Reviews for Assassins Creed

80

Impressive for 2008, ok+ now

galgol | March 24, 2014 | See all galgol's reviews »

+Huge open world +Horses +Combat mechanic core +Free-run mechanic concept -Free-run problems: the game likes to disobey me :( -Repetitive +-Story isn't very interesting, but if you want to know all about AC you sould play it +Unique setting +What came next: AC2 is amazing.

85

Get repetive after a while.

Mandemon | March 17, 2014 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Ah yes, the first Assassin's Creed game. I've got fond memories of this one.

The game revolves, as the name says, assassins and assassinations. In the simplest form, you are given a target. Then, you need to locate the target, plan your approach and kill him. Beauty is in that you can do this either through blending in and killing the target before anyone realizes what is going on... or by just jumping in middle of the crowd and stabbing him.

The game offers an open world experience, though the areas you can access are limited at first, but open up as the game continues. Parkour style movement allows the player to freely navigate the world and question becomes "What route to take", rather than "Can I go there".

Game offers nice set of weapons. There are swords, throwing knives as well as the iconic hidden blades.

Games story is... confusing, to say the least. Story is told through present time events and through assassinations which happen(ed) during the Crusades, told through "genetic memory".

Biggest problem the game has is repetition. After the first assassinations, the game falls into a monotome rhythm of "Go to city, do side quest, go kill target". This is especially bad if you, for whatever reason, quit playing for sometime and decide to start over. You soon get bored doing the same things again and again, with limited arsenal and skills.

Controls are... weird, I never got them to work properly for myself and agamepad offered no help, the actions mapped out weird. I needed to remap them to more sensible configuration. Still, the game is playable with keyboard as well as with a controller.

Still, it is a nice game and offers good fun on the first run.

82

Very decent start to a great series

Gmen | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

In this title you play the character Desmond Miles in modern times, who is kidnapped by a couple of doctors and forced to take part in an experiment involving a machine called an Animus. The Animus tracks a person’s genetic memory right back to his ancestors and recreates these memories in 3D virtual reality form. Desmond (and therefore the player) assumes the role of Altair, a medieval assassin belonging to a creed, who is out to redeem himself for disgracing the brotherhood, by assassinating key targets in the cities mentioned above.

I’m a big fan of anything that is set in the middle ages. This game doesn’t disappoint, as the cities of Masyaf, Damascus, Acre and Jerusalem that the player will visit during the game are amazingly crafted down to every last detail. The graphics are rather good, and riding around the gorgeous countryside is akin to games like Oblivion or Gun, traveling from place to place. The gameplay isn’t entirely different from those titles either, except for the RPG element in Oblivion. I’d say it’s more like Gun in its objective and side quest layout.

As for the gripes in the game, I found that the sound has a few miscues and skips in dialogue and in-game cutscenes. The cutscenes are very good and inventive besides that though, with the player being able to move around, and change the camera angle while the scene plays out. I also noticed that the controls can be hard to master on a keyboard, with the scheme being similar to Tomb Raider Anniversary and Prince of Persia with the same aggravation present with a missed jump or failure to connect with an environment hotpot like a brick on a side of a wall. On a good note though, the parkour, or free running, element in the game, hopping from roof to roof will remind you of good old Thief and the thieves’ highway, except it’s much better, with the ability to sprint wildly across rooftops, jump across streets and scale up anything vertical (except trees).

There’s also an original concept here in terms of being able to climb to the top of viewpoints throughout the game to learn of important quests that will help you in your main goal, and then carry out those quests such as pick pockets, assassinations, interrogations and helping civilians in order to obtain vital clues for your mission. This seems sort of in line with Hitman: Blood Money, where you have a choice in how to complete your hits. In fact the soundtrack here is composed by Jesper Kyd, who also worked on the Hitman series.

I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants to play something new. It doesn’t completely reinvent the wheel in terms of gameplay, with elements borrowed from some games and put together, albeit nicely. The story is quite exciting, and if you want sword fights and killing sprees, you’ll want this.

85

Building Block to a better place

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

As the first in the series obviously its not going to be the most rounded of the games. The biggest issues with this game like having to ride from town to town, and allowing counter attacks to be an automatic "I-WIN" button. It is a great game that is the first chapter of the Assassins Creed book. Obviously if you want the whole story of the series you would want to play this one. It is still a really enjoyable game. But one of those games that after you've played the newer ones in the series you can feel the drag of the aspects they quickly dropped

88

beautifull starter for the series

ruttenmurf | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all ruttenmurf's reviews »

Assassins creed is a wonderful game were you use skills and stealth to try and assassinate your target. This game still has beautiful graphics and fluent gameplay. I do not really think the graphics have improved much from 1 to 3 anyway. I loved this game because it is set in the crusader period which I find a very interesting historical time. The game makes the perfect combination between realism and fiction. The events have happened but in the game you as an assassin made them happened which feels pretty damn good. I like this game even if it doesn’t an rpg element to it as the 2nd game. If you played the last assassin creed game you are almost obligated to buy this game. Here you can find out where it all started.

76

The Decent Start to the series

MPixels | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all MPixels's reviews »

If you haven't heard of this series, I'd be surprised. This game spawned a successful series of murder-them-ups but the first game is slightly different. Whereas in its sequels, you can happily (and easily) fight your way through hordes of enemies without faltering, the missions in AC1 fit the theme better, You stalk your target, finding out the perfect way to sneak into his inner sanctum and slay him before he knows you are there. This is the game's greatest strength and greatest weakness. From an immersion standpoint, it is fantastic to be placed in the shoes of a medieval assassin, stalking his target for the right time to strike. From a gameplay standpoint, it often turns into "Sit on a bench: the videogame". But that doesn't take away from the fact that there's nothing like Assassin's Creed on the market and even the first one, for all its niggling faults, is definitely worth playing

85

Stereotype, but funny as hell

DeltaFixer | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all DeltaFixer's reviews »

Didn't expect much of primarily console game, but after few minutes of playing I was amazed by the scale and look of the game. Until AC I had no idea how amazing can open world game be. Some may say the plot is too simple or obvious, but I found it quite entertaining. The game doesn't force player to hurry up and finish, instead you are free to do whatever the game allows you to do and that is plenty. The only thing that players can really complain about is that after few hours the gameplay becames repetitive.

90

AWESOME

Lasiu2 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Lasiu2's reviews »

"Assassin's Creed is a beautiful, exciting experience that will stay with you long after you finish it." - GameSpot. I think it tells you how is that game. I played it long long time ago an dit was my favourite game. It made me feel like assassin. I spend a lot of hours of my life playing this game. Playing and playing. All the time. I think it was kinda sic... but never mind ;D . This game's graphic is pretty cool. I dont feel the soundtrack. I mean i dont hear it.. Maybe because its perfect, maybe because it doesnt have anything special. I wont rate soundtrack because im not sure... Game play is .. nice. I think ubisoft made it really well. I like everything in it. Instead of that you can press move+space+shift and pass whole map wihtout looking on screen. You just have to take care fo water. And thats the only minus. I love plot, it made me search on internet a lot of things that are shown in AC (btw its historical game right? :D ). I recommend it to everyone! :D

80

Good, but too repetitive

MarcoCav | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Assassin's Creed is a game full of atmosphere, colours and movements worthy of Prince of Persia. But not only; along with a very nice appearance, today it is still very rewarding, there is also a gameplay that is interesting and well done, yet repetitive and boring after a few hours of play. The real problem of Assassin's Creed is in fact the continuous succession of the same tasks assigned to the player, devoid of interesting ideas or interactions with the environment. Everything looks the same to himself, and finish the game becomes almost an effort, rather than a fun.

85

Where It All Began The "2007 Era"

lagendofdoom | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

Assassin's Creed came out in 2007 to the consoles and in 2008 in the PC. The game was "special" something new to the gaming industry. It became a revolution for Ubisoft. An interesting idea of game and storyline which became a whole series. You play as Altair an assassin at the 12th century where there wasn't any guns or technology, where murders and weapon tools were blades and crossbow. Your mission is to kill 9 other humans in order to save your own life. You will need to gather information\knowledge, weak points and "plan" you assassination in order to survive and escape when the deed is done. There aren't any "Stealth" mechanics there is only one way to kill you target, and it is by "Hit and run". you will run from the guards and if you won't you can face them but they will be able to overwhelm you at first ( until you will progress enough in the game to be able to face them all ). The game brings an excellent idea but the part where you need to gather information is pretty much boring and repetitive and annoying to the most players.

75

Good game, great saga.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This game is the beginning of a great series. It was, hands down, one of the best games available back when it was released, and it's still quite solid. However, it has become a bit obsolete: the missions are repetitive, there isn't much weapon diversity, and so on. If you want to follow the saga, however, I strongly recommend picking this one up, as it'll explain the beginning of the main story. All in all, the game is still quite good, and you'll probably enjoy it in general, but compared to nowadays' titles it lacks a bit of gameplay depth.

86

Very good game

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Assassins creeds star is the location and the city. Every area is represented beautifully and with sheer accuracy that isn't found in other open world games. The combat in the game is free flowing and feels great, chaining together kills is extremely fun. The graphics are also good enough to pull of all the detail of the city. My only gripe is that it can get repetitive.

78

Legendary game

Jimmysil | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

This game has a really interesting story. That's probably the only things that makes you play it until the end. Gameplay feels very boring after a few hours of playing, it pretty much the same thing all over again. But don't worry it's not that bad as it may sound and you will enjoy it. The fact is that Ubisoft made a lot of improvents in every upcoming Assasin's Creed and the latest one is nearly a perfect game.

85

The Beginning of a whole new Relationship.

Forestoz | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Forestoz's reviews »

Assassin's Creed, There aren't a lot of words that can easily describe the feeling you get when you play Assassin's Creed for the first time. I remember picking it up on it's day of release, and was hooked from the start. How it immerses you with it's customs, traditions and surrounds you with this history that makes the whole experience feel whole. Nothing was like it, nothing so intuitive and giving. Each little part of the game makes you hungry for more, until the big climax, and you feel everything come to end. If you're interested in collectibles, you won't be disappointed after you finish. With a fair amount to look for post-game (Templars and Flags) you'll be happy and left satisfied. But be warned that after all of that, it is almost compulsory for you to move onto Assassin's Creed II.

85

Awesome experience

zipnox | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Assassin's creed is the first game in a series, and what a way to propel into greatness it is. It's an open world stealth action-adventure hybrid set in the Holy Land of the 12th century, a great era for this kind of game. The plot is awesome and has lots of memorable moments, the protagonist and antagonist are very well made, great voice-acting overall not to mention the superb sound, graphics and music.

It has a few faults though, one being that missions and other than main quest activities do get repetitive after a while. My second gripe is that the traveling is a bit slow at times, the world is huge, and that's great, but it does get tedious to get from A to B in certain scenarios. Disregarding that, the gameplay is a blast and you can keep yourself entertained for hours in the cities.

Stellar production, very enjoyable and hard not to recommend, I had tons of fun being an assassin.

80

Great gameplay, nice story and repetitive quests

MrMrstoff | July 9, 2013 | See all MrMrstoff's reviews »

Assassin’s Creed’s gameplay was revolutionary when it came out. Running on walls, climbing and jumping were of course already quite common (e.g. Prince of Persia) but being able to climb almost every building in an open world was new and very entertaining for me.

The fighting mechanics are nice since you can use different weapons and moves and make use of the environment but it is way too easy and pretty repetitive after a while.

Although the game is already more than five years old it still looks good and the cities’ design is great. This provides a really nice atmosphere which is clouded by repeating models of buildings and persons. Furthermore being taken out of the Animus to the present is pretty annoying and destroys the atmosphere in my opinion.

The overall story is pretty nice and motivates to play the sequels but the quest design is really bad: you have a selection of repetitive quests in a region which you do over and over again in order to get to the bosses.

All in all Assassin’s Creed isn’t a perfect game, but it’s very solid and should be very entertaining for every fan of action games. Especially if you haven’t played the sequels, the gameplay makes up for the boring quests and keeps you entertained throughout the game

90

Very fun game.

jonnycarnage | June 21, 2013 | See all jonnycarnage's reviews »

If you have played the other games and you want to know more about the story... GET THIS GAME!!!

89

Stomach turning fun

patrickculhane | June 20, 2013 | See all patrickculhane's reviews »

A must for fans of free roaming fun. One of the original games that let you get to your goal in your own way. Scaling buildings and leaping in to the hay below does cause a chill - if like me you don't like heights. It can get a little repetitive towards the end but take your time to enjoy the beauty of the location.

84

Awesome Game

youknowwho77 | June 20, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

When I first played it, i was like "woow this game is so good". And I continued playing it. The game was so great, that I wanted more and more, and i actually became a fan of the franchize. If you haven't played any Assassin's Creed game yet, this one is best for you to start with. The story is awesome, the gameplay is great and enjoyable, and when you beat it, you will want to play the next one. Great game. I recommned it.

81

Great game...

Unex | June 18, 2013 | See all Unex's reviews »

... at least back then. Playing this game in 2008 blew my mind. It was actually the first game where you could climb up any random building which was really a breakthrough in the action genre. The fighting system was very cool and even though the guards just attacked once at a time and you simply perform a counter attack it was still beautiful to watch. The story which linked the modern world with the historical events of the crusades by using memories of ancestors was also a great idea.

The only downside of this game is that its sequels did everything better.

To start off, I pick up my last sentence. The story was a great idea but unfortunately the sequences in the "real" world were just plain boring even if I was actually interested in the story. You had nothing to do there but listening and couldn't skip the sequences on a second playthrough.

The second big problem of the game - which even might be pretty realistic but not less annoying - was that Altair couldn't swim. I guess everybody who played this game was annoyed at least once in the game by watching the protagonist drown. This even annoyed me back then. This wouldn't be much of a problem but the movements of Altair were a little clumsy. He couldn't grab ledges in midair until some point of the story and the climbing was pretty slow. The last point of criticism however was no problem actually but since Ezio is a much better and faster climber it definitely would be a very big con if I'd wanted to play AC1 again.

The third - and maybe most of you even read this in some of these reviews before - and biggest issue in this game was the "quest system" if you're even supposed to call it a system. It's very very repetitive and unfortunately you have to do the same thing over and over again to progress in the story. This didn't bother me on my first playthrough as I was still impressed by the open world and all its features but some friends of mine just quit playing the game because of this.

To sum up, Assassin's Creed is still a very good game and after all this time I would still recommend this game to anybody but only if they didn't play any of the other Assassin's Creed games. Simply because these games are just so much better at everything what this game did wrong.

90

Every legend has a beginning.

kalil | June 17, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

This game was the first of a series of hits in the video game market, and despite its flaws have created a shock in the PC world with its art section and incredible playability to the purest style Parkour at a time we all love.

The Gameplay was horrible innovation in the world of video games, sandbox style gameplay very liberal with parkour style, where we can climb all the buildings you want, get on watchtowers, interact with people and the environment . In short, a great playable. If it is true that had his bad points, as the occasional failure Bug annoying and mobility of the character, even that precious few scenes very repetitive in terms of models and textures, 3 huge cities with very few things to do, but with a design good enough to get you enough time to explore them.

His argument, a double-edged blade, one side is passionate, intriguing and attractive as few, but its development is somewhat dull and coarse, since all our goals will require us to act in the same way, and since September the number of victims can have done something heavy

Its graphical section / technology was impressive at the time, few games that year had achieved such quality graphics show in that genre. Their requirements were rather high, which is understandable for the dazzling quality, good effects, textures, filters, usually a passionate graphic potential.

Its soundtrack was very adequate with period style and creating tension in the moments that required it, maybe i miss some innovation in the different subjects.

The game was highly anticipated, and despite not quite meet expectations, managed to break into the market quickly, and achievement catch thousands of fans around the world.

A gem that every fan of AC should play and a great game to remember for years.

82

Best game of the franchise for the story.

jackyboi1014 | June 10, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

Really great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, There are around 4 different walking animations, and then there's another animation for running once you hit the "high profile" button.

This allows you to seamlessly transition between movement speeds for incredibly tight and precise controls. This ties in beautifully with the game's focus on parkour style game-play. Climbing up Jerusalem's tallest buildings and beholding the surrounding view is an amazing experience.

Sadly, the game does suffer from lack of variety in combat and missions. Not enough to spoil the experience though. Between the controls, the gritty atmosphere and plot, and the environments, there's quite a lot to enjoy here.

70

Great at the time

El_Rickhead | June 4, 2013 | See all El_Rickhead's reviews »

When i first played this game i enjoyed the hell out of it, however upon hearing the release date of the sequel i decided to play through for a second time, within a couple of years the game hadn't aged so well, the combat was shakey, the story was vague and the quests were oh so very repetetive. In all fairness this was the birth of other great games in the serious that turned out to be much more enjoyable so the game cannot be hated on too much, but play this game now and you will probably find it to be bland and unsatisfying.

67

Love for the newer ACs makes one blind to this game

Crazy4ever | May 27, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

AC1 is a good idea and marked the beginning of a great series. The game itself is better than most games, but nothing extraordinary. The story is quite boring and even though you can feel excited when fighting lots of soldiers and attempting to assasinate an english king, you often dont remember why you are doing it, as the story is mainly quite boring, except these parts and the last few missions of the game. The fighting and free-running mechanics are good. They are not as advanced as they are in later titles, but the fighting mechanics is very satisfiing compared to all the other titles (with exceptions of AC II and AC III) as it is quite challenging compared to as an example AC Revelations which is to easy. The game is a good one, but you should just buy it if you are or have newly become an AC-fan and want to know the whole story, it is not a good first AC game to buy, I must admit.

70

Ancestor of a much better follow-ups.

Pilgrim6 | May 11, 2013 | See all Pilgrim6's reviews »

The original assassin's creed laid a iron-steel background for the upcoming saga. Truth is, this game denies that the first game/movie is usually better than the one that follows.

Assassin's creed came with some really great innovations such as populated cities, stealth mechanics, assassinations, parkouring on the rooftops.

However the game is essentially hurt by the fact of omni-present repeating missions in every of the major cities you will be travelling in between. Three or four times is fine but once you are doing the same thing for a 10th time it starts to annoy you.

The only thing that keeps you bearing such a pain is a glimpse of a really good story, that in the end really comes, but it's really only the end.

However we can thank AC 1 for setting up a new brand that following titles much much improved..

70

Repetitive and boring

Stebsis | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

AC commits one of the worst sins in a gaming, it's boring and chore to play. One of the parts that might affect this for me is that I played AC2 before AC1 and after 2 the problems of this game were just too obvious and it made it hard to enjoy the good things as AC2 just made everything better.

First of all, repetitive. Every mission is basically the same, do three tasks and get information to go and assassinate the bad guy. These are just so boring after first couple of times.

Holy Land itself is a marvel to look at, the world feels alive and it's beautifully done. It's amazing to climb up a tall building and just take the world in.

Story itself is really forgettable. Frankly, I don't remembet it at all, not one thing. There are many bad games which stories I remember because they usually were enjoyably bad, but AC is just bland.

The climbing mechanics itself are really slow compared to AC2, it takes far too long to climb buildings as Altair is just so slow.

Despite all its problems, I give AC a score of 70 because of one thing it did right. It was new. When I first saw the game, I couldn't believe it. Next gen was coming and AC was the game that for me really started it even though I didn't play it at the time. It was a revolutionary and innovative title as one of the first games of this gen. I recommend playing this before other AC's because others are just much better, but AC is innovative title that despite all its problems brought something marvelous to the gaming world.

60

Impressive technologically, but best to just try the sequels

Antix | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

The game that started the long running franchise was a technological marvel when it came out. The sprawling cities, the many ways you could interact with the people and the objects, the smooth animations and how you could climb virtually anything was unprecedented. And it still holds up quite well. However, the game really doesn't have much else to offer.

You play as Altair, a member of an order of zealots who believe in the power of free will. They oppose the templars who believe that a few gifted individuals should achieve order and control over the masses by any means. Altair eventually ends up questioning his own beliefs but his character is simply flat outside of that. Desmond, Altair's descendant who is the one actually experiencing the events, is equally boring and unremarkable. The plot is all but absent as well, you only get the same heavy handed message from each assassination target you kill but with a different wording until the very end. The tasks leading up to the assassinations are repetitive and tedious. There are plain stupid parts like how you die from water or how it is suspicious to soldiers when your horse moves above walking pace on the road in the middle of nowhere. The combat is easy and there's little to make you want to use anything except counters once you're in open conflict.

Overall since the events of the game can pretty much be summed up in three sentences, there's not much you miss by skipping this game and moving on the vastly superior sequel, so that's what you should do.

74

Great idea but...

hannibal_king | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all hannibal_king's reviews »

Assassin's Creed is a good game. Story is absolutely extraordinary. As an idea game had huge potential but when you play you can see they wasted that potential.

Starting of the game is very good, very enjoyable. But you start to lose that joy as you keep playing. Because you can see all good ideas of the game are used in the start. After a few episodes you realize game starts to repeat itself. You just keep doing same things until end of the game. And that's not a good thing for a game.

90

This game ROCKS!

crazyspike | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

Assassin's Creed it a game about conspiracy and deception, when playing in our time you must go to a memory of ancestor, write in your dna. A third person game, climbing, lots of assassinations and side quests (open world). Main quest its AWESOME! History is rewritten when you play this game. Very good graphic and beautiful sound!!! This is game you MUST play!

89

Awesome game, not very stealth

CJV | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Assassin's Creed is a sandbox action game with a great 10-12h campaign and a lot of collectibles and sidequests. There are various types of missions, some requiring stealth, others climbing, eavesdropping, stealing and so on. The story is open ended, leaving some hooks to all the following sequels. A highly recommended game.

80

Fantastic Story!

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This game has very limited gameplay mechanics as has been mentioned many times over (and greatly improved upon in the sequels) but what attracted me to this one back then was the story. It's very unique .. how many games have this genetic memory thing going on and most of the game set in Crusader-era Arabia? Great stuff! Graphics are fine but it's the sound which sticks with you. Jesper Kyd's music deserves special mention .. I really love the work he has done for the Assassin's Creed series .. it just wouldn't be the same without him, very atmospheric. If you can get over the repetitive gameplay it's a very satisfying story and amazing ending!

63

Great at the time!

Bakken | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Bakken's reviews »

The first Assassins creed game was great at the time it was released, a bit short and repetitive but still, great. I would recommend everyone to play each of these games in the correct order because they're really worth it!

67

Good story but poor gameplay

panz3r88 | July 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Assassin's Creed is a third person action game with free roaming elements. During the main storyline we can accomplish some secondary mission and get some collectibles. The game has an interesting story but the gameplay has many weak point: the first one is the very low difficult level. During the gameplay it's very hard to die in particular when you'll learn the counter attack move you'll become practically invincible. An other weak point of the game are the side missions: they are repetitive and boring. Explore the cities performing cool moves like the faith jump is OK, but there is not much to do and the NPC are very useless. If you have played Assassin's Creed 2 and the following chapter you can consider this game like a beta version of the following chapter. If you are a fan of this series I recommend you to play this game to understand better the story, but the game is really worse compared to the other Assassin's Creed

83

Where one of the most successful franchise began

Cynaris | July 20, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Every start is rough. Assassin's Creed was a brave attempt at a videogame, and it didn't turn out perfectly. But it did offer something entirely new, something fresh and breathtaking. It gave the player freedom like no other game did before. You are an Assassin, and you tackle various task, from eavesdropping, to stealing, all the way to assassinations. And the first entry in the series offered only a glimpse from the future iterations. The combat isn't all too complicated, that might be the weakest part of the game.

The visuals were simply groundbreaking for the time, and it still does look really great. The sounds are just as good, and Jesper Kyd steals the show with the soundtrack. Genius.

85

Fantastic game with great story

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Fantastic game with great story and gourgerous graphics.What really makes it shine is the story, which has many twists and suprises, and always feels very compelling. Innovative for its time, it blended genres and seemed to take the best of Action, stealth and the essence of RPG.

70

Potential

Lingwisyer | June 13, 2012 | See all Lingwisyer's reviews »

This game has much potential. The story is great and the free running fluid (generally) but the combat is repetitive and some of the tasks boring (investigations). This game really shines with how it looks, the atmosphere in the cities and the fluidity of the movement through these cities. The music the flows around you as you almost seem to glide from building to building is amazing. I'd recommend that you play Assassins Creed 2 and only play this if you really want the background.

80

Diamond to be polished by sequels

Finka_Karfein | June 8, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

The game that started it all. The PC version is improved in comparison to console editions by 4 new types of missions. Nevertheless, the monotony is still going to catch you in a half of the game. Do not try to max the game because it will bore you to death. Unless you like doing the same thing all over again with just another target. My advice? Go through the main plot and you will be very satisfied with what AC has to propose. Graphics are great, animations rule, music is awesome. Only gameplay lacks some final works. Oh, and do not forget: water kills Altair in an instant...

66

So much potential...

karpik777 | Feb. 19, 2012 | See all karpik777's reviews »

To be frank and honest, if you do not really care about the plot do not buy this game even if you plan to play the next ones. I can recommend the sequels as they have been vastly improved from the original.

The main thing to remember is that Assassin's Creed 1 was a testing ground for the team - they needed to learn how to develop such games and see what works and what doesn't. So while the "main part" of the gameplay, which involves running and jumping from building to building, proves great fun, the missions you receive become boring and tedious very quickly. They are all based on one model and the same can be said about combat.

Although the plot is good, it has some minor issues. For example, our protagonist stays mostly the same in mood and demeanour despite all he's going through as the game progresses.

82

Assassin's Creed rise and shine!

Kosmav | Feb. 17, 2012 | See all Kosmav's reviews »

When I decided to play this game, I wasn't sure if I would really enjoy it because I am not such a fan of these kind of games. I was proved wrong !

The game made me stick to my monitor wanting to finish it and explore every single place of the game's world.

Even if the game is 4 years old already, it has nothing to make you feel it this way. Good graphics, atmospheric towns and very good scenarios that will definitely make you want to keep playing . It is difficult to find many bad things to say about it.

One minus thing is that the game doesn't support subtitles so for those who doesnt speak or understand english very well (like me), they will find it a little hard to follow all the conversations.

Another thing that maybe will make some of you get a little bored is that the missions in all the cities follow the same pattern - Saving people, racing challenges and so on. I think the developers could have added a few more activities to do in the cities. But even so, you will never feel that the game repeats itself.

I recommend Assassin's Creed to all the gamers, especially to those that are thinking of getting into the series and its storyline and want to start from the first one. I am now looking forward to start Assassin's Creed 2 and eventually play all the series one after the other non stop! :)

85

Just the Start

meiji | Nov. 20, 2011 | See all meiji's reviews »

Play as the infamous assassin Altair. Run quicker than lightning taking down your preys. solve the mystery's of what's truly happening. who are your real allies? Did you have any to start with? this is just the beginning of the AC legacy.

90

One of the best games I have ever played

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Assassin's Creed is one of these games wich deserved more attention. When I played at a friend's house I had many hours full of fun, it was always fun to go around on a horse, killing random enemies in the villages and such. The music and the ambientations are truly amazing, when getting pursuited you will it love to hear that music.

What I liked mostly was the story, very nicely written. Sadly the game can become a bit repetitive and finding hidden flags isn't the most fun thing to do.

You should get it if you want to try something new, out of the box!

85

Not really sandbox but fun nevertheless.

rasitha_raw | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all rasitha_raw's reviews »

Assassins creed is great as a whole franchise. So if you are interested you will have to buy the whole set to really enjoy it. This being the first of the series this is where you will want to start off. First of all i must tell you its a beautiful game. Although its a couple of years behind as a game the graphics are as top notch as any of the 2011 games. The architecture and the overall environment, its people and lighting effects are beautifully rendered immersing you in the era of the holy wars. Although it is classified as sand box, the missions and tasks you can do beside the story missions are a little repetitive. So what i did was always do the minimum amount of non story missions and always tried to keep moving with the story. And that doesnt really make you complete the game very quickly. So you will still have hours of fun with it. And the story is engrossing. No doubt. But it can be a little confusing. Specially with the ending. But still the way it ends just makes you want to buy assasins creed 2, because thats exactly where it starts off. So my recommendation is buy this, and if you even slightly enjoy this, buy the second, and the third and pre order the fourth.

63

Buy If You're Starting the Series

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

Assassin's Creed has got to be my favourite new games series to date. Unique gameplay has you assassinating targets Splinter Cell style, scaling buildings and free-running much like in Mirror's Edge(albeit with the option to go free roaming through the cities). The game feels and plays like one-of-a-kind.

As the first game in the series there are undoubtedly flaws, it acted as a testing ground to see if this concept of game would be popular and, at the time of release, these flaws could be overlooked due to the never before seen style of gameplay.

There's no doubt that I love this game and so you may wonder why my score seems particulary low; in hindsight now that the series has progressed it becomes more glaringly obvious how this game understandably falls short of it's successors. Mission types are few and most will just have you using your hidden blade to take out your target, each will first begin with collecting information from informants in the way of eavesdropping and pickpocketing - tasks which become menial by the end of the game as you wish you could be doing something more varied. Weapons consist of a series of different blades which all work in the same way and a small handful of throwing knives, meaning combat becomes more monotonous to look at and experience.

The free-running is what makes the game great. You could spend hours and hours just scaling every building and running across the rooftops in each city, as well as searching for tougher enemies, named the templar knights, scattered and hidden throughout the game. The story itself is pretty lackluster compared to the later games, consisting of nothing more than 'go kill X and once you get back go kill Y'. Altair never really develops as a person, only in the metagame does he become less bashful and more respectful; which is a shame as he could have been fleshed out more and developed past the point of being more than a solitary character.

Assassin's Creed 1 is not a terrible game by any means, the potential wasted in this title has been brought into the later Assassin's Creed games, but it leaves a lot to be desired and don't be surprised if you feel a little let down. I would recommend buying this game should you want to know what happens 'pre-ezio' or if you are starting the series - so once you get to the later games you can look back and see how much the series has improved and developed.

75

A great start

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

Assassins creed is the first entry in a new series for Ubisoft that aims to combine the awesome pakour-y-ness of the Prince of Persia games with the conspiracy and intrigue of Deus Ex. They did a damn fine job of it too. The story follows the exploits of master assassin Altiar as he leaps and bounds through the ancient holy lands during the crusades chasing down the templar to try and stop their plans of taking over the world. Having botched a mission right at the start Altiar is stripped of his rank and toys and forced to earn it all back again. All this comes from the memories of one of Altiar's descendants, Desmond. Desmond was kidnapped by a company called Abstergo and plugged into a machine they call the Animus, which allows the to view memories encoded into peoples DNA (geneticists will need to exercise some suspension of disbelief). Through Desmonds genetic memories of Altiar they hope to discover something, which all becomes apparent as Altiar assassinates the various templar leaders and slowly pieces together their plot.

The game its self largely consists of afore mentioned pakour-y goodness as Altair jumps from roof top to roof top and scales the tallest buildings to view his surroundings. The game also has an interesting view on 'stealth'. Instead of being sneaky and avoiding being seen by hiding in shadows and stalking, Altiar is so badass he can just hide in plain sight by mingling with crowds and slipping in with wandering groups of similarly dressed priests. With all these skill sets at your disposal it feels particularly rewarding climbing over the walls of a compound, walking up to your target disguised in plain sight and assassinating them without anyone even knowing and then just walking away. Except if you mess up that is. Thats when the games sword fighting comes into play. This is probably the weakest aspect of the game, as it generally devolves into a stand around and wait for the enemy to attack, then counter and repeat while everyone else just stands around and watches their buddy get slaughtered. Taking out a dozen guards cans till be fun, but it is a bit silly watching them do nothing. Initiating conflicts with a leaping stab from Altairs hidden blade is always fun though.

One of the other drawbacks of the first game was that each mission basically follows the exact same structure, gather intel on the target by doing a few different tasks like pickpocketing a target or beating info out of someone, then go stab the target in the face. The directors cut the PC got made this a little better by adding in a few extra mini games like races and flag gathering, but it cans till feel a tad repetitive overall. The good storyline and general awesomeness and style make up for this though.

Definitely a worthy purchase, especially given there are several other good games in the series (so far).

85

Epic

faraany3k | Aug. 31, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

When Ubisoft first released the trailers for the game, it was an instant hit. After the release, game received critical acclaim from all over industry. Assassin's Creed is the first game to introduce fluid platforming in massive cities with historical accuracy down to the core. The historically accurate cities and breathtaking graphics were the crown jewel. With a memorable storyline and interesting characters inspired from history, set the mood for a gaming experience, never seen before. Platforming was fun as hell and we can virtually scale each and every building in 3 huge cities. This kind of 'vertical gameplay' was rarely seen in any open world games.

There is no doubt that basic mechanics and mission structures were all amazing. We play as a Assassin, named Altair. Our missions are based on smaller interrogation mini games where we collect evidence. Which then leads to the second phase where we Assassinate our target. But after a few missions it was apparent that game lacks ambition in mission design. It was such a shame that almost perfect game was ruined by repetitive and ultimately boring game play. Fortunately for the series, the subsequent sequels addressees all the issues faced by the first title and made Assassins Creed the greatest gaming series ever. Assassins Creed itself is a a great game and worth the current price it is selling at. A 'Must Play' series for every gamer.

82

Nothing is true, everything is permitted

kalil | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all kalil's reviews »

When I saw the trailer for this game 1st look was impressed by the quality of this.

When I started playing I was surprised by the artistic concept, graphic and historical, is like a medieval version of gta.

The downside of this game is so repetitive that it becomes the long run (eg the watchmen should be taking pa open more new missions and missions of memory that is limited to 6 options: eavesdropping, theft of a document, interrogation, murder normal / stealth and destruction of shops) that ends up getting tired some players because the goals do not change (in the 2 and the brotherhood that is no longer seen)

Highly recommended game for those who want to get a bit of gta and have a high quality argument.

88

A big world for you to explore

Chack | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all Chack's reviews »

This game is a sandbox, which reminds me of Prince of Persia, because you can climb buildings, and go wherever you want. You have te mission to kill certain people in the story, and the storyline is really interesting. Although this game is really cool, there is something, I don't know what, that is still missing, nevertheless, it's a great game

92

Something... different.

newn | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

When I first saw this game - I thought: I've never seen something like that before. It was very unique experience to play this game. First of all - the storyline is very interesting. Second - nice graphics and sounds. Third - the idea of middle-ages combined with the future is great...

This game is definitely worth the money, I spend around 30 hours playing it and I would've spend more if I would've gotten another game I wanted for a long time. It's simply a great game!

65

Game with wasted potential

UnH | July 29, 2011 | See all UnH's reviews »

Assassin's Creed looked like really great at first. Fresh gameplay mechanics, great atmosphere of middle east cities, beautiful graphics. But when i was doing my third assassination a brutal truth appeared to me: it was the same as previous two mission. And same as forth, fifth and so on. This is the main flaw of this game, it is highly repetitive. You go to diffrent city, 3 in total, to do almost the same tasks: pickpocket somebody, eavesdrop a conversation, assissanate a guard or archer and few more (but total amount of tasks is about 10 or 12). Apart from that you in each city you look for high spots (towers, churches etc.) and rescues citizens from city guards. After that you do your assasination. And that's it. For nine times you do almost completly the same! Some small task, which variety ends after second contract and the big killing. Gets old pretty fast. The game could be really good. As for myself, to enjoy it I played it for about half a year, doing breaks to forget what it was about and then came back. That way it was quite nice experience:)

85

Great Action Game

IganX | July 21, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

I have been playing Assassins Creed for many years, and its totally a worthy game to play. Its plot is very complex and can be confusing at times, but if you get to follow it, its simply amazing. The gameplay is innovative and fun, though it may get repetitive after many hours of playing it. We are able to use some different weapons and skills to reach our targets and complete the main storyline, as well as many side-quests. The graphics are awesome, the cities and atmosphere the game gives are very immersive, and the game is great fun.

75

great game, not as good as sequal

Watsyerproblem | July 11, 2011 | See all Watsyerproblem's reviews »

having played assassins creed 2 first, i expected much more from this game but this is by no means a bad game just the sequel is better. the graphics are still phenomenal and runs well on current hardware, unlike other console ports (GTA 4) and is still fun to play. the only downside is the repetitive mission structure but it is less so than its console counterpart with more mission types. this game is a must for a assassins creed fan, just dont expect it to be the same as assassins creed 2

60

Good but not gripping,

thomasgjj | June 25, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

This game was very good and quite original.

I was enjoying it for the first few days I had it but I found it to get repetitive after that.

There seemed to be too match hiding from enemies, riding about, climbing and not enough combat for my liking.

The game was good for its times but I would not recommend getting it, I would suggest that you get the second one first and if you really like that you could come back and get this one.

70

Something fresh

nurz | June 13, 2011 | See all nurz's reviews »

Thera are things in Assasin's Creed you will love - interesting plot, beautiful graphics and animations and original setting. But it turned out you can't make great game just with mentioned above. You will have fun with the game, that's for sure, but it won't be something to remember. It's refreshing for the action genre but it feels like developers had a few good ideas and they made a game around it. Could be better.

70

Great game hampered by small flaws

GAMERamble | May 26, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

When Desmond Miles is kidnapped by Abstergo Industries, a powerful corporation with some very sinister plans his life takes a turn for the worse. One day he’s just a bartender trying to keep a low profile and the next he’s strapped to a weird machine called the “Animus” that can read the ancestral memories buried in the DNA of its subject. It seems that Abstergo is very interested in information about one of Desmond’s ancestors called Altair. Altair was an 11th century assassin in the holy land during the third crusade who got demoted after he botched the recovery of an artifact called the “piece of Eden” from Solomon’s Temple. Some Templars (the sworn enemies of assassins) were also interested in the artifact and in his eagerness to keep it out of their hands Altair broke all three the codes of his order’s creed. Nearly paying for this mistake with his life he is stripped of his rank in the order and instructed to redeem himself by killing nine key figures which would help facilitate peace between Crusaders and Muslims. His quest takes him to the cities of Jerusalem, Acre and Damascus and the truths he uncovers has some far reaching consequences for mankind.

Assassins Creed was a big hit on the consoles and for once computer owners gets a nice conversion with a few extras. Graphically Assassins Creed looks amazing and thanks to the higher resolutions available on computer never ceases to wow. Each city is rendered in exquisite detail and teeming with citizens going about their business. All this graphical splendor comes at the cost of fairly high system requirements if you wish to experience the full effect but trust me its well worth it. The animation’s alone is worth the price of admission. Watching Altair climb up a building and realistically reaching for foot and handholds is an awe inspiring sight and must have been quite a technical achievement to pull off considering the enormous scale of the environments. The Prince of Persia might have set the standard for acrobatics in games but Altair takes the concept to new heights. As a highly skilled assassin there is virtually no area that is inaccessible to Altair with ninja-like abilities providing he can stay one step ahead of the city guards. Assassins are obviously not very well liked and if Altair does anything suspicious they will be all over him like white on rice. Altair is no slouch in the combat department but it’s obviously better not to have 20 guards baying for your blood while you are trying to secretly gather information about your target. You’ll definitely want to partake in at least a few battles jus to see the spectacular moves Altair can pull off. While combat never become gruesome like in some other games that contain severed limbs and heads Assassins Creed isn’t squeamish with blood spraying around and thanks to the fluid animation you’ll wince in sympathy each time some poor guy ends up on the wrong end of Altair’s sharp weapons.

What is most amazing about Assassins Creed is how simple it is to play. Obviously there is an initial learning curve as you have to get to grips with the unique control scheme but once mastered you’ll be scaling tall buildings with ease and leaping from roof to roof without even thinking about it. I’d advise the use of a gamepad however as playing with the mouse and keyboard combination works but results in some finger bending combinations. While the relatively simple controls provide some very impressive acrobatics the same cannot be said for the gameplay. Once the initial wow factor wears off you’ll soon realize that the missions on offer are pretty repetitive and becomes tedious after a while. Computer owners are lucky because they get four extra mission types but this still doesn’t make up for the lack of things to do in the vast cities. Sure you can climb up, over and around almost everything but when your only incentive to do so is to collect “hidden” flags that serve absolutely no purpose to the plot whatsoever it’s hard not to become a bit bored. Don’t get me wrong the first few hours of the game you’ll be way to busy exploring and causing havoc to notice this but towards the end of the game it becomes very apparent that Assassins Creed has a lot of wasted potential.

Being an assassin Altair obviously has to keep a low profile while information gathering and missions so a large part of the game is taken up by evading guards and staying out of sight. Since all missions take place in broad daylight you don’t have the option to slink around in the shadows so instead you have to “hide in plain sight”. If you are being chased by guards you’ll have to break their line of sight and then blend in by sitting on a bench between two other people for example. Or you could dive into a haystack or roof garden until the danger blows over. A convenient alertness level meter will indicate how aware or suspicious guards are of your activities but later in the game you can hardly walk past a guard without hordes of them trying to kill you. In fact it’s one of the games biggest failings that towards the end things fall apart and degenerate into a repetitive series of fights where the odds are stacked way against you. The game also has a spectacularly unsatisfying ending but since it’s apparently only the first in a trilogy of games I guess it makes sense.

While all of this might make it sound like this is a game you might as well pass up nothing could be further from the truth. True, this won’t be everyone’s cup of tea but Assassins Creed definitely brings some very cool innovations to the genre. While a lot of the stuff you do in the game like the horse riding and assassinations have been done before the overall package and presentation has never been this polished. From the bustling cities filled with people that can help or hinder you to the epic musical score and atmospheric sound effects it’s clear to see that a lot of care and hard work has gone into this game. It’s not often that I just sit back and admire the views and locations in a game but with Assassins Creed I found myself doing this quite a lot.

Assassins Creed has one of the most interesting and intriguing story lines I’ve seen in a while and while some of the cut-scenes can become a bit long winded the story had me gripped right to the end. The mix of modern conspiracy theories and near future science coupled with the historic setting for the assassination missions makes for an interesting contrast. If you are expecting this to just be a fancier version of Prince Of Persia think again, Assassins Creed might not live up to all the hype it has generated but it’s a very good game in it’s own right and hopefully the series will only go from strength to strength. Hopefully the next games will pick up some tips from the Grand Theft Auto series on how to create compelling and varied missions within a free roaming and open ended city environment.

86

Repetitive

drakaenae | May 23, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

Assassin's Creed has a great plot and excellent and unexpected ending. The graphics are great compared to most a lot of pc games today. But the main problem of this game is the gameplay - its too repetitive. After you assassinate the first leader, everything that follows will be nearly the same. Sure, the guards may be stronger, and it may take longer to assassinate your target but nothing other than that changes. This game is worth playing for the plot but if you just want to play the game for its gameplay, I wouldn't recommend playing it after assassinating the first leader.

75

Nice game, for a bit...

virtualflyer | April 17, 2011 | See all virtualflyer's reviews »

AC is a really good game, it has a graphic that looks very good even now, the location is amazing, all cities have been rebuilt in the game in fantastic way, and running on the houses is the best you can think of! But, there's a but, you can go all around the city and try to kill everybody in a stealth way, but after a bit you understand that you'd better run, run and run. There's no difference and every mission is similar to the one before. If you haven't played it buy it, but you'll probably get bored after some hours.

71

Wonderful setting, but too repetitive.

Zchinque | April 13, 2011 | See all Zchinque's reviews »

Assassin's Creed at it's best is a mixture of beautifully fluent free-running and swift, silent assassinations. At it's worst, it is a repetitive chore of uninteresting sword fights where all you do is hold the block button, and wait for an opportunity to counter attack.

The biggest problem with the game is that the worst parts are the most prominent when you go through the missions to advance the story, while the free running is usually better if you just run around and stab random guards for kicks.

If you can stand the repetitive parts of the game, you are in for a treat, as the game shows some real potential. However, it does not fulfill that potential, and for many players the glimmers of greatness will fail to overcome the rather average parts.

86

Fell like assassin!

srukor | April 13, 2011 | See all srukor's reviews »

The game's story takes us into the times of the Third Crusade, the Holy Land historically mapped in places like Acre, Damascus and Jerusalem. You play the character named Altair, a member of a mysterious sect of the Assassins, assassins prevailing in the Middle East. Your goal is to eliminate nine leaders, both Christian and Saracen, advocating the conflict associated with the crusade. Method and route of the task depends only and exclusively on the player, which is the most benefit of the whole game, no press from the developers in which way you want to assassin someone. Our hero seems to be most flexible figure in the history of video games. With the big freedom of movement easily climbs on each building, jumps easily from one rooftop to another, and very handy with his sword. Animations and the fights are very spectacularly realized here, beautiful graphics and overall performance is breathtaking! What to want more? I also recommended the newest adventures called Brotherhood which are the best in trilogy…but you have to start with the beginning…

75

Shouldn't be skipped.

xtrench | April 12, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

This game is full of amazing but slightly unpolished ideas with stunning animations and living cities that make you feel immersed in the world. The story is intriguing and keeps you interested both in the past and the games present. Even though there are many different side missions for you to fulfill as an assassin they all feel repetitive. Perhaps gamers that lean to the OCD might find it entertaining but for the rest of us they are skippable(luckly you don't have to complete all of them). But the main assassinations are pretty fun to execute so the boring side missions are somewhat negated. Overall the sequels to assassin's creed have improved on all the bad aspects of the game but the first one shouldn't be skipped even if it's just for the story because it is very relevant to the overall universe of assassin's creed. Also the graphics, art and level design is impressive.

80

Overshadowed by it's sequel, but awesome nevertheless

Jahman | April 11, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

Assassin’s Creed is far from perfect, but still a very decent game. You may say it is also a kind of experiment, one from which it’s sequels gained a lot.

I admit that when the game was gifted to me a hadn’t the slightest idea what to expect of it (for some reason I have never heard about it before then). What first struck me on my first playthrough was… the level of innovation. For me, the biggest advantage of AC is the sheer number of original ideas implemented in the game. While not all of them good and almost all of them improved in the sequels, they provided more than enough incentive to keep me glued to the monitor for at least a couple of hours.

First comes the setting and story. The “Animus” idea was great and immersive, even if the “out-of-Animus” parts were somewhat sluggish. The story itself - nicely done characters and a couple of twists I really didn’t see coming.

Then there are the esthetics and the level design – both of them on a very high level. The cities seem not only pretty accurate historically but also very alive. The architectural designs suit the gameplay needs perfectly and the cities and their streets are varied enough to not seem repetitive. Also, the graphics themselves age pretty well.

Then there is the gameplay. The most criticized flaw of the AC is it’s repetitiveness. Well… it’s true. It is. But for me it’s rather a fault of its length (as in “too long”) than what it offers. Actually I can’t seem to remember another game apart from the AC series where the medieval combat was equally well done. The move animations are great, the controls (and the “high and low profile actions” mechanics) are very good and while the enemies AI may be rather dim and the combat itself may not be very advanced, it’s still fun. And that’s even taking into account that you can beat almost the entire game only using the “parry and counter” move. On top of that the “platforming” (for lack of a better word) part of the game is even better. What AC did is offer the monkey-moves and climbing already known from other games and mixed them up with sandbox environment. A very well done sandbox environment, I should add. Thanks to that, not only is the platforming aspect a very intuitive one, but also makes simply moving around fun. Oh, and it’s one of those few games that you don’t have to wonder if that wall is climbable or not – if it’s not flat – you can scale it.

To sum up – if Assassin’s Creed is a very good game even in the shadow of its sequels. It does have its flaws and the repetitiveness later in the game may prevent you from finishing it all in one go, but it’s still innovative and entreating enough to be worth playing.

70

Fun, but...

robertification | April 9, 2011 | See all robertification's reviews »

This game is just as Assassins creed II and Assassins Creed Brotherhood fun, with nice free running and good gameplay.

However, and this is my personal opinion, I speak out of experience, I always get bored with any assassins creed game after an hour or 6. I'm not saying this applies to everyone, but you should seriously consider if you will still like this game on the long term. I don't think this game is any worse than the sequels.

The only worse thing are the graphics, which are slightly worse. But for this price, you can't really complain actually.

75

High potential for an original story

ZippaLip | April 9, 2011 | See all ZippaLip's reviews »

The best thing of this game is surely its amazing story (whit a particular connection between past and present) along whit the setting (middle age and the crusade) that's inusual and different from the abused fantasy or modern wars. The graphic is very good, the player will live the wonderful city or country location and the controls imput (mouse and keyboard) are well balanced even for a pc-action game. The game has a high potential not expressed at his maximum (maybe in the sequel that i haven't played yet) because of some repetivie mission and sometimes lacks of interation. But is a good game even for the players that dislike console conversion.

60

Wait for sequel

fearon | April 8, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

What is Assassin's Creed? It's a game about wasted potential. You have fascinating historical era, amazing cities and professional killer. Good recipe for hit? Yes, but producents of Assassin's Creed failed even when they had good idea for game. Still you can have fun with Altair - the main protagonist - but this game is best for 30 minutes sessions, not more. Sequel is better choice.

80

Assassin Holy Land.

Comros | April 8, 2011 | See all Comros's reviews »

Assassin's Creed is an action game portraying us in a role assassyna a word assassin - Altair'a. Embedded in-game events are happening both during the Third Crusade led by King Richard the Lionheart, and sometimes in the present. The game is similar to Prince of Persia series, authors put great emphasis on the elements of acrobatics, jumping from the highest tower in the castle is here as usual. In AC we will visit Jerusalem, Akke, or even Damascus. While we're silent killers is our main weapon is a blade hidden in the sleeve. Given at our disposal, other weapons such as swords or knives. Despite all the long term, the game may weary, schedule of each mission is the same: Take the order, did not come close to attracting attention, eliminate the target, and finally run away if the forces in the legs. But the game deserves the praise, the locations look very nice, and the character animations are at a high level, although they have bugs. With a pure heart, I can say that AC is a unique game that will appeal to both hardcore players and newcomers in this genre.