyrim. Oblivion I believe is a lot more fantasy. I prefer the character creation what was in this game and morrowind a lot more with the basic one In skyrim. But if you liked morrowind or skyrim you would love this it has a lot of tes lore involved. And to top this amazing game off it has first person on horses and the Arena.


A Classic

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Lleris's reviews »

By this time, Oblivion's reputation is really enough to speak for itself. An amazing game which you can just play again and again and again. If anything sets the benchmark for fantasy RPGs, it's the Elder Scroll series. Time and time again, they create immersing worlds for us to enter and in my humble opinion, Oblivion is the best (or, it certainly is my favourite). You do not even need a remote interest in RPGs to be recommended this game. This is a game that is easily good for everyone to play (age ratings aside, of course). Just get the damn game.


One of the best RPG's made

KingMassive | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all KingMassive's reviews »

Oblivion was one of the first RPG's I ever played, and my god was it amazing. I played it for something like 115 hours, and that's not counting the second time I played it and the time I used to just mess around with command console. It has a cool story and great gameplay and lots of content to explore, and the DLC and expansions are just going to add to it. Oh, and it still has an active modding community that keeps adding to the already huge amount of content. It may feel and seem little outdated if you've only played Skyrim or other newer RPG's, but it shouldn't matter once you've played it for a few hours. So if you're a fan of role-playing games, add this game to your collection and be ready to lose your sleep.


A masterpiece

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Until I played Oblivion, I wasn't quite sure what a great RPG game was supposed to be like. After playing it for hundreds of hours, I would recommend this game to anyone, even people who don't love RPG games. It's a very deep, incredible game with a decent story and seemingly limitless opportunities for the player. The DLCs are up to par with modern games coming out, so I highly recommend the Deluxe edition. This a real solid title, up there with The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time in terms of lasting value.


Great RPG game

Jimmysil | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

This was the first Elder of Scrolls game I have played. I have to say that I feel sorry that I never tried the ones before. It's a perfect game with great gameplay. The first person view feels extremly natural, and it lets you really enjoy the game. Don't hesitate and buy it immediatelly.


Best game of 2006 and after, until Skyrim came.

EDP | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

Oblivion's predecessor -- Morrowind -- is still one of the best games ever developed. Such masterpiece called for a successor and a success it has become. The combined facts of Oblivion having a huge hit baby brother and the internet becoming more and more world wide made Oblivion a hugely popular game. The community was and still is huge. There are an infinite number of mods available, some of which are essential for bug free gameplay. This game has it all. Enter in a world where you can be anything. Don't expect fairytale elves or gore filled battles only, you make the game and play what you want to play. Get your set of favourite mods and play one of the best games ever made by mankind.


Best Elder Scrolls Game

Kevduit | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

When I played the Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind, I knew that they couldn't stop there. Bethesda then went out to create one of the greatest RPG games of all time, no, let me rephrase that, THE best RPG game of all time. I've put countless hours into this games, and couldn't put it down for hours because of how immersive and fun it was. I actually still play it, even though Skyrim is out. I've probably put more than 100+ hours into this game, and haven't even made a dent into it, that tells you that the company put a lot of time and effort into this game. The weapons are amazing, and you can actually customize them! The character customization at the beginning of them game was very detailed, and covered every aspect of what you wanted your character to look like, so that when you played, you felt as though this character really had a life, and you were making their choices. Altogether, Oblivion is, and will always be, one of my favorite games of all time! Totally worth the money!


Amazing Elder scrolls game!

drafek | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

After Morrowind The elder scrolls has build a fan based, but the series still had to proof itself. But it was fantastic! I've put 200+ hours into this game, not including the dlc's I got 20-40+ hours into the dlc's! You can become a swordman, a archer and even a mage! Or just combine them all! You even can become a thief! This game is worth it, it does have good graphics, there also are graphics mods, which makes the game even better. The gameplay is good, sometimes the magic part is a little bit hard, but it's okay. The soundtrack of this game is amazing! I enjoyed listening to it. This game is worth every penny!