Reviews for Murdered: Soul Suspect™

70

Not what I pictured, but not terrible.

anticerber | March 12, 2015 | See all anticerber's reviews »

So I had seen this in passing a few times, saw it on the cover of some magazines and in some online articles but never really read too deep into it.. I knew the premise of the game, but more so thought it was this, crime, third person shooter type game where you are solving your own murder and fighting spirits along the way........wrong

This is more about detective work. There are some instances where you can take down evil spirits but more so in the form of stealth kills in other shooter games...You will go around solving mysteries for people, basically like a dark scooby doo, not too dark.

Over all the game is a bit slow, the detective work can be tedious and boring at times, but it isn't all bad. I'd try it out, just not at full price mind you

60

Not all there

MadDemon64 | March 11, 2015 | See all MadDemon64's reviews »

Murdered: Soul Suspect sounds like an interesting idea: you play a dead private detective and try to solve your own murder. Go anywhere, see beyond the veil, and use the skills you gained as a private detective In order to solve the mystery. Except not really.

Murdered: Soul Suspect has a lot of atmosphere, thanks in no small part to the fact that you can see both humans and ghosts (and apparently ghost buildings; still not sure how that works), and the world looks very eerie with both walking around. However most of it is just window dressing. What little combat there is is too easy and feels like very little thought was put into it, even though the concept behind the enemies you are fighting is amazing.

However, Murdered: Soul Suspects two biggest problems are its story and puzzle solving. The story is dull and uninteresting, with plot twists either being nonexistent, underwhelming, or utterly predictable. The puzzle solving, well…what puzzle solving? The trailers and teasers promised something like L.A. Noire, but instead we got was the equivalent of doing a scavenger hunt for scraps of paper, putting them in a hat, picking one at random, and then continuing on with the story regardless of whether or not you hose the right one.

Murdered: Soul Suspect is a lot like a ghost; you can see it, but when you try to grab it all you get is air.

65

Underwhelming, but Enjoyable

TheLMan101 | Feb. 27, 2015 | See all TheLMan101's reviews »

Some may say I shouldn't judge a game based on what I was hoping from it, but Murdered: Soul Suspect is frustrating in how excellent it could've been. It's still enjoyable, certainly, and it stands out among the other games on the shelf. With that said, it certainly could've been better.

I won't comment too much on the story, because most of the intrigue in the game comes from the story. Rest assured, it's a well-written and generally well told story and the conclusion should leave you satisfied. It did, me. The story is certainly the selling point of the game.

The gameplay is slightly erratic, but all components work competently, excluding the "combat" - A laughable game of Red Light, Green Light followed by one quick time event... and that's basically it. With that said, exploring is fun and discovering new revelations is pretty fulfilling.

With all that said, the game's length is a huge disappointment and, even then, the bonus material doesn't add much. The game also doesn't really have much replay value, so I wouldn't really be able to recommend it if you're looking for lots of content.

In conclusion, this is the perfect game to buy on sale, but you'd need to look at the trailer for the game and decide for yourself how hyped you are for it. Then, remember that I was very hyped... and the game is only a 65 out of 100, to me.

80

Best investigation game of all time

garocco | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all garocco's reviews »

To be honest Murdered Soul Suspect is really fascinating, when I saw the trailer I was sure that it would be a great game, and actually i was right. An elaborate story, beautifully told, with a narrative that blends well with the game, then there is still doubt if this game is good, I tell you will not regret it in no time. The extremely engaging story is without any doubt the strongest point of the game, making the player does not want to stop playing even for a minute. The scenario is very interesting and beautiful allowing you to explore almost all there is. For me the weak point of this game is the artificial intelligence that does not work properly, causing many times some errors, what leaves the game easier. Murdered Soul Suspect is undoubtedly one of the best research games I've ever played in my life and I recommend to everyone.

66

Well... this was slightly underwhelming!

JakeG92 | Feb. 4, 2015 | See all JakeG92's reviews »

I had hugely high hopes for Murdered: Soul Suspect!

Ever trailer, every new article, ever screenshot... I was glued. I wanted nothing more than to say this game would be my game of the year and it... wasn't even top 5!

Don't get me wrong. What the game actually is, is great. The mechanics, the story and the visuals are brilliant.

The thing that this falls down on is the length. This was an incredibly short story! I was able to burn through the whole game snatching every achievement along the way apart from about 2 or 3.

I was then able to play the story again up to the point of earning those final achievements all within the space of a weekend!

It's a good quick burn, but don't expect brilliance! :/

68

a nice diversion from the norm.

on2wheels | Dec. 29, 2014 | See all on2wheels's reviews »

There's not too much challenge here, and a fair bit of handholding to get you in the right direction. Otherwise it's a nice change of pace, with some decent eye candy to go along. The solving crimes portion is a bit of a joke since there doesn't seem to be any punishment for not guessing all the right clues the first time, and dialog can be a joke at times but doesn't ruin it by any means. The worst thing, and possibly the only bad part, is the QTE when encountering an enemy. Fortunately it doesn't happen all that often. Not a bad deal when on sale, and won't take you too long to complete either.

85

Who you gonna call?

angrymouse | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all angrymouse's reviews »

Murdered:Soul Suspect is a supernatural thriller kinda like Ghost Whisperer,Medium or Deadbeat.The game focuses on the story and the plot twist adds to a great ending. The characters are well done and you can discover their stories through notes.Also,the voice acting was good.You can possess a cat and even "meow" which ,let's be honest, is everybody's dream.The background characters are interesting(from psycho butcher to jealous girlfriend) and you can even help some of the ghosts as a side mission.The dialogue was funny most of the time and straight to the point. Unfortunately,the controls seemed to be made especially for console so it didn't quite adjust to PC keyboard.Another con was the length of the game.I was expecting more gameplay.After you finish the game you can't go back and explore.Speaking of exploration,it was limited by walking from point A to B.You can only roam between those points and it felt like Salem was not really a city but a place with a few locations. In conclusion, meow out of 10.

77

Interesting, but below what I was expecting.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

When I first heard of this game, I was euphoric. Because the theme of the game was very interesting and it was also different of what I was accustomed. I mean, being a ghost and find the way to ascend to heaven. Very tempting, right? And, the fact that it's going to be published by Square Enix made me happy, because every game published by them, have beautiful graphics. (Take, for example, Tomb Raider or Just Cause 2, among others) Let me give you an introduction: You're brutally murdered by a serial killer and you have to find clues to know what happened and gain, let's just say, inner peace. Promising, right? It is really good, don't get me wrong. The investigation is rather fun indeed and the story is interesting, even if it's pretty short. But, in my opinion, I found the gameplay somewhat boring. Like if it's a paranormal tacky L.A. Noire. Find clues, help people (Ghosts, actually), solve cases and that kind of stuff. But, maybe, what most disappointed me was the graphics. I was expecting so much more from Square Enix. I'm NOT saying that you shouldn't buy the game. You SHOULD and you probably will have tons of fun. But, if you can find it on sale, it would be better than paying the full price.

60

Big letdown

HUNbullseye | June 15, 2014 | See all HUNbullseye's reviews »

One of my very few pre-orders. And the reason i should not preorder things. Good base idea killed with mediocre story, some cliche characters and mostly very dumb and lazy gameplay mechanics (half of the collectibles, reused NPCs, etc.). If you think Beyond wasn't good, because that is just an interactive movie, stay the heck away, since it is just as little gameplay (except the badly executed "big train action sequence" noone asked for), without good characters/actors and story. But you can posess a cat and even meow! That is some plus.

85

Doesn't Disappoint

H4ZD4M4N | June 11, 2014 | See all H4ZD4M4N's reviews »

I loved this game, it has a story that grips you and it's full of interesting characters that you can explore as much or as little as you want.

The only slight problem here is the length of the game. I was actively going out of my way to find collectibles and after getting most of them I still managed to finish the game in 8 hours. If you weren't somebody who bothers with collectibles you could finish it in about 6-7 hours. I'm not sure about replay value because it is largely story driven, I think I'll be going through to get the collectibles I missed though.

Having said that, I really don't know why professional reviewers bashed this game so much, I think it's well worth the money.

Overall, if you play for story, get it! If you play for mechanics, wait until it's on sale.

73

I expected more

drafek | June 7, 2014 | See all drafek's reviews »

I expected more form this game, but it's definitely not bad. When I first saw Murdered Soul Suspect I was pretty excited, I though this was an paranormal detective game. Eventhough this is a detective game it's not really paranormal game it's definitely a detective game and a pretty good one. The graphics are better then I though and the gameplay is pretty fun. Only downside is the paranormal part, I was pretty hyped about it but it isn't really ''paranormal''. But it's definitely a good game.