Reviews for RAGE

86

An enjoyable shooter game

SaliMonium | March 30, 2014 | See all SaliMonium's reviews »

It was really beautiful game, I enjoyed playing it, I like when some crazy villains jump in front of me, they freak me out :D. the graphics are good, I like the atmosphere. The gameplay is great. music is nice. You can ride a car and there is lot of things to explore. This game somehow it reminding me of bulletstorm.
In general, the game is very satisfying and enjoyable, I got it on a sale and I am pleased that i bought it. Recommended!!!

78

Developers could have done a lot more

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I really loved the idea of this game when i first heard of it and saw the trailer.After i picked it up it had a lot of bugs.Some were that the textures didn't load when you turned around but it got fixed.All the weapons were so fun to wield and to shoot.All the different locations were so well done and fun to explore, and to kill bad guys of course.Also there are racing in which you can participate in that are really fun.You can of course upgrade your ride to be more fast and powerful. I really expected that this game would be much longer because it was an open world but around 10 hours is good.If you want to complete everything then it will take you around 20 hours to do if you don't get bored of course.The game is really worth it and i suggest you add it to your game library at some point when its half price.

65

Not engaging

Arthmael77 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Arthmael77's reviews »

I remember seeing numerous adverts for this game on TV, so I assumed that with such an aggressive promotion, that it was actually a solid game.

I still haven't completed it, and I don't think I ever will. I think the market is too flooded with shooters. It isn't a simple task to put together a fantastic story for what is essentially an offline game.

It had more of an MMO feel to me, in that the characters seemed fairly generic to me, and not fleshed out very well.

It is a visually pleasing game, and I fear they focused too much on that instead of what is more important.

More and more of the newer games being released have much more solid stories, which leads me to believe that the industry is starting to remember what made games so great when we were younger.

I put in about half a dozen hours, and perhaps that isn't fair enough to give a full review, but on the same token the game lost me before that, and I struggled to stick it out a little longer, hoping I would find something I felt redeemed the game enough to keep me interested.

If you enjoy shooters in general the gameplay mechanics were nothing spectacular, but I didn't feel they lost a step either, so if you enjoy killing stuff, I would suggest only buying it when it is on a big sale, like it currently is. :)

80

Not a masterpiece but surely a good game.

MauroR | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

It was 1996. The first time I've seen Quake I was completely blown away, real 3D graphics at the time was revolutionary since most of the shooters in 1995-1996 era (and even in 1997) were in fake 3D with 2D sprites as enemies.

id Software was always ahead of time in terms of 3D engines, the genial programming skill of John Carmack were unmatched. Doing a fast forward we're here, talking about RAGE, the new IP from id Software. RAGE is powered by the last engine made by Carmack & C., the id Tech 5, and I have to say that at the moment it runs smooth even on less powerful PC since the engine scale automatically with your hardware, at least this what I know and since my PC is very old and the game runs pretty fine so I can assume that it's the truth. When the game has been released most people got disappointed since the game had several bugs, especially the textures pop in, which in a game made by id Software it was unforgivable because before this any Id's engine was perfect from a technological standpoint, creating everytime a landmark in 3D graphics(just think about the presentation of Doom 3 in 2001 at the MacExpo) and every engine has been licensed to make lots of games powered by id's engines, this isn't happened with their last engine, I don't think that there are other titles using the id Tech 5 as far as I know. Talking about the game itself I've enjoyed, the gameplay is smooth and fast paced, and the various missions (or quests if you prefer) are enjoyable and you have minigames too and the world is big enough even If in a id's shooter I'd preferred a less open world approach but it's a matter of taste so this won't influence my final score, maybe I've played too much Quake in the past :D.

In conclusion if you're looking for a game with classic run and gun game with open world elements, this is the game for you. There's also a Co-Op mode if want to play with your friends. MauroR out.

84

Funny shooter, nice graphics and "cars"

KingArthas94 | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all KingArthas94's reviews »

RAGE is a nice shooter, with a really HUGE setting. It's cool and amusing doing rides while caring about shooting the enemies. It's not simple, specially the first times, but then you become stronger and faster and kick asses! There are also some "rpg like" things like selectable quests. I decided to play RAGE on my PC with my Xbox 360 controller, it was nice. The graphics are simply GOOD. The textures are really detailed, even if I feel like it could be better on some aspects. I recommend it :)

85

An invigorating shooting-driving game

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

I was very excited to play this game, and when I finally did I was not disappointed... Largely. I found the graphics a bit lacking compared to my initial expectation, however there's a reason for this. When I originally saw Rage, as far as I knew this was just a demo for iD tech 5, but it looked great and I was expecting an engine that toppled UE 3 or CE3. While it didn't do the latter, I am proud to say it is very good lucking game if you can run it on max, and moreover the gameplay is a fun mix of shooting and driving. Also, while the game isn't completely free roam, there is a lot of exploration to be had. It can be a pretty difficult game too, but also rewarding.

78

Once you work with it, it's great.

deatonis | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all deatonis's reviews »

This game is in no way perfect, infact it's rather rough around the edges not from gameplay but the game's software it's self but don't let that stop you and here's why.

There's multiple fixes on the steam forum and if you mix them together the game plays better than most other titles that play natively with no problem.

As far as gameplay the game is like fallout mixed with doom. The game could use alittle more depth as far as interaction with the enemies but interactions with the npcs you come in contact with is very indepth, and infact alittle more life like than other titles.

The shooter aspects of the game is great and the driving isn't bad, the control for the driving is actually very good but the games own issues tend to limit how much enjoyment you get out of that, unless again though, you fix it and make it work.

The graphics are also pretty nice once modified and the selection of guns down the way is pretty nice especially since some actually add in new aspects such as stealth or explosive.

Overall the title fairs well and to me proved to be quite an experience especially with how surreal the surroundings and the game it's self feels.

77

Solid Shooter

dkpos | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all dkpos's reviews »

Overall a good fps with rpg elements that keep you entertained.

The graphics are decent although I have some rendering issues. The environment/atmosphere is very good and immersive.

Gameplay is solid, with the core shooting crisp and fun. The looting system works well and keep you motivated to search around. The driving gameplay was medicore for me. Adding vehicles does make getting around a lot better though.

Story is decent , the option of being able to pick what mission you're doing adds a nice RPG style element to it. A relief from the abundance of linear FPS gameplay in recent years.

Although this is not the best FPS I've played, it's worth you're time in the market for a good gun mechanic fps or and fps with rpg elements.

88

Yours Truly

Oblaque | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

This game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a really slow computer and I had to sometimes wait a relatively long time for stages to load but I had fun. However, one thing this game does not have is dumb enemies. I liked Gears of War mostly because of the challenging enemies. However, GoW2 and GoW3 made the enemies stupid in favor of eye candy. In rage I get both eye candy and challenging enemies (I'm not big into stories, which is what so many are complaining about, what happen to those same complaints for Fallout, which had dry static animation, a slowwwww moving plot, and damn near card board npcs) -- so at least for me the game gets a 88.

60

Striving to be, failing to live

greenxeyezz | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all greenxeyezz's reviews »

Going into the game with an open mind, I thought and expected nothing from it. It felt like Borderlands. It felt like another game. It felt like I had played the game before but I knew I hadn't. I felt like the game wanted to give me something familiar while trying to make it different. I feel that it tried, tried so hard but failed. I originally purchased the game at retail prices. For the sales that you see now, it might be a good pickup to enjoy with co-op and have some fun shooting, but I wouldn't expect a Bioshock or replay ability with it.

80

Nice shooter

simodeso | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

I found this game very nice, it has a nice graphics/ nice story and atmosphere. You will find in a "fallout" world but here you can move with cars, and there are also race with them, you can upgrade you character and even your car. It has a very low price, my suggestion is to buy it immediately it's a shame leaving this game alone and unplayed.

85

A gorgeously beautifully crafted shooter.

rjb789 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

The game is a brilliant mix of fallout style locations and punchy, responsive gunplay. The story serves as a backdrop to ferry the player from location to location and serves its purpose well. The gunplay is incredible (as one would expect from id) and all the guns feel powerful and the mechanic where each bullet affects the mutants is very cool. The graphics are top notch, with towns and wastelands exploding onto the screen and the world is fairly open and challenging. The only criticism I have is the lack of a good story, the conclusion just doesnt do the other aspects of the game justice. But this is a minor issue, the campaign is long and the gameplay and graphics are some of the best in their class. Go buy it!

71

Not the best from id but still better than most

Asrafil | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Asrafil's reviews »

While Rage certainly isn't the best game from id, it still is a great shooter. It shows that even when id is at its worst is still better than most FPS released that year. If you want a solid experience that looks fantastic you won't go wrong with Rage.

82

Splitted opinions...

Gojko | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

If you ask some of your friends what is their opinion of this game you will get two black and white answers... it's a crap... it's marvelous.

If you are among the first people who buy this game, you have a lot of issues during installation, with patches, and a lot of problems. Now... yea you still can have a lot of problems, but on the end this game i very good combination of several FPS, with a- good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music.

94

An absolute classic

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

I love RAGE, I first played it on PS3, but when I sold my PS3- the games went with it... I started to regret that until I bought this game on PC. The graphics are swell, the story, gameplay and atmosphere are top quality- I cannot recommend this game enough. One of my favourites.

75

A good, solid game, just not Great

chris999 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all chris999's reviews »

I was one of those who pre-ordered this game and had all kinds of graphical issues at first, especially since my PC was using a Radeon at the time. I was quite upset at the crashing and graphical glitches ...

But then, within days, the graphical issues were solved, and I came to enjoy this game.

I could sum up this game as: "Borderlands-like clone with racing and much smaller in size and scope".

The graphics can be quite nice at times and the racing is quite fun.

I must still say that before I pre-ordered this game, based on the promos, I anticipated another ID epic creation ... but it isn't. It's basically just a fun desert sci-fi romp with a lot of emphasis on vehiccles and some good graphics. This is not a truly open-world game such as GTA or Fallout, etc. Some of the areas are quite large, but you are locked into a track. Often don't even think of being able to climb about the hills and areas alongside the roads. But then again there are some wide areas where you can really tear around in your car and there are ramps for good fun and challenges. There are also important items to collect on the ground. A good game, if you can get it at a great price, for some good weekend fun :) !

60

Way To Hyped For The Product We Got.

Sneaktastic | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Sneaktastic's reviews »

Rage is an average game and average at best. It tries its hardest to copy borderlands. That does not mean that there is no originality in the game there is each weapon can use multiple types of ammo but the downside to that is the game tries its hardest yet again to ruin that. With way to easy combat on normal difficulty, the only enemy i encountered on the game that decided to actually give me a challenge were last enemies you encounter in the game making the most fun parts come near that point. The game does two things very well though one of them being an awesome story, and another was an awesome co op experience. But once you beat the co op with a buddy there is no point to do it again. Do not even attempt the multiplayer it is not anything to be awed at kind of dull it feels as though they decided last minute to add it to the game.

87

Beautiful game yet poorly optimized

spycid | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

A game from Bethesda means it will definitely turn out to be a game of the year. Why? Because Bethesda Games does not just release any games for the gamers. However with Rage it turned out to be just the opposite.

Rage was undoubtedly a very beautiful and creative game. However the game was poorly optimized for PC.

The game will never get boring because the ever-changing enemy types don't just keep you on your toes, they keep the game from feeling old.

People have a lot of Rage since the plagued launch which however has been overcome with two patches including The Scorchers DLC which was released almost after year from it's release.

You should definitely try this game if you like Post Apocalyptic Atmosphere like me, I am sure that you won't be disappointed.

88

In my opinion, Highly under rated

Snucleus | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Snucleus's reviews »

This game personally gave me the feel of a fallout type environment while not making the setting too overly bleak and plain boring. This project brought to us by id entertainment is another great installment in Bethesda's Triple A published docket. The game brings entertaining gameplay, with interesting weapons, quests, AI interactions, and other important game elements. The game has a fairly well played out and interesting enough story to carry out the games weight as well. overall RAGE is a great game and has been quite underrated in the eyes of the public.

82

Great game, but demanding on graphics

venkatbaggu | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all venkatbaggu's reviews »

About the game, the graphics are beautiful! I'm playing with the graphics set at low and still the game looks really great.The game is running smooth without glitches or flickering or any other issue. Gameplay is good. It reminds me of the original Borderlands(without the bazillion guns which is a good thing, i hate having to find new better weapons every time). The enemy AI is good, the combat system is good. the weapons are great. I choose weapon customization system over the Borderland's random loot generation. There are mini games and racing games in the game. Doesn't feel repetitive. Worth it!

ratting: game play: 8/10 graphics:9/10 sound:7.5/10 overall:8/10

85

Bethesda and id's cooperation.

FreakDeity | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.

70

Quite Good

hornet88 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all hornet88's reviews »

I do not understand the complaints about the AI behaves, well in confined areas, using obstacles as a shields, flee when we kill too many of them, well-react when they see us. Overall, a great atmosphere, pretty good graphics, cool

85

Rage - review

Neapolis47 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

In the year 2029 Aphofis the asteroid hits the Earth. To ensure continuity of the human species in after armageddon, some groups selected (including our alter ego) were locked into the special 'Arche' in cryogenic storage. But once awakened and left the Ark, a hostile world and wild welcome our deeds leaving us in total mercy of raiders and mutants. Rage is a successful mix between shooter, RPG and racing game, set in a world hybrid western / hi-tech style and setting closely resembles that of the famous film Mad Max The RPG component is essentially structural. There is an overworld for access to population centers, as well as to the various game worlds. The 'overworld is quite extensive but mainly used as the use and exploitation of the dune buggy, the main feature of the settlement is made ​​evident by the presence of one or more senior figures at the head of the place at which we can get the main quest. There are also several secondary characters who will make use of our attention for the award of extra assignments or sub-quests. Just like in most classic RPG once we got the job free access to those who will be the true levels or game worlds. Well done is the component shooter, able to offer a more demanding challenge. The small number of bosses and a final unsatisfactory, leaving some doubts. However do not affect in any way the overall quality of that Rage is still a fantastic experience, different and a must try.

87

A really good game.

AlbusDlx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

Let me start by saying this. 87 is a low score in my opinion. But the texture glitch is annoying. It pops in every time you turn around. Well, I found a solution to this on the steam forum and has since then not been bothered by this.

The game itself is a FPS with a big piece of racing in it. There are online racing as well. In game the car upgrades are generally bought with race certificates witch you get by winning races in the game. There is a good variety of weapons and gadgets, almost like a post apocalyptic Batman of some sorts. The wingsticks are the best melee weapon in the history of gaming. Like a throwable 3 edged boomerang, sharp as a razor. Voice acting is top notch, besides the story line you have side missions and minigames. Mutant bash TV is a show you can participate in to earn some cash and have some fun at the same time. I would recommend this to anyone.

66

Good, but nothing special

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

RAGE is weird. It wants to be a twitchy shooter, but also an open-world exploration game. Something like Borderlands, only more expansive. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite get it right. Combat is fun, but often feels like a very much on-the-rails shooter, moving down linear passages. The open-world driving somehow doesn't feel as fun as it should be.

75

Good

Bolo | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

It's a rather weird mix between the classic id shooters and an open world game that won't click with everyone. While the action is fun and the guns very satisfying to use (esp the shotguns) there's some downtime inbetween due to driving around the wasteland and visiting the towns. Which for me was okay, I liked the change of pace but someone who wants constant excitement should look elsewhere. Also the graphics look nice from a distance and there are some very nice spots, if you move in too close you'll notice bad texture and a lack of detail. So overall RAGE is a mixed bag, well worth a few dollars and I don't regret putting in 15hrs or so but it has it's share of problems. Like the terrible ending that leaves you wanting more.