Reviews for Rise of the Triad

81

You Want Gibs? You Got Gibs.

combodombie | March 5, 2014 | See all combodombie's reviews »

Are you tired of generic shooters? Do you want something a bit more...ludicrous? Well, get this game. Rise Of The Triad is an incredibly bloody and incredibly fun game. I only have a few issues: 1) The game doesn't look great. 2) The game has little lighting in places, which makes you not see enemies which will lead to your demise.

80

Ludicrous

Arteus | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

Not bad, not bad at all. This is an ideal game for people that want to return to the days of fast-paced first person shooters with large levels packed with secrets. This game is packed with all of the weapons from the classic release and they made the transition perfectly. There's nothing like speeding through a level and blowing everything in your path into little giblets.

Graphically the game is pretty dang good, certainly nothing to scoff at. Sadly however, the game isn't the most optimized thing in existence. I was unable to run it at more than 15fps on an AMD quad core 3.2GHz and a HD6850, regardless of what settings I attempted. Thankfully I later upgraded my PC and it runs well enough for me to be writing this review. Still, if you're worried about your PC not being up to the task you may want to hold off altogether or at least wait for a good sale before purchasing this title.

30

Utter Garbage

Vlady | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all Vlady's reviews »

I bought this game based on user reviews and made a huge mistake. I couldn't find any redeeming qualities in this one. It has graphics and effects that look 5+ years old. Animations that look 10+ years old and AI that looks 15+ years old. Yet, it manages to have very poor performance and huge FPS drops even after extensive patching. The Bad: - weak gunplay, over reliance on projectile RPG weapons (of which you can carry only one at a time). All other weapons (and there are only few) feel useless. You also have a pistol (useless) and what looks like MP40 (feels like a pea shooter) with infinite bullets. - bullet sponge enemies (if you use any weapons with actual bullets) - overwhelming amount of tedious platforming. The game practically devolves into a tedious, bouncy platformer in many levels, where you have to precisely land on tiny discs or die in a fiery pit. You can get a Rayman or Super Mario game if you are interested in platforming games, not a first person shooter. This is what finally killed it for me. - enemies blend into backgrounds and it's very hard to see them, even after they start shooting! I was squinting all of the time. It was literary headache inducing. The Good: Can't think of anything. There is a multiplayer, but I couldn't bother with it, cause I uninstalled after 3 hours of playing this nauseating single player first person platforming duck shooter.

94

A must buy for any 90's kid

parazitu91 | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all parazitu91's reviews »

A bit rough around the edges, but a bresh of fresh air for us old school gamers who was wanting a game to bring back memories of the old days of Unreal Tournament, Quake, Duke 3D and Doom. The Graphics are ok, not brilliant but when you're whizzing around at the speed in game you won't really care about the graphics, the guns sound brilliant and responsive and the weapons have this larger than life feel that the tone is going for and the soundtrack is killer. The framerate can drop massively at parts, and it can be annoying. Quicksaves have been added, too. If you're looking for a solid SP game that you can spend a while in, this is the game for you. If you're looking for the next Unreal Tournament, look somewhere else. Simply great.

91

Old school, yet at the same time modern

commanderhavoc | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

This remake of the classic DOS FPS Rise of the Triad not only stays true to the original, but also adds many more jokes as well as making the boss battles even more challenging and interesting. And of course, all those wacky weapons and powerups that you could find in the original are here as well, including the God Mode powerup. Also, this is much MUCH more fast paced then most first person shooters you find today and so it can get quite hectic as you battle the evil Triad as one of five unique characters that have their own sets of strengths and weaknesses that make it even more interesting.

77

Classic is Back

danteveli | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Original Rise of the Triad is one of coolest but at the same time most overlooked FPP games ever. Thankfully its coming back in this pretty faithful remake. This is old school fun in the Wolfenstein 3D/ Doom style but on drugs. Really cool powers like GoD mode or DoG mode. Gibs flying everywhere while you kill mass amounts of nazis while looking for hundreds of secrets. I really enjoy that throwback vibe I find lacking in most contemporary FPP shooters. With the modding tools it has the potential to offer pretty much infinite gameplay (anyone remembers Doom WADS?). I highly recommend this one.

100

Best FPS Released!

NeonSKennedy | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all NeonSKennedy's reviews »

This game is easily the best game I have played since Doom. I have played a lot of games in my life but this one takes the cake, because you run around and kill people. Now, that is the formula for the perfect game, and I say that because killing people and blasting your way through levels is how every game should be played. That is probably why something like The Walking Dead or The Sims 3 are just awful games that nobody plays and they didn't win Game of the Year. This game also looks better than any game I've seen, Battlefield 4 came out today and it doesn't look nearly as good as this. This game is the best! 10 out of 10! Game of the Year!

88

A good start for a small studio.

MauroR | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

I've heard people complain about this game due to the bugs o this game, but people have to think that this is a small studio with few people, it's not Ubisoft or Id Software or Bethesda. I think they did a great job bringing the old school feeling to the modern gaming audience. We must encourage these guys instead of bashing them. I liked the game, I'm sure that they'll do better with our support.

85

Now this is an FPS

Stebsis | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

There's been a huge gap in FPS genre for games like Rise of the Triad. Those fast based games like Unreal Tournament, Quake, Shadow Warrior and of course Rise of the Triad basically defined what FPS was in the 90's. Now those games've been replaced ones like Call of Duty and Battlefield(you can argue about quality of them), more slower and tactical games and not so much reflex.

Rise of the Triad is here to fix that and it does just that, mindless, fast paced shooting with enemies exploding in blood and guts, eyeballs flying at the screen and all that great gory stuff.

Weapon system is a lot different from anything else, your basic weapons like assault rifle and pistols have unlimited ammo, but they don't pack the biggest punch. if your eally want to survive, you need to find heavy weapons like rocket launchers which make enemies splatter all over the place. You can also turn into a dog and get the hand of god that can kill anything.

This is for people who love fast paced FPS action, and soon there's also other great remake coming, Shadow Warrior. Hopefully we'll see some actually new games now that these remakes seem to be fairly successfull.

83

Classic

DanielZo0 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Was very exited for this reboot as the original Rott pretty much dominated my childhood together with Duke Nukem. I was not disappointed albeit with a couple of ifs.

The game itself is very very fun, very true to the original and I have had a blast from the word go. Diverse arsenal, bloody gory mess, its got it all and it does what is says on the tin quite well. (being an remake) The only points where i found it lacking that it does look a lad outdated, and i attribute that to the lowish quality of the texturing. The voice acting is just, well, bad even though the game is a parody of itself. And the game is stupidly fast. I know the original was as well but not this fast

72

Old School

DanielZo0 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

A lot of people won't enjoy this game because of its lack of similarities to call of duty, like its fast-paced gameplay, its abundance of secrets, the craziness of its weapons and powerups, and so on. It can play well on outdated hardware, but to max it out you need to have a very high-end computer, so don't be upset your 760gtx can't get 60fps on ultra, be happy your 460gtx can get 30 on medium.

80

Enjoyable for new and old players

MysticalOrca | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all MysticalOrca's reviews »

I played the classics like doom and quake but somehow missed the original ROTT so I decided to try it out with this re-release. I was not dissapointed. Fast, explosive, challenging, nazi-killing are all great adjectives to describe this 15 dollar gem. It seems a lot of people rave about the multiplayer but that is one of the biggest downsides I have found, all the servers appear empty! Maybe I just am not on at the right times or maybe it is a nudge to create a server for you and your friends. With mod support coming I really see this being a fantastic bang-for-your-buck game. Optimization at this point is also quite poor for some but hasn't bothered me. In a nutshell the new Rise of the Triad is simply fun with a few setbacks that are bound to be fixed.

88

Needs a bit of work, but good fun!

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

A great attempt at reviving this old-school type of shooter, with tight controls and a solid look. I have always enjoyed these type of shooters and I'm hopeful this comes back in a big way. The game feels a bit unbalanced in a few places, but it's nothing they can't fix. I've experienced a few graphical glitches as well, but that's another thing easily fixed. I hope they continue to support the game with more content and modes, I'll gladly drop the cash. You should definitely pick this up if you're into twitch shooters.

85

Old School

atease | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all atease's reviews »

Rise of the Triad is unashamedly old school. It's wickedly quick, crammed full of enemies ready to be blasted to smithereens, and the level design is absolutely top notch.

Those of you who grew up on the Modern Warfare series might struggle with the frequent awkward platforming, and there's more than enough opportunities to get lost around some surprisingly huge levels.

But this is exactly what most of us had hoped for. True old school PC FPS thrills, wrapped up in a modern, more visually appealing wrapping. Glorious fun!

83

Back to the roots

Kradath | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

All in all, this game is what I expected it to be. The emphasis is, in every regard, on going back to what made old school shooters great and transporting those into the current generation with updated visuals and better controls. Is it perfect? Definitely not, but it's a good start and hopefully more games of this calibre will start to come out in the near future.

The controls are very tight and the level design rewards exploration. On the technical front the game could definitely need some more optimization and bug fixes.

Other than that, if you're looking for a blast from the past this game definitely will suit your needs.

84

Great "rebirth" of a classic

ConorEngelb | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

An excellent FPS, worthy of its classic predecessor. Gameplay is smooth and enjoyable, combat twitchy and visceral; and oh so very satisfying when you get it right. Difficult to master, it's true, but that warm feeling of satisfaction makes every moment of frustration worth it.

82

A great game that indeed is worthy, but needs a bit of tweaking

Substancer | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Substancer's reviews »

The original Rise of the Triad was something wacky and yet endearing enough to be played again and again. This new iteration from Apogeee does not disappoint too much (iron sight aim speed, voice acting) but if you go into with a clear understanding of these minor flaws you'll come out with a great game. Also this game is quite fast (i.e. if you have even the slightest possibility of motion sickness from reading this), so picking one of the less speedier characters may be a better choice in the long run.

82

A great game that indeed is worthy, but needs a bit of tweaking

Substancer | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Substancer's reviews »

The original Rise of the Triad was something wacky and yet endearing enough to be played again and again. This new iteration from Apogeee does not disappoint too much (iron sight aim speed, voice acting) but if you go into with a clear understanding of these minor flaws you'll come out with a great game. Also this game is quite fast (i.e. if you have even the slightest possibility of motion sickness from reading this), so picking one of the less speedier characters may be a better choice in the long run.

82

A great game that indeed is worthy, but needs a bit of tweaking

Substancer | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Substancer's reviews »

From the time that I played this game thus far it has been a bit of a roller-coaster ride. The visuals and special effects are on par with today's leading shooters. The combat is a mix between the old Rott and a mix between wacky fps and serious fps which blends considerably with the theme. There are some things that need to be tweaked accordingly such as iron sight speed adjustment, general speed adjustment, and other aspects. For $15 USD its a good game to get into just go into it with normal expectations and you'll have a rip roaring time.

80

Fast and Furious FPS

bibora | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all bibora's reviews »

I don't usually buy games when they are released. I usually tend to wait a while till either I see some feedback of the community or if I really want it, until price drops. With ROTT that didn't happen. One because the price is already very affordable for a new game and second because since I first heard about this game, and being one of those that played the classic, it got my eyes plugged on it. A fast, furious FPS where we don't have much to worry about except kill, kill, kill and run like mad. The game offers fast and furious gameplay, with a very high pace, where everything happens really fast. You run fast as hell, there's enemies on every room, there's tons of gibs floating everywhere, there's lots of secrets to find at each level. All this while carrying a nice rocket launcher to launch at your enemies eyes. Or maybe you just want to play God? Or a dog?! Of course there are some issues with the game. The A.I. isn't brilliant, mostly enemies dodge occasionally. Some levels you might have problems finding where the hell you are being shoot from. The checkpoint system can pull some frustrating moments from you. Some players say there's also some issues with performance, while this hasn't affected me. And on multiplayer, where everything runs SO fast, it can be frustrating to kill someone (or maybe it's just me, who is completely bad at it). Overall, I find it a very satisfying game. If you looking for a fast paced FPS game, with no concerns about crouching and hiding for enemies, nor looking for a deadly head shot, maybe you should give this title a go.

88

Twitchy oldschool fun

RiVenoX | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all RiVenoX's reviews »

You will die. You will die a lot. It will be frustrating, There is no tutorial, there's no hand holding. If you want to survive, you will fight for it. And that's a good thing! This game is a little bit more corridor like than its predecessor, and the lack of a save does increase the difficulty, and get frustrating at times, but behind it is an incredibly fun game with frantic gameplay. There are tons of secrets to reward going off the beaten path, and lots of traps to trip you up. The whole package takes the formula of yesteryear and revamps it with some of the enhancements of today without really diluting the essence of what those games were. They were about dying, they were about failing, and your progress wasn't measured in an XP bar, or in prestige, it was measured in actual skill and experience. Could you learn from your mistakes and pick up on the games clues enough to plunder her depths and make off with the resources you need to make it through the game efficiently?

70

Good not great

hasib11m | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all hasib11m's reviews »

Positives: Fast paced, action packed, and interesting for old school shooter fans Negatives: Poorly optimized, brutal save/checkpoint system (expect to redo levels just because you die at a platforming section), fairly difficult even on easy for those unfamiliar to old school shooters, it didn't come with a level editor as promised in the description(but will soon be in there within a month according to the developers), and multiplayer can be somewhat frustrating when your dying every 5-10 seconds before getting to a good gun

83

Awesome, but in need of patches

Pro_Fish | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

This throwback to 90s style action shootemups is great on all levels... except performance. Featuring a wide arsenal of BOOM weapons and a ludicrous story, this game is extremely fun. It's levels also can prove to be a good challenge and the enemies you will face are enjoyable to fight. too.

The multiplayer also is something that should not be passed up. Featuring many maps and fast-paced gameplay, it's a blast to play.

Currently, the biggest issue with this game relate to its performance. Some issues include stretching ragdolls, empty servers, and mainly, large performance hits, but hopefully these will all be fixed with upcoming patches.

In its state, it is in need of work, but its developers are very much in tune and supportive of the community, so I believe this game has a bright future ahead of it.

90

So old that it comes back around being FRESH!

SpyRou | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all SpyRou's reviews »

This game has a lot of old school gameplay mechanics mixed with new. Some are great such as the speed and all around fast action without any quicktime events or a lot of boring cinematics to stop the momentum of action or carry the story. This game uses similiar episode system seen in old games such as doom. There is a lot of value for this little buck. Get it now! Also worth noting the voice acting is similiar than in the call of duty parody game that was used to promote Bulletstorm back in the day. And im saying the voice acting is damn funny for that reason also.

70

A faithful remake.

fable2 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Honestly, I find the game to be a welcome remake. This is a flashback to tournament style fps. It stays humble to the original Rott, with plenty of nostalgia to be had here. its not to set some modern fps standard , or even meet that standard, it was meant to remake the 1994 Rott to 2013 and it done just that. From the platforming to the puzzles to the fast run in gun shoot first and never ask questions later approach was all part of the original and is intact here , when you take all this into account the game to me deserves between 7 - 8 for accomplishing what the devs set out to do and what they said they were trying to do and they did just that beautifully with minor hiccups that could easily be fixed in a patch.. the game is a easy 7 and a 8 to people who grew up playing the original and can really understand and appreciate what they are playing.

75

a nice came back of 90's fps

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Very, very challenging. Oldschool level design including keycard hunts and deadly obstacles. Super fast movement speed. No regenerating health. Unlimited ammo, no reloading required (just like in the original). Collectables and hidden areas. Gore galore. Awesome remakes of old songs, including the ability to listen to the classic versions. Tons of graphics options.

No manual saving. Poor A.I. that doesn't always react to your presence. Small enemies that blend in too well with the environments. Widespread performance issues (frame rate drops and stuttering). Mouse smoothing that can't be disabled through the menus (plus when it's disabled via config edits, the movement still doesn't feel quite right).

A fun game that stays true to the original in many ways but also lacks polish. It's fast, furious, and challenging, but makes one wonder just how great it could have been had the developers spent more time optimizing the performance and kept a classic "save anywhere, anytime" system.

85

Fast and Furious...

thomR | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all thomR's reviews »

...this is words for this game. Old school gameplay, nervous and fun in multiplayer. Pretty good after a difficult day at work :)

90

Pretty Fun Game

ryjil83 | July 31, 2013 | See all ryjil83's reviews »

This version of Rise of the Triad is based on an old FPS by Apogee. It is a throw back to the old days of holding the trigger down and killing everything you see. Plenty of gibbing and things to shoot. There is hidden spots all around with coins that you collect to increase your score.

Choose from five different characters to play, each having their own strength's and weaknesses.

Make no mistake, this in NOT Call of Duty style nor Borderlands 2. This is straight balls-to-the-walls action. For the price, you can't get any better.

90

An Ode to Old School FPS!

Plasros | July 31, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

As a remake of the spiritual sequel to the grandfather of shooters, I expected to be thrown back with old school style gameplay and level design. It definitely doesn't disappoint with that the levels have a ton of secrets, branching paths, keys for doors halfway across the map, and a lot of gameplay choices that died out since the 90s for example, reloading literally does nothing, and was just included for kicks. Ironsights were also thrown in, but outside of singleplayer you'll get destroyed if you use them. Multiplayer is a rocketfest, which can be frustrating at times, but once you learn your way around that's when it gets fun. The devs are the best part of the game, honestly there's lots of jokes thrown in, like the AI telling you to stick with a controller and text-to-speech in multiplayer. However, it is a bit buggy on launch day, as I found myself getting stuck in walls a lot in singleplayer. I also can't really see a competitive future. But for what it is and what it tries to be, it's perfect.