Reviews for Empire and Napoleon: Total War - Game of the Year Edition

89

Worth the cost

rjb789 | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game package includes the already brilliant and world-reknown games Empire and Napoleon Total War. Napoleon Total War is considerably better than Empire total war but this is not trying to take anything away from Empire Total War. Both games are fantastic and provide tons of brutal, violent, battle fun and the added DLC packs make this reasonably priced package a great deal for any Total war fan, regardless of the games they previously liked. If you enjoy playing strategic games which have large scale battles, great graphics and an interesting battle mechanic. This is for you.

80

Value for your money

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all bala1201's reviews »

Like all the games in the Total War series it is a piece of quality. For me it is a bit boring, compared to the others, but it is simply a case of interest, I like the medieval era and the roman times a lot more than the Napoleonic wars. This pack is awesome, don't forget to try the multiplayer battles.

85

Awesome games!

KentBrack | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all KentBrack's reviews »

Love all of the total war games. You get a lot of stuff here and there is some awesome mods to download when you get bored as well.

80

Worth the price

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I agree with the majority - it isn't the best game Total War series has, but it is still very interesting one.

The gameplay feels pretty slow sometimes, yet it gets addictive eventually. The magic of "one more turn" works.

The graphics still look pretty, even today. Although, I know lots of users have some problems with the sound, I didn't have it.

All in all, the game is worth buying at the discount price.

90

I enjoyed both games

shrub77 | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all shrub77's reviews »

I bought these games on sale during a promotion, and I played the heck out of them. I really enjoyed empire's campaign map, it's massive and I love that time period. It's so fun to play as the British and conquer the whole of India. Many reviewers don't do justice to the game. There are many mods that really improve gameplay and AI. You will not be disappointed if you purchase these two games.

85

Empire is the Problem Child - Napoleon is Great

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I hated Creative Assembly after they released the blunder that was Empire Total War. They screwed everyone and then quit supporting the game. It wasnt until Napoleon TW that CA began the process of redeeming itself. Napoleon introduced more improved and more interesting campaigns and increased the performance of the game.

This package comes with Empire TW, all of its DLC, and Napoleon TW and all of its DLC. For the value - I recommend this game and think you should get it.

80

Cripple of the Total War family

wengart | July 28, 2011 | See all wengart's reviews »

Empire was by far the worst game released by CA. It was bloated and confused and shipped with AI that didn't work. After several batteries of patches it's finally in better shape and worth it in this pack with Napoleon if you have no interest in Shogun 2. Which is by far the better game.

Napoleon is a decent game similar to Medieval's Kingdoms expansion. It benfits from a smaller focus and an interesting supply system. Certainly not a bad purchase, especially in this pack. However I must stress once again the Shogun 2 is the better game and more worth your time and money.

75

Worth the price I bought it for, but not really worth the hype

Ichiro | May 9, 2011 | See all Ichiro's reviews »

I bought this since I loved Medieval II: Total War. I knew that they had added the new navel battle system that the older Total Wars lacked, so I figured that it would compliment the gameplay that I've always loved back then.

When I noticed this at rock-bottom prices on GMG (because of a promotion), I weighed my chances and went for it. I don't remember the price I bought it for again, but I remember that even now, no other competitor could beat its sale price here.

This bundle includes everything for these two games. No doubt about that. But this game honestly lacks what the older ones had, and that was simplicity. The developing team figured that they would "improve" it further by making it more complicated (what developer doesn't do that anymore?) but just ended up making it too much more complex than it needed.

I enjoy playing this, but I'll probably move back to Medieval II, even though it doesn't have naval.