Reviews for Max Payne Complete Bundle

81

Awesome pack!

kenji86 | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all kenji86's reviews »

I got this during a sale. As a person grew up playing old / classic Max Payne games during early 2000's era, I have no objection with this pack. I mean seriously a complete set of Max Payne. For the classic players like me might say the new Max Payne (MP3) is not perfect. Hell, yes it is not perfect but still it is good. The price may be bit high when not in a sale, So I would recommend this pack to get while in a awesome sale. You won't regret it. And did I mention, it is steam redeemable.

83

Great bundle, awesome franchise

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I bought this bundle during a sale back in October and having not played any of the Max Payne games before, I did not know what to expect so I just went with the flow while also being guided by the name of the developer.

I must say that I was impressed, the story of Max Payne is great and the gameplay is exceptional. The first two games are already classics and regarding the third, take negative reviews with a grain of salt.

Max Payne 3 is different than its predecessors in many ways, but at the same time it is an innovations, a great game and the multiplayer is good and enjoyable.

Overall, I recommend this bundle to all the shooter fans out there, it's a great franchise, with a great story and an awesome gameplay.

95

Best deal Max Payne lovers will ever come across !!!

koushik | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all koushik's reviews »

first lemme tell you something !!! for the extremely low price of $16 , this bundle is a steal ... i couldn't believe at first when I saw the price and the contents of this bundle ... buy for yourself or gift it to someone else :) doesn't matter ... just buy this great bundle cuz it is worth every single cent you pay for this bundle ... and believe me !!! you won't get this bundle for an unbeatable price like this anywhere else .. i can guarantee you that ... it is a deal no gamer can afford to miss !!!!!!!

89

Outstanding bundle of great games

MichalM | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

Max Payne Complete Bundle is the game pack you should look for, it contain one of the best tps ever created - Max Payne, with and outstanding scenario, innovative gameplay for it's time and of course, great protagonist. Max Payne used to be a NY police officer but after one night everything changed. He entered into path of revengeance and he want to know why all of that hearbraking things happened. If you are looking for great TPS series to sit on for about 30-35h, here it is. Great Price so grab it now :)

85

Excellent Collection

ConorEngelb | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Well worth getting this collection; the number of games (excellent, all of them) makes the price worth it. Excellent games, with well-done stories that drive you on with decent graphics and enjoyable gameplay

85

Outstanding value for money

nemesis44uk | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

For the low, low price of £11.38, you get Max Payne and its sequels, plus all the DLC released. That is a shed-load of content for very little money.

Max Payne The original and innovative (for its time) film noir on PC. Looking rather dated now, it doesn't stop the story being a mature and disturbing one.

Max Payne 2 The classic Max Payne adventure - with photorealistic textures and a slew of special effects, this was the most cinematic Max Payne to date, until.....

Max Payne 3 Max is older, if not wiser. the storyline and Max's internal dialogue drive the story along at a furious rate.

Graphically and sonically, the series improves leaps and bounds. The grizzled Max Payne in MP3 is a shadow of his former self, no vigour, no energy, just a shambling wreck of a man.

Gameplay is solid and engaging, if a little bit samey after a couple of hours' play. Bullet time is as much fun as it ever was and for me, the game ran very well on my modest i5.

To get all three of the best action games ever released for this bargain bucket price should be a crime.

91

Fantastic series, Its a steal for this bundle

momoster69 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

Ill keep this short and sweet, fantastic game series, A story that will hook you in with its drama and action packed adventure.

93

A Great Deal with Great Games

Pro_Fish | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

The Max Payne series contains not only great gameplay, but an interesting and winding story to boot. All three games are great in their own way, and this is not a deal to be missed.

91

Brings back old memories!

akki666 | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all akki666's reviews »

Max payne is definitely one of the best game series in the world.For 80% off this is the best deal you can get for these games.For me growing up as a kid max payne series was my favorite shooter.Playing it again brings back memories. Max payne and Max payne 2 are like classic games that you must play and it is one the games that defined modern gaming.

Now last year max payne 3 was published and it definitely wasn't a let down,for me this just made the series the best with awesome graphics, smooth and good gameplay, good story what more can you ask from a shooter? This is a solid game. Buy this before the deal ends.

85

Well worth the current sale price!

eVoPhantom | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all eVoPhantom's reviews »

The first game is a classic, sure the graphics won't look as nice and I suspect the rose tinted glasses are helping me to forget many flaws. But overall it is a very enjoyable action game with a strong story and art style. 8/10

Max Payne 2 is my favourite of the series, I think the noir style comes through strongest in this instalment. There is a lot more polish, I am hesitant to say cinematic as that has become somewhat of taboo word in games of late. But it is a cinematic experience and a very enjoyable game. 9/10

I was worried about the third one as a lot were, with the overly bright setting shown in most previews. Just about as far away from the dark and dreary setting of the previous two games they could get, but it works. The game is excellent, is great looking visually, the controls feel spot on and the story is decent enough (if a little predictable!). 8.5/10

It is worth noting that I ran the third game with a GTX 560 on max settings and was shocked at how smooth it was.

85

Great Series!

Bigboss2112 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Bigboss2112's reviews »

Max Payne: Very good story, controls great. Bullet time is a great concept.

Max Payne 2: Once again very good story, controls great, just like the first one.

Max Payne 3: Just like the others, an excellent story. The controls are at the best in Max Payne 3. The multiplayer is very good as well.

Overall, this is a series that can't be missed. You will love every minute of it.

90

3 of the Best

TheImpZA | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all TheImpZA's reviews »

Max Payne 1 - Developed by Remedy Entertainment

The story of Max Payne is one that you won't soon forget, lots of action and lots of emotion. Max Payne is a renegade undercover NYPD detective, who after the murder of his wife and daughter, starts a one-man assault on the mobsters of New York. The game is presented in the Noir style, and features excellent graphic novel cut-scenes, which are perfectly done.

The main gameplay element is Max Payne's special ability, called Bullet Time. This causes the action to slow down to a cinematic slow motion. This allows Max to perform these amazing jumps through the air while taking out any enemies in his path. The gameplay is based off old Hong Kong action movies and features a bullet time effect similar to that of the Matrix movies. It's very noticeable that the developers have watched a lot of John Woo movies during their production time.

The games graphics are old, so I recommend taking a look at PC Game Wiki for the widescreen and sound fixes if you're using Windows 7 or 8.

Max Payne 2 - Developed by Remedy Entertainment

Going back to his job of a homicide detective, Max has been solving everyone's problems except his own. Max reports to a disturbance at a local warehouse, run by a Russian mobster and his friend from the first game. Here he trades bullets with armed thugs masquerading as a cleaning company.

During the firefight you cross paths with Mona Sax, a hired gun and thought-to-be-dead love interest of Max's. The story here is very dark, much like the first game, and told to a film-noir narrative. The dream sequences are especially disturbing, and much better done than in the previous game. They give insight to his character, and his battle with heartache and paranoia.

Bullet time is obviously back from Max Payne 1, and has had some significant improvement. Be prepared to use it a lot more than then previous game, or face annihilation. With every kill you get, time slows done even more, allowing you to pull of some fantastic kills. Even with the bullet time abilities, make no mistake, this is a challenging game. One slow-mo dive at the wrong time can get you killed, and death comes quick.

Graphics are a mixed bag, and this game is quite old, so I would recommend visiting PC Game Wiki are some enhancements. It's a missive improvement over the first game, but it was released in 2005, so keep that in mind. The game's attention to detail is astounding, rivaling most PC games that are released in this day and age. The models and textures are a bit dated, but the environments are amazing.

I can't recommend this game enough, it is astounding. If you're a shooter fan, this is a must play.

Max Payne 3 - Developed by Rockstar

9 Years have pasted since the previous game, but unfortunately little has changed for our troubled protagonist. He continues to remain disturbed by the death of his wife and daughter, and finds comfort in his liqueur and painkillers.

Max Payne 3 relocates most of the action away from the slum infested streets and tenements his native city, New York, and to the seedy nightclubs and hostile environments of São Paulo, Brazil. Working as the private bodyguard of Roderigo Branco, Roderigo's wife Fabiana is kidnapped, which sets in motion a chain of events which engulfs Max into a much darker story.

Just like it's predecessors, it's filled the great dark humor and elaborate metaphors. Some players might find the cut-scenes too intrusive, but they way they find the loading screens and blend seamlessly into the action is a masterpiece. Max Payne 3 really shows that games can be a writers medium.

The game features bullet time yet again, and I think I've said enough about that. It remains wonderfully cinematic, shocking and hardcore. Production values are high and the level of details is astonishing. Gameplay is simple, elegant and satisfying.

It's the first Max Payne game to feature multiplayer, which is chaotic fun and well designed.

Conclusion

All three games are brilliant, and deserve to be in your collection. What are you waiting for? Pick this up now while it's on sale.

92

Best bundle of Max Payne

spycid | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you are Max Payne fan and you haven't got all games, then you shouldn't call yourself one. This is the best bundle available out there and you should not hesitate to get it. For Max Payne fans I have nothing new to say, for new gamers, I have only one thing to say, without Max Payne your gaming life is incomplete.

88

Great offer

ysk1985 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This bundle is a great offer, the first two Max Payne games were masterpieces. The third one didn't have as much a good story as the first two but it makes up for it with it's game-play and visuals the season pass of this game somewhat makes up for this. This is a nice bundle to buy and it should not be missed.

86

Max Payne, the series to be played

zonzon | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

There is no excuse to not buy these awesome games. Some may say Max Payne 2 didn't deliver in raw gameplay, but I can assure you this game is the bridge between the first Max Payne and Alan Wake. A noir story with some sense of humor, a more adult take on an universe that could have gone both ways.

To end it, Max Payne 3 took the oldschool-ish gameplay to the modern days. It feels just like it should be, with Rockstar graphics and physics engine, it does an awesome game. (but you have to run it on a good computer)