Reviews for Far Cry 3 (NA) Other

95

More Games Should Be Like This

mikenotcaptain | Dec. 3, 2014 | See all mikenotcaptain's reviews »

This is the first Far Cry game that I have ever played and its hype did not disappoint. The best thing about this game is its variety. The open world is vast and is not lacking in quests or collectibles.The storyline is great and mixed with the open world aspect is never lost or belittled like it is in other open world games. The funnest thing to do in this game is to clear a base without being detected. This is one of the best FPSs that I have beaten this year and others can take notes from this gem.

93

Loved it!

Sigilaikin | Nov. 16, 2014 | See all Sigilaikin's reviews »

Fantastic game. Just enough crafting to make doing side missions and murdering enough wildlife to cause an almost extinction level event worth it. The main protagonist for most of the game is entertaining, and I wanted to spend more time with him.... would recommend to anyone.

100

Terribly and Horribly Addicting!

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

Honestly, when I first got this game, I was wondering how long the hype would last, and if it was even WORTH getting... And then I played it... for 10 hours... and I realized that this game would be a great one! I love this game. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is fantastic, the storyline is unbeatable, the characters and voice actors did a GREAT job, the vehicles are fast, and combat is epic, and the world is MASSIVE, is there anything more you could ask for? If you love HUGE open world games, that feel like they never end, games that have a storyline so epic that you can't even figure out what's going on half the time because there are so many explosions, and if you like fighting sharks in an un-winable fight, please, just buy this game, okay?

95

Great experience

mbridgmon | Nov. 10, 2014 | See all mbridgmon's reviews »

This was certainly my game of the year for 2013. This is one game where I didn't mind the busy work, and the small missions they use to fill time. The further I progressed through the game, the more powerful my character felt, the more I wanted to unlock weapons and outposts; it kept me wanting to play the game even after I completed it. I highly recommend this game, and I'm looking forward to FC4!

85

Tropical Action Movie Fantasy

dracongard | Nov. 9, 2014 | See all dracongard's reviews »

Ever loved wanting to feel like Rambo using a bow to take out enemies in the brush? Or just taking a huge gun and just shoot up armored baddies? This game has a little bit of everything. It has a few moments of glitches or bad AI but the other moments make it magical. Even after two years its a blast to just drive around and blow outposts up. If you want a shooter with a challenge or two around, then pick this up.

93

The perfect mix of FPS and open world.

heerox328 | Nov. 8, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

Do you enjoy first person shooters? Do you enjoy open world games? Far Cry 3 might be for you.

An amazing and wild story. A incredibly compelling and enticing antagonist. A beautiful, lush environment with plenty of activities to do.

Amazing driving physics, beautiful visuals, and an absolute pleasure to play. Far Cry 3 is a wild, exotic, and unique FPS that is unlike any other.

It's an RPG. It's an FPS. It's an open world game. It's multiplayer. It's even cooperative. The game is whatever you make it, and you have the freedom to play your own way.

I highly recommend the game, especially for the single player. The shooting mechanics are superb and the finishing moves and predator progression trees are incredibly addictive and exciting.

Crafting and hunting are also incredibly addictive with plenty of distractions to keep you busy on this large island. I highly recommend this game. Easily one of the best FPSs I have played in the last few years (Metro LL and Halo 4 being among them). Pick this game up. It's an absolute blast.

96

Great game

amarcoe | Oct. 21, 2014 | See all amarcoe's reviews »

This game is great, I played it for 27 hours and don't regret having spent a single one on it. The gameplay is really fun and it's just all in all a great open world/rpg game. It has a long story with a ton of side activities such as hunting, taking down outposts and assassination missions. My only complaint would have to be the end, it was just terrible I won't spoil it but it didn't live up to the game as a whole.

93

Extraordinary Campaign!

cruzerblade271 | Oct. 4, 2014 | See all cruzerblade271's reviews »

The story and the dialogues are so good that you will complete the campaign before anything else xD.

The best part is that when you complete the campaign there are so many other things to do like Hunt, Capture, Explore and more!

85

Like a One-Man Hit Squad

lairdjaren | Sept. 7, 2014 | See all lairdjaren's reviews »

Part of me wants to hate on Far Cry 3, because of its boring characters and lacklustre storyline, which wavers between tedious and mildly offensive. King Solomon's Mine is probably more culturally sensitive. That being said, Far Cry 3 is a fun maybe even addictive game, particularly if you enjoy free roaming exploration mixed with tense combat.

What Far Cry 3 does absolutely right is give the sense that the player is a complete badass guerrilla warrior. Combat, particularly open world encounters such as base capture, assassination, patrol ambush, and hunting, is open to creativity and rewards elegance. You're also encouraged to take complete advantage of terrain, wild animals, flaming wrecks, and other features of the jungle to whittle down numerically superior foes. Add in customisable weapons and an impressive skill tree that facilitates glorious cinematic combat sequences without relying on quick time events and you'll feel like the stealthy alpha predator of this island paradise.

94

Open World Gaming

yngdr | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

Great story with twists and turns.

Great open world adventure lets you play missions when you want not tied to a linear experience.

Weapons are fun to play with and most of them can be upgraded.

Hunting for pelts and plants offer a great way to upgrade your adventures, or if feel lucky don't and play with limits on carry capacity or lack of heals, play how you want.

Buy this game and have fun

95

In Love With This Game!

JerDude0711 | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all JerDude0711's reviews »

I just got a brand new PC and this is the game I've been addicted to! I love the feel of the engine, the way the guns shoot, movement, etc. I've cranked the graphics to it's highest and it looks gorgeous! As far as free roam goes there is quite a lot to do, while it is a bit repetive (towers, liberating villages) I still love it! Also the world is huge, a lot of the time I just go hunting!

I picked this game up in anticipation for Far Cry 4 and because of play 3, I am super hyped for 4!

92

An awesome open world.

Pro_Fish | July 31, 2014 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a fantastic leap forward in the Far Cry franchise with its sprawling and interesting open world, as well as its characters who for the most part have a depth usually not scene in the average game. The story is a bit cliched, with the protagonist going from a spoiled 20 something to an expert killer/hunter, but all in all this game is fantastic. The gun play is another solid aspect that adds very much to the games value. The guns, for the most part, feel powerful and effective, and as such, a head shot has a meaty feel to it. Overall, this is an experience not to be missed that I can't recommend enough.

92

Everything you want in a game!

eduardXD | July 26, 2014 | See all eduardXD's reviews »

The story grabs you from the beginning, you can see how Jason evolves, gaining experience, integrating with the island and everything in it. The campaign is long but is not boring, and adding the many quests you can releasing towers and position , we will have many hours of entertainment! A graphic aspect very well done, day, night, rain, storms, spectacular sunrises. Many weapons to choose from bows, pistols, shotguns, sniper rifles, flamethrowers, missile launchers and thousands more, many of these modifiable. Besides all this features , it also has cooperative and competitive online mode, making Far Cry 3 one of the most complete games ever!

88

Great Open World Game

884okeoJ | July 4, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is the best Far Cry game yet. It perfects the balance between fun and serious storytelling, and will leave you satisfied long after the game is finished. The story is somewhat uninspired, telling a story of Jason Brody, a man stranded on an island who has to rescue his friends while dealing with a psychopathic man named Vaas. What I really enjoyed about Far Cry 3 was the surreal and mythical elements sprinkled in throughout the course of the story, which I thought gave the game much more intrigue.

The graphics are fantastic, and the voice work is great. The RPG elements are blended well with the first person shooter gameplay, which is fantastic. You're given an incredible amount of freedom on the island to roam, hunt wildlife, and take over outposts. If you're a fan of open world games, this is a perfect game for you.

90

The best in the series

mugaro | June 16, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

All of the elements from Far Cry 1 & 2 that didn't work are gone, all of the good ideas are improved. It's like Just Cause 2 in a FPS, only done in a serious and non-campy way.

Great story, great gameplay, great voice acting, memorable characters, awesome open world view with lots to do. ~20 hours of gameplay if you do all the radio towers & outposts (and you should).

My one complaint is that it needs more Vaas and the second half of the game is kind of a dropoff. Other than that, this is a great game. Skyrim with guns is pretty accurate.

90

Far Cry 3

ebeaver1016 | May 13, 2014 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

This game has amazing graphics. There is such detail in characteristics and environment. I enjoyed the game from the start all the way to the finish. There is a story that you follow. This makes it a pleasure to play. This is an open world game where you can pretty much tackle whatever you want when you want. There are a lot of side quests that you can explore. You can also improve your skills and upgrade your materials so that you can carry more items.

This type of game makes me appreciate those game developers that put a lot of detail and time into the game. I feel that the game was really fulfilling and I am eager to see a sequel. I played the first and second Far Cry and this closely resembles the second one, but the third is more improved. I purchased this game on sale. I would definitely recommend this.

100

Near-Perfect Game

ripred43 | April 19, 2014 | See all ripred43's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is probably the closest anyone will get to making a perfect AAA title. Everything from the graphics to the voice acting is done almost perfectly in Far Cry 3. The story is compelling and the characters are all very interesting. Jason, the character you play, does learn how to handle guns and survive in the wild rather quickly, but other than that there aren't any huge discrepancies in the story that might break your immersion.

I've played the campaign twice, and I will probably play it a third time,because Far Cry 3 is one of the most entertaining games ever made.

90

Very Fun Co-op

northmane | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all northmane's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is one of those games you hope lives up to the hype and it actually does. Great story, acting and action/challenges keeps you coming back for more. Played the co-op with friends over the holidays and it was fun. The missions are short about 5 minutes each but due to the challenge for a few of them, you need to plan your strategy as a group in order to complete them. Overall, fun and well balanced for experienced players.

95

AWESOME

DHalv | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all DHalv's reviews »

This game is my number 1 favorite of all time. I got it unsure of what to expect, but I am glad that I did. The character arc of Jason, coupled with the massive open world, pop culture references, and themes from works such as Lord of the Flies makes his descent into insanity unforgettable. While the base game can be a bit easy at times (the only reason I knocked off 5 points), the modding community is great -- it even has its own nexus page. This unlocks the potential for multiple playthroughs with greater challenge. Overall, in my opinion this is the best game of all time.

60

Good game - very graphic heavy

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is one of those perfect games. Something that you can always come to again and again and enjoy thoroughly. The story is solid, the game-play is solid, and the world is absolutely beautiful. The only issue i came across was trying to get it to work on my laptop. I got it working only after a little tweak here and there and even still was not the best it could be. If run on a decent computer it would would would be an amazing experience. The pacing of the game is very well done and the missions keep the options fresh and interesting (even if the main missions are a little strait forward)

Overall, a good game but needs a little more work in the way of performance compatibility.

90

Vivid Wildlife & Gameplay

theshoemann | Jan. 27, 2014 | See all theshoemann's reviews »

I picked this game up somewhat on a whim, but had heard really great reviews of it. The story is interesting and action packed, but seemed kind of short compared to most stories. The large selling point to me was the wild life and how the player could manipulate the wildlife to their offensive advantage through the story. The hunting and assassination missions were rather fun, but the other side missions seemed lacking compared to the rest of the game.

96

Compelling

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game is everything you would want in a action shooter. The visuals of this game are awesome and the gameplay is awesome too! Awesome and any other synonyms of awesome are really the only words you can use to describe this game. The characters are what makes you hold on to your mouse/controller for hours and hours. This game will make you play non-stop until you're finished with it. There are two endings to this game as well. One of them is pretty stupid, and the other is sad. Really good game, so get it while you have money because I don't think there will be a permanent price drop anytime soon. It does go on sale on various websites every now and then.

100

A must own,

Bytrine | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

I've played Farcry 2 and wasn't so impressed with the game. However, Farcry 3 was so amazing, I loved every moment of it. In fact, I felt honored to play such a well done game. Not only is this game visually stunning (Like Skyrim with Guns), the story is so enthralling and immersing, all the villains you encounter I felt like killing myself! In fact, when you actually kill them, you feel as if you have done it yourself! It's so interactive. From the first few minutes into the game, you realize crap has gotten real and you're in deep. This game will have you hooked from beginning to end. Buy it!

80

A Good Time

Acrophobiac | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Acrophobiac's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a somewhat open world game. There are some instances where you are forced to do things a certain way like fighting sequences or quests, and when you leave the area you will lose your progress and it will say "Mission failed." However most times you can roam the island and do whatever you want, strategize, use different tactics, my favorite part is animals do attack the pirates. For instance some encampments have a tiger in a cage, you can shoot the cage and let the tiger out and it will attack the pirates making your job easier. Of course there are situations where you'll end up fighting pirates and wild animals at the same time, but the fact that it is rather open compared to most games really made it more enjoyable for me.

The story is rather amazing, your character starts off a spoiled rich kid, but as the story progresses he transforms into someone who you can relate to and respect. You really get the feeling of the changes happening to his character, the way people react to him during the game is very immersive and believable. My only complaint is most of the boss fights you are tripping out on some kind of drug or mushroom, because you see hallucinations and it makes the whole thing rather difficult and somewhat less satisfying. But besides that the game is really good and I highly recommend it.

85

Fun experience

Akamai27 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all Akamai27's reviews »

This is a very good open world game. I really liked how you could approach situations with different strategies instead of always just running in and gunning everyone down like Rambo. The storyline is decent but I wish certain characters were more involved. The crafting and leveling systems are great. I liked that each skill tree had a different gameplay style focus. Overall it's a fun game that will get at least 30 hours of fun out of you if you're going at a medium pace.

90

Fun from start to end.

SuburbanWalrus | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all SuburbanWalrus's reviews »

This game is one of the best of the year, and the ending leaves you stunned. Great story and great gameplay.

89

a beautiful island

LostQuestion | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all LostQuestion's reviews »

a open island if you can explore it the things in you way happen to be pirates and wildlife both have no love for each other so getting a animal to kill of the pirates works nicely, also fire spreads through grass keep that in mind when you are considering doing anything that uses fire decent story about a dudebro his dudebro friends and his brother who is out from the military hear about some island decide to visit it only to find the island is a pirate paradise so they get captured by a psycho named vas and the dudebro and his brother escape sure the guy with military training gets killed at the end of the tutorial. so the dudebro you play as (one mr jason brody) has to grow up and take back the island from the pirates with the help of the native population

tldr good game worth getting.

95

Stunning Scenery, Hooking Story and Amazing Character Arc!

Bran187 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all Bran187's reviews »

Taking place in a beautiful semi open world (I say semi open because only half of the map is available to you for about the first half of the game) Far Cry 3 delivers on pretty much every level. Its got a crafting system that is easy and intuitive, phenomenal gunplay and a hooking story. I was unable to put this game down for weeks. It gives you freedom while at the same time focusing you on your objectives which really helps keep you focused on the game, but still feel like your in control of the story. A must have for any hardcore gamer.

85

Unique experience

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

A large open world with stunning vibrant and beautiful visuals mixed in with a compelling story of saving your friends from being kidnapped on an island and thats what you get with Far Cry 3. Well, theres more to it than that but this game is definitely one of the better shooters around. The online multiplayer isn't much to be desired , its there if you want but the single player action is what you want. Multiple weapons to choose from and edit. Raise your skills but one of my favorite weapons was the new addition of the bow and arrow. Its different and fun. There isn't a shortage of things you can do on the island. Take outposts to open up more of the map, drive around taking down enemies or even animals and using them to build up your inventory. You can swim around but you have to be careful for any shark attacks . The game is long but great and well worth a purchase.

87

Excellent looking shooter

mahon | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Far Cry games have always been among the best looking shooters of their respective periods. Far Cry surprised people that a game could look this good, Far Cry 2 continued the trend and now Far Cry 3 is just as impressive as the best games of the current time. Probably comparable only to Crysis 3. It's a real shooter, with not much unnecessary stuff besides it. With decent storyline, excellent area to play on and cool characters it's not a game a fan of shooters might ignore. Moreover the island and its tropical enviroment look just so interesting and so detailed that the're almost real. Although there's not much depth to the game, no tough moral choices, the game does its job of being a good FPS game really well.