Reviews for Murdered: Soul Suspect™

70

Better than expected.

DrippingSins | Aug. 27, 2015 | See all DrippingSins's reviews »

Game looks great and plays great and has quite the interesting plot. It's really short though. I started and finished it in one sitting. There are some secrets and collectibles, but not much in the way of replay value.

80

Not as bad as some people say!

GigaPudding | June 7, 2015 | See all GigaPudding's reviews »

This game gets a lot of bad reactions for not being sandboxy enough, too linear, buggy and stuff. But it's an adventure game. The main focus is on the story which is quite interesting. It's the story that is kinda fresh and keeps you entertained. The setting of the story and it's themes aren't all that common in videogames and and the game contains a lot of secrets and collectibles that add more depth to the story. So if you enjoy interesting stories, you might as well like this game. You can't do that much being a ghost and all so the puzzles might repeat itself a little and the focus of the game is really centered on story telling rather than like gameplaying. Another thing is that there really are some bugs in the game. Nothing too serious but you might get annoyed by them from time to time. And the next thing on the list is that the game is short. So why do I give it 80? It's mainly the story, I really liked it and it flows quite well. It's a good chillout game as it doesn't really require a lot of gaming effort to go through, but in my opinion the story is worth it.

68

Decent but not spectacular

Takwin | June 6, 2015 | See all Takwin's reviews »

I'm recommending at sale price. For five dollars, it's worth a play through in 6-7 hours. It is a decent story, better than a decent amount of stuff on TV. Nice twists, good ending. Not spectacular, but pretty good. Graphics are also decent. No Ethan Carter or The Witcher 3, but pretty good. The voice acting is also solid. I've seen worse b-movies for sure. That is kind of this game. Solid, but certainly not spectacular. A fun little romp that is the perfect length for it's story. It doesn't overstay its welcome but I definitely wouldn't replay it either.

90

A worthy game

Obsessor | May 28, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect is different. An action-adventure game. It's a detective game with supernatural elements, reminding me a bit of Fahrenheit(a.k.a. Indigo Prophecy), Post Mortem, and its successor Still Life. It looks very good, although cutscenes are just videos, and you can see it. Controls are fairly intuitive, gameplay itself enjoyable. Story - very captivating. I won't spoil anything. After you die it just gets better! On a sale it's a steal. Very good game for supernatural lovers.

63

Dead and kicking

KingTed | May 14, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Murdered : Soul Suspect has an odd setting. You are Detective Ronan O'Connor and... Well, you're dead. The game opens with your murder by the hands of the very suspect you were trying to arrest. But Death is not the end for O'Connor. On the contrary, in the After Life, he's still investigating. With help of Joy, his psychic teenager assistant, O'Connor will try his best to arrest his own murderer. Murdered : Soul Suspect is an adventure game where you explore the town of Salem and solve crimes. It has a nice atmosphere to immerse you in the story. Unfortunatly, the game is not that polished in the gameplay department. The problem is that the puzzles, the investigation part, are too simple and the level-design is pretty bad, always pointing to the direction to go. Furthermore, there are some bad stealth sequences during the adventure. Murdered : Soul Suspect could have been an excellent game but it's just an average game with a good setting.

68

Great idea and story, so-so implementation

BlockAgent | May 13, 2015 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Murdered is a game that has a very interesting story and idea. The story is a good one and will soon become the only thing that keeps you playing this game to the end. What keeps this game from being absolutely great is the game design and gameplay. It pretends to be an open world game, yet restricts where you can go constantly (sometimes with short cutscenes where the character actually says "I shouldn't go there right now"). The gameplay is cumbersome and honestly boring. The very few enemies you face are extremely easy to beat. The rest of the gameplay is basically hunting for collectables and clues which amounts to nothing more than finding the glowing objects. Some good stuff is here however. The sound in the game is very well done, as are the graphics. I didn't notice any glitches at all and the game feels very polished. The voice acting was well done. Between those things and the great storywriting, this game was almost a winner. Too bad the level designers and creative directors weren't on the same page. I am sure that children 7-12 would probably have a spooky blast with this game though.

80

Different!

PlayTyrant | May 6, 2015 | See all PlayTyrant's reviews »

I think this game is different. Never played this kind of game before, it's like action+horror+mistery... really good. I don't want to spoil anything to anyone, but at a certain point the game surprised me with something I didn't expect AT ALL. Let's say that, despite the story, I thought it was going to be less 'supernatural', but whoa! Really, play this game, I don't want to say anything more, watch the trailer and get ready for a great experience, great optimization and REALLY good story, you'll play it more than once, I'm sure of it.

78

Spirited

vipe_1 | April 5, 2015 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect, developed by the now closed Airtight Games, is a ambitious title with a great concept. Widely panned upon release, Soul Suspect isn't lackluster (as you may have heard), but nor is it a hidden masterpiece either. Many things do go right in this game; several concepts are different and interesting, or well executed, or some of both. You play as a Salem, Mass. detective that is shot down (in a fairly impressive opening sequence) by the Bell Killer, a powerful serial killer terrorizing the historical town. The integration of the ghost world with the real is very cool, and the abilities that come with your spectral form are fun. The game is suitably creepy, but not really too horrifying. From a gameplay standpoint, I compare this with another investigation game like LA Noire. You will ask questions and survey crime scenes, but much like that game, the clues are set out before you and are more of a matter of "collecting" than it takes skill. This game is really about the story...it trades action and fast paced gameplay for the mystery of the Bell Killer, ghostly powers, and your interactions with the world/people/ghosts/demons in Salem. FPS junkies may be disappointed. After finishing this, I found myself satisfied enough, and not really disappointed in the light gameplay or concepts. But this game only scratches the surface...it's pretty good, but it could have been so much more. The missed opportunities and half-realized potential are truly the worst parts of this game.

70

Not what I pictured, but not terrible.

anticerber | March 12, 2015 | See all anticerber's reviews »

So I had seen this in passing a few times, saw it on the cover of some magazines and in some online articles but never really read too deep into it.. I knew the premise of the game, but more so thought it was this, crime, third person shooter type game where you are solving your own murder and fighting spirits along the way........wrong This is more about detective work. There are some instances where you can take down evil spirits but more so in the form of stealth kills in other shooter games...You will go around solving mysteries for people, basically like a dark scooby doo, not too dark. Over all the game is a bit slow, the detective work can be tedious and boring at times, but it isn't all bad. I'd try it out, just not at full price mind you

60

Not all there

MadDemon64 | March 11, 2015 | See all MadDemon64's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect sounds like an interesting idea: you play a dead private detective and try to solve your own murder. Go anywhere, see beyond the veil, and use the skills you gained as a private detective In order to solve the mystery. Except not really. Murdered: Soul Suspect has a lot of atmosphere, thanks in no small part to the fact that you can see both humans and ghosts (and apparently ghost buildings; still not sure how that works), and the world looks very eerie with both walking around. However most of it is just window dressing. What little combat there is is too easy and feels like very little thought was put into it, even though the concept behind the enemies you are fighting is amazing. However, Murdered: Soul Suspects two biggest problems are its story and puzzle solving. The story is dull and uninteresting, with plot twists either being nonexistent, underwhelming, or utterly predictable. The puzzle solving, well…what puzzle solving? The trailers and teasers promised something like L.A. Noire, but instead we got was the equivalent of doing a scavenger hunt for scraps of paper, putting them in a hat, picking one at random, and then continuing on with the story regardless of whether or not you hose the right one. Murdered: Soul Suspect is a lot like a ghost; you can see it, but when you try to grab it all you get is air.

65

Underwhelming, but Enjoyable

TheLMan101 | Feb. 27, 2015 | See all TheLMan101's reviews »

Some may say I shouldn't judge a game based on what I was hoping from it, but Murdered: Soul Suspect is frustrating in how excellent it could've been. It's still enjoyable, certainly, and it stands out among the other games on the shelf. With that said, it certainly could've been better. I won't comment too much on the story, because most of the intrigue in the game comes from the story. Rest assured, it's a well-written and generally well told story and the conclusion should leave you satisfied. It did, me. The story is certainly the selling point of the game. The gameplay is slightly erratic, but all components work competently, excluding the "combat" - A laughable game of Red Light, Green Light followed by one quick time event... and that's basically it. With that said, exploring is fun and discovering new revelations is pretty fulfilling. With all that said, the game's length is a huge disappointment and, even then, the bonus material doesn't add much. The game also doesn't really have much replay value, so I wouldn't really be able to recommend it if you're looking for lots of content. In conclusion, this is the perfect game to buy on sale, but you'd need to look at the trailer for the game and decide for yourself how hyped you are for it. Then, remember that I was very hyped... and the game is only a 65 out of 100, to me.

80

Best investigation game of all time

garocco | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all garocco's reviews »

To be honest Murdered Soul Suspect is really fascinating, when I saw the trailer I was sure that it would be a great game, and actually i was right. An elaborate story, beautifully told, with a narrative that blends well with the game, then there is still doubt if this game is good, I tell you will not regret it in no time. The extremely engaging story is without any doubt the strongest point of the game, making the player does not want to stop playing even for a minute. The scenario is very interesting and beautiful allowing you to explore almost all there is. For me the weak point of this game is the artificial intelligence that does not work properly, causing many times some errors, what leaves the game easier. Murdered Soul Suspect is undoubtedly one of the best research games I've ever played in my life and I recommend to everyone.

66

Well... this was slightly underwhelming!

JakeG92 | Feb. 4, 2015 | See all JakeG92's reviews »

I had hugely high hopes for Murdered: Soul Suspect! Ever trailer, every new article, ever screenshot... I was glued. I wanted nothing more than to say this game would be my game of the year and it... wasn't even top 5! Don't get me wrong. What the game actually is, is great. The mechanics, the story and the visuals are brilliant. The thing that this falls down on is the length. This was an incredibly short story! I was able to burn through the whole game snatching every achievement along the way apart from about 2 or 3. I was then able to play the story again up to the point of earning those final achievements all within the space of a weekend! It's a good quick burn, but don't expect brilliance! :/

68

a nice diversion from the norm.

on2wheels | Dec. 29, 2014 | See all on2wheels's reviews »

There's not too much challenge here, and a fair bit of handholding to get you in the right direction. Otherwise it's a nice change of pace, with some decent eye candy to go along. The solving crimes portion is a bit of a joke since there doesn't seem to be any punishment for not guessing all the right clues the first time, and dialog can be a joke at times but doesn't ruin it by any means. The worst thing, and possibly the only bad part, is the QTE when encountering an enemy. Fortunately it doesn't happen all that often. Not a bad deal when on sale, and won't take you too long to complete either.

85

Who you gonna call?

angrymouse | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all angrymouse's reviews »

Murdered:Soul Suspect is a supernatural thriller kinda like Ghost Whisperer,Medium or Deadbeat.The game focuses on the story and the plot twist adds to a great ending. The characters are well done and you can discover their stories through notes.Also,the voice acting was good.You can possess a cat and even "meow" which ,let's be honest, is everybody's dream.The background characters are interesting(from psycho butcher to jealous girlfriend) and you can even help some of the ghosts as a side mission.The dialogue was funny most of the time and straight to the point. Unfortunately,the controls seemed to be made especially for console so it didn't quite adjust to PC keyboard.Another con was the length of the game.I was expecting more gameplay.After you finish the game you can't go back and explore.Speaking of exploration,it was limited by walking from point A to B.You can only roam between those points and it felt like Salem was not really a city but a place with a few locations. In conclusion, meow out of 10.

77

Interesting, but below what I was expecting.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

When I first heard of this game, I was euphoric. Because the theme of the game was very interesting and it was also different of what I was accustomed. I mean, being a ghost and find the way to ascend to heaven. Very tempting, right? And, the fact that it's going to be published by Square Enix made me happy, because every game published by them, have beautiful graphics. (Take, for example, Tomb Raider or Just Cause 2, among others) Let me give you an introduction: You're brutally murdered by a serial killer and you have to find clues to know what happened and gain, let's just say, inner peace. Promising, right? It is really good, don't get me wrong. The investigation is rather fun indeed and the story is interesting, even if it's pretty short. But, in my opinion, I found the gameplay somewhat boring. Like if it's a paranormal tacky L.A. Noire. Find clues, help people (Ghosts, actually), solve cases and that kind of stuff. But, maybe, what most disappointed me was the graphics. I was expecting so much more from Square Enix. I'm NOT saying that you shouldn't buy the game. You SHOULD and you probably will have tons of fun. But, if you can find it on sale, it would be better than paying the full price.

60

Big letdown

HUNbullseye | June 15, 2014 | See all HUNbullseye's reviews »

One of my very few pre-orders. And the reason i should not preorder things. Good base idea killed with mediocre story, some cliche characters and mostly very dumb and lazy gameplay mechanics (half of the collectibles, reused NPCs, etc.). If you think Beyond wasn't good, because that is just an interactive movie, stay the heck away, since it is just as little gameplay (except the badly executed "big train action sequence" noone asked for), without good characters/actors and story. But you can posess a cat and even meow! That is some plus.

85

Doesn't Disappoint

H4ZD4M4N | June 11, 2014 | See all H4ZD4M4N's reviews »

I loved this game, it has a story that grips you and it's full of interesting characters that you can explore as much or as little as you want. The only slight problem here is the length of the game. I was actively going out of my way to find collectibles and after getting most of them I still managed to finish the game in 8 hours. If you weren't somebody who bothers with collectibles you could finish it in about 6-7 hours. I'm not sure about replay value because it is largely story driven, I think I'll be going through to get the collectibles I missed though. Having said that, I really don't know why professional reviewers bashed this game so much, I think it's well worth the money. Overall, if you play for story, get it! If you play for mechanics, wait until it's on sale.

73

I expected more

drafek | June 7, 2014 | See all drafek's reviews »

I expected more form this game, but it's definitely not bad. When I first saw Murdered Soul Suspect I was pretty excited, I though this was an paranormal detective game. Eventhough this is a detective game it's not really paranormal game it's definitely a detective game and a pretty good one. The graphics are better then I though and the gameplay is pretty fun. Only downside is the paranormal part, I was pretty hyped about it but it isn't really ''paranormal''. But it's definitely a good game.