Reviews for Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

92

The best of TES and Fallout combined

heerox328 | Dec. 7, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

Do you love BGS titles (Morrowind, Oblivion, Skyrim)? Are you a fan of post-apocalyptic games or a fan of the original Fallout franchise? If you don't mind a new and fresh interpretation on the iconic franchise, you will love this game.

As you would expect, the environment is dense, rich, and unforgettable. Plenty of characters to meet with lots of enemies and critters along the way. Great feeling of isolation and loneliness while also providing humor and seriousness when appropriate.

This was truly one of the best RPGs of the last generation. What are you waiting for? Pick it up.

100

Best Game of All Time!

lightningbolt4 | Nov. 30, 2014 | See all lightningbolt4's reviews »

This is simply one of the best games i have ever played. Played this game 5 times! the expansions are a great addition. Bethesda always delivers great games but fallout is the best along with Skyrim. Using the system of vats makes Fallout stand out from all the other FPS's out there. It certainly is different and boredom isn't something that will come up fast. The voice acting is superb and the questing is unique in this Open world game. The music you listen to is different and I love it. It has early 1900's music that I chose to always play because I feel as though the game wouldn't be the same without it constantly playing. the main store is unique and emotional at times. the DLC's are all different and add lots of different weapons and armor to enhance your already perfect experience. Different recommend this!

90

Until next time, this is Three Dog! Awwoouuuuuu!

midgetjacks | Oct. 4, 2014 | See all midgetjacks's reviews »

Here it is, the complete edition of an already solid game. With this version, you get all the dlc released. One of them is pretty much essential, another adds a secondary (albeit empty) location to explore, two are kinda neat sidequests, and one is a minor distraction, good for farming some XP.

If you're a fan of Fallout, just start here with this edition. And if you're coming from the Elder Scrolls side with some interest in Fallout, again, might as well just get this. You will spend hours upon hours exploring this rich, detailed world.

85

The complete package

midgetjacks | Oct. 2, 2014 | See all midgetjacks's reviews »

Fallout 3 is pretty great, and the DLC was a mixed bag, but overall were nice additions. Here you get everything in one package, easily well worth it if you do not already own the base game. Even if you do own the base game, the cost of this is less than purchasing each piece of DLC separately. Buy it and prepare to lose a whole bunch of hours in the Capital Wasteland.

90

That's it folks!

Obsessor | Aug. 7, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

I already reviewed Fallout 3, this here is just me adding few words on this release. Here you get all the DLC, which make the game a complete experience. You can level up to 30(20 in the initial release), and can get many new weapons, perks, armors, and what's more important - whole lot of new missions to play. A good reason for getting this version is that all the DLC are more expensive than the base game, or this here GOTY release. So if you're considering buying Fallout 3 - get the GOTY.

80

Great fun

Jericho417 | July 28, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

You're born about 200 years after a nuclear war. Humanity has survived in underground shelters called Vaults, or struggled on the surface. You can explore the vaults, discover how they failed, and what their true purposes were.

I really enjoyed learning the history of the world. It's set in an alternate timeline where things turned out quite differently. So differently, in fact, that everything looks like a 1950's science fiction comic. The aesthetic takes a little getting used to, but it grows on you. Vacuum tube robots give a very "lost in space" vibe.

The gun play is a big weak, but there is a good amount of variation. Everything from pistols to sticks to mini-nukes at your disposal. The base game has one or two alien weapons, but Mothership Zeta expands on that a bit. Operation Anchorage, however, gives you access to the Chinese Stealth Armor. Space guns and invisibility suits. Sneaking around and insta-killing enemies while stealthed is pretty fun. One wrong move and you're swarmed with angry bandits.

The modding community has made a number of amazing mods. Enhanced textures and lighting, custom companions and gear, quests, NPC/player beautification, and general tweaks. I installed a truck load of mods and the game still played very well.

A small amount of tweaking is required to get this game to run on modern computers and win7/8. It's very simple and painless, but it makes a massive difference in stability.

91

Bethesda does it again

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

I've always liked the Fallout games more than I liked the Elder Scrolls games, and Fallout 3 shows perfectly why. The atmosphere is unlike anything out on PC. Just stepping out into a radioactive DC wasteland and seeing the vast expanse of nuclear fallout is breathtaking. The segments of the game in the DC metro can be legitimately terrifying at times, with ghouls popping out of the shadows.

The VATS system is very well implemented and is a creative conversion of turn based combat to a first person shooter. Non-VATS combat is one of the weaker parts of the game, as there are no iron sights to use for your guns. The RPG elements are spread well over the first person shooter canvas, with you being able to create your own play style with a multitude of skills to level in.

The graphics of Fallout are okay for the time it was released, but the music is incredible. The selection of mid-1900's songs the game uses just help more to immerse yourself. The plot is pretty good, but the ending is subpar unless you have the Broken Steel DLC. Overall, Fallout 3 is a great game for anyone who is an RPG lover.

91

Beautifully Crafted Sandbox World

WolfeClawz | June 7, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

Fallout 3 revamped the Fallout series, bringing it into 3d and expanding it's world into something that is dark, gritty and a hell of a lot of fun. Whilst it does lack in a variety of areas in comparison with modern titles, it still keeps many fans of the series coming back for more.

The VATS system is unique and innovative, yet is just a slow motion alternative to regular combat (but that doesn't make it any less awesome). The arsenal you are given to defend yourself with throughout Fallout's vast world are both devastating and rad (no pun intended).

If you're new to the series, Fallout 3 can easily be jumped into without much knowledge of the previous games, but if you get the chance, the older entries are definitely worth trying. All in all, Fallout 3 gets a 91.

90

Get ready for the future!

Seibitsu | June 7, 2014 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

If you loved The Elder Scrolls, you'll love this for sure.

Welsome to the future, a place where the Earth has been almost destroyed and only the strongest can survive. Equip melee and pistols, level up and get powerful habilities in order to survive in this devastated Earth while you make cool and interesting missions. Worth buying.

93

War never does change

iamstillbroke | May 4, 2014 | See all iamstillbroke's reviews »

War never changes, but with Fallout 3's entry to 3D, it does change perspective. Glitchy, slow on loading, and unkind to those who find judging depths difficult, F3 shouldn't be a successful sequel, but a phenomenal set design, atmospheric setting, and stellar writing makes it a worthy first look into what the Fallout series would evolve to. Starting as a vault dweller, it's almost mind-blowing how free one could be to resolve most missions and really build a unique Lone Wanderer. From the get-go, one playing style could be employed- e.g. the infamous pacifist run-, but because not everything could be resolved with a plasma gun or a smooth tongue, the player will develop multiple skills, just like how a real successful wastelander would. Combat can be unkind at some points, seeing as the camera could be downright uncooperative and aiming a pain to perfect, but once a good level's attained in normal or energy weapons- or bypassed by a good stealth score or the Chinese Stealth Armor-, the unavoidable combat is child's play. A good prowess in combat or stealth is really needed in the DLCs, since most center around combat-heavy situations and don't take too kindly to slow players. If gameplay's not too much of interest, the story and how the world is constructed to be a tangible part of it would interest players too. In fact, it may be the only reason why some would continue playing it; a strange, but pleasant, conundrum in a sandbox where a single wrong turn might land you smack into a town threatened by super mutants.

80

Apocalypse Now

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | See all damodarko's reviews »

Fallout 3 is one of the most fantastic games I have ever played.

Grown in an ideal and dated society; ignorant of what the world really is. Your life is turned upside down in a matter of moments and you are flung to the harsh wasteland that is the new reality. Nuclear war has ravaged the wastes and the world as man knew it, is no more. A desolate place where anyone and everything is out to kill you. With no home to return to and only the goal to hunt down the father that abandoned you, the only way is forward.

This games is packed full of amazing characters, dialogues and features an incredible plethora of exciting/dramatic and funny scenarios for your character to get in. A wasteland catered to how you play, an amazing soundtrack and with DLC that keeps the game fresh and still catches you off guard.

Fallout 3 is a timeless game, one from the past, for the present and has much life in the future. I still play it regularly as do many. If you are missing this game, your library is not complete.

100

Bethesda keeps Fallout alive.

Trebledaniel | April 9, 2014 | See all Trebledaniel's reviews »

Fallout 3 keeps the key elements of the original games, and it adds fps. This combination keeps the same feel of the wasteland while adding more open world RPG components. The DLC add a higher level cap, and it creates several more missions to keep the game going past the main storyline ending.

It is an incredible game.

80

Pretty damn great

Izcanbeguscott | March 29, 2014 | See all Izcanbeguscott's reviews »

Fallout 3 is great. It may not be the best technically, since this game runs like garbage on modern pc's it is one of the games you should play. The atmosphere is totally worth getting this game for. The environment is bleak and makes you really feel like you are in a post-apocalyptic world. Also the opening is the most memorable scene in a video game in the last few years. The gunplay is pretty sweet, especially the Fat Man and Vengeance. The VATS system is really sweet but you do get tired of having to make a cup of coffee every time you use it. In the end, its pretty great. Also the GOTY edition has all the pretty great DLC included. My second favourite bethesda game

98

Love All Over

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

I freakin love this game. One of the best games ever made, but I don't think it's the best one though. Maybe top 10 if I would have to say. There's just so many things to do in this game, that you'll find yourself far from completing the main mission.

All the missions that you do does have some value in it. You could either level up or get betters weapons along the way as you're traveling. It's part 3, but you don't have to play the previous parts to understand the story.

Totally buy this game for sure; without a doubt. You're not a true gamer if you don't. Just saying.

70

Bugs

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Yeah...we know Bethesda,they make an awesome game and never test it before release.If your familiar with Fallout universe,you gonna feel like in home,the creators did hell of a job with creating post apocalyptic,destroyed,world.On our journey to find the father of the main character,we gonna encounter mutants,ghouls,vagabonds and all other known stuff.Its a solid RPG taking place in a well known very climatic universe,but bugged,so buy it...if your patient.

95

A Worthy Succesor

Helicuor | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Helicuor's reviews »

I absolutely loved Fallout and Fallout 2, and when I heard about Fallout 3, I was very skeptical. Fallout as a a FPS? Bah. It just didn't seem right; so, I held out on this game for a few years. Eventually though, my curiosity got the best of me; the GOTY edition was on sale, and I bought it.

I loved it. The whole game really blew me away. The combination RPG/ FPS combat system, the game's bleak atmosphere, the huge area to explore. I really love it. That moment where you first step out of the vault and see the buildings in the distance and realize that that's not a skybox, that those are actual buildings and locations in the distance... amazing. The game did a great job of continuing the Fallout style and sense of humor. Some features disappointed me; the dialogue options felt a little more limited than earlier games, for example, but those are mere quibbles. This game is amazing.

94

Simply the Best RPG ive ever played

calidor11 | Dec. 11, 2013 | See all calidor11's reviews »

I got so many hours into this game, i lost track lol playing good and bad and inbetween.

Great storyline and detail, looting, sidequets. This game does work with windoes 7 you just gota edit a text file easy.

Adding easy to install mods such as AWOP and other gun mods helps the game cause their is not enough weapons in my opinion but the dlc do bring in alot more weapons over time. And yes theirs a double barrel shotgun - the most epic weapon!

I cant wait till fallout 4 that game would top off a legendary series.

93

Amazing Open World Post-Apocalyptic Fun

Sandromin | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all Sandromin's reviews »

Not only is Fallout 3 an amazing game, but the DLC create an experience completely unique to the Fallout series. Everything from the weapons to the locations add to the sense of a post-nuclear 1950s setting and the DLC only add more. I found myself blown away by the game's atmosphere and the modding community is spectacular. Although some glitches could dampen the experience, they do not make the game any less great. Everything about the game builds into an epic story, start to finish. Truly a masterpiece from the workers at Bethesda, Fallout 3: GOTY is an essential game to people who want a greater open-world experience.

100

Greatest Game Ever Made

MetaNightmare1 | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all MetaNightmare1's reviews »

This game has no equal. It excels in everything it sets out to do. Characterization is solid to the point that you think you've met real people, combat is fluid, flowing between the VATS system for bullet time targeted attacks and real time combat. The story is excellently told with an emphasis on building a world with interconnecting stories. The world is fun to explore and you'll want to turn fast-travel off so you can feel the atmosphere for longer periods of time. All that with a well presented aesthetic with truly masterful art direction and you have a recipe for an amazing experience.

90

Other games will look not so great from now on!

michelpulha | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all michelpulha's reviews »

After playing FO3 I found it very difficult to get back to the basic FPS games, 'cause the RPG feeling of this game is so addictive that games based on a linear storyline now are just not enough. You'll think "ok, it would be nice to do that, but why I can't just do the other way?". You'll be addicted, craving for more interaction with the story, more decisions to make, more possibilities to explore.

95

Incredible Open World Wasteland

knoxstar | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all knoxstar's reviews »

Fallout 3 is an absolutely fantastic look at an apocalyptic wasteland. There are hours and hours of gameplay and exploration. I have put hundreds of hours into exploring every facet of this world, completing all the side quests and finding all the rare items. With each expansion, the game is opened up even more, providing new stories and angles to play. If you want a fun experience, blending RPG and FPS style gameplay, this is for you.

94

Flawless, no, EPIC, YES!

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

This game made me buy a xbox360 and the first time i played it, I was blown away. The first time i got sucked into a game and felt like I was the protagonist, The Lone Wanderer.

However a few years later i played it on the pc and a new world emerged. The very frequent loading times can be surpassed by using a SSD and therefore solving the biggest draw-back of this game. The other draw-back is the lack of iron-sights and the overpowered VATS-system.

Luckily there are a ton of mods to solve most issues.

Furthermore this is a game were the dlc adds such significant story to the game i urge you to buy the GotY edition. (Brotherhood of Steel is the best DLC ever only rivalled by the shivering isles of TES4).

To all you FPS and RPG lovers that dont already own this game, buy the GotY edition and emerge yourself for over a 100 hours in a single-playthrough is the post apocalyptic wastelands.

100

Most amazing game of the century

super_eon | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all super_eon's reviews »

This game is not complete without the DLC which add literally so much more stuff you could call it another game! And the base game alone is more then some 40 hours of fun, this game has at least a years worth of stuff you'll find. And then right when you think you know something about it. The game will show you even more! and like I said the DLC adds sooooo much more it'll blow you're freaken mind!

93

One of those games you will never forget

eL_Jay88 | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all eL_Jay88's reviews »

Played this game both on the xbox and on a pc with SSD and mods. The vanilla game is a very high quality game, the only down-side is the lack of Iron sights. It's very immersive and I litterally felt like i WAS the lone wanderer prospecting the post-apocalyptic wasteland. Modding and an SSD takes this game to the next level. Minor flaws are solved and the very frequent loading times are reduced to seconds with a ssd.

In the FPS RPG genre only rivalled by fallout new vegas and the elder scrolls. Must have

If you don\t

95

Incredible open-world experience

abelegu2 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all abelegu2's reviews »

This game made me fall in love with in the first 30 minutes of gameplay and it kept me going even after I was done with it. It's got an amazing post-apocalyptic atmosphere, and it does an amazing job at immersing you into the world. It being open-world is a huge plus, albeit there isn't too many places to go to. There is a large choice of weapons and they're all fun to use. The combat's something to get used to, it's a bit tricky but it's still very fun and it suits the game's theme and design. The enemies can get a little too repetitive sometimes, but because of the game's setup it doesn't affect the game's experience all too much. It gets more noticeable nearing the end. The storyline's also very interesting, although one downside of it is that you don't get feedback from the world if/when you do anything big (avoiding spoilers). If you cope with that, though, it's a great RPG experience which gives you a whole world of opportunities to explore! A definite must buy for RPG enthusiasts, as other people said as well. Avoid playing Mothership Zeta DLC though, I hate to admit that one is simply horrendous. But the rest of the DLCs are still amazing! Who knows, maybe you'll like them all. Enjoy!

99

Apocalyptic Greatness!

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

This is perhaps the most interesting game I've ever played, and one of the funniest/coolest to boot! There are tons of things to do, and while there's a main quest, you have complete freedom to explore the "Capital Wasteland" and do as you please! I've put over 200 hours into it and I can say I've never got bored. Really, if you like the Elder Scrolls Games or the original Fallout series, this will be paradise for you. N.B. I would not recommend looking for spoilers, as the game is rewarding enough already, with decent equipment available from the start ;)

100

Flawless

rjb789 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game put simply, is flawless. Everything about it is brilliant and every single aspect comes together to create a convincing apocalyptic world where you feel involved. The shooting and gunplay is original and interesting and the sheer number of ways to kill your enemies is refreshing. The choices you make during the game are difficult and make you think about what you do. In short: buy this game!

92

Fallout 3 complete, the way it was meant to be played

EDP | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

Fallout 3 with extras, is that even possible? That's a short descriptive of the Fallout 3 awesomeness. It's endless fun, lots of re-playability and you can even mod the game with mods from a huge community after you find something missing or want to play even more hours with new content.

This package is a great deal if you like your straight up shooters with an RPG edge. This makes Fallout 3 the best game in it's genre.

All this is accompanied by beautiful artwork. The entire game is a postcard from a post-apocalyptic USA from the 50s/60s. Lot's of humour, lot's of fun.

100

Best Post Apocalyptic Game Created

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

When you hear the words Post Apocalyptic, you should think of the game Fallout, specifically Fallout 3, one of the greatest RPG games ever created. Here you are, in the vast plains of destruction caused by the Apocalypse. Searching for your father who ran away from Safe haven, you go on your quest to find him, and find out what really happened. This game is amazing, with Graphics that were un heard of in it's time. The side quests determine what kind of person you'll be in life. A hot headed enemy, a calm but heroic legend, it's all up to you. You can journey the world, find weapons, kill enemies, get rich, buy clothing or anything you really want, the world is open, and ready for the taking. The game is basically endless, and you can do what you want, how you want, and whenever you want. The gameplay is first person or third person, you choose how you want to play. This is one of the most detailed games I've ever played, and I totally recommend purchasing this game if you want an open world, scary, and just plain free roaming game. Amazing Game!

100

Well worth the money

Wildfella | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Wildfella's reviews »

Fallout 3 GOTY edition brings you not only the story but DLC'c as well. No where near endless replay as things may start to get repetitive but is does have a TON of content in the normal story and the DLCs. You get to choose how your character develops whether it be heroic or evil or whatever you prefer. Your skills that you can train for offer a variety of play styles. Not only that, but with the wonderfully crafted world and the way the world is portrayed definitely immerse you in a truly wonderful apocalyptic world of mutants, bandits, and other horrifying creatures. And if that isn't enough, don't even get me started on the sheer amount of mods out there that can enhance your experience further, from texture mods to weapons and even new missions. You WILL get your money's worth out of this game.

95

RPG Masterpiece

Zala911 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all Zala911's reviews »

The combination of post-apocalyptic setting, immersive story and environment, and top notch gameplay make Fallout 3 one of (if not the) best RPG games on the market. This game of the year addition includes all of its equally amazing expansions that open up an intricate world. No other game as made me explore all of its corners simply out of curiosity and a desire to know more about the game's background. A must buy for an RPG enthusiast.

86

Give up your social life

nemesis44uk | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Fallout GOTY edition contains the base game plus all the DLC available for Fallout 3.

There is lots of fun to be had with this epic post-apocalyptic RPG and even the sequel to this, New Vegas does not outshine Fallout 3.

The combat system is superb and using V.A.T.S. (limb targeting computer) allows for those slo-mo decapitations to look oh-so-good. Eyeballs fly and raiders' heads pop like corks. An early mission will see you in an abandoned supermarket up against a dozen raiders. It's no contest!

There are a few downers which drag my score out of the 90s and one of those is that some of the graphics are pug-ugly. It looked dated even when it first appeared and the years have not been kind to it.

Voice acting - generally fine, but there is also a lot of amateur dramatics going on and it really yanks you out of the immersion. Not a deal-breaker, but worth noting. Of course, on the other hand, you have Liam Neeson as your dad!

Recommended for people who don't mind turning into a hermit.

100

Best game of the decade

gravekeeper867 | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all gravekeeper867's reviews »

Honestly this game is endless, tireless, fun, and keeps me coming back every time. I have personally played this game from start to near 100% completion 4 times. If this is a game that you don't own or are not sure of getting let me cleared it up for you...just BUY IT! Every single dlc for Fallout 3 add another element of game play, depth and atmosphere to an already immersive ground breaking title. No other fallout game to date has the same level of appeal or feel that this one has, not even New Vegas can touch Fallout 3. The strength of your character starting out determines how far you can explore and thus focusing you on the story as an elegant imaginary boundary. As you develop your skills you can slowly start to explore the wastes to find the stories and treasures of the former world, bandits, or secret projects. All of which aid in your immersion and understanding of the world around you.