Reviews for DuckTales: Remastered

84

Not What I Expected

emptyhaven | Sept. 28, 2014 | See all emptyhaven's reviews »

I usually shy away from "remakes" or "remastered" editions of games, precisely because I am afraid that the sensibilities the game was built upon when it was being developed, won't necessarily translate well when you use contemporary development techniques. The 80s and 90s were different times, and we've really come a long way from that with what we have now.

So it is with great joy that I say this game lives up to a lot. And by a lot, I mean mostly the soundtrack and graphics. Gameplay is largely similar, but the update in look and feel was enough to get me past nostalgia and appreciate the game again for the fun it was.

I've been bugging everyone I know about this game, especially those who are younger than me. DuckTales was one of my favorite cartoons, and some part of me wants to bring that back for this new generation of children. This game is one way of bringing it back, I suppose.

Overall, this game is a lot of fun. There's a lot of good memories here (I played the original game), and now I can add more good memories of DuckTales and share it with a younger generation as well.

84

Worth all the diamonds of the amazon

sturgeon2008 | Sept. 3, 2014 | See all sturgeon2008's reviews »

Fantastic game to play with family, its short easy to play and has a fantastic art style. If you've ever played the original then its a must purchase for the price.

I only wish it was longer.

86

Worth Purchasing just for the music and more

liquidsnake78 | May 29, 2014 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

Back when i owned a nes , i remember picking this game after listening to its awesome music . The game did not disappoint after that either. It is a solid platformer with great controls and variety loved the 8 bit graphics.

So now how is this remake compared to that nostalgia ? well here are the Pros -maintains the same flow of the original game -similar and simplified controls -enhanced music and sound effects -Detailed story and easier gameplay Sadly there are things that limit this from being a killer remake they are Cons -no 8 bit mode , would have been nice to have it at least as a unlock, like some games do or even a button to switch between the new and old mode you can still unlock the 8 bit soundtrack -the story focus kinda slows the fast paced game

Despite the shortcomings i would recommend buying the game , specially when on a good sale on greenmangaming

65

Short, sweet nostalgia

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Ah, I remember playing Ducktales way back on the NES. It was great and I still have fond memories of it. But I wasn't sure a remake would give me the same memories... On the one hand it's pretty much an exact remake of the original, but with improved graphics. On the other hand it' might not translate well enough, and, because of that, might scare gamers off. I'm sorry to say it's the latter. First, let me talk about the things Ducktales does right. The graphics haven been upgraded with 2D HD sprites in a 2.5D world. It looks excellent, even if the backgrounds don't fit with the rest of the graphics. I personally think it would've been better if it was entirely in 2D. But that's a different story. The levels are exact replicas of the originals. Epic ! The gameplay is also kept the same. It's tough. But not too tough. Back when I was a kid it literally took me hours to complete a level. Maybe it was because I was too young and didn't fully understand games just yet, maybe because games were really more difficult back then. Ducktales Remastered tested my patience when I had only just started it. I was rushing through levels carelessly and I died several times in a matter of minutes. This is a good thing, mind you. It makes the game feel old school, in a certain way. But despite the game being somewhat difficult it's also very short. Levels can be finished within 30-60 minutes and since there are only 6 levels in total you should complete it in about 5 or 6 hours max. Then the controls. The controls are pretty good, but jumping on your pogo stick doesn't seem to work all the time. Plenty of times have I tried jumping down, followed by a pogo stick jump and the game just didn't register the button being pressed. It cost me more health than intended. Oh, and the voice acting... Man, the voice acting. The voice acting was cringeworthy. I understand it's based on the cartoon, but the dialogues in general were just terrible and childish. Same goes for the rest of the cutscenes. I skipped through them at one point because I couldn't take it anymore. Next time, no more voice acting please. Just a textbox would be sufficient. And maybe it's my memory, but I remember secrets being secrets in the original. Secrets in the remake are pointed out in obvious ways. All that's missing is a big arrow pointing to it. Like I said, it might just be my memory but I remember this differently. If I'd rate this game it would be a 6,5 or 7 at best. Ducktales is a decent game and still kinda fun to play, even now and especially if you have never played the original. But wait for a sale instead, because the current price is once again too high. Also, I think the Castle Of Illusion remake might be better in comparison. Let's just wait for that.

89

Good old side scroller

sergebelanger22 | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

You miss the time where side scroller fitted with nearly impossible to complete? This is the game for you.

You want to play with your kids? Fine, select Easy and you will have unlimited lives. You are not able to complete the game in one shot? Play on Medium. This will save the game after each level completed. You want the ultimate? Play on hard.

This is the exact same game as the original, but in HD. There is no little extra. Just do not expect anything else. If you agree with this. Play it. This game is simply made for everyone. From the nostalgics to the kids. Our Scrooge loves to speak though, but you can skip the cinematics if you are tired of them. There are 5 levels and completing these 5 unlocks the final level. You can unlock some artworks by getting money throughout the levels. However, unlocking everything needs completing the levels multiple times.

Globally, if you like the side scrollers, try this one. This will remind you the good old time.

70

A tale told again

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

I have never played the original Duck Tales. At the time it was out I was playing a different game called Duck Tales where you have been able to choose a treasure you want to go for, do the mini-game there (either some platformer or taking pictures of rare animals), fly from point A to B controlling Launchpad and so on. So to be honest I was really disappointed that this game is the remake of that other one. But anyway personal woes aside the game is an ok platformer. Hard to say anything else about it since that is pretty much all that is. If you are looking for a game that is all ages or you want to have it for the pure nostalgia value than I think the price is reasonable but if you would like to just get and play a platformer probably you have much better options to go for.

81

DuckTales Review

gforcesa | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

This game brings back memories.The remastered version is so pretty and good.You can beat the game in a couple of hours and those will be very fun hours.A really fun platformer that should not be missed by DuckTales fans.The voice acting is really great and done very well.Some levels are kind of annoying because there are too many enemies and they could take a lot of your health pretty quickly but nonthless this game is fun and i recommend you take a look at it.

92

An amazing nostalgia trip for anyone who remembers the cartoon

commanderhavoc | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

When I was young, I had the chance to see the really REALLY awesome cartoon when it was on TV here in Sweden and I absolutely loved it, along with that addictive theme song, it will never leave! And this remake of the classic NES game does a really great job at capturing the spirit of the cartoon as it feels like an old and lost episode that was never aired, they even managed to get several of the original voice actors to join in and reprise their parts as in the cartoon. They even added in cutscenes for the game and while many complain about them, they still are great and some even provide explanations as to what is going on, like how Scrooge, Fenton and Gyro Gearloose are able to breath on the moon and such. And of course, the theme of the cartoon is included in the game in the credits and don't be surprised if you suddenly find yourself wanting to sing along to it as it is that catchy.

95

ducktales wohoo!

rockman_uli | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all rockman_uli's reviews »

I was following the production of this game since the 1st announcement, and let me tell you that it was like a love story, beginning with wayforward people loving this game since his nes roots till the jump in the wagon of the original background artists at half the production, everything since the animations, the music and the animation fluidity is amazing, and also makes my heart warm with the original voice of Scrooge Mcduck, the gameplay is perfect and the music will bring your inner child to tears, bring some snaks and sit in the floor very close to the tv while playing, instant time travel to your childhood

62

Not the greatest game

noobboy191 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

Duck tales remastered is an ok game by today's standards. Thats it. Aside from cutscenes that drag on too long and remastered graphics, not a whole lot was put into the game to make it stand out from its classic roots. What it does do is play the nostalgia card on older gamers, reliving the thrill of playing this platformer/ puzzler as they were a kid, a testament to games that can withstand the test of time. If you have the extra money and want to go on a nostalgic journey, by all means go ahead, but for all others who aren't fans of the genre or in the title itself, I strongly recommend you don't buy.

80

You might solve a mystery or rewrite history!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

While WayForward didn't exactly rewrite history with this re-release, it is indeed a great game and even better if you can remember the original. I played Ducktales to death on my old NES so I was super stoked when I heard of this update. It is a tad pricey considering the rather short length but I had a lot of fun playing it and it brought back a ton of memories. For me it was worth it just to hear the original voice of Scrooge McDuck again but if you are not a big platforming fan or never played the original you might want to wait for a good sale before picking this up.

80

Nostalgia

YYS1995 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

Ducktales Remastered is a nostalgia trip from start to end. Gameplay is faithful to the original. Graphics and audio are remastered from scratch, but maintain the same theme.The story that is crafted around the insanity of the original game's structure hits all the right chords of a DuckTales cartoon with fantastic writing and voice acting, and every cut scene can be skipped with two button presses for those who aren't interested. In short anyone who is a fan of 2D action platformers should be checking out DuckTales.

74

A throwback

Simao20 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Such a fun game and a reminder of how hard games were back in the 80's and 90s. But with that fun nostalgia comes the problems with older games and just how punishing they can be.

Pros -

Fun
Classic challenging gameplay mechanics you loved from the original Great remastered graphics Added in cut scenes

Cons -

Not being able to take off cut scenes but you can skip them Punishing which can be a turnoff for modern gamers Hit detection can be a bit suspect on certain enemies in certain areas

90

All Kinds of HD Goodness

rydad | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all rydad's reviews »

I'm generally an opponent of remakes, I'm all for this one. The animations and graphics are so smooth and colorful, and just overall pleasant on the eye. While I wouldn't go so far as to say it's better than the original 8-bit version, it's still a great (and great looking) way to get that nostalgia fix.

82

This game is great, a nostalgic look back at one of the greatest

venkatbaggu | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all venkatbaggu's reviews »

As a fan of the original DuckTales for the Nintendo Entertainment System, I found myself feeling skeptical about this "Remastered" version of the game. Why would you want to mess with something so great? Did the game really need to be updated with the latest graphics and audio? The answer is YES!

THE GOOD

WayForward treated the game with respect. It added beautiful 3D backgrounds, bold 2D character sprites, and adorable cutscenes. The platforming isn't Mario, but the unique mechanic of the pogo stick makes it fun. Some people have complained about the cutscenes, but guess what? You can skip them very easily! In fact, I'd say the game is generally very good about letting you skip cutscenes and scoreboards at the end when compared to Mario.

THE BAD

The only bad thing about the game is that the jumping mechanic from ropes doesn't work all that well. This is usually not a problem except for the last stage

THE VERDICT

I love that WayForward remade this game

88

Back to the good o'l days

dbhar | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all dbhar's reviews »

I loved the game from the very same moment i started it up. Its brings back so many good childhood memories. The game play is solid, the visuals are really good. all in all its a very good game. The only problem for me was that it cashed about twice for me on windows 8 but other than that its worth every penny.

80

A beautiful game, if you're a fan of the original.

PixelNinja101 | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all PixelNinja101's reviews »

This game is good, it has the retro charm of the original Ducktales for the NES, with the updated graphics of newer consoles.

There can be a few times where the game cannot detect edges too well, and you stop your pogo cane jump, and that can lead to a few deaths that could easily be avoided. There are also too many cutscenes, and after you die 3-4 times, you have to start the level all over again. You also have to pause the game to skip the cutscenes, which can get annoying after multiple times.

The game is better than the billions of gray, 'modern' shooters, but is not without its flaws. This game gets an 8 / 10.

91

A trip down memory lane.

CaesarXIII | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all CaesarXIII's reviews »

If you're a product of the 80's then this is one you want to add to your collection.

100

Pretty Great

DanielZo0 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Anything lower than a 7 for this game is rubbish. It's absolutely gorgeous, the music is wonders to the ears, and most importantly, this game is a fun platformer!

If you grew up with 8-bit games, you'll know what it's like to have a life system that means restarting a level from scratch. This game has one of those systems. There are no checkpoints. As soon as you run out of lives it's back to the beginning of the stage. It's challenging, but can also be frustrating when you've nearly completed a stage only to restart from the beginning.

The game is an enjoyable improvement over the original thanks to the new inclusion of cutscenes and developed story. By the time you get to the final boss it feels like you've actually been on an adventure, and one that feels like an actual episode of Ducktales. However, dialogue can interrupt the game a tad too much, resulting in you skipping cutscenes constantly on you're second and third playthroughs.

86

A trip down memory lane

Shivivivi | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Shivivivi's reviews »

Duck Tales is a platforming classic, We all know that. So what's a good way to improve the old masterpiece? Bring in beautiful sprites, original voice acting and 'remastered' music. We all want to hear more of the phenomenal Moon Theme, right? Right.

Gameplay has received some changes, also. Boss battles are much more exciting and really ramp up a climactic feel to each level, offering a genuine addition to the formula. However some changes aren't necessarily for the best. 'Secrets' are little to none, and have been made somewhat arbitrary in desire for filler. While we're on filler, the game is riddled with MANY cutscenes that tend to interrupt the pogo-hoppin' fun. Luckily they're skippable, so little annoyance is given from it.

All in all, DuckTales Remastered is worth checking out, especially if you've never played before. As a homage, it ultimately fails, but standalone it is hours of fun that you'll wish not to end;

75

Great game with some issues on PC

gseid | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all gseid's reviews »

As of writing this many users are experiencing problems with the game using much more CPU resources than needed, sprite flickering, and random crashes. Aside from these issues it's a great game and hopefully Capcom will patch it.

86

No school like the old school

ConorEngelb | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Oh, the nostalgia. This is a remastering done right; improved graphics and no changes made to the game itself beyond making it playable on modern machines. Beautiful to behold and fun to play.

94

Childhood memories in remastered HD

spycid | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

I still remember playing this game in my childhood as well as watching the cartoon series. I simply loved it when I got to know that it's going to get HD treatment. Would recommend this game for everyone and to Ducktales fans, I don't need to say much, do I?

90

Life Is Like An Aeroplane

beatstar | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all beatstar's reviews »

[GMG Mods: A repost from with The Global Marketeer, my blog, with minor edits for content.]

Musical earbugs and great TV shows aside, DuckTales is best remembered as a 1989/1990 video game developed and published by Capcom for the Nintendo Entertainment System and Gameboy. Known for its five expansive levels, Nintendo Hard difficultly, and legendary soundtrack, the game was a smash hit and received great reception at the time, such as from video game magazines Electronic Gaming Monthly and Mean Machines.

Nearly 24 years later, the game returns in the form of a remaster by WayForward Technologies; a hi-def polishing of the music, environment, and sprites; as well as adding new things such as cutscenes done by the original TV voice cast, unlockable concept art, and redesigned levels made for the current generation of consoles/PCs. The game’s download size, less than a gigabyte across the board, makes it a quick and easy download to your gaming system, regardless of platform.

The first recognizable addition to the remaster of DuckTales is the introduction level that takes place in Duckburg mansion, under siege by the Beagle Boys. Through this level, WayForward does a good job at explaining the backstory behind the video game as opposed to the original, which left it up to the player to formulate.

The plot mediates on a race between the Ducks and the Beagles to obtain various pieces of treasure. At first; it seems logical, but then the story begins to drift and eventually form holes when the Beagle Boys were nowhere to be found on levels such as The Amazon or the African Mines, yet plentiful on The Moon and in Transylvania.

Nonetheless, the cutscenes are almost always appreciated the first time around. After that, however, it would really help to have a “press X” to skip option instead of having to go to the pause screen every time thereafter.

DuckTales’ noted difficulty setting is one of spectacle; the ‘medium’ difficulty system is probably not what you expect, depending on how much AAA games you might play. Instead of simplifying the game to cater to a casualized audience, its difficulty is roughly the same as the original (and NES games in general); that is, each setting is arguably a step ahead of today's games. For the medium setting, it’s three hits and you’re dead, two deaths and the level resets (not counting pickups).

There is a lot of trial and error and the game could easily be likened to Dark Souls or Winnie The Pooh’s Home Run Derby. Despite this, the game is for the most part fair, although some sections (such as the mine shaft section in African Mines) can be brutally difficult by not letting you go left enough, especially after all of that hard work you spent getting that far.

The game’s treasures (both in the literal sense and the figurative sense) are scattered throughout the level, and it pays off to explore every crevice available to you in the game and then some. It is even possible to obtain an extra bar of life, depending on where you search.

The sound design of this game is outstanding. From the background music of The Moon and The Amazon, to the climbing of ropes, to even hitting a block with your pogo stick, it all sounds spectacular. Although the age starts to show in the voice cast, they perform their lines faithfully and with the same DuckTales flair as the TV show.

Despite minor flickering issues, the game plays fine on the PC and has never crashed thus far. It’s what a Day 1 purchase should play like, as opposed to a Bethesda-like assortment of glitches and bugs. The enemy AI isn’t wonky and, spiders aside, they are all easy to deal with or to get past.

DuckTales is a flawed gem with a lovable cast and a forgettable story. The latter is made up by a good soundtrack and good gameplay, and experienced gamers shouldn’t be too conspicuous about this title. It’s a challenge, but a very rewarding one. In that regard, it's a great game and definitely worth the $15 (or less) retail price.

77

Old school game, remastered doesn't always perfect

y1985 | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

For those who have played Ducktales as a kid, you probably gonna love this game. But thing's always has some changes. You won't have a completely feel as a Old classic Ducktales game but you'll still enjoyed this.

Music is still awesome :D

90

A beautiful remaster

PfantzyPantz | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all PfantzyPantz's reviews »

This is a remaster done right. They don't mess with the original core mechanics nor make it easier, they truly respect the original game, and the source material. They remastered the music, absolutely fantastic job, and even let you use the original 8-bit soundtrack after you've beaten the game once. The new aesthetic is stunning, just beautiful to see in motion and the voice acting adds so much.

After the recent patch, the only complaint I have is that you have to pause and then hit skip in order to skip cutscenes, which becomes annoying after multiple attempts.

94

Old-School platforming returns

philstuf | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all philstuf's reviews »

When I first saw this was being released, I was dismissive. I watched the video, wondering if it was going to simply be a bit-for-bit emulation of the original, NES title, or if it was entirely re-imagined. Having missed the sub-title of "remastered," I was immediately shouting, "It's the same old game, but all tarted up! This isn't even new!"

Then it started to sink in that this was no false advertising (I realized it DID say, "Remastered"). It was, indeed, the old game, dolled up, and made beautiful in a way the NES could never have pulled off.

My disdain was beginning to fade...

I began to think back to my initial playthrough as a child, seeing it in rose-colored shades, of course, but remembering not the limitations of an 8-bit console, but the pure joy of having Scrooge McDuck jumping around on his cane like a flea on crack..Then it hit me.

It had made its way to my wishlist.

The more I tried to pan it as an easy cash-in for Capcom, the more I thought back to just how solid a platformer the original was. Easy, sure, but controller-breaking, frustratingly hard to collect all the jewels. I was grinning.

Pre-purchased...

I started the new game and was immediately thrust back to the days when Capcom was best known for its runny-jumpy-shooty quality, and they were a master at it in the days of the NES. Megaman was their claim to fame, and no one even knew what "Resident Evil" was (or how bad voice acting could be).

This game is a wonderfully done revisit to the original. It is, of course, easy to blast through, but if you want to be das uber nerd, you'll find yourself back slamming your controller on the ground in twistedly gleeful frustration when that gem you worked so hard to get just cost you your life.

Enough talking about the good, as there is SOME bad in there. As good as the game looks, it is severely lacking in animation. Walk cycles are great, as are expressions and actions, but there is absolutely zero voice animation. The mouths are perpetually shut. Additionally, there appears there is a bit of a responsiveness issue. As much as people say games were harder in console days of yore, I don't actually feel this is a matter of me being older and my reflexes slowing down, despite what some people are saying.

All that being said, this game is faithful to the spirit and color of the original. It is as enjoyable as it was when it was 8-bit, and is absolutely beautiful. Vibrant, bright and faithful. Even if you don't like Disney's "Duck" franchise, if you can get past the fact it's Disney and the characters are all cartoon characters, it is a solid, downright FUN platformer.

94/100. The next logical thought is, "When is 'Chip 'n' Dale's Rescue Rangers' coming out? Shut up and take my money!"

95

Old School memories

wolferatus | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

If you loved your Nes and Snes times, than Ducktales is the best Game you can buy, its a remastered edition but you get the feelings like you had on a Nes(Snes. The Story is not too log and gameplay is not so easy as it seems, its a game for all ages. Try it and complete it if you can :)

95

Just buy

Qvisten | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all Qvisten's reviews »

Loved the original and this is just as fun. It's a great classic with new graphics.

85

Bringing back memories

MrBongoGT | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all MrBongoGT's reviews »

If you grew up watching DuckTales then this is a must have. The game is like an interactive TV show with numerous cut scenes that could make up an entire episode. Almost everything about this game is great; the art work, voice actors, the music, and the cut scenes.

There were a few things I disliked about the game. First, the skip cut scene option...I did not even know of this until AFTER I beat the game. Yes I could be blamed for that but I'm used to a pop up telling me what to press to skip. Even after watching the cut scenes multiple times I did not get tired of them.

Secondly is the pogo-jump not registering which is exactly what was wrong in the original. At first I thought it could of been my controller but found out others had the same problem. The original had this exact problem which only occurred on non solid platforms. Landing on the edge will stop the pogo jump in some cases and in many cases (for my at least) I would walk off the edge. There was also certain areas where you didn't even have to be on the edge, possibly a crack in the rock, but it would lead to the same situation of me walking off the ledge into lava.

Even with these two problems (with the first problem most likely my fault for not exploring the possibility) I enjoyed this game very much so. They captured the characters as I remembered them extremely well and even provided some laughs involving my favorite, Launchpad.

70

Not much improvement, but worth the price.

limmplimmp | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all limmplimmp's reviews »

WayForward haven't really done much to improve the original Ducktales, The graphics got its flaws, but it looks good enough to not worry about. They haven't added any new levels since the original either. with that said it still is a fun game worth playing if you liked the original game or platforming games in general. it got the special nostalgia-feeling to it which makes it awesome for old school gamers.

All in all, It's a fun game worth the price.

80

Nostalgia

weiuweiu | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all weiuweiu's reviews »

Nice game, Nostalgia and a nice soundtrack!

77

Good story, nice graphics and awesome song!

drafek | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

I've waited long for this game. The story is done well, it isn't the best story in the world but it will take you a few hours to complete. The graphics are done well, especially for a platformer. The song is really addictive, it's the original ducktales song. The game is pretty good, but I wouldn't recommend getting this on full price.

100

Just as fun as I remember it

rsand27 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all rsand27's reviews »

Awesome! Just as fun as I remember it on the NES but with great new graphics, classic great soundtrack, and voice acting by most of the original cast from the television series. The story is just like an episode of the cartoon with plenty of gags. The classic villains are there like Magica de Spell and the Beagle Boys. Sometimes it stops the action for a quick gag, which broke the momentum a bit, but isn't a big deal.

There's some extra content, too, unlockables like art and music that you can buy with the money you collect as you clear the levels.

It didn't recognize my Logitech controller, but the keyboard works better than I thought for the most part, although I did hit the Windows key twice already which brought up the start menu and the game lost focus during a boss fight and I took a few hits. Hopefully, they patch that to disable that key when the game is running.

Other than that small flaw, I love it and it was worth the $12 I paid preordering it.

75

Bringing back memories

MrBongoGT | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all MrBongoGT's reviews »

If you grew up watching DuckTales then this is a must have. The cut scenes turn this platformer into a sort of interactive TV show. This is one of the few games in which I enjoy watching the cut scenes, not only because you can not skip them.

The inability to skip cut scenes does become a nuisance after dying on a level and having to re-watch them and some are quite lengthy.

A second problem I have with the game is that the pogo-jump fails to jump when on a corner or on a solid. This leads to accidental deaths, and tied in with the inability to skip cut scenes, well I've re-watched a few and you can only re-watch something so many times back to back before you get bored.

With the 2 problems I still love the game and would buy it again.

91

A Remastered Gem!

Thebestfootball | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Thebestfootball's reviews »

This game was a Nintendo classic. For all the negative people out there please remember this game has a core audience. That is people between the ages of 25 to 40. If you were alive in the 80 you probably remember the show, and this game is about as faithful tot he show as you can get. the graphics are crisp and very Disney, the sound track as amazing as ever, yes it may not be super hard or ground breaking, but this game was not meant to be that. It is a tribute tot he fans who remember picking up a game to completion on the NES in an hour or two.

87

Bring back so many memories!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

This game is a gem to anyone who played and was a fan of the original "DuckTales" on the NES. Most the "critic" reviews come from people who are 18-24 years old and didn't grow up with the game. Most complain about "corny" jokes, bad controls and a simple storyline, guess what? That was DuckTales!

As far as gameplay, it's exactly like the original but really nails the core mechanics of the game while also introducing the player to a true DuckTales story line. It handles the EXACT same way as the original game, so don't expect to use the joystick to maneuver yourself. The game is actually challenging offering only four hearts/3 lives per stage. If you die, you go back to the map selection screen.

93

Blast from the past.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

This isn't for a lot of people, but for anyone who wants to re-experience a classic game, grab this. You'll be jumping around on your cane as Scrooge McDuck, battling his wealthy and otherworldy foes on a quest for booty. It's smooth and how it looks definitely stands out from a lot of stuff out there today. I love how the characters look and how they've grabbed some of the old voice-talent to do some work here. It plays almost exactly like the original with a few minor tweaks, but I couldn't ask for more. I wish they would've included a mode to let it look like the original though. Would've ben a nice throwback. But if you were a fan of the show or the game, I'd advise you to grab this. Very nostalgic, very fun.

100

A must for DuckTales and platformer fans!

krythorian | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all krythorian's reviews »

I played the DuckTales game when I was young on my gameboy, this game is a very VERY good remake of that game and it's very fun but it's hard at some points, I recommend this game for anyone that have played the earlier ducktales game and liked it and I also recommend it for everybody that loves platformers. 100/100 I can't find anything wrong with it, I hope they make more remakes of old games like darkwingduck and chip and dale, so if any dev reads this please make more remakes they are wanted!!!