Reviews for BioShock DNS

90

Under the Sea ....

carlyle | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

BioShock is a masterpiece. There is little to say. We use many times the weapons that we can find on the ground next to a dead body or at certain points in the game, but, more often and more willingly, we will combine the use of bullets to the classic supernatural abilities that we have achieved thanks to the plasmids. The game is pretty much perfect in every way and sets new standards in the world of first-person shooters. Lovers of FPS will not only get their teeth, but also a great rpg. Grave mistake would be to think of BioShock as usual FPS for PC. We are facing a new way of understanding the shooter, we are faced with a new level of video game, far superior to even the most renowned works. We are in the presence of a game that can be appreciated by those FPS they have never played before or has ever endured. But above all, it is a title that manages to stand out for its quality, in a market already saturated with products that are too similar to each other, distinguished by its peculiarities and its originality and desire to innovate.

90

Tour in Rapture

Stebsis | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Bioshock is one of the most atmospheric and interesting games to come out in this whole gaming generation.

You play as Jack, a silent protagonist. Jack's plane crashes down into the sea, and Jack is the only survivor. Little ways he sees a lighthouse on an island where he swims. Inside he finds a bathysphere and there's a radio, and he descends into Rapture, city under water, accompanied first by a man named Atlas via the radio.

The game, story and the Rapture are all very interesting. When you take the first steps inside the Rapture you can't but wonder what exactly is happening. Why are you here? What exactly is this place? Where is everyone? What has happened here? Nothing is exactly told you right away to set things up, you get to discover it yourself. It's a thought provoking game and setup that make you want to go forward just by its atmosphere it creates the minute you step outside the bathysphere. For me no game has ever done it the same way. Rapture isn't immersive like Skyrim for example, nor you don't have any clear goal like saving someone and the gameplay itself isn't the most addictive, though solid enough. The game makes you yourself want to keep going so that you can discover the secrets and history of Rapture, and it is interesting to say the least.

Story takes some nice turns, there's lots of hidden stuff in the dialog that you'll notice along the way and the second playthrough should become more interesting as you really learn to know what to really listen in the conversations. Nothing is shoved down your throat, there are basically no cutscenes to interrupt you, and you can just choose to ignore the story if you want, but it is interesting and there're couple of really nice twists and great characters.

Gameplay is definitely the weakest link in Bioshock, though it's not bad, just not on par with many other FPS games and the horror elements aren't the scariest, but the focus here isn't in shooting so it's understandable. You fight mostly splicers, these weird human like creatures, with weapons like wrench, pistol, shotgun, and you even get a sweet tommy gun. But you also have plasmids that're like magic. Soon when you arrive to Rapture, you find this weird bottle of EVE, some weird substance and for some reason Jack stabs it into his arm, and you gain plasmids. There's fire, ice, electricity, telekinesis, traps and many other interesting ones that spice up the action nicely, for example if there's an oil puddle you can set it on fire or if enemies are standing in water you can electrocute them. They're also used for little puzzle solving, like fire melts ice that lets you proceed forwards or to some hidden area.

At one point you also confront a Big Daddy, that is like a guardian to a Little Sister, a little girl, that's with them almost always. Big Daddies are humans who's skin and organs have been put inside a big diving suit and "programmed" to protect Little Sisters. These are tough and really agile foes despite their size. If you're not careful they will kill you fast with their big drill that almost all Big Daddies have. They're usually not hostile unless you get too close, or attack the Little Sister or the Big Daddy itself. If you manage to kill the BD, you can choose what you do with the Sister, kill her or save her. If you decide to kill her, she gives you ADAM, that's currency used to get more plasmids at your disposal. If you save her, you take her with you and find a vent where you put her. This way you won't get ADAM right away, but in long run you get it more. After you've let the LS go, sometime later you'll find a present left to you. There's lots of ADAM there and sometimes even an upgrade for you, like a skill that gives you more time when hacking vending machines. Depending wheter you kill or save majority of the Little Sisters, you get a different ending.

Bioshock has its minor flaws like the combat could've used a bit fine tuning as the shooting elements are a bit stiff, and story might be hard to follow sometimes because it's all in the radio chatter and you might be focusing on something else so you need to just stop and really listen it.

Bioshock is a great game that I don't think anyone should pass. It takes its time in the beginning setting the atmosphere before going into combat, letting you explore and making you guess what is happening, and keeping the mysterious and interesting feeling all throughout the game. There are definitely better horror and FPS games out there, but Bioshock is an unique game that everyone should experience.

85

System Shock 2 underwater

Guardian412 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Bioshock is a fun game, but it's far from being original or perfect. As I call it; System Shock 2 underwater. If BioShock would be a remake, it would be great, but Bioshock is recycling almost every single story elements and twists from System Shock 2. And honestly I still prefer the Von Braun and Shodan over Rapture and Ryan. Bioshock is also dumber and more mainstream and it does not have those elements which has made System Shock 2 to a memorable legend. Yet Bioshock is still a great and memorable game, an excellent shooter with many RPG elements, excellent visuals and presentation, but it is not as good if you know the famous precessedor.

89

Simply Amazing!

tsheni | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all tsheni's reviews »

Bioshock 1 is truly an amazing game. At first I was skeptical about purchasing this game due to the insane hype the game got ( I feared it may be too overated) but after a few hours I found myself inmersed in its intense gameplay and rich story. It is a must-have for all gamers.

86

Atmospherical

lushteinas | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all lushteinas's reviews »

It's hard to describe BioShock. It's a shooter with some RPG elements thrown in for good measure. It's a spiritual successor to System Shock. It's an atmospheric experience, filled with crazed characters and a broken utopia. BioShock is set in an undersea city of Rapture, a fallen utopia, ruined by peoples greed to be perfect. Exploring the city you can find audiologs left by people that tell you the events that lead the city to what it is now. The gameplay is solid, except maybe too easy, and that's when the game loses a bit of it's survival-horror shine. There is really no horror when you know you can take out anything that comes at you, and near the end of the game, even on hard difficulty setting you will become nearly godlike. It still is a great experience and any fan of atmospherical shooters should try it out.

95

One Man's Fallen Dream Is Another's Fun Time

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Bioshock is the tale of one man versus the lunacy of the ocean blue, about the freedom we really have, and about how we have to be cautious about progress without forgetting our humanity. Surviving from a plane crash over the ocean, your only hope of survival is a small lighthouse leading to the formerly grand underwater city of Rapture. Like the fabled ruins of Atlantis, mystery pervades the creaky tunnels of the city, with the game teasing you with little scraps of information that eventually piece together the fall of Rapture.

Bioshock's grand story is supported nicely by the great voice actors giving life to the little voice recordings abandoned in the city, all linked to the ambitious figure of Andrew Ryan, founder of Rapture. His crumbling city also serves as the overarching character of the game, showing the player the rise and fall of a great dream with fantastic graphics and set pieces among the creaky ambient sound. The grandeur of the architecture blends nicely with all of the cracks and decay strewn about, illustrating the mood well.

The actual nuts and bolts of the game is very polished as well. While the beginning might feel reminiscent of Half-Life with the creepy opening and because you're limited to a wrench at first, Bioshock quickly veers into it's own direction. Yes, at first they seem like stock shooting weapons like revolvers and shotguns, but thanks to the game's upgrade system you'll be able to decimate your foes with explosive rounds, freeze them and shatter them with well placed shot, or even electrocute those idiots in the water from afar. Guns aren't your only means of defense however, with the game offering powers, called Plasmids in this story, which allow you to burn, shock, or even seek hornets on your enemies among the many other Plasmids at your disposal.

The game is not merely a shooter however, with the open environments encouraging exploration while defending yourself. Secrets and abandoned supplies litter the streets of Rapture, and hacking vending machines and security will make your intrusion on the city easier. While not as open as an actual sandbox shooter like Fallout 3, Bioshock also doesn't feel like a linear path like a typical war shooter.

Other notes in regards to the PC version are that, yes, it does have support for a Xbox 360 gamepad if you prefer analog sticks to the mouse. Also, in addition to the game client you may be playing this on, you will have to use the much maligned Games for Windows Live system to play it. While it is annoying having to log in to GoWL every time you want to play, once your account is set up, it isn't so bad and certainly doesn't ruin the game, but it's something to keep in mind.

All in all, Bioshock isn't just another Game of the Year from the past, but it's an experience well worth trying, even this far after it's initial release. It's a game that feels like art and makes the player wonder what the best way to run a society is. However, it doesn't forget that it's a game and ensures that it's entertaining to play through as well thanks to it's colorful weapon upgrades and Plasmid powers. Everything in Bioshock manages to fit together one of the most memorable games of our time, and I can not give it a higher recommendation.

98

Get Bioshocked

videopower77 | Jan. 13, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

My favorite game of all time. I've finished the campaign from beginning to end at least 10 times and found every single secret and achievement in the game. Bioshock will always be a masterpiece in my eyes.

If you still haven't played this game yet, you're doing yourself a great injustice. Even though it's 6-7 years old, it still holds up incredibly well today. The textures might not be as pleasant to look at six years later but the retro art deco design of Rapture as well as the ambient music will leave the player in a trance-like state.

Sadly, the game uses Games for Windows Live which does hinder the game because everyone is bound to have an issue with that thing sooner or later.

That being said, don't let that nuisance deter you from not only one of gaming's greatest moments, but storytelling as well. 10/10

90

Nor really a shooter...

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

but a very good adventure! Bioshock 1 was one of the first impressive game of this gen, thanks to his story and gameplay. You can fight with your own weapons (that you can modify) or your powers (and there are TONS of them), or simply mixing both. The game is very long, around twenty hours, but it never bore you.

92

An Experience Not To Be Missed

AkaRai | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

From the moment the game begins, everything about the presentation is perfect. Rapture (the underwater city in which the game takes place) feels like a living, breathing place. A beautiful, ruined paradise I'd love to vacation to, if not for it being filled with murderous psychopaths.

It takes a really good game to get me to enjoy a first-person shooter, and I absolutely adored Bioshock. An extremely wealthy eccentric has created an underwater city with no rules, and filled it with some of the brightest minds. Without any rules or morality holding them back, genetic modification became the order of the day, and the city descended into chaos. The surviving inhabitants are crazed "splicers" who aren't fond of strangers, and want to gut you for everything you have.

Considered a spiritual successor to System Shock, Bioshock boasted a fairly open-ended combat system, allowing you to hack robots to fight for you, rely on various plasmids to genetically alter yourself and fire various effects which work similarly to spells, or just mow them down with guns. It offers a compelling narrative in a truly fascinating setting. I honestly can't find fault with this game.

97

Superb!

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

One of the best games of all time. It was touted as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, and while it never quite achieved that, it did manage to become a fantastic game in its own right. I have to say Irrational Games have become my favourite developer due to the care and attention they put into their games. Every moment in BioShock has been polished to a high sheen, the graphics are awesome, the style is unique, the game-play is extremely well balanced and paced between shooting, narrative and other activities like exploration and growing your character. The A.I is some of the best I have ever seen. But most importantly of all for me, is the way you can play the game however you want to. If you like to get in people faces with the shotgun and melee weapon you can do that, or you can stick with rapid fire weapons and high explosives, set traps, go stealthy, use the myriad of plasmids etc. Its just a fantastic and game and so spooky to boot. Without a doubt it is one of my favourite all time video games. If you like intelligent shooters then this is a must play video game.

90

Original shooter

Jorgel | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

In the last times we have been bombarded by cliche shooters with just a bunch of weapons and frenetic gunfight, but fortunately Bioshock comes with an all new persepctive. From the original and amazing universe and ambience with misteries and a intriguing and superb mitology to the innovative weapons, habilites and combat system. If it's not enough Bioshock still amaze us with an intelligent and mind blowing history that surprise us since the very beggining until the last minute. If you are a fan of FPS but tired of the sameness of last titles, Bioshock is a great must buy game

97

The deepest game in history (literally and metaphorically)

abelfs | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

2K's "Bioshock" cannot be handled as a game. Sure, the gameplay's solid and smooth, but that's not what makes "Bioshock" a masterpiece; it's the story and its atmosphere. The different scenarios will tell you more than one story, while the main plot is deeply immersive, powerful, and frightning. The broad, beautiful visuals overrides the (kinda) muddy textures. Through the eyes of Jack, a dystopian society of greed and corruption is seen underwater. Is man truly innocent and can their crimes be washed away? Such sophisticated question was never asked before in a game, and "Bioshock" answers the prompt back with such epicness and horror,The rest of GOTY are just noob compared to this jewel!!

90

BioShock review

carlyle | Dec. 16, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

BioShock is a FPS with a large component of exploration and adventure, heavily contaminated RPG elements. The plot written by developers is fairly compelling, and presents detailed and full of twists. In addition to normal weapons, instruments of offense of which the protagonist may have include above all the plasmids, particular combinations of Adam capable of altering the genetic code giving special powers, ranging from the ability to emit fire from their fingers to launch a powerful electric shock, freeze enemies from being able to move objects through telekinesis. To use these powers is necessary to consume the Eve, the counterpart of "mana" of the GDR, which, just as in the case of medical kits, can be found around the levels or in vending machines. One of the main reasons why BioShock will be remembered for years to come is the artistic aspect. The great merit of the developers is to be able to recreate a world apart, credible and extremely fascinating.

94

Unique!

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

Even after all those years, it is still worth getting this incredible FPS. The ambiance is simply unique, the actual level design is amazing as you immerse yourself into one of the best games of all time. The story line is very well written, and you will find yourself wanting more and more and more. Plus, it has RPG aspects. So why not give it a shot?

96

Single greatest FPS ever made

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Everything about this game is flawless, the atmosphere, the story, the graphics, just everything is perfect. This game surpasses its sequel in every conceivable way and is overall a much better game. If you have not played this game yet you are doing a serious disservice to yourself as a gamer

92

Storytelling at its finest !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

This game just oozes with atmosphere, it's brilliant. So is the storytelling. The graphics still hold up to this day and the sound is awesome. During the game you gain access to special powers and search for items, similar to RPGs. The powers are diverse and fun and switching between them keeps things fresh. The game manages to scare a few times in the beginning, but once you know what you're up against it pretty much stops being scary. Multiple endings give the game great replay value and it already is exceptionally long for a FPS. This should already be in everyone's collection.

93

One of the FPS

CJV | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Bioshock is a great FPS, in all regards. With a lengthy campaign (about 12 hours) and a great story, with great gameplay mechanics such as the plasmids, with a great setting and atmosphere, with memorable and charismatic such as the famous Big Daddies, it's hard not to recommend this game. Give it a try.

96

A must play

acard87 | Oct. 21, 2012 | See all acard87's reviews »

Bioshock is hands down one of the best games I've played in the last years, if not the best. It is a first person shooter with some elements mutuated from role playing games, such as the abilities to be improved as the game progresses, and from survival horrors, with dark settings.

The action takes place in the city of Rapture, a former utopian city built under the ocean by a visionary and turned into a dystopian nightmare over the years: you play as a man whose plane crashes in the middle of the sea, finds the entrance to Rapture and then has to find a way to escape from the city and from its horrors. As the game progresses the player can use not only ordinary weapons like pistols and shotguns, but also mutant powers like shooting fire or electricity from his hands, inheritance of the mad sience that brought Rapture from being a dream city to a nightmare.

The storyline is extremely beautiful and deep, touching subjects like philosophy and morality and presenting various plot turns without being predictable. I recommend this enriching experience to everyone, and I advice you to play Bioshock without rushing through it, discovering the secrets of Rapture and unfolding its story even beyond the main plot.

74

A great story that fumbles towards the end.

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 12, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

As a semi-spiritual sequel to System Shock 2, BioShock does try to continue some of the themes and gameplay elements of the previous game. But, in it's effort to appeal to a new, more action focused market, the game became very stream lined and lost a lot of the charm in translation.

The story starts awesome, but completely comes to a halt after a key sequence, only to be left kind of fumbling around for the rest of the game. With gameplay feeling like an odd mix or fun and "what?" Gunplay lacks punch and force, leaving most of the weapons feeling rather pathetic. And while the Adam feed player abilities are fun, there are only a few that are actually useful in large fights... leaving the majority of the others completely useless.

BioShock is a fun game, but an ungodly overrated and over hyped game that isn't as awesome as it's made out to be.

90

Breathtaking underwater experience

crazybear86 | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all crazybear86's reviews »

In Bioshock you descend to the underwater city rapture - back to the 1960s. The game is a kind of first person shooter with rpg elements like upgrades (tonics), spells (plasmids) and such. The story is very interesting and has some nice surprises and twists to offer. The graphics - although already 5 years old, are still quite good (beside some low res textures) and the sound - especially the voice acting is superb. It is only topped by the gorgeous atmosphere which totally let's you feel this underwater city. Therefore I can only say: Get into you diving suit and enjoy this great underwater adventure.

82

Good one but I was underwhelmed

schroff | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

I followed the development of this game from a long time because the studio billed this title as the spiritual successor of System Shock 2. With a pedigree like that, my expectations were quite high. It's set in the underwater city of "Rapture" as we all know now. It has great mechanics of powers where you have to harvest something called Adam from dead splicers and little girls (part of the ending!) and find out what are you doing in Rapture in the first place and finally find out your origins. The story is virtually identical with Shock 2 .. let's just say that there's a Polito is SHODAN moment here too. Only this time we have the moral thing about the girls and harvesting them for chemicals. Great game but if you have played System Shock 2, you will be underwhelmed.

96

A modern day gaming classic

Cooberstooge | Sept. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This is about the only game I can think of lately where the insane hype was totally deserved. BioShock is just that good - there's really no way to describe how immersive and mind-bogglingly impressive it is. The setting, sounds, and gameplay all tie together in what is probably one of my most loved titles.

The city of Rapture will pull you in, and the citizens will be more than happy to snuff you out. There's lots of dangers here, and many a time will you be on the edge of your seat, waiting to see what kind of crazy thing will attack you next. The minds that created this had to be a little unstable, one would think - everything fits so well, and will scare you out of your wits.

I found the weapon balancing to be pretty good, and simply avoided the one build which practically makes you indestructible. The weapons are all awesome and for the most part unique to this series. Some pack a hefty punch, while others will leave you whimpering in fear and wondering what idiot bothered to even make the blasted thing.

Graphically, the game blew me away upon release, and still does so today. The fact that BioShock has always played extremely smoothly is astounding, and truly attests to the amount of time poured into the game. I've never once come across any bugs, nor have I ever had it crash on me. This is one game where having an uber gaming machine will truly show you what it can do, but older setups will still see it happily plod along.

Definitely one to buy. You'll be amazed by just what a modern PC game can be, if only it has the best people behind it.

95

Something for gamers of all stripes

Lunk | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Bioshock is a tremendous game, with something to offer gamers on both ends of the "games as art" spectrum. For art school hipsters who won't play anything that's not "meaningful," Bioshock offers a serious rebuttal to popular philosophical beliefs, a weighty story, and engrossing atmosphere. And for the FPS crowd that just wants to kill stuff in new and varied ways, it offers... well, an FPS (with mild RPG elements) where you can kill stuff in new and varied ways. Apologies for the broad stereotypes in the preceding sentences, but I trust you get the idea.

A group of uber-wealthy individuals decided Ayn Rand was really onto something and set off to form their own underwater colony based on those principles, shut off from the rest of the world. What would happen if you fast-forwarded a few decades and viewed the result from the eyes of an outsider? That's the basic idea behind Bioshock. As I said above, the story is great (with the small caveat that it's at its best in the first half and loses steam after that), and the environments are fantastically realized.

From an action perspective, the game doesn't offer anything exceptionally new or different, but it's very competently executed. The weapon selection felt varied and well balanced; after I finished my playthrough I heard from numerous sources that there was a particularly overpowered combo that I missed, but even if that's so, at the very least every weapon seemed like a viable option depending on the situation.

This is a game that rewards thoroughness with additional backstory. All told, I got about 15-20 hours out of it. I have yet to feel like replaying it, but that's mostly because the one time I did play it really stuck with me. If you have yet to play Bioshock, I highly recommend picking it up. You're in for a treat.

91

Fantastic story and gameplay

panz3r88 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Bioshock is a fantastic FPS with a very interesting story and some original gameplay elements. During the game you will not use only conventional weapons, but you can find many powers called plasmid that gives you special powers that help you to defeat the enemies. An other interesting element of the gameplay is the camera, an object you can use to photograph an enemy and gain improvements and new abilities. There is a good variety of enemies with different abilieties. The Big Daddy are really tough enemies and you must prepare well for every fight against these enemies. Bioshock is an FPS with an amazing story and you will love many of the characters you'll encounter in the various levels

92

Beautiful game that stands the test of time

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

Bioshock is a brilliant game. If you've been living under a rock for the last 5 years and haven't heard about it then buy up and enjoy the splicing! Rich story and gameplay with your Good Guy and Bad Guy paths that lead to different endings. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 9/10 Multiplayer: Sadly no, however Bioshock 2 does.

BUY BUY BUY!

85

Blew My Mind

ROKET | July 28, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

When I first bought this game all I wanted to do was see it for myself. I wanted to see the insane water graphics and physics and want to see just how beautiful it was and I wasnt let down.

Gameplay-wise the game played well with great gunplay and gameplay mechanics that made for generally nice customization and very interesting characters to help immerse you even further.

The story for this game blew me away. It was moving and interesting all the way through. The atmosphere creeped me out and scared me much of the time. I had to look around every corner. There is no other game that made me scream NOOOOO like this game did.

Ive already mentioned how awesome the graphics were so Ill leave you at that. Highly recommended. See for yourself.

92

Rapture captures you, like it or not ...

kalil | July 3, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

I bought the game, install it: good graphics, good gameplay and good sound but it was still a shooter, a shooter rather strange desistalandolo finish and over time it came back to install, really could not tell why , something pushed me to try to understand it and soak it. I just started to catch, the game is great, the best I've played on PC, the story makes you so immerse yourself in the frame you want to know what will happen, because you are in that sunken city, forsaken God and only to danger. At first it gives you something to fear, but especially those accustomed to the genre and if you play at night with headphones and with the lights out, but at time t used to it. It is a game that you can not lose, the boys have 2K out of nothing an amazing story, fascinating, original and groundbreaking.

Do not know what else to say about this work of art, play it and will understand my words, do not fall into the mistake of judging before playing as happened to me.

NOT GODS OR KINGS ONLY MANS...

93

Simply brilliant

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. The story is immersive and has numerous twists and turns. The graphics and gameplay all exceptionally well done and really draw you into the story. This game rasises the bar for what a video game can be. A must have.

72

Not my cup of tea.

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Brink is a class-based first-person shooter that attempts to change the established formula of shooters by introducing class-specific objectives, vast character customization and a parkour-like maneuverability system. Nice CO-OP missions. The free play sucks, don't do that. The graphics aren't the best but Gameplay is ok, bit laggy, Missions are great, Weapons are good, except the shotguns. Not my cup of tea.

97

Nearly perfect!

Finka_Karfein | June 9, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

Oh my. I noticed the high scores on various websites but did not expect BioShock to be so great. The atmosphere of the underwater city and stylised architecture. Graphics are unspeakable, you have to see Rapture for yourself. Music? Only magnifies the climate of the game. The game is long if you intend to read diaries, a bit non-linear, offers fine action moments and one of the best plot twists ever in video games. BioShock was advertised as well as survival-horror, well it is not at all. Maybe for people who never played such games it will be scary a little but after playing the first Silent Hill there is nothing to be scared of. Still, one of the must-plays for all gamers, not only FPS players.

98

Atmosphere Without the Atmosphere

Endyo | June 4, 2012 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Seldom is there a game that can so thoroughly immerse the player into an environment that's both completely outlandish but stunningly believable and engrossing. Venturing into a realm that is not often explored both in fantasy or reality, the setting for Bioshock is one that inspires awe while simultaneously being infinitely unnerving.

I have to speak more about the atmosphere of this game. Taking place entirely in an underwater city, every turn features dank, dark, beautifully rendered areas that could do no more to make you feel as though you're trapped in an aging submerged structure than is presented. The enemies you face and the obstacles that must be overcome fit so seemlessly in to this that there's no way to deny that the people who put this together are at the pinnacle of their craft.

Aside from the aesthetics, this is a game and thus the gameplay must also be considered. Luckily, this aspect does not disappoint. Given that this game is a spiritual successor to System Shock 2, a classic RPG-shooter that has had few followers, it retains a lot of the qualities of using both weapons and various super-power-like abilities to dispatch your foes. As you progress, you'll get new weapons and abilities and make what you have more effective. Using these things with the various environmental tools you have at your disposal (such as sentry turrets), you can put together a fine assortment of enemy-destroying action.

Bioshock offers a solid single player experience featuring fairly dynamic combat, challenging enemies, a delightfully twisted story, and an extremely well designed environment. Put all of that together and you have a game no one should miss.

90

They just dont make FPS games like this anymore...

albeenox | May 18, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

Well, I mean yeah ok I guess they do... just not ENOUGH of them, and certainly not frequently enough...

This is exactly what a great game should be.

Atmospherically (something I value highly in a game), its pitch-perfect. Its gloomy, its scary, it has a sense of style that defines it and roots it in a consistent and believable "space", and everything is designed wonderfully to create a feast for your senses. This is backed up visually, by an impressive technically powerful side, as well as fantastic artistic design all the way through.

The game also strives to bring a bit more to the FPS genre, but throwing in customisation, and a bit of moral choice, and an intriguing story that fits in brilliantly with the gameplay and level design to create a rich, lived in and "full" world.

This really is the standard of what can be accomplished with a FPS game. Bioshock stands head and shoulders above most games of its type, and its easy to recommend it to anyone that loves games with a bit of depth, and a LOT of creativity.

79

Pure horror. Great!

RainbowBunchie | April 9, 2012 | See all RainbowBunchie's reviews »

So, you see, I watch many horror movies and I play violent games. But BioShock was intense. It scared the hell out of me, and it doesn't do that with simple monsters or lots of gore. BioShock does his job cleverly. While you explore Rapture, the underwater city BioShock takes place in, and while you gather items like chips, chocolate bars (to refill your health bar), wrenches, pistols and rifles (to fight the foes) and other useful gadgets you'll need on your travel, BioShock scares you not only with ugly, brutal and bizarre enemies, but with elements like light, sound and music. You'll soon experience yourself being afraid of every dropping sound, of every flickering light, of every spark coming from a defect lamp.

Even though the engine of BioShock might be rather old, the developers still created astonishing environments with diverse styles and hidden surprises to find which at the same time look very real and detailed.

The main gameplay part the player can control is the fights against the crazy and somehow undead foes of Rapture, and those are made in a really immerse manner. You have to control your primary weapon at the same time as your genetical powers you get through consuming "Adam". BioShock's shootouts aren't dull run-and-gun. If you don't trick your enemies cleverly, dodge their shots and aim fast and good, you soon will be the same as everything in Rapture is.

Undead. Trapped. Damned.

100

One of the Best Games Ever

DrHouse | April 8, 2012 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

I don't give 100 scores to games very often, but Bioshoc certainly deserves it. It's polished, it has a great plot, and certainly it has great gameplay. It's just perfect from start to end. There are no boring moments, because all is pure action in this game. Ge get lots of cool weapons and plasmids, and any of those can be upgraded though the game, but unlike other games you just can't upgrade all you weapons in the secods level, so you have to actually manage well your upgrades. It's not easy, but neither it's hard. It's balanced as any other game. And all that gets even better when you see the plot, and how it's developed though the game. And what an ending. Lovely.

100

[FR] Ode au FPS

SomeRandomBaron | March 4, 2012 | See all SomeRandomBaron's reviews »

Ya des jeux comme ça qui vous font bouger un genre : Bioshock en est de cela. Se parant d'une ambiance inégalée par son contexte et son design, d'un scénario bien présent, d'un gameplay efficace et grisant, ainsi qu'un amusement garanti, Bioshock est un jeu culte qui ne viellira jamais, alors qu'un COD s'oublie dès que le suivant est gold. Une pépite dont on a peur qu'elle soit l'une des dernières.

95

Out of the box

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 23, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Bioshock is not what I expected it to be. It features an amazing storyline and it lasts about 20 hours. Graphicaly amazing and not heavy, fluids and physics are good looking also the narration and such are very well done making you feel even more immersed in the underwater city of Rapture. You will it have to take advantage of your powers and weapons in order to outsmart your enemies. The soundtrack is immersive, it has the quality of a movie to say so.

There isn't much else to say about it, it's a great, unique and fun game wich you can't miss out.

85

This game actually scared me!

Seren666 | Nov. 14, 2011 | See all Seren666's reviews »

I've played many horror games and none had actually scared me before. Bioshock changed that for me, I found it hard to keep playing at night simply because it was too scary. This was quite some time ago though, but still those radio messages were really creepy... The underwater city of Rapture was amazing and the story was well written, this game was one of my favourites, despite scaring me to death!

90

Masterful

yamajin82 | Oct. 26, 2011 | See all yamajin82's reviews »

There are few games that take such great care with the storytelling, art style, ambience, and overall design. There is great attention to detail in this game and it all combines to make a believable and highly entertaining experience. Right from the start you are pulled into the world and the game keeps you right there until the end. This is not your average shooter, there is much more depth, character, and thought put into it. The weapons are all pretty cool, but the game really shines in the abilities that you gain along the way, which are used to overcome greater and greater challenges. Certainly this is not the first game to give you special abilities outside of the guns you carry. Nor is it the first to add RPG elements to a FPS, it simply does it better than any other game. If you enjoy a good story with solid gameplay that is completely unique then do yourself a favor and pick up Bioshock!

85

A Man Choose. A Slave Obeys

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

Bioshock is a great single-player experience, offering unique gameplay through the use of plasmids and a strong storyline full of memorable moments. The main story is compelling on it's own, but coupled with the finding of casette tapes you unlock more of the mysteries and gain a better understanding of others and yourself in the process.

The gunplay is everything you would expect from an FPS but combined with the use of plasmids it really feels like you are playing something special. The only downside is that you can't use your gun and plasmids at the same time, something which was rectified in the sequel.

My only other gripe with the game is the fact that you spend the game in a vast, atlantis style city but you never really feel the thread of the sea around you. Everything takes place indoors and you might as well forget the fact that you are even underwater. The rest of the game plays like a charm. Enemies can be cunning and challenging and you will be wanting to keep a close eye on your ammo. Characters are often memorable with their mannerisms and dialogue.

So, would you kindly, please purchase this gem of a game.

95

Another FPS with RPG elements (it's good, though)

sudoscientist | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all sudoscientist's reviews »

It's similar to Borderlands in a way - an FPS with a lot of RPG elements melded in. It does it very differently though. Graphically, the game is gorgeous, and has some of the best environments, settings, and level design I've ever seen. The story is superb and is one that actually makes you stop and think. It's one of the few (if not the only) game where my choices and actions actually made me legitimately pause to think and ponder whether I was doing something wrong - not within the confines of the game's gameplay or story, but from an ethical or moral standpoint. If you still haven't played it, do so as soon as possible.

80

It's not system shock, but it'll do

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

The original System Shock, and even more so it's sequel were true masterpieces that merged RPG's and FPS's together, not to mention having all the atmosphere of a good survival horror game. You can't blame 2K for wanting to cash in on that legacy.

Bioshock is a spiritual successor to System Shock in that it is basically trying to be the same game, but with biological modification instead of technological augmentation. They also replaced the Insane AI Shodan with the big players in Rapture, Atlus and Andrew Ryan.

To start with the good, Bioshock has excellent atmosphere and design in pretty much all areas. The setting of Rapture, the wannabe utopia under the sea was expertly realized in every way and is rich with good design and back story. The Big Daddies were also an excellent addition to the game, and added a little extra on top of the excellent setting.

The down side to this new game was that it disregarded one of the most important part to atmosphere building in System Shock, the screaming Psychic Monkeys. Also there was the extreme feeling of isolation you had in System Shock. You truly felt like the only person left alive on the ship and that there was nobody else there except for the odd monster. Bioshock chose to ignore this design by filling Rapture to the brim with splicers. Splicers were everywhere and as a result they were expected to be around the next corner, so it was never a surprise when there were and it wasn't very foreboding. Even worse was that it would spawn them behind you, even if you were in a room with only one way in and you were facing it.

Another problem it had was it's "moral choice" idea it had with the little sisters. It basically came down to are you a goody two-shoes save all the things guy or are you a horrible baby eating monster with no soul. There was no in between ground.

With all the deep philosophical discussion that goes on through out the game and the generally excellent atmosphere these problems can easily be overlooked, and an excellent game can be found and enjoyed.

96

A First-Person Shooter Beyond Expectations

TheTHing2010 | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all TheTHing2010's reviews »

Bioshock is more than just a first-person shooter/role-playing videogame--it's an incredible, indelible experience.

You play as an individual who discovers this massive underwater utopia. As you explore, you will find repercussions after a New Year's party went rampant and will learn the history through audio diaries hidden around the whole place.

The graphics are beautiful, polished and incredible especially when performed with a DirectX 10 graphics card. The atmosphere of this game is phenomenal and very creepy at times. The dialog and writing to this game is brilliant and it immerses you into the story.

One of the best shooters I have ever played.

95

Art

fireburt | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all fireburt's reviews »

Bioshock was one of the best gaming experiences I have ever had. It ranks up there with Ocarina of Time and Half Life 2. The game succeeds due to its presentation. To date, no game I have played has surpassed the atmosphere I experienced in the world of Rapture. The art in the game is phenomenal and I often found myself simply sitting still and soaking it all up. The story is exciting and intriguing and experimenting with plasmids is great. At $14.99, Bioshock is a steal.

80

More than just a shooter

peldik | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all peldik's reviews »

A mix of shooter, RPG and horror game. Great atmosphere with retro alternative reality underwater world. The story is thrilling, but with too many twists. The rooms are mostly empty, filled with occasional enemies, but you never meet neutral/positive characters (only in cutscenes). Would have been great to interact with neutral/positive characters, but I guess they wanted to make it more like a shooter/horror game than RPG. There are no "magic spells" like in every other game, but instead there are gene modifying plasmids super powers, that sound a little more plausible/realistic.

87

Unofficial Sequal to System Shock 2

NoLove3827 | Aug. 3, 2011 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

Bioshock is the unofficial sequal to System Shock 2, while it may be not as good as SS2, its a good game, great if you don't compare it to SS2.
Great graphics for 2007, Optimized very well, which means that most PC's should be able to play it with all the settings up to the highest, good gameplay (RPG-ish FPS) Overall a pretty good game, Definantly worth the price.

90

Good Quality Shooter

SpotsMcDots | July 31, 2011 | See all SpotsMcDots's reviews »

Bioshock is a great shooter and very focused on its story. It helps create an immersive gameplay experience, however some gamers may view this as a flaw. Someone should not buy this game expecting a well crafted shooter from a mechanic standpoint. This isn't Unreal Tournament. This isn't a game to buy if you are expecting to kill something every five seconds.

90

World of Rapture

B1000 | July 30, 2011 | See all B1000's reviews »

This is a game with a great atmosphere and game design. Everything works hand in hand to create the world of 'Rapture'.

The interesting plot twists and use of specific bosses make the game not just a simple shooter. In fact, the game encourages you to set up traps, plan attacks and sneak up on enemies. You can really choose the way you go about each level, which leaves room for your own exploration.

There's a good 8-10 hours of gameplay in BioShock. Worth it's price.

80

The best

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Bioshock is one of those games that stay in your mind forever. It makes you think and wonder. Who? Why? Where? When? These are the questions that will reappear in your quest for answers when you play. The lore in the game is one of the best. It makes it worthwhile to keep playing. And when it ends, you'll want more. Visuals are nice, very nice. On very high settings, they create a world as nice as any other games like Crysis. Gameplay is not ridden with bugs and glitches. It is smooth and exciting. Shooting has never been better. Although at times, it is annoying to use only one hand. Difficulty can be easily adjusted, thus making it open to hardcore and casual fans alike. The level design is just amazing, you can follow it,explore, etc. Worth buying if you want a classic.

93

Incredible!

Babelfish343 | June 27, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

This game has one of the greatest atmospheres created. The story of the city of Rapture is enthralling, and it is one of the best thriller/shooter games around. The graphics are amazing and help to create the believable world that you play in. Sound design is also quite incredible, and the gameplay is unexected, with the addition of Plasmids (superpowers :P) to stop this game being just another generic shooter. Bioshock raises moral questions in your mind as you play, and you are really captivated. Great game, a must buy!

90

One of the best games ever!

thomasgjj | June 25, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

Bioshock was one of the best PC games I have ever played. The story was gripping from the start of the game and the plot development was amazing.

The way the modern is combined with retro is very good and funny at the same time. The combat was good and the harvest or save scenario was interesting.

This game is defiantly worth getting and I would recommend it to anyone!

95

On of the most atmospheric game

FreeMan85 | May 27, 2011 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

BioShock is simply the best FPS of... maybe the decade. OK, the graphics maybe not beats Crysis or not that complex like thw Witcher or... But the game's feeling and style are simply unmatched! You feel like you in the '50s. The songs, the art deco design, the posters, the ads... the whole art design is perfect. Of course the story is great too, gives you a few twists and suprises. Graphics it's nice, even if runs with Unreal 2.5 - and not Unreal3, like many people think, me to. And the score of Garry Schymann is simply amazing, t's sad, but give the perfect tone for every moment. And the voice actors give an outstanding performance, cause the most of the time you dn't see the characters just their picture at the radio. Star Trek fans may recognize Armin Shimerman (Quark) as Andrew Ryan.

If you want a emmorable and higly replayable game buy his one. Play it anytime it will turn you off a few hours.

90

Simply great

Harjyot | May 27, 2011 | See all Harjyot's reviews »

Bioshock is a great and unique FPS title with a strong story and narrative. It is refreshing to see a single-player oriented shooter in this day and age. The visuals are solid and the game is very atmospheric as well. The gameplay is varied, and the game is fairly lengthy. Ultimately, a great value for the money, as it's an amazing experience worth playing at least once.

93

One of the best pc games of all time

drakaenae | May 26, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

Bioshock is one of the best games I have ever played. The game is short (10-20 hours). The atmosphere is great and the plot is compelling and full of twists. You can set the difficulty of the game so it wouldn't be too hard for beginners or too easy of experts of fps games. Unlike some fps games (e.g. Half life) I never got lost in the game since is a map that I can follow.

Overall, this game is great. The only thing missing from this game is a multiplayer component.

100

Atmosphere you can slice with a slicer

MisterSlimm | May 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

When reviewers talk about atmosphere in a game, this is what they are talking about (see also the Half-Life series). This is the best-looking non-Epic Unreal Engine game; it shows that it isn't the engine's fault that so many games built in it look kinda ugly but that the developers are not getting the best out of it. However, Bioshock isn't quite perfect. The main problem is the staggering gameplay decision that pulling your Plasmid or Weapon trigger does not always fire it; you have to press it twice if switching from one to the other or you have to press a button then the trigger. Every other problem is rather minor (the Big Daddy boots make a quickly tiresome noise) and are more than compensated for by the incredible production design, wonderful sound, interesting gameplay and surprisingly well-told story (there are almost no cut-scenes) with a reveal in the second-act climax that will really tickle the grey cells especially if someone reminds you what Vita-Chambers do.

This game contains sexual swear words and substance abuse (plasmids) and extended extremely unpleasant and extremely gory scenes, extended extreme and gory gun violence, extended extreme and gory melee violence, extended graphic fantasy violence.

95

Excellent game, with the most unique storyline packed in!

Ichiro | May 10, 2011 | See all Ichiro's reviews »

Definitely worth what you pay for. The completely unique storyline really compliments the game, and once you're done with it, you want to play it again, JUST for the dialogue. Which most games aren't able to do.

The storyline is very deep. The time it's based on also compliments it, and the wacky atmosphere makes it even more interesting to play.

Although this game lacks replayability (since the second one's out already, and nothing "rolls over" to the next playthrough), the storyline is still worth all that you pay for. All those rumours you heard from everybody about this game being one of the best of all time are all true. Definitely one of the best franchises ever developed.

Buy it, you won't regret it at all.

90

Fps & rpg thrown into shaker

nurz | May 5, 2011 | See all nurz's reviews »

Take rapid action from shooters and epic story from rpg's, mix it with tactical flavour of plasmids using and you will get Bioshock, one of the most remarkable games in recent times. Events which took place in this immense, underwater setting will stay in your memory for long. Bioshock was worth buying at full price, now it's all the more no-brainer.

90

The masterpiece of modern FPS

ZippaLip | May 4, 2011 | See all ZippaLip's reviews »

What can I say more about Bioshock? Is recognized as one of the best FPS released in the recent years, a period whit many shooter but whit few games that emerge from the mass.

The peculiarity of Bioshock is the deep story and the atmosphere, set in a detailed underwater city whit its peculiar locations. The player live the story trough the exploration and the quests given by a mysterious man, is full of choices and suprises, cut scene and thrilling moments. An important thing to say is that the levels are very well designed from the first to the last: you can visit a medical center, a tram station, a casinò and so on. The game took 15-20 hours so it last longer than the average in single player (there's no multiplayer mode).

The graphic is amazing, using the powerful Unreal Engine 3, especially good in the water, light, fire and electrify effects. The gameplay is similar to the classic shooters except for the saving (or killing) of little girls guarded by the big daddies for rewards (the famous enemy used in the cover of the game) and the use of a special psychic powers like a secondary weapons that effect the enemies (freeze, stun of burn them for example). So there's an interaction in that elements and the player have many strategies to confront the enemies (use weapons, powers, use the object in the map for example oil, barrels, water....). There's also weapons, ammo and skills mods, and hacker puzzles: few elements of RPG games (but the game is a FPS don't forget it!).

What can I say more about Bioshock? Let you be enchanted by the atmosphere of the city of Rapture!

96

The best Shock since the System

Jahman | May 4, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

Bioshock is THE FPS that made me believe in the genre again. I still believe that System Shock 2 is one of the greatest first-person perspective games ever and Bioshock started as it’s “spiritual successor”. And what can I say? It pretty much succeeded.

First of all, Bioshock takes place in an underwater city of Rapture, a would-be utopia created by a visionary Andrew Ryan. What that means to the player is that the levels will consist mostly of rather concise rooms with similar, dark and murky designs. While this does get a somewhat tiring and a little bit repetitive, the overall design and great graphics are still more than enough make the exploration enjoyable. The enemies are a similar case. There’s not much variety in both models and types, but their AI, ability to jump out of nowhere and the overall combat mechanics more than make up for that flaw. As for the combat itself, Bioshock is one of the dying breed of FPS that still embrace non-renewable health and medkits. This is also the case with EVE (“plasmid ammunition”) so the player doesn’t really have a chance to fell too over powered. The plasmids themselves fulfill the role of “spells”, they give active supernatural abilities (from lightning bolts to summoning swarms of bees) or passive bonuses, provide a decent amount of variety and greatly supplement the standard weapons found in game. All in all, the combat is very enjoyable and very much unlike the typical grey-brown, army shooter.

The story told throughout the game is well-paced, immersive and has one of the best plot twists I have seen in games. Ever. Seriously, if there ever was the reason to play Bioshock – it’s for the plot twist. Of course, I won’t spoil it, but believe me, it’s worth it. Apart from the radio transmissions and meetings with plot characters, the Rapture history is also presented in form of pre-recorded messages and diaries scattered around the city. This, like it did in System Shock 2, proves to be a very good method of providing real depth (pun indented) to the game’s world while at the same time avoiding “force feeding” the player with it.

Aside from the combat and the story, the game offers some mini-games (hacking cameras, vending machines and turrets), an interesting method of gaining advantage over enemies (via photographs) and a distinctive and somewhat controversial method of acquiring currency used for buying aforementioned plasmids.

To put it short, if you enjoy First Person Shooters Bioshock is pretty much a must-buy. If not for the great story or awesome atmosphere then for the plasmid-enchanced carnage. Either way, go for it.