Reviews for Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed 4 Pack

94

A better kart racer than Mario Kart!

Shaheed_Jamal | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all Shaheed_Jamal's reviews »

Trust me when is say that this game is as good as Crash Team Racing!

Graphics:

The game looks top-notch, as far as Kart racers. This is especially true on the PC, where ambient occlusion and real-time reflections make it look a class apart from its console counterparts. The water effects are all fairly realistic and the anti-aliasing is used to marvellous effect, creating crisp images that are pleasing to the eye.

9/10

Sound: The soundtrack is about as old-school as it can get. This game sounds like it was ripped straight from the 90's with the classic sega tunes you would expect from a SEGA game.

8/10

Gameplay:

The gameplay seals the deal here. It's easy and intuitive, even when you're playing on the keyboard. The drift mechanics work like they should and is very essential in a kart racing game.

9/10

Lifespan: The game has a LOT of modes and getting the best unlocks are going to take a while as well as a lot of skill. The online component ensures that there's never a dull moment to be had.

10/10

90

Excellent kart racer

lachking | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

Sonic and All -Stars Racing Transformed is a superb game and is much better than I expected it to be. The game is full of personality and has features not really seen in other kart racers. The most obvious difference to other kart racers is the transformation of your car to a plane or boat depending on the terrain. Another great difference is that race tracks will change as the race progresses, for example, a road segment you drove on in the first lap may be a river in the third lap. The game's audio style is excellent with catchy music and great voiceovers with lots of funny lines. The graphical style is top notch with great colour depth and lots of animations in the background. This game is also great for multiplayer, and with this pack you can invite 3 friends to play with you for some competitive action, whether that be a race or one of the game's other modes such as battle. I would definitely recommend this pack!

85

Best Kart Racer on PC

Rawnblade1213 | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all Rawnblade1213's reviews »

This game is awesome! Why the heck would Sonic need to use a vehicle when we've already seen him run at the speed of sound I don't know, but I'm gonna go ahead and preach a little video game blasphemy and say it is as good if not better than any Mario Karts. It's pretty similar to those games, in that you drive around shooting various powerups at competitors and drift boosting around corners, but instead of being stuck in a car the entire time you automatically switch between land, air, and sea vehicles at specific parts in each map. The vehicles all transition smoothly and each vehicle requires different techniques to handle through the varied and changing stages. The most memorable stage I've come across involves driving on and off tons of Aircraft Carriers (from a game called Afterburner?) that are doing battle with each other. Insane!

Instead of all the characters coming from the Sonic universe (like Mario Kart's characters all coming from the Mario universe) SEGA just pulled seemingly random characters across all their published games. Some people make sense, such as the Crazy Taxi guy, but wtf Total War Shogun 2 racer? Football manager? Seriously? This stuff is amazing but ridiculous! You can even play as the Team Fortress characters! All the characters have their own voices and vehicles and it's a ton of fun to hear their respective theme songs play as they enter their special uber star mode.

If you're craving Mario Kart like action on the PC, it's hard to do better than Sonic All Stars Racing Transformed. It's a ton of a fun and you can even play split screen on the same system through the entire campaign. I recommend.

80

Best kart racing game ever!

ktacbui | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all ktacbui's reviews »

Bought this game for 4 other friends we had a blast! up to 10 players online which is the most fun anyone can have with friends .. it brings back memories of diddy kong racing but with 10 players simultaneously racing at a time.. would recommend picking it up

90

Really fun game!

falconrifle | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all falconrifle's reviews »

I bought this when it was on sale and I have to say that it was well worth it. The game plays a lot better with friends than the recent Mario Kart games because there is less luck involved in the game, it's a game where you have to learn to keep your momentum in order to win. You can also play with 4 people on your computer using the split screen option, and you are able to play online with all 4 people too. I really recommend this game if you have a group of friends to play with because i guarantee that you will have a great time.

However try not to tab out of a game during a race because the game will crash.

80

Real fun

atomico | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all atomico's reviews »

I love this car games, very fun to play. The single player is fun and there many mode but multiplayer is little bad. 3 hours to start a game and few players to play with.

92

Fun and addictive

Sebastai | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Sebastai's reviews »

Great arcade racing game, addictive, entertaining, it certainly needed a game like this on pc. If you like games like Mario Kart, you must try this game because it is pretty good and is very innovative things.

87

Best Arcade Kart Racer

MuridLaly | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all MuridLaly's reviews »

Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed was a pleasant surprise after not expecting much considering Sonic's track record in recent years, this is one of the best kart racers of this generation. Although the characters in the game are not as recognizable as characters in a game like Mario Kart, you soon learn that this doesn't matter, even if you don't know the characters you will warm to them, the character design is impeccable with a great variety of different looks the karts and characters show a bright personality which is highlighted through the individuality of each vehicle. The variety is great and all the vehicles feel good to drive. It terms of graphics, this game looks beautiful, second to none in this genre. The lighting off of the vehicles makes the vehicles seem real in an unrealistic, if you get what I mean? (probably not). The design of the world in the game caters very well to the 'transform' feature in the game, designed so that it is a similar course no matter which vehicle you are in. Gameplay wise there are a number of game modes which will keep you entertained for hours on end, especially when you have a few friends to play with, both online and locally. This 4-Pack will help with that! The gamemodes include traditional races and battle modes with specifically designed tracks for each. Overall, this games gets an 87 out of 100, mainly due to the fact that the control scheme can be rather annoying and glitchy, and the PC port is not the best, although it will be good enough for most gamers, also, the voice acting is quite terrible, especially for the TF2 characters.

85

Unexpected gem!

Loftie | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Loftie's reviews »

Exceptionally fun to play solo or with friends. With support for both local and online multiplayer and the ability to take your local friends online with you to play head to head with other online players there are lots of ways to play with friends.

One of the main features of the game is the Transform. Each track has different sections, land, sea or air, where you will be transformed into a car, boat or plane. They all behave differently too! That may sound like a recipe for disaster, but it spices up the game with different handling mechanics - all of them balanced well. Tracks also have multiple routes involving different transforms.

Only bad thing I've found with the game so far, is if you're in an online lobby with friends there is no way to queue up several tracks to play. You pick your character and track, and at the end of that race you pick your character again and track. In a way this is fair - if everyone wants to play sonic, fastest finger wins - but at the same time it's very annoying having to reselect your character every time you start a new race.

Pros

Very fun Transforms make the game more interesting Content still being added - General Winter Tracks based off different Sega games - It's a trip down memory lane!

Cons

Having to re pick your character at the end of every multiplayer race.

IMO if you like Kart racing, it's great.

93

Perfect arcade racing game

TheAtomicFist | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all TheAtomicFist's reviews »

This is a perfect game to jump into and race with your friends.

82

Sonic Kart?

iamkyo90 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Who has not marveled at mario kart for years? This a version that reminds me of that game, but updated, and apart with sonic! Some time ago it was taboo to say hahah ... Well, the game is very good in all respects, is so simple to master, but it's so varied, many cars, tracks, tournaments. Must!

88

Great racer

ConorEngelb | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Fun to play, Sonic Transformed is one of the few racing games that gets it right. Both exciting and challenging, the game balances tight controls with deadly corners to create a top-notch racing experience

80

Original and fun game :)

goforce | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all goforce's reviews »

Sonic All-Stars Racing Transformed is visually and track-wise the most solid and stunning racing game I've ever seen.

The environments are imaginative and get more interesting the more you unlock them. The game is extremely fast-paced, fun, lively and catchy. Everything about is game is, I dare say, perfect. The only downside is that the World Tour mode is brutally challenging.

The game is very original and it's 100% fun in multiplayer, remind me of playing mario kart with my friend years ago :p

90

Best Kart Racer Ever

nightrunner227 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all nightrunner227's reviews »

I first played this game using a free demo on my 3DS and was instantly hooked, so I picked it up as soon as I found the PC version for cheap.

Really, the controls are tight, the items are solid (but not cheap), the tracks and characters are well-designed, and the gameplay is just unparalleled.

Using a 360 gamepad works flawlessly, and keyboards work almost just as well.

All in all, if you're at all interested, grab it. You will not regret it.

90

One of the best racing games of all time

recklessfire13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all recklessfire13's reviews »

I haven't had this much fun with a game in a long time. I'm used to playing rpg games like skyrim, fallout, terraria, etc. which suck you in the world, but its not necessarily "fun." Feels very similar to mario kart, but I really like how the track changes as you complete each lap, so each lap feels completely different. Lots of characters to choose from, alot of them from the sonic franchise and there's a bunch of random ones, like Danica Patrick(wtf) and Ralph from the Wreck it Ralph movie. And then there's the Football Manager from the game, Football Manager. Having the fastest character doesn't mean you have an advantage, some of the maps have tons of harsh turns and theres enough weapons to slow someone down.

I play on the PC with the xbox controller and it feels very natural. I can't really say much for keyboard controls though. The game is easily at least $20 alone, so $12 for 4 copies is a huge steal.

92

Epic fun!

notmyid | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all notmyid's reviews »

Crammed this game for over 25 hours in a few days, the music fits perfectly, the driving, flying and sailing mechanics are awesome and the diversity of the characters and maps gives this game much replay value. I played a lot in both single and multiplayer, very much recommended!

(Don't expect any bs plot or anything, this game does one thing and does it right, give you a fun and very addictive experience!)

90

Best kart racer on PC, and up there with Mario as the best ever

salsashark | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all salsashark's reviews »

Game is fantastic. The controls are tight, the drift mechanic is very good, and just a great deal of fun. Challenging but not unfair, you'll even have lots to do and accomplish on single player.

The PC port is top notch too. Plenty of options, works with downsampling beautifully, online support is great. Basically every bell and whistle.

Get it!

86

Transform your game library

Darlus | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Darlus's reviews »

Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a lot of fun with friends or by yourself. It's not easy, but I still have a great time playing it. It stood on the shoulders on genre greats, such as the Mario Kart franchise and Diddy Kong Racing, took the best elements from those games, and put them all together, even adding new variety into the mix, to make a fresh, challenging, and somewhat complex racing environment. Now with mid-race transformations to mix up the elements, like most Sonic games, simply being fast just isn't enough to win.

78

Not only for kids

michalmichal | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all michalmichal's reviews »

Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed is a racing game which may seem childish at the first sight, but upon a closer inspection it reveals its entertaining nature. It is a great and humorous racer, getting the player into races on the ground, on water and in the air. There are many vehicles to use and characters to control. And just as the name suggests - they're recognizable from popular Sega games. Now the game is available as a four-pack which encourages to try its excellent multiplayer mode with your friends. Just don't let the cartoonish appearance mislead you, the game is much fun and perfectly suitable for everybody, not only for kids.

80

Really funny!

grzegorz2047 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

I think that is underrated candidate per game in 2013 when it comes to racing games. Beautiful color graphics, an amazing looking levels with various games (Sonic, Panzer Dragon, Shinobi, JSRF, etc.), as with other games SEGA (plus Ralph Demolition) interesting world tour (in addition to a variety of cool racing challenges such as drift, or rival battle) . Its reminds me of SEGA Crash Tag Team Racing is the first x-block, except that here it is a lot better because of the graphics, Leveling (each seven-level, and jesst are over 25 or 30, so the nerd leveling can be a good time-waster) and trannsformacje vehicles on land, water or air - a revelation. I am after 6 hours as shown in the game and finished 15% of which is an interesting result (perhaps crossing a 100% take up 50 hours or more). So far,It is simply perfect to play in the present with my friends or family. Although the game is for 7 years old I think adults would also be able to have a great time with this title, if only with their children (I have almost 19 years old con, a little game I like scary). Recommend.

80

A good racing game

zonzon | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

Sonic and the SEGA characters are back in a mario kart like game. The main differences between mario kart and sonic & all stars racing is that the tracks are SEGA themed, ranging from Golden axe to Skies of Arcadia, the levels are an ode for these classic games. It's really pulling the nostalgic rope, in a good way. The characters are all from licences from SEGA, plus the Team fortress character for the PC. During the races, that are changing based on the current lap, features roads, water, and air, and your vehicle transform accordingly, this adds up some challenge because you may not be the best with all vehicles. That's a load of fun with friends, and this game will mean something more for players that are around 25 years old.

And the price is currently a steal. Go for it.

94

Really Enjoyable Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

Very very impressed with this game, picked it up with this pack from GMG and it was an absolute steal. The graphics are absolutely lush (although the graphics options are lacklustre in the options, but it isn't too demanding I suppose) and the sound design is equally as impressive. Gameplay also feels surprisingly strong whether with a pad or keyboard, and it is one of those rare gems that supports PC splitscreen so props to SEGA for the inclusion of that. In terms of longevity it is great value for money in terms of content over 20 tracks, you nearly double your roster of racers via the campaign and the campaign itself is pretty damn long and has varied game modes ie not just races. TL:DR One of, if not the best arcadey racers on PC

90

Mario Kart but with Sega characters

lok0812 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is similar to any other types of kart racing in the past decades especially the Mario Kart series. The game offers many different race tracks based on different Sega games along with a huge roster of SEGA characters to choose from as well as special character for the PC since this is the Steam version. There will be items to pick up to assist you to becoming first in a race. One unique aspect of the game is that the race track will change and your vehicle will adapt to the change from land, air, to sea. With this package, you can grab 3 additional friends and enjoy a great party game via online of local matches and race for many hours of fun.