Reviews for Dishonored Bethesda

93

Steampunk at its finest.

asiersua | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This game is a masterpiece, a must have, something you'll enjoy from the very beginning until the end. The stealthy gameplay is simply perfect, you have different approach choices for every level, and depending on how you play through the whole thing you get a different ending. In my opinion, however, its strongest point is the environment. Each and every inch of the city of Dunwall is something you'll want to explore: it's both gorgeous and full of secrets. It's kind of dark, because that's the theme of the game, but that doesn't mean it's bad. As I said earlier, a must have.

92

A great, steampunk game.

rjb789 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

The games mix of assassin stealth and brutal FPS combat is a great, innovative idea. I frequently found myself sneaking thorugh the city only to find an enemy hiding round the corner. So I choked him and hid his body (as to not alert the guards) this is a common event in Dishonored and it is very rewarding to be able to sneak through the levels. Or if you want, you can kill EVERYONE. Which is an equally fun option although slightly harder in my opinion. I was never bored when playing Dishonored. Go buy it!

81

Alright, good combat and stealth

Lil_DesiresU | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Lil_DesiresU's reviews »

overall a good game, stealth is always best in games like these. choose a different path, different actions over multiple playthroughs. upgrade powers and skills. the kills are great, cut heads off, summon swarms. slow time, or stop it. etc. great game.

94

Arguably the best EVER.

Huddy23 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Huddy23's reviews »

This is arguably the best game I have ever played. The core gameplay is incredible - smooth, lots of different ways of completing each level, and great mechanics. And the graphics are beautiful. They focus on artistic design, with a perfect balance of realism and art which is awesome, it's like a painting in motion. The story and characters are full of intrigue and it's expertly written, the story is a masterpiece. And the game world is the most interesting alongside Tamriel, and I love reading the lore of the game. Believe me, I'm not joking when I say this is the most immersive game since Morrowind. Please! Buy this game it is worth every penny, my only complaint is if you just whizz through it could only take like 6 to 8 hours but believe me if you take your time and explore it can be very lengthy. And my tip to enjoy the game at it's best - turn off all the interface for an incredibly immersive experience that is very rare in modern games. BUY DISHONORED

90

Compelling.

waylaide | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all waylaide's reviews »

Not one moment of this game is boring. Absolutely love it when plot and gameplay are so intricately woven. With conspiracy at every turn you're thrown into the limelight of decisive action (or inaction), driven sometimes by raw emotion as you become so absorbed into the plight of a character known as Corvo and the result is a volatile and unpredictable setting as you are made to bear the consequences of your actions.

76

A good effort

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I wasn't expecting much from this game, a first person stealth game isn't something I'm into but this game changed my mind for sure. I absolutely love the combat, especially the sword combat, its fun and it works very well for a first person game which I hadn't thought of. The story is good and has multiple endings which gives re-playability. In the beginning your character Corvo comes back to the Empress of Dunwall but gets framed for her murder. The whole game is spent trying to uncover the truth of what happens and clear your own name.The game takes around 8 or so hours give or take and its worth it especially for the replayability with multiple playthroughs .

93

Short but intense

BlueSharkTheOne | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all BlueSharkTheOne's reviews »

This game is simply amazing. You play a assassin, your goal ? Murdering some targets in order to make this city better. Well, I shouldn't say murdering because you can finish the game without killing anyone. You have the choice to let the target live. The scene takes place in Dunwall, which will quite remind you London in the end of the 19th century but with some elements of the steampunk genre. The atmosphere is completly awesome. This city is really really creepy and beautiful at the same time. The level desing is very good too. Therefore you can use few paths to get to the target even if it is not an open wolrd.

The main problem of the game is its duration. In a normal mode, if you take your time, you will finish it in about 18 hours which is quite short in my opinion. But it's ok because this game will give you chills (in a good way). Plus Dishonnored is now way way way cheaper than it used to be you have no reason at all to not buy it ! :)

87

The explorers dream

Krios101 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Krios101's reviews »

A game which places you as an assassin is not a new thing but placing you as an assassin with true stealth mechanics and a in-depth reactive world which reacts to your play style Is a truly great game worthy of playing by anyone.

Whilst some might say this game is too short in length then they are hugely mistaken. They have taken to rushing the game through when the game can be only truly appreciated when you take it slowly and explore the finely crafted world here. Dunwall is a intriguing steam punk world which you get immersed in and can't help but feel empathy for the citizens and their plight of the plague.

(spoilers follow) I recall a section where I came across section of the level where a plague victim was in a off the track location waiting for his one true love to leave the city with him yet him struck with the plague, his hours are number and the following mission his lover meets him there and a connection broken by the plague can't help but pull at my heartstrings.

Dishonoured is a game well deserving for any stealth fan looking for a proper assassin game not named AC and one game you should truly set aside for.

90

The itch has been scratched!

jzabor | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all jzabor's reviews »

For quite some time I've been on the hunt for an enjoyable stealth game. The teleportation mechanic adds so much depth to the exploration/combat system and I could not be more pleased. Looking for a game with replay value? Search no longer. Going through a no-kill game transforms this entirely in comparison to that of a "slaughter all in my path"

No matter how you choose to play this title, you will NOT be disappointed.

86

Master Thief/Assassin. Your Choice

Asrafil | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Asrafil's reviews »

Arkane Studios, inspired by the good 'ol Thief has made a fantastic stealth game with some impressive levels, not only from a design perspective but aesthetically too. The world is so beautifully crafted that the city of Dunwall becomes a character in itself.

If you don't like stealth you need not to worry since you can play it as an action game, killing every enemy that stands in your way with some very creative powers at your disposal.

Play as you want, you are guaranteed a great experience... or maybe two if you want to try new things.

85

Pretty Good on the whole ...

chris999 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all chris999's reviews »

I did enjoy this game - it's different and entertaining. It's a good, solid game, just not a GREAT game like Fallout 3 or New Vegas, Skyrim, etc.

Story is okay, but character development is not that deep. The game is divided into areas, some of which you return to, which are quite large. But this is not at all an open world like other Bethesda games. But those areas are well developed, and offer alternate ways of achieving goals - for example: do I get somewhere on ground, underground, or go up all along the roofs.

There are also good choices of abilities, some of which are fun, such as ability to warp ahead right behind an enemy (which you'll do a lot!).

At times, I really enjoyed the atmosphere - I remember being up along roofs, spotting assassins moving about, and I had to sneak amongst them and find ways to neutralize them - that can be fun and quite scary. And the DLC's really add to the game.

Overall, I can say this game is definitely worthwhile and I look forward to the series evolving.