Reviews for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Deluxe

94

A fantastic fantasy world

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I initially played this game when it first appeared, in 2006 and I remember that I loved it a lot back then, the game had me hooked instantly, with the epic story and beautiful scenery.

I had no mods back then. But now I do and I must say that thanks to those, this game is better than many games that were released in 2010 or later. There are mods for everything (better graphics, fun and content) and whereas the initial game keeps its extreme level of epicness, these spectacular mods improve the replay value and make it worth a lot more than its price.

This game is worth every penny and it will have you hooked for hundreds of hours, just like Skyrim.

98

Adventure, Anyone?

xiluxpain | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

One of my very first RPG game was coincidentally The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. What makes this game appealing at first sight is easily the brilliant art.

When I first observed a family member play Oblivion, I was enchanted. I immediately went out and found myself a copy.

What makes Oblivion a great game is the ease of control. You, yourself control the movements of your character with great flexibility. You will soon find the list of skills, magic, and variety of weapons and armors that affect your movement and progress in the game.

In Oblivion, you start off as your in-depth, customized character that may be one of several races. You find yourself in a jail, but are soon free to face an unknown danger. Aside from the main story-line quests, there are many side quests which greatly enhance your game.

You can join many guilds, wield a variety of weapons, own property, and journey on your own.

One of the greatest features, in my opinion, is the freedom of side quests, and most importantly, the option to simply slay everyone in sight. That's right, you can kill just about everyone so long as they are not required for the main quest. There are also tons of mods you can download to further enhance the game. Stripping your fallen enemies is also an option.

Till this day, I don't believe I've even completed all the quests possible.

95

Classic

mcofdiablo | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

Well, Oblivion. It was my first big RPG game. I have spent so many hours just travelling in its world,having forgotten about the main story. It is beautiful. Although, the main story is also interesting to play, but it is pretty short.

You start as the nameless character (just like in Skyrim). You complete the first few tasks which serve as a tutorial, and then you are free to do anything you want. You can visit cities and complete different quests given by NPC's, you can enter different fractions (thieves, soldiers) and complete their quests.

Gameplay is exciting, as well. Comparing to Gothic, which is also considered as one of the best RPG's, Oblivion has some advantages. The main one is that you have to repair armour and weapons. Simple thing, but if adds some realism. And there are horses! I know, today it isn't a surprise, but back in 2009 it was.

All in all, if you missed this game, shame on you. Buy it. Right now.

97

One of the best games i've ever played!

Goldenheaven | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Goldenheaven's reviews »

I fully enjoyed this game as i played i found it has an engaging story and will keep you busy for some hours a day, even when i got bored with the history i went down to the brotherhood to become a vampire and wrecked chaos.

You can engage in various activities in this game like lockpicking, thievery, horse riding, become a mage and these are just a few.

If bored i also recomend to search for some mods, but i kid you not when i say this game will be carved in your memory for the years to come.

85

A great game that can play on almost any computer!

cordellv | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all cordellv's reviews »

Although the PC interface is a little clunky, I love this game. It's main story, plus all the side quests and DLC quests make for a very engrossing and long game. I could easily put 100+ hours into the base game itself. And, with the glorious PC edition, we got mods, and a very good community for them! You could easily triple the amount of content and add new types of gameplay. I used to have this game on my old laptop that was fairly competent in gaming, and I could play it on high settings with a mid range graphics card and 4 gigs of ram. I now have a computer with 3 gigs of ram and a basic video card and I can still play it on the low settings! I recommend this game to anyone who likes free roaming western RPG, or anyone that likes games in a fantasy setting.

85

One of My Favorite RPGs of All Time

rct2guy | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all rct2guy's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a very beautiful game. Although its graphics seem quite primitive for today's standards, the lush, floral scenery mixed with the use of HDR and set to the tune of some Jeremy Soule classics help bring this game up to be one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Although combat can sometimes feel clunky, and some bugs make the game seem quite broken, the storytelling in the game is unbelievably good, and allows the player to immerse themselves and literally hundreds of hours worth of content. With the expansions and plug-ins included with the GotY Deluxe edition, and the available custom content via the modding community, this game is definitely worth the incredibly low price it's currently offered at.

95

Best RPG

JJ136wain | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all JJ136wain's reviews »

Oblivion has to be my favourite RPG I've played. I really love this games storyline its tense and gripping but if you are not a big fan of it there are plenty of other storylines like the dark brotherhood or thieves guild. With oblivion I get a totally different feel than I did with skyrim. Oblivion I believe is a lot more fantasy. I prefer the character creation what was in this game and morrowind a lot more with the basic one In skyrim. But if you liked morrowind or skyrim you would love this it has a lot of tes lore involved. And to top this amazing game off it has first person on horses and the Arena.

100

A Classic

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Lleris's reviews »

By this time, Oblivion's reputation is really enough to speak for itself. An amazing game which you can just play again and again and again. If anything sets the benchmark for fantasy RPGs, it's the Elder Scroll series. Time and time again, they create immersing worlds for us to enter and in my humble opinion, Oblivion is the best (or, it certainly is my favourite).

You do not even need a remote interest in RPGs to be recommended this game. This is a game that is easily good for everyone to play (age ratings aside, of course).

Just get the damn game.

93

One of the best RPG's made

KingMassive | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all KingMassive's reviews »

Oblivion was one of the first RPG's I ever played, and my god was it amazing. I played it for something like 115 hours, and that's not counting the second time I played it and the time I used to just mess around with command console.

It has a cool story and great gameplay and lots of content to explore, and the DLC and expansions are just going to add to it. Oh, and it still has an active modding community that keeps adding to the already huge amount of content.

It may feel and seem little outdated if you've only played Skyrim or other newer RPG's, but it shouldn't matter once you've played it for a few hours.

So if you're a fan of role-playing games, add this game to your collection and be ready to lose your sleep.

98

A masterpiece

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Until I played Oblivion, I wasn't quite sure what a great RPG game was supposed to be like. After playing it for hundreds of hours, I would recommend this game to anyone, even people who don't love RPG games. It's a very deep, incredible game with a decent story and seemingly limitless opportunities for the player. The DLCs are up to par with modern games coming out, so I highly recommend the Deluxe edition. This a real solid title, up there with The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time in terms of lasting value.

82

Great RPG game

Jimmysil | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

This was the first Elder of Scrolls game I have played. I have to say that I feel sorry that I never tried the ones before. It's a perfect game with great gameplay. The first person view feels extremly natural, and it lets you really enjoy the game. Don't hesitate and buy it immediatelly.

97

Best game of 2006 and after, until Skyrim came.

EDP | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

Oblivion's predecessor -- Morrowind -- is still one of the best games ever developed. Such masterpiece called for a successor and a success it has become. The combined facts of Oblivion having a huge hit baby brother and the internet becoming more and more world wide made Oblivion a hugely popular game. The community was and still is huge. There are an infinite number of mods available, some of which are essential for bug free gameplay. This game has it all.

Enter in a world where you can be anything. Don't expect fairytale elves or gore filled battles only, you make the game and play what you want to play. Get your set of favourite mods and play one of the best games ever made by mankind.

100

Best Elder Scrolls Game

Kevduit | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

When I played the Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind, I knew that they couldn't stop there. Bethesda then went out to create one of the greatest RPG games of all time, no, let me rephrase that, THE best RPG game of all time. I've put countless hours into this games, and couldn't put it down for hours because of how immersive and fun it was. I actually still play it, even though Skyrim is out. I've probably put more than 100+ hours into this game, and haven't even made a dent into it, that tells you that the company put a lot of time and effort into this game. The weapons are amazing, and you can actually customize them! The character customization at the beginning of them game was very detailed, and covered every aspect of what you wanted your character to look like, so that when you played, you felt as though this character really had a life, and you were making their choices. Altogether, Oblivion is, and will always be, one of my favorite games of all time! Totally worth the money!

93

Amazing Elder scrolls game!

drafek | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

After Morrowind The elder scrolls has build a fan based, but the series still had to proof itself. But it was fantastic! I've put 200+ hours into this game, not including the dlc's I got 20-40+ hours into the dlc's! You can become a swordman, a archer and even a mage! Or just combine them all! You even can become a thief! This game is worth it, it does have good graphics, there also are graphics mods, which makes the game even better. The gameplay is good, sometimes the magic part is a little bit hard, but it's okay. The soundtrack of this game is amazing! I enjoyed listening to it. This game is worth every penny!