Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

80

Just in Case You Haven't Managed to Play Here is a Review

tedesco75 | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all tedesco75's reviews »

Skyrim is great. Let's just get that out of the way. The setting ranges from stunning mountain vistas to rainy marshes and open fields. It is a bit more rugged than its predecessor Oblivion and that is only a good thing. Gone are the boring idyllic fields and flat terrain. Skyrim as a place feels hostile and inhospitable even if the game isn't

The game is basically a character simulator you can be anything you want, and if you want you can be everything. This is where the major problems in this game arise. You have so much choice that you can literally be everything to everyone which breaks down some of the world building that the developers worked so hard to create.

There are a myriad of more minor technical issues with this game as well. The character models are not great, very wooden and stiff but they work. There are a number of other weird and fun glitches that you can find but overall these tend to be amusing and whimsical rather than outright annoying.

The story is so-so. You aren't playing and Elder Scrolls game for the story anyway (at least I don't) so it's no real loss. But it involves some mythical stuff and dragons. Very epic, if not very original.

Overall despite its (numerous) flaws Skyrim still manages to be a ton of fun and is probably the best Elder Scrolls game so far.

87

Fun for a While

ImSoAw3some | Sept. 6, 2014 | See all ImSoAw3some's reviews »

This game is really, really good and I recommend the purchase to anyone. However, after about 60 hours, it got kind of stale. The gameplay started to feel like "Talk to X person. Go to X dungeon and slay X monster or collect X item. Then return to X person and collect X amount of gold."

However, I'm not saying this is a bad game. I just don't think it was QUITE as good as everyone said (I still think this game deserves a metascore 85+ though).

I'll talk about what I really liked now. I really liked the skill tree and customisation to your character, whether it be with upgrading perks or finding new, powerful items, or learning new spells. There was so much variety to what you can do, it's really amazing and it didn't feel overwhelming at all either. You can take out enemies in different ways, such as casting fire spells, hitting them with a sword, shooting them with a bow, or shouting them off a cliff(yes).

The open world was great and the DLC was really worth it. It adds so much to the game (a whole new island to explore, the ability to buy a house, and a quest line dedicated to either being or killing vampires). There are so many places to explore and so much to do even if you don't buy the DLC.

Mods. There are so many community made mods to add even more content to this already content full game. Personally I never downloaded any, but that really just shows how much there already is to do. And I'm not even near close to getting done with the game after almost 70 hours.

There are a few minor bugs, but they all have the easy fix of reverting to a slightly earlier save (at least for me).

Overall, this game really is great, and it seems like I'm the only one who though it got a little stale after a while. But don't take that the wrong way, it's still a really good game and I supposed it could be said about anything. The combat, variety, exploration, adventure, quests, and dungeons are all really fun.

95

A must-play

Fourclops | Aug. 31, 2014 | See all Fourclops's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of RPG games, but Skyrim is a little exception. The game has an amazing and rich story, full of side quest that let you take your own path to the end of the game. It also has a LOT of extra content, which will entertain you for quite a while. But I gotta admit, I'm not into crafting and cooking in these kind of games, so it was sometimes frustating for me, but anyone who likes those things would totally love it.

98

Epicness in a bottle

Archer89 | Aug. 30, 2014 | See all Archer89's reviews »

Ever since Skyrim came out I wanted to play it but I did not have a good enough computer where I could play it with high specs. Recently I found a great deal here for Skyrim and having bought my new gaming laptop I bought it for 3 euros! The deal was insane. I am a big RPG fan. I have played earlier Elder Scrolls versions (III and IV) also the Gothic series (I,II,NotR,III), Fallout (I,II,III,NV) and I was captured by this game's beauty. I am not talking about its graphics (which are amazing don't get me wrong!) but also from its combat, stealth and interaction systems.

The only reason I gave this beauty a 98 was because the game itself had a bug that the only way to be fixed was for me to download a mod (note I am playing on steam so I was playing the latest patch) and the mod was Green water fix as I could not see underwater. Also I did not like the fact that they did not add the ability for the hero to climb and I do not mean rope climbing. I mean cases where there is an obstacle around your height and the hero should just grab the top and help him/her self up. (see Gothic series). It is nothing major but for me they should had added it. Apart from those two things I loved the game. I bought it not even a week ago and I already have 45 hours played but it feels like I haven't even completed one tenth of the game!!

I would make a bigger review but I don't want to waste any more of my free time away from Skyrim. So long!

100

I'm trapped, please send help

Clockwerk23 | Aug. 26, 2014 | See all Clockwerk23's reviews »

Journal Entry #12: I used to date these things, but I haven't a clue what day it is anymore. This morning I awoke with a start in a bed roll beside a river. Another nightmare, I'm afraid. They have become increasingly frequent as of late. I'm cold and sore and alone and I have a bad headache. I must have drank myself to sleep last night. Otherwise I wouldn't have slept in my Dwarven armor again. My untrimmed beard suggests that I have been living like this for weeks, but every time I wake I can't keep myself from looking beside me, at the spot where she used to be. Where she still would be if I hadn't...if I hadn't killed her.

Lydia, my darling. come back to me. You and I were meant to spend eternity together; routing bandits, gathering wildflowers, traveling through the country...together. But I took that away from us. You should have just left the Draugr Deathlord to me...I could've taken care of him. Yet you always tried to protect me, and as I prepared to trade one final blow with the monster you stepped in, protecting me from his ax, but intercepting my blow as well. I took your life. I took our happiness.

My life has become meaningless. I have stopped eating altogether, and only drink mead. It's becoming the only way to get any sleep. I'm not even trying to survive anymore, but Death is reluctant to visit me. I have considered just walking into the river and leaving this world behind, but deep down inside I know that I cannot. I must accept my punishment. Come and get me, Lydia. Please, I need to be with you again.

100

I recommened this game to everyone.

Zenivo | Aug. 25, 2014 | See all Zenivo's reviews »

Open world? Check. Adventure? Check. DLCs that are worth it? Check. Mods? Check.

What else do you need?

I've spent about 200 hours into this game and I'm far from done. I keep finding new quests and locations to explore. It's so immersive and fun to play. You can expand it even further with the DLCs if the base game isn't enough for you.

The Dragonborn DLC sends you off to the island Solstheim to fight the dragon priest Miraak.

The Hearthfire DLC lets you build your very own house and have children.

The Dawnguard DLC lets you join the Dawnguard to fight the vampires that are attacking the land.

100

Most amusing purchase i've ever did

coldrefreader | Aug. 24, 2014 | See all coldrefreader's reviews »

I saw so many recommending reviews, and they said the truth. I LOVE this game, because..well..it has so much in it: open world, hidden places, and with one of the DLC-s we can even have a home! The workshop has many player-made mods which keep the game feeling new. Also Skyrim seems to be the best of this very succesful franchise, so even if you skipped the other, you will love this, but it's better to play them first, so you can get deeper sense of the game.

95

Everyone should try this game at least once.

tlieaxu | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all tlieaxu's reviews »

Great game, with tons of content, even if you are not a fan of the previous elder scrolls games this one is great. Great main stories, characters, and tons of content where you can basically do whatever. Like some others have said there is tons of user mods and fixes, Bethesda makes great games but generally very glitchy, but the community is great and normally gets a fix for them quickly.

100

Get ready to lose yourself!

LovableGoat | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all LovableGoat's reviews »

Seriously though, I've spent more time exploring Skyrim than almost any game I've ever played. Not only do you get fully immersed by Skyrim and all it has to offer, but this game is STILL backed by a huge and extremely talented modding community. I still am amazed at some mods that are still being created especially the big ones like Skywind and Beyond Skyrim. However please only buy the legendary edition. The dlcs are NOT worth $20 each. They are good but do not offer the same amount of gameplay as the base game yet are still the same price. By getting legendary you save a lot of money and definitely won't regret it. Either way this is a definite 10/10 and I hope the next ACTUAL Elder Scrolls game (cough cough ESO) impress me even more.

Good Gaming!

100

He is...DOVAHKIN

kbullock | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all kbullock's reviews »

If you've played the other games in The Elder Scrolls series, then you'll be really happy to play Skyrim. It takes everything you loved doing in Oblivion, Morrowind, and expands the world into a massive land, teeming with an seemingly endless amount of quests and activities to do. It's one of those games that you'll find yourself playing for days on end once you get it, and when you do, you'll have many, many hours of Dragonslaying fun.

100

MUST OWN!

Ghost_Panther | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all Ghost_Panther's reviews »

If you have a game bucket list this should be at the top. There is nothing wrong with Skyrim. It has everything an RPG fan loves. Fun quest lines, great factions and Dragons. If your a fan of Oblivion buy this game. Skyrim is for everyone.

100

The Chosen One, Dovahkiin

NoelKreiss13 | Aug. 20, 2014 | See all NoelKreiss13's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim is one of the best game ever, not only because it belongs to a very old and successful franchise, but because in this game they improved every mechanics of the previous games (bugs apart) so that makes it perfect, a great story like always, but with new functions, differents environments, an excellent fight system, so, it's totally worth it!

95

A PC Must have

WolfyHige | Aug. 20, 2014 | See all WolfyHige's reviews »

Although I can say with 100% certainty that this game has an overwhelming amount of glitches and just problematic even with the latest patch, leave it to the community to fix it. The reason this game has been so popular for so long is all thanks to the community for making their unofficial patches and a huge variety of mods that just keep the game feeling like new. It's a game you'll be coming back to from time to time and always getting some fun out of it.

100

I can't recommend this enough

robdaine | Aug. 19, 2014 | See all robdaine's reviews »

I own this on multiple platforms, mainly because I shouted at a dragon and killed it. Killed it dead. DLC content only makes this game better and more worth playing. I can build a house!

100

One of the best games I have ever played.

SolarPhantom886 | Aug. 13, 2014 | See all SolarPhantom886's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is a masterful open world RPG. It serves as the next installment in Bethesda's hit "The Elder Scrolls" RPG series, and is a title that deserves "The Elder Scrolls" name. It features many improvements over the last entry in the series, Oblivion, greatly improved visuals, exciting game-play, hundreds of quests, many different story lines, and the ability to play the game in many different ways. The game takes place during the height of a civil war in Skyrim between the Imperial Legion and Stormcloak rebels. Coincidentally enough, during this time, dragons decide to come back after being dead for thousands of years, and terrorize the citizens of Skyrim. You play the Dragonborn of legend that arrives in Skyrim just in time to help fight back the dragons. Travel around the province and discover what is causing the dragons to return, and take part in different events that you run into while reversing the mountainous environment of Skyrim such as joining up with the Dark Brotherhood assassins, Riften Thieves Guild, Companions, or The College of Winterhold. Uncover conspiracies, work with deadric gods, fight a war, and kill some dragons. Skyrim has so much to do, beautiful scenery to take in, and amazing places to explore. Without a doubt one of the best games I have every played, and will keep playing for years to come until TES VI comes out .

96

I used to be an adventurer like you, but then ...

Alinasser | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all Alinasser's reviews »

One more Elders scrolls title, more and more hundreds and hundreds of hours, no, days, weeks gone of my life.

Graphics: The vanilla version s not spectacular but very solid. but with the crazy amount of the free mods available, it certainly can rival beautiful games like Crysis in how good it can look. 8\10

Sounds: Character voices are well done but what stands out is the sound track that "I paid to get it alone" 9\10

Game play: Simple but "enchanting" see what i did there :) The world is HUGE and FULL of secrets. The game will be great for years to come.

Replayability: With that huge world and many Mods, The possibilities are endless.

The dragonborn Rules

97

An Example of A Basically Perfect RPG Game

mrminecrafter1 | Aug. 11, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

This is one of the generation's best games out there. Skyrim is overflowing with so much content packed into the game. The rich lore and storytelling really immerses you into the wonderfully detailed world. Graphics are quite good, but thanks to Steam Workshop you can improve it even more. Gameplay is amazing with incredibly deep crafting, magic, skill trees, and even more. There is so much more that I could mention such as the fantastic voice acting and sound design, but the game is much better if you experience it yourself. Recommended with an awesomeness badge.

88

Skyrim best rpg i played

Cuked | Aug. 9, 2014 | See all Cuked's reviews »

I think this is the most complete rpg I have ever played. You can play with mods if you want, and also you can just be a fucking assasin of all the world, an NOTHING HAPPENS. If you have limit in something, a few click and you have a mod that get that limits off. If you want you can just explore and be a farmer, or be the warrior of your dreams :3

In conclusion, just the best rpg game i ever played

80

Absolutely loved it.

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

So many improvements over Oblivion, but it keeps what made it great. Skyrim offers a very rich world full of things to do without touching the main story line. The combat feels great, much improved from Oblivion. The story and history are enjoyable to learn. The overhaul of the magic feels right. Graphically, it's lovely, but mods make it gorgeous.

I loved my time in Skyrim... but it wasn't perfect. The PC port wasn't well executed at all. I had quest bugs somewhat often when I played, In order to get around them, I had to use console commands to help me along. Doing so blocked off achievements in Steam. Without them, some quests were impossible to finish. The interface also felt messy and irritating.

99

MOST PERFECT GAME EVER!

onesourlemon99 | July 29, 2014 | See all onesourlemon99's reviews »

This is such a great game. i have about 50 hours on steam, 100 hours on XBOX 360, and 75 hours on PS3, and i still haven't gotten bored of it. There are so many game changing choices, and everything you do has a consequence and a reward. There are even game changing choices base on what race you pick in the beginning of the game. I highly recommend.

This game is only met by Bethesdas other great game fallout 3, Which i also recommend getting. This is the most amazing game ever. And Bethesda is the most amazing game company ever.

100

The Dragonborn Returns

luxcaeruleus | July 27, 2014 | See all luxcaeruleus's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is the fifth installment to the Elder Scrolls franchise. As the name say, the setting of this game is at Skyrim, the snowy part of Tamriel. You're the dragonbron and your fate is to defeat the evil dragon Alduin and stop him from eating the world. This is an epic fantasy RPG game the could make addicted quite easily. The game is open-world, where, you get to play however you want. You could customize your character the way you want it, whether you focus on magic, or on physical, or on both, you'll find it highly enjoyable. Gameplay is great. It features a quest based system much like those in MMOs which affect the world as you take them. You could join in various guilds and cults that you like. You could even become a werewolf or vampire! The story too is great. Who doesn't love Dragons? And one of the greatest feature this game has is mod support. With it, players could shape the world to their liking. They've created vast mods for the game to add additional content to the already massive game. All in all, this game is a must if you're like me that love to play games the way we like it.

98

One of the Best games in existence

cocoawolf29 | July 25, 2014 | See all cocoawolf29's reviews »

This game is absolutely amazing. This was the game the introduced me to the Elder Scrolls Series, so it was overwhelming. The game is open world, with a huge map with thousands of places to discover and explore. The scenery in the game is unmatched by any other game. Other games may have better or clearer graphics, but I have never seen a game with such sheer beauty and reality. There are bird songs, sounds of the wind in the grass and trees, northern lights, incredible mountains and valleys and rivers, not to mention the dragons that will occasionally fly across the sky in the distance. The sky itself must have been a pain to create. The clouds move and look unique each time you look up, and the weather is constantly changing. Rain, snow, or sunshine all bring different lighting with them, but the weather never seems repetitive. I never once believed that I had seen this storm or sky before. It was always changing. To make the beauty even more intense, there is always beautiful background music to go along with all your exploring and site seeing. Say you don't want to take advantage of the beautiful scenery. That's fine, even though I'd be satisfied with the exploring and view alone in this game. The main plot is crucial to unlocking skills for the rest of the game, even if the ending is a bit anticlimactic and short. There are hundreds of side quests, whether it's just killing a giant for a jarl to get the bounty or it's one of the complicated quest lines like the Thieves Guild or Dark Brotherhood. The range of weapons, skills, improvements, and items is astounding. There are dozens of different adversaries to confront, and each has their own weakness to exploit and strength to avoid. This game holds hundreds of hours of gameplay. If you want to do everything that game has to offer, better set aside 200+ hours. Though this game is amazing, there are still of course some bugs. There are instances of being unable to complete a quest because the roster bugged or the person that you needed to finish it was killed. However, the glitches can often times be very funny, like a dragon skeleton giggling up into the sky after dying. Problems are to be expected in such a huge game, and they are easily worth it to play such a great game. I hope I can find another game this good in the future.

100

Skyrim - A brand new world.

hateah | July 25, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That's the best open world game. In the begining you are in some camp where youve been caugh by the guards and there is where you choose your class and the way you want to proceed your whole game. Just before to cut your head off a dragon comes in the town and make chaos that's how he saves your life, not on purpose of course. Then oyu start runing and you can choose to go either with the rebeles, or with the friend of the king and then serve him. Your first quest is to go into the town named Riverwood, where the one you went with will meet you with the "Blacksmith" of Riverwood. There you can craft a dagger and start doing your first after tutorial quests. There are milion quests and towns which you have to finish. The game can not be finished. There are unlimited side and not side quests, like you can join thief guild, start doing quests all over the world and etc and etc. The main story tho is very interesting. The art style is amazing, I was not that clever and rushed into the main story ( I dont recommend you doing it, I finished the main story on lvl 15..) Usually you should do it around lvl 30-40, every finished Quest gives you XP to level up. You can also build a house,have a wife and a kid with the Skyrim DLC - Hearthfire. You feel like Skyrim is your new home :) I have a logo on the wall reminding me that this is one of the not that many open- world games which can make you feel so relaxed while walking around the world with that relaxed atmosphere. The graphics id give them 10/10. The grass details, the water and the people are really good designed. You wont regret it, go with it.

97

Best game I ever played

Aleksa | July 21, 2014 | See all Aleksa's reviews »

This game has best graphics, nice story, a lot of items, spells, food etc... You can do what ever you want the world is big. I only don't like brightness because Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion is pretty much bright and in Skyrim everything is dark only in some regions (Riften, Whiterun) are bright. Anyway a best game strongly recommended for everyone!

93

SO AMAZING!

friendbear70 | July 21, 2014 | See all friendbear70's reviews »

I love this game. You can do pretty much anything. Pickpocket, steal, kill, loot. You can catch fish. You can do so many things in this awesome adventure in Skyrim.

My favorite part of this game is the fact you can start a WAR. It is fantastic.

However, the logic in this game is slightly strange. The people in there are racist. You can pick your race, and if you pick one called a Kajlii (basically a cat) you are made fun of by attacked suddenly and called hairball and other rude things. If ou kill a chicken, all the villagers suddenly attack and kill you. The logic in this game are very strange, but other than that, the game is really fun to play, providing HOURS of entertainment.

64

a bit overrated...

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | See all DragosLoL's reviews »

Don't get me wrong, Skyrim is a amazing game with its vast enviroment and RPG aspects. But if you're not into the lore aspect and just want to level up and kill enemies, then this isn't really the game for you. Skyrim is one of the best single player RPGs out there but it isn't the top. The game is graphically and gameplay mechanically beautiful and a true sequel to its predecessors. But this isn't a game where you play it to try it out. Once you're immersed into the game, you'll need to and want to grind out those levels and try to complete each quest thrown at you, whether they be side or main questlines. Skyrim is definitely for the hardcore RPG/Elder Scroll player but for someone just jumping into the series, then maybe not the best option for you to start out at.

96

Another Bethesda Game in the Elder Scrolls Series.

alanmaz567 | July 3, 2014 | See all alanmaz567's reviews »

Skyrim is an open world, RPG game and the next chapter in the Elder Scrolls Series. You start your journey as a prisoner that is about to get executed but right before they chop your head off a Dragon appears, and so begins your adventure. The gameplay is really amazing, the storyline is long and the map is probably one of the biggest maps i have ever seen in a single player game. There are a lot of quests to do after completing the game. The Requierments are pretty low for a game this beautiful. I definitely recommend getting this game.

95

Perfection

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | See all Rcoder97's reviews »

Skyrim is the Elder Scrolls game that every fan has been asking for. It has dragons, a bearable story, great gameplay, in depth leveling up, awesome environments, and mod support. Skyrim starts you out as a prisoner on his/her way to be executed, a dragon by the name of Alduin stops the your execution by wreaking havoc on the town. You now begin your quest to stop the dragons from taking over Skyrim. This game is just so fun to get sucked into. There are multiple stories, side missions, and miscellaneous objectives to keep you occupies for 100+ hours. You can choose from many races to make your character and each race has their own special qualities. Along with that there is a wide selection of armor, weapons, and clothing to fit your character's needs. You can make your character the ultimate thief, magician, archer, warrior, plus more. There is also a booming community adding new mods to download every day giving you more armor, quests, weapons, and just flat out fun. Besides the occasional glitch, this game goes down as one of my all time favorite RPGs.

95

Skyrim defines a new kind of gaming

MarianoAlipi | June 30, 2014 | See all MarianoAlipi's reviews »

The story is awesome. Characters and their personalities are amazing and very varied. It changes how we see gaming; I've heard questions on several occasions that mentioned something like: "Will my PC be able to run Skyrim?".

The world is vast and full of secrets, landscapes are beautiful and... well... graphics could improve a little, they're not the most important factor, though. It's a very good game, worth spending time. Try it!

95

Best RPG so far

SchmiRaj | June 19, 2014 | See all SchmiRaj's reviews »

I do not know how you can not not admire this game. When it was granted in 2011, right away I wanted her to have, unfortunately, date and test-reviewed the game moved up to two years. Graphics, which can not be matched today's games already, do not change the fact that in those days it was the hit of the year. Daily walking and doing side missions from the roadside vagrants or householders speaks for itself what this world is expanded. For the first fifteen hours I had something of a shock, the study zakamurków, dungeons, fortresses and cities. In this game EVERY detail is refined, and the locations are not repeated. emphasize the focus, this game is in the form of prizes which gave us a studio in Bethesda, in relation to other present day games. For now, just a script for the script and the same pattern, and The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim will not have this, the total is in any part of it was not. Linearity of the world has been converted into the real world. Let's get to the specifics, the game belongs to the RPG genre and is actually in the polished and each resembles the game (I say this in relation to the games, which although appear on the shelf with the caption'' RPG'', it does not always deserve it). I am firmly convinced that we encourage anyone who even once saw this game, to buy it on this site. I think this game deserves the title game in 2011! PS. In this site you can buy this game for a small price, than anywhere else!

90

Most casual in the series.

veshnov | June 16, 2014 | See all veshnov's reviews »

To justify my title, I would like to say that I love Skyrim, and it is worth all the monies you pay. Great game. The reason I called it casual is because it is. Let me explain. The Skills. In the previous elder scrolls games, there were a LOT of skills. In the first three, there were skills for everything you could do in the game . Alchemy, Long blade medium blade, short blade, Light armor, Medium armor, light armor. So many. In Skyrim, Way, Way less. A slight improvement was kill trees, which the previous games did not have. There are some interesting perks. But in the previous games, you would slowly get better at something each time you leveled it up, rather than suddenly being able to roll, for example. More damage for weapons,seeing more alchemy effects, things like that. But A very large subtraction in Skyrim was attributes. When you level up in Skyrim you can increase your Health, magicka, and stamina. In the previous games you could increase; Agility Endurance Strength Willpower Speed Intelligence Luck Personality And all of these attributes affected different skills. I.e Strength, Heavy Armor. Agility, Light armor. This added a whole new layer of depth to the leveling. And they took it out. At it's core, I think Skyrim is more of an action game that the others. Much more focused on everything flowing smoothly than anything else. And flow smoothly? It does. Switching weapons is quick, cast spells and bows are satisfying. The combat is great. But so much was better in the other games. This game had a very realistic environment, with mountains, and trees, and foxes, wolves, and all these real world animals. Morrowind, For example, had how many real worlds animals? Very few. The Rat may be the only one. There was a beatiful handcrafted island there, mushroom forests, swamps, giant volcanoes, all great. Skyrim just didn't have that. All in all, if you prefer Action-RPG's, this is worth your money and time. If you like core RPG'S you would be better off playing Morrowind.

85

A dragon genocide

SASteve | May 31, 2014 | See all SASteve's reviews »

Skyrim is a game about murdering dragons, as you probably know. You play as a mythical warrior that has dragon blood running to his veins, therefore he has to kill them, this part is not properly explained, but who the hell cares, right? It’s the fact that you kill dragons that makes this game so praised. The action takes place in a medieval setting, like any fantasy story and its dog, in which you have to fight big hairy monsters and take their loot in order to sell it and buy more health potions.
The combat is not really challenging, but it works, at least most of the times. The first person camera can be very confusing because all the monsters pile up in your face, but you are going to continuously slashing their face anyway, so there is no need to worry. If you are new to this game your strategy would probably be to run up to an enemy and attack them till they stopped moving, it’s not really challenging, actually I don’t think you can play Skyrim in any way to make it harder, you can increase the difficulty, but you can exploit the bugs and the secrets in the game anyway so you’ll just have to spend more time tin order to become over powered than usual (the hidden chest in Dawnstar is still there). You can also choose a different type of combat, but it basically boils down to just attack them. The thing that really makes Skyrim awesome is the fact that you can just find adventures while you wonder around the map, there are loads of areas on the map and it feels very wild, I personally enjoyed to roleplay as a smug almighty God, shouting apart everyone that annoyed me. There is also a crime system in this game, which is absolutely ridiculous, not because it exists, just because it’s not really punishing, you just have to press “e” to serve your time in jail, after that you are free to go , it seems a little bit GTA for me. You are losing skill progress while you are in jail, but you can very easily recover it, which makes thing rather perplexing, why would I pay for my crimes when I can just click my way out of it? Money is more useful than the skill progress, if you want good weapons and armor, you will have to grind like you are a gold mill, it’s really hard without exploiting the game, but again, why would you play fair when you can just take what you need? It’s not more challenging, it’s more dull routine.
So, is Skyrim any good? Many other critics declared this game as the best of it’s year, although I would have to disagree with them, Skyrim is not a bad game, it’s a fun little RPG that you can very easily play for hours and you’ll always come back to explore this fantasy land.

100

An awesome game

elsta123 | May 17, 2014 | See all elsta123's reviews »

A seriously one of the best games I have ever played. Its a fantasy open world where you can you what ever you want. You want to slay dragons ? You can ! You want to go on an adventure ? YOU CAN ! You can do everything ! There are tons of weapons and armor and mods where you can get more game hours and custom quests and stuff to game. I don't regret buying this awesome game I love it! and I recommend it to everyone ! It's is a must have game! You won't regret the money you paid for it !

85

a good entry to the series

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

Cons

The dungeons are all a bit the same and very repetitive. The main story includes a lot of steam punk themed dungeons and to be honest after a while it becomes very tiresome.

While the combat system was improved the game has less spells in total, meaning that being a mage is so much less exciting.

Pros

Good main story line and some interesting side story lines. A story line about fighting dragons most definitely beats closing Oblivion gates repeatedly in Elder Scrolls IV. Some side quests are also so much better than in the previous installment (notably the thieves guild story line), there's still a lot of secrets that you can find while exploring and separate side quests will still entertain you. Some quests are worse though (assassin's brotherhood is very incompetent in this one). OVerall the story line is a plus though.

Exploration. There's more to explore than before! The world looks beautiful and running from one side of it to the other feels amazing. Finally there's animals, such as deer and rabbits. It feels more immersible than the previous installments .

To sum up: while not my favorite, it's a solid installment into the series and it did have some much needed upgrades over the previous one. For RPG lovers out there I would recommend getting it.

90

Best Elder Scrolls Yet

abbadoxx675 | April 24, 2014 | See all abbadoxx675's reviews »

This is the best ES title yet. The leveling system has been streamlined compared with oblivion. The characters dont have that round pasty look they have in oblivion. Good thing they took out the annoying conversation mechanic and usless stuff like running, swimming to boost stats; jumping to get better jump skill could have been retained but the game already has a ton of skills to level. The story is stupid and boring but that's not the reason people buy this title. Combat system still needs work. You basically just hack away with melee weapons and play as an fps with magic. By the way , the magic system sucks. Performance-wise the game runs ok because the devs wisely break-up the draw distance by placing lots of rock and vegetation on the terrain. Few games beat this as a time sink.

80

Good RPG, not for core gamers

Funtaine | April 16, 2014 | See all Funtaine's reviews »

Skyrim is a highly enjoyable game for casual RPG gamers, however, it is not an attractive game if you're a core gamer. It's like a dumbed down version of Oblivion only more beautiful. The game is not challenging and such features as armor has become simplified for more casual gamers.

It's beautiful, the voice acting is perfect and the story is engaging often offering you a few choices. However, at the end it doesn't feel like you've done anything or saved the world.

91

Amazing

zathor1nan | April 14, 2014 | See all zathor1nan's reviews »

This was one of the first real games I played and I loved it. The graphics are amazing (especially if you get into modding) and the gameplay is fun and addicting. It has room for every play style. you can be an archer, a tank, a mage, a necromancer, or a thief. The game has loads of character customization in it and even added a way to customize your character again around mid game. All of the DLC add plenty of new places or things, especially dragonborn which takes you back to morrowind. The game is a whole lot of fun and even without any mods you can spend at least 100 hours in it. If you mod the game you can have so many things. The modding community is great and still thriving a couple years after the game came out. My only gripes about this game are that sometimes it is a little bit glitchy and the combat doesn't feel very solid. Sure, the killing animations are cool but when you are fighting the sword just seems to pass through. All in all this game is definetly worth the money. I would have paid more if I knew about the awesome mods.

90

Awesome!

9insane9 | April 10, 2014 | See all 9insane9's reviews »

Oh man, this game. This game was my introduction to single player RPGs. Despite its bugs it remains one of the best open world RPGs ever made, in my opinion. There's just so much content and more is created every day by the community! That makes the game absolutely timeless. Having sunk almost 200 hours into the game and not even gotten to the DLCs yet, I can say: I want more! It's a very immersive experience. What makes it particularly awesome is the modding community I mentioned earlier. Graphically, it's very easy to mod the game to perfection enhancing the immersiveness even further. Because the environment looks so great, it's awesome to explore the vast world of Skyrim.

The only things I feel could've been done better are the inventory and fighting systems. The inventory feels a bit clunky and all over the place and the fighting can get a little dull sometimes, comparing to other games of this sort. But, as I said, this game remains one of the greatest despite its flaws. Definitely worth picking up!

96

A perfect open world

ZioAgrippa | April 7, 2014 | See all ZioAgrippa's reviews »

An amazing RPG, with an infinite and animated world to explore. An exciting storyline in an epic scenario. You can spend hours contemplating the nature accompanied only by the soundtrack and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere.

A game that must be tried.

96

Amazing

SirHeroTheBrave | April 1, 2014 | See all SirHeroTheBrave's reviews »

One of the best open world RPGs, not it isn't perfect just like any game but it sure in hell fun. You can do alot of different things and with mod support the ideas are endless. You can do many of the quests many types of ways or do whem when you want for the most part. You can hunt explore and make no friends. Make armor weapons and learn magics. Just all round fun that will get you about at least 50 hours of fun game play.

90

Great RPG, but with Some Flaws

icedmetal57 | March 24, 2014 | See all icedmetal57's reviews »

After having played ~400 hours of the game I have come to the conclusion that the game is great. It certainly has its flaws, but it's still a solid game. For those looking for a somewhat action-y Role-playing experience, you'll find it here, there are numerous ways to customize and create a character to your liking. One thing that really extends the game for myself has been character builds that the community has created. Character builds are great because they allow you to create a character that is focused on certain aspects of the game while giving your character a bit of depth. I personally don't find the game interesting if you just play a single character that does everything, aside from that being unrealistic, it gets boring after a while. Try some variety and play a sneaky mage, or a strong warrior, that focuses on dragon shouts to disable your opponents. There's plenty to get out of the vanilla experience and can be expanded upon greatly with the DLC and even more so with mods. This game as well as the previous games in The Elder Scrolls series has had a great modding community that has extended their lifespans greatly. There are literally thousands of mods for all sorts of players. I recommend playing the game in a vanilla state first prior to checking out the mods, except for maybe the bug fixing or graphic enhancing ones.

That being said, if you're looking for top-notch story-telling with incredible quest-lines, you may feel a bit disappointed. While the experience with combat has certainly improved with each new Elder Scrolls game, the quests and stories feel a bit empty and are nowhere near as good as the ones in Oblivion or Morrowind.

If your more of fan of RPGs with more focus on the action than the stories, you'll like Skyrim, if you care mostly about the story, you may be disappointed. Overall it's a great game that's worth checking out. Fortunately, since there's a great modding community, chances are there's some great mods that can improve upon any aspect of the game.

95

Something For Everyone

pickelsurprise | March 16, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

Skyrim is very clearly a "quantity over quality" sort of game, but that's not to say the quality you get is lacking. It does have some of the infamous Bethesda bugginess, but all things considered, Skyrim is much more stable than Oblivion and Fallout 3 were.

This game's greatest achievement is probably just how much you can do with it. Of course, some character builds may be more powerful than others, but there is really no wrong way to play the game. You can be whatever kind of character you want, and you can engage in whatever shenanigans your heart desires. Plus, if the stock content isn't enough for you, there's so much modding support that you will quite literally never run out of things to do.

Now go forth and make a name for yourself.

85

Fantasy RPG

Nihilater | March 16, 2014 | See all Nihilater's reviews »

Skyrim is a great RPG made by one of the best RPG creators of our time. It falls flat in some areas that make an epic adventure forgettable. Many people have said that Skyrim has the vastness of an Ocean and the depth of a kiddie pool and it is true. That does not say this game is bad the combat is Elder Scrolls floaty but I never had a problem with it. Leveling is very cool because rather than killing enemies for exp your must level up certain aspects of what your going for i.e. blocking, light armor, archery, etc. It makes you as the player choose how you want to play rather than going down a determined path at the beginning. The game falls flat in that whenever you do a quest the npc do not recognize your triumphs like in Fallout 3 and New Vegas. Other than some minor bugs and various other non immersion things it is a fantastic game.

94

A life away from real life

ki11fr3ak | March 1, 2014 | See all ki11fr3ak's reviews »

Most of the games we come across today are games that we would just love to play but only for a month or so, after that, they feel boring. And sometimes there comes a game that will grow on you, the more you play it. The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim is one such game. It’s never ending world makes you feel, even after putting 100 hours into the game, that there is still something to do, some dungeons to explore or some quest to complete. Believe me, I’m 125 hours into the game and has still not discovered half of its locations. Literally speaking Skyrim, once you start, will become your second life.

The back story of the game begins with the High King of Skyrim being murdered by Ulfric Stormcloak, leader of the rebellious group called the Stormcloaks. This leads to a civil war within the country. Thus, as the prophecy goes, the god Alduin takes the form of a dragon and descends upon Skyrim resurrecting the dragons, long lost creatures only remembered in Skyrim’s lore. Your character as you will later discover is a dragonborn, the only one who can actually kill a dragon by absorbing its soul. Absorbing dragon souls unlocks special powers known as shouts which, you have to learn first, are the words of power in the dragon language. Of course for any Elder Scrolls fanatic, the story is of little concern and the quests, guilds and factions are what he will look for. The side quests, unlike the previous games, don’t feel like they are present just for the sake of it. They all have a story in them and less of “go there and kill this random dude “stuff.

The first thing you do, after starting the game, is customizing your character. You will have tons of options to choose from right from your character’s race to the war paint on the face. And after you’ve done playing god, you are left on your own to do whatever you like. But don’t stray too far away from the roads early in the game or you will become food for some hungry animal simply because you can’t best them in the initial levels of your character. Levelling up will earn you perk points which allow you to increase certain skills. What skill to increase depends upon you and the way you want to play the game. If you’re the kind of guy who just loves to hack through hordes of enemies with your swords then the one or two handed skill is what you need to improve. If you’re the guy who loves burning people down then the skills in magic are for you. If you like stealth more, then increase your sneak skills.

The graphics of the game are spellbinding. Even though the game was shipped with Dx9 textures, the game looks stunning. Each and every creature, town and object right to the flowers and butterflies are neatly done. The game looks great by the day but the best visuals are during the night. You will be gaping at the stars for a good ten minutes even if you have a dragon in front of you, ready to rip your head off. The soundtrack of the game sets you in the right mood for exploring or for butchering some beasts. The “Sons of Skyrim” theme is a must hear. The clashing of swords, Bashing of shields and beheading foes all sound great.

Overall the game is a pleasure to play and is one of the best RPG’s there is. Three words for any gamer out there: “Get it, NOW!”. It’s the “game of the year" for Talos’s sake. Now if you excuse me, I've got dragons to slay and shouts to learn.