Reviews for DOOM Classic Complete

97

Never gets old!

Shaide | Sept. 26, 2014 | See all Shaide's reviews »

When I was younger, I would stay up all night playing these games on my PC. In fact DOOM was the first PC game I actually played. I haven't stopped since!

The game while older, certainly isn't any less fun! It's classic FPS! Sure, it lacks much of a storyline, but makes up for it in pure over the top fragging!

It's the type of mayhem that just doesn't get made these days, and it has aged so well! Old fans of these games will quickly remember why they fell in love with it, and new gamers? Well, I am confident they will find plenty to love as well! Really, you just can't go wrong!

90

Best pack of best games.

Furrek | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

These game were hit back in days. Like everyone was playing it, or wanted to play it. Everybody was talking about how great Doom is. This sure is legendary game. What is even more amazing, that people play it still after many years. People are still making mods for this game - to improve things, to make it more harder, or just fan levels. For game this old, it looks amazing. I mean, check out how animations looks, blood, enemies - everything fits perfect for horror fps game. ID Software were the ones that improved many things in gaming world, and Doom along with sequels is one of examples. This pack is everything you need to know about old gaming, or just for simply nostalgia feeling - it depend of if you have played it before or not. There are even players that still plays it online. For game this old to have active online community is truly amazing thing. You can't got wrong with Doom Classic Complete - no matter if you play it alone, or with someone.

95

Fun as hell

kairegister | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all kairegister's reviews »

Despite being insanely old, the game still plays great to this day. Great level designs, great satisfying guns, tough enemies, and a hell lot of content throughout these "4" Doom games.

Even if the game feels too old for you, you can insanely easily install mods such as Zandronum that adds better controls and makes the game look better despite keeping it the same thing.

100

Masterpiece

lajvjjajajaaaa | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

DOOM is classic horror game, Maybe old but it's epic. Go through the levels by killing as possible most of the monsters. Get new weapons, equip armors, discover secrets. Nowadays there is mods with which you can even aim plus much more blood and limbs everywhere.

95

Hell on Earth's more worse when you have more DOOMS than one!

khawaja07 | July 28, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

This pack brings back all those dreaded memories of me getting scared very badly as kid while traversing through the zig zag world maps of these DOOM games, encountering horrific demons and finally slaying them after a hard fought battle.

So, yea i couldn't finish these games when i was little but now i thought, why not give it a try? So I got this pack of DOOM games and decided that i'll finally face my fears and play through all these classics! I first thought that it'll be not so much fun as the graphics have horribly aged after all this time and that i wouldn't be able play through even a single game. However, the plethora of weapons you have at your disposal made this the most fun experience i had playing a retro game ever. Killing all sorts of freaks with my bazooka's was very satisfying indeed!

Each of these beauties are a must play for old school game fans. The era of the DOOMS, the Duke Nukems, the Hexens, these were the golden days of PC gaming.

Retro soundtracks are still great to listen to and it feels like they aged pretty well throughout all these years however the same cannot be said of the graphics.

This classic pack of Doom games can be extremely cheaply bought through GMG or any other online game retailers and are really worth playing through if you're a retro gamer like me!

96

Still Amazing

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

The DOOM games are classics and should be played by anyone who enjoys first person shooters of any description. While the graphics of the DOOM I and DOOM II haven't aged well, the gameplay is still as addictive as ever. There is hardly a plot, but in a game like DOOM, that hardly matters.

Like Wolfenstein and Rise of the Triad, DOOM has one simple objective. Kill your enemies and make it to the end of the level. There is no overarching story to get between you and mass imp genocide, and that's okay. Doom was one of the genre's pioneers that shouldn't be forgotten. Simply to experience the first major first person shooter, you should definitely play DOOM if you haven't already.

100

Still Brilliant Even Today

13th | May 15, 2014 | See all 13th's reviews »

If you have never played any of these games, shame on you. Even today Doom can hold it's own against games like Battlefield and Call of Duty. True the graphics may not look as good as modern games today but that doesn't matter as many of the FPS games you have played today have a lot to thank Doom for. And even after 20 years, Doom is still one of the FPS games you have to play.

93

CHAINSAWWWWWWWWW!!!!!

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

This game really scared me as a kid. It seemed to be this ultra violent thing that I could never understand the appeal of. Those were more innocent times...

Today I remember another experience when I first encountered the chainsaw. How it was glimmering before me in light (at least in my imagination) and the sound when I picked it up. The power that seemed to be behind it, the sheer terror when I the screen started shaking once I let it bring awful destruction to enemies before me. It was truly an abomination of its time.

Doom and Doom 2 are legendary classics, there is no denying that. Chances are, you know a lot of them already even if you have never played them. But the main gist of it is this: Experiment gone wrong, demons attack, player destroys the demons.

To think that people still mod these games, play these games and enjoy them is a testimony on itself about these games and their place in gaming history.

Thinking of buying them? Go for it, at least to civilize yourself. To see what the ruckus is all about. I dare you.

86

A fine piece of gaming history

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I must begin by saying that I have played all the DOOM games and I enjoyed ALL of them and this pack includes THE BEST of the series.

Sure, you can say that they are old, with pixelated graphics, but these games are 20 years old. They are responsible for the evolution of PC gaming and they stand as standard of evolution for the FPS genre. Had it not been for DOOM, FPS's wouldn't have been as good as they are today.

The gameplay is old-school, yet fluid and very enjoyable and the whole experience is hardcore. So if you are into those, you should definitely get this fantastic collection of classics.

100

The ones that got the ball rolling

Gmen | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Wolf 3D might have been the “first” FPS (it wasn’t, technically speaking), but Doom was the one that really kicked things off for the – at the time – budding FPS genre.

In this pack you have The Ultimate Doom, Doom II: Hell On Earth, Master Levels for Doom II, and Final Doom. This is excellent value for the price, and gives you well over a hundred well designed and challenging levels to play in with several different awesome weapons along with Bobby Prince’s iconic heavy metal-inspired soundtrack, which makes demon slaying all that much more fun.

Graphically – what do you expect – it’s 1993 here in all its glory, but the good news is there are a number of source ports out there that will make it look that much better with higher resolutions and high resolution textures too, giving you some 3D character models to look at, even. And on top of that there are literally hundreds if not thousands of fan-made mods and maps out there that will ensure endless fun for years, maybe even decades to come.

Get this if you're into old school shooters. No question about it – you'll love it.

70

DOOM, a reminder of simpler days

mgold07 | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all mgold07's reviews »

When DOOM was originally released the genre of FPS was still just finding its legs. Sure, there had been a number of games before DOOM was released but DOOM truly defined the genre. After DOOM's release the impact of DOOM was so great that most games we know of today would be called "DOOM clones". The gameplay is fast, and action packed; it will be challenging if you're new and cranking up the difficulty really feels rewarding once you beat the game again. DOOM pits you against hordes of demons, and you, being the badass you are must simply cut through them to save the world...of Mars. It's a simple story for a simple game; anybody who's played DOOM knows that the best strategy is "shoot it till it dies". To modern gamers, playing the original DOOM may feel strange. The game wasn't truly 3D and made use of some clever engine cleverness to make it seem 3D. This means that in order to get an optimized playing experience for most 3rd party tools are required, but these are lightweight and truly enhance your experience. In addition to the base DOOM game, DOOM also has a large amount of modded content to choose from giving you plenty bang for your buck.

100

Still got it

Treguard1982 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all Treguard1982's reviews »

If you're about 30 and haven't played this game, where have you been? Doom is a classic FPS and was a milestone in terms of technical achievement for the time. Although the game 20 years old (at the the time of writing) there are still mods being supported for it (a quick search on google brings up many (e.g. extra maps, graphical changes, changed enemies).

This pack has the best of the Doom games IMHO. Although Doom 3 is still a great game, you can't really compare the two due to the number of years between them being made.

Although the graphics (in the non-modded version at least) may look a little dated these days, it's still a lot more fun to play (gameplay wise) having a certain charm which many games since have failed to have.

Pick it up! :)

98

Legendary collection

infidius | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all infidius's reviews »

The Doom series has been around for a hell of a long time, but still has plenty of kick in it. I remember playing these games as a kid many years ago; and even to this day it brings back great memories. The music, sound fx, graphics, controls, enemies, etc... are still just as amazing! Once you play these games, you will find there is a certain love or fascination you will have with them that will never die. Hell, I still get a thrill out of finding secrets that I had not found as a kid.

If you decide to play these through Steam, it will run on a dos box, which might need configuring to get it to work. Otherwise you can install the games through Steam and get a front-end/launcher for the WADS, to add some customization to the games. Customization includes: graphical tweaks, sound configuration, and a GUI to run parameters that would otherwise need to be typed into a command line. If you are looking for a very simple launcher, without all the bells and whistles, chocolate doom is a great place to start.

Either way you roll the dice, through dos-box or launcher, the Doom games have plenty of replay value. However, say you get bored after the 5th nightmare difficulty play-through of the collection, do not fret! The Doom community has made plenty of custom WADS that correlate with Doom, Doom II, etc... Some of these will be extremely challenging, others look to replicate the original games and expand on the story/fun, and some just want to be their own story. Played through a handful of those and want something new again? Take a look at some of the front-end/launchers that have multiplayer capabilities. For your information, custom wads and multiplayer will require a front-end/launcher.

These games are definitely worth your time and money. Though they look old and dated, they have great action and replay value.

95

The breakthrough in gaming

Darkhate | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Darkhate's reviews »

In 1993 DOOM was the breakthrough in gaming. It was and still is famous for it's intense level of gore and adrenaline action. The game has big levels to explore and secrets to be found with in the levels. DOOM also offered the first multiplayer death match via LAN. Doom has a creepy atmosphere with a sense of someone or something being around the next corner or behind that door. DOOM is a must play.

100

The games that started it all!!!

CradleOfCorpses | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all CradleOfCorpses's reviews »

DOOM... Where to begin. This game will hit you like a BFG and blast you to Mars. DOOM is one the grandaddys of the FPS genre. This game just kicks ass and to this day it still holds its own. The atmosphere, characters, enemies and weapons are original and creative. I can't fault this game in the slightest. Recommend Nightmare mode for the ultimate challenge.

95

Everyone should play these FPS games

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

Doom is a fast paced first person shooter. While looking and feeling dated compared to today's standards, The doom games are still fun games to play. These games are great fun to play no matter what age although the difficulties of the later games can become blisteringly hard from the get go. So, In conclusion... Pick up this bundle as soon as possible, well worth the money even when it's not on sale.

100

Classic and important games to the industry

bl2k3 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all bl2k3's reviews »

You really can't say enough good things about DOOM, at least in my opinion. Although I may be biased because it was the first violent video game I ever played, this game did a ton for the gaming industry in the FPS genre.

If you like classic old games, you really have no excuse to not pick this up for the price. It may take a little tweaking in dos box to get the controls right, but once you've done that you're good to go. There's also a ton of source ports for improved compatibility as well as even an easy multiplayer to set up.

If you like plots though, there isn't much in this game. This is just a pure fps where you're killing wave after wave of enemies, which there's really nothing wrong with that. Being old school there's also a ton of secrets.

I'd have to say my favourite out of this pack is DOOM II, but all the others are damn fine games as well. I just feel that DOOM II was a huge upgrade to #1 with more weapons and monsters and just more memorable levels for me.

96

Epic Fps collection

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

DOOM Classic Complete is a decent collection if you're a fan of the series or a first-person enthusiast, Sure, the graphics are old, and decrepit, but the level of action, and replayability is the awesome even now one of the best pc milestone

100

Milestone in games

danteveli | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Buzz of the chainsaw while you run through hellish monster that is what Doom is all about. And you will love it especially if you have memories connected to it (like first owned PC). Wolfenstein is revolution in game world and doom is evolution everything more and better. Story is really not important in this title you just go and kill everything on the way getting deeper and deeper in levels to kill cyber demon and other creatures including possessed soldiers. Sound and graphic are not good right now and younger players may vomit seeing pixeled sprite that is scary and dangerous demon with sounds that may be just funny but way back that was the THING. What is important for fpp -guns and here we have quite enough from pistol to famous chainsaw or just fist. Anyone remembers BFG? Only thing i can write is that you have to play Doom to see how genre has changed (freelook and mouse plus better graphics they are greatest changes since 1993 -wow). Also whats worth to mention the doom scene is quite big and you can play games like half life or quake on doom engine plus there are hundred mods with new sounds enemies and weapons even whole new games based on engine. Its one of them must play titles. If you haven't that means you are not much of a gamer.

81

(almost) Perfect, classic and epic game

Speed4Runs | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all Speed4Runs's reviews »

I was amazed by knowning how advanced is this game. A 1993 game which allows you to rocket jump, play multiplayer and do many other things, all with really cool 3D graphics and amazing soundtracks. The only thing that is missing is a very good plot, but, through messages, it's still good/ok. It's very cool how you can load your maps and "missions". It's purely amazing.

Gameplay: 8.5

Simply amazing! Fast, a lot of weapons, rocket jumping, hard, and old-school! I can't believe that it can be so good!

Graphics: 8

Classic old games graphics, but very good! I've even seen some good shadows, and this is a 1993 game, probably one of the first 3D games (Wolf3D went before)!

Soundtrack: 8

Amazing music. I will never forget "At Doom's Gate"!

Longevity: 7.75

Long enough, but you can make it last forever, since you can play multiplayer and play downloaded maps.

Plot: 5.75

It's okay/good... on average.

Avg.: 7.6 Innovative classic game bonus: +0.5

FINAL SCORE: 81

100000% recommended to EVERYONE! EVERY PERSON IN THE WORLD MUST TRY THIS EPIC GAME!