Reviews for Fallout: New Vegas

100

Fallout - The town in the desert.

hateah | July 22, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

I didn't played it much, because i did not had the time to, but i played the first quests. I like the aiming system, and the reality of the game, its just an epic!! By using your weapon too much it gets weaker and you gotta visit a mechanic to fix it, what more reality can u want than that? It has also an aiming system which shows u how much % u can take by aiming in different part of the bodies. The first levels are pretty easy, the aiming is very cool tho. The training is also cool and i really liked the test at the beginning. It feels like you're really doing a test for testing your abilities. I took it very seriously, and i choose me to be in the sphere of the science. I didn't thought it'll be fun so that's why i chose the weapon sphere. There you basically choose your skills. And the old fashioned little town where you are in is very,very cool. IT gives the game really good feeling of playing some old priceless game. Play it as much as u can and you will not regret. This game doesn't deserve even one negative review. It's one of the best game in the Fallout series.

98

You'll never get bored of it!

SantaSteamKeys | July 19, 2014 | See all SantaSteamKeys's reviews »

I picked up Fallout New Vegas because I've played a couple of Fallout games before and really loved them. I thought I'd love New Vegas just as much, but nope, I loved (and still do love it) even more so!

Open world games like this are simply amazing - you can get about 200+ hours of gameplay with the main game and there are quite a few awesome mods for the game which gave me more than 100 hours extra gameplay.

95

Amazing game.

veshnov | June 16, 2014 | See all veshnov's reviews »

I would first like to comment on meta critic's score of this game. 84. Lies. this is one of not only best RPG's I've ever played, but one of the best games I've ever played. The story feels free and presents enough choices for you to take a path that you would take, rather than being forced down one, like in Skyrim. (Skyrim is still a great game BTW) The final battle is difficult, but rewarding, and the ways you can go through the game are overwhelming if they were are presented to you at once, but they are masterfully placed so they just present a choice, rather than another path to take in the game. What I mean by this, is that some games will present you with blatant choices, and at the beginning of the game you will say to yourself what kind of person your character is going to be. Sometimes it is more prominent than others, i.e fable, but it happens. With this game, you develop opinions of characters. Whether or not you want to kill them. And you make choices based on that. But you can play the game again, and still make choices based on you. Not your character, you. Truly immersive.
Gameplay is phenomenal. Many weapons, and different ways of playing. Both VATS and real time shooting work well. All around, great game.

98

So close to perfect

ThePugilist | June 8, 2014 | See all ThePugilist's reviews »

This game is so great, and can be used to waste hours and hours of your life. This is about as close to perfect as a game has ever reached. This game has a lot of variety and customization, so it can be played over and over again. It is one of the best, if not the best game I have ever played. the DLCs are decent, but not too amazing.

95

Surviving the apocalypse or just shooting stuff?

damaffin | May 18, 2014 | See all damaffin's reviews »

The Fallout series has always been somewhat of a favorite of the fans. Why, you may ask. The answer lies in the open world, the huge choice of armaments and probably the excitement of being in an apocalyptic world. Those are all the right reasons which make this game amazing, both to myself and the others who find this game worth their time. And frankly, it is. So if you can't make up your mind which game to jump on next, consider Fallout, it might just be the game for you.

85

Awesome Games

flyingcat001 | May 18, 2014 | See all flyingcat001's reviews »

like skyrim with guns,but exactly this game came earlier than skyrim,however this game let you experienced the post-apocalyptic of las vegas.in this game you can choose your ending by side on of the factions. and this game is some kinda gory but still playable.

100

One of the beast game's I've played, Hands down.

Dodec1 | May 6, 2014 | See all Dodec1's reviews »

First things first, Get this game now! No matter the price, also get the DLC. It is lengthy, fun and has a rich story. For original fallout fan's it's your lucky day. It goes back to the setting of Fallout 1, so pack some nuka cola and some ammo because your heading for Nevada!

100

Fantastic.

MobeusChronox | March 16, 2014 | See all MobeusChronox's reviews »

FNV is, in my opinion, a superior game to Fallout 3. I loved the setting, the characters and the story line. You can easily spend dozens of hours just exploring the Mojave without ever touching the main quest line.

95

almost the same as the originals...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

the gameplay and engine is the same as fallout 3. it throws in some country western feeling and adds gambling... but it could almost just be an expansion to Fallout 3. the only really good improvement is the fact that the writing feels a lot more like the original fallout games. it just seems a little more dirty and raw. it doesn't shield itself with censors like 3 did. the modding is greats always and allows you to add tons of options and content thanks to the online community. the main story however is really the key, with all its twists and turn and choices, you could almost never play the game the same twice.

it takes a while to really get into it, and there can be times when you get lost trying to help save some random people from a wolf attack... but its entertaining as hell and provide hours of amusement. a must play for any real gamer.

90

What Fallout 3 should have been

Gmen | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

While Fallout 3 was good, it was this game that everyone was looking forward to. Why? Well, because it had a development team which consisted of people who had worked on the original Fallout games, including the cancelled Fallout codenamed Van Buren.

So this was set to be Fallout done right.

And so it was. I found it to be much more enjoyable than Fallout 3. There are plenty more weapons to be had, which can also be modded this time around, and there are several new additions like the companion wheel making it easier to keep a leash on them on your friends. Combat is somewhat improved, with the ability to aim down the sights with most weapons for increased accuracy, and V.A.T.S should be used sparingly due to the damage you can take while it's active.

Many of the enemies from the previous games and some new ones show up for you to take on. Personally I think the levelling up system in the game is much better with many new perks to choose from, and the base level cap has been extended from a puny 20 (as in Fallout 3) to 30. The sound in this game, from the dialogue to the retro music that takes one back to the mid-twentieth century, is absolutely superb, and even the most dedicated thrasher out there will find him or herself humming to the tune of “Blue Moon” by Dean Martin in no time at all.

And to accompany the music, you have that atom punk theme to the game, combining old technology with more futuristic technology, which I find is much more apparent than F3, and I just love it. If I were to live in a post-apocalyptic society, this is how I would want it to look.

While on the topic of looks, yes, Fallout: New Vegas doesn't really look that much different from Fallout 3, graphically. It could pass as a mod for that game, perhaps. And the colour scheme of the game, which consists of hues of orange and brown, might not be to everyone's taste. And the poor robotic animation is still present.

There are also a few issues such as the fact that the game is quite buggy, and you will more than likely experience freezes, crashes, and corrupted savegames. So it isn’t a very stable game. But if one can look past this they will find a real diamond in the rough here. There are plenty of mods out there too, so once you get through the main game several times, which will take you enough time as it is, there’s tons of replayability to be had.

For those of you who complain that Bethesda hasn’t ever made a decent RPG, you should try this – because it isn’t made by Bethesda, and it is more than decent in my book. New Vegas is a bit like owning an Alfa Romeo. You hate it when it doesn't work, but you absolutely adore it when it does.

90

Old School Fallout Fans Rejoice!

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Fallout 3 was a great game in my opinion. In fact, it brought me so immersed into the Fallout universe and lore. I bought Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 on gog just for the story, and can see how FO3 deviates from its predecessors.

Fallout New Vegas is developed by Obsidian, where many developers came from FO1 & 2's Black Isle Studio, so the game's writing and lore feel just right at home for FO1 & 2 veterans. If you didn't like FO3, however, you won't like FNV.

If you liked FO3, however, you'll be right at home with FNV. The writing is superb, and the choices feel important. As per Fallout tradition, you'll get to see the consequence of your actions in an end game slide show. Decisions will range from which faction will ultimately come out on top (there are 4, only 3 will be obvious though) to a companion's personal vendetta.

Perks and SPECIAL are back of course, and how you select your character ultimately dictates how your game will play out. It's the freedom that makes Fallout unique, and FNV doesn't disappoint in this regard. Obsidian's games are notoriously known for being buggy, and some parts of the game feel empty. This is undoubtedly a result of not having enough development time, so this may sometimes be a little rough around the edges.

It is more important to note that the PC version of FNV is vastly surperior to its console counterparts, and I speak with no hyperbole. The modding community literally makes the whole world different and much more interesting. If you can think of something that would make FNV better, someone's probably made a mod for that.

Don't like the armors of a faction? There's a mod for that! Don't like how FNV only ultilizes 2GB of your ram? There's a mod for that! Don't like how little amount of guns are in the vanilla game? There's a mod for that! Don't like to manage (install/uninstall) all these mods? There's even a mod for that too!

Even today, years after this game's release, the modding community is still highly active. There is a generous amount of content in the base game. If you like it, purchase more DLC's is optional but definitely check out what you can do with your game by installing mods!

90

The greatest post-apocalyptic RPG game

drakso | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

If you are in to open world RPG games and really like the post-apocalyptic setting this game is a MUST BUY. The game does its job very well. The world is huge, the numerous characters that you will meet trough out the game are awesome and full of life and there is a huge variety of weapons, gear and items. The story is amazing filled with lots of decisions, side quests, quest lines and different encounters. Because of the huge world and many possibilities you will run across a bug or two, but the major bugs that the game had were patched a long time ago. DLC wise I would suggest picking them all up because all the dlc are very fun and a good addition to the story, but if you are feeling picky I suggest picking up the Old World Blues DLC.

96

Couldn't get better

DCGGames | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all DCGGames's reviews »

This game is one of the many reasons gaming can be so beautiful yet so dark in nature. This game is graphically and game play-wise amazing. The story line is full of surprises and is very similar to the story line of its ancestor Fallout 3. Fallout:New Vegas is a leap in gaming because of it's ability to give the nostalgia of Fallout 3 yet make itself it's own game. The gameplay is so fun at most of the times and the map is so pretty. All of the different town have different feels to them. This is a very well polished game and only lacks in that it does feel to similiar to Fallout 3, but that is not a bad thin in all respects.

85

A great addition to Fallout franchise

Mandemon | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Having played both Fallout 1 and Fallout 2, but skipping Fallout 3, I was little bit skeptical about Fallout: New Vegas. I was happy to find that I was wrong and the game feels very much like a Fallout game.

Mojave Desert looks great and the radio really adds atmosphere, the old 50's song playing really give the vibe of "World that stopped".

Story is interesting and offers many branches and not only to main story, but also to numerous side stories. There are is much variation that you find yourself replaying this game again and again. Characters range from forgettable to people you want to tell to your friends.

Game world is large and open right away, but player will soon notice that unless you are prepared, you are not welcome in certain parts. Game will nudge you towards certain path, but if you wish to go off the rails, it does not stop you from doing so.

I would strongly suggest players getting all the major DLCs, as their stories are great and range from bittersweet to funny to scary.

However, the game is not without it's flaws. The combat feels less skill based and more on how good FPS shooter you are. Also, naturally to Bethesda released game, it is also filled with bugs. I would suggest getting some mods to fix these problems.

Overall, the game is great addition to Fallout franchise. You don't need to be a fan of Fallout to enjoy the game, but it helps.

85

Great game, better with mods

KalGoran | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all KalGoran's reviews »

New Vegas is set in a cool, almost Western or frontier feeling environment. It has a solid main story that is very open ended, giving you a variety of ways role play the major events, while also giving you small quests and jobs to further immerse yourself in the world. Gameplay is largely similar to Fallout 3, meaning some reliance on VATS and some awkward first person shooting, but the RPG elements give you more freedom to decide how to play.

The New Vegas Nexus has tons of great mods that will further add content and immersion, and should absolutely be visited if you pick up this great game.

100

Amazing game

TheRedAbyss | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all TheRedAbyss's reviews »

I find this game simply amazing. I have played several hundred hours on this game and i never grow tired, there are just so many things to do. You can shape your character however you want, and go wherever you please. Every single DLC for this game is amazing. The dialogue in this game is both intriguing and funny. There are heaps of different quests that all feel relatively unique. This game is basically set up to make you go for hours. Hours of fun, and hours of exploring.

96

Prepare to have no social life...

koeserm21 | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all koeserm21's reviews »

This is one of the essential games you need on PC, along with it's little brother Fallout 3. You can easily sink 60+hours into this game and feel like you have hardly scratched the surface of what it has to offer. After you have completed the entire game (if you can, I keep finding surprises as I go), you can mod the game until you have what is basically an entire new game. I would personally wait to get this game on sale, so you can get the ultimate edition for 5 dollars or so. I personally think the DLC for this game are much more engaging than those in Fallout 3 (though, those are amazing in their own way), and they have many memorable characters and storylines. Overall, the only thing that holds this game back for me are occasional crashes or startup failures, but they are pretty rare (at least for me).

95

A proper Fallout sequel

commanderhavoc | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

If you're among those who though that Fallout 3 didn't really live to the franchise, then you won't be disappointed with New Vegas. You play as a courier that has the worst luck ever as you are ambushed by a mysterious man in a checkered suit who steals a strange casino chip you were supposed to deliever before he puts a bullet in your head, yet you manage to survive thanks to a strange security bot with a western accent that brought you to a local doctor who patched you up as best he could. Now you must find out who this man that ambushed you is and what is so important about that chip while at the same time helping others who are in plight, or just be a complete and total douchebag towards everyone. There are a lot of classic Fallout weapons in this game, including the awesome Power Fist that can turn a foe into mince meat if you land a critical hit. There are also some pretty good story DLCs that add to the game, the Old World Blues is considered the best of them all with its silly characters and weapons you can get. Also, there's plenty of interesting mods for the game made by the community and some might even add completely new areas that they've made. This is a must own for fans of Fallout or if you're the type of gamer who loves post apocalyptic games in general.

90

True fallout sequel

VindiBanga | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all VindiBanga's reviews »

This game is more true to the original fallout games than fallout 3 is. If you liked Fallout 3, you'll like this the same. If you disliked Fallout 3, this solves most of the gripes you might have had with it.

Better writing, more interesting story, factions and characters than Fallout 3. There's a good amount of game to be played here (lots more guns, locations, vaults, characters) and multiple playthroughs are still fun because most of the quests have many different options and are actually pretty deep. Overall a much better game than FO3 and a fantastic one at that. The DLC is also nearly all very good.

Only downside is it it/was fairly buggy. Most of that has been fixed now but make sure you make multiple saves.

93

Fallout : New Vegas

tristetea | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all tristetea's reviews »

Taken from the site where i used to review my games to.

Where Fallout 3 started softly by born of your character and safe childhood in the depths of the vault. New Vegas starts by your character getting shot in the head. Nearby smalltown doctor patches you up and pretty much after that you are own your own. Questions rise up in your head, who shot your character and why?, and what was that platinum chip so important that you've gone through all this. Answer lies in New Vegas,but the journey is long and eventful and the game doesnt end upon your arrival to New Vegas, it starts there.

The world itself ain't larger than in Fallout 3, but it contains more to discover and there's always a monster or two trying to end your life. In Mojave's desert the recivilization is under rapid construction.

I found the best things in the game is the liveliness and realiness of npc's. Eventhough the earth is destroyed, it's filled with different sides with their own goals and problems. Everytime you journey to somewhere new, you'll probably end up having handful of quests that lead you to a yet another new location, it seems the exploration never stops.

Mainplot in the game consist New Vegas and the control of that specific area. Of course you are in the middle of it and will be the final judge to decide the fate of the city and the surrounding areas.

Engine might run a little old already, but game's content compensates this more than satisfyingly.

All in all. Gameplay is fun, you get to roam free just to shoot anyone or complete tons of sidequest to your liking with great storylines and npc's in a complex and harsh but beautfiful world. What more can previous player of Fallout 3 or even a new player wish for?

75

The Buggiest Fun You'll Ever Have

faerie241 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all faerie241's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is my absolute favorite game ever, which is why it's difficult to assign a score. This game has an absolutely endless stream of quests to play through, and the world feels so alive and vibrant (a difficult task in a post-apocalyptic wasteland). In most ways, this game is a significant improvement over Fallout 3.

Why does it get a lower score if I love it so much? The reason is the bugs. This game contains an absolutely staggeringly large amount of bugs. Some are innocent, or even funny, such as when a group of people kept walking past the edge of a cliff Wile E. Coyote style only to randomly drop to their death after 5 minutes. Unfortunately, there are also a lot of nearly game-breaking bugs, such as corrupted save files, broken quest lines, and frequent crashes.

A few tips for playing Fallout: New Vegas from my experience: -Save frequently, and save on a new file every time. Saves get corrupted frequently, so you don't want to be relying on one save. -Turn off the auto-save feature. It makes corruption more likely, and also crashes your game a lot. -Be careful with the DLC. It can lead to frame-rate drops and more frequent crashes if you have too many installed. -When you need to ultimately pick a faction to align yourself with for the end of the game, since I don't want to spoil anything here, make sure you read about the bugs attached with the NCR plot line, as that quest line is notorious for a nearly game-breaking glitch (I've had it happen twice).

I know all of these bugs sound terrifying, but this game is really good. Even with the bugs, I do highly recommend you try this game, just take the necessary precautions with it.

90

Superb Game

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

I would describe Fallout: New Vegas as a game that keeps on giving. There's so much to do in it. Of course you can be good bad, or somewhere in between, but in NV you can truly be yourself, and there are all sorts of wonderful adventuring to be had... Like the old Fallout games, you can now choose Traits and use different type of ammunition depending on your needs. Also, the main story while not necessarily of the same caliber as Fallout 3, is truly cool and enjoyable. Hardcore mode is great for any gamer who wants a more realistic experience, and considering the apocalyptic/survivalist nature of the game it's a great way to play. Oh if you prefer the silly humor of the old Fallout games, try on for size the Wild Wasteland perk, you'll love it!

90

Succesful improvements and a whole new story

michelpulha | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all michelpulha's reviews »

This game didn't disappointed in any way in comparison with FO3. The graphics have improved (a little), the skills were partially reworked, new enemies, a lot of factions and more comedy elements as well. I just couldn't get enough of the details that are found in every place.The utility skills (like barter, speech, cience and repair) became more interesting, unlocking many possibilities along the way. You can fully understand the context, empathize with the people's lifestyle, learn about each faction story...it's definitely one of the most immersive games. The graphics are great and does not require much hardware, the only downside is that the characters are still invariantly ugly. Fortunately, all the Fallout games are very easy to mod and there's hundreds of ways to quickly improve the graphics. In fact, it will look like a 2012 game just by adding a new texture pack.

93

Challenging, but still amazing.

bauwan | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all bauwan's reviews »

When I first heard about Fallout 3, I wasn't really convinced about taking it first person perspective, so I totally forgot about. Some time ago, I saw it on sale and gave it a try. And I can tell you right now... I never was so wrong in my life. Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas was totally the best hybrids of FPS and RPG I've ever played. Great story which sunk me in for a long time, danger everywhere (I believe most of us, met Supermutants while having really low level), tons of fun, many many hours to spent in post-apocalyptic world. Also, one of the great feature was that you could decide if you want to fight in real time, or using VATS. The first way was challenging sometimes and led me straight to death. I you liked the first Fallout games, but you weren't sure if it still good in FPP, try it. It's totally amazing.

93

One of the best rpg/fps hybrids ever.

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

Follow-up of the Epic fallout 3. Though the story is less immersive then the original, the gameplay is improved. For example the vanilla game features iron sights and VATS is less overpowerd, so this game is more played like a realtime fps/rpg instead of the semi-turn-based VATS-action featuring the orginal fallout3.

Bottom-line, allround this game is as good as the orginal fallout3.

SSD and modding is highly recommended, but even vanilla this game will provide over 100 hours of great gameplay in a single playthrough.

Games don't get much better then this. Must have for everyone who loves rpg games and/or fps/thirdperson shooters. (go for the ultimate version because this is one of the few games where the dlc actually adds a lot to the game)

80

Explore the Wasteland

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is a game that I enjoyed playing. Like any Bethesda game, you have the choice of following the storyline, or exploring the world while doing whatever you want. Anything goes; you can be a negotiator or an aggressor, and you can build your character in whatever way you want. The characters are also interesting, with the companions all having unique personalities and the named NPC's all having mostly unique quirks that make them memorable. Get this game if you enjoy the open world experience.

84

Good Game almost Great

Soured | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all Soured's reviews »

The game is both a setback and an improvement on Fallout 3. The story line is much better with less plot holes than the last one. You get a great immersion in the game too since you want to succeed against the antagonist so much (no spoilers). The game has many different factions each with their own quest line so there's a lot of room for choices.

The game has a lot of cut content however and is definitely not stable. World design is lacking since so much was cut, many large settlements aren't as large and extensive as they were back in Fallout 3. The graphics are kind of lacking but many mods have been made to improve it. The game crashes ALL THE TIME. Probably about once an hour depending on how good your comp is. It has a lot of random lag spikes and your patience runs thin quickly. There's a large mod community including some that almost double the content in the game for FREE.

It's a great game and you'll enjoy it if you enjoyed Fallout 3. Behind how badly it runs is a game you can spend 100 hours on easily and still not discover everything.

82

A grower

Glyndwr | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Glyndwr's reviews »

At first I didn't think I was going to like this game, it felt too similar to other Bethesda games in the mechanics. Graphically the game is dated and it is not particularly innovative. Having said all that I found myself going back to play a bit more. and a bit more! It offers a large game world and what happens in the storyline does depend on choices made as well as how the many different factions view you, for this alone the game provides good replay value and being so cheap it has to be recommended.

87

Hours of Amazing

professordinosa | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all professordinosa's reviews »

Follow the great story line, or don't! Either way this open ended adventure sees you through hours of some of the best post apocalyptic mayhem available. Collect caps to buy stuff. Blast enemies to pieces (literally). Pick a side or go it alone. Playing through a few times will net you a different story every time.

86

Great game

murphy7801 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all murphy7801's reviews »

I find it much truer to the spirit of the old games than fallout 3. Its much the same as Fallout 3 mechanics and gameplay wise aside improved manual aiming. Huge world good story definitely worth play since its so cheap these days.