Reviews for BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

80

Enjoy the combat from Bioshock Infinite and unlock rewards!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

I was a bit sceptical about this DLC at first and was expecting a story one, but on the other hand there was a lot of great story in the series but no arenas where you could simply enjoy the fighting, which is great fun with no doubt. The result is very good, I must say, with lots to achieve and unlock in the process. What I also like is that once dead you don't have to start all the way since Wave 1 like in Moxxi's DLC for the first Borderlands, but you can just give up your leaderboards score and proceed, which is supercool! So get out there and fight for Columbia (or Rapture :)

65

Not bad, but not great either

Fant | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Fant's reviews »

I was disappointed when Irrational announced that their first of three DLC's was not story based, but a challenge mode like so many games these days force down your throat. It's pretty much a fact that Bioshock Infinite's combat isn't it's strong point. It's not bad, but it's average. This DLC focusses solely on that combat; offering four arenas to fight waves of enemies in.

The waves get harder each time, ending with things like two handymen at the same time. If you die, all your points are lost, but you cán continue. Each wave has a blue ribbon challenge, which is something not unlike an achievement. You have to do a certain thing, like killing all the enemies with a pistol, to get extra cash. Cash can be spent on weapon and vigor upgrades. Between levels you can also spend your money on concept art, videos and awesome Infinite character models in a little virtual bioshock museum.

All in all CitC is fun, but not for longer than a day. The blue ribbon challenges are sometimes way too hard, and if you fail one on wave 15, you can't retry without redoing the first 14 waves, which is a huge pain in the ass. If you enjoy Infinite and it's combat, go check this out. If you're interested in the story DLC, go buy the season pass and you'll get this for free anyway.

85

Challenge map pack

Coolicy | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Don't expect any story elements in this DLC. bioshock's action packed moments is all in here. I personally loved the combat of Bioshock Infinite, and this DLC provides you the chance for more fighting in 4 different maps similar to Batman Arkham City's DLC.

My favorite moment would be the fighting in the sky. It breaks so many boundaries set by other shooters and is just so creative and exhilarating. It's a shame that the main game featured so few of those moments. This DLC definitely scratched that itch of mine.

80

Not for story, just for gameplay.

crankafoo | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

This is a DLC that revolves completely around the gameplay of BioShock: Infinite. There's no great story here or anything, just some good fun run and gun. You'll be forced to use all of your abilities to their fullest and then some with the challenges presented to you. There's a lot of replayability here in the form of blue ribbon challenges that give you a specific challenge for each wave in all of the levels. You'll be upgraded as you play through a map, but they don't carry over to your next playthrough of said map or any other you choose. It's not what a lot of people were expecting, but it's a pretty cheap DLC for a bunch of content. If you liked the combat in Infinite, get this.

80

A fun DLC

ConorEngelb | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Clash in the Clouds adds a fun-ish arena combat system to Bioshock Infinite, which is definitely good if you enjoyed the combat. And of course you did, because it was great. My only criticism is the feeling that it could have been more substantial; maybe not with massive overhauls to gameplay, but a little more play time would have been nice.

76

It's Ok

ysk1985 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This DLC is alright, nothing too special, you get four different types of arena type games which is great if you love that type of thing. The file size is around 5GB if that is a problem for some people. You get to have more combat on the skylines which is what some people wanted, which is great the developers listened. You can get this in the season pass or wait until it goes on sale, up to you.

100

Refreshing DLC

forgot2shave | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

I am not sure there is much DLC out there that has this kind of bang for your buck. You are able to go in to these many, many challenges with the setup that is ideal for you and you are rewarded well for completing the bonuses. Definitely a must-by for anyone with Bioshock Infinite.

73

If you liked Dunwall Trials...

raeldrikp | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all raeldrikp's reviews »

As the title of the review states, this is a dlc for people who really love DLC along the lines of Dishonored's Dunwall Trials. For me the reason I really loved Bioshock (1-Infinite) had very little to do with the combat, in fact I would say that the combat really was sub par, so I would tell you to avoid it if the reason you liked bioshock was for non-combat reasons. However, if you see beyond that, you will see a decent set of combat trials with nice locations (some new and others familiar). I would say that this adds about 2 hours of life to your title? The DLC to really wait for would be the two episodes of Burial at Sea.

80

Good dlc

liberator328 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all liberator328's reviews »

This very cheap dlc is a very nice add-on to the original game. Not much story here, but lots of action.

88

Great If You Love the Combat

narwhalninja224 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all narwhalninja224's reviews »

I got this DLC through the season pass, and it's pretty good. The main premise is combat, so if you enjoyed that, then you should definitely get it. You get to become a fully upgraded warrior, as your vigor and weapon upgrades become completely available and are permanent. You don't, however, get to have all gear or fully ungraded infusions, where you still have to make choices from this limitation. My only complaint is that it's very short, you can get all museum collectibles and upgrades in two or three days. But at least it gives and easter egg on the upcoming Burial at Sea DLC.

66

First DLC

lok0812 | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

As stated on the season pass description that this will focus on the combat of the game and no story content will be involved and that is what it is. This very minimal DLC adds the ability to combine weapons and dozens of challenges for the players to tackle using the weapons that are created. In addition there are concept arts to unlock for people who enjoy unlcoking things as well as new achievements. Not really a DLC that anyone should get unless you bought the season pass or enjoy achievement hunting.

65

No Story Related Content here

Trollfaceyomama | July 31, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

The combat mechanics in Bioshock Infinite were widely lamented by critics and users alike as the worst element of the game. Gunplay and vigors were complained about as being clunky and an obstacle, but worth putting up with in order to experience the story and the characters. Meanwhile, purchasers of the game have been complaining that DLC is slow to come, though many defended the time frame because they had been led to believe by Irrational Games that all DLCs would be story-based (this only made sense as the game lacks multiplayer).

So the first DLC finally drops and it's a hackneyed horde mode containing no story elements and a focus on gunplay and vigors, the two elements of the game most lacking. Worse still, this $5 DLC is considered part of the Season Pass. It's clear this was a quick and dirty cash in by Irrational in order to placate the people complaining that they are taking too long to get DLC out the door.

Someone from Irrational Games, I can't remember whom at the moment, once stated that they had enough content cut from the game which could have constituted a full second game. It seemed implied that this content would end up being the story DLC. Given this lackluster first effort, I find myself wondering: Where's all that extra "cut" content? Were they just blowing smoke to sucker people into buying Season Passes?

Once again we see why buying Season Passes for vaguely promised content sight unseen is a bad idea.

90

Just shootem up!

boyschraverus | July 31, 2013 | See all boyschraverus's reviews »

I loved bioshock infinite. But I thought it was sad that there wasn't an arena mode or something... Until now! because with clash in the clouds this has been added. Also irrational made some good work from it, and I haven't encountered any bugs or something.

90

Only Five Dollars???

OmittingCoder | July 31, 2013 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

Been playing this baby for around three hours and damn... It's worth more than what you play for it. This Horde mode based DLC adds a TON more hours to the game. It even comes with a museum that you can check out some concept are and early models. I recommend getting the season pass though. And also... Check out the Burial at Sea DLC trailer. Look amazing. Anyway if you're a fan of Infinite's combat system and love shooting founders in the face then you will love this!

85

More great Bioshock combat

Stebsis | July 30, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I really liked action in Bioshock Infinite, it had nice punch to it, enemies were varied enough and especially sky-rail sections were amazing sections in the game. This DLC brings just that, combat, combat and more combat even more intense than before. You'll be fighting handymen, patriots and all the other familiar enemies. I'm a bit disappointed it isn't story DLC seeing how great the story was in Infinite, but upcoming Burial at Sea is hopefully going to correct that. If you liked combat in Infinite this is a great DLC and is worth buying the season pass to get the upcoming DLC's too, but if combat wasn't your thing I'd wait until Burial at Sea comes out.

85

A good DLC

Cavalieroscuro | July 30, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This DLC is similar to the first DLC released only in PS3 for the original Bioshock, a serie of challenges you must complete with specific equipments and vigors. It adds around three full hours of new and funny gameplay, if you want more of Infinite, take this one.

78

4 new missions

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

I love every DLC what contains missions and this DLC is contains 4 missions.Thanks god.Bioshock Infinite is awesome and now with this DLC,it's amazing!!