Reviews for Europa Universalis IV

85

A comprehensive update from EU2 & EU3 (UPDATED 08/2014)

SolSys00 | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all SolSys00's reviews »

UPDATE at the bottom (08/2014)

The new iteration of EU brings new exciting ways to conquer the world.

Besides the new eye-candy the new engine brings, there's an all-new trade system, reformed resources, DHT's (a middle ground between EU2's deterministic game and EU3's free-play game) and a more robust multi-player experience with the help of Steam. Just a pick your favorite country and go conquering.

What makes it even better is that PDS always improve their games post release after players feedback.

UPDATE (08/2014): Well, true to their past, Paradox keeps on changing and updating the game as time goes. The problem, as it seems after 3 expansions, is that the game has changed quite a bit from it's original release. It also seems that some changes are multi-player driven (annoying when the game is played mostly as single player).

I won't list all the updates as the list is too long (and game will probably keep on evolving). While some of the player base doesn't like all the changes, I will still recommend on buying the game (and the expansions), especially if you can get it during one of the sales.

The reason? simply because Paradox lets you chose which version of the game you rather play if you are not too happy with the newer version of the game. Moreover, the game is easy to mode and has a robust modding community which generates every from simple GUI mods to total-conversion mods.

If you want to know what to buy or are discouraged by amount of DLCs, then go only after the expansions. The rest of the DLCs are for flavor and immersion only (unit gfx, new ost and etc.) and do not change the gamplay at all. Whats more, in a multi-player game its enough to have just one person with a DLC for everyone to enjoy it.

As always just a pick your favorite country and go conquering.

84

Nice improvements from EU3

m0rogfar | June 11, 2014 | See all m0rogfar's reviews »

EU4 is a game set in the age of colonization from 1444 to 1821. The game feels a bit too railroaded to me. Trade is bound to go in certain directions for example. And at other points the game encourages alternate history. This feels like a weird mix. Also the game is often patched with updates. I kind of feel that the developers don't know where they want the game to go. Still it is a great game that i have invested +300 hours in so it works for some reason. I still reccommend buying it. 300 hour is a long time.

91

Familiar and commemorable

karyonite | May 16, 2014 | See all karyonite's reviews »

If you're used to massive strategy games, then this game will be totally fresh in the way that you, as a ruler, exert and extend your power over a changing world.

If you played Crusader Kings 2, then you might expect more of the same, since it's sorta a sequel to it and it runs on the same engine, but nothing is less true! The whole game has had an overturn, both in mechanics as in playstyle.

Whatever strategy games you played previously, prepare to be intrigued and enticed by this fabulous game!

94

I want it all, and I want it... conquered!

RakuPL_Markolf | May 14, 2014 | See all RakuPL_Markolf's reviews »

Europa Universalis IV is the fourth part of the highly popular series of strategy games, developed by Paradox Interactive. Players have the opportunity to direct the development of a lots of nations over 300 years. The title offers powerful mechanisms such as those related the management of internal policy, diplomacy, economy and military, while based on a rich set of information about historical figures, events and places. Based on the same engine as Crusader Kings II it offers also a very deep intense and entertaining gameplay. Many aspects may surprise you for example a poor ruler hindering progress of your country etc. A whole world lies in front of you. You only need to conquer it.

90

Complex but accessible.

Pr1mus | May 9, 2014 | See all Pr1mus's reviews »

First time playing a Grand Strategy game and the task can look daunting at first. There is a lot to take in. Tons of info to parse and systems to understand. Fortunately the game offers a good series of tutorial that teaches you just enough to get you on your way and the game can also be paused at all time. You can take all the time you want to analyse the situation and make the right moves. You can make the game as hard or as easy and relaxing as you want. Pick a nation and set your own goal. Maybe conquer the new world as Sweden or prevent the downfall of the Byzantine empire at the hand of the Ottomans.

The game also looks stunning with a very striking design. I was not expecting the visuals entirely based around maps to be this good.

Highly recommended for anyone who likes strategy and wants something different from the more traditional 4X games such as Civilization.

95

Hard to get into, hard to stop playing

UltraJake | March 5, 2014 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

It's even better than EUIII, which was an amazing game on its own. The music is beautiful too, and besides a graphical upgrade there are new options for you to play around with now. Assuming you are reading the reviews looking for opinions on the game, let me give you some advice, assuming you decide to take the plunge.

Depending on how many grand strategy games you have played, your first time starting this game may be a doozy. There are a lot of variables to keep track of, and you will not be able to keep track of it all at first. There are some helpful tutorials online, but make sure to try your hand in-game too. (The in-game tutorials are not very good). When starting a new game it has a few "interesting" nations listed for the period you have picked. To the far left, glowing green, are nations that are best for new players. These will typically be ones like the Ottoman Empire, Castille or France. I highly recommend playing a few games with these. I would also recommend finding a friend who understands the game and is willing to play along with you in multiplayer. Don't worry, you'll learn more as you continue playing. Have fun!

90

Fantastic Grand Strategy Game

saganprime | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all saganprime's reviews »

I have always been a fan of Paradox's strategy games, and this on is no different. In Europa you basically get to choose any country (or in some cases a group, like native Americans) and do your best to influence the world as you see fit.

Europa is different from Paradox's other games in that they are a little more lenient in letting you muck up history with your own mega empires. Some fans claim this makes the game easier or dumbed down, but really makes it much more fun.

Using the newer Clausewitz engine, I have had this game run great. The other immediate improvement from Europa III is actual multiplayer support. There are of course bugs, glitches, and weird AI at time, but it is to be expected with a game of this scale.

You should also be aware that Paradox releases a large amount of dlc for their games. Some of these are $1.99 cosmetic packs, for those who like a more authentic visual presentation, while others are large expansion drastically adding more depth to the game. Some people argue that the dlc (namely the cosmetic items) are things that should have been included from the start or as a free update, but the expansions are usually great and keep the gaming going for months after release.

98

Fantastic game

Bbozmen | Feb. 1, 2014 | See all Bbozmen's reviews »

This game is just great. There are so many options in this game that you can do that it won't get bored even if you play for 30 hours in a game as one country. With the coming expansions there'll be more and more options for you to discover in the game. The game also has a great Steam Workshop base, so there are plenty of mods available to make your game more like you wish it to be. (for example play beyond the 1821 end game point) But if you like a game in which you can do (almost) whatever you want, then this game is probably for you. I recommend watching a few how-to-play video's for fun, or if you're thinking of buying this game. It did help me to choose to buy this game and I'm not regretting it. Almost 100 hours into this game and still counting.

92

Easy and fun for newcomers too!

acare84 | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all acare84's reviews »

This game, for being a complex grand strategy game, is very beginner friendly. I am relatively new to the genre, and only played Crusader Kings II before this game. It has decent tutorials, and a vastly improved interface that is easy to navigate. That does not mean it is oversimplified, however, and there are a lot of aspects of government and colonization to manage. EUIV has the capacity to provide hundreds of hours of gameplay, and I highly recommend it!

90

Grand Strategy at its best

Herholdt | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all Herholdt's reviews »

Europa Universalis IV is the kind of game you can sit down with whenever you want and just sit back, relax and look at your expanding kingdom as you fight of rival countries, colonize the americas, build constructions, train troops and march to war against your neighbors. In EUIV you first pick a country/civilization to play as, with its own culture, income and military you yourself have to choose the way you want to evolve it. If you want to play as an aggressive commander of war, you can do that. If you just want to colonize the americas in peace, you can do that. Unite Japan, get Norway out of the union with Denmark, take control of South America as Portugal, control the HRE as Austria. The possibilities are endless.

97

A great successor

rasmusolanda | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all rasmusolanda's reviews »

EU IV lives up to the well made predecessor EU III and improves upon the already well executed concept and gameplay of the previous game in the series. The infamy system has been replaced with a much better system in which you get a penalty with the nations whom your decision might influence instead of the whole world suddenly hating you. I have not managed to find anything to complain about in the game, they have even fixed the multiplayer so you don't have to use Hamachi or a similar program to play with your friends and there is no longer the annoying checksum system. All in all a very good game and i would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes grand strategy.

90

Nice update to an already great game

blofeld | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all blofeld's reviews »

I've been playing Europa Universalis (EU) since the first release and this awesome game just keeps getting better by every installment. In all honesty I was doubting what could be improved on from EU3 except graphics, but after playing this fourth one I can say that a lot of things have become more easy to understand and more streamlined. Often this leads to dumbing-down the game, but I don't feel this with EU4.

The replay value is imense, everyone who has played EU knows what I mean. The option to play any nation at the time together with the competent AI makes every new start a new game.

I still dislike Paradox DLC policy, I have never liked it since they started with it. It has become better, but come on Pdox, stop selling us things that you know you could have included in the game from the start. I still buy your games though, but come on.

If you like grand strategy, and have the time to learn this game then get it!

85

Complete but complex ..

XGpredator | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Europa Universalis IV is undeniably very good. There are many historical events, the possibilities are immense and replayability. We take great pleasure to rewrite history. The game is mainly intended for connoisseurs of the genre or game studio, even beginners will find their account that their learning will be slowed by the many bugs tutorials. This is also the point and the problems of locations that tarnish the picture of an exemplary embodiment yet of the rest. It is hoped that these concerns will be quickly corrected though they taint little playability of the games, but in all cases, they are breaking the final mark of at least one point.

95

Awesome Game

brandonm87 | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all brandonm87's reviews »

This is the best Europa yet! The game map is completely redone and it is beautiful. If you've never played a Europa game before, this is probably the best one to try and jump into, the learning curve is a bit more relaxed than in past titles. This isn't to say there isn't as much to do because there is, just not as much micromanagement to deal with. You pick a nation, and you assume control of the country and guide it through the development of infrastructure, diplomacy, economic supremacy and world domination. This is however a game of patience and strategy. Things start slow and and politics plays a large role, so you have to plan ahead if you want to expand your empire.

95

The Ultimate Strategy Game

Wolffe | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all Wolffe's reviews »

Europa Universalis IV is the best of the series yet.

If you are a newcomer to the EU franchise, you essentially take control of a country during any time in the late middle - industrial ages. From there, the world is your plaything. Fight in crusades, sponsor revolutions, create massive economic empires, it is all up to you. And it has never been done as seamlessly and immersively as it is in this game.

Bugs are there, but few and far between, computer ai is much improved, the new tech points system is excellent, the new trade power system is excellent, and the graphics look marvelous on the new Clausewitz Engine. Also much improved is multiplayer as it now runs through steam, instead of through the buggy Paradox Metaserver, meaning no more having to open ports or fiddle with static ip addresses, just an easy plug and play system.

My favourite feature of this new title however, is the official converter dlc that allows you to export a game of Crusader Kings 2 to play in EU4. What this essentially means, is that the timeline is now extended from the 9th century all the way to the 19th century. It is incredible to see your land transform from a small county in early CK2 to a sprawling colonial empire in EU4.

I would have to say that this is my GOTY so far. Excellent improvements in both gameplay and graphics really make this stand out from previous titles. If you enjoy games such as Civilization or even board games like Diplomacy or Risk, I would not hesitate to buy this title.

88

Beast of a Sequel!

YTFC | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all YTFC's reviews »

I got into this series about 2 or 3 years ago with EUIII, and while I spent probably hundreds of hours on EUIII, this game far exceeds its (already brilliant) precursor in graphics, game-play and execution.

The new trade system makes far more sense with regards to distribution of power among provinces, since now the trade nodes are not set in a specific province and so you don't get one province that is worth an insane amount.

The new retreat system works excellently. After an army is defeated, it will run away just about as far as it can staying in home territory, but is easily annihilated if they can't escape another battle for quite a while. Rebellions are much easier to dissipate than normal armies, as long as you have enough troops to defeat them in a battle.

Compared to the previous games in the series, the transparency of the siege and battle mechanics is very refreshing. Especially with sieges, you can now make a fair guess at how much longer a siege is likely to last, allowing greater planning of strategies during wars.

I cannot think of any glaring problems with the game, with one of my only bone of contention being the continued problem of 'blobbing' of big countries, where big countries can assimilate huge amounts of land with little problem, if carried out half-sensibly. However, this has been reduced as a problem by the new relations mechanics, where you can end up with a large coalition against you if you're not careful about where you expand.

My only other problem with the game is the new monarch point system taking over progressing technologies, as I feel it's a bit too 'gamey' for such a sophisticated game. Money being invested seems a more accurate representation of this mechanic to my mind.

The graphics, as I've already said, are much improved from EUIII, with the new troop animations being especially pleasing.

In summary, this game is magnificent, being superior to its amazing predecessors in virtually every way. A must buy for anyone who considers themselves a serious strategy gamer, or anyone just looking for a challenging new game for their collection.

93

Great gameplay

derion1 | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all derion1's reviews »

I have played EU series since its start and I must admit that I had a little rough start with the latest game Europa Universalis IV. It is probably due to a little bit different game mechanics, building and diplomacy system. But once I got to it, it was just awesome experience to begin on "a great European conquest". This game is so rich on details, not to mention historical events and people. On a down side, there are some historical inaccuracies such as EUIV refers to most South Slavs having a Serbian culture, which just is not correct. But beside these "minor" glitches, the game is great and it gives a great pleasure to the gamer on his conquests and diplomatic and colonial endeavors in the XVII century. I highly recommend this game to all gamers interested in history, diplomacy and conquest.

90

Amazing

ker0ppi | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all ker0ppi's reviews »

I have played most of Paradox's games and I feel that this game actually lived up to it's potential. I love being able to pick any nation to play through and yet feel that each nation is unique. Most nations have their own ideas and bonuses that relates to their historical paths. I feel that the only down side is the battle mechanics, there isn't much change from the last game except making it easier to see what's going on. Also the fog of war is really bad cause whenever a player tries to catch the AI army, they would just run away if they can't win and usually ends up wasting a month+ to catch them. However the political system got a good upgrades letting newer people know what to do and explains everything in detail.

97

Strategy Game to The Max

noobboy191 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

An amazingly detailed game filled with statistics, percentages, and mathematical figures. It is like the total war series if you need something to base it off of. It is kind of like this but much more tactically detailed. With that in mind animations in this game is not exactly up to par with the total war series, but that isn't what is important. This game requires you to sit down and think, a truly amazing game

96

Game of the year

xcelera | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all xcelera's reviews »

I've been playing Europa Universalis series ever since it came out roughly 10 years ago. And the game has been slowly improved over the years, as it should be. Despite that I always been slightly disappointed, left with a feeling that it wasn't worth the money, why didn't I wait until price drop. This time it's Different. It's worth every penny, cent or whatever currency you use. Strong buy

95

Game of the year

xcelera | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all xcelera's reviews »

I've been playing Europa Universalis series ever since it came out roughly 10 years ago. And the game has been slowly improved over the years, as it should be. Despite that I always been slightly disappointed, left with a feeling that it was't whorth the money, why didn't I wait until price drop. This time it's Different. It's whorth every penny, cent or whatever currency you use. Strong buy

100

Excellent sequel

ConorEngelb | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Paradox got a lot of attention from Crusader Kings 2's success, which makes EU4 all the more important for them. And they managed to improve on the old EUs and CK2. EU4 is more accessible to new players, while still retaining that level of complexity and difficulty that made the previous games a pleasure to play, once the learning curve was overcome.

88

Paradox does it again!

Oblaque | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Paradox have done something amazing here. I dont' refer the quality of the quality of the game (although that's superb too), but they've managed to make the game easier to understand, and welcoming to new players, and retained all of the depth and complexity that made the EU series great. If you're a fan of the Total War games, and wished the campaign map felt as deep as the battle map, give this a try. It's worth it!!!

89

Quality game, get it now!

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

If you love strategy/conquest games, you'll absolutely love EUIV, the gameplay mechanics, storyline and playability makes for an unbeatable experience. So get it now!

92

welldone Paradox

Nfarrugia | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Nfarrugia's reviews »

Awesome game from paradox! A great improvement from EU3. Paradox has stepped up its game and EU4 is playable on day 1 which given paradox's track record comes as a glad surprise. The fourth iteration of Europa Universalis is the best Paradox game to date. I played more than 5 hours on first day of release and the game was stable, fast and better looking than their previous titles.

79

Improving on a legacy but with some potholes

salarnas | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all salarnas's reviews »

Europa Universalis IV is a game that lets you explore your creativity in nation building within the confines of history. You can choose any nation from specific time periods and reshape history; story creation is a key aspect of this game. For example, it is possible to challenge yourself to make unlikely religions dominant; or remake lost empires; or be a peaceful trading nation.

Single player improves upon all the mechanics from Europa Universalis III; basically adding a variable to every aspect of the game, a few dice rolls, and history turns out completely different. Europa Universalis IV reminds us how the world that we have now turned out the way it did because of thousands of these contingent factors.

However, at the moment the multiplayer, which was a key factor in continuing to play for many veteran paradox gamers, still needs a lot of work. Players are frequently kicked, the game crashes or servers overload. If this is fixed, the game could have received a much higher score.

The mechanics are complicated, and sometimes it takes used to trying to find what you need to find; but you will get a hang of it with practice. Of course, though the graphics have improved since EU3, this is basically more of a text-based game, kind of like a board game; so don't expect epic battle scenes like in the Total War series.

Overall, the biggest hurdle in playing this game is the high learning curve for new players; but if you give it a chance, watch some tutorials and make a lot of mistakes, you too could have an amazing empire; after playing a game as complex as this, you can never go back to a game like civilization.

90

A Beautiful Sequel

Serio | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Serio's reviews »

I didn't truly think they could do it, but Paradox Development Studio has surpassed expectations again. With this new installment to the Europa Universalis franchise, you can once more step into the breach and take control of any country of your choice, starting in 1444 and ending with the French Revolution.

That, in itself, is nothing new. What is new is the sheer amount of changes to the interface and the underlying gameplay mechanics. Gone are spies. Gone are magistrates. Gone are spies. In their place, a new generation of diplomats have appeared. These new elements will travel around the world at your command and influence the nations in a realistic manner that doesn't just involve you pushing a button and instantly becoming friends.

Betrayal. Guile. Intrigue. It's all there. Nations can be rivals or arch enemies. Coalitions will be formed, nations will rise and fall at the whim of a single ruler. You will no longer be helplessly beaten down by a lesser nation simple because your military isn't good enough. The new government system ensures that.

Overall, this is a sequel that not only expands on the elements of the original, but thoroughly overhauls them and adds a whole slew of new things.

98

More grand strategy!

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

If you're a fan of Crusader Kings or any other grand strategy game, I'll make it easy for you, get this. You can even bring over your saves from Crusader Kings II. It's still a little buggy in places, but it's still a really solid experience. You'll be tweaking taxes and making cross-country trades in no time. You can change almost anything, which will kill countless hours. It's not the most graphically impressive game, but it's not what you buy it for. You buy it for the micro-management and great stories you'll tell after playing through a match. I can't wait to try it with friends and see what will happen when multiple people mess around with everything. It's a lot of fun for people who love the little things and messing with a lot of very minor tweaks all the time. It's a must-buy for any fan of the genre.