Reviews for Fallout: New Vegas Ultimate Edition

92

Better story than Fallout 3. Less compelling open world.

heerox328 | Dec. 7, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas comes to you from Obsidian Entertainment, many of which were part of Black Isle Studios who created the original Fallout games.

It's the same award-winning BGS interpretation with Obsidian's own flare added to the formula. The game improves upon the other in terms of the main story and compelling characters and companions.

Where it falters is being plagued with bugs, a less interesting open world to explore, and less memorable stories. It's definitely worth picking up if you like Fallout 3 or just a good open world RPG. I'd recommend it to anybody.

100

47/10

ATA47 | Nov. 4, 2014 | See all ATA47's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is an action role-playing video game in the Fallout video game series.You're a courier in these troubled times with no defined background. Just a seemingly regular guy or gal, you're tasked with delivering a package to the New Vegas strip, but let's just say complications arise. Though the story provides pops of color and a few necessary minor twists to keep things interesting, it's predictable just the same. There are three possible endings to the main quest, and similar to Fallout 3 at launch, I is a really time well spent game, It has downloadable content too. So if you are into Fps\Rpg/roleplaying games this is for you

100

11 out of 10 all the way

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

New Vegas refined what I loved about Fallout 3. The combat was overhauled and done right. The exploration works better because the environment is a bit more varied than the Capital Wasteland. The story gives you some pretty cool choices to make. There's a bit more humor here than in Fallout 3, humor that is reminiscent of the original Fallout games. It's bizarre and I loved every minute of it.

100

Ruined my life. 10/10 would recommend.

MafuMafu | July 31, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

I don't want to make this review a long one. First, this game was made by Obsidian. In my opinion, the freaking RPG gods nowadays. Second, is there anything better to blow ghouls brains away? Third, I had a half-dog half-robot pet and a ghoul friend. Great story, almost perfect gameplay and DLC's highly recommendable (Old World Blues, if you ask me, was the best one, by far). If you're still not convinced, remember that Nexus has hundreds of mods available for you to try and to extend and enhance your experience. It would be awesome to have Steam Workshop, still.

NOTE: This game is not like Skyrim. I mean, if you finish the main story, you finish the game and that's it. So, if you didn't do all you wanted to do before that, you'll regret it. That's the only flaw this game has. I like games that set me free and let me do whatever I want.

97

And you are a newborn god

iamstillbroke | May 4, 2014 | See all iamstillbroke's reviews »

Or benevolent ruler. Or that one guy who fixes everything and hops off to another adventure. Much like the Lone Wanderer in Fallout 3, Courier Six in New Vegas is the ace in the hole needed to turn the tides of war. New Vegas itself is a place where fortune and failing is possible in every turn, and that uncertainty continues the series' tradition of immersing a player into a slice of a post-apocalyptic America. Beyond that however, is the story of a courier who walks through a desert for revenge, only to stumble into a game with infinite stakes. To make it through that journey, the player has access to better survival mechanics and camera; instead of useless workbenches and merely atmospheric campfires, players may now use them to fix their equipment and craft various items. If they get lonely, companions who are no longer two-dimensional in character can hop on to their caravan and provide perks which seriously helps in the game's more difficult fights. These fights, for the most part, can be avoided by careful management of abilities or SPECIAL. Abilities these time around are better constructed, and the added ones from all the DLCs are gamebreakers when chosen carefully. While Fallout 3's choices of DLCs are great, New Vegas' choices honestly feel more streamlined and makes more sense for the Courier to tackle, even if the scientists at BM think you're doing uncomfortable things by just waggling your fingers. Despite unfixed bugs and strange clipping issues, New Vegas is immersive and charming, and worth several playthroughs to get to all its endings.

92

Same old fallout, new land

finkrocks44 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all finkrocks44's reviews »

Personally, I still think that I like Fallout 3 better than New Vegas, but both are very similar. New Vegas does, however, have a nicer landscape, and actual cities that bring new life to the game. The mechanics are just like in Fallout 3, you are traveling around the world in a free-realm and can go across doing everything in any order you choose, so you have unlimited gameplay hours and replayability. My only complaint is that other than giving you a new storyline and world, it doesn't really do much different than Fallout 3, it feels more like an expansion than a completely new game. The price seems to be going pretty low though, and whether or not its like Fallout 3, it's still an amazing game and I would highly recommend it.

70

You cannot name this one something else than Fallout.

sergebelanger22 | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas is the newest game of the franchise. The Ultimate Edition will give you access to the game and the 4 DLCs, which all take around 8 hours each to complete and a good 40 hours for the game itself. I personnally have spent around 100 hours in it and at the end, I went a little faster through the missions since I was getting a bit tired of doing missions. So if you like exploring and grinding, this is without any doubt for you.

As each Bethesda's games, this one is filled with bugs, crashes. This breaks the story and I do not understand how a game can have so many of them not being fixed. I must have had at least 30 crashes to desktop. This is the biggest con that I have to say about this game. The other main point is that the story is the weakest I have seen in the Fallout series. You start the game at a doctor house, who put you back on your feet after you nearly died. During the whole game, you look for the person who tried to kill you. This is done by going from city to city, asking everyone if they have seen the guy. At the nearly end, around the 2 last hours, you have to make some important choices which will make the end changes.

Graphics look the same as Fallout 3, so it really look dated now. The sound was horrible with my speakers, so I had to use my headphones. With them though, it sounded great.

If you like the Fallout atmosphere, for sure you will like this one. It gives you plenty of hours of gameplay at a low price. But expect a lot of bugs/crashes.

75

The Ultimate Diamond in the Rough

IntFam | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all IntFam's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is a giant, cumbersome, overwhelming, buggy mess. And you'll probably have more fun with it that almost any other game out there if you can shrug off a handful of faults.

Gamers who enjoy the freedom of an open world will adore this game. From the moment you step out of the house where character creation goes down, you can do anything and go anywhere (except where the Cazadors are. Screw those guys.)

Taking Bethesda Game Studios' well-executed gameplay formula and engine from Fallout 3, Obsidian Entertainment has crafted an alarmingly organic and varied world, and it's massive to boot. If you take your time to savor the game, you can easily kill 40-60 hours just wandering the Mojave Desert, which, given its distance from the bombings that levelled the earth, is a much more alive and interesting world than FO3's Capital Wasteland. The world feels very much more alive than FO3 did, and that means a lot in an open world game.

The story, although you can go for ages without touching it, is also a fantastic departure from the framework set up in FO3. From the very beginning of the game, the stakes are sky-high, and with a robust Faction system, you will find numerous ways to reach the ending and make a name for yourself in the Mojave. Pair that with a huge and well-rounded cast of voice actors backing up the major players, and you have yourself one heck of a ride from start to finish.

In addition to a splendid main game, NV is backed by some of the best DLC content available today. If you have to pick only one of them, Old World Blues is by far my favorite.

Amusingly, like its Las Vegas setting, picking up Fallout New Vegas is all about the gamble. If you can soldier through the occasional bug and spend some time exploring the world, picking out all its secrets, it will pay off in spades.

90

Highly recommended even if you got tired of Fallout 3

zonober | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all zonober's reviews »

The game is basically an updated Fallout 3. It isn't a bad thing and I might be in the minority but I actually prefer NV than 3. Even though it does have its minor problems, the good things overwhelm the bad. It provides better companions better DLC's which are more story focused, and overall better and more interesting NPCs and locations.

95

Epic

adamholding | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all adamholding's reviews »

This game is one of the best rpg's out there for all consoles. Following in the footsteps of its predecessor fallout 3, it carries on with very much the same gameplay; however this is actually a good thing, since fallout 3 was amazing, so to change it much wasn't necessary. The things they have added are even better; more weapons, iron sights (a must for fps players), modifications, more side-quests, and a more bustling and vivid backdrop are among many great aspects added to compliment the already 9/10 engine. A must buy.

85

Fun game, don't expect it to be Fallout 4

reconalpha | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all reconalpha's reviews »

When this game was released, many were expecting Fallout 4 (or at the very least a major push forward for the series) However the formula was kept intact, and what we have is a great game, a nice addition to the Fallout family, and a generally great adventure. There are so many shooters out there and lately so many post-nuclear disaster worlds to explore, but none have captured the great aura of the Fallout series. Back in the 1940s when there was a real belief that there would be widespread nuclear war, this is the what-if, mixed in with some futuristic aspects. For me, the music is what makes exploring this desert-like world so enjoyable. Listening to Eddy Arnold sing "It's A Sin" while traversing the sprawling desert is a memory I'll have with me for years to come. Many games try to keep you immersed in the theme of a world, but few can compare to the Fallout series when it comes to music and art style.

The story of this game has been lauded as being superior to Fallout 3. It's all of matter of opinion, but the story can be very enjoyable if you get to the end. This is just a solid title, with some qwerks here and there but none take you out of the game. One nice upgrade from Fallout 3 is the addition of Iron Sights when you aim. The combat when not using VATS can feel sluggish sometimes, even on a powerful gaming rig. Other than that, there isn't much bad to say about this game, if you liked Fallout 3, definitely pick up this Ultimate edition of Fallout: New Vegas, you get so much content for so little.

90

It's great as the originals or maybe not?

simodeso | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Yes it is of course! maybe fallout 3 is a bit better because there are vaults to explore and in every vault there is something interesting like a new strange weapon o new monsters. But it has the same mechanics of the previous one with a different story.. and you have multiple endings, that they depends on the choice you make in the game. Dlc's are very good to play, so if you buy the game, buy also DLC's, they add hours of fun. if you played fallout 3, this is a MUST-BUY, if you haven't play it.. well buy it and then play this!

88

Now you can spend/waste even more hours.

EDP | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

This is New Vegas, but with all the extras it's even more hours of fun. I especially like the developers look on the American culture (this goes for both Fallout 3 and New Vegas, which is a standalone game by the way). They've exaggerated a few elements and added lot's of humour. This creates an atmosphere that is fun and ominous at the same time.

This game is a really good but not at all standard RPG shooter full of action. There's great re-playability value too, as you can choose different sides with many different factions. Be good or be evil! Or mix it up to use it to your advantage as you play.

90

Good follow up to Fallout 3

gdog0211 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all gdog0211's reviews »

This is a good follow up for any Fallout 3 fans. I think its equally as good although it may feel a little less desolate and post Armageddon as Fallout 3 but never the less its still as great. There is definitely a lot more side missions so if you liked that from Fallout 3 I'd get this game.

93

Immersive, Huge, and Lots of Fun

shint630 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all shint630's reviews »

Personally, I consider Fallout New Vegas the best game in the franchise. For one, New Vegas stuck more to the themes and tones of Fallout 1 and Fallout 2, relative to Fallout 3. This created a more immersive and believable environment by borrowing aspects from 1 and 2 such as the vast expanses of dry desert shown in the Mojave. Although the story does not begin with an emergence from a Vault, this does not take away from the experience as a whole. In fact, the main focus of the plot line was more towards exploration of this vast universe rather than chasing a father.

There were also plenty of gameplay improvements over Fallout 3 as well. One of them being more enjoyable gun and shooting mechanics. Like the previous Fallouts, it kept the same VATS mechanic which made pausing time so satisfying.

This is not to say though that it is a perfect game. You may encounter the occasional bug on your playthroughs, though a lot of them have been fixed by the developers. However, this is fairly standard in large open world games such as this.

The DLCs that are included in this Ultimate Edition are also incredibly fun and engaging in their own respective rights. Dead Money was a refreshing change to the gameplay that added new mechanics to make your stay at the Sierra Madre more terrifying and ominous. Honest Hearts was a beautiful location to explore with the mountainous terrain and flowing waters. Old World Blues was a nice quirky edition that added the dark-humor elements that were present in previous Fallout titles. Finally, Lonesome Road was a great addition to the backstory of the Courier that really fleshed out your life as well as where you fit within this universe.

I would recommend this game to any fan of open-world, immersive games and would highly recommend it to fans of Fallouts 1 and 2.

95

Great game, not as good as Fallout 3

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

This game, much like Fallout 3, is an amazing open world RPG game, with MANY different weapons, armors, side quests, and the works! The world in this game is extremely vast, and almost, in a way, seems as though it could be endless. The Character development in the game, for both yourself, and the people around you, it's absolutely stunning. You can choose to be a kind person, or a mean person, it's all up to you! Do you want to go into a town and rob every house? Go on ahead, every choice in the game is completely yours. Weapons are plenty, and can be used until empty, then all you need to do is go into a store a buy some more ammo, and while your at it, pick up some new guns and armor, why not? it's completely your world! The game is a very good game, not as good as the third one, but is still lots of fun, in a completely open world!

90

Just as great as the original.

zachoines | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all zachoines's reviews »

I loved Fallout 3. There is no other game that I have spent more time with than Fallout 3. So, as a consequence, when Fallout New Vegas came out, I was thrilled. But, after a long while of playing it, I noticed that it does not diverge far from the basic gameplay mechanics that Fallout 3 had. In addition to that, the graphics of Fallout New Vegas are basically the same as Fallout 3 as well. In other words, Fallout New Vegas is pretty much an expansion pack for Fallout 3 (a massive one at that). But, by no means is this a bad thing. Why should we change something when it is already perfect (Besides the mass amount of bugs which were there. Those could have gone away.)? For this reason, I highly recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the Fallout series.

95

Fallout 3's Little Brother

nnebeluk | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all nnebeluk's reviews »

This game is more polished then Fallout 3 and makes a few changes to the overall gameplay mechanic but nothing that players of the first game will mind too much. The change of scenery is good - most of the Fallout series has been set in the same location and it's nice to see a different part of the world react to the post-Nuclear Apocalypse. Don't be afraid that this is a DLC masked as a game - this is a massive game of it's right and it's only failing is that Fallout 3 came first and blew everyone's mind off it's hinges. The story is a little bit weaker this time around but has it's own interesting quirks. Another can't miss from Bethesda

88

One of my favourite games.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Caputalis's reviews »

I found Fallout: New Vegas to be superior to its predecessor, Fallout 3. The character and world seemed a lot more immersive, and the main story was a lot better, as well. Bethesda added in a lot of new elements to New Vegas, most notably the ability to upgrade your guns with new parts such as scopes, or larger clips. In the game, you are made to choose where your loyalties lie between different factions, which is adds replay value if you decide to create a new character and join a different faction. Each faction has their own set of quests, perks, and settings, which adds more value into the game's core game-play and mechanics. The main story itself is a lot more versatile than Fallout 3, mostly due to its choice based system which molds the story to the choices you make, notable your allegiance and loyalties to certain factions and characters, In all, Fallout New Vegas brings a lot of game for your money, and you can expect to get at least 10 hours out of it on only your first character.

83

Massive

nemesis44uk | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas Ultimate Edition contains all the DLC and the base game in one simple package.

What won't be simple is how much time you will spend on this game. Prepare to give up your job, pets and family members in your quest for glory in an irradiated land.

The V.A.T.S. body part targeting system is so much fun, you will be shooting the antennae off a giant ant, or blowing the head off a raider in glorious slow motion. The quests are varied and the scope is huge - prepare to put in dozens of hours if you want to see all the game offers.

There are a few gripes - the graphical engine used here is creaky and old. Although it is still capable of rendering the post-atomic wasteland in occasionally beautiful ways, it can't be denied that it is really showing its age.

Some of the voice acting is the worst I have ever heard in a AAA title. It isn't quite enough to spoil the game, but it ruins the immersion that has built up and is quite jarring.

However, putting all that aside, Fallout: NV is worth purchasing, providing you aren't looking to stretch your new Nvidia 770 card.

73

Alright.

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Having played through this game, i still find Fallout 3 to be superior. This is a great game and some features from fallout 3 are even retained. The story is alright but you get a decent amount of missions to play through in game. While it isn't it better than fallout 3, it's a game worth trying.