Reviews for Manhunt

90

Dark and Impressive

kyller92 | Feb. 9, 2014 | See all kyller92's reviews »

This game is indeed violent and gory with a dark ambience, an intriguing story (but sadly not enough developed). It's a stealth action game (sometimes, it's even looks like a survival horror) where you have to kill your enemies with every item you can find : Glass, Crowbars, Bats, even plastic bags. If the execution is violent, you get more points.

The controls are correct, but the most important is probably the sound which helps you to immerse yourself in this dark world. The game is really great, fun, and gory.

Last thing : A patch is needed to play on Windows Vista, 7 or 8. But it's easy to find it.

If you like this type of game, give it a try, you will not regret it.

62

Decent Snuff Action Game from the makers of The Grand Theft Auto

homes223 | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all homes223's reviews »

Manhunt is a game that helps you relieve stress by bashing your enemy's heads in with assortments of weapons and death scenes. While it may decrease some stress it usually adds more stress and frustration to the player rather than help calm them. This happened to me a lot when playing against the A.I. who had guns. If you can get past the fact of dumb A.I. and frustrating sequences then you will find a solid game that is a clash between Splinter Cell, GTA, and a snuff film. ManHunt really capitalizes on the snuff and dirty scenes that make the death scenes feel authentic and original. You get a lot of weapons such as bats, poles, and a few different guns at the end, which are a lot of fun to execute bad guys with. The gameplay and graphics overall are what you would expect from a game from the guys who made GTA but the hard parts and horrible A.I. somewhat ruin a game that could have been much more.

83

Stealth and gore

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

There are lots of videogames that use extreme graphic violence, but `Manhunt really is pretty much built up around it. You play as a convict put in an unusual situation: you have to hunt down other convicts while the antagonist records it. Basically you sneak around and execute loads of people from the shadows, which then are graded by the level of violence you used. But before we write Manhunt off as just a gore filled slash fiction we have to mention that it also includes solid stealth gameplay, great level and opponent design and a surprisingly good story. I could compare it to a high-end graphics (of its time) version of Hotline Miami with the game taking itself a bit more serious. I would recommend the game to anyone hungry for a stealth-driven game and not grossed out easily.

70

Manhunt Review

Darkpeing | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all Darkpeing's reviews »

One of the sickest games I've ever played. Despite having to troubleshoot it to get it working on Steam (you need to download some patches and apps) it delivers a good experience. What's preventing me from giving a higher score is probably the monotonous gameplay that begins when you first acquire a shooting weapon. The game goes downhill after that, becoming a shootfest when it could have included more hand weapons and more executions to marvel at.

85

Kinda like a really messed up version of Splinter Cell.

FLD | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

This game is seriously messed up. You stab, choke and murder people in all kinds of way. If you're easily shocked or offended, you might want to steer clear of this one. But otherwise, this game is a really solid stealth action title. If you don't mind the depravity there's some really good gameplay to be found here. Just keep in mind it's not for the faint of heart.

86

One of the most violent of all time

lok0812 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game is by far one of the most violent game of the gaming market. At first, you might think this will just be another action games with tons of gory effect but this is actually a stealth game like many other out there in the market and the gory is just something that make you feel accomplished. One great aspect of the game is that the game will become harder with its stealth mechanic so you won't feel like you can do the same thing from beginning to finish with your stealth techniques. The sound is supremely superb giving you an epic feeling but one downside is that the story is below average. Definitely give this a try and you will not disappoint.

91

Bloody brilliant

Vunk | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Vunk's reviews »

You are a convict murderer, but instead of the electric chair, your fate is to participate in a game of murder, where everyone watches your every move. Sound like the Hunger Games, but it's way more gruesome and awesome. Find anything useful for your kill, glass, plastic bags, and silently kill everyone in your way or go nuts and run guns blazing everyone(not a good idea).

The controls may be a little bad, but it's an old game, so yeah, expect some poor textures as well.

Overall it's a great game, even for it's age, it's a one of a kind game, the one you have to play it to understand why it's great despite all the gore.

I really recommend it to everyone.

85

Genuinely nasty and depraved - I loved it

nemesis44uk | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Manhunt is one of those games that upon release, stirred up controversy by the bucket-load. It's an adult game with adult themes and definitely shouldn't be played by the under-18s.

Playing as Cash in a snuff movie, it is, at heart, a stealth game, with the goal being to survive. To survive, you need to kill your enemies who are very nasty pieces of work. This relies on the player sneaking up on an unsuspecting villain and killing them. This triggers an extremely graphic cutscene, which is not hindered by the dated graphics.

Where the game falls down, is when firearms are introduced and some of the stealth becomes unimportant. This reduces the white knuckle gameplay whereby an enemy is walking past your position and you don't have any weapons...are you hidden well enough? Are you sure?

It is a shame that it doesn't work on Windows 7 as my upgraded computer won't run it.

Manhunt is a great game and I would recommend it to anyone (over 18). To my mind, it is one of the very rare adult games that lives up to its hype.

75

Most disgusting game ever

simodeso | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

If you feel sick too easy this game is not for you. It is the most disgusting game that i ever played.. if you watch every esecution (there are A LOT) you can feel very sick. The character is insane he know 100+ ways to kill a man with different objects, like a bottle or a screwdriver. The game is pretty old but it is a little artwork that must be played and it doesn't cost too much, so go buy it and play it! But don't say that i warned you.

81

Good

Bolo | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

This is a nasty game. You play as a convicted murderer who has been saved from death to participate in the filming of snuff films; you're thrown into various environments, and must kill the people there before they kill you--the nastier, the better. The people you kill are irredeemable monsters and psychopaths, just like you, but there was never really the sense that that made things "all right." It's an incredibly tense stealth game, and an incredible horror game, where you're the monster, and the people you're killing are also monsters (sort of like Alien vs. Predator, I guess; I never played any of those games, though). It's brilliant and grimy and unpleasant, and I felt worse after playing it than I did before--and if that doesn't make you want to play the game, I'd understand, but it's a well put-together game that does what it sets out to do, so I could hardly give it a bad rating. In fact, it would be five stars if the introduction of gunplay midway through didn't turn it into am functional, but not brilliant, third person shooter. It gets back to its roots during the climax, though.