Reviews for Assassin's Creed III (NA)

50

No thanks.

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

The best part of this game was the sea battles. Beyond that, I absolutely hated it. Connor is the least interesting character in the series. Combat was cut and paste from the Ezio story line. The writing just felt lazy, I didn't want to continue. It's hard to judge the aesthetic choices because the architecture in the Americas was just ugly in that era. Building a town was alright, I guess, but I didn't feel invested in the act. I play Assassin's Creed to assassinate historic figures and enjoy the scenery, not play a "the Guild" knock off mini-game. So much of the map is forest. That's fine in games like Elder Scrolls, but not AC. This is hands down the worst game in the main series. The end of Desmond's story was just... I don't even know. Desmond's story has been getting stranger and stranger but... the end of his story made absolutely NO sense what so ever. It was poorly written and executed. Repetitive tasks and bad or boring plot killed this game. Still, the things Desmond does between Animus sessions are still better than playing as Connor.

86

History with a twist and a lot more assasinations

cocoawolf29 | July 26, 2014 | See all cocoawolf29's reviews »

As a history lover, I was very excited to personally take part in most of the important parts of the American revolution. Though of course one person wouldn't have had such influence, but it was still great to be able to take part in the great battles and protests. I also loved that it was from the point of view of a Native American. It showed the blending of the native's and the European's culture and lives, the conflicts and the benefits. Along with the main plot of the American revolution and Connor's quest to save his home village was the huge number of side quests. The map is the largest Assassin's Creed map by far, making it more interesting to collect all the trinkets and explore the world than in the past worlds. It also made it more difficult, causing one to tire of finding feathers or new hunting areas. Along with the large map also came new features such as hunting. Hunting brought new features such as snares, and it helped add money to your pouch when looting bodies was unfruitful. The map is expanded even more when the ship is added to the equation, and now Connor can sail over huge areas of the sea. The sailing is fun and easy, and the fighting is a great experience. Along with all the other Assassin's creed games, I found that blending the past Assassin's lives with Desmond and the fate of mankind was a plot that I find stupid and tedious. I hated being forced back to the real world in order to finish the game, and I found that plot line very forced and confusing, not to mention boring game play. The "end of the world" arc also causes the game to be very dated. If the game is played after the all important date, it feels very silly. Despite any issues, it is still one of the best Assassin's Creed games, especially for a history nerd.

77

A new take on the franchise, but not one everybody can love.

Shodex | April 15, 2014 | See all Shodex's reviews »

Assassin's Creed III, at the core of it's gameplay doesn't stray far from it's predecessors. The combat, free running, and other elements of Assassin's Creed are all there and while tweaked slightly, they remain very much so unchanged. But after three games with fan favourite assassin, Ezio Auditore, we're finally getting a new setting and a new assassin. We've jumped from renaissance Italy to America during the revolutionary war, and the new assassin is a half Native American named Ratonhnhaké:ton (or, thankfully, just Connor).

ACIII has a much slower and narrative driven start than before. You'll start the game in London, playing as a man named Haytham Kenway. You'll quickly be leaving England for the new world by ship, however. On board this ship is where the game tutors you on the basic gameplay, and while some interesting things do happen this sequence drags on much longer than it needs to. Eventually you will arrive however and the game will open up to something more familiar, you'll be scaling buildings and swashbuckling for a time before the story shift's over to it's poster boy, Connor.

The game slows down a lot at this point as Connor is just a young boy when you first meet him, living among a tribe of other Natives. The game again will spend some time teaching you some of the new things. You'll be taught how to free run though a forest like you would a city, hunt animals properly, etc. This sequence also drags on a bit, but before long catastrophe will find Connor and he'll be driven from home, this is where he meets his mentor and trains to become an Assassin.

An immediate criticism I have with ACIII is it's linearity, there are very few (if any) missions where you just have a target in the middle of a bustling crowd where you have to figure out an effective way to open his throat and escape. Missions all seem to just be a set of scripted events leading you through a series of action sequences, and while that can be fun I think it loses sight of what AC is all about. The action scenes are more grounded than before as well, ACIII takes a more serious and gritty approach which I'm perfectly okay with but I can't help but miss the sheer over the top nature of Ezio's adventures. Basically, ACIII has no crazy renassiance hang gliders and tanks like in ACII and the other Ezio games. This isn't a problem in itself, but it can leave ACIII seeming boring in comparison.

Opinions will differ, but I personally found the story to be a lot stronger this time around. Ezio is still by far the most entertaining assassin, but Connor is interesting. He's hot blooded and naive, he lacks Ezio's suave perfection and becomes more sympathetic as a result. The main villain, whose name I won't reveal for sake of spoilers, is the best in the franchise and provided a very interesting conflict. It's a slower, more grounded and serious story, and this turned a lot of people off but I personally found it very engaging. Personal taste will determine how you enjoy ACIII in the end.

All in all it's a solid entry to the franchise, but it has it's problems as most things do. It's not a perfect game, but it is one worth playing.

60

Adequate but dissapointing

Cgtitan5 | April 15, 2014 | See all Cgtitan5's reviews »

When I first heard of AC3 I was excited because I absolutely love history, especially American History. Although the setting and history elements are great, the gameplay is subpar. I loved the beginning part of the game because of Haytham. In my opinion Haytham is one of the only redeeming qualities this game has. Haytham like Connor are the characters you get to play as, with Connor being the main protagonist and the one you play as most of the time.

AC3 in my opinion adds far less than what AC2 and Brotherhood did. I also feel that Connor just doesn't live up to the awesomeness that was Ezio. The graphics for AC3 are great but the fps does seem erratic at times, especially in major cities. A good thing about AC3 is the combat mechanics. The combat is much simpler and enjoyable than a lot of the other AC games. Overall I am not sure I would recommend this game unless you really want to play all the AC games.

77

A little too much to handle at times...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 21, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

I did like the enhanced gameplay and story depth.... but there was just too much stuff to do there was an almost GTA level of over complexity in regards to extra stuff you can do. the assassin's games to me are much better when it's focused more on the story, i didn't like getting sidetracked by managing your estate. Assassin's 2 was probably the best use of estate management in the fact that it was a simple, straitforward way to make extra money to buy weapons, ammo, etc. AC3 just never got close...

in any case, this is still a good game. the free running is fluid, and the story is really intense and makes you wanna keep playing. it has some flaws, but it's still worth playing (especially for the sailing parts).

77

Rather Pointless

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

Other than the you playing as Desmond and doing all these things outside of the animus, this game is kind of pointless. The beginning of the game was pretty good, but as you keep on playing, you feel like you don't really want to play anymore; you feel like playing only to see the ending. Conor's personality made the game worse than it already was. Conor never really made his own choices throughout the game. He basically listened to his father or the old, black dude (don't remember his name). His point of view is pretty stupid compared to Altair's and Ezio's, but I guess Ubisoft was trying to make Conor different from them. It's still worth a buy, but only for a lower price than what it's currently priced at.

90

More interesting story from a North Americain.

sergebelanger22 | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

In this one, you play as Connor, a metis who wants to save his village from the British and gives freedom to all. This is the first time that the action goes on this side of the Atlantic. It feels very different to run in Boston and New-York, compared to what we are used to (Constantinople,Jerusalem, etc...). It feels refreshing to see French and English soldiers fighting in this series. There is a small recap at the beginning of the game, but you might want to read more on the story before starting if you care about the story. If not, you will miss a lot of reference throughout the game.

There is not a lot of new weapons though. You use your tomahawk, but it is used more or less the same as the other weapons. The combat is pretty much the same as before, however some combats will be harder than before.

A new addition is that you can craft some items to either sell them of offer them to specific people in order to complete side quests. Speaking of this, there are a lot of side quests which lengthen the game by 3 at least. Most of them at least gives you a little something, so you may want to do them. Just do not get all the feathers. This is the only thing that should not be done in my opinion.

The part with Desmond is still weird, but the end needs to be reached with him or you will miss a big part.

They added naval missions which are very fun. You really feel like you are having the power when you sink the other vessels.

They also added hunting. You can hunt deer, beaver, etc.. I did not really care about this, except to complete some side quests.

There were few bugs encountered, but only once it was an issue. I was stuck in a waterfall and I died. Other that that, the bugs are only cosmetics, so I do not really mind.

In the end, AC3 needs to be played for the story and for all the stuff that it contains. It really looks good forward.

81

The American Revolution, retold

mugaro | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

I give Ubisoft a lot of credit for taking a big risk and trying to innovate from the Ezio trilogy while still staying true to the series. They were trying to hit a homerun, but fell a little short.

The voice acting, the story, the controls, the main character are all not as good as in the previous games. It is much less involved, less interactive than before. It's a 12 hour movie where you occassionally have to use the controller. The controls aren't as tight so it makes it frustrating a lot of times. The combat was changed, and a lot of it was not for the better. The sequences on the ship are not that fun either.

But it's still very interesting. While it starts out extremely slow, it gets a lot better toward the halfway point. Good story, some good plot twists. There were some confusing moments, so even the story isn't perfect. The Ezio trilogy didn't do very many plot twists & surprises, so it was cool having them return to that like they did in AC1.

Recommended if you enjoy the AC series.

88

Classic Gameplay, Amazing World, Dwindling Story

Patofilio | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all Patofilio's reviews »

ACIII continues the story of Desmond's assassin ancestors, this time taking is back to the time of the American independence, a very different place than the other games.

First of gameplay, it's still AC, combat has been improved, it is much more fluid now, however sometimes it can be confusing and there are still times in which you will end up hitting a guy you don't really want to hit. Parkour has been greatly improved, definitely much more fluid and easier, being able to finally climb trees is a plus and a fun way to navigate the amazing landscape. Hunting and sailing are also fun activities, but the game doesn't really delve too deep in them.

Now the story, this is the difficult part, because it starts out pretty good, the prologue is probably one of the longest I have ever seen, introducing us to amazing new characters, even the first few parts of Connor's story are pretty good, but then it all starts going down, with tha game becoming nothing more than just a common quest for revenge, with Connor showing no emotions or signs of any learning at all. A drastic way to compare it would be to do so with Anakin Skywalker in the prequel Star Wars films. The setting had a lot potential, with great characters to choose from, but in the end the story really begins to go down. There are couple of redeeming moments in the end, but nothing as good as the first few hour.

Regardless AC3 is a pretty good game, definitely a must for AC fans, exploring the world around you is definitely the best part about it all, and although the story does seem to dwindle after the half mark it is still good, just don't expect anything mind blowing.

71

Good, but not the best

trainiac12 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all trainiac12's reviews »

Although this game is awesome in all of the right ways, it does fall short in some categories. The combat is mainly block and counter, which has been the norm for the series, but I was hoping to see something new develop along with the time settings. The frontier is awesome in every way, although I wish that the climbing system was more open than a set path. One of the features I am really happy about is the naval mechanic. I could spend hours on end piloting the Aquila. Sailing feels realistic in this game, having a supply of missions to last hours. All together, the package is amazing- but not worth the original sixty dollar price tag. If you haven't gotten this game, get it now. 30 Dollars is definitely worth this game.

73

Better than expected

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I hadn't heard many good things about Assassins Creed 3, that it took too long to get into which is a fair point but I enjoyed it. The task Ubisoft had to do was to make us forget about Ezio and take in a new character which isn't easy nor did it exactly succeed. Ezio was a very compelling character but Connor felt like there could have been more to his character. The gameplay is obviously very good and even adds upon from the previous games, even if the AI isn't the strongest around, its an overall great experience. However, it isn't very optimized for PC or at least AMD cards like I have. The framerates weren't always that good, could barely get more than 30 on average which was frustrating as there wasn't many options to help with that.

73

A lot of effort put in to fall short of the Ezio trilogy

mugaro | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Pros: The graphics continue to improve from the previous AC games. The story is overall interesting, a lot of interesting characters from history with alternate takes. While it starts out slow, it picks up after a while and has some interesting plot twists and action. Give some credit for the ambitiousness that this game was aiming for. The ship battles, the different fighting and gun mechanics, hunting, tree climbing and scaling on uneven surfaces, the scenery are all pretty nice.

Cons: Connor, the main character, isn't even 1/10 as interesting as Ezio Auditore or Altair. The most interesting characters are the bad guys, the good guys are pretty forgettable. There is a lot of missed potential with the story. Some important historical characters don't play as big a role as I thought they would. The story starts to get really interesting toward the end, but they take a very confusing and disappointing turn with a huge amount of wasted potential for what could be edge-of-the-seat thrilling. The real life story with Desmond isn't that interesting or fun.

Overall, if you're a fan of the previous AC games, this is worth playing through, albeit at a discounted price, just to see a continuation of the overall story that has been told through 5 games. Give Ubisoft some slack, they were clearly trying to hit a homerun as hard as they could but just came up empty in a lot of areas.

85

Assassin in the New World

ivangroznyi1 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all ivangroznyi1's reviews »

For some the decision of moving Assassin's Creed to North America was a heresy, for some it was a revelation. I think it was not a bad decision as it allowed to move off the beaten path and try some new things. In Assassin's Creed III the player controls a Native American protector of his land and folk. And in the background there is the American revolutionary war, that the player will eventually get to experience, and even get involved in as a member of the Continental Army. Even the arsenal of weapons is suited to this new setting and character, who will get to use tomahawks, bows and guns of the period. For everybody who liked Assassin's Creed, even if they might be tired with Ezio, the game is surely an entertaining choice.