Reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

90

The Great Vice City

NoelKreiss13 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all NoelKreiss13's reviews »

Rockstar has always been a reference in the game industry, in this case, GTA is one of the most famous sagas, and every game is excellent on its own way, Vice city is already a bit old but it's so fun and great as the newest GTA V, crime, money, drugs, all what you can expect and more, along with a fantastic story!

98

Masterpiece

desperado28 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all desperado28's reviews »

It's been awhile since i played this gem, but this game holds a really special place in my heart.. Is it for the awesome 80's music or because of that atmosphere that i'll never forget, i don't really know. All i know is that this game is timeless. Vice city was a proper upgrade in term of technology and limits on it's engine than his predecessor. Gameplay stayed the same but general weaponry has been improved quite a bit, note that now you got chainsaw. What's not to like? But only when you get in the car and tune up the radio, then you realize that you are playing the best GTA that was ever created. A truly masterpiece on many levels that is a must play for any gamer.

100

One of the classics in the action and Grand Theft auto series

hateah | July 29, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That's the oldest game in the Theft auto series. I played it when it came out and i had so much fun with it! Especially with the codes i used which i still remember some of them,heh, you can choose to play the game as sandbox - open world,or follow the main story and the quests. I have finished the game and trust me it's worth it following the main story. You can drive a boat, you can kill people, you can make the police to chase you, make stunts, you can use bazooka, and just do whatever it comes out to your mind. The graphics are good for such a game, the characters are well drown, the car movement is very good, I liked it, it's not a wooden controlling of the car where you can often see in such a games.

100

fun game

AceKaiser | June 9, 2014 | See all AceKaiser's reviews »

This was my first grand theft auto I ever played. I remember playing this when i was in the seventh grade and I knew I wanted it. I never could afford consoles so I waited and saved up money for a laptop and I finally got this game with GTA 4 and 3 in a collection. I ignored the other two games and played vice city for a long time. I recommend this game to anyone who loves open world games. 10/10

95

A timeless classic

9insane9 | April 10, 2014 | See all 9insane9's reviews »

In my eyes, this is the best GTA.

It's an incredibly well-made game with an authentic feeling 80s atmosphere. There's a lot of attention to detail, especially for a game of it's time. There's so many references to things from the 80s: the TV shows, brands, music. Music is probably one of the best parts of this game, I mean, the radio stations are truly amazing and I do mean each and every one of them.

What initially surprised me (on the first playthrough) was how engaging the story was. I was blown away, truly! This is probably why the game has as much replay value as it does. After having recently finished the game for the 6th time, I can say that I'm definitely going to come back to it again. All in all, great game. If you haven't for some reason picked it up yet, I highly recommend it.

This game is a blast.

100

The Supreme Game

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I will begin by saying that I have played all of the 3D GTA games and I loved them all, but this one surely was my favorite and I finished it about 5 times without feeling bored once.

This game is 12 years old, yes, that's over a decade, but the experience is still epic and everything about this game is spectacular.

I absolutely love the missions, ALL of them and the city feels exactly like Miami in the 80s. And there are so many thing to do out there, it's a true open-world game.

Oh, and I had almost forgotten. The radio, no GTA to date has managed to beat it, I for one would spend hours in the car, listening to the great radio shows and music that are better than the ones broadcast by real-life radio.

This game is a must have and my favorite game of all-time.

100

a pure classic

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

probably one of the most enjoyable GTA games i have ever played. i still have the original disks that i jacked from my brother back in the day. it was also one of the only games i had for the pc for the longest time growing up so i have played this A LOT. the graphics were great for its time ad even today some of the player models and even the cut-scenes are great. the controls are a little weird for me still and i found it better to use an external program to bind my controller.

the game is small and boots fast, which is nice for under powered PC's. i remember playing this on a laptop over 10 years ago (which was a feat in itself).

overall i love this game, the missions are diverse an actually hard, but at the same time you can lose yourself for hours just driving around causing chaos.

84

A significant improvement over GTA III

Gmen | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

I still regard GTA San Andreas as being the best out of the "trilogy", but Vice City was definitely a step in the right direction, and certainly one of the better entries in the series to date.

First off, you can aim down the sights with weapons (while still in third-person mode), increasing accuracy and making combat somewhat easier. The minigun can be fired in first-person. Some guns like the assault rifle also have a more realistic rate of fire, which means you aren't instantly killed when a National Guard trooper opens fire on you. You also have the ability to ride bikes and fly helicopters (something which was missing from GTA III) – although you seemingly still can’t fly airplanes – or at least not for very long, which is a let down. And although it wasn’t particularly apparent, your skills with various weapons and tools, as well as abilities improved over time. You can also buy properties across the city that act as safehouses, and on top of that you can generate extra income and unlock side missions by buying businesses.

One of the biggest highlights of the game is no doubt the soundtrack. You could tune in to V-Rock on the in-game radio and listen to all the hits of the 1980's. That and chuck in the usual guest stars like Ray Liotta, who voices Tommy Vercetti, who all provide some of the most excellent dialogue in any game, and you have a fun romp that should be a pleasure to play again and again.

89

Bigger and better

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

This game was badass in 2003. Not as groundbreaking as GTA 3, but definitly more refined and fun to play. Rockstar almost seemed to master the 3d Renderware engine.

All in all better graphics, better soundtrack, more missions, more guns, more vehicles including an airplane, bikes and helicopters, better story and a much more lively world. Bigger, better bolder. In 2003 i would rate this game a 9.7

I recently played a playthrough and it aged pretty well, if you can look through the outdated graphics and get used to the fact that Rockstar isn't good at porting games to pc. It's still a blast. The shady 1980's of Miami still come alive. Especially the soundtrack and missions get the nostalgia flowing. In 2013 I rate it an 8.1

90

Definitive GTA Game

phool | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Personally I consider this game the pinnacle of the GTA series to date (pending the release of GTA V on the PC). Taking the GTA universe back in time to the 80s, the games soundtrack shines as you cruise down the streets of Vice City leaving a trail of mayhem and destruction in your wake.

Vice City has all the trademarks of a 3D GTA game: a large, expansive open world to explore to your hearts content, numerous vehicles to commandeer to traverse the world and a large array of weapons to unleash havoc on unsuspecting citizens.

The actual story is quite engaging and possibly the best of the series and takes you on a roller coaster ride as you set out to establish your criminal empire. The trademark Rockstar humour is present in abundance and the player is rewarded with all manner of easter eggs and minute details when exploring every nook and cranny of the game world.

All in all, Vice City comes highly recommended as a modern classic.

85

The 80s are coming

Thoosa | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

A great tribute to everything from the 80s. Of course, the graphics are really really old nowadays, but it is just really fun to play. It is violent, with a good story, like from an 80s movie and references to the film industry, which i will not spoil, you have to see them on your own. I have had fun playing this game, but I felt like it kind of lacked something and a few things were irritating (like the fact you can not swim, it was just terrible). But anyway, a great game and the few glitches were fixed in the follow up on this game.

98

More colourful and atmospheric

darkyhbk | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

After a superb GTA III, Rockstar changed the setting and the timeline a bit and managed to deliver an even better experience. Which was quite something, considering GTA III's utter brilliance. Vice City is more colourful, and has a much more relaxed atmosphere than the sobriety from III. The palette is wonderfully chosen, and Vice City, recreated after an 80's Miami, with its colourful lights, expensive yachts and sportcars, looks absolutely fantastic. Also, the soundtrack is even better, with 70s pop songs, 80s heavy metal, reggae and a very amusing chat station. The voice acting is much better than in III, the main character has a voice actor now, and all characters are much better written and the cutscenes are more amusing. The story is a mix between Miami Vice, Scarface and Carlito's Way, and it is much more enjoyable than the previous one. Although the city is considerably smaller, there are more activities to do, and the space seems much better used than in III. You can buy different properties, such as an ice-cream factory, or a taxi HQ, The missions are much more diverse, and feel better designed than the previous ones. All in all, it's a better game in almost every aspect, and one certain to entertain everybody.

86

Classic

Niklasva | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Niklasva's reviews »

While the graphics might not have aged well, all other parts of the game hold up with a story that's beautifully written and a soundtrack that is second to none. A must have game for people even remotely interested in 1980's culture.

90

My favorite GTA Series

y1985 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

One of the classic game with good story line, good music, satisfication gameplay. This game will brings you to Miami and play as a badass roles of the game. Simply buy it, you gonna love it.

86

Definetely a favorite

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

Vice City is perhaps one of my favorite GTA's out there. The missions are fun, and there are so many options for you to do outside of missions. I can spend hours stealing cars and just cruising the beautiful city Rockstar has created, and it doesn't hurt that it has probably the best soundtrack of any of the GTA's. It's not overly complicated either, you don't have to watch your weight such as in San Andreas. The game is old, so the graphics seem a little dated, it would be nice if they would redo it but more importantly it's still a solid game.

90

Great!

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

This game has a really great vibe to it. I loved the music in it and the tropical feel. The game also has a really great story! This game is a classic

94

Unlimited possibilities

grzegorz2047 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

Opportunities available in the game are virtually unlimited, and most missions you can go in several ways. However, when the player has free time, can explore the city by boat to swim in the waters, or even shoot at the shooting range. Many different bonuses can be obtained by collecting hidden packages scattered throughout the city, on the roofs of buildings, under bridges, etc. Some buildings can buy a player to then be able to keep them your status games and receive a fee for their protection.

98

Classic at it's finest.

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

This is one of the best PC games i have ever played. Soundtracks, atmosphere, gameplay and even graphics - every single part of this production is simply awesome. If you want to start your adventure with GTA Franchise then this one should be your first. For this price it would be just dickish to not buy it - You will love this game, I promise.

100

much cooler than miami vice

Grobel | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Grobel's reviews »

So far, the best part of the series! Climate straight from the 80's movie, full of twisted storyline missions. Great sunrises and sunsets that can be enjoyed from a boat while listening to music on the radio. Music deserves a separate paragraph - is a combination of the biggest hits of pop and rock music. These hits are known to know all of us. DJ Fernando Martinez signing off!

100

The best GTA

Piospi | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Piospi's reviews »

Amazing graphics, beautifully written story. This is a must have game - for those who love the classic mafia wars, the music, the ladies, the buildings of the 1980's!

94

Classic GTA.

MichalM | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

What can I say, It's just the best Grand Theft Auto game I've ever played in my gaming life. With the music, storyline, characters, voice-acting, cutscenes, sandboxie city it beats every other GTA game and actually any other sandbox game created. GTA VC takes us to Vice City, which actually is 1980's Miami. At that time drug bussiness is bigger than ever. I won't spoiler the whole story but If you haven't played it yet, I think it's time to beat it now, for that price? Come on, who wouldn't buy it. It's bargain and crime to not buy it and complete it :D

95

The Great GTA

iamkyo90 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

One of the best PC games I have played. The soundtrack is exquisite, the best. Only the Scarface game has such great soundtrack. Currently there are many graphics mods to enjoy more of this gem. Buy mandatory.

90

Even better than GTA3

lok0812 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you played GTA3 you will noticed that this game will be bigger than GTA3 in terms of the world and it can probably match GTA4. Similar to other GTA in the series, you undertake missions as the story of the game unfolds and there are tons of activities and side missions for the players to enjoy to get away from the main quest line. While the graphic will of course will be outdated, the game still remains to be one of the best GTA in the series. If you haven't had a chance to try this then definitely get it.

87

Vintage

takuto06 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all takuto06's reviews »

Comparing to today's standard, graphics of this game is pretty low but with game play, it's pretty high. It's a classic in more ways than one, the atmosphere of the 80's, witty dialogues along with great music. One will not really play this for the story but rather how fun it is playing it. The clubs in-game are really funny too. Just love those dance moves. Weird yet makes you laugh.

Hope that one day, Rockstar will make a similar one to this game.

85

Simply put, one of the best games of the franchise!

FhexSans | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

(Then again they're all absolutely fantastic but...)

I could go on and on about Vice City, but to summarize it: the atmosphere is phenomenal, the story is great, and the soundtrack is just absolutely amazing if you like music from the 80s. Additionally, the character progression is quite spectacular as you start as a foot soldier and end up controlling your own criminal empire! The characters, too, are memorable and lovable (well, if druglord psychopaths, porn directors, and henchmen with abandonment issues are what you'd consider lovable) The gameplay shows its obvious age, but it still hasn't aged so much that it is overly cumbersome. All in all, just a great open world game and a purchase you'd likely not regret, especially if you're a fan of GTA.

95

A Classic

Pro_Fish | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

This 80s themed romp through the fictional Miami of Vice City is one of the best games of the past decade. Filled with colorful characters and a somewhat enjoyable plot, this game is a fantastic buy, so long as you can get by the dated graphics.

86

Amazing!

grzegorz2047 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

Vice City is a total of one of the few games that has changed me as well. Thanks to it I discovered a love for 80s It took the same journey a beautiful coastal city street where the sidewalks swarmed palm trees, and virtual girls dressed by the developers in the same bikini ran the rink. Not only that, watching the area could listen to the sounds of Mr. Broken Wings team. Mister, if (I Just) Died In Your Arms Cutting Crew. The radio station "Emotion 98.3" has always served the best note!

90

So 80s!

mahon | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

I don't know any other game that invokes the spirit of the 80s in such a vivid and strong way as Grand Theft Auto: Vice City. It is a very good sandbox game, with strong and memorable characters and good plot, but what makes it special is the setting in which we play. It's such a lively picture of the 80s, that the Miami Vice series is an obviously coming to our minds when playing it. Even though there were other GTA games released after this one, it still remains special with its great atmosphere and excellent soundtrack.

96

My favourite GTA Game of all time

momoster69 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

What can I say, Lovely atmosphere, Great missions, Wonderful music, A game that will keep you entertained even after completing the Story missions. Its fun and great, recommend this game to have people check out

100

Perhaps the best GTA ever!

GoldenSaint | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all GoldenSaint's reviews »

This game came out awhile ago but it has something that many games don't and thats immersion and a great atmosphere. The music in this is phenomenal, and is really relaxing to just drive around between missions. The story in this game is great and is well acted and voiced by some professional voice actors.

Id recommend this game to anyone who likes sandbox games and mafia style games.

89

One of my favourite!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

his is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAs to come, like the ability to buy businesses and strip-clubs, and other types of properties such as garages for stolen vehicles, among other things. The game's story and characters weren't especially memorable, and definitely weren't as good as what you'll find in newer GTAs, but they were definitely acceptable quality.

A more relevant attraction to Vice City, for me though, was the terrific variety of radio stations in the game, and the hilarious nature of the game's social commentary. Rockstar did a terrific job of making the game entertaining to both thoughtful individuals, as well as people who just want some short-term fun going nuts and blowing things up, and the diversity and size of the audience they have attracted to the Grand Theft Auto series is a testament to that fact.

I highly recommend this game! Granted, the graphics are dated, but if you can look past the graphical flaws, you'll find a gem here. If you can't look past the graphics, give some of the newer GTA games a try. They're all wonderfully enjoyable.

92

Great improvement and a cult sandbox game

spycid | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If there is any sandbox game which has set a benchmark in gaming industry, then that game is GTA Vice City. You can't call yourself a gamer if you haven't played this game yet. Arguably one of the most popular game of all time. This is the sandbox that everybody has played at least once in their lifetime. Get this already if you haven't bought it yet.

97

Contendor for my favorite GTA game

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Vice City got me into 80's. It propelled me to be interested in 80's pop culture. With an amazing protagonist in Tommy Vercetti, the best radio in GTA history, and a beautiful city filled beautiful characters and cars, Vice City is easily one of my favorite games of all time. I used to play this all the time, even after I beat the main story. It's hard for me to choose, but I'd honestly say Vice City, San Andreas, and GTA IV are all tied for the best GTA games of all time. Just thinking about the streets of Vice City make me happy. In my mind I can run through the backstreets, and each and every corner of the city. The only downside on the PC is that when you're in a car you can't use your mouse to move the camera.

I LOVE THIS GAME.