Reviews for Ray man Legends

85

The Legend lives again

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

The first Rayman game brought a lot of fresh air into the platformer genre: non-linear level progression, upgrades and one of the most graphically developed characters. Even though Rayman Legends doesn't revitalize the platformer genre it is a great continuation of the franchise. You are tossed into a stunningly beautiful world where you have to fight your way through to.... why again? Well, if you are story oriented, you might want to skip this game since the story is not deeper than the classic Bowser steals the Princess, but if you just want to play for fun and enjoy yourself than you are at the right place. I had no opportunity to try out the co-op mode but I would guess it is also spot on. I would recommend the game to anyone who is in for a bit of all ages platforming fun. Great family game with loads of charm.

90

An engine that makes wonders and a rich level design..

XGpredator | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Rayman Legends is a worthy successor to Origins. More beautiful, richer, it displays a strong and effective gameplay, although phases with Murphy are sometimes poorly integrated and may put off some players. An unforgettable experience, to live alone or with others. Unless you are totally resistant to the Rayman universe, you can buy this masterpiece gaming eyes closed.

100

Ubisoft's take on Rayman doesn't fail to impress

MisterRay97 | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all MisterRay97's reviews »

Another Rayman game. Well, they've improved a lot over Origins. Rayman Legends is another masterpiece 2D side-scrolling platformer from Ubisoft. And, it's amazing. The graphics have improved a LOT over the previous ones. The game is actually in 3D, but still retains the 2D style gameplay (more like what Team17 did with Worms Revolution and Paradox did with The Showdown Effect). The graphics are sweet and the gameplay remains rock solid entertaining. The new gameplay elements are amazing. Like, press "Y" on your controller and call your buddy to help you. The game feels even improved and is actually very optimized on the PC. You also have weekly challenges and "Back to Origins" levels which give you the nostalgia of the good (not so) old Rayman Origins. And, the entire game can be played in co-op with upto four players. Also, the "Kung-Foot" football co-op mode is amazingly entertaining. This game manages to put it installed on your machine; replay value is awesome. The levels are varied like every Rayman game. The soundtrack is amazing and the SFX are fun. And yes, the game is of course challenging and tests your skills on each and every level. And, the game is not frustrating. No matter how many times you lose to get the perfect amount of Lums in a level, you'll never get tired replaying it. And, collection of Lums and the monsters which give you Lums, the system is impressive. Uplay makes it even rocking. The game is amazing and a must-buy for platformer and Rayman lovers. You might like to use a gamepad, though. Keyboard isn't bad, but the game is better with a gamepad. I always play Rayman with a gamepad.

Overall, I'd say, this game is a masterpiece that runs well on the PC. Ubisoft didn't fail to put the classic 2D gameplay with amazing graphics adding online features and including co-op gameplay while managing to retain replay value and making a video game that stands out as an example of how video games are meant to be made. I have only praises for this masterpiece. 100/100. Perfect game.

Rayman Legends is the best platformer ever made and probably will ever be made.

90

Lots of fun

gforcesa | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I'm big fan of Rayman games and the latest Rayman Legends doesn't disappoint at all.It has lots of levels which are unique to one another and a lot of fun.Each level is even more fun than the previous which made me play for hours.If you played Rayman Origins you will see some familiar faces like the characters you can play with and some enemies.There are also new things that you can do in Rayman Legends like Challenges and Kung Foot which is something like football with 4 players and the goal is to score goals of course.The only thing that bugs me its that at one point you are going to have to go back to some levels to collect the Teensies.It's certainly not a bad thing, but it keeps me from playing the newer levels which i want in order to complete the game.There is also Back to origin levels in which you can play some of the levels from Rayman Origins which is pretty cool.The game is very fun and its even more fun if you play it in co-op.

100

beautiful!

RLFAV | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all RLFAV's reviews »

After shunting the recent efforts of Mario into a lurid green U-bend, Rayman Origins proved a tough act to follow. As a sequel Rayman Legends initially disappoints with what seems like a shift away from speedy platforming, but warms up into something wonderful after you’ve played for a few hours.

Originally planned as a Wii U exclusive, Legends is keen to showcase the Gamepad functions right from the very start of the game. Murfy is a green grinning fairy that pops up in specific levels, moving objects and cutting ropes when you appropriately poke the gamepad’s touchscreen. The problem is, most people won’t own one.

On the 360 code provided for review, Murfy’s actions have been mapped to one button. Press B, and he’ll activate whatever object he’s currently beside. Unfortunately, you can’t control Murfy’s position: the game doesn’t do a terrible job of ensuring that the green fairy is always locked on the object you’re expecting, but there’s an overall lack of precision here that doesn’t gel with the razor-sharp platforming. Anyone can activate Murfy in co-op, which immediately proves to be a bit of a nightmare. 'Don’t touch the B button!'

Thankfully the latter half of Legends uses Murphy in a less frustrating way, and it isn’t long before the game offers up hardcore goodies: time trial trophies don’t appear this time, but instead we get loads of bastard-hard speed-run missions.

As things open up, the best level designs surface. 20,000 Lums Under The Sea blends Bioshock’s vision of velvet and brass with a classic James Bond tone. The overall aesthetic in Legends however doesn’t match the magic of Origins, but this isn’t an overly negative point: it’s like trying to compare Disney to Pixar. Stand-out moments ensure it never feels average, and the quantity of stuff to do puts Origins to shame.

A whopping chunk of Origins is playable within the game, and your ‘Awesomeness’ level can be increased indefinitely by competing in weekly and daily challenges. Rayman Legends isn’t perfect, but it’s still a cracking game.

95

Nice title for all-time Rayman fans.

asiersua | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

I played Rayman for long hours during my childhood, I can tell you I had so much fun with those games. Now they bring that original idea back with Origins, and expand it even further with Legends. What can I say. This game is great, the art is a masterpiece, and it will always bring a nostalgic tear to those good old Rayman fans, such as myself.

90

Astonishing Rayman

katchouni | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all katchouni's reviews »

There are no mistakes! Rayman Legends is a great platformer that will hold your attention for a dozen hours - and at the very least. Between its five worlds, challenges renewed each week, Kung Foot and Origins' revisited levels, there really is a lot of content. But beware, those who hoped Rayman Origins 2 could well be for expenses: instead of being harder Ubi Montepllier targeted a more casual level design, certainly more fun when you play with friends and family but can be a bit disappointing for those who hoped for challenge.

98

Rayman is back, better then ever

wolferatus | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

This game is so amazing, if you loved Rayman Origins, you will love legends more, origin was a realy fast game, but Legends not, only if you play time match. The diferrent is you have new levels on time match, you dont play the same level like it was on origins. you have a lot of archivements to pick up, if you have this game fpr steam you still need uplay. bat back to the game, this game has a lot of sweet and lovly animations, levels are fun, not too easy and if you like to do 100% sometimes you have to trie it again and again :). then there are challanges every day 2 new and 1 extrem weekly challange, i love this game realy, i would give 100% but the online modus has a lot of cheater and ubi is not fixing this problem, so i give only 98/100.

95

Bigger, Better than its predecessors.

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

Now. Ubisoft outdid themselves when the made Legends. You get improved graphics, multiple characters to play on and a very interesting (fresh, i must add) storyline. Being a long fan of Rayman, I absolutely loved this version - Rayman Legends. Not to worry, not to worry, this game is GREAT for newbies to the RAYMAN universe. In fact, it gives you a positive experience of Rayman, They gameplay itself, provides an amazing 3D experience (not like other crappy 3D games out there), the producers this time made sure to give us players a visual treat. Thumbs up! Try it, You will not be disappointed.

90

One of the best platfomrers ever.

fable2 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Rayman is back, in a best in class platformer. The game is brilliant in all aspects: graphics, animation, handling. Mind you, it requires a pad the well known and appreciated xbox 360 is supported and works like a charm in this game. Some innovations will certainly be copied, and that's a good thing. Rayman Legends is fairly long, it took me approx 20 hours to get to the first ending. But that's only 50% of the game! There are more levels that appear and can be unlocked. And for those that enjoy competition, there are 2 daily and 2 weekly challenges, where your skills to complete a level will be compared to this of other players.

92

Rayman is back for good

soad667 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all soad667's reviews »

After the glorious return of Rayman with Origins, time for another "here to stay" gem. That is Legends. It looks more or less like its predecessor, but i found the enviroments to be a bit more detailed and fitting to the way Rayman is designed. Also, it plays very well with some lane changes, where you move back and forth in the background, to do the various objectives, collectibles etc. There is a sidekick available too, that helps you in a lot of puzzles or distracting enemies and stuff like that.

Overall it's a great sequel and the art direction is once more ace. Although it depends a bit on your taste. There is also a demo around, available on Uplay or Steam, if you wanna give it a try before purchasing. It lasts quite a bit and introduce all the cool things that Legends has to offer.

90

Very good

Bolo | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Origins was great colorful had everything what I require from the platform but Legends in my opinion shattered the Origins as the worm. First of all, better color graphics (maybe not a significant change, but to me it seems better). Secondly, more playable characters (which is for me a great plus because I like to play different characters). And thirdly, better more complex and more interesting in my opinion of course.

96

They have done it again

nightassassin1 | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

A great addition to the franchise. I never really got into Rayman until playing Origins with my friend on the Wii, but after that I was hooked. I then bought some of the previous ones and when this came out he got it for me so we can play together. This game is just as good as Rayman Origins and is one of the funnest games of its kind. The game does not require a high end computer to play, but it still has some pretty decent graphics and just has that odd appeal that some of these cartoon games have. You can't quite explain what it is about the artwork that draws you in, but there is just some kind of magic behind it.

It is nice that GreenMan is getting this game now. I am an avid gamer with a huge collection of games ranging from the Atari 2200 to the PS3 and PC. This game is one of my tops. I like Origins a little more than this one, but this is still on the same level as it. The game is nice in single player, however I have noticed Rayman games are best played in co-op with friends. It makes things three times better than single player and extends the game life. The longevity of the game for single player use is short so if you won't have friends to play with you should skip this game, but if you do have friends to play with you will get your moneys worth out of it. Consider it similar to how you would view Battlefield or Call of Duty. The single player is nice, but you really get it to play with friends.

98

Better than Origins

Tkicker | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all Tkicker's reviews »

Rayman Origins was amazing, lets confess it. I am a big Nintendo fanboy but Ubi blew it out of the park with origins and I'm pleased to say this is even better. Legends is full of imagination and creativity. I love this game and so does my girlfriend. She is not a gamer by any streatch of the imagination but she is having as much fun as I am trying to beat that really difficult level. Anyone remotely interested in a good platformer should consider this game because it is probably one of the best games released this generation!

97

One of the best platformers this gen!

ex1s7 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all ex1s7's reviews »

Well Ubisoft certainly did the impossible - they made Legends better than Origins in every way. It should be obvious just from the menu background how much work has been put into the game. The game looks even better than the original (if that's even possible), the music is even more epic, there are more characters, unlockables and levels and most importantly the gameplay is even better. Now you are controlling a secondary character (controllable with the touch screen on the Wii U) whose sole purpose is to assist you. At times it feels nice but at others it feels like a chore controlling 2 characters at once - and that's the game's only flaw. Everything else is perfect (or atleast as good as it can be untill the third game hits us) - jumping feels even more natural, fighting is a bit more deep, gathering collectables feels even better (and with better rewards) and the bosses. Holly sh** the bosses! They are so amazing and having them be 3D doesn't feel unnatural - its quite the opposite. Every boss is a spectacle and fighting them requires skill.

I'd say that the game speaks for itself with its videos. If you like platformers - you must buy this game! It is one of the - if not THE best platforming game.