Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

100

A truly Legendary eperience

Jokin93 | April 11, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

Skyrim is possibly the best open world game I have ever played. It's actually a lot like Lord of the Rings. The graphics of this game are amazing, the environment is beautiful, with big snowy mountains, open plains and forests, beautiful cities and villages and a great medieval feeling floating in the air. You can do almost everything in this game and the 3 DLC(more like expansions) add a lot of new things to the game and make it even greater and more immersive. That's pretty great, right? Oh, WAIT, there are mods, mods for everything and those can help you customize the game a lot and play it however you want. I would definitely recommend this game to everyone as it is Legen...Wait for it...Dary.

94

Do you want to feel like a viking?

Slaughtz | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all Slaughtz's reviews »

Perhaps even a stealthy rogue character as well? Or perhaps you want to go home and become a family man. All three of these options and more are available to you in this game. Hearthfire expands the game so you may build your own house. Dawnfire adds vampires. Dragonborn makes you feel like you aren't all that special - but you're still bad-ass. My own experience with the game was positive over all. So what would people want to know before they purchase this immensely popular game? There are some possible issues: 1) This game doesn't take advantage of the latest processor hardware. It's probably best you play with an Intel or a CPU optimized for 2-4 cores. 2) Some builds have been reported to have a visual artifact called Z-Fighting. There are some work arounds, though. The postives: 1) The issues above really aren't that big of a deal! Without any modifications you can run this fine on an average computer with decent quality. 2) Immensely large modding community which Bethesda's franchises are famous for having on the PC. 3) You get to play like a viking. 4) This is an immensely open RPG! You are lead linearly for the first 10-20 minutes, and then it is completely open. This is a negative for some. Do not buy if you do not like open world RPGs! 5) There is plenty of content to fill that open world, including random events. 6) Beautifully crafted and designed world, scattered with small trinkets that will satisfy any completionist.

Skyrim was my first Elder Scrolls game and I wasn't disappointed. It really does live up to the hype it had upon its release.

A word of warning, though - you may actually feel like a bad-ass while playing this game.

86

A very immersive RPG

jackjack7386 | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all jackjack7386's reviews »

When I first played skyrim, it was amazing, I had so much fun. I explored until my legs would of fell off. There was a lot to do. I played it for hours and as I was getting bored they brought out the DLC's. They allowed a lot more to do like flying a dragon. I played it even more and then discovered its amazing modding capability. I added many mods that made the game look amazing! I love it and would never go back to the old looks. There are a few bugs and the storyline is a little shabby but it is a good game overall.

95

Oneof the most addicting games ever made.

Pandapa | Dec. 15, 2013 | See all Pandapa's reviews »

Bethesda is known for good games, but Skyrim is another step up. With great graphics and one of the most beautifull worlds I have ever seen in a game, there is no reason to not play this game. The combat might not be the best but offers enough different styles to be entertaining. If you like to fight with a giant axe, do it. If you like to go sneaky, you can also do that. Or just destroy your enemies with your powerfull spells. The world ist huge and offers so many locations to discover. I already put like 300 hours into the game and haven't seen or done everything.

95

One of the best open-world RPGs

Mandemon | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Aaah Skyrim. How many hours did I sink into thee again? 140? And with official mod support three awesome DLCs, there is still tons of stuff to do.

Skyrim is an open world RPG, latest in the Elders Scrolls series. Player creates his character and is then told to do whatever he feels the best. Want to follow the main story line? Go ahead. Want to ignore that and rather go study magic? Sure. Magic not your thing, you want to end the Civil War and fight for the Imperium? Welcome to the Legion. Want to steal every bucket in the world and pile them outside Whiterun? ...Weird, but OK.

Backdrop of the game is that you are in a providence of The Empire called Skyrim, which is currently under a Civil War (or War for Independence or Rebellion depending who you ask in the game). Not only are locals killing each others, the dragons are returning. You are thrust into this world, to seek your own destiny.

Game looks GORGEOUS. Even when playing on lower setting, the world is just beautiful.

Storytelling vary from "forgettable" to "AWESOME!", so writing can feel little bit schizophrenic at the times, but considering the size of the world, it adds realism. Not every story is great ballad to be sung. Sometimes, a bandit to be killed is just that: A bandit to be killed.

Mods just add to the fun. The game is extremely open to modding, with official modding support AND modding tools. Modding community is active and mods range from "recolor your clothes" to "Change the entire world". Only imagination(and patience to program) is the limit.

Now, gameplay wise, it's two steps forward one step backwards from previous games. Although you will be missing all those stats, making it feel more like an action RPG, the character progression is much more meaningful and interesting that before. Stats have been reduces to three: Health, Mana and Stamina. Interestingly enough, this works well. You are not guessing or needing spreadsheets to figure out what each stat does, it's all clearly available.

Now, combat is something you might want to get a mod for. It feels floaty and lacking in strategy, as in you are just swinging your weapon hoping to hit your enemy.

Biggest problem the game has, are the bugs. It's a Bethesda game, so I strongly recommend to head out to Skyrim Nexus and get yourself unofficial patch to fix the worst. Although it has gotten better overtime, the game still has several bigs that can ruin your game if you don't save often.

All in all, a great game for anyone who wants freedom to do what he wants.

95

A new-age rpg

Seibitsu | Dec. 8, 2013 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

Skyrim is one of those games that has many stuff to do so you can play it for hours and it offers you infinite possibilities as playing as a mage won't be the same as playing as a knight. The story of the game gives you mighty quests for epic dungeons, loads of monsters and unique rewards as well as killing dragons! It also contains the possibility to create your own weapons and armors, as well as enchanting them with loads of magic effects such as fire power or even poison. If you happen to get this game, pick aswell the dlcs as they contain really unique missions and stuff, and also habilities like becoming a vampire lord. In general, Elder Scrolls has aged well and if you enjoyed playing Oblivion and Morriwind you'll definetely like this. Forgot to mention the PC version allows you to install your own mods so you can have even more armors, weapons, quest and even new worlds.

95

A fun and immersive RPG you'll never get tired of.

icole8 | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all icole8's reviews »

This game is awesome. I repeat, awesome.

Want to be an indomitable warrior who charges into battle armed with a greatsword, throwing Shouts here and there to scatter your foes? You can.

Want to be a sly rogue who moves in the shadows, then comes out of nowhere to end the lives of dragons with several sneak attacks? You can.

A mage who turns ice, lightning and fire into instruments of death, or raises undead servants and dremora to serve him/her? Perhaps even a supporting healer who keeps his/her followers healthy through spells without raising a weapon themselves? You can.

Or maybe, the ways of combat are not for you, and you prefer being a merchant who travels from town to town, seeking out items to buy and sell? Yes, you can!

Skyrim allows you to do almost everything and anything you wish - it's easy to waste hours and hours playing the game. However, it does have flaws; the most notable one for me being just how biased the game was in favor of rogue/mage classes on higher difficulties. You simply cannot play as a warrior on Legendary, as there are foes that can and will decimate you unless you play your cards right.

Otherwise, it's a great game you should buy, if you haven't yet.

96

The best game I've ever played

Bytrine | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Don't let the nay-sayers get to you when they say how horrible this game is, and how overrated it is. Because, quite simply, they're wrong. The game is visually stunning and HUGE which creates for a lot of gameplay time. Not only that, the game is so well detailed that it is what you'd expect vikings to look, live, and feel like - as if you were alive during norse times. Aside from fantastic looking graphics, the game has a lot of possibilities combat wise. Want to wield sword and shield? Go ahead. Maybe just a sword? Maybe two swords? Maybe even a greatsword? Or a sword and spell? Go for it. There are so many weapon combinations I could get lost. There is a lot of equipment for you to scavenge for! The spell animations and spell variety are astounding, too - it's virtually limitless. To top off having swords and spells and armor, you have an ability to "shout". Which is basically you yelling and a power happens based on whatever "shout" you have equipped - and there are a TON of shouts that you can upgrade three times. This game has so much to do, it's as if it is a Grand Theft Auto based on fantasy. You have all your side missions which can accumulate up to 100+ hours of gameplay, then you have your guild missions which accumulate up to 300+ hours of gameplay, then you finally reach the main quest which is about 50+ hours of gameplay. It's almost endless! However, there are a few niches in this game, too. You get a lot of bugs and glitches in this game, which is understandable, but is still inconvenient. Animations to attacks and parries are stiff, too which is unfortunate. You also have a really shallow, poorly written, boring main storyline which doesn't draw you in at all, and forces all the side activities to make up for it. Which isn't really good because story is what makes a game. Lastly, your decisions DO NOT AFFECT THE GAME WORLD AT ALL. How can you call this an RPG when you defeat the stormcloaks or imperial army and the general populace believes its still going on? And how no one ever comments on the fact the civil war is over? And wouldn't you think whatever side you chose, more of the faction would come and government would change? Especially the world in itself? The game IS good, but has many loopholes and flaws which could easily be fixed and improved if Bethesda was to partner up with BioWare and use their writers, cinematics, and animations.

96

Best Elder scrolls to date

mwirmm | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all mwirmm's reviews »

People can hype up Morrowind as much as they want, but the fact is..morrowind mechanics are otudated, so is the graphics. Skyrim is simply more fun.

They did cut a few corners though to make that possible, Morrowinds world still feels slightly more substantial. But skyrims fun factor more than makes up for it.

The improvements are many:

  1. Shouts - For once in a morrowind game you can duel weild and still use dynamic magic that keeps combat exciting.

  2. Missions - Missions feel less repetetive than in oblivion, and for one theres no majorly boring grind in the middle of the main plot like there was in Oblivion

  3. Graphics and art design - Easily the best in the series, Skyrim graphics are top notch, ESPECIALLY when you add a few mods in the Mix. Art design is also amazing with creatures, towns and dragons all looking amazing!

  4. Crafting - Long missing from the elder scrolls series, finally introduced in Skyrim. Brings alot more out of the smithing skill.

  5. Levelling system - THE MOST IMPROVED ASPECT IN ELDER SCROLLS - The past leveling systems required WAY TO MUCH PLANNING and GRINDING in order to make your character as powerful as possible. The leveling system is now much more streamlined and not as punishing!

Skyrim is a massive achievement in gaming, anyone giving this a score under 90 is not appreciating the amount of work needed to create such a mssive gameworld. No other game comes even close

93

Great Work Bethesda

brandonm87 | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all brandonm87's reviews »

This game lands between the Morrowind and Oblivion for me, its not as loose as Morrowind was where you could just find legendary artifacts at level 5 and use them, but its not as bad as Oblivion where everything scaled to your level either.The character detail is amazing in the game, the scenery graphics require texture packs to make gorgeous due tot the game being made for consoles but they are quickly downloaded from steam workshop so it is no hassle at all. When you have them activated, Skyrim is truly a beauty to behold!

96

A top pick game for any collection

finkrocks44 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all finkrocks44's reviews »

This is one of my absolute favorite games of all time, and if you have not played it yet, you need to get it now. This game has a gigantic overworld, ad you have complete freedom to do whatever you want, so you will never get bored of repetitive play. The legendary edition just adds more fun to the mix, but if you are on a budget, it is completely reasonable to just go with the base game and still have an amazing experience. The legendary edition comes with a good pile of DLC but it doubles the price of the base game, so if you've never played any Elder Scrolls games before, it might be a good idea to start with Oblivion or the base game to see if you like it before tossing around $60. If you know that you like these types of games, then I would definitely give my recommendation for legendary edition to have the full experience.

76

A must play.

IDprofile | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

Skyrim is one best in it's class. Everyone should try out this game. If you are new to video games then this is the best place to start. Easy learning curve and controls. The main story is short and not very good but the game is open world and built upon optional side quests that you can obtain by talking to characters you meet on the street or by joining guilds. The lore is a bit odd but it's enjoyable and immersive. Voice acting and dialogue is not great but perfectly fine and there is so much of it. Play how you want to play. Want to play as a soldier equipped with a war axe and shield, want to be thief that relies on stealth and steals from the rich, want to be a mage and cast spells on your enemies, or are you going to mix together the different skills to play as the character you want to play as? The game comes with the Creation Kit with which you can write your own quests and design custom NPC characters or even create your own game world to be used in game. Skyrim has a very large community of modellers, programmers, composers, artists, and actors that are always uploading new content for players of Skyrim to download and add to their game so that there is always a new quest to go on, a new house to live in or a new monster to slay. This game can be repetitive at times but with the constant community content being added you should be able to find hours of fun. This game is a bit of an unfinished product with poor optimization for varying computer systems and lots of bugs in the software. I'm quite disappointed in Bethesda for having released an unfinished game and not fixing their mess afterwards with updates. You should really give it a try especially if you haven't played many games like it before.

80

Incredibly fun, but not as great Oblivion

trilleon | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all trilleon's reviews »

I loved Oblivion. Its story was good, the aesthetic was great, and the quests were beyond belief. Did Skyrim improve upon this? Yes and no.

The overall quality of TES V is definitely an improvement. Being made several years after Oblivion, this title shows significant leaps graphically. Furthermore, the engine, voice acting, and world design are very fleshed out.

The only problem is that the quests and dungeons are not up to spec at all in comparison to Oblivion. Too often do you have to venture through a spider-infested cave. The story is obviously lacking.

Does this ruin the game? Certainly not. It just means that if you liked the fourth Elder Scrolls game for its story and quests, you might want to shy away. Skyrim is a great game and tons of fun. It supplies good action gameplay and a solid fantasy setting.

99

The game of the century

Raggzie | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Raggzie's reviews »

When I bought Skyrim and installed it, I played it for 10 hours straight. For the next two weeks I was hooked.

I love the crafting ability in skyrim. You gather raw materials throughout the vast, wonderous world. Whether you're collecting ore, flowers, crystals, or what have you, there is always a sense of accomplishment.

The skill tree is very in depth. You can do anything and be whoever you want and play the game however you deem fit. You can wipe out entire towns, steal from everyone, or play the game as a saint and protect the innocent from foul vampires and other monsters that lurk in the dark.

Join alliances with powerful underground guilds to increase your influence in the game. Purchase houses, get married, and raid dungeons and caverns for valuable loot.

There are so many things to do in Skyrim its hard to think of everything you can do! The game was made by the best open world Game Development Team in the world.

Do yourself a favor and climb the highest mountain, swim through the crystal clear lakes, catch fish with your hands and experience all of the glory the world of Skyrim has to offer.

97

One of the best games of all time

marshmellar | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all marshmellar's reviews »

With all the DLC included, this is quite literally, one of the best game experiences ever created. Dungeons and the very sparse glitch are the only things keeping the score from 100. It is one of the best game experiences you will ever have.

95

A game that has lived up to the hype

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

After numerous recommendations from friends to purchase this I declined. All of the positive reviews on the net couldn't get me to buy this game. Why? Fallout 3 was a huge disappointed for me, but that story is for another review.

After being disappointed by other rpg's I finally broke down and bought it and so far it's everything you wish for and more. Graphics are top notch with smooth game play and character interaction.

My only gripe thus far, and I'll chalk this up to being new at The Elder Scrolls games, is the combat system while in third person is a bit of an annoyance. The easy answer is to switch to first person when in battle which I have done, but I'd rather play in third person. I'll need to adjust to it I suppose.

This is definitely a game that justifies the price tag which is a rarity in the gaming world currently.

80

An epic adventure that lacks focus

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Harry_276's reviews »

Epic adventure abounds in the world of Skyrim, if you can focus on it long enough. The latest Elder Scrolls game boasted this huge open world with tons to explore and by god it did deliver, hours upon hours in and I have barley scratched the surface of what this game has to offer, but what could be its greatest strength could also be its greatest weakness.

Though the world of massive and full of adventure it lacks any real focus, sure its fun but its so easy to get sidetracked to such a degree that you may start out on one quest but end up doing something completely different on the other side of the map with 4 more quest added to your log. Don't get me wrong this game is fun and I have had a blast playing, but the environment this game provides makes it too easy to loose focus and ultimately get nothing done when it seems you accomplished allot.

I would still suggest this game to friends, but I would warn them that some extra focus on their part might be required.

100

You must try this game!

Raptor42 | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all Raptor42's reviews »

I am very impressed with this game. Beautiful graphics, huge world, many special places, like caves, villages, towns, ruins etc. You can customize your character in a lot of different ways. Starting from selecting a race, finishing at choosing type of a nose! You can spend up to 500 hours completing quests! There are many guilds you can, join like a Stormcloak rebellion, Magic College, or even a Dark Brotherhood of assassins. Fighting is very well-made. You can simply slash your enemy with a sword, or axe, or you can launch a cinematic called "kill cam". In result the enemy can be killed in a quite brutal way, even decapitated. I love this game, and I recommend it for everyone, who likes playing RPG games.

99

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legen-WAIT FOR IT-dary! Edition

DeadEndRic | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all DeadEndRic's reviews »

This wasn't my 1st ever Elder Scrolls game to play, (I started out with Morrowind back in the days) and I loved it, even thou a lot of people who played the older titles first, said that Bethesda has ruined the Elder Scrolls experience by "dumbing down" Skyrim. I would say that it was more of an improvement, since this way the game can reach a much larger audience and it's not necessary to make an RPG super hard. So in my opinion, it's a very well made game, the story was amazing (side quests too) just as the sounds and graphics (even thou physics could take some polishing). The game overall (as every other TES) is a MUST BUY, it's worth it's price and every hour you spend on playing it!

100

What an awesome game!

jediwoman | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all jediwoman's reviews »

I loved the entire Elder Scrolls series. I started with the first and have continued along as sequels were released. The odd thing is - I was not a real fan of this kind of RPG's and only started because I had played and finished one of Egosoft's X games and wanted a small break from space games. Was I in for a shock!

This game immediately grabs you and immerses you into the amazing world of Skyrim. The only drawback is that once you play Skyrim there are no other games that engage you on this level. The graphics are fantastic; but the storyline is a incredible! Skyrim itself is HUGE! I played this for several months and still have not finished it.(But I take my time and enjoy exploring every inch. I've found plenty of hidden areas and secrets which I love in a game. The loot is very cool, too.

Every one of the expansions has been top notch. I found the lore around Dragons and the Dragonborn entrancing. Your character, by the way, is completely customizable. That's good news if you enjoy playing as a woman, as I do. Too many games still do not give you that option.

The other advantage to such a great game is that fans will continue to create mods. I have not played them as yet, but I do encourage anyone thinking about purchasing Skyrim to check those out, too.

If you are a fan of RPG's this is one you do not want to pass up!

90

Bethesda knows how to create games we like to play...

fussioman | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all fussioman's reviews »

... and it is confirmed with SKYRIM ! The game is worth every cent, you'll get amazing gameplay, great main story with tons of side quests, the game will take you looong hours to complete and it's really cool ! The graphics are simply amazing ! The mods that are available will make you even more in love with this game ! And the legendary edition is really great choice for SKYRIM. I like all the DLCs that are included here. If you like Bethesda titles - for example Morrowind, Oblivion then you need to play SKYRIM, and it's good idea to choose the Legendary Edition ! I do not regret buying it, you won't too ! So don't waste more time ! Buy it and get the most of SKYRIM :)

70

Not a legendary game, a great base for mods!

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Mates1500's reviews »

I've got mixed feelings about this game. It starts off with an interesting feeling that there's so much great stuff, well, not that awesome. As someone said, "an ocean of quests with depth of a puddle". Most NPCs don't even seem to care what you do, what "world changing" quests you have done, they still treat you like a peasant. It takes out from the immersion into the game greatly. The main story is pretty mediocre, as are all the elder scrolls games. The game contains hundreds of quests, some are fun, some are not. The outcome simply kinda sucks. The world, however is once again as in all Bethesda's games very good. It's just the rest that sucks. The graphical engine is really outdated. But except for the awful shadows, all of this can luckily be fixed by mods! Need better textures? Mods! Need better quests? Mods! Need some balance changes? Mods! It's like minecraft, the base game is not that awesome, but the mods can take your experience much further.

89

Great game!

drafek | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Skyrim is a fantastic game, and the legendary edition includes all of it's dlc! The basic games takes around 70-300+ complete (depends of your play style) The quests are awesome! There is alot to explore. There are guilds, armies and also alot of creatures! Dawnguards is all about the vampires, it takes around 20-70 hours to explore, again it depends on your play style. Then we got Heartfire, for some a big disappointment. Personally I like it, it's anoying sometimes when you're doing some quests and your house is destroyed. Dragonborn is the DLC we all have been waiting for, back to Morrowind (well kind off) the best elders scrolls game, in my opinion. The map is big and it takes 50-200+ hours to explore. The graphics are great (even better with mods). The stories are well done. And it takes alot of time to complete, but that really depends on your play style. Worth every penny!