Reviews for Afterfall Insanity Extended Edition

60

Not as bad as they say...

Exalb | Oct. 23, 2014 | See all Exalb's reviews »

When I received this game I wasn't sure what to expect. I had read some negative reviews prior to playing to I expected the worst. The game ended up being a mixed bag.

If you're looking for a genuinely scary game, then you would be better off skipping Afterfall:Insanity. While the game's atmosphere is creepy there are very few fear inducing moments. This is pretty much a pure action/adventure title dressed up in creepy textures.

The story, while convoluted at times is entertaining and worth paying attention to if you can get past the less than compelling voice acting.

The game play itself isn't bad--although the melee combat leaves something to be desired. The gun play is standard--nothing innovative but it gets the job done.

Afterfall:Insanity is by NO means a bad game. It is, however, painfully mediocre. I would recommend buying it on sale if you are a fan of action games with a creepy atmosphere and have exhausted the larger titles in the genre.

72

A good Indie game, at all

GustavoBBP | Sept. 6, 2014 | See all GustavoBBP's reviews »

Ok, let's be honests here. I only acquired this game when it was for free, and I was not expecting nothing really spectacular. And when I started to play, I was captivated. The game is not an original work, it looks like many others that you may have played, especially Dead Space. The game have a desynchronized voice-acting and some bugs that can annoy you. But the atmosphere is great, the plot is good enough to keep you playing and the gameplay is pretty decent. I think it is worth it's price. Remember that this is an indie game, whose only mistake was trying to be an AAA.

50

Dead Space clone...

Zazutuu | Aug. 11, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

Well as the title says it is a Dead Space clone,clearly.But there is a big difference between them.Here you have terrible voice actors and really repetitive and bad melee combat.You do not care at all about the characters and the story is not memorable at all.At least the graphics are decent.Do not waste your time and money on this game...

50

bugz

matryna | Aug. 10, 2014 | See all matryna's reviews »

This game is full of invisible walls and stuff like that. You are not allowed to do things your way because of limitations. It would be much more fun if I was allowed to come up with different solutions to problems. Gameplay was mediocre. Somehow, I hoped for something better...

70

Kind of like a B-Class movie.

reginleifx | Aug. 7, 2014 | See all reginleifx's reviews »

Let us get this out of the way: AfterFall might not have a good plot, nor a great soundtrack, nor great gameplay. So why am I rating it as a 70/100? Because it is incredibly fun. The game is flawed, but, even though the combat system may feel kind of awkward at moments, it is probably the best aspect this game has, and probably the reason I would buy it again if it was on sale. Visually, the game looks gorgeous, considering it is an Indie title. Most animations are fluid, although some of them look terrible. The game can be quite scary at times, so if you're into the genre, and don't care much for graphics/plot/soundtrack, give it a try if it is on sale. You might like it

69

Not the Best But Not the Worst

Alinasser | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all Alinasser's reviews »

Afterfall Insanity; it feels like it is a deadspace wanna be but it fails short but it certainly has its rights too. Graphics: overall graphics are nice, nice dark atmosphere and lighting system that helps with the feeling of immersion into the game, but people feel stiff and physics are weird. Sound: the best music, it's scary ,it's very fitting to the scene of the game but the voice acting is just plain terrible. Gameplay: as i said earlier this game certainly tries to be a deadspace clone but finally it can not, melee combat is not good and it's slightly saved by a bit better gun play Story: great, no spoilers. Replayabilty: for the game itself it's none existent but u can do somethings again just for the achievements. Compared to other similar games, like deadspace, Metro, Resident Evil, this game certainly falls short but for the cheap price and for indie support there's a good potential seen there, so if u are a fan of the genre and finished all other similar but better games, give this one a shot, will not be a total waste of your time.

72

Average.

iMichaelCortez | July 26, 2014 | See all iMichaelCortez's reviews »

To be honest, this game is pretty good, except the melee combat everything is pretty good, the graphics are decent and the playability isn't bad, not enough to make you want to buy it right? What makes me like this game is the fact that the story is nearly a masterpiece, not a complete one but close enough. The story makes you want to continue the game to know what happens next, it's one of those games that you don't like very much but you just keep playing it without knowing why. And the ending, no spoilers, you will enjoy the ending, I recommend this game to those you like beautiful endings, if you know what I mean.

55

An ok game but not more than that

Fooughhy | April 12, 2014 | See all Fooughhy's reviews »

This is a game which has taken a lot of influence, in terms of gameplay AND setting from the dead space series which means it has some fierce competition to go up against. Unfortunately this one doesn't really reach the same height of polish as the dead space series (particularly the first one) and it is a bit rough around the edges. There is something a bit off in the controls in my opinion which doesn't help the experience. I'd simply like to say go and play Dead Space if you want this kind of game. Maybe if you think dead space is a bit too scary, this one is your cup of tea.

70

Not as bad as IGN and others rate it as, decently fun

BlockAgent | April 1, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

From the first moment you start playing this, it is apparent that the creators of this game took alot from Dead Space...alot. From the camera angle to effects, to even the "life guage is on your body". Alot was copied. Because of that, this game isn't that bad. The melee can be clunky at times but the graphics are good, the controls work well and story is decent. The voice acting is terrible though and little bugs here and there result in some unintentionally funny moments. The game made me jump a couple of times so that is a plus. Would I pay $40 for this game? No way. Would I buy it if it was on sale for much less and I had played through all of my other games? Yes!

63

Slightly above average survival horror

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all TomWeise62305's reviews »

This game reminds me of a clunky mix of Dead Space, post RE4 Resident Evil, and some Mad Max. It has a heavy melee focus. There are guns but ammo is very scarce. The melee combat is unfortunately the worse of the two types of combat featured. It's passable but much more clunky than most recent games. The shooting is pretty much identical to any other UE3 based 3rd person shooter. The visuals are also pretty typical of a UE3 game and do a reasonable job though they are nothing outstanding. Audio is fairly good as far as SFX and music are concerned. The voice acting ranges from decent to pretty bad. The game has some decent atmosphere but is rarely scary. The first half of the game is spent in a shelter corridor crawling in Dead Space fashion. The second half turns into something much more interesting when you get out of the shelter. There are occasional puzzles but they almost never require and actual thinking and at times vague about what you are supposed to be doing. My play-through clocked in at about 6 hours which is fine in my opinion. The combat, visuals, audio and story are just good enough to make you keep playing. The game is undeniably clunky, particularly the animations. It does have pretty good pacing and some interesting story bits. The funny thing is that the quirks of this game kept me interested enough to see it to the end when I've still never completed DS2 or 3 despite owning them. I'd say it's worth a purchase as long as you what you're getting into.

80

The Nightmarish Adventures of Dr. Albert Tokaj

Guardian412 | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

A pretty good low budget indie horror game, which is mixing the gameplay of Dead Space with the worlds of Fallout and Metro 2033, with the melee weapon usage of Condemned: Criminal Origins, and the psychological storytelling of Spec Ops: The Line. As it's a low budget game, it has it's faults, namely the weak voice overs and the writing also should be polished here and there as the dialogues are awkward sometimes, but it was an entertaining game. You can identify with the character, who has reminded me for the strange mix of Isaac Clark and Gordon Freeman. Afterfall: Insanity is't too long, about 7-8 hours, but I liked the twisted, even if sometimes predictible storyline.

75

I Really Like It!

Plasros | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

I fell in love with this game from nearly the start as it goes slow for the first few minutes then things get going to a final crescendo that i thought i had already guessed but as with most good games of this type its not always as you think it is. The best part of this game is the sound effects and music, i highly recommend using headphones to play or playing via a really good sound setup. There were many times that a sound wasnt what it what you thought it was hence the insanity name in the title. If your into the post apocalyptic genre then you need to check this one out, oh and the end of the game isnt when you finally get outside

64

Could have been so much more

TheImpZA | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all TheImpZA's reviews »

I've wanted to play this game since the first time I saw out, but since it got pretty bad reviews when it came out I decided to wait.

Visually the game is decent, but nothing to write home about. The sound design is OK, but the voice acting is terrible. Some of the worst voice acting I've come across in a game to be honest, although it didn't bother me enough to stop playing completely.

The first half of the game plays somewhat like a Dead Space clone with a few puzzles thrown into the mix here and there, but it changes into a post-apocalyptic shooter/action game about halfway through. Melee combat in this game is not really good and even though there are quite a selection of melee weapons with slightly different animations, they all feel the same and they all have the same finishing animation. You basically just click the mouse until an enemy dies and there is no real challenge throughout the whole game when it comes to melee combat. It doesn't really get any more challenging when you have guns either. In fact, the only times I recall dying throughout the game was during boos fights and puzzles that I didn't solve on time. Some of the puzzles where interesting, but the tutorials for them are mostly useless and you are left to figure what you are supposed to do and how to do it pretty much on your own.

The story was not terrible but also not one of the better stories out there. The story did, however, become predictable pretty early on and I saw the ending coming a mile away and I'm pretty sure everybody that played the game experienced the same thing.

Overall it was not a bad experience and even though I enjoyed most of the game, I'm glad I didn't buy it on release and I probably won't ever play it again. I just hope the developers have learned their lesson and that the sequel will be a better thought out, more polished product.