Reviews for Doom 3

95

Doom 3: The Quickest Way to White Hair

rahnborshko | Sept. 29, 2014 | See all rahnborshko's reviews »

This was the first game that scared me to a point where I couldn't finish the game for a while because I was too scared to play it. I'm a sucker for Sci-fi horror and this game delivered in spades. The atmosphere is always dark and suspenseful. You never know if your going to have enough ammo or health to continue and the monsters always jump at you when you least expect them to. The gunplay is excellent as this is an Id Software game. There are many mods for this game that make it look even better than it already is and my goodness I'm still plucking the white hairs from my head.

95

Hell finally returns! and brings all of its Gorefest to Mars!

khawaja07 | July 28, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

DOOM finally marks its return after nearly a decade but this time instead of Hell being unleashed on Earth, a Human Mars space station suffers the wrath of blood thirsty demons, if they succeed then their next Target will be Earth. Its up to you to stop them!

Doom is being brought back as a Reboot to the Franchise, instead of fast paced zombie killing action, its more focused on survival horror which can go both ways in terms of reactions from its long time fans. Even if it changes direction in terms of story, it still executes its pretty well and nothing seems off with regards to the plot. It still mostly consists of the player, a marine killing hordes of demons on his way through the story as he seeks to find a means to an end to the Demon invasion that has been unleashed upon Mars.

Now, the game really is good at two aspects: 1. The robust shooting mechanics which have been the most shinning feature of the DOOM games. 2 The near perfect execution of Horror. These two things make DOOM 3 really exciting and fun to play. Like all previous DOOM games, you get a whole arsenal of weapons to choose from and utilize. There is a huge variety of Demons to Kill so we carefully have to strategize what weapon to use and for which enemy-type. DOOM 3 goes a long mile when it comes to length of the main campaign and is easily enough to satisfy the hunger of old school DOOM fans who have been craving for another DOOM game for years!

When it comes to Graphics, it was the Gem of the last Console and PC generation. It was pretty demanding when it comes to system requirements at the time it came out and was at the top of list for the most wanted games among PC hardware enthusiasts. However, one big complaint was the over usage of Darkness in the game, sometimes a bit too much, so you are forced to use a light source even at some lit areas.

Sound Design was top notch for DOOM 3 as expected from ID Software. It helped improve the survival horror aspect of the game a lot and kept me on my toes at nearly every point in the game. Enemy designs are very well done and so are their sound effects.

Overall the game is filled with tons of content, it easily plays how its supposed to be played as a horror shooter, the developers did a brilliant job at polishing the experience as i had no issues playing the game from start to finish. DOOM 3 is gorgeous to play at max. settings which i highly recommend for others to play at. Its totally worth playing if you're the type of guy who loves solid shooters with a some classic horror in it.

90

the real horror meets FPS game

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

this game literally made me not want to play this game. at time is can scare the crap out of you, but at others, it can be an intense fps that can overwhelm even the best of players. the story is so-so, and the graphics aren't the greatest, but its still an older game and can be forgiven with is finely tuned gameplay and atmosphere.

works great on laptops and should really be played with a mouse and keyboard.

78

Worth it

Jokin93 | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

The Doom franchise is very well known for its essential role in the history and evolution of the FPS genre.

Well, DOOM 3, despite being considered by many to be the weakest link in the franchise, is a great game(although a bit old), and it does its predecessors proud, by keeping on the right track.

It might be true that it is quite short and it doesn't bring many improvements over DOOM 2, but it is nevertheless and great classic shooter that should be present in any gamer's library.

83

What Doom was meant to be like, but it came up a little short

Gmen | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

There are two camps when it comes to this game. There are those who love it, and those who hate it. It's almost every bit as controversial as the original, but for almost entirely different reasons.

The graphics were supposedly top of the range for its time, but it just doesn’t look very pretty to be honest. The character models don't look so hot, and the animation on the whole, particularly with more friendly human characters, could be a lot better. The game is also unjustifiably dark – which is meant to induce fear in to players, but in the end it just leads to much frustration instead. This and having to constantly switch between a flashlight and a weapon is extremely annoying.

Get those issues out of the way, and you still have an enjoyable shooter on your hands. There are plenty of weapons that pay homage to the originals, and this time around you also have a PDA which can play audio logs, read emails, and play demonstration videos found throughout the game – no doubt a gameplay mechanic taken from System Shock 2.

The pace in Doom 3 is much slower than the originals, and the game is darker in theme with even more hellish imagery and sounds, which I admit are used to rather good effect. Overall, even though it is like comparing apples to oranges due to the largely different technologies available, the game world looks and feels the part. But those corridors are even more claustrophobia-inducing than I remember.

While it attempts to be scary though, it’s very much a game that will make you jump, but won’t really terrify you out of your wits. It tries too hard. There’s still action to be had, but it’s very stop and start compared to the originals, and it is missing that iconic adrenaline pumping soundtrack as well. It’s more horror than action horror. So it just about does its job as a revamped Doom, at least as far as looks go, although it could have been better as I said before. There are enough high resolution mods out there though to make up for its looks, and they also tweak numerous other things like weapon damage, sound and the like.

If you are a fan of the series and don’t have this yet, then give Doom 3 a try. It's a good game, but several minor issues let it down from being the best it could have been.

90

Classic

Gojko | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Doom, one of the most famous series in game industry. When you say FPS you Doom is you first candidate.

Doom 3, date of release 2007, graphic in 2013... excellent. Game has a great atmosphere and in combination with sound effect you will get thrills down to your spine. Maps have a very good designs, and a lot of dark corners.

Don't play this game at the late hours it will not be good for you. If you don't have in your collection, that is a big mistake, and you have now opportunity to correct a mistake.

80

Great FPS

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

Doom 3 exemplifies the simplistic nature of true gaming. It has the ability to draw a gamer into a fictional world while leaving the gamer feeling a part of it. This is a rare accomplishment in the gaming industry. Kudos to all involved with the design and implementation of Doom 3. Thanks for the experience.

85

Solid horror game

MatthewFishwick | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all MatthewFishwick's reviews »

This game may have a bad wrap since it 'failed' to significantly improve upon the FPS genre (or Doom), however if you just want a game that can scare you while having a reasonably decent plot this may be the game for you. I recommend this game especially to people with older gaming rigs because it will run and look beautiful after all these years. One reason why this game was knocked down by critics upon it's release is because it may well have been ahead of it's time...

85

Awesome Game

CradleOfCorpses | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all CradleOfCorpses's reviews »

I remember the first time I played DOOM 3, the graphics just blew my mind. Sure enough now, they seem outdated but at the time no PC could run it on full. It was made more future systems. The storyline is intense and gripping, the weapons are amazing and of course it has the BFG ;). Although it doesn't live up to the originals; what could, but it is a decent game that'll take hours to complete and and provide a lot of enjoyment. The only downfall is if your'e a collector of collectibles, be warned that if you miss one of the PDA's in game, you may not be able to go back and collect it unless you start over.

80

Good Horror Shooter

thegaminglyfe | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Doom 3 is a great game but it doesn't live up to the amazing standards of the classic games. This isn't run and gun at all but no doubt, it's still a great game. The mood and atmosphere is perfect and is very spooky, especially when your only source of light is your flashlight. The thing is that your flashlight is like a weapon so you can't hold hold a flashlight and a gun. Some people might not like this but others, like me, love it. It makes it more scary to be looking around the room and suddenly you shine your light on a monster running at you. Giving the age of the game, it still looks really good. And the sound is still top notch. If you love scary shooter games this is a must buy for you.

83

Good Horror Elements here and there

EtaYorius | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all EtaYorius's reviews »

I Remember playing this game on my old Pentium 4 at 2.2 Ghz, back then Doom3 was a PC Hardware Eater... anyway i really liked this game and was waiting for the price to drop to get in on Steam.

This game some nice horror scenes here and there, the ambient is dark and hellish, you will start seeing how a huge Mars base quickly fells apart to the point of feeling almost empty of human survivors, the action is great but i kinda feel enemy variation was not that great.

80

Cubed Catastrophe

CrimsonWizard | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Doom 3 was the long in development shooting game bringing us back to that world of demons invading the sci-fi world of the near future. It might be more accurate to call it a reboot of the series than a sequel, but hey, I don't make the titles. The premise is still the same underneath the story though, you're a marine, shoot your way through demons to the end of the space station, etc.

For 2007 the graphics and lighting effects were amazing, but the game is showing a bit of age that the BFG edition may of fixed, but we're going off of the base game here. Unfortunately, in showing off the lighting effects, the game forces you to switch between a gun and a flashlight rather than having the two combined like most shooters going back to Halo. It's for horror effect and it works early on when you're weaker and less apt to defend yourself, but later on it becomes more of a chore with dealing with the hundredth jump scare that just so happens to be behind you. Even Jason X didn't pull that trick as often. Even as you collect new guns and fight a few new enemies, the game just kind of drags as you go on.

Thankfully for you, thanks to the strong modding community, there's much you can do to improve the game as you like, and if you enjoyed the base Doom 3, there is a BFG edition that sets out to improve some of the flaws of this base game. So should you get it? Perhaps if you can get it on sale, it's not a bad game, and a decent hold over while Doom 4 takes another X amount of years to produce. I'm not sure it really catches the magic of the first two Dooms however.

85

A pretty good shooter.

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

While not the best shooter on the market, Doom 3 is still fun to play. The dark mood of the game can give it a horror feeling. The game is fun to play through at least once, but the mods for this game is what makes it better. With mods like the coop mod, you can have fun being scared with your buddy. With the mods, this is a definite buy, otherwise pick it up on sale.

72

Old school shooter

nemesis44uk | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Ahhh, Doom 3.

I remember waiting outside Game's doors to open for this one when it was first released. It seemed a long ride home to get it installed.

I couldn't believe the graphics - simply astonishing at the time, as were the jumps and scares. Unfortunately, after a few hours of play, it turned out to be all bark and no bite.

Corpses hissed and disappeared, the tiresome torch/gun dynamic and the randomly spawned (always behind you, though) enemy in a supposedly clear room.

Fast forward to 2013 and embrace Doom 3 with all the latest and best mods which make it feel like a new game. Simply google: Doom 3 mods and within minutes, your Doom 3 will run and play like a new game.

Buy it, play it with the lights off and enjoy a real slice of nostalgic gaming.

90

Good game

bl2k3 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all bl2k3's reviews »

I know this game gets a lot of flak for being too different from the other games, but sometimes change is a good thing. Rather than being a run and gun game like the original 2, this one is more of a "survival horror fps."

The gameplay can definitely become repetitive, but what honestly doesn't. I never played multiplayer too much, but I have played through the campaign several times and even though sometimes it feels stale, I still really enjoy it every time.

Although the horror isn't too scary, since eventually they just become predictable jump scares, there's still tension from the atmosphere and visuals. You'll find yourself fighting for your life in complete darkness at times.

They tried to add a story into this game a lot more than the others, which for the most part I found easy to follow. This game as also known as a milestone for the gaming industry just for the graphical improvements alone.

Unfortunately, DOOM 4 is stuck in development hell, so it may be a very long time before we see another DOOM added to the franchise. I for one am very excited to see what lies ahead to one of my most cherished franchises ever.

89

Really nice classic fps

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but overall it was a rewarding experience and one of my favorites

67

Get the BFG Edition

Demadizz | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

So Doom 3, the whole no flashlight on gun idea is original but quite annoying, and the one time you want a flashlight u lose it to a plot twist...sigh Gameplay is unique a first but you will hate the waves after a bit, bosses are unique and have interesting patterns/attacks., but after acquiring one item you can make it cakewalk The BFG is trash... overcharged it so many times. Ammo/Health packs etc seem to be fair and balanced, never starve for too long. The only down side to doom 3 is that the scariest parts are fatties with wrenches. Recommended if it goes around 5 dollars or less.

91

Amazing game

Bolo | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Love Doom 3. Played like a bit of a dinosaur, but the lighting, visuals and claustrophobic atmosphere were fantastic and still hold up today.Probably still the most atmospheric game I have ever played

85

A classic

FreeMan85 | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Doom3 is a classic sci-fi horror shooter, it was a miracle back in 2004 by it state of the art visuals. The game also called one of the scariest game ver, however I doubt that still standing. The story is a bit cliche, a madman professor goes out of control by his experiment on Mars. The UAC send two "agent" to check his progress and here we came us, a namless and mute soldier. Our first day goes to hell, sinc ethe secret experiment goes to... hell. By all means! We must fight through zombies, armed zombies, Imps and man yother alien monsters and of course the iconic monster from the covers , the Hellknight. We can use our bare hands, the flashlight which a weapon and and one of the most awesome flashlight in the gaming history, pisolt, shotgun, mahcine gun.... you name it! And of course the chainsaw! Dark corridors, scary sounds and constant fear. A real old school shooter. The game graphics still looks good, even, if it's glory faded a bit. You can use many mods to enhance the game or just play as it. Like I do and still looks great. The lighting, the shadows, the facial expressions are still awesome! The sound is even better. Voice-acting is decent, but OK. The real blockbuster is the SFXs. The weapons, the environment, the monsters are all detailed and brilliantly mastered tones.

If you like old school like shooter or sci-fi horror games, or simply you know the franchise from it's beginning you can't miss Doom3! I've found many games more scary then, Doom3, but still you can't skip this classic title.