Reviews for Bully: Scholarship Edition

76

GTA in school

Diesertyp | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all Diesertyp's reviews »

In this game you play the Story of Jimmy Hopkins who's Mother send him to Bullworth Academy, where he has to earn the respect of the other gangs. (kinda like in gta san andreas) Beside the main story there are a lot of side quests to finish and a lot of collectables to collect and plenty of other things you can do. I relay recommend this game!!

75

GTA: Boarding School Edition

vekktorious | July 25, 2014 | See all vekktorious's reviews »

Think about the absurdity that is the GTA series and apply it to a school setting, then make it more PG and you have BULLY. The game is a console port, and Rockstar didn't do the bets job facilitating this port, but it is completely playable, albeit some tricky but adjustable control settings. The graphics are outdated for 2014, but the gameplay is still hilarious. The player assumes the role of Jimmy Hopkins, a monster of a child with few likeable characteristics, and begins an adventure at Bullworth Academy causing havoc everywhere he goes. You also have to go to class and pass your classes in the game, which is an interesting part of the game.Overall, Bully is a good and fairly entertaining buy when on sale.

65

like GTA, but with children

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

cons a story filled with American school stereotypes. For a person from Europe it's hard to relate graphical quality feels outdated by now pros the class mini games the open world that opens up after a few chapters the slot machines in the festival place.

I found that this is not a game for me. The graphics are slightly outdated, the story (like I already said) is very American audience based and the things that I like are far in between. However it's not a bad game. If you would like to play GTA but with children instead of adults this could be the perfect game for you!

90

Finally got a Scholarship

HaonofRemlu | May 19, 2014 | See all HaonofRemlu's reviews »

This game is, as most people would guess based off who made it, basically a grand theft auto except you are a kid in this crappy school. You can get in trouble, be a teacher's pet, and best of all fail classes unless you are actually good at the classes that is... Anyway, it is a really good game, and I would recommend this to anyone who likes games like GTA.

89

Like a kid again

iamstillbroke | May 4, 2014 | See all iamstillbroke's reviews »

There's no end to the potential Bully had as a series. If it had only reached the mystical goals Rockstar set for it, a third installment would surely be in the works now. As it is, Bully is a solid adventure game which features the quirky humor of the GTA series, but without its lethality. The lack of lethal options actually makes it more enjoyable, since players are somewhat encouraged to explore the game's many distractions.

Because it's set in a school, it might raise nostalgic feelings for some players, whether their school was as brutal as Bullworth or not. Jimmy Hopkins himself isn't completely relatable, but players may feel empathy for the troubled teen.

The supporting cast itself has as much personality as Jimmy, even if they are put into stereotypical cliques. While it does hinder full character development, the different aspects of each cliques are explore through its students, which is honestly good enough for the game.

Exploring Bullworth itself is fun, and getting the rubber bands and cards lend to the wanderlust vibe it gives off. Classes, while tedious at times, are necessary to play the missions without the hindrance of preps or cops chasing you down- and the perks are not half-bad either.

For anyone thinking to buy the game, do it. The additional classes, missions, and dialogues of the Scholarship Edition just makes the game more re-playable and entertaining.

88

Where you can freely be a bully and have tons of fun.

MafuMafu | May 2, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

Have you ever wondered about a more immature GTA? I'm not saying that Bully is immature at all. I'm saying that Jimmy, the protagonist of the game, is just a teenager with a lot of issues, trying to adapt in the strange Bullworth Academy, at the same time as he tries to pass in all his grades. It's a game where you can prove yourself among everyone in the school through mischief and favors for almost everyone. There are all kind of very funny missions and characters to meet, and that's what makes Bully such a great game. Graphically it's not so awesome now. But, it's still very good. If you have the money and don't know which game to play, I suggest you to buy Bully. I guarantee that you're going to enjoy it.

85

feels like GTA meets an old adventure paltformer

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

always thought this was just an over complicated gta clone. it has all the things you would expect from one, but seems to just surpass it enough to make it its own thing. The graphics are nicely updated in this version and the gameplay is always fantastic. the only thing that bothers me sometimes is the camera ( it might just be me but it likes to jump around from time to time).

albeit the graphics are still very out dated, and the voice overs could use some work... still a very enjoyable play through no matter what.

90

It's fun getting into trouble

taigatsu | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

While the GTA series becoming increasingly self-serious, Bully carries itself with an mischievous swagger. It takes all the aspects of an open-world sandbox game and instead of building bigger and outward, it focuses on a more tightly constrained setting littered with detail. There is a real dedication to the theme here, where instead of murderous gun-toting sociopaths and career criminals, the world is populated by high school archetypes who throw stink bombs, wheel around on bicycles and have crushes on each other. Time progresses on a schedule, and you'll have to learn how to manage going to class and attending school functions with shenanigans and getting into trouble. It's a much more lighthearted take on open world games, but hangs on to its rebellious streak with pride.

80

Bully Review

DarkSparda | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all DarkSparda's reviews »

bully: scholarship edition is a great sequel to bully on the ps2. the new add-ons are pretty baller. the 8 new missions are fun. the multiplayer mode is ok. its not really that fun, unless you and a friend are really bored. the new classes give you more things to do besides missions. the new characters are fun to use. overall this game is a great sequel. this game is for the person who likes GTA without all the blood, drugs, and guns. i recommend this game to anyone who is a GTA fan. i recommend this for someone who got the 1st bully. the story line goes like this. you are a troubled teenager named jimmy hopkins. his mom goes on a year long honeymoon. he goes to bullworth academy. you go around and complete mission, go to class, and complete jobs for people. it has the same kinda story line as GTA. you have to earn the respect of all the cliques.

91

Ever wanted to be a bully? Play this game.

Fleexie | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all Fleexie's reviews »

Bully: Scholarship Edition offer a lot of great features such as: Great variety of weapons - You can use a lot of different things as weapons, whether it's items that you have created in chemistry class or if you have found fruits. There are also other weapons that you receive through out the game. Another little fun weapon is snowball(s). Classes - There are different classes you "need" to attend to some of these are English, Math, Art, Chemistry and others. Each class give you are reward for fulfilling it. Transportation possibilities - You can use skateboards, bikes, scooter and Go-kart. And of course the traditional method walking. Fun Fair (Or what you would call it) - It is a great place with several fun mini games and with rewards from a gift shop. A great place to visit if you are tired of the missions or just want to have some fun. There are also other features such as "factions" of students, customization (clothes) and stuff like that.

The graphics are still good considered it is an old game. It got a lot of details and sometimes you can just walk around and enjoy the good looking world.

I definitely recommend this game, it is made by one of my favorite developers which is Rockstar. You can clearly see that some places they have had GTA's exploration in mind. You can look at Bully Scholarship Edition and think it is a school like GTA with less blood and violence.

96

Simply Amazing

XiPaRiSiiTeiX | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all XiPaRiSiiTeiX's reviews »

Although the graphics may be a little outdated by today's standards and the lip syncing is a bit off this game is still an alltime favourite of mine. The part that shines the most in this game is the story. Rockstar outdid themselves by creating a game that would totally immerse it's players and giving them an experience they will love. You take on the role of 15 year old Jimmy Hopkins and as the name implies you are a bully, at this new school you will encounter several groups of stereotypical high school kids and do missions to earn respect amongst them all and work your way up the food chain. If you are thinking of buying this game and don't think it is worth the money then let me tell you that this game is still worth £30 and getting it for anything less is an absolute steal as you will have hours of fun even after you beat the main story.

91

Great memories

alexs87 | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all alexs87's reviews »

One of the best rockstars games of all time. Very original, feels like playing GTA except that instead of a gun you hold a slingshot. The story is pretty neat, makes you feel like youre really in school. Attending classes is pretty cool, gym was my favourite, althought truancy can get even better :) You`ll get cool weapons like firecrackers or stink bombs. The world is not very large but it is enough to keep you entertained for the whole game (carnvial rocks). I remember playing this game with my friends a while ago and we had lots of fun. A must have if you like the GTA series or just want to feel like a schoolboy again.

91

True greatness

Neonberry | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

The game is exactly what the title implies. You are a young little rascal arriving to a new school where you have to establish your position buy pranking and tormenting your teachers and schoolmates. It is a very well put together game that has much more to it that one would expect. Countless mini-games to emulate your studies and different other activities, you have to balance your relationship with different factions such as the nerds and jocks. All in all it pretty much plays like a school GTA has an entertaining storyline, good humour - simply it is a lovable game. I recommend it for those who want some long lasting light paced fun in a slightly unusual setting.

90

One of the best games of all time

andymanmessiah | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all andymanmessiah's reviews »

A fantastic "GTA"-style game except without guns and violence and bloodshed and cars! Jimmy Hopkins is fifteen and stuck at the strict Bullworth Academy. Help him navigate the school hierarchy, pass classes and kiss girls (or boys) in order to become the king of Bullworth Academy.

Rocking original soundtrack composed by Shawn Lee!

90

A true Rockstar classic.

FLD | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

This game might not have been as big a deal as Grand Theft Auto but believe me, it's every bit as good. Bullworth Vale is as much fun to explore as any iteration of Liberty City. The cast of characters are memorable and hilarious. The story is what you'd expect from Rockstar. This game is a classic and since we're unlikely to be getting a sequel any time soon, you owe it to yourself to give the original a shot if you haven't yet.

90

Bully - A second chance

velkyr | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all velkyr's reviews »

Me and Bully have had a strange history. Back in 2007, I picked up the game, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Except I never got to finish it. Life got in the way, sold my consoles and games, and Bully was left unfinished. Then, the parents found out about the game, became outraged, and the Canadian government (Or at least my provincial one) decided that Bully was best left in the storage room, and not on display. Because of this, my local retailers stopped stocking a game that they couldn't display, as a good deal of games are impulse buys.

So, I went without, always wondering how it ended, never spoiling it for myself. When I saw the RockStar bundle, I knew it was fate. Bully was finally in my possession again, and I'm happy to say, I've finally finished. Was it worth the 6 year wait? Of course it was!

The graphics, while outdated by some of the more modern games, are still top grade in late 2013. While this is a standard "Here is your mission, go do it before X time" type of game, the unique story and setting immerses you in the action, and keeps you playing.

For those in a similar position, who wonder if Bully is worth getting again? Yes, yes it is. You won't be disappointed.

84

A good stereotyped game

MDuh | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all MDuh's reviews »

Introduction

The game is developed by rockstar games and it was originally released in playstation 2 on october 2006 and was ported in the PC and xbox 2 years after and was renamed to bully: scholarship edition. The scholarship edition features improved graphics, added exclusive content that is not available for PS2 like more missions, more characters, more items and clothing and more classes to attend, yes, you can attend classes in this game.

Now that I finished introducing you the game, let's talk about the game itself. Bully is an action-adventure sandbox game focused in a school environment. At start, you are introduced to Jimmy hopkins, a vagrant student who has been kicked out numerous times due to a number of unthinkable offences. As a result, You find yourself being thrown at the worst possible school you can ever imagine filled with students just like you. Your primary objective in the game is basically start from scratch and needle yourself to the top as the one who holds the power and respect.

Gameplay

The game plays like a normal sandbox game, you search for missions or random jobs and finish them giving you certain rewards. Although if I compared this to GTA, you won’t get bored easily with the missions because of the unique and diverse NPC interactions in this game, you can lock to an NPC with a certain faction and it will reply to you with an appropriate dialogue and body language depending on the respect they have on you. Factions that hate you will actually aggressively attack you without any warning. You have the choice if you want to be a pacifist and apologize to them or either let them bully you by giving them money instead so they stay away with you, or you can do it the jimmy hopkins' way which is basically beating em’ up. There are a variety of items and long-range weapons that you can use in the game, but the combat heavily relies to hand-to-hand combat. The combat system is very well done so you don’t have to worry about it, there are tons of combos that you can do, and if you add taunts and the different humiliations you can do in the equation, the combat won’t be boring as it gives out a bit of challenge to at least time your blocks and special attacks. There’s a lot more that this game has to offer though apart from the main story, there are tons of optional things to do so this game will be a delight for completionists.

Let’s start with classes, since the game pretty much revolves in a school environment, adding and attending classes while playing just makes your experience of bully better. There are 8 different classes, and completing a specific class gives you special bonuses for your character. Each class asks you to play a mini-game which I will discuss with you in a moment. The mini-games aren’t that shabby and actually quite fun.

English makes your apology and taunts more effective, the mini-game is like a text-twist mini-game Geography unlocks collectible items in the map so you can easily get them, the mini-game for geography Is quite predictable. If you guessed that it is matching and determining countries and US states, then you are absolutely right. Math just unlocks outfits and some trophy displays in your room, the mini-game for math is incredibly easy, just basic arithmetic and common sense question like, that’s biggest, smalles, slowest or fastest. Art unlocks grants more health by kissing on a girl by giving a gift to them, and when you finished all art classes, all girls wouldn’t require a gift for a kiss. The objective for this mini-game is you want to uncover the most space in the square, you want to enclose the objects without hitting your square or yourself Shop, which is a bit weird to me as I didn’t experience taking this class while I was on high school. Basically you are fixing a bike, the mini-game is a bit simplistic, you just need to follow the command being shown in the screen. There’s a minimum time do it so you need to it fast and accurately. It unlocks new designs and stats upgrade for your bike. Photography, basically in this class, you go outside and take pictures of landmarks of people. The class unlocks the ability to save pictures on your camera, you being able to fill the yearbook of every student in the school and at the final class, earns you double tickets in the carnival. Music, this is my favorite class since the mini-game is a rhythm game. Although very easy, you need to press and time two buttons according to the music you are playing. Surprisingly the music is perfectly synced when I played it so it’s enjoyable at least. Music class unlocks Outfits Chemistry, in this class there will be a series of command that you will need to press chronologically in a small window, it’s a bit similar to music class but there are no rhythm to follow and more buttons to press. Chemistry unlocks weapons for you to easily make on your dorm. And lastly, Gym classes. There are 2 mini-games for gym, it’s either wrestling or dodgeball. You unlock fighting combos and weapon accuracy upon finishing the class.

Well that a long just to discuss classes. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg, I won’t discuss them deeply and just enumerate the other extra things that you can do in bully.

Lockpicking Item Collectibles Bike races Mini-kart races Jobs Special errands Yearbooks Faction challenges Detention Food fights Seasonal changes (Halloween and winter days) Arcade mini-games Carnival mini-games Carnival unlocks Tagging territory Asylum

Adding all depth and all the content you can explore in the game plus the great combat system I’m gonna give the bull a gameplay score of

Gameplay score of 9.1/10

Graphics and Performance

Since the game is released @ 2006 and was just ported to the PC, I will be judging the game’s graphics based on 2006 but performance based on what I’ve experienced while playing the game. Textures are not that bad. Body language is quite good, synced with the game same with facial expression. But the lip sync is just bad, it’s almost non-existence. Grass textures are seriously laughable for a 2006 game, it’s just 2D sprites and 3D ones are just crossed patterns of 2D grass sprites.

Performance wise the game is ported really good, didn’t experience any graphical glitches, I only start feeling some lag after 5 hours of continuous playtime.

I used a controller all throughout the game though so I can’t comment if this game is playable on a keyboard

Graphics and performance score: 6.3/10

Sound and Dialogues

For background sound, I’m a bit quirked by it because it sounds like it was recorded in mono quality. But if you disregard the quality of it, The music really fits the game really well especially on specific scenarios. No complains on sound effects, but again, it feels like the game engine only uses mono sounds.

Dialogues are impressive, there’s a wide variety of dialogues that you will hear each different with each faction and depending on their status on you.

Sound and Dialogues score: 8.4/10

Final verdict and is it worth it?

Absolutely yes, for 15$, this game will last you over 15 hours just by doing the main story line and other extras that you might encounter. Game is more enjoyable if you used a controller as far as I’m concerned, no need for a mouse since there’s no accurate aiming that you must perform; the lock feature will do this job for you. I don’t see the game being more enjoyable if you tried to fps the shooting part.

For the final score, I will put a ratio of (60:20:20) since gameplay is seriously much needed for a sandbox game like this to keep the players continue to play the game and not get bored on it. Graphics isn’t that paid attention but getting the right atmosphere by setting the right dialogues and just the right scenery will make the game really well.

Final score: 8.4/10

79

Great,fun, open-world game with lots of humor and variety

wdp1024 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all wdp1024's reviews »

Bully is a pretty fun game. The main character is Jimmy Hopkins, a boy who's been sent to a school called Bullworth Academy which has lots of cool characters both students and adults. The game has been called a kid grand theft auto or GTA in school and I'd say that's a accurate comparison. It's made by Rockstar, the makers of GTA so there are lots of similarities. Just like GTA Jimmy will be asked to complete tasks from other characters and you can date and kiss other characters.

One cool thing is that all the character are unique and 1 of a kind so unlike other open world game there are no duplicate characters. The school itself is huge and you can go to different classes during the day and by going to those classes you earn upgrades. You don't have to go to class but teachers and other adults will try to catch you and make you go to class.

What really surprised me was there are areas and missions that take place outside of school so the game is open world. There are lots of fun mini games that you have to do and you have customization with clothes, hair, shoes and so on.

Bully is a fun game and if you're a fan of open world games, specifically the style, humor and mission structure of GTA then you'll be sure to like this.

100

GTA in school - Funny yet interesting

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

Rockstar Games once again proves that it is one of the best game studios that were ever established. This game is simply a "GTA in school" so it's action packed, funny and interesting. It tells a story of a typical school boy which must pass the classes, kiss a girl and beat up these stupid nerds in library - cool! Story is long but interesting, you will love the missions. After few hours you will unlock the town - so you will be able to explore it with your bike. You can visit shops, change clothes, beat up other students and go to principal - isn't it awesome? For this price this is one of the best deals. Pranks, violence and life of typical 15-year guy - don't look any further, just buy it!

A deserved 100/100 - it couldnt be better for five years old game.

81

Fun game

iamkyo90 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

A game in which the story and gameplay hooks you pearl Gameplay: I feel very good when you have skateboard, eggs, slingshot to make classes such as dissecting frogs or playing music and having also a city where you can go freely Technology: It's ok but there are times where you see people traversing or you can enter rooms of people having the door locked Graphics: very good and acceptable though to be the 2008 is not very good because if you compare with crysis (2007) and gTA IV (2008) although there are times when it seems that has graphics similar to sims 2 Sound: it seems very good but hearing the same all the time tiring slightly Innovation: gta Uff one school is great I think very innovative and with that I tell you all

85

Funny

ysk1985 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This game is funny, it's like a tame version of GTA but you are in high school playing as a bully, instead of playing as a killer going on hit mission and errand runs, you are bully around the school. This is one RockStar game to add to your collection. The graphics are pretty good for an old game, around the same as San Andreas but in a school environment. You get to do funny things such as hide inside garbage cans to escape from being told off.

46

It's something...

08woodh1 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

I played this game a long time ago on the Playstation 2, and when I played it recently, it was nice to go back to it, but I still hardly understand the game. The game is old, I admit, but some audio files sound like they were recorded by a toaster, and that's hardly an exaggeration. It's good for some people, just not for me.

84

Awesome

dbhar | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all dbhar's reviews »

This game has delivered what it's promised. I just finished it last night and i loved every minute of it. From giving wedgies to just running around exploring. It's not as nonlinear as GTA but for what you can do, it's really fun.

88

One of Rockstars best

P1_2A_9B | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all P1_2A_9B's reviews »

For the price it is now on the rockstar sale I reccomend getting this and even if it isnt on sale id still get it if you have the cash. This game is both funny and fun. Every high school stereotype back then is in this game from the nerds to the jocks and so on. the classes in this game are also fun since you have these minigames to play and some are easy which some may be hard for everyone (english). This game has fun missions and some wierd interesting things going on. If you are a fan of rockstar games or just a gamer in general or someone who likes to have fun in games you best get this game also its a rockstar port so it may or may not have some glitches to it but i found none whatsoever so far

82

Fub game

spiken0 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

Rockstar always delivers! Great game, little bit less serious than gta series and it is really funny! Bully was originally released on ps2 but did aged really well and rockstar didi really good job with porting it to the pc. It is a must have for every gta fan!

81

Be the bully you wanted to be

lok0812 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game have you play as Jimmy and allows you to do all sorts of bullying in school. Similar to any Rockstars open world games, the game have a moderate size open world for you to explore and mini games to play. While you are in school you finish objectives similar to missions around the school ground like fetching or beating people up. Storyline is pretty good as you get to carry out Jimmy's personality to the teachers and fellow students. With over dozens of NPCs each with their own personality to interact with. If you are tired of the always violent GTA from Rockstars, give this relaxing game a try and do all sort of pranks to the students and teachers that you always wanted to do.

80

Nice game

simodeso | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It's like a GTA but in Highschool and it's fantastic. The gameplay is awesome, story too and it's a very nice sandbox game ! It doesn't cost a lot, give it a try it is worth every cent. If you liked GTA this game is for you even if it is a bit old ( i played it on my playstation 2)

83

Back to school

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Never before has education been this much fun. In Bully, you're just another student trying to get by, however as it turns out you'll take part in some major events at Bullworth Academy. Bully features an open world filled with side missions and mini-games to play through, some more fun than others but overall very enjoyable.

I think Rockstar did a great job in taking a different setting and making it fun and exciting, the story is great with plenty of memorable characters and moments. The music, sound and graphics are all fine, but the game does have a few fault; namely some poor optimization and a few bugs occurring every now and then.

Despite falling short on the optimization, it's still a game worth playing. Rockstar tried a new setting and they really nailed it.

87

Fun!

GoldenSaint | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all GoldenSaint's reviews »

Really fun game and it is pretty addictive. The story is okay kind of weird but enjoyable. The graphics a not bad considering its an older game. It is open-world but not as open as you world think. You can decide when to take on missions and roam around the school but that's it the story is pretty linear.

Overall great game and at this price its a steal.

84

Really Great!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

This was easily one of my favorite games on my Ps2, and i really enjoyed playing it on the PC as well. The Scholarship Edition adds a few new missions (Nothing major), some new school classes and improved graphics (As compared to the Ps2 version). I found the story enjoyable, and i loved the atmosphere surrounding the game. The game is best played with an Xbox 360 controller, but the Keyboard controls are fine as well.

93

The story, it has it all!

notmyid | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all notmyid's reviews »

This game is a piece from my later childhood which I replayed again a few months ago. Damn, this game was epic, the characters are amazing, the whole world is so real, it takes you on the journey of being a real student in Bullworth academy. I enjoyed my trip there, and found the events and possibilities way too much fun. And I just might return again in a few years. :) And to be honest? I liked Bully WAY MORE than any of the GTAs (they were pretty fun, but the appeal this game brought to me was of a different kind).

95

GTA meets High School

spycid | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Bully is a refreshing take on high school in a sandbox mode. You play as an anti-hero, just like any other gta character where it is an open world environment, you can start any main story missions and spend as much time as you want by completing side missions. Overall it's a must play title for every gamer and sandbox lover.

73

Good game!

backslashio | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all backslashio's reviews »

Whilst somewhat dated by today's standards it shows that Rockstar can make a mature themed game with the presence of a school yard. If you like GTA you'll enjoy this, there's a lot of fun to be had with plenty of sidemissions to keep you interested

Hopefully one day they'll announce a sequel for the next-gen era