Reviews for Max Payne

90

Payne to the Max

xPsych0s1sx | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all xPsych0s1sx's reviews »

I remember playing this game on PS2, it was a really great game then and it still holds up really well to this day. Max is a man with nothing else to lose, he lost his wife and daughter and he wants answers. The graphics are good for their time but you can tell it's an old game. The gameplay is great, I loved the whole bullet time mechanic to the game and the shooting was was fun and guns were plentiful. I beat this game so many times over the years, This game is amazing

94

Classy Old School Shooter mixed with some John Woo in it!

khawaja07 | July 24, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

After all these years, if you still haven't gotten around to play this game then you're missing a real gem. Back in the day, it was one of the very few games to have excellent graphics with the combination of an exquisite Third Person Gunplay that even still stands out today. It introduced an all new innovative game mechanic known as 'bullet-time' which simply slows down time in which you have time to choose your targets and take them out like in those classic John woo and Matrix Movies! Other popular games such as F.E.A.R then followed this suite as well.

The Story is told excellently through 'Internal Monologues' and also through dialogue between the player and any other NPC. Again, at the time when it got released, story was really good involving a cop who's fighting against criminal mobs and in the process get's his family brutally murdered and is on a mission to avenge their losses. Its full of twists and turns and is not to be missed!

Gameplay is excellent and is easily the most highlighted feature of the game, its what makes this game a classic shooter, you have a plethora of weapons at your disposal and can adapt to any situation the game puts you in also you can duel wield any two similar weapon types and wreck havoc! Thanks to this, it offers tons of replayability.

Its Narrative & Soundtrack are a great treat to listen to as well, its fits nicely with any situation you find yourself in, whether its a gunfight or a nightmare!

All in all its an unforgettable experience thats not to be missed even to this day and you easily find it at a really cheap price. Totally worth it. It was easily was and is my most favorite series by far.

90

A classic and a fun game to this day

ficha13 | June 22, 2014 | See all ficha13's reviews »

Max Payne was a game and a half when it originally came out. It was very different from a lot of games back then(heck, it's still better and more innovative than most games today) with it's Noir style, really tragic and well realized main character, a story that was expertly written and most memorable aspect, the bullet time mechanic that a lot of games would haphazardly try to copy or imitate. You use the mechanic by slowing down time and/or jump-dodging and shooting enemies. The meter besides the health bar represents how much time you can spend in this mode and you fill the meter up by shooting enemies. This makes the game a bit tactical at moments and makes you carefully plan out your attack strategy. To help you in your struggle is a huge arsenal of weapons that you progressively unlock through the game. You start from simple pistols and shotguns and move on to bigger and better stuff. The weapon choice really is huge and really varied and a bunch of them have their own little attributes which makes them very useful in certain situations. Luckily, the game also has a save feature that allows you to save at any moment, a rarity these day, which can make the game a tad easier at moments. I say a tad because even with that, the game is really hard. Not punishingly hard but it won't certainly allow you to run out in the open and shoot everyone up like insert 80's action hero here. Aside from successfully introducing the mechanic into gaming, it has a well written story and interesting characters which are presented through stylish cutscenes that are presented as graphic novel panels. The voice acting in these scenes are always top notch and the writing never loses it's touch. There are a lot of twists and turns as the story progresses and I can say with certainty that the ending will leave you satisfied. In conclusion, Max Payne, in my opinion, is one of the best third person shooters ever made, a classic that has stood the test of time and a game that is well worth you're money. Also there's a huge modding community that is still making various stuff from simple weapon mods to full conversion mods with new maps, stories and sometimes game mechanics.

95

Classic and dense

Gosen | June 18, 2014 | See all Gosen's reviews »

Criminal story with dense atmosphere. It starts like in Hitchcock's movie and then player has no choice but to start and continue this dark adventure. But only with that background game can't be good without at least solid gameplay. It's not that kind of game - gameplay is even better than this. One of the first games, which in character could use famous bullet time, and good lord, it's beautiful. Having in mind release date graphics and physics are outstanding. Shooting bad guys has never been so good in tpp game before. Unfortunately there are lot of shooting sequences so by time it could be boring, but surprisingly it's only for a while. It's so well done, that every time it's awesome anyway. Oldschool game with in a few places challenging difficulty level, dense plot and one of most famous video game heroes.

85

Decent shooter with a great story

Gmen | April 15, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Upon first looking at this game you’d think that it’s just a plain old third person shooter – but you’d be wrong. It’s arguably the best third person shooter ever.

This game came out at a time when the Matrix was all the rage. It was perfect timing, because the game utilises a gameplay mechanic seen in that film – which hadn’t been done before in games: being able to enter bullet time, which entails slowing down everything in the game including your own movements, and being able to dodge bullets.

The traditional health bar is missing – in its place is a likeness of Max, and when he is hit, it depletes, and turns from white to red if Max takes a lot of damage – which is accompanied by limping. Max can then find bottles of painkillers which he can then use to regain health, which gradually regenerates upon consumption.

The game features some epic gunplay, not just because of bullet time, but because you have a large variety of weapons to collect and use throughout the game, all of which are selectable from a weapons menu not unlike that seen in Half-Life.

This, to me, is the best game in the series. For its time it had good graphics – particularly character models and animation, specifically Max, who showcases emotions, albeit limited, depending on the overall mood – something which was rarely seen before, and perhaps isn’t even seen too often today either. But the story holds up as one of the most epic and engaging of any game ever.

90

Ahhh...

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

The good old days when this was on the PS2 and it looked awesome as well. It's was a hit when it first came to the PS2. Just writing this review kind of makes me miss playing some games on the PS2.

It's been awhile since I've last played this game. I would say about...9 years, which is a long, long time for me to even remember what actually went on in this game. I think I'll buy this game when I can get $10 bucks this weekend from a bet. I'll continue onto part 2 as well when I finish this game. Must buy for those who has never heard or this game.

90

One of the greatest game of its time

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Max Payne was a revolutionary game. Not only because it introduced "bullet time" for the first time (slowing the flow of time down while you jump in a room, empty your rounds in the wall and then land between the piles of garbage in the room) but also for its way of storytelling. The "hero" of the game is Max Payne who got tangled up in a messy case, has his family executed and is out for revenge. Pretty basic story if you ask me but the way it is told it brings out a lot of emotions through the story told and the story seen: run down squats with junkies mumbling, fancy bars and probably one of the best written drug-trips of videogaming history. Max Payne is a must play game for anyone who loves the rogue cop kind of movies, shooters or is just wondering about where bullet time comes from.

96

A true classic

gforcesa | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Max Payne is probably my all time favorite 3rd person game.The way it is created and the story is very well done.The story is, you play as Max Payne and you come back from work one day just to find that your wife and child have been killed.After that you try and find the people that did this and get revenge.It's just an awesome game for a good price.You won't regret playing it.I've beaten it so many times and i still enjoy it.

95

The fall of a good guy and the rise of an anti-hero

Patofilio | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all Patofilio's reviews »

Max Payne is an interesting game, in it you play as a detective by the same name whose family was murdered by group of drug addicts, sending the interesting character of Max into deep depression, making him quit his position as a detective and joining the DEA. The problems start when a new drug by the name of Valkary starts popping around and Max is stuck in the middle of an ordeal of gangsters, drug lords and corrupt corporations.

Story: Max Payne features a very well written storyline with an amazing protagonist. Players getting into the shoes of the washed out cop will instantly identify themselves with him, understanding his pain and also his apathy. The story is narrated beautifully in comic sequences between each chapter, mixed with an episodic style of narration which is strange at first but it becomes intriguing as the game goes one. Other than Max the other interesting character is Mona, a mysterious woman who seems to always end up bumping into Max, what secrets she holds and what you are to find is definitely one of the best parts of the game, with some pretty intense moments and good plot twists.

Gameplay: This is a the classic third person shooter, Max has a wide arsenal of weapons at his disposal and each of them is pretty fun to use. Max can also enter bullet time mode, slowing time around and setting up the stage for some wicked flips and action movie style take downs. The game is also pretty difficult, so don't expect to be running straight into a bullet storm all the time. Enemies are truly deadly and administrating your pain killers is vital to your survival.

In conclusion this is an incredible classic game, a must lay for any gamer out there that is looking for some action. With an amazing story and bloody fun gameplay Max Payne is a classic that must played.

100

Story telling like no other

asbath | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all asbath's reviews »

This isn't your usual shooter game, and it helped re-define the genre. Between the story narration and the introduction of bullettime, this game introduced more significant changes to the shooter style game than anything else in the past decade. This may have been the first game in a long while for the protagonist to realize that they are in a video game, and that was a really fun way to break that 4th wall.

Technically the game had some really tight shooting, but it was really on rails that meant that players couldn't really explore that much in the game. It's a really fast paced game, however, so I guess there isn't that much to explore anyways. Graphically this game really lags behind current games, but at the time of release it was something completely new and beautiful: explosions, falling objects, the bullet time effect while dodging, it was all really beautiful to be in the middle of.

The voice acting is fantastic, likely one of the best up until that time, and the sound effects were just as great. It was relatively environmental too: melting snow drips, traffic and the like.

As cliche as it is to say, this game was truly the Matrix of video games. Without a doubt, this title will be remembered as a milestone in the history of video games.

95

The beginning of a suburb Trilogy

GoldenSaint | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all GoldenSaint's reviews »

I don't know if Rockstar knew at the time what they were doing and that this game would go on to make one of the most successful franchise in history. Max Payne is like a fusion between A FPS and a story that you would not find in a FPS but rather in an RPG or an adventure game. The story is not unique per say, it is the typical Vengeance against all odds story. What is most fascinating is the way the story is told through a series of comic book style sequences and a few live action scenes. This works becuase the story is so good and the voice acting is incredible. Now you might be thinking why would I play a 12 year old game. This gam,e was so innovative at the time that the graphics and mechanics of the game are so good that you wont even think about it trust me. Overall I highly recommend this game!

100

Old school gaming at its best

MousE0910 | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all MousE0910's reviews »

Max Payne is a classic game that, although looking dated, can still be amazing fun to play over and over again. And when you get bored with that, a myriad of mods await. The game nails the shooting mechanics down perfectly, having a very natural feel to it and the shootouts are great fun. Coupled with a gripping and mature story, we have the recipe for success. There's not really anything flawed I can find on Max Payne and if you haven't played it yet, shame on you. This is a classic that's a must-play for any self-respecting gamer.

100

Great Game

EXOTRACE | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all EXOTRACE's reviews »

I remember playing this game for HOURS on end and just absolutely loving the gameplay. My Dad and I would play this every weekend, hours on end, beating it several times, while, watching the movie. The movie was also great, it had one of my favorite actors in it and it was about Max Payne! What could go wrong! I loved the game, great work on the action and storyline! I love this game sooo much! Please buy this game! Also im trying to get money from this so refer, review and play guys! Have a great day sir, a great day,,,,

90

One of the most original action games out there

Highlander9782 | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

I remember watching a trailer for this game back in the late 90's and hoping and waiting for it to come out. This game is a action movie fans dream with gunfights and violence similar to a John Woo movie. This is the first game I know that incorporated the slo-mo gunplay in a game. The story is top notch as well, similar to a detective drama and presented in unique comic book style visuals. Definitey buy for such an original action game.

98

Changed action games forever and still holds weight today

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

Max Payne started slow motion bullet dodging etc which led to many other games having similar mechanics. While this feature makes Max Payne memorable, the story and character building of Max is what makes it legendary.

The noir comic book feeling while playing is remarkable. Players can and will feel Max's struggle in this tragic story. Even in 2013, this 2001 game is amazing for what it is and will always be in the upper echelon of action games.

85

Max Payne is a great game even with todays standards

DManVI | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all DManVI's reviews »

The gameplay is a really good game, even though its very old. Its age can really show in the graphics, but some of the animations still look good. The face of Max Payne is truly epic and gives my review 10 extra points. The story of Max Payne is made up through gameplay, where you mostly jump around in slow motion killing bad guys, and cutscenes who are made up using comicbook-like scenes where max payne narrates whats going on.

90

Where the Payne Begins!

Subj3ctLambda | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

Max Payne is in my opinion, a masterpiece with its gripping storyline involving Max Payne, left widowed and childless because of an attack on his house by Valkyr junkies! Max looks for leads and 3 yrs later finds them. After the unfortunate death of his friend and fellow detective Alex, Max ties the Italian Mafia to the crime.

From there, Max goes up the food chain from small fries to the Big Fish, to uncover a huge secret and the reason for his family's death! This game shows you what happens when you cross a man with nothing left to lose! Max's phenomenal bodycount throughout the game shows just how desperate he is to get to the bottom of it!

Even after all these years, Max Payne is still very much enjoyable! So any unfortunate soul who hasn't yet tried it, should get it now, play it and get sucked into the world of Max Payne!

90

Still unique

MarcoCav | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Max Payne, despite the passage of several years since its release, it is still a game almost unique. Its gameplay, based mainly on the bullet-time, it is something that you can not find anywhere else. This factor, combined with the charisma of the character, the storyline told through beautifully-drawn comic books, has made Max Payne a game worthy of being remembered.

100

The start of a great series of games

rjb789 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

The story of this game is absolutely brilliant, it includes lots of interesting plot twists and tons of characters that you can sympathize with. The voice acting is great too. The whole game is scripted like a film is, with lost of cut scenes and stylized shots. The game play is awesome and the idea of bullet time really switches around the shooting mechanics and reinvents the idea of a third person shooter. If you like 3rd person action games with an interesting story and a cinematic edge you should get this game. Even if the game doesn't sound like one you would like you should still try the game for the small price it is at!

95

One of The Best

Verdungo | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Verdungo's reviews »

I've completed this game a few times, and it's still awesome. The way story leads You to the end is excellent. You got time for anything, find all the secret and no need to rush, no one is screaming at you to do something. Simply slow and sleepy noir style with alot of action. And graphics... it's still very good and realistic, maybe just animations look kind an old, but hey, this game has more than ten years:) I really love Remedy for this game. I almost forgot, music... wow! The whole immersion of this game should be an example to imitade for all other developers who wants to show great story with really good gameplay.

87

The world needs more games like this

Nova4 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Nova4's reviews »

Max Payne is the story of the police that loses everything for "mysterius reasons" and this torture him, this is a well narrated story with cool comic cutscenes and intense slowmo shooting mechanics. I love Max Payne, as a game, as a character, as a story, is a linear game, but when you reach the end of this game, you see as all fix and if you want to understand everthing you need to play a second run, and you never get tired of it. My personaly favorite Max Payne, one of my favorite stories of all the time, the action game that make cried for the corruption of this world, is a game that you must play. + Brillant narration + The best slowmod shooter evermade + Stuning story + One of the most memorable characters of the videogame industry

Max Payne a master piece of RockStar

89

The start of a brilliant trilogy

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

The beginning of one of my all time favorite trilogies. The style of the game was very different for its time, the comic book style cut scenes to further the story was a joy to watch. The gameplay was one of a kind back then, slow motion bullet time was fantastic to pull off. Diving into rooms slowing down time and taking out as many enemies as possible made you feel very accomplished , it was satisfying to pull off. The story was superb as well, the grittyness of the game and Max's need for revenge made it great to play through , it made you root for him. It was a great start for what will be a very memorable trilogy for many fans

97

Classic you just need to play.

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

The begin of a great franchise with high quality action packed story. Gameplay is just fantastic, you will love the systems which were used in this game, the most epic and known is a 'bullet time' fantastic thing. Noir story, great graphics and fantastic main hero - this is what you will get. If you are even considering this game - buy it right now!

100

The GAME.

rammpatricia | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all rammpatricia's reviews »

I played many games in my life, but this one is the absolute best. With such a dramatic story, and amazing dark atmosphere you just can't stop playing it. The graphics were outstanding way back, still enjoyable today. The voice acting is perfect, the whole game is like a movie. There are both cut scenes and graphic novel pages. I was 11 when I first played this game, I could not sleep for 3 days because of the sad story of Max :) Now I'm 20 and I still have to play this game again and again, because it's just never enough. The sequel is just as great as this one, so pick both of them!

95

One of the best games in computer history!

Piospi | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all Piospi's reviews »

Great game with such a great and dramatic storyline, bullet time mechanics and music.

89

Amazing Game

thegaminglyfe | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Max Payne was an amazing game when it came out. The gameplay was very fun and something unique, it looked like something from a John Woo movie. Max Payne tries hard to keep it balanced so that you can't use slow motion the whole game. You have a bullet time meter and you can't use slow motion or go into a dive unless you have something in that meter. The story is great and will immerse you. In between each level it uses a comic strip to show the story. Highly recommended to any action fan.

90

Still holds up today :)

JABxxx | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all JABxxx's reviews »

I only recently played Max Payne after beating Max Payne 3. Expecting to walk into a game that would be far to dated to enjoy, I can honestly say I was surprised to find an excellent Noir story told through gameplay and Graphic novel cut scenes. The shooting is excellent and the bullet time just adds an element of cool that more shooters have tried to duplicate and succeed in some respects but not expertly capture the same feel. The story is depressing and I would rather not spoil anything for anyone who wishes to play this. Simply put, I love this game. My only gripe is that it takes a little to get it running on Windows 7 but no major problems.

95

an outstanding and original action game

suvojit91 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all suvojit91's reviews »

Max Payne is a man with nothing to lose in the violent, cold urban night. A fugitive undercover cop framed for murder, and now hunted by cops and the mob. Max is a man with his back against the wall, fighting a battle he cannot hope to win.

Max Payne is a relentless story-driven shooter about a man on the edge, fighting for his justice while uncovering plot-twists and twisted thugs in the gritty bowels of New York during the century's worst blizzard. Using the innovative Bullet Time mechanic, players can slow their sense of time in order to focus shots in intense encounters for deadly accuracy in life-or-death gun duels.

Max Payne is rife with gunplay that's almost indescribably beautiful to watch--and yet actually playing it is even better. Max Payne does have a few weaknesses, most notably in that it isn't very long and lacks any multiplayer features--but these things are hardly detrimental. After all, it's not often you get an outstanding and original action game that's not just different from all other shooters to date, but also in many ways superior.

The game features a gritty neo-noir style and uses graphic novel panels (with voice-overs) in place of animated cutscenes to narrate the game, as it draws inspiration from hard-boiled detective novels by authors like Mickey Spillane. The game contains many allusions to Norse mythology, particularly the myth of Ragnarök, and several of the names used in the game are those of the Norse gods and mythos. The gameplay is heavily influenced by the Hong Kong action cinema genre, particularly the work of director John Woo,and it was the first game to feature the bullet time effect popularized by The Matrix.

So what are you waiting for? Just grab a copy & start some shooting..

Rating: Metacritic:89/100 IGN:9.5/10 Gamespot: 9.2/10

86

Hype of bullet time

lok0812 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The begin of a great series with high quality of actions and the introduction to the series well known bullet time. With the great gameplay and the awesome AI, the game signature bullet time is not just some mechanic that players can use whenever they want and provide no special benefits and just a novelty. With the non stop crazy actions of this game it remains to be one of the best action game for the genre and most likely one of the best in the series. This is definitely a must get for any action fans and then entire franchise for players who enjoy the story.

88

A classic!

liberator328 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all liberator328's reviews »

Max Payne is a classic. The gameplay is great. The action is gruesome and awesome. The story is compelling and dramatic.It is one of my favorite games!

91

Feel the Payne

momoster69 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

It is a pretty excellent game, Gameplay was nice and new, especially the whole slow motion which I found cool. I recommend this game for anyone, even if your not into the whole shooting scene, the story will have you hooked

95

Excellent story, innovative combat

mahon | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

It's unbelievable that the game is like a dozen years old already. Despite its slightly unnatural animations and graphics far from current standards it remains one of the best told stories in PC gaming. It has everything a good story should have and everything it takes to make it a great game - characters, setting, plot, action. And we should remember how revolutionary its combat system was at the time of its release. Although now we can play the third part of this series, it's still good to look back and return to the roots - to the first Max Payne game. Even if only for the dramatic story, it's stil a game worth playing! And I think no collection will be complete without this game.

100

Classic

Matis221 | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all Matis221's reviews »

That game is classic shooter with an exellent story, with beautifull comic-style cutscenes. It have more than 10 years now, but it will give you not less fun than in 2001, when was released. Shooting bad guys in slow-motion is something that can't be described. For me this game is exellent and I'm sure i will come back to it for next 10 years. Absolutely "must-play" game.

97

Riddled with fun

RaTcHeT302 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Max Payne is a blast from the past of 2001, anyone who played this game got to see how the developers managed to create such an immersive Noire atmosphere with some of the greatest soundtracks ever composed, overall drammatic allowing us to feel the pain Max had to go through his whole life.

The game itself is full of action and the player will never feel bored, the plot twists are always nicely done and never felt forced. Surprisingly the game also features quite a nice ammount of ambientations, all of them being and feeling different. From Max's suburban house to a ghostly subway and so on.

96

Astounding Classic!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

Max Payne is one of the greatest examples of a developer taking a video game seriously, and that they, too, can be a form of art. With it's amazing writing, top-notch voice acting, and one of the best combat systems in a PC game at the time, it's easy to see why Max Payne was such a hit.

80

The first Max payne

simodeso | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It was fantastic at that age, it has a beatiful dramatic story that is written very very well. The gameplay was awesome the first attempt with matrix to use the slow-motion in shooters, and it was pretty well made. You will discover the Max Payne's personality and sad story that will lead to ruin his life with painkillers and alcohol. There are a lot of plot twist but Max payne has nothing to loose now.

96

Timeless Revolutionary TPS

spycid | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Rockstar always know how to deliver classic. Max Payne was a revolutionary game with a new Bullet Time concept which was way ahead of it's time. With a comic strip style cutscene and mature storyline, Max Payne won the heart of everyone. This is the beginning of one of the most accomplished franchises made by Rockstar Games.

90

Up there with the best of all time

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

This game is classic. It's noir style sets you in a mood, and soon you'll fall in love with the main character Max Payne's story. You instantly feel for the guy as his family is lost, and he's on a mission for justice. The gameplay is slick, as you'll run through the dirty streets and buildings of New York shooting up baddies with all kinds of weapons. Bullet time is in this game, and you'll be able to utilize it as you jump from corners and walls to fill the enemies with lead. Dual pistols, shotguns, and sub-machine guns are all fun to use. Filling an enemy with bullets is just so satisfying in this game, and the story sucks you in. You'll want to keep playing, you'll want to keep adventuring into the New York darkness that the game has to offer.

94

One of my all time favourites

JohnySVK | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all JohnySVK's reviews »

Max Payne in the time of it's release was maybe the best looking third person game. Sam Lake did his best in storywriting for this game, it's about a New York detective Max Payne who's wife and little daughter was murdered in his own house. Max starts his way to avenge them and clean his name in winter New York full of drugs mobsters and his own ghosts. This game machanics was based on the old John Woo's kung-fu movies. It has brought completely new feature called Bullettime like in the Matrix movies, when you can fly through the air in slow-motion shooting at enemies like crazy. It's incredibly funny to play and it has a moving stroytelling through comic-like cutscenes. You wont' regret any minute of this game I swear. :D