Reviews for Murdered: Soul Suspect™


Nothing new

PantsMan1993 | Nov. 8, 2015 | See all PantsMan1993's reviews »

I am judging this review based on its full $30 price and therefore cannot recommend it. I would only recommend getting this game when there is a deep sale. The pro/con section will be at the bottom of this review . Murdered: Soul Suspect is a detective adventure game where you play as Ronan, an ex-con badass who became a cop to atone for his wrong doings. You get killed by a man in a hoodie and become a ghost. You learn that you need to find clues to figure out who killed you in order to complete your "unfinished business" and be at peace. This game had so much potential to be something great but fell short and left me with an unsatisfactory experience. Gameplay This is a detective game where you play as a ghost in the mortal world. Think about all the things you can do as a ghost, it's going to be awesome!.. Or at least that's what you are led to believe. You start off the game learning that can you can walk through walls, only to realise that there are "ghost walls" all over the town Salem that you can't walk through. These walls are just there to hinder you from exploring the town of Salem and become extremely annoying after a while. Next you learn that you could possess random people and read their minds, only for it to get boring and repetitive after 20 minutes. The people around the town were bland and shamelessly copy pasted and the only thing you get from reading their minds were always something along the lines of "Oh dear a murder, that’s terrible" or "I wish it wasn't so cold". It's the same thing over and over again and eventually you just won't bother with the possessions. Their scripted dialogue with each other is pretty interesting to listen to though. The core gameplay has you travel from place to place in order to investigate scenes and solve puzzles. You have to find a couple of clues and then come to a conclusion about what the killer was doing or where he was going to next, much like the crime scene investigations in L.A Noire . However the puzzles are so painfully simple and boring that it doesn't take you long to come to a conclusion. In the end it just becomes a sort of glorified find the object game with an extremely obvious "which one of these objects are related to the crime?" conclusion (seriously, a spoon , a fork, or a key that belonged to the killer? I wonder which of these are relevant). The combat system is an extremely basic stealth system where you have to hide from patrolling demons and then execute them when they weren't looking at you. However, like most of the game, demons pose little to no challenge and are just there to hinder you and fill time. The combat didn't evolve over the course of the game and after the 4th or 5th time I heard the demons arrive I just thought to myself "ugh not again". You also have several dialogue options to choose from during the story, but these have no effect on the story at all. There are also side quests where you go about helping other ghosts to finish their business and these quests are rather interesting. There are collectibles hidden all around the map for you to collect, these will allow you to learn about the town of Salem, Ronan's background as well as give some insight on the killer. Unfortunately there is no map function and also no way for you to check which collectible you already have and which ones you still need to find. I enjoyed listening and reading the stories about the artifacts I collected and make exploring the town enjoyable, I just wished the damned ghost walls weren't so restrictive and annoying. Graphics The game is quite good looking and the town of Salem looks great. The ghost structures and mortal buildings complemented each other well to give this dark and gloomy feeling. The main characters looked unique and well designed. There is a 30fps when you have v-sync on, but you can turn off v-sync in game and use v-sync from an external program such as Nvidia's control panel and the game will run at 60fps. Sound The music in this game was pretty good. It set the mood really well and occasionally the music would go eerily quiet to build tension. The combat music also tries its best to build excitement and tension but was unfortunately unable to complement or help the poor combat system. The voice acting in this game was superb and was one of the only reasons why I could finish this game. I enjoyed listening to the conversations between the main characters and especially liked listening to many of Ronan's monologues. Pros + Town looks great when the "ghostly" and "mortal" buildings are mixed together to form a unique hybrid look + Voice acting is superb + Interesting lore and backstory about the town as well as the protagonist + Good chemistry between the main characters + Interesting storyline + Side quests are a nice change of pace Cons - Basic and boring combat system - Core puzzle solving is too simple and repetitive - Extremely linear game - Ghost walls are a hindrance - Somewhat clunky controls - Choices make no difference to the story's conclusion - No replay value In conclusion this game is an overly simplified detective game with a boring stealth combat system slapped on it. It fails to impress, and with a price tag of $30 I certainly cannot recommend it over other better detective games such as L.A Noire


Short, Linear, enjoyable

Sulfie | Oct. 26, 2015 | See all Sulfie's reviews »

I finally got around to completing this game the other day, it took me 10 hours total including all the achievements. Overall this game is enjoyable, but there's not much to it unfortunately. Being a detective that get's shot, and trying to find your killer I expected more detective work, maybe along the lines of L.A. Noire. Instead you mostly walk around, avoid / kill demons whenever you come across them, which is easy because you are just given a button combination to do and you destroy them, and look for clues. Possessing people is mostly useless unless the person is relevant to the story. Most of the time you can only read minds, which just has the character you possess 'say' some piece of information, kinda just flavour text. The story is quite good, the graphics are good, the controls are good. In the end I would pick this game up on a sale, maybe for around £7.


Worth playing, maybe even finishing

tonydareizer | Oct. 3, 2015 | See all tonydareizer's reviews »

The game is marvelous. It has great graphics, and despite being build on 64 bit architecture, it's definitely worth an OS upgrade. The gameplay is fairly smooth, though, being a puzzle game, you can get stuck easily further in your gameplay. It has a quite interesting plot, which starts with your DEATH?!? Yes, it starts with the character's death. He is supposed to solve the mysteries awaiting, but he is quite often troubled by "demons", actual spectral beings that will hunt the character if they notice him. With an uncommon plot, good graphics and great gameplay, this game is worth checking out.


Better than expected.

DrippingSins | Aug. 27, 2015 | See all DrippingSins's reviews »

Game looks great and plays great and has quite the interesting plot. It's really short though. I started and finished it in one sitting. There are some secrets and collectibles, but not much in the way of replay value.


Not as bad as some people say!

GigaPudding | June 7, 2015 | See all GigaPudding's reviews »

This game gets a lot of bad reactions for not being sandboxy enough, too linear, buggy and stuff. But it's an adventure game. The main focus is on the story which is quite interesting. It's the story that is kinda fresh and keeps you entertained. The setting of the story and it's themes aren't all that common in videogames and and the game contains a lot of secrets and collectibles that add more depth to the story. So if you enjoy interesting stories, you might as well like this game. You can't do that much being a ghost and all so the puzzles might repeat itself a little and the focus of the game is really centered on story telling rather than like gameplaying. Another thing is that there really are some bugs in the game. Nothing too serious but you might get annoyed by them from time to time. And the next thing on the list is that the game is short. So why do I give it 80? It's mainly the story, I really liked it and it flows quite well. It's a good chillout game as it doesn't really require a lot of gaming effort to go through, but in my opinion the story is worth it.


Decent but not spectacular

Takwin | June 6, 2015 | See all Takwin's reviews »

I'm recommending at sale price. For five dollars, it's worth a play through in 6-7 hours. It is a decent story, better than a decent amount of stuff on TV. Nice twists, good ending. Not spectacular, but pretty good. Graphics are also decent. No Ethan Carter or The Witcher 3, but pretty good. The voice acting is also solid. I've seen worse b-movies for sure. That is kind of this game. Solid, but certainly not spectacular. A fun little romp that is the perfect length for it's story. It doesn't overstay its welcome but I definitely wouldn't replay it either.


A worthy game

Obsessor | May 28, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect is different. An action-adventure game. It's a detective game with supernatural elements, reminding me a bit of Fahrenheit(a.k.a. Indigo Prophecy), Post Mortem, and its successor Still Life. It looks very good, although cutscenes are just videos, and you can see it. Controls are fairly intuitive, gameplay itself enjoyable. Story - very captivating. I won't spoil anything. After you die it just gets better! On a sale it's a steal. Very good game for supernatural lovers.


Dead and kicking

KingTed | May 14, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Murdered : Soul Suspect has an odd setting. You are Detective Ronan O'Connor and... Well, you're dead. The game opens with your murder by the hands of the very suspect you were trying to arrest. But Death is not the end for O'Connor. On the contrary, in the After Life, he's still investigating. With help of Joy, his psychic teenager assistant, O'Connor will try his best to arrest his own murderer. Murdered : Soul Suspect is an adventure game where you explore the town of Salem and solve crimes. It has a nice atmosphere to immerse you in the story. Unfortunatly, the game is not that polished in the gameplay department. The problem is that the puzzles, the investigation part, are too simple and the level-design is pretty bad, always pointing to the direction to go. Furthermore, there are some bad stealth sequences during the adventure. Murdered : Soul Suspect could have been an excellent game but it's just an average game with a good setting.


Great idea and story, so-so implementation

BlockAgent | May 13, 2015 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Murdered is a game that has a very interesting story and idea. The story is a good one and will soon become the only thing that keeps you playing this game to the end. What keeps this game from being absolutely great is the game design and gameplay. It pretends to be an open world game, yet restricts where you can go constantly (sometimes with short cutscenes where the character actually says "I shouldn't go there right now"). The gameplay is cumbersome and honestly boring. The very few enemies you face are extremely easy to beat. The rest of the gameplay is basically hunting for collectables and clues which amounts to nothing more than finding the glowing objects. Some good stuff is here however. The sound in the game is very well done, as are the graphics. I didn't notice any glitches at all and the game feels very polished. The voice acting was well done. Between those things and the great storywriting, this game was almost a winner. Too bad the level designers and creative directors weren't on the same page. I am sure that children 7-12 would probably have a spooky blast with this game though.



PlayTyrant | May 6, 2015 | See all PlayTyrant's reviews »

I think this game is different. Never played this kind of game before, it's like action+horror+mistery... really good. I don't want to spoil anything to anyone, but at a certain point the game surprised me with something I didn't expect AT ALL. Let's say that, despite the story, I thought it was going to be less 'supernatural', but whoa! Really, play this game, I don't want to say anything more, watch the trailer and get ready for a great experience, great optimization and REALLY good story, you'll play it more than once, I'm sure of it.



vipe_1 | April 5, 2015 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect, developed by the now closed Airtight Games, is a ambitious title with a great concept. Widely panned upon release, Soul Suspect isn't lackluster (as you may have heard), but nor is it a hidden masterpiece either. Many things do go right in this game; several concepts are different and interesting, or well executed, or some of both. You play as a Salem, Mass. detective that is shot down (in a fairly impressive opening sequence) by the Bell Killer, a powerful serial killer terrorizing the historical town. The integration of the ghost world with the real is very cool, and the abilities that come with your spectral form are fun. The game is suitably creepy, but not really too horrifying. From a gameplay standpoint, I compare this with another investigation game like LA Noire. You will ask questions and survey crime scenes, but much like that game, the clues are set out before you and are more of a matter of "collecting" than it takes skill. This game is really about the trades action and fast paced gameplay for the mystery of the Bell Killer, ghostly powers, and your interactions with the world/people/ghosts/demons in Salem. FPS junkies may be disappointed. After finishing this, I found myself satisfied enough, and not really disappointed in the light gameplay or concepts. But this game only scratches the's pretty good, but it could have been so much more. The missed opportunities and half-realized potential are truly the worst parts of this game.


Not what I pictured, but not terrible.

anticerber | March 12, 2015 | See all anticerber's reviews »

So I had seen this in passing a few times, saw it on the cover of some magazines and in some online articles but never really read too deep into it.. I knew the premise of the game, but more so thought it was this, crime, third person shooter type game where you are solving your own murder and fighting spirits along the way........wrong This is more about detective work. There are some instances where you can take down evil spirits but more so in the form of stealth kills in other shooter games...You will go around solving mysteries for people, basically like a dark scooby doo, not too dark. Over all the game is a bit slow, the detective work can be tedious and boring at times, but it isn't all bad. I'd try it out, just not at full price mind you


Not all there

MadDemon64 | March 11, 2015 | See all MadDemon64's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect sounds like an interesting idea: you play a dead private detective and try to solve your own murder. Go anywhere, see beyond the veil, and use the skills you gained as a private detective In order to solve the mystery. Except not really. Murdered: Soul Suspect has a lot of atmosphere, thanks in no small part to the fact that you can see both humans and ghosts (and apparently ghost buildings; still not sure how that works), and the world looks very eerie with both walking around. However most of it is just window dressing. What little combat there is is too easy and feels like very little thought was put into it, even though the concept behind the enemies you are fighting is amazing. However, Murdered: Soul Suspects two biggest problems are its story and puzzle solving. The story is dull and uninteresting, with plot twists either being nonexistent, underwhelming, or utterly predictable. The puzzle solving, well…what puzzle solving? The trailers and teasers promised something like L.A. Noire, but instead we got was the equivalent of doing a scavenger hunt for scraps of paper, putting them in a hat, picking one at random, and then continuing on with the story regardless of whether or not you hose the right one. Murdered: Soul Suspect is a lot like a ghost; you can see it, but when you try to grab it all you get is air.


Underwhelming, but Enjoyable

TheLMan101 | Feb. 27, 2015 | See all TheLMan101's reviews »

Some may say I shouldn't judge a game based on what I was hoping from it, but Murdered: Soul Suspect is frustrating in how excellent it could've been. It's still enjoyable, certainly, and it stands out among the other games on the shelf. With that said, it certainly could've been better. I won't comment too much on the story, because most of the intrigue in the game comes from the story. Rest assured, it's a well-written and generally well told story and the conclusion should leave you satisfied. It did, me. The story is certainly the selling point of the game. The gameplay is slightly erratic, but all components work competently, excluding the "combat" - A laughable game of Red Light, Green Light followed by one quick time event... and that's basically it. With that said, exploring is fun and discovering new revelations is pretty fulfilling. With all that said, the game's length is a huge disappointment and, even then, the bonus material doesn't add much. The game also doesn't really have much replay value, so I wouldn't really be able to recommend it if you're looking for lots of content. In conclusion, this is the perfect game to buy on sale, but you'd need to look at the trailer for the game and decide for yourself how hyped you are for it. Then, remember that I was very hyped... and the game is only a 65 out of 100, to me.


Best investigation game of all time

garocco | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all garocco's reviews »

To be honest Murdered Soul Suspect is really fascinating, when I saw the trailer I was sure that it would be a great game, and actually i was right. An elaborate story, beautifully told, with a narrative that blends well with the game, then there is still doubt if this game is good, I tell you will not regret it in no time. The extremely engaging story is without any doubt the strongest point of the game, making the player does not want to stop playing even for a minute. The scenario is very interesting and beautiful allowing you to explore almost all there is. For me the weak point of this game is the artificial intelligence that does not work properly, causing many times some errors, what leaves the game easier. Murdered Soul Suspect is undoubtedly one of the best research games I've ever played in my life and I recommend to everyone.


Well... this was slightly underwhelming!

JakeG92 | Feb. 4, 2015 | See all JakeG92's reviews »

I had hugely high hopes for Murdered: Soul Suspect! Ever trailer, every new article, ever screenshot... I was glued. I wanted nothing more than to say this game would be my game of the year and it... wasn't even top 5! Don't get me wrong. What the game actually is, is great. The mechanics, the story and the visuals are brilliant. The thing that this falls down on is the length. This was an incredibly short story! I was able to burn through the whole game snatching every achievement along the way apart from about 2 or 3. I was then able to play the story again up to the point of earning those final achievements all within the space of a weekend! It's a good quick burn, but don't expect brilliance! :/


a nice diversion from the norm.

on2wheels | Dec. 29, 2014 | See all on2wheels's reviews »

There's not too much challenge here, and a fair bit of handholding to get you in the right direction. Otherwise it's a nice change of pace, with some decent eye candy to go along. The solving crimes portion is a bit of a joke since there doesn't seem to be any punishment for not guessing all the right clues the first time, and dialog can be a joke at times but doesn't ruin it by any means. The worst thing, and possibly the only bad part, is the QTE when encountering an enemy. Fortunately it doesn't happen all that often. Not a bad deal when on sale, and won't take you too long to complete either.


Who you gonna call?

angrymouse | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all angrymouse's reviews »

Murdered:Soul Suspect is a supernatural thriller kinda like Ghost Whisperer,Medium or Deadbeat.The game focuses on the story and the plot twist adds to a great ending. The characters are well done and you can discover their stories through notes.Also,the voice acting was good.You can possess a cat and even "meow" which ,let's be honest, is everybody's dream.The background characters are interesting(from psycho butcher to jealous girlfriend) and you can even help some of the ghosts as a side mission.The dialogue was funny most of the time and straight to the point. Unfortunately,the controls seemed to be made especially for console so it didn't quite adjust to PC keyboard.Another con was the length of the game.I was expecting more gameplay.After you finish the game you can't go back and explore.Speaking of exploration,it was limited by walking from point A to B.You can only roam between those points and it felt like Salem was not really a city but a place with a few locations. In conclusion, meow out of 10.


Interesting, but below what I was expecting.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

When I first heard of this game, I was euphoric. Because the theme of the game was very interesting and it was also different of what I was accustomed. I mean, being a ghost and find the way to ascend to heaven. Very tempting, right? And, the fact that it's going to be published by Square Enix made me happy, because every game published by them, have beautiful graphics. (Take, for example, Tomb Raider or Just Cause 2, among others) Let me give you an introduction: You're brutally murdered by a serial killer and you have to find clues to know what happened and gain, let's just say, inner peace. Promising, right? It is really good, don't get me wrong. The investigation is rather fun indeed and the story is interesting, even if it's pretty short. But, in my opinion, I found the gameplay somewhat boring. Like if it's a paranormal tacky L.A. Noire. Find clues, help people (Ghosts, actually), solve cases and that kind of stuff. But, maybe, what most disappointed me was the graphics. I was expecting so much more from Square Enix. I'm NOT saying that you shouldn't buy the game. You SHOULD and you probably will have tons of fun. But, if you can find it on sale, it would be better than paying the full price.


Big letdown

HUNbullseye | June 15, 2014 | See all HUNbullseye's reviews »

One of my very few pre-orders. And the reason i should not preorder things. Good base idea killed with mediocre story, some cliche characters and mostly very dumb and lazy gameplay mechanics (half of the collectibles, reused NPCs, etc.). If you think Beyond wasn't good, because that is just an interactive movie, stay the heck away, since it is just as little gameplay (except the badly executed "big train action sequence" noone asked for), without good characters/actors and story. But you can posess a cat and even meow! That is some plus.


Doesn't Disappoint

H4ZD4M4N | June 11, 2014 | See all H4ZD4M4N's reviews »

I loved this game, it has a story that grips you and it's full of interesting characters that you can explore as much or as little as you want. The only slight problem here is the length of the game. I was actively going out of my way to find collectibles and after getting most of them I still managed to finish the game in 8 hours. If you weren't somebody who bothers with collectibles you could finish it in about 6-7 hours. I'm not sure about replay value because it is largely story driven, I think I'll be going through to get the collectibles I missed though. Having said that, I really don't know why professional reviewers bashed this game so much, I think it's well worth the money. Overall, if you play for story, get it! If you play for mechanics, wait until it's on sale.


I expected more

drafek | June 7, 2014 | See all drafek's reviews »

I expected more form this game, but it's definitely not bad. When I first saw Murdered Soul Suspect I was pretty excited, I though this was an paranormal detective game. Eventhough this is a detective game it's not really paranormal game it's definitely a detective game and a pretty good one. The graphics are better then I though and the gameplay is pretty fun. Only downside is the paranormal part, I was pretty hyped about it but it isn't really ''paranormal''. But it's definitely a good game.