Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

100

The greatest adventure/second life

Doex | Nov. 5, 2014 | See all Doex's reviews »

This game is fantastic. Recommended to me by a friend in early 2012, I hired it out for a week on the xbox 360. I didn't see sunlight that week, I spent so many hour engaged in this epic RPG (and I don't play many RPGs) From there, I decided to buy/build my own pc, to run it on max graphics (and not annoy my parents 'hogging' an entire room) So I did, and bought this game too - only took 7 months. I remember it lined up perfectly with my break, so I gamed all day every day for weeks, it was the most fun I have ever had. The lore, the endless missions, everything. It was like a second life. I still go on after nearly 3 years, always a new mission. And whenever I wanted, I would start fresh - new race, new backstory, new way of fighting through. From stealthy archer, to mage, to warrior I roamed the country slaying dragons and exploring the landscape. Do not miss out on this experience - a MUST play. (Oh and there are some great mods too :D - adding a shit tonne; swords, armour, new npcs, followers, missions, cities, weather, beasts, music etc)

100

A game that never seem to end

dockzor | Nov. 2, 2014 | See all dockzor's reviews »

I was stacking books on a shelf in my house in Whiterun, one of Skyrim's major cities, when I noticed a weapon rack right beside it. I set a sacrificial dagger in one slot, an Orcish mace in the other. They were on display for nobody but me and my computer-controlled housecarl, Lydia, who sat at a table patiently waiting for me to ask her to go questing. The chest upstairs was reserved for excess weapons and armor, the bedside table for smithing ingots and ores, the one next to the Alchemy table for ingredients. I'd meticulously organized my owned virtual property not because I had to, but because tending to the minutia of domestic life is a comforting break from dealing with screaming frost trolls, dragons, a civil war, and job assignments that never seem to go as planned. It's even a sensible thing to do; a seemingly natural component of every day existence in Skyrim, one of the most fully-realized, easily enjoyable, and utterly engrossing role-playing games ever made.

Part of what makes it so enjoyable has to do with how legacy Elder Scrolls clutter has been condensed and in some cases eliminated. In Skyrim, there's no more moon-hopping between hilltops with a maxed out Acrobatics skill. That's gone, so is Athletics. The Elder Scrolls V pares down the amount of skills and cuts out attributes like Endurance and Intelligence altogether. There's no time wasted on the character creation screen agonizing over which skills to assign as major. You don't assign major and minor skills at all, but instead pick one of ten races, each with a specific bonus. High Elves can once a day regenerate magicka quickly, Orcs can enter a berserk rage for more effective close-range combat. These abilities are best paired with certain character builds – the High Elf regeneration is useful for a magic user – but don't represent a rigid class choice. Major decisions don't need to be made until you're already out in the world and can try out magic, sneaking and weapon combat, emphasizing first-hand experience over instruction manual study, letting you specialize only when you're ready.

It contributes to the thrilling sense of freedom associated with life in Skyrim. Do a quest, kill a dragon, snatch torchbugs from the air, munch on butterfly wings or simply wander while listening to one of the best game soundtracks in recent memory. Despite the enormity of the world and the colossal amount of content contained within, little feels random and useless. Even chewing on a butterfly wing has purpose, as it reveals one of several alchemical parameters later useful in potion making at an alchemy table. Mined ore and scraps of metal from Dwemer ruins can be smelted into ingots and fashioned into armor sets, pelts lifted from slain wildlife can be turned into leather armor sets, and random books plucked from ancient ruins can trigger hidden quest lines that lead to valuable rewards. Skyrim's land mass is absolutely stuffed with content and curiosities, making every step you take, even if it's through what seems like total wilderness, an exciting one, as something unexpected often lies just over the next ridge.

Many times the unexpected takes the form of a dragon. Sometimes they're purposefully placed to guard relics, sometimes they swoop over cities and attack at seemingly random times. In the middle of a fight against a camp of bandits a dragon might strike, screaming through the sky and searing foe and friendly alike with frost or flame. Momentarily all on the battlefield unite, directing arrows and magic blasts upward to knock down the creature, creating impromptu moments of camaraderie -- a surprising change from what may have been yet another by-the-numbers bandit camp sweep. Dragons show up often, their presence announced by an ominous flap of broad wings or an otherworldly scream from high above. The scale and startling detail built into each creature's appearance and animations as it circles, stops to attack, circles again and slams to the ground makes encounters thrilling, though their predictable attack patterns lessen the excitement after a few battles. In the long run they're far less irritating than the Oblivion gate equivalent from The Elder Scrolls IV, can be completed in a few minutes, and always offer a useful reward.

Killing a dragon yields a soul, which powers Skyrim's new Shout system. These are magical abilities any character can use, you don't have to specialize in spell casting to slow time, throw your voice, change the weather, call in allies, blast out ice and fire, or knock back enemies with a rolling wave of pure force. Even if you favor sword, shield and heavy armor and ignore magic entirely, you'll still be able to take full advantage of these abilities provided you find the proper words – each Shout has three – hidden on Skyrim's high snowy peaks and in the depths of forgotten dungeons, serving as another reason to continue exploring long after you've exhausted the main quest story, joined with the Thieves Guild, fought alongside the Dark Brotherhood, or thrown your support behind one of the factions vying for control of Skyrim.

Not only is this land under assault by dragons, long thought to be dead, it's also ripped in two by civil war. You can choose one side or the other, but so much of the allure of Skyrim is how, even outside of the confines of quest lines, the embattled state of the world is evident, and steeped in a rich fictional legacy. Lord of the Rings this is not, but with the release of every Elder Scrolls game, the fiction becomes denser, and the cross-referencing for long-time fans all the more rewarding.

Skyrim's residents are all aware of current events. They'll comment on the civil war, some sympathizing with the rebels, others thinking the establishment sold its soul. The peasants complain about the Jarls who control each settlement, the Jarls complain about the rebels or foreign policy, the overprotective College librarian complains when I drop dragon scales all over his floor; many characters feel like whole, distinct personalities instead of vacuous nothings that hand out quests like a downtown greeter hands out flyers for discount jeans. Characters stereotype based on race, they double-cross at even the slightest hint it might be profitable, and they react to your evolving stature within the world. It makes a ridiculous realm, filled with computer-controlled cat people and humanoid reptiles, demon gods and dragons, feel authentic, like a world that existed long before you showed up and will continue to exist long after you leave.

100

Work of Art.

Ghost_Panther | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all Ghost_Panther's reviews »

If you have a game bucket list this should be at the top. There is nothing wrong with Skyrim. It has everything an RPG fan loves. Fun quest lines, great factions and Dragons. If your a fan of Oblivion buy this game. Skyrim is for everyone. Legendary edition just makes it even better with more fun quests and storylines.

100

Skyrim: Fantastic Adventure

StrangerUPC | June 25, 2014 | See all StrangerUPC's reviews »

The first encounter with "The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" provoked in me delight. Although at the very beginning of our hero is run like clockwork, after several minutes of dramatic events (and by the way the tutorial) is released into the daylight. And although the accompanying figure suggests where to go, you can go anywhere. Pretty impressive, especially if someone has never played a RPG from Bethesda.

The Elder Scrolls series is characterized by a large and open world where the player can do what he like existence, but New The Elder Scrolls is a direct example of what we love western RPGs. It is a unique world in which we want to take the plunge, even for a moment to feel powerful. For several hours I spent longer in Skyrim ie, I could kill the despotic guardian orphanage, beat seven thousand steps leading to the highest peak in the land, forge a magical armour and visited the ancient dwarven ruins. I've done it dozens of other things, each of which was interesting in its own way.

I highly recommend The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, and I hope that it will spend with her nice and pleasant moments.

  • Well designed, spacious world of beautiful locations;
  • Climate
  • Degree of immersion unreachable for other titles;
  • Great freedom of action;
  • Random quests, which are the perfect complement to ordinary tasks;
  • Great mission of the Thieves Guild and the Dark Brotherhood;
  • Improved compared to Oblivion character development system;
  • Well-executed fight in real time;
  • Audio frame with an indication of the music.

100

A masterpiece

VenuSV | June 17, 2014 | See all VenuSV's reviews »

The fifth game of The Elder Scrolls franchise. Skyrim is a unique roleplaying , action and adventure game that never, ever ends. This is one of the best purchases I've ever made. Add in the unlimited potential of modding, and it's an adventure that continues forever. For the first 30-50 hours, you will be completely absorbed in the beautiful and vast world. From big snowy mountains, to open plains and forests to big cities and villages. With seemingly endless opportunities for exploration and questing. As you proceed in a massive open-world with thousands of side quests, things to plant/gather/craft, and to fight, you can easily put hundreds of hours in this game. Even if you confine yourself to just the main quest. It is still quite a large scale game. This game truly deserves the title of "near perfection", being one of those rare milestones that comes every so often in years of gaming. Skyrim itself, is probably the best release from Bethesda's Elder Scrolls series. Story wise, this is one of the most developed storyline from the series, giving much enjoyment overall. A bloody Civil war between the Storm Cloaks and the Imperial army. But under the surface even more factions are fighting for turf, The Thieves guild, its glory long gone, strives to reclaim their title as masters of darkness. The Dark Brotherhood, crumbling and in despair seeks out new opportunities to return to the day when people feared them and respected them. The College of Winterhold, a old school for Mages, that fell into hard times after half of Winterhold fell into the ocean, uncovers a powerful relic that could allow Infinite wisdom or Infinite Destruction. That is just a sample of the deep story and background of skyrim. The world of skyrim IS alive. It also has very open advancement, and many opportunities to advance your skills in either magic, combat, or stealth (or a combination of all). You are not as restricted as in previous Elder Scrolls games (and they were very open). It even has perks - skill points you can place on skills to improve their function even more than leveling up. Great for those who like skill trees! The graphics are amazing, beautiful environment, the atmosphere, the sounds, the combats, everying is just amazing!!!

93

A game that stole 500 hours of my life

artisall | June 7, 2014 | See all artisall's reviews »

And I don't regret a single minute of it. its been years since this title was released and I still come back every once and awhile to go spelunking in some cave or chase down some Daedra. With more and more mods releasing regularly, there are times I feel like it's a different game entirely. If you enjoy adventure, exploring and picking up everything (I think I have 400 tomatoes in Breezehome), then this is the title for you. No, Skyrim isn't perfect, no game is. I wish that the NPC reacted more to the world around them that I was supposedly 'changing', and the combat could definitely feel better, like I was actually hitting something, because as cool as I feel charging out into the wilderness, I don't feel very dangerous when I can't feel the power behind my swings or the impact from my fireballs.

All and all, a great game for those who want to loose hours exploring, looting and surrounding yourselves with companions who bug the ever loving crap out of you.

100

If you value your social life, don't buy it.

MafuMafu | May 6, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

Oh, Skyrim. Only God know how much time I've spent with you. And, it doubles with the help of the mods. I've never felt more immersed than the way I felt while playing TESV:S. Maybe you say that the graphics are not that good. Nonsense! With all the available mods (See Steam Workshop and/or Nexus). Not only you can add better looks to your game. You can add EVERYTHING. From weapons, to houses. From new dungeons, to companions. I think that the possibilities with this game are almost infinite. I admit that, if you only follow the main storyline, your adventure will be pretty short. But, if you make sure to use the freedom that this game gives you, you can be strolling around Skyrim (Or, Solstheim, thanks to the Dragonborn DLC) killing, helping, hunting and fighting. Take your weapons and became a mass murderer, if you want. Or, maybe, you want to be at home with your kids and wife, baking bread. (Only with Hearthfire DLC) Take part in the epic fight between the Imperials and the Stormcloaks and support anyone you want. Search for more knowledge about the thu'ums and kill hundred and thousands of dragons. As I said, the possibilites are almost infinite. So, why don't you give it a try? I can guarantee that you won't regret it.

100

Skyrim: A True Masterpiece

Azrael360 | April 30, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

This is probably the best game I've ever played. I already had it on Xbox 360 with over 470 hours played, and then on Steam with over 600 hours, and still doesn't tire me.

This is a classic single-player western RPG with the Elder Scrolls style and rich lore, where the player was multiple choices and quests to complete in an open world for hundred of hours of entertainment, in first or third person view. You can play however you like, be good or bad, warrior, mage or a mix of everything. You decide how to play and are free to do whatever you want.

The main game is about the resurrection of the dragons and a civil war in Skyrim (the northern region in Nirn), among many others important quests.

The expansion Dawnguard is about stopping or joining the Vampire Lords who want to cover the sun and rule the land.

Hearthfire is a simple DLC that lets you buy up to three lands, design and build a homestead in each one, and also, let you adopt up to four children.

The expansion Dragonborn is the biggest of the three DLCs, which adds the island of Solstheim in the north, between Skyrim and Morrowind, and it's about the return of the first dragonborn, the evil Miraak.

You can't go wrong with this game. Just with the main game you will get at least 300 hours of play, plus 100 hours with the DLCs. And thanks to the modding community, you can add many quality mods to the PC version to custom your adventure, and also, the famous Unofficial Skyrim Patches that fix hundred of script errors and bugs left unpatched by Bethesda. Highly recommended.

100

Skyrim: A True Masterpiece

Azrael360 | April 23, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

This is probably the best game I've ever played. I already had it on Xbox 360 with over 470 hours played, and then on Steam with over 600 hours. And still doesn't tire me.

Back to the game, this is a classic single-player western RPG with the Elder Scrolls style and rich lore, where the player was multiple choices and quests to complete for hundred of hours of entertainment, in first or third person view. You can play however you like, be good or bad, warrior, mage or a mix of everything. You decide how to play and are free to do whatever you want.

The main game is about the resurrection of the dragons and a civil war in Skyrim (the northern region in Nirn), among many others quests.

The expansion Dawnguard is about stopping or joining the Vampire Lords who want to cover the sun and rule the land.

Hearthfire is a simple DLC that lets you buy up to three lands, design and build a homestead in each one, and also, let you adopt up to four children in the game.

The expansion Dragonborn is the biggest of the three DLCs, which adds the big island of Solstheim in the north between Skyrim and Morrowind, and it's about the return of the first dragonborn, the evil Miraak.

You can't go wrong with this game. Just with the main game you will get at least 300 hours of play, plus 100 hours with the DLCs. And thanks to the modding community, you can add many quality mods to the PC version to custom your adventure. Highly recommended.

100

A truly Legendary eperience

Jokin93 | April 11, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

Skyrim is possibly the best open world game I have ever played. It's actually a lot like Lord of the Rings. The graphics of this game are amazing, the environment is beautiful, with big snowy mountains, open plains and forests, beautiful cities and villages and a great medieval feeling floating in the air. You can do almost everything in this game and the 3 DLC(more like expansions) add a lot of new things to the game and make it even greater and more immersive. That's pretty great, right? Oh, WAIT, there are mods, mods for everything and those can help you customize the game a lot and play it however you want. I would definitely recommend this game to everyone as it is Legen...Wait for it...Dary.

94

Do you want to feel like a viking?

Slaughtz | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all Slaughtz's reviews »

Perhaps even a stealthy rogue character as well? Or perhaps you want to go home and become a family man. All three of these options and more are available to you in this game. Hearthfire expands the game so you may build your own house. Dawnfire adds vampires. Dragonborn makes you feel like you aren't all that special - but you're still bad-ass. My own experience with the game was positive over all. So what would people want to know before they purchase this immensely popular game? There are some possible issues: 1) This game doesn't take advantage of the latest processor hardware. It's probably best you play with an Intel or a CPU optimized for 2-4 cores. 2) Some builds have been reported to have a visual artifact called Z-Fighting. There are some work arounds, though. The postives: 1) The issues above really aren't that big of a deal! Without any modifications you can run this fine on an average computer with decent quality. 2) Immensely large modding community which Bethesda's franchises are famous for having on the PC. 3) You get to play like a viking. 4) This is an immensely open RPG! You are lead linearly for the first 10-20 minutes, and then it is completely open. This is a negative for some. Do not buy if you do not like open world RPGs! 5) There is plenty of content to fill that open world, including random events. 6) Beautifully crafted and designed world, scattered with small trinkets that will satisfy any completionist.

Skyrim was my first Elder Scrolls game and I wasn't disappointed. It really does live up to the hype it had upon its release.

A word of warning, though - you may actually feel like a bad-ass while playing this game.

86

A very immersive RPG

jackjack7386 | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all jackjack7386's reviews »

When I first played skyrim, it was amazing, I had so much fun. I explored until my legs would of fell off. There was a lot to do. I played it for hours and as I was getting bored they brought out the DLC's. They allowed a lot more to do like flying a dragon. I played it even more and then discovered its amazing modding capability. I added many mods that made the game look amazing! I love it and would never go back to the old looks. There are a few bugs and the storyline is a little shabby but it is a good game overall.

95

Oneof the most addicting games ever made.

Pandapa | Dec. 15, 2013 | See all Pandapa's reviews »

Bethesda is known for good games, but Skyrim is another step up. With great graphics and one of the most beautifull worlds I have ever seen in a game, there is no reason to not play this game. The combat might not be the best but offers enough different styles to be entertaining. If you like to fight with a giant axe, do it. If you like to go sneaky, you can also do that. Or just destroy your enemies with your powerfull spells. The world ist huge and offers so many locations to discover. I already put like 300 hours into the game and haven't seen or done everything.

95

One of the best open-world RPGs

Mandemon | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Aaah Skyrim. How many hours did I sink into thee again? 140? And with official mod support three awesome DLCs, there is still tons of stuff to do.

Skyrim is an open world RPG, latest in the Elders Scrolls series. Player creates his character and is then told to do whatever he feels the best. Want to follow the main story line? Go ahead. Want to ignore that and rather go study magic? Sure. Magic not your thing, you want to end the Civil War and fight for the Imperium? Welcome to the Legion. Want to steal every bucket in the world and pile them outside Whiterun? ...Weird, but OK.

Backdrop of the game is that you are in a providence of The Empire called Skyrim, which is currently under a Civil War (or War for Independence or Rebellion depending who you ask in the game). Not only are locals killing each others, the dragons are returning. You are thrust into this world, to seek your own destiny.

Game looks GORGEOUS. Even when playing on lower setting, the world is just beautiful.

Storytelling vary from "forgettable" to "AWESOME!", so writing can feel little bit schizophrenic at the times, but considering the size of the world, it adds realism. Not every story is great ballad to be sung. Sometimes, a bandit to be killed is just that: A bandit to be killed.

Mods just add to the fun. The game is extremely open to modding, with official modding support AND modding tools. Modding community is active and mods range from "recolor your clothes" to "Change the entire world". Only imagination(and patience to program) is the limit.

Now, gameplay wise, it's two steps forward one step backwards from previous games. Although you will be missing all those stats, making it feel more like an action RPG, the character progression is much more meaningful and interesting that before. Stats have been reduces to three: Health, Mana and Stamina. Interestingly enough, this works well. You are not guessing or needing spreadsheets to figure out what each stat does, it's all clearly available.

Now, combat is something you might want to get a mod for. It feels floaty and lacking in strategy, as in you are just swinging your weapon hoping to hit your enemy.

Biggest problem the game has, are the bugs. It's a Bethesda game, so I strongly recommend to head out to Skyrim Nexus and get yourself unofficial patch to fix the worst. Although it has gotten better overtime, the game still has several bigs that can ruin your game if you don't save often.

All in all, a great game for anyone who wants freedom to do what he wants.

95

A new-age rpg

Seibitsu | Dec. 8, 2013 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

Skyrim is one of those games that has many stuff to do so you can play it for hours and it offers you infinite possibilities as playing as a mage won't be the same as playing as a knight. The story of the game gives you mighty quests for epic dungeons, loads of monsters and unique rewards as well as killing dragons! It also contains the possibility to create your own weapons and armors, as well as enchanting them with loads of magic effects such as fire power or even poison. If you happen to get this game, pick aswell the dlcs as they contain really unique missions and stuff, and also habilities like becoming a vampire lord. In general, Elder Scrolls has aged well and if you enjoyed playing Oblivion and Morriwind you'll definetely like this. Forgot to mention the PC version allows you to install your own mods so you can have even more armors, weapons, quest and even new worlds.

95

A fun and immersive RPG you'll never get tired of.

icole8 | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all icole8's reviews »

This game is awesome. I repeat, awesome.

Want to be an indomitable warrior who charges into battle armed with a greatsword, throwing Shouts here and there to scatter your foes? You can.

Want to be a sly rogue who moves in the shadows, then comes out of nowhere to end the lives of dragons with several sneak attacks? You can.

A mage who turns ice, lightning and fire into instruments of death, or raises undead servants and dremora to serve him/her? Perhaps even a supporting healer who keeps his/her followers healthy through spells without raising a weapon themselves? You can.

Or maybe, the ways of combat are not for you, and you prefer being a merchant who travels from town to town, seeking out items to buy and sell? Yes, you can!

Skyrim allows you to do almost everything and anything you wish - it's easy to waste hours and hours playing the game. However, it does have flaws; the most notable one for me being just how biased the game was in favor of rogue/mage classes on higher difficulties. You simply cannot play as a warrior on Legendary, as there are foes that can and will decimate you unless you play your cards right.

Otherwise, it's a great game you should buy, if you haven't yet.

96

The best game I've ever played

Bytrine | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Don't let the nay-sayers get to you when they say how horrible this game is, and how overrated it is. Because, quite simply, they're wrong. The game is visually stunning and HUGE which creates for a lot of gameplay time. Not only that, the game is so well detailed that it is what you'd expect vikings to look, live, and feel like - as if you were alive during norse times. Aside from fantastic looking graphics, the game has a lot of possibilities combat wise. Want to wield sword and shield? Go ahead. Maybe just a sword? Maybe two swords? Maybe even a greatsword? Or a sword and spell? Go for it. There are so many weapon combinations I could get lost. There is a lot of equipment for you to scavenge for! The spell animations and spell variety are astounding, too - it's virtually limitless. To top off having swords and spells and armor, you have an ability to "shout". Which is basically you yelling and a power happens based on whatever "shout" you have equipped - and there are a TON of shouts that you can upgrade three times. This game has so much to do, it's as if it is a Grand Theft Auto based on fantasy. You have all your side missions which can accumulate up to 100+ hours of gameplay, then you have your guild missions which accumulate up to 300+ hours of gameplay, then you finally reach the main quest which is about 50+ hours of gameplay. It's almost endless! However, there are a few niches in this game, too. You get a lot of bugs and glitches in this game, which is understandable, but is still inconvenient. Animations to attacks and parries are stiff, too which is unfortunate. You also have a really shallow, poorly written, boring main storyline which doesn't draw you in at all, and forces all the side activities to make up for it. Which isn't really good because story is what makes a game. Lastly, your decisions DO NOT AFFECT THE GAME WORLD AT ALL. How can you call this an RPG when you defeat the stormcloaks or imperial army and the general populace believes its still going on? And how no one ever comments on the fact the civil war is over? And wouldn't you think whatever side you chose, more of the faction would come and government would change? Especially the world in itself? The game IS good, but has many loopholes and flaws which could easily be fixed and improved if Bethesda was to partner up with BioWare and use their writers, cinematics, and animations.

96

Best Elder scrolls to date

mwirmm | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all mwirmm's reviews »

People can hype up Morrowind as much as they want, but the fact is..morrowind mechanics are otudated, so is the graphics. Skyrim is simply more fun.

They did cut a few corners though to make that possible, Morrowinds world still feels slightly more substantial. But skyrims fun factor more than makes up for it.

The improvements are many:

  1. Shouts - For once in a morrowind game you can duel weild and still use dynamic magic that keeps combat exciting.

  2. Missions - Missions feel less repetetive than in oblivion, and for one theres no majorly boring grind in the middle of the main plot like there was in Oblivion

  3. Graphics and art design - Easily the best in the series, Skyrim graphics are top notch, ESPECIALLY when you add a few mods in the Mix. Art design is also amazing with creatures, towns and dragons all looking amazing!

  4. Crafting - Long missing from the elder scrolls series, finally introduced in Skyrim. Brings alot more out of the smithing skill.

  5. Levelling system - THE MOST IMPROVED ASPECT IN ELDER SCROLLS - The past leveling systems required WAY TO MUCH PLANNING and GRINDING in order to make your character as powerful as possible. The leveling system is now much more streamlined and not as punishing!

Skyrim is a massive achievement in gaming, anyone giving this a score under 90 is not appreciating the amount of work needed to create such a mssive gameworld. No other game comes even close

93

Great Work Bethesda

brandonm87 | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all brandonm87's reviews »

This game lands between the Morrowind and Oblivion for me, its not as loose as Morrowind was where you could just find legendary artifacts at level 5 and use them, but its not as bad as Oblivion where everything scaled to your level either.The character detail is amazing in the game, the scenery graphics require texture packs to make gorgeous due tot the game being made for consoles but they are quickly downloaded from steam workshop so it is no hassle at all. When you have them activated, Skyrim is truly a beauty to behold!

96

A top pick game for any collection

finkrocks44 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all finkrocks44's reviews »

This is one of my absolute favorite games of all time, and if you have not played it yet, you need to get it now. This game has a gigantic overworld, ad you have complete freedom to do whatever you want, so you will never get bored of repetitive play. The legendary edition just adds more fun to the mix, but if you are on a budget, it is completely reasonable to just go with the base game and still have an amazing experience. The legendary edition comes with a good pile of DLC but it doubles the price of the base game, so if you've never played any Elder Scrolls games before, it might be a good idea to start with Oblivion or the base game to see if you like it before tossing around $60. If you know that you like these types of games, then I would definitely give my recommendation for legendary edition to have the full experience.

76

A must play.

IDprofile | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

Skyrim is one best in it's class. Everyone should try out this game. If you are new to video games then this is the best place to start. Easy learning curve and controls. The main story is short and not very good but the game is open world and built upon optional side quests that you can obtain by talking to characters you meet on the street or by joining guilds. The lore is a bit odd but it's enjoyable and immersive. Voice acting and dialogue is not great but perfectly fine and there is so much of it. Play how you want to play. Want to play as a soldier equipped with a war axe and shield, want to be thief that relies on stealth and steals from the rich, want to be a mage and cast spells on your enemies, or are you going to mix together the different skills to play as the character you want to play as? The game comes with the Creation Kit with which you can write your own quests and design custom NPC characters or even create your own game world to be used in game. Skyrim has a very large community of modellers, programmers, composers, artists, and actors that are always uploading new content for players of Skyrim to download and add to their game so that there is always a new quest to go on, a new house to live in or a new monster to slay. This game can be repetitive at times but with the constant community content being added you should be able to find hours of fun. This game is a bit of an unfinished product with poor optimization for varying computer systems and lots of bugs in the software. I'm quite disappointed in Bethesda for having released an unfinished game and not fixing their mess afterwards with updates. You should really give it a try especially if you haven't played many games like it before.

80

Incredibly fun, but not as great Oblivion

trilleon | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all trilleon's reviews »

I loved Oblivion. Its story was good, the aesthetic was great, and the quests were beyond belief. Did Skyrim improve upon this? Yes and no.

The overall quality of TES V is definitely an improvement. Being made several years after Oblivion, this title shows significant leaps graphically. Furthermore, the engine, voice acting, and world design are very fleshed out.

The only problem is that the quests and dungeons are not up to spec at all in comparison to Oblivion. Too often do you have to venture through a spider-infested cave. The story is obviously lacking.

Does this ruin the game? Certainly not. It just means that if you liked the fourth Elder Scrolls game for its story and quests, you might want to shy away. Skyrim is a great game and tons of fun. It supplies good action gameplay and a solid fantasy setting.

99

The game of the century

Raggzie | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Raggzie's reviews »

When I bought Skyrim and installed it, I played it for 10 hours straight. For the next two weeks I was hooked.

I love the crafting ability in skyrim. You gather raw materials throughout the vast, wonderous world. Whether you're collecting ore, flowers, crystals, or what have you, there is always a sense of accomplishment.

The skill tree is very in depth. You can do anything and be whoever you want and play the game however you deem fit. You can wipe out entire towns, steal from everyone, or play the game as a saint and protect the innocent from foul vampires and other monsters that lurk in the dark.

Join alliances with powerful underground guilds to increase your influence in the game. Purchase houses, get married, and raid dungeons and caverns for valuable loot.

There are so many things to do in Skyrim its hard to think of everything you can do! The game was made by the best open world Game Development Team in the world.

Do yourself a favor and climb the highest mountain, swim through the crystal clear lakes, catch fish with your hands and experience all of the glory the world of Skyrim has to offer.

97

One of the best games of all time

marshmellar | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all marshmellar's reviews »

With all the DLC included, this is quite literally, one of the best game experiences ever created. Dungeons and the very sparse glitch are the only things keeping the score from 100. It is one of the best game experiences you will ever have.

95

A game that has lived up to the hype

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

After numerous recommendations from friends to purchase this I declined. All of the positive reviews on the net couldn't get me to buy this game. Why? Fallout 3 was a huge disappointed for me, but that story is for another review.

After being disappointed by other rpg's I finally broke down and bought it and so far it's everything you wish for and more. Graphics are top notch with smooth game play and character interaction.

My only gripe thus far, and I'll chalk this up to being new at The Elder Scrolls games, is the combat system while in third person is a bit of an annoyance. The easy answer is to switch to first person when in battle which I have done, but I'd rather play in third person. I'll need to adjust to it I suppose.

This is definitely a game that justifies the price tag which is a rarity in the gaming world currently.

80

An epic adventure that lacks focus

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Harry_276's reviews »

Epic adventure abounds in the world of Skyrim, if you can focus on it long enough. The latest Elder Scrolls game boasted this huge open world with tons to explore and by god it did deliver, hours upon hours in and I have barley scratched the surface of what this game has to offer, but what could be its greatest strength could also be its greatest weakness.

Though the world of massive and full of adventure it lacks any real focus, sure its fun but its so easy to get sidetracked to such a degree that you may start out on one quest but end up doing something completely different on the other side of the map with 4 more quest added to your log. Don't get me wrong this game is fun and I have had a blast playing, but the environment this game provides makes it too easy to loose focus and ultimately get nothing done when it seems you accomplished allot.

I would still suggest this game to friends, but I would warn them that some extra focus on their part might be required.

100

You must try this game!

Raptor42 | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all Raptor42's reviews »

I am very impressed with this game. Beautiful graphics, huge world, many special places, like caves, villages, towns, ruins etc. You can customize your character in a lot of different ways. Starting from selecting a race, finishing at choosing type of a nose! You can spend up to 500 hours completing quests! There are many guilds you can, join like a Stormcloak rebellion, Magic College, or even a Dark Brotherhood of assassins. Fighting is very well-made. You can simply slash your enemy with a sword, or axe, or you can launch a cinematic called "kill cam". In result the enemy can be killed in a quite brutal way, even decapitated. I love this game, and I recommend it for everyone, who likes playing RPG games.

99

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legen-WAIT FOR IT-dary! Edition

DeadEndRic | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all DeadEndRic's reviews »

This wasn't my 1st ever Elder Scrolls game to play, (I started out with Morrowind back in the days) and I loved it, even thou a lot of people who played the older titles first, said that Bethesda has ruined the Elder Scrolls experience by "dumbing down" Skyrim. I would say that it was more of an improvement, since this way the game can reach a much larger audience and it's not necessary to make an RPG super hard. So in my opinion, it's a very well made game, the story was amazing (side quests too) just as the sounds and graphics (even thou physics could take some polishing). The game overall (as every other TES) is a MUST BUY, it's worth it's price and every hour you spend on playing it!

100

What an awesome game!

jediwoman | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all jediwoman's reviews »

I loved the entire Elder Scrolls series. I started with the first and have continued along as sequels were released. The odd thing is - I was not a real fan of this kind of RPG's and only started because I had played and finished one of Egosoft's X games and wanted a small break from space games. Was I in for a shock!

This game immediately grabs you and immerses you into the amazing world of Skyrim. The only drawback is that once you play Skyrim there are no other games that engage you on this level. The graphics are fantastic; but the storyline is a incredible! Skyrim itself is HUGE! I played this for several months and still have not finished it.(But I take my time and enjoy exploring every inch. I've found plenty of hidden areas and secrets which I love in a game. The loot is very cool, too.

Every one of the expansions has been top notch. I found the lore around Dragons and the Dragonborn entrancing. Your character, by the way, is completely customizable. That's good news if you enjoy playing as a woman, as I do. Too many games still do not give you that option.

The other advantage to such a great game is that fans will continue to create mods. I have not played them as yet, but I do encourage anyone thinking about purchasing Skyrim to check those out, too.

If you are a fan of RPG's this is one you do not want to pass up!

90

Bethesda knows how to create games we like to play...

fussioman | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all fussioman's reviews »

... and it is confirmed with SKYRIM ! The game is worth every cent, you'll get amazing gameplay, great main story with tons of side quests, the game will take you looong hours to complete and it's really cool ! The graphics are simply amazing ! The mods that are available will make you even more in love with this game ! And the legendary edition is really great choice for SKYRIM. I like all the DLCs that are included here. If you like Bethesda titles - for example Morrowind, Oblivion then you need to play SKYRIM, and it's good idea to choose the Legendary Edition ! I do not regret buying it, you won't too ! So don't waste more time ! Buy it and get the most of SKYRIM :)

70

Not a legendary game, a great base for mods!

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Mates1500's reviews »

I've got mixed feelings about this game. It starts off with an interesting feeling that there's so much great stuff, well, not that awesome. As someone said, "an ocean of quests with depth of a puddle". Most NPCs don't even seem to care what you do, what "world changing" quests you have done, they still treat you like a peasant. It takes out from the immersion into the game greatly. The main story is pretty mediocre, as are all the elder scrolls games. The game contains hundreds of quests, some are fun, some are not. The outcome simply kinda sucks. The world, however is once again as in all Bethesda's games very good. It's just the rest that sucks. The graphical engine is really outdated. But except for the awful shadows, all of this can luckily be fixed by mods! Need better textures? Mods! Need better quests? Mods! Need some balance changes? Mods! It's like minecraft, the base game is not that awesome, but the mods can take your experience much further.

89

Great game!

drafek | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Skyrim is a fantastic game, and the legendary edition includes all of it's dlc! The basic games takes around 70-300+ complete (depends of your play style) The quests are awesome! There is alot to explore. There are guilds, armies and also alot of creatures! Dawnguards is all about the vampires, it takes around 20-70 hours to explore, again it depends on your play style. Then we got Heartfire, for some a big disappointment. Personally I like it, it's anoying sometimes when you're doing some quests and your house is destroyed. Dragonborn is the DLC we all have been waiting for, back to Morrowind (well kind off) the best elders scrolls game, in my opinion. The map is big and it takes 50-200+ hours to explore. The graphics are great (even better with mods). The stories are well done. And it takes alot of time to complete, but that really depends on your play style. Worth every penny!