Reviews for Far Cry 3 (NA)

92

Everything you want in a game!

eduardXD | July 26, 2014 | See all eduardXD's reviews »

The story grabs you from the beginning, you can see how Jason evolves, gaining experience, integrating with the island and everything in it. The campaign is long but is not boring, and adding the many quests you can releasing towers and position , we will have many hours of entertainment! A graphic aspect very well done, day, night, rain, storms, spectacular sunrises. Many weapons to choose from bows, pistols, shotguns, sniper rifles, flamethrowers, missile launchers and thousands more, many of these modifiable. Besides all this features , it also has cooperative and competitive online mode, making Far Cry 3 one of the most complete games ever!

88

Great Open World Game

884okeoJ | July 4, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is the best Far Cry game yet. It perfects the balance between fun and serious storytelling, and will leave you satisfied long after the game is finished. The story is somewhat uninspired, telling a story of Jason Brody, a man stranded on an island who has to rescue his friends while dealing with a psychopathic man named Vaas. What I really enjoyed about Far Cry 3 was the surreal and mythical elements sprinkled in throughout the course of the story, which I thought gave the game much more intrigue.

The graphics are fantastic, and the voice work is great. The RPG elements are blended well with the first person shooter gameplay, which is fantastic. You're given an incredible amount of freedom on the island to roam, hunt wildlife, and take over outposts. If you're a fan of open world games, this is a perfect game for you.

90

The best in the series

mugaro | June 16, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

All of the elements from Far Cry 1 & 2 that didn't work are gone, all of the good ideas are improved. It's like Just Cause 2 in a FPS, only done in a serious and non-campy way.

Great story, great gameplay, great voice acting, memorable characters, awesome open world view with lots to do. ~20 hours of gameplay if you do all the radio towers & outposts (and you should).

My one complaint is that it needs more Vaas and the second half of the game is kind of a dropoff. Other than that, this is a great game. Skyrim with guns is pretty accurate.

90

Far Cry 3

ebeaver1016 | May 13, 2014 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

This game has amazing graphics. There is such detail in characteristics and environment. I enjoyed the game from the start all the way to the finish. There is a story that you follow. This makes it a pleasure to play. This is an open world game where you can pretty much tackle whatever you want when you want. There are a lot of side quests that you can explore. You can also improve your skills and upgrade your materials so that you can carry more items.

This type of game makes me appreciate those game developers that put a lot of detail and time into the game. I feel that the game was really fulfilling and I am eager to see a sequel. I played the first and second Far Cry and this closely resembles the second one, but the third is more improved. I purchased this game on sale. I would definitely recommend this.

100

Near-Perfect Game

ripred43 | April 19, 2014 | See all ripred43's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is probably the closest anyone will get to making a perfect AAA title. Everything from the graphics to the voice acting is done almost perfectly in Far Cry 3. The story is compelling and the characters are all very interesting. Jason, the character you play, does learn how to handle guns and survive in the wild rather quickly, but other than that there aren't any huge discrepancies in the story that might break your immersion.

I've played the campaign twice, and I will probably play it a third time,because Far Cry 3 is one of the most entertaining games ever made.

90

Very Fun Co-op

northmane | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all northmane's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is one of those games you hope lives up to the hype and it actually does. Great story, acting and action/challenges keeps you coming back for more. Played the co-op with friends over the holidays and it was fun. The missions are short about 5 minutes each but due to the challenge for a few of them, you need to plan your strategy as a group in order to complete them. Overall, fun and well balanced for experienced players.

95

AWESOME

DHalv | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all DHalv's reviews »

This game is my number 1 favorite of all time. I got it unsure of what to expect, but I am glad that I did. The character arc of Jason, coupled with the massive open world, pop culture references, and themes from works such as Lord of the Flies makes his descent into insanity unforgettable. While the base game can be a bit easy at times (the only reason I knocked off 5 points), the modding community is great -- it even has its own nexus page. This unlocks the potential for multiple playthroughs with greater challenge. Overall, in my opinion this is the best game of all time.

60

Good game - very graphic heavy

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is one of those perfect games. Something that you can always come to again and again and enjoy thoroughly. The story is solid, the game-play is solid, and the world is absolutely beautiful. The only issue i came across was trying to get it to work on my laptop. I got it working only after a little tweak here and there and even still was not the best it could be. If run on a decent computer it would would would be an amazing experience. The pacing of the game is very well done and the missions keep the options fresh and interesting (even if the main missions are a little strait forward)

Overall, a good game but needs a little more work in the way of performance compatibility.

90

Vivid Wildlife & Gameplay

theshoemann | Jan. 27, 2014 | See all theshoemann's reviews »

I picked this game up somewhat on a whim, but had heard really great reviews of it. The story is interesting and action packed, but seemed kind of short compared to most stories. The large selling point to me was the wild life and how the player could manipulate the wildlife to their offensive advantage through the story. The hunting and assassination missions were rather fun, but the other side missions seemed lacking compared to the rest of the game.

96

Compelling

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game is everything you would want in a action shooter. The visuals of this game are awesome and the gameplay is awesome too! Awesome and any other synonyms of awesome are really the only words you can use to describe this game. The characters are what makes you hold on to your mouse/controller for hours and hours. This game will make you play non-stop until you're finished with it. There are two endings to this game as well. One of them is pretty stupid, and the other is sad. Really good game, so get it while you have money because I don't think there will be a permanent price drop anytime soon. It does go on sale on various websites every now and then.

100

A must own,

Bytrine | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

I've played Farcry 2 and wasn't so impressed with the game. However, Farcry 3 was so amazing, I loved every moment of it. In fact, I felt honored to play such a well done game. Not only is this game visually stunning (Like Skyrim with Guns), the story is so enthralling and immersing, all the villains you encounter I felt like killing myself! In fact, when you actually kill them, you feel as if you have done it yourself! It's so interactive. From the first few minutes into the game, you realize crap has gotten real and you're in deep. This game will have you hooked from beginning to end. Buy it!

80

A Good Time

Acrophobiac | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Acrophobiac's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a somewhat open world game. There are some instances where you are forced to do things a certain way like fighting sequences or quests, and when you leave the area you will lose your progress and it will say "Mission failed." However most times you can roam the island and do whatever you want, strategize, use different tactics, my favorite part is animals do attack the pirates. For instance some encampments have a tiger in a cage, you can shoot the cage and let the tiger out and it will attack the pirates making your job easier. Of course there are situations where you'll end up fighting pirates and wild animals at the same time, but the fact that it is rather open compared to most games really made it more enjoyable for me.

The story is rather amazing, your character starts off a spoiled rich kid, but as the story progresses he transforms into someone who you can relate to and respect. You really get the feeling of the changes happening to his character, the way people react to him during the game is very immersive and believable. My only complaint is most of the boss fights you are tripping out on some kind of drug or mushroom, because you see hallucinations and it makes the whole thing rather difficult and somewhat less satisfying. But besides that the game is really good and I highly recommend it.

85

Fun experience

Akamai27 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all Akamai27's reviews »

This is a very good open world game. I really liked how you could approach situations with different strategies instead of always just running in and gunning everyone down like Rambo. The storyline is decent but I wish certain characters were more involved. The crafting and leveling systems are great. I liked that each skill tree had a different gameplay style focus. Overall it's a fun game that will get at least 30 hours of fun out of you if you're going at a medium pace.

90

Fun from start to end.

SuburbanWalrus | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all SuburbanWalrus's reviews »

This game is one of the best of the year, and the ending leaves you stunned. Great story and great gameplay.

89

a beautiful island

LostQuestion | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all LostQuestion's reviews »

a open island if you can explore it the things in you way happen to be pirates and wildlife both have no love for each other so getting a animal to kill of the pirates works nicely, also fire spreads through grass keep that in mind when you are considering doing anything that uses fire decent story about a dudebro his dudebro friends and his brother who is out from the military hear about some island decide to visit it only to find the island is a pirate paradise so they get captured by a psycho named vas and the dudebro and his brother escape sure the guy with military training gets killed at the end of the tutorial. so the dudebro you play as (one mr jason brody) has to grow up and take back the island from the pirates with the help of the native population

tldr good game worth getting.

95

Stunning Scenery, Hooking Story and Amazing Character Arc!

Bran187 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all Bran187's reviews »

Taking place in a beautiful semi open world (I say semi open because only half of the map is available to you for about the first half of the game) Far Cry 3 delivers on pretty much every level. Its got a crafting system that is easy and intuitive, phenomenal gunplay and a hooking story. I was unable to put this game down for weeks. It gives you freedom while at the same time focusing you on your objectives which really helps keep you focused on the game, but still feel like your in control of the story. A must have for any hardcore gamer.

85

Unique experience

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

A large open world with stunning vibrant and beautiful visuals mixed in with a compelling story of saving your friends from being kidnapped on an island and thats what you get with Far Cry 3. Well, theres more to it than that but this game is definitely one of the better shooters around. The online multiplayer isn't much to be desired , its there if you want but the single player action is what you want. Multiple weapons to choose from and edit. Raise your skills but one of my favorite weapons was the new addition of the bow and arrow. Its different and fun. There isn't a shortage of things you can do on the island. Take outposts to open up more of the map, drive around taking down enemies or even animals and using them to build up your inventory. You can swim around but you have to be careful for any shark attacks . The game is long but great and well worth a purchase.

87

Excellent looking shooter

mahon | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Far Cry games have always been among the best looking shooters of their respective periods. Far Cry surprised people that a game could look this good, Far Cry 2 continued the trend and now Far Cry 3 is just as impressive as the best games of the current time. Probably comparable only to Crysis 3. It's a real shooter, with not much unnecessary stuff besides it. With decent storyline, excellent area to play on and cool characters it's not a game a fan of shooters might ignore. Moreover the island and its tropical enviroment look just so interesting and so detailed that the're almost real. Although there's not much depth to the game, no tough moral choices, the game does its job of being a good FPS game really well.