Reviews for Saints Row IV

75

Fun but repetitive

jasbro | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all jasbro's reviews »

Well here we are with the release of SR4, with even more over the top antics of the saints than ever.

The game starts with you saving the world from an attack and being elevated to the president of the US, but hey good things dont last and shortly after aliens invade and kidnap everyone and sticks you in some weird matrix style simulation, one of the many parodies that fill SR4's story.

Once again though sadly the game falls into the repetition of SR3 were activities are somewhat forced on you, but this time they are relegated to side missions and away from the main story, which is nice, but you'll still find yourself needing to do them if you want the special weapons like the Dubstep gun.

You get your side missions from each of the saints as you free them from their simulation with these side missions sending you to complete a series of activities for which you do get a nice reward like a new outfit or weapon.

The addition of superpowers livens things up for sure with you gaining your first ones within the first hour of playing, all powers are upgradeable with collectable orbs you find all over the game world, they are very fun to use but i found that when you upgrade your super speed and super jump a few times which takes no time at all if you go hunting for the orbs for a while, you will never need to use a vehicle again which i found to be a damned shame, there are alot of cool new vehicles to play with.

Overall i found the game to be quite fun and i do recommend it to any fans of Saints Row, and if you really loved the activities in SR3 you will absolutely love SR4's, but for me it just got boring quite fast.

85

It's just pure fun.

fable2 | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Now here is a game with a premise. The (fully customisable) protagonist of Saints Row IV is a former gang leader-turned-president of the United States. Aliens invade, trapping the people of earth in a matrix-esque simulated prison, leaving a superpowered commander-in-chief to save the world. The game's first mission involves a nuclear terrorist threat and the action actually escalates from there, eventually reaching dizzyingly surreal heights. In gameplay terms, the Saints Row series has never been revolutionary. It started life as a Grand Theft Auto clone, and that's still obvious here, though the superpowers are well-handled, fun and easy to use. The real strength is the writing, which is second to none. Saints Row IV is a brilliantly sharp cavalcade of pop-culture parody, showing a care for good dialogue and wit rarely seen in games. It may be immature, but that doesn't mean it isn't clever. I really recommend you get this game, especially if you didn't play the previous one.

95

Ridiculously super fun

spycid | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

There was no doubt that this game would not be a fun. Sure this game is expanded version of the standalone DLC Enter The Dominatrix which was supposed to release this year. Still this game can be called a standalone full of mindless fun and a great game. Co-Op is also uber fun as you can drop-in and drop-out seamlessly whenever you wish. It's definitely improved in both gameplay and graphics terms. There are so many things to do that you will never get tired or bored of doing. It's a must play for all sandbox and over the top game lovers.

92

Super Saints!!!

anazqwe | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all anazqwe's reviews »

Saints Row the Fourth!!! Many people said that SR4 is pretty much SR3 with more stuff.. Then I'd say that this is another great game! This game is fun to play in single or multiplayer mode. But since it is pretty similar with SR3, I'd say wait a bit until it gets cheaper. Once it is cheaper though, this is a must get.. I cant wait to see what they're gonna offer next..

Great game, MUST GET!!

96

You NEED to get this game!

myromance123 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all myromance123's reviews »

I played Saints Row The Third two times over. Loved it. I was initially worried they wouldn't be able to be as creative with a follow up, which is Saints Row IV.

They proved me wrong! This game is amazingly good fun. Being able to create blackholes that eat everything in its vicinity is a new feeling to me.

More importantly though, is the super powers you gain in the game. Never have I felt a better implementation of super powers, where it lets you play seamlessly as a wannabe hero. Jumping buildings, and running around like a mad man is so much fun! Yet it doesn't make you feel overly powered. You are still bound by rules and stamina. It is well balanced.

Storyline wise, it's the wackiest yet most interesting thing about the game. Every movie scene that pops up, I honestly feel the need to watch it. Saints Row IV could be made a movie, and I'd watch it. You'll definitely find moments where you laugh out loud, or just simply go "Wtf!".

This game will entertain you for weeks to come! Especially with the upcoming DLCs that they possibly have planned.

On a last note though, sadly this game is not playable on Linux with CrossOver due to it's DirectX11 nature. I hope Deep Silver and Volition may offer a future Linux port or support, but for now every Linux gamer and myself will only be able to play this in Windows or on a console.

88

Great Game

Naleen | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all Naleen's reviews »

Played a total of 15 hours and I have yet to set foot into a car. I've killed a nuke, flew a space ship, chose the red door and got an achievement, This game is packed full of easter eggs, from star trek, matrix, harry potter, minecraft. And I am 25% complete.

100

Saints Row the IV - better then ever

wolferatus | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

This game is so funny, if you loved Saints Row the third, you will love IV, a must have for Saints fans. The graphic is better than on "the third" and story the story has the same awesome humor! Buy it, comone buy it, you know you need this XD

86

Great!

spiken0 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

With the little I've played so far, I have to say I'm really impressed! Do not buy this game is you're assuming it's some GTA rip off, Saint's Row is in an entirely different league. This being the first Saints Row that I've played, my response is not "fan boy" inspired in the least.

My impressions so far is that this is a game that is extremely exaggerated and so over the top that you can't help but have a good time. It's adult humor, non-stop one liners, and extreme action makes for a really enjoyable experience. I'll have to play more to really give an in depth analysis. But as of now, the first few hours I've played have been BLAST!

85

Another good Saint's Row game

Cavalieroscuro | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Just like the third chapter of the franchise, Saints Row 4 is a very good and funny game. A lot of different things to do, co-op features to enjoy the game with a friend, a crazy plot full of references and non-sense stuff, SR4 is a must. Graphic is basically the same of the third game, with several improvments. If you like the other titles, just buy this one too.