Reviews for Mount & Blade: Warband

96

Unique. Fun. Well Made. Almost perfect.

peshmi | April 10, 2014 | See all peshmi's reviews »

Unfortunately it isn't perfect because its graphics are outdated, but the game is still insanely fun.

The gameplay has a curve which you may learn quickly, or not. Either way, when you know how to play the game, it's epic. When you're learning, it's still great fun. You use medieval weapons and fight medieval battles. With sword, with lance, with bow and arrow. I've played Chivalry: Medieval Warfare and other similar games, but Warband does it the best.

There are a few quests that act as a story of sorts, but it's an open world. You do what you want. The characters are generally very diverse yet predictable with experience.

This game has more variety than a roguelike. I've played 60 hours of singleplayer alone, not counting when I was offline. What further adds to that variety is the mods. There is Sengoku Japan, Rome, and so many more. I've only tried a few, and the gameplay in those mods is just as fulfilling and fun as the base game.

Unless you only ever play video games for graphics or story, BUY THIS GAME.

92

Very 'detailed' medival game

LoudeRZz | March 25, 2014 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

I really liked the game ! Its very detailed as I wrote in the title of the review and I mean that there are many functions and things inside the game, each town you go to so you can really go in the down and you 'experience' the game,it's also reflected in the fights that you're taking part of .. Another thing which I like in games and it's a benefit for this game that you can create you own character in the game and apart of only design him (which is also good) you actually choose the details about him and his history and his nature, and in my opinion it's very nice addition to the game. But the only one disadvantage is, for me at least, it was hard and complicated to learn the game .. Make your decision !

98

Close to Perfection

xiluxpain | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

For those who know the predecessor or successor titles, it is clear to say Mount & Blade: Warband is the game that makes the series.

What makes Warband a great title, nearly perfect a game at that, is their simple concept that offers a full experience. The difficulty of Warband will require hours and hours, easily adding to days worth of game play to even accomplish one full unification. And by unification, I mean the complete and absolute unification of a faction. Over 200 hours, and I have not completed that goal once, still ongoing.

To start, you are a random wanderer who is assaulted by a thug. After you defend yourself, a local merchant comes to offer you a quest for your talent. This starts you off to your first quest, and official battle.

Following that mini optional quest, you will find yourself in a world split between the Khergit Khanate, Kingdom of Nords, Kingdom of Rhodoks, Kingdom of Swadia, Kingdom of Vaegirs, or the Sarranid Sultanate. Each faction has their unit units that split into several trees, further diversifying troop types.

You will find yourself encountering many elements in the game. From the best features to least, you encounter random hero units who never die in combat, get a chance to win a lady's heart and obtain a bride, join a faction and their conquest of the lands, and choose your route of becoming a man of justice, or one of betrayal and deceit.

There are many methods of playing this game. You may find yourself as a wandering, trading merchant, a traveling mercenary for hire, a journeying tournament combatant, a loyal member of a faction, a tactician for a claimant fighting for their rightful throne, or the ambitious king of your own faction.

The only downside is that this game does scale to your level and experience. Eventually, you find yourself fighting a map full of bandits and pillaging that ravage your villages. Regardless, this game is a must try for all strategists and adventurers alike.

90

Best of the series

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

Mount & Blade: Warband is the best of the series in my opinion, improving on the original with added items, quests, characters etc, but keeping the same strong gameplay that made the original so good. The graphics haven't changed all that much, but the simple style is all that's needed, once again there is no main story, the game allowing you to choose your own path, which can at times feel a little empty, but if you manage to attach yourself to one of the nations, trying to become a knight or even King then it takes on a little more structure.

If you enjoyed the original then you'll definitely love this, if you've not played one before but like the sound of an RPG sandbox game with some strategy elements and a solid mix of long ranged and melee combat then this game is for you!

100

IF YOU LIKE REALISTIC MEDIEVAL FIGHTS, BUY THIS GAME NOW

Unbenannte | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

I don’t like that much to play game stories, but when I do is because I know that I’ll be able to do whatever I want on it, like righting your own story, yet in a bigger storyline, this game is exactly that, you make your own destiny. Lots of fun and you could be hours playing by yourself trying to conquer the “world”. I’d like overall to say that the multiplayer is amazing, since I have brothers we have 3 copies of this game to play online or local, you really feel like you are fighting other people, you need to have real skill to be able to attack and defend, it’s not just another slash and run game, you must train to be good, if you like medieval fights, this is pretty much one of the best games out there. And it’s even better because this game it’s totally worth like 20$, but GMG has a discount right now on it, SO YEAH BUY IT, and if I’m not wrong every now and then they have good deals on this title. There is also like a complete collection with discount (because there is M&B and M&BW), and an expansion, so check that. Of course we are waiting on Mount & Blade 2: Bannerlord. Hope this is useful.

100

Best Medieval Sim Ever!!

Bytrine | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

This game is fantastic. If you dislike the story, you'll definitely love the multiplayer gameplay! For the story, you choose your background, what you look like, and where you begin your story. Immediately you get a quest and can start creating an army of mercenaries to pillage and burn villages, or decimate armies. Ever wanted a Total War game where you control your army AND have your own avatar fighting alongside your troops? This game has it. There are many factions in this game whom you can choose to align yourself with, or you can become your own King by establishing a whole separate kingdom. However, people react to you differently depending on your back story and gender. Whether you're a Noble Man, woman, or peasant, it affects your story greatly. Multiplayer is definitely M&B's strong point. Not only can servers hold up to 200 people, there are so many game types. You are plunged into a battle of 200 soldiers and fighting to win, where everything can change in an instant. A unique feature in this game is it's fighting style. This isn't simply press a button and you make a special attack or anything. You choose which way to attack and block such as left, right, stab, or upper attacks. Which gets very difficult! You also have to block this way and anticipate which direction an enemy will attack from. If you thought this was all, you're wrong! This game has a VERY, VERY, active modding community. There are hundreds of mods to choose from, each with it's own flavor, and you're bound to find one you'll enjoy. Buy it! It's worth it!

91

Best Medieval Sandbox Ever!!!

northernwatch | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all northernwatch's reviews »

This game is basically one of the greatest sandbox game ever created by paradox Inc.

although it may seem near impossible but this is the realism of war where theres hundreds of units lining up to meet you

The only thing lacking in the game are the background effects ie catapults firing from around the castle whenever theres a siege going on and flames burning the house, sadly its just a basic graphically game.

The game is even better when played with mods but most of the mods doesn't quite balance the game, some makes it even harder to play while some is just made for the pure fun of a frenzy Battle.

Limited options in the game since the main concept is too much of a grinding, you earn money, train recruits and gather better equipment.

overall the game is not too bad although it needs a better made sequel unlike fire and sword that just plummeted the game.

I expect a Modern Combat of this one in the future Paradox, like a Battlefield version.

96

game for everyone

ruttenmurf | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all ruttenmurf's reviews »

Mount & blade warband is one of the best games i have played so far. It makes a game that I wanted for a very long time and I only recently discovered it existed. An rpg where you can control your army while you are fighting the soldiers yourself. A common question is why should you buy M&B warband and not just the original… . You can install a lot of mods with the expansion and there are a lot of good mods out there. Also I love the game variety and that you start out as a poor trader in my case and you can end up as a king. Everyone should have tried this game because I do not think it is a very known game and it should be. So if you have heard of the game go and buy it.

85

A truly open world sandbow RPG!

Swishiest | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all Swishiest's reviews »

This game may not have the breathtaking graphics of others and it may be surprisingly limited in it's scope, but the hours you can sink into it, trying to become King of the land or whatever you so choose, are well worth the out of date graphics.

You start off as an adventurer, male or female, outside of one of the major cities in Calradia, the world of Mount & Blade. And this world is yours to explore and live in. Perhaps you will become a bandit, raiding caravans and pillaging villages for your profit. Or maybe a merchant travelling to all the cities selling your goods. Or maybe you aspire to become King of your own Empire. All of this is possible though it can take tons of time, the world moves slowly and money isn't always easy to come buy.

Truly though, the wealth of this game lies in the mods available. Ranging from fantasy and history to graphics and gameplay, there isn't one aspect that hasn't been touched by the mod community. In one game I can explore the Roman Empire and then effortlessly switch to the 1800's and use muskets.

There is also a multiplayer component that can be quite frustrating but quite fun at the same time. There's few things like storming a castle with your friends or fighting to the death in an epic one versus one fight.

This is an amazing game.

91

Amazing game, Endless hours of play time

indoom1 | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all indoom1's reviews »

It was not long ago that i would play RTS games and go, Hey, I really like controlling armies, But wouldn't it be cool if i were a general actually ON the field, and along came this series.. The ways you play this game are totally up to you, do you wish to be a maurading bandit with your scores of men pillaging? Or do you wish to be a knight of one of the factions, Leading your men in conquest...

But maybe you get bored of vanilla, we'll BAM a fully supported mod community with extremely easy to download mods, The mods are great, they add extra flavor to an already amazing game.

As with every game, There comes a few downsides, The graphics and mechanics arent very much pretty, but they do the job, sieging castles can be tedious if you have only a ladder, 2x2 space where you easily fall off and have to climb up again, Other then the few minor glitches, mods fix most of this, But it doesnt totally break vanilla.

95

I have never gotten so much game for my money.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Lunarsilkdragon's reviews »

If you buy this game, you're in it for the long haul, I guarantee it! I played the original from early Alpha until final release, and then I bought this - Warband (which is essentially a really big patch for the original, adding new gameplay mechanics and improvements), when it came out. I think I have about 1000 hours total in both games.

Although it can be said that this game lacks a bit in the graphical department, do not fret! It does not matter (who cares that much about graphics anyway?), because it is the gameplay that matters above all.

After the character creation, you start out as a lonely mercenary, newly arrived in Calradia, with ambitions of glory and riches. You can choose to work as a mercenary for one of the factions in the game, or you can lead a bandit life. If you gain a certain level of trust with a faction, you can even become a lord and recieve your own village!

There isn't any real story in the game, except for the one you create for yourself, which is as it should be.

The combat is the second best thing about this game. Personal combat is pretty fluid and easy to control, while at the same time, it doesn't feel overly simple. The coolest thing though, is in late game when you control a much larger army than earlier in the game. Prepare to take part in some of the most epic battles you have ever seen!

The best thing of all with this game, though, is the mods! Oh god, the mods! Never before have I seen such a beautiful modding community for any game. You can find almopst anything you want. There are simple mods that only improve on the vanilla game. For example there are mods that add new textures for armors, weapons and the world; mods that improves the diplomacy aspect of the game and mods that fix bugs, generally improves on the overall game and the like.

The best part however, is the overhaul mods. The completely convert the games setting and gameplay. Here's some examples of some mods you can find:

A Lord of the Rings mod A Samurai mod A Crusade mod A Roman Empire mod A WW1 mod A Star Wars mod (Yes, that's right. STAR WARS) A Song of Fire and Ice mod A Viking mod Some completely original fantasy mods Other assorted historical mods

So basically, for this price, it'd be a crime not to buy this game. If you have seen this review, you have no excuse not to. Go on, do it.

95

I have never gotten so much game for my money.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Lunarsilkdragon's reviews »

If you buy this game, you're in it for the long haul, I guarantee it! I played the original from early Alpha until final release, and then I bought this - Warband (which is essentially a really big patch for the original, adding new gameplay mechanics and improvements), when it came out. I think I have about 1000 hours total in both games.

Although it can be said that this game lacks a bit in the graphical department, do not fret! It does not matter (who cares that much about graphics anyway?), because it is the gameplay that matters above all.

After the character creation, you start out as a lonely mercenary, newly arrived in Calradia, with ambitions of glory and riches. You can choose to work as a mercenary for one of the factions in the game, or you can lead a bandit life. If you gain a certain level of trust with a faction, you can even become a lord and recieve your own village!

There isn't any real story in the game, except for the one you create for yourself, which is as it should be.

The combat is the second best thing about this game. Personal combat is pretty fluid and easy to control, while at the same time, it doesn't feel overly simple. The coolest thing though, is in late game when you control a much larger army than earlier in the game. Prepare to take part in some of the most epic battles you have ever seen!

The best thing of all with this game, though, is the mods! Oh god, the mods! Never before have I seen such a beautiful modding community for any game. You can find almopst anything you want. There are simple mods that only improve on the vanilla game. For example there are mods that add new textures for armors, weapons and the world; mods that improves the diplomacy aspect of the game and mods that fix bugs, generally improves on the overall game and the like.

The best part however, is the overhaul mods. The completely convert the games setting and gameplay. Here's some examples of some mods you can find:

A Lord of the Rings mod A Samurai mod A Crusade mod A Roman Empire mod A WW1 mod A Star Wars mod (Yes, that's right. STAR WARS) A Song of Fire and Ice mod A Viking mod Some completely original fantasy mods Other assorted historical mods

So basically, for this price, it'd be a crime not to buy this game. If you have seen this review, you have no excuse not to. Go on, do it.

88

Dated but still great

Tomtekopf | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all Tomtekopf's reviews »

This game is pretty old by now but It's still great fun. The sandbox campaign were you gather your army is still a blast to play cause each playthrough is different. With mods you get even more diverse and interesting campaigns. Bottom line: buy it for its great campaign and great mods.

100

Neverending war

meezo | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all meezo's reviews »

I'll start out by saying the mods for this game are absolutely amazing. The game itself is lacking a bit in story and some features. Download a mod and you've got increased story, new features to handle your kingdom, and more units.

You raise armies and move across the world of Calradia. You can choose to work for a king, or you can become a king yourself. Manage your armies, manage your towns and castles, assign Marshalls and build alliances.

The combat is the best part of the game. You can opt to be an archer, attack from horseback, or be a foot soldier. Or do all of it. Command your army, level up your character, marry, and rule the kingdom.

There's also a multiplayer mode that is the best of its kind. Absolutely amazing game.

100

Excellent replay value

TheJock | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all TheJock's reviews »

This is one of those games I play even when I've been playing them all day. A fantastic medieval sandbox experience combined with even more excellent multiplayer gamemodes with a sophisticated and hard-to-master combat systems.

I've played this nearly two thousand and five hundred hours, according to Steam. It's still my most played game, even after three years.

I could talk about the sandbox singleplayer or the awesome, difficult and yet rewarding multiplayer system, but I think a lot of people have already said the same.

I'd say what makes M&B:Warband so great are the mods. There's mods for both singleplayer, multiplayer or even both at once. The community never ceases to amaze me whether it's a medieval singleplayer masterpiece with real world factions and tons of new items, units and features or a Viking-era, no-bullshit multiplayer mod.

Great game.

82

Truly a great action packed strategy game

zipnox | July 28, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Mount & Blade: Warband at first sight looks quite poorly, visually. The music and sounds are quite lackluster as well. However, this is one of the most fun war games I've ever played. The game is a mix of strategy and action, with RPG features on top of it, you command your troops and fight epic battles, lay siege to castles and dethrone kings.

The combat is a ton of fun with various techniques to execute and plenty of weapons to choose from. Although fun, it feels a bit clunky at times and can get frustrating in certain situations. There's a big modding community for this game as well, it adds a lot of free value thanks to the awesome creators of various mods.

This is one game that can keep me going for hours, tons of crazy fun. A fine mix of strategy, action and RPG.

98

A masterpiece.

TheRandomGuy7 | July 18, 2013 | See all TheRandomGuy7's reviews »

Let me start off by saying, this is the most played game I have on Steam. I have spent 1,050 hours on it over the last year or two. Yes, that's a lot of time.

There is so much to do in Warband. The single player is very well made, much more detailed and better overall than the original M&B. Multiplayer holds an eternity of play time as you improve your combat skills. The combat system is honestly my favourite out of every medieval game I have played yet. It is quite hard to master, but is extremely satisfying improving your abilities slowly.

The vast majority of my play time on Warband doesn't even come from Native Warband itself. I spend hours on end on the many mods it has to offer. Especially the official Napoleonic Wars expansion, which contains endless things to do, such as joining a "regiment" of real players to fight in disciplined and rather realistic "linebattles" of the 19th century with up to 250 players. Other mods, including the many, many campaign ones (there's even a very nice Game of Thrones mod played by the Yogscast recently), and multiplayer only mods such as a detailed Viking one add more hours of gameplay.

The graphics aren't perfect, but this game is quite old. They are still good enough for me though. The one thing stopping this review hitting a perfect score for me is the outdated graphics.

All in all, this is one of my favourite games of all time. I personally enjoyed over a thousand hours playing, and I would strongly recommend for anyone who enjoys a medieval game (or any period with the magic of modding) with a beautiful combat system.

90

Amazing!

Plasros | July 17, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

I was pleasantly surprised when I picked this up for under ten dollars during the sale out of curiosity; the combat in this game matches that of one of my favorites of all-time (chronicles of riddick) and adds a plethura of weapons into the mix. The world is huge and there is so much to do; I'm already coming up to the 50-hour mark (about half was spent in sp, half in mp) and I feel that I'm barely halfway through the single-player campaign. If you're interested in a game of this type, get it, it's the only one. If you're interested in it because it looks good, get it, it is

96

Warband

ArmokGreyjoy | July 17, 2013 | See all ArmokGreyjoy's reviews »

Warband is a phenomenal sandbox rpg based in a fantasy land called Calradia, the game focus on a medieval based warfare and politics, you can either join a one of the several existing kingdoms or create youre own once you gain enough power and money. the combat in Warband both at the multiplayer and the singleplayer is very good and satisfying, in the single player start alone with little money a horse and some weapons then youre goal is to build up either recruit mercenary's, peasants or both. the AI sometimes can be a bit stupid especially if its on horseback at the tournaments. Still the game is really challenging yet fun. theres is a lot of re playability to this game and also great mods for it. overall an awesome game.

96

The Perfect Sandbox

ConorEngelb | July 11, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The best games don't limit you. They say "Here's a world. Do stuff" and throw you into the thick of things. Mount and Blade: Warband does exactly this, but it's 100% enjoyable every step of the way. A few short tutorial missions (hire some men, kill these bandits, then those bandits) give you the basic idea, then the game lets you do whatever you want. Do you want to become a mercenary, selling your sword to the highest bidder? Or swear fealty to the rightful lord of Calradia and help them win their wars? You could also side with a usurper, and install them as a ruler of a kingdom, or start your own. If combat isn't your thing, make your fortune (or try, at least) trading across the 5 kingdoms, buying low and selling high. Some of the controls are a little bit counter-intuitive (button mashing can cause you to drop your weapon), but combat works well, with blocking blows dependent upon the direction they're coming from. Battles between parties allow the use of some basic tactics: move your spearman to the front to break a cavalry charge, while your archers fire volleys into the approaching foes.

Definitely worth the buy, if your idea of a good game is one in which you are given free reign.