Reviews for Dishonored


An Extraordinary Game.

tonydareizer | Oct. 3, 2015 | See all tonydareizer's reviews »

This is a great game indeed, but is the option limited to "Great"? Knowing the vastly developed gameplay mechanic, which includes the option to go Stealth of Rogue, i won't pronounce myself yet. The game has, in terms of combat mechanics, two main options: Either go melee or go ranged. It has "magic", as well as swords, knives and crossbows. The player-character has "Freedom of Movement", meaning you can either parkour atop the roofs of the city, or navigate through the shadows. Its storyline isn't bad either. It isn't bad at all. In fact, it has a very-well developed storyline, which is also intriguing. After reviewing the essential aspects of the game, i repronounce my opinion: It's an extraordinary game, with great, immersive graphics and a well-planned story. I strongly recommend it to any gamer.


Excellent Execution

mlefoo | Sept. 29, 2015 | See all mlefoo's reviews »

Get the pun? Anyway, I thought that this was a fantastic game in a beautiful setting. The story of this game is nothing all that original, but the way in which it is delivered through the characters and environment is near flawless. The gameplay is also something that really delivers on what the developers promised. They said you could go about an objective 5 ways and they meant it, rather than 2 ways like some developers have promised. I really felt that the game developers wanted to make sure each persons playstyle was flushed out. You want to be sneaky in the shadows? No problem. You want to manipulate people and object? No problem. Want to be an aggressor? Can do. A mix of everything and anything? Done. Its a fantastic game and I look forward to its sequel.


Solid stealth game with great environmental storytelling

TownClowne | Sept. 17, 2015 | See all TownClowne's reviews »

This game has a serious AAA pedigree, and it shows. From the creators of Kicksalot McDeathboot in the Land of Conveniently Placed Spike Racks comes a dark, gritty game about a man who can't kick, but can teleport and shank the crap out of people. In all seriousness, this is a very good stealth game that feels like Thief meets Bioshock and Half-Life 2. It's polished, but not so polished that it loses its individuality, or its trust in the player. This is a AAA game that finally doesn't treat you like a moron! I pre-ordered it a while back, but it's influenced all stealth-based design I've done since, and it's a game I will always look back on fondly. I can't wait for the sequel.


Fantastic Game

DoctorPicklepus | Sept. 6, 2015 | See all DoctorPicklepus's reviews »

I've played a lot of stealth games and Dishonored is my favorite of all time. The choice of slipping in and out undetected, strategically taking out key guards or slaughtering everyone in the level is only made better by unique magical powers and oh so satisfying kill animations. The first power you unlock is blink, basically a short ranged teleport, and hidden within the levels are runes. You collect these runes to unlock new powers like slowing time, summoning swarms of rats to devour your enemies, and mind control among others. You can use runes to upgrade your powers like getting more range of blink and turning slow time into stop time. You can combo your powers with your arsenal of deadly weapons. Teleport to someone and slit their throat, stop time and place mines on the bolts shot from your crossbow that are also frozen in time so they hit someone from a distance and shred all his nearby friends (Why havent you bought this game yet?). Thats only some of the powers and some of the weapon, I havent even covered the great level design or stealth mechanics. The only thing that this game truly did wrong is its not long enough.


The First Person Assassin's Creed Game We've Always Looked For

Pablar_Graymane | Aug. 31, 2015 | See all Pablar_Graymane's reviews »

Dishonored is, in few words, one of the most engaging and immersive games I've ever played. The story is very well thought and how the world around you react to your decisions (which are many) makes you feel like you are actually changing people's lives and hitting the oppressive government of Dunwall right where it hurts. You can control Corvo and approach the situations the game presents you in any way possible, infiltrating a house through the stealthiest approach possible by the sewers or breaking the front door with your supernatural powers and just go beheading everyone that stands in your way. Dishonored offers a wide variety of gadgets and abilities that give the game it's versatility and variety of gameplay. Overall, I recommend it to any fan of stealth or combat games, or people who like to play games with awesome stories.


A near-perfect example of video gaming.

DrippingSins | Aug. 28, 2015 | See all DrippingSins's reviews »

If you asked me to list my favorite game, Dishonored most likely wouldn't come to mind. However, since first purchasing this game, I have never uninstalled it from my PC. It is my go to whenever I am bored. And every 6 months or so I feel the urge to play through it all over again. The story is so intriguing. The characters both good and bad are top shelf. The art style is beautiful. But all of that pales in comparison to the immersion you will feel as your hunt down Corvo's enemies. You are free to choose how your Corvo navigates the streets and rooftops of Dunwall city. The missions give you the freedom to decide how you achieve your objective. You are even able to decide if the objective you are given is the right thing to do or not. Does your Corvo stick to the shadows; avoiding confrontation at all costs? Or perhaps he destroys anything that gets in his way. Does he kill only when necessary or does he enjoy taking lives? Is he an angel of death or mercy? The choice is yours.


Never mind Half Life 3

michaeldwells | Aug. 13, 2015 | See all michaeldwells's reviews »

Looking at the striking visual style (from Viktor Antonov who also did Half Life 2) should give you a good idea of how much you'll enjoy this instant classic, which plays as good as it looks. The story is fairly simple and never keeps you away from the game for too long, but thanks to the visual design it is always present. Each level presents multiple routes to success and provides considerable opportunity for inventiveness. You won't be stuck walking through a script here. Environments are fairly large and complex, and being able to navigate them is probably the most important skill in the game. The gameplay is stealth combat based, with satisfying melee and some neat magic tricks that greatly increase your options. If you like a bit of player agency in your game, this is for you.


More than a good game

Prodakn | June 16, 2015 | See all Prodakn's reviews »

Dishonored was released on 9 October 2012 and I remember how much I waited for it, it had a great trailer which gives me chills to this day, but enough about the trailer, and let's talk about the game. The game is set in a steam-punk-plague-filled fictional city of Dunwall, and you play as an assassin named Corvo that gets wrongly accused and has to prove his innocence. Throughout the game you obtain upgradable powers like: teleportation, slowing down time, "mind" control etc, which make the stealth gameplay realy awesome. The level design is one of the best I've ever seen, I'd say it is comparable to Bioshock. The graphics still look good due to a great art style. The sound is great, but not memorable. The story is also pretty good and puts you in unnespected situations, it has twists and turns and it is overall very entertaining, In conclusion, I'd recommend this game to every gamer, is a modern day classic.


Best stealth game

milanp98 | June 6, 2015 | See all milanp98's reviews »

I've played a lot of stealth games, and I have to say that this one is my favorite. Dishonored is a first person stealth game as you probably already know. It has beatiful environment, dark feel of the game, great combat and stealth mechanics. Yeah, although it's a stealth game, it has great combat mechanics. So, if you prefer combat, you can play that way, but it will lead to a darker outcome of the game since it has multiple endings. The game encourages you to play stealthily and to take down your targets non-lethaly. As I mentioned before, it has great stealth mechanics and abilites, some of which are: Blink - Short distance teleportation with low mana cost (Mana can regenerate over time for the same amount you used in order to blink). Dark Vision - Allows you to see living, dead and unconscious persons or animals through walls. It also gives you vision of the sound you're making. Devouring Swarm - Summons a swarm of rats that attack others. Rats also eat corpses. Possession - Allows you to possess animals or people. Bend Time - Let's you slow or freeze time depending on the ability level. Windblast - Allows you to blast back group of people or break doors. Those are only active abilities, but you also can get passive abilities. All of the abilities in the game can be upgraded to level 2. This is a great game and I recommend it to everyone.


It's alright

sycomantis1991 | May 16, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

Dishonored really didn't do anything for me. The plot was horribly ucnreative, and the controls wee really floaty. Some of the landscapes are nice, and I like the variation in assault tactics. However, you don't do much fun with those tactics, and, while the stealth is ok, much of the game takes place in bright environments, making it often times kind of pointless. It's fun at times, and has some interesting combat variations, but overall it's not very inventive plot-wise and the controls aren't very good.


Amazing Game

Xeshkar | May 12, 2015 | See all Xeshkar's reviews »

This was one of the First Games I played on my new computer, before I got my graphic cards so this games well optimised and the Story and The Game play is just unbeatable. Sadly Graphically the game looks similar to its console counterpart so That's slightly disappointing but still a amazing game. Truly a amazing game high recommend!


One of the best FPS title of 2012

Andreasqiao | April 19, 2015 | See all Andreasqiao's reviews »

This game is great by many aspect. - The graphics is detailed but the art style of it that take the 19th century Europe, industrial age that really stand out. - The gameplay is in my opinion the best aspect of the whole game, much like Bioshock series. Both title are very "original" meaning doesn't just copy paste from other title, but instead have their own original idea you rarely see nowadays with FPS title tend to "follow" COD or battlefield. - The story is the second best aspect of this game, providing above average storyline you ever encounter in any fps title. Conspiracy, vengeance and the dark secret that wait for you to be revealed. Conclusion, as one of the great and "rare" FPS title, this game really stand out and unique (in good way of course) among other FPS title and surely worth the money whether it is on discount or not.


Impressive even for today

garocco | Feb. 7, 2015 | See all garocco's reviews »

In "Dishonored" you are Corvo Attano, bodyguard of the Empress of Dunwall, wrongly accused of the murder of the regent. To clear his name, Crow joins a group of noble conspirators and you can decide how it will be revenge: subtle or bloody, just or ruthless. What surprised me most was also the freedom of action offered, which can choose to direct combat, cold murder, clever use of magical powers or face the challenge to be extremely stealthy, through the whole adventure virtually unseen. The game blends technology and magic in a visual era industrial / Victorian era. The characters are stylized, but by no means are less interesting. In the game you can adopt different approaches and paths, it will be more or less stealthy and / or lethal. The graphics are very good and although the game is a bit old surprises even today, the controls also respond very well leaving more fluid gameplay. Recommend for who enjoy games "Stealth" for surely will yield several hours of fun.


Stealth gameplay from a new perspective

MadDemon64 | Jan. 6, 2015 | See all MadDemon64's reviews »

Dishonored is a stealth game set in a unique world made up of magic and steampunk technology. You will have to sneak your way past enemies to your targets who are yours to do with as you please. In fact your enemies are yours to do with as you please, so long as you don’t go charging in guns blazing. Dishonored uses a first person perspective that forces you to constantly be looking around and be aware of your surroundings, and you must use your weapons and magic to traverse them safely. You have various options at your disposal. You can sneak quietly, teleporting every now and then and possessing the odd rat to remain undetected, or you can gain a vantage point and lay traps for your opponents and let them blow themselves up in a blind panic. How you dispose of them or even if you dispose of them at all, is up to you, just so long as you remember that your actions have consequences that influence the ending. There are very few games that focus on stealth and restrict you to a first person perspective, but Dishonored is not only a game that does it, but a game that does it right.


Bethesda's Version of Bioshock But with Stealth

mikenotcaptain | Dec. 5, 2014 | See all mikenotcaptain's reviews »

I can honestly say that this was my least favorite game that I have beaten this year. With that said, it was a solid game. It had to force myself to finish it though. Dishonored had its moments of fun, but they were far and too few. The games plot revolves around a conspiracy that basically pins you, Corvo, as the enemy of the state. You spend the rest of the game working for a loyalist group bent on revenge toward those who set the conspiracy. With each mission you have the choice of killing the threat or taking "other necessary means" to get what you want. Playing the game as the hero, I always took to the "other means" and knocked people out instead of killing. This was not fulfilling because by the end of the game I still killed enough people to warrant a negative outcome. This is what frustrated me the most about the game. I spent a bunch of time trying to knock people out and hide bodies when I could have easily killed them and still end up with the same outcome at the end of the game. Other then this, the game had great mechanics and a dark and cool setting. The voice acting was sub par though. It was overall a decent game, but would jump at suggesting other games to play compared to this one.


One of the more unique games out there

vipe_1 | Dec. 2, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Arkane has done a great thing with Dishonored. They managed to make a brand new IP, with a new and unique world, that feels very interesting and different than your typical game today. The city of Dunwall, and it's surrounding lands, have a style all their own. The game looks great, but isn't a high fidelity graphic powerhouse like Crysis. Instead, it has style that gives it a sort of "painted" look. Details are fantastic, and the game manages to drop you right into everything without confusing the player or making the game feel inaccessible. Dishonored has a familiar, yet satisfying story of revenge and redemption to tell you. Traveling through Dunwall, with the ability to choose destruction or stealth allows for a wide range of tactics to suit your playing style. The available weapons and powers are cool, but can combine to do some terrific things. In the end, Dishonored may not be a true "stealth" game like the Thief series, but manages to be the best stealth based AAA title in a long time. Completing the game as a "ghost" without being seen or causing damage is a cool concept that is challenging to pull off. Dishonored is well worth the time, and may just be a great gateway to the stealth genre for newcomers.


Not the best, but definitely very good

ajoshi | Nov. 28, 2014 | See all ajoshi's reviews »

Conspiracy, dark magic, glowing whale oil, time stopping, strange devil-like beings, possessing rats, making people commit suicide, teleportation, crossbows, evil piranha-like fish, annoying princesses, this game has em all. I personally thought that the plot was a bit predictable, especially if you read all the in-game text, but it did keep me engaged. It was however, far too short- I generally take forever to finish games, and I was done with this in a weekend. However, that weekend was one fun ride. I like games where I can skulk around in the shadows waiting for the perfect moment to kill. This game definitely allowed for that. Sometimes I also like to go in and kill everything that moves while making as much noise as I want. Once more, this games lets me do that. From what I understand, one can also play a mostly nonviolent playthrough. I have never tried that, but to each their own. The ability to wield two weapons (sword+your other weapon) at once is really nice, as is the whole 'powers' deal. I definitely had fun listening to the thoughts of people in the game. tl;dr: Would I recommend it for 5 bucks as it is right now? Yes.


Jump in the boots of the Awesome Corvo !

akassassinn1 | Nov. 27, 2014 | See all akassassinn1's reviews »

A game about stealth , supernatural abilities and Truth seeking , jump in Corvo's shoes and experience an unforgettable journey through the alleys of Dunwall. after a plague propagation that is carried by rats in the city of Dunwall , your sent to get help leaving your position as royal guard of the empress , and when you return the empress is assassinated and you're blamed for it. your main motivation will be clearing your name and finding the empress's daughter. the game is in first person mode , with a good number of missions that have different objectives , eliminating targets , escaping , kidnapping and stealing keys and other small items , the game's focus is stealth but you also have the option to fight face to face with guards and other enemies. you also have the choice on how you approach your objectives , or even do them. the gameplay carved around the Blink ability which is teleporting short distances and performing acrobatic moves whilst doing it, you have a number of skills that you can unlock by finding Runes and can form whichever way you like depending on your gameplay style, your arsenal is a dagger a crossbow and a handgun with few different tools and gadgets to play around with , the enemy AI is decent but sometimes dumb , you can save the game anywhere whwich makes it easier to experiment different outcomes . The visuals are okay but not up to this age , it offers great Architectural views. the killing animations are fantastic but too bad i had to save the game before enjoying them as I played through the whole game without killing anyone .. sort of.... people have stiff faces and sometimes strange animations , but nothing game breaking , the voice acting is great , and the sounds are believable . overall it's a great game that I've waited for for a long time , if you want a great stealth game ,this one is definitely worth checking out !


Steampunk at its finest.

asiersua | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This game is a masterpiece, a must have, something you'll enjoy from the very beginning until the end. The stealthy gameplay is simply perfect, you have different approach choices for every level, and depending on how you play through the whole thing you get a different ending. In my opinion, however, its strongest point is the environment. Each and every inch of the city of Dunwall is something you'll want to explore: it's both gorgeous and full of secrets. It's kind of dark, because that's the theme of the game, but that doesn't mean it's bad. As I said earlier, a must have.


A great, steampunk game.

rjb789 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

The games mix of assassin stealth and brutal FPS combat is a great, innovative idea. I frequently found myself sneaking thorugh the city only to find an enemy hiding round the corner. So I choked him and hid his body (as to not alert the guards) this is a common event in Dishonored and it is very rewarding to be able to sneak through the levels. Or if you want, you can kill EVERYONE. Which is an equally fun option although slightly harder in my opinion. I was never bored when playing Dishonored. Go buy it!


Alright, good combat and stealth

Lil_DesiresU | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Lil_DesiresU's reviews »

overall a good game, stealth is always best in games like these. choose a different path, different actions over multiple playthroughs. upgrade powers and skills. the kills are great, cut heads off, summon swarms. slow time, or stop it. etc. great game.


Arguably the best EVER.

Huddy23 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Huddy23's reviews »

This is arguably the best game I have ever played. The core gameplay is incredible - smooth, lots of different ways of completing each level, and great mechanics. And the graphics are beautiful. They focus on artistic design, with a perfect balance of realism and art which is awesome, it's like a painting in motion. The story and characters are full of intrigue and it's expertly written, the story is a masterpiece. And the game world is the most interesting alongside Tamriel, and I love reading the lore of the game. Believe me, I'm not joking when I say this is the most immersive game since Morrowind. Please! Buy this game it is worth every penny, my only complaint is if you just whizz through it could only take like 6 to 8 hours but believe me if you take your time and explore it can be very lengthy. And my tip to enjoy the game at it's best - turn off all the interface for an incredibly immersive experience that is very rare in modern games. BUY DISHONORED



waylaide | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all waylaide's reviews »

Not one moment of this game is boring. Absolutely love it when plot and gameplay are so intricately woven. With conspiracy at every turn you're thrown into the limelight of decisive action (or inaction), driven sometimes by raw emotion as you become so absorbed into the plight of a character known as Corvo and the result is a volatile and unpredictable setting as you are made to bear the consequences of your actions.


A good effort

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I wasn't expecting much from this game, a first person stealth game isn't something I'm into but this game changed my mind for sure. I absolutely love the combat, especially the sword combat, its fun and it works very well for a first person game which I hadn't thought of. The story is good and has multiple endings which gives re-playability. In the beginning your character Corvo comes back to the Empress of Dunwall but gets framed for her murder. The whole game is spent trying to uncover the truth of what happens and clear your own name.The game takes around 8 or so hours give or take and its worth it especially for the replayability with multiple playthroughs .


Short but intense

BlueSharkTheOne | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all BlueSharkTheOne's reviews »

This game is simply amazing. You play a assassin, your goal ? Murdering some targets in order to make this city better. Well, I shouldn't say murdering because you can finish the game without killing anyone. You have the choice to let the target live. The scene takes place in Dunwall, which will quite remind you London in the end of the 19th century but with some elements of the steampunk genre. The atmosphere is completly awesome. This city is really really creepy and beautiful at the same time. The level desing is very good too. Therefore you can use few paths to get to the target even if it is not an open wolrd. The main problem of the game is its duration. In a normal mode, if you take your time, you will finish it in about 18 hours which is quite short in my opinion. But it's ok because this game will give you chills (in a good way). Plus Dishonnored is now way way way cheaper than it used to be you have no reason at all to not buy it ! :)


The explorers dream

Krios101 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Krios101's reviews »

A game which places you as an assassin is not a new thing but placing you as an assassin with true stealth mechanics and a in-depth reactive world which reacts to your play style Is a truly great game worthy of playing by anyone. Whilst some might say this game is too short in length then they are hugely mistaken. They have taken to rushing the game through when the game can be only truly appreciated when you take it slowly and explore the finely crafted world here. Dunwall is a intriguing steam punk world which you get immersed in and can't help but feel empathy for the citizens and their plight of the plague. (spoilers follow) I recall a section where I came across section of the level where a plague victim was in a off the track location waiting for his one true love to leave the city with him yet him struck with the plague, his hours are number and the following mission his lover meets him there and a connection broken by the plague can't help but pull at my heartstrings. Dishonoured is a game well deserving for any stealth fan looking for a proper assassin game not named AC and one game you should truly set aside for.


The itch has been scratched!

jzabor | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all jzabor's reviews »

For quite some time I've been on the hunt for an enjoyable stealth game. The teleportation mechanic adds so much depth to the exploration/combat system and I could not be more pleased. Looking for a game with replay value? Search no longer. Going through a no-kill game transforms this entirely in comparison to that of a "slaughter all in my path" No matter how you choose to play this title, you will NOT be disappointed.


Master Thief/Assassin. Your Choice

Asrafil | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Asrafil's reviews »

Arkane Studios, inspired by the good 'ol Thief has made a fantastic stealth game with some impressive levels, not only from a design perspective but aesthetically too. The world is so beautifully crafted that the city of Dunwall becomes a character in itself. If you don't like stealth you need not to worry since you can play it as an action game, killing every enemy that stands in your way with some very creative powers at your disposal. Play as you want, you are guaranteed a great experience... or maybe two if you want to try new things.


Pretty Good on the whole ...

chris999 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all chris999's reviews »

I did enjoy this game - it's different and entertaining. It's a good, solid game, just not a GREAT game like Fallout 3 or New Vegas, Skyrim, etc. Story is okay, but character development is not that deep. The game is divided into areas, some of which you return to, which are quite large. But this is not at all an open world like other Bethesda games. But those areas are well developed, and offer alternate ways of achieving goals - for example: do I get somewhere on ground, underground, or go up all along the roofs. There are also good choices of abilities, some of which are fun, such as ability to warp ahead right behind an enemy (which you'll do a lot!). At times, I really enjoyed the atmosphere - I remember being up along roofs, spotting assassins moving about, and I had to sneak amongst them and find ways to neutralize them - that can be fun and quite scary. And the DLC's really add to the game. Overall, I can say this game is definitely worthwhile and I look forward to the series evolving.