Reviews for Assassin's Creed 2

90

Shooting for the Stars

meiji | Nov. 20, 2011 | See all meiji's reviews »

Play as Desmond and go into the past. Learn the forbidden truths of the universe. solve all the puzzles. Sequels often fail to live up to their predecessor, however AC:II is NOT one of them. It is much better than the first and shows they'll continue to leave the player in awe.

93

Very fun game!

lordzed | Oct. 19, 2011 | See all lordzed's reviews »

The controls can be a bit hard to get used to at first (if you haven't played much of AC1). For the most part, the movement is fluid, but a few times Ezio got stuck or made a weird decision to leap off the side of a building for no reason... Much better than what I glimpse from the 1 hour or so I've played of AC1, though the combat is still quite slow and focuses on counter-attacks.

Campaign does look to be about 20 hours long, though if you do all the side missions and object hunts, it might push 35 hours. However, don't make my mistake and try looking for all the treasures BEFORE finishing the campaign, because that really make you tired :P Biggest complaint I have is that, for an assassin, Ezio is too strong in normal combat. Sure, he should be good, but there really is no incentive for staying in cover, except that it doesn't waste your time. I'd like to see battles that I know I will lose if I fight, but right now a 1v8 fight is actually a 1v1 fight 8 times.

95

Requiescat In Pace

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

It's hard to describe this game without coming off as a fanboy. Assassin's Creed 2 is top contender for my favourite game of all time. Vastly improving upon its predecessor, AC2 starts the story of the young Florintine named Ezio. While the first game only focused on a few years of Altair's life, this game starts when Ezio is barely a man and finishes when he is late into his adulthood - many events take place which change his life forever and actually make you feel for the character.

The story is gripping and compelling with many turn of events and you will find yourself assassinating your targets in varied ways. Something the first game lacked. Combat is still fairly simple and easy in the fact that you still wait for your opponents to attack, then counter for an instant kill; but with a larger plethora of weapons (you can buy and exchange weapons this time round) you most likely won't get bored of the combat by the end of the game.

If you bought the first game and were unsure about getting this game then I heartily recommend that you do. AC1 is nothing more than a diamond in the rough compared to this immaculate jewel. AC2 is a game packed with fun and should last you many hours.

95

Better than the first, definitely.

Gh0st233 | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

I remember that the original Assassin's Creed did not appeal to me very much. I would end up not knowing what I have to do now, the combat is repetitive, so is gameplay and the missions. In Assassin's Creed 2, all that changes. In AC2, we follow the path of the young Ezio Auditore, whose family was executed for treason, and he was wanted, as well. The graphics in this game are a step up from its predecessor, Italian towns are beautifully represented, I could just climb up to a high point and look at it, and not be bored. The gameplay is so much better, the combat is less repetitive, and of course, the missions, are less repetitive too. Instead of doing the same objectives to get intel on our target, we are doing missions, each mission different than the one before. And the story is just spectacular, it can keep you glued to your chair for hours. I would recommend this to everyone, even if you didn't like the first game, I know I didn't, you're gonna love this one.

90

The Sequel that beats the Original

IganX | July 21, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

Assassins Creed II has made an improvement over the first one in many ways. The gameplay is more varied, there are more weapons, there are less "climbing-glitches", the graphics are awesome, and most important, the game is absoultely adictive. The storyline is fine and well developed, with the main character Ezio being in the centre of the plot which started with Altair in AC1. We will have new gadgets and cool stuff, we will have a wider management of our own character, and we will get to manage our own village. Overall, the game is great, the combat system is great, and if you played AC1, you will love AC2.

90

fantastic!

Babelfish343 | June 27, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

A fabulous game which improves greatly upon the superb original. The gameplay and visuals are much more slick in this sequel, and the story is just as fascinating as before. combat is much easier this time around, and the addition of a multiplayer adds a little something extra once you have completed the singleplayer story mode. Highly recommended for all gamers!!!

86

Better then the first

thomasgjj | June 25, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

This is a great game and by far better then the first! I would recommend this game to anyone even if they have not played the first. The plot, gameplay and town features are all very good and the visuals are stunning. This game will keep you going for weeks and it will never loose interest. I would recommend this game to anyone and everyone!

90

Buy Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition instead

drakaenae | May 27, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

First of all, don't buying Assassin's Creed 2 from Green Man Gaming at the moment, but buy Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition instead because they both cost exactly the same (they both cost $29.99 at the moment) since it has bonus content which is not included in the normal version.

I would say Assassin's Creed 2 is the best game of the Assassin's Creed series up to date (latest one out is Brotherhood at the moment.) I love the complicated plot/ deep story. There are more weapons and better controls compared to Assassin's Creed 1 and the story is a lot better than Assassin's Creed:Brotherhood in my opinion.

If you want to try out the Assassin's Creed games, I would recommend starting with Assassin's Creed 2.

90

A stellar improvement over the original

GAMERamble | May 26, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Assassin's Creed was an awesome game with some very nice gameplay but it wasn't without its flaws. Thankfully Ubisoft have listened closely to the critics and with Assassin's Creed 2 crafted a masterpiece that surpasses the original in virtually every way. Unfortunately they have also decided to release the game with one of the worst copy protection schemes known to man but more on that later.

The game starts directly where the last one ended and you once again take control of Desmond Miles. With some inside assistance Desmond escapes from Abstergo Industries and joins a group assassins who have their own improved version of the Animus. This device which was used on Desmond in the first game to re-live his genetic memories connects him with a 15th century ancestor, Ezio Auditore de Firenze, who is a nobleman in Renaissance Italy. The assassins hope to teach Desmond the skills he needs to join their ranks by letting him follow in the footsteps of Ezio who himself is training to become an assassin after his family was betrayed. With Abstergo hot on their heels time is running out for Desmond and the assassins but what they discover through the eyes of Ezio is more shocking than they could ever have imagined. If you thought the original game had a few WTF moments wait until you play this one.

Ubisoft has made so many improvements to this game that its hard to even begin explaining how much better it is. The basic gameplay remains the same as you take control of Ezio and travel through an open world, assassinating his targets and uncovering a vast conspiracy involving the Templars. Most of the game is spent inside the Animus after feedback that players didn't enjoy the Desmond sections so much and that controlling him removed some of the immersion from the game. This time round you will only see Desmond about three times in the game instead of after every mission like the last time. Vital information is conveyed through the Animus itself and there's even a handy new database that stores all important information so you can read through it at your own leisure.

The plot is arguably better than the last game and once again contains quite a few references to historical figures. Even a young Leonardo da Vinci plays a prominent role in helping Ezio out. Renaissance Italy is also rendered in immaculate detail and each of the locations like Florence, Venice and Tuscany is filled with famous landmarks. Leaping from the highest point in a city is still a breathtaking sight and climbing around everywhere is as fun as it was in the first title. Ezio also has a few new tricks up his sleeve which make the game even more entertaining.

The new economy system means you'll need cash to afford healing, buying new items, bribing people or to hire help. Bodies can be looted and pockets picked but watch out for the new notoriety system which will see you tearing down wanted posters and bribing town criers in order to become anonymous again. Ezio is also able to swim which comes in very handy in Venice and thanks to a little help from Leonardo can take to the skies using a flying machine on one memorable mission. There's also a thrilling horse carriage chase awaiting you.

The missions themselves have lost the rigidness of the last game and everything just flows much better now. The variety has increased tenfold with escort missions that can turn into a chase sequence at the drop of a hat and a lot of thought now go into assassinations instead of just wading in blades flailing. With missions that require you to kill your mark without being seen the suspense increase dramatically.

Combat is much improved which is good since the enemy AI is better than ever. Newer more agile guards will chase you down without mercy while heavily armoured ones will require quick reflexes in combat. Ezio has twin hidden blades which is double the fun to use for stealth kills. Few things come close to the rush of impaling two guards at once without them even seeing it coming. a new poison blade and gadgets like smoke bombs also spice up the action. It doesn't always have to come down to violence though. Ezio can blend in much better than Altair ever could or can simply hire people to cause a distraction. Some money tossed into a crowd of people also provide some nice cover for you to perform your dastardly deeds.

While the game has you hunting down Codex pieces in order to uncover the conspiracy you can also go "Glyph" hunting which is optional but worth it if you want to discover "The Truth" hidden by subject 16 in the Animus. These are very freaky and require some puzzle solving skills not to mention the use of your "Eagle Vision" which can now be activated in 3rd person mode and while moving around. Ezio can also upgrade his Uncles villa for a few nice bonuses so there's a lot of extra content here to provide value for money.

Speaking of extra content, PC owners might have had to wait six months for this game over their console brethren but at least they receive the downloadable content which console users had to splash out extra for, for free. Since this game was developed for consoles first the controls can be a bit tricky at first but once you get the hang of it the keyboard and muse works fine. The checkpoint system might prove to be irksome to PC players but I never had any serious hassles and overall I found the game to be challenging without being too difficult. The audio is very good with some superlative music tracks and very good voice acting. The ambient effects are also of a high standard and really bring Renaissance Italy to life.

95

Assassin's Creed 2 - review of the GAME for a change

Jahman | May 11, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

First of all, a little disclaimer: I admit I played the console version so I won’t discuss the DRM, keyboard & mouse controls and the PC optimization topics that tend to be main focal points of many AC2 reviews on the web. “Oddly enough”, I want to focus on the game itself for a change.

For me the Assassin’s Creed 2 was a great experience. I did enjoy the first part but in my opinion the sequel improves almost everything by leaps and bounds while preserving the original gameplay (and fun). First of all, this game has one of the most original and engaging intros (and I don’t mean just the cinematic) I have seen in the recent years. Through that it quickly captures the attention of the player and makes the initial tutorials very unintrusive. It then follows the story of the new main character, Ezio, and not only presents him as a fleshed out human being but also a very likeable one. Due to this the events presented in the game really make the player fell immersed and interested. I admit the story tends to slow down and complicate a little bit down the line and then skip whole chapters out of the blue (unless you buy the DLC – nasty trick) only to end with a bang. Still, both its presentation, the characters and the events themselves are simply awesome and unpredictable making this game a really grand experience.

As for the gameplay value the only real critique I can think of is that the game can still be a little bit monotonous, but only in the way that all the FPSs are monotonous because you always just run and shoot. Yes, you will have to perform lots of assassinations, chases, escapes, etc. because they are the focal points of most of the missions, but to me this hardly seemed tiring mostly because of greatly designed gameplay that makes them fun. Oh, and the beautiful graphics, vast and varied locations and visible combat improvements (via Leonardo’s inventions) help too. I admit that near the end the combat got a little too easy, but even then it still was fun.

The controls (again – I played this game on a gamepad) work splendidly and tend to be very intuitive as is the combat. Also, the climbing mechanics greatly improved. While I personally fell that though the “flying machine” part was overrated, I really liked the “renovation” aspect of the Monteriggioni and Villa Auditore and the balanced inventory aspect. Why, even the collectible aspects seemed much more appealing than they were in the first part of the series.

All in all, the story’s great, the gameplay has been vastly improved and, for me, AC2 was a truly great experience. I’d say to pick it up right away, but to be completely honest I would suggest reading up on the DRM and optimization issues first before making that decision, as – no matter how awesome the game is – they can be a deal breaker for some.