Reviews for PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate


A pretty decent Tower Defense game

DrakeSays | Sept. 8, 2015 | See all DrakeSays's reviews »

Alright, short sweet and to the point; This is a fairly decent Tower Defense Game. It's not amazing, but it's pretty good i suppose, as compared to some other TD games available on steam. The gameplay is fairly bog standard tower defense with a twist; you can have your tikiman dance under towers to gain EXP and level up (they also get EXP by killing things), which makes them more powerful. Alongside a decent upgrade system, and the fact that monsters don't attack your powers, this makes higher power towers actually useful. The graphics are also decent as well, it's got a cute, hand drawn cel shaded style. Overall, it's a decent tower defense game. I'd recommend grabbing it.


Lighthearted and interested take on Tower Defense

Zaggeta | May 13, 2015 | See all Zaggeta's reviews »

I received PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate (henceforth: PJ) as a part of a bundle welcoming me as a loyal buy on GMG. I'm always been a fan of Tower defense - who isn't? It ties together grindy number accumulation and the best of turtle tactics. PJ ties together the basics of tower defense with a quirky aesthetic and the mechanic of the player being their own sprite which has to physically move around the map to place and upgrade towers. The placement mechanics are by no means innovative. Trees along a set path can be turned into towers and towers can be upgraded. Different towers do different things. The true innovation of PJ is the introduction of cooperative play. Playing locally with a friend is really nice as both of players feel like they have accomplished. A good game for friends or for those obsessed with cutesy graphics.


Simple but very complete game

Kondoriano | May 4, 2015 | See all Kondoriano's reviews »

This is one of those games that no one knows that exists. But in the first few minutes you can see that is a very complete tower defense. It is a typical game where you can replay a level in different difficulties, but if you start in hard difficult, it can become a huge challenge . The simple 2D drawing might look creepy, but end up falling in love with him. The gameplay increases greatly with the local co-op and you can provide many hours and lots of fun . There is also a challenge mode in which you need to complete some levels with certain requirements. Highly recommended for lovers defense tower .


Great fun, addictive!

314mgx | Feb. 23, 2015 | See all 314mgx's reviews »

I love this game. I haven't really played it on the PC yet, but I've logged many hours into it on my PS Vita. I'm not sure if it's TOO difficult to get perfect play-throughs on some levels, but I know I never feel TOO frustrated when I fudge up and lose one of my "baby tikis" or whatever they're called. The reason being, that I usually feel I could have avoided the failure through better placement of troops, etc. I learn from my mistakes in this game :)


Unique and entertaining tower defense

kirbman101 | Jan. 29, 2015 | See all kirbman101's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of the tower defense genre, but PixelJunk Monsters has a unique appeal that kept me coming back for more. The system of unlocking, building, and upgrading towers is simple, but not so much that it becomes boring. All necessary information is clearly conveyed to the player, which is very helpful. In addition to currencies and remaining villagers, you can see upgrade statuses of all towers, and their ranges. You can even see which type of enemy is attacking next, and how long you have until they do. Unlike many tower defense games, enemies never attack your towers, they only go after your villagers. This makes the game less stressful than other tower defense games. Towers get experience from kills and from you dancing under them. This experience will upgrade them over time, or you can pay gems to skip to the next upgrade level. Each tower starts at green, and upgrades to yellow, red, purple, and finally black. The campaign is fairly long; it took me around 20 hours to complete all levels on the three main islands. Replayability is decent, with challenges, Steam achievements, higher difficulties, co-op mode, and a fourth island that includes randomly generated maps. The downsides are the occasional difficulty spikes and the clunky tower selection spinner. The game also doesn't do a good job of explaining how towers are upgraded, which is why I explained it here. Don't let the cute characters and pleasant music deceive you, this game can be tough.


Tower Defense at the best.

Furrek | Jan. 9, 2015 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I truly enjoy playing Tower Defense games. There are so many games that demand from you a tactic for beat level or complete it perfectly. I enjoy to play TD games again and again and try out new settings of towers or other stuff, because it's simply fun. Can Pixeljunk Monsters Ultimate be counted as game like that? YES. This game is beatiful, have very nice music, many levels to beat and perfect them. What's also great, that this game can be played with another player, which is really rare in this genre. If there is something I can point out as "it could be done better" is the ability to make round or wave faster. Since there is no option like that, you need to slowly watch how these monsters are walking sometimes so sloowly but it isn't something to make this game unplayable. If you are fan of TD games, or you want to try out game from this genre, Pixeljunk Monsters Ultimate is great choice!


A fun little game

abort_user | Oct. 27, 2014 | See all abort_user's reviews »

Pixel Junk Monsters is a stylish tower defense game that is easy to pick up and a lot of fun to play. I enjoyed it a lot and I don't normally like tower defense games, so I imagine even those who don't like these types of games can find something enjoyable in it. There's just something in that makes it all come together.This is probably one of Pixel Junk's best games. I got for free in the Welcome Pack so I may be a little biased but even if I didn't I'd still say this is a good little game worth checking out.


Funny in every sense. Good game

StefaNob99 | Oct. 11, 2014 | See all StefaNob99's reviews »

PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate is a tower defense game that requires constant attention from the player. You play as a Tiki guy defending a hut from waves of monsters. On the surface, it seems like a cheerful casual game... but looks can be deceiving. There are almost never any lulls in the action, so you always have to be on the move, planning ahead. Resources (used to build towers) come in the form of coins dropped from enemies. However, you actually have to run around and collect the coins yourself before they disappear. Similarly, in order to build towers, you actually have to walk to where you want them first. Towers can also be upgraded by standing on them, a process that takes time. Enemies also sometimes drop crystals, which can be spent to quickly upgrade towers, or saved up to purchase other types of towers. So gameplay boils down to a test of multitasking skills - you have to balance anticipating what towers need to be built (and where), while simultaneously collecting dropped resources and upgrading. It gets pretty intense. Most levels can be completed easily enough in 1 or 2 tries, but the challenge comes in trying to do so perfectly (not letting even 1 enemy get to your hut). Perfect-scoring levels unlocks more levels to play, and so on. And that's where the challenge (and unfortunately, frustration) comes in. The main down-side to this game is that it can sometimes be very unfair. While there is an indicator that shows what types of enemies are coming up, it's not always clear enough (for example, a blinking red icon sometimes means "weak to cannons", and other times "on fire and 3 times as fast"). Also, sometimes enemies take completely different paths with no warning. These types of things are frankly just bad game design and complete BS. The best TD games allow you to deduce the path enemies will take and plan ahead accordingly. This game doesn't always do that, which leads to having to sometimes rely on memorization rather than actual skill. Thankfully, it doesn't happen a lot, but that doesn't make it any less frustrating when it does. That said, this is a small complaint when compared to how good the rest of the game is, but it is a noteworthy enough issue that it needed to be mentioned. The main game consists of 47 levels, with an additional 24 challenge levels that can be unlocked. The challenges are levels that have to be cleared while also fulfilling some sort of special criteria (completing challenges unlocks concept art, videos, music and more). The game also has a 2-player co-op mode, which I haven't tried (but it seems like it would be really fun). All in all, between the main levels, challenges, and co-op, the amount of content available is pretty substantial. I've sunk around 60 hours in already (though technically, most of that was spent replaying levels over and over again trying to get perfect clears), but still, the fact that I put that much time into it speaks to how good the core gameplay is. Despite my rant above on the few down-sides that sometimes make it frustrating, overall, the game is solid, and lots of fun to play. If you like tower defense, this is a great one. The price seems a bit high, especially when the original version on PS3 was cheaper, but there is also more content in this version compared to the original release, plus the added multiplayer component... so I suppose it is probably justified. If you are into TD games, definitely pick it up in a sale at some point, if not at full price.


Shows its age

ajeremy | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all ajeremy's reviews »

Firstly the positives: the game has a long playtime and a decent level of challenge. However, the game was designed for consoles and feels like it was intended for co-op gaming. As a single player pc tower defense game, I found the experience lacking. TD games have evolved considerably since Pixeljunk Monster's original PS3 release in 2008. Features we take for granted now aren't present here - no branching tower upgrades, no universal upgrades. The tower selection is limited and towers must be unlocked on every map. The player has to manually move across the map to collect coins and build towers, making the game quite micro-management intensive. The controls have a console-itis feel, the game just doesn't play as smoothly as native pc TDs. As a co-op TD, Pixeljunk Monster remains an excellent game. But as a single player TD it feels a bit dry and dated next to the best games in the genre. TD junkies will find something to enjoy here, but there are better single-player pc TDs available - check Defender's Quest, Defense Grid, Cursed Treasure, Kingdom Rush and Bloons series for starters.


My favorite tower defense

SonicusZ | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all SonicusZ's reviews »

This is a very fun tower defense game. Unlike most tower defense games in this one you actually control a character. You move the character over to trees that you can then turn into towers. You also have to move your character over to collect the coins and gems to get more and better towers. Just don't touch the enemies! There are a bunch of unique towers to buy/unlock along with the ability to upgrade them. The difficulty progresses very well. It slowly introduces you to new enemies giving you plenty of time to learn a good way to take them out! This game also supports local and online co-op play! With a good amount of maps to play on, co-op support and simply good tower defense gameplay this is my favorite tower defense game!


Great TD game!

fenetic | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all fenetic's reviews »

Pixeljunk does an excellent job with the game play of both this game and Shooter. The music, graphics, sound, and ability to have co-op are all great! The only reason I'm rating it a 9 instead of a 10 is that I feel some of their music should have been slightly less repetitive and a little more complex, and because I felt the menu system for co-op games could have been made simpler. Do other TD games have better graphics? Yes! But does this art style work and is this game enjoyable too? Yes! Highly recommended!


Easy to learn but couldn't get into.

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

PixelJunk is a great easy to get into casual type game. Instead of just being an omnipotent god, you're a turtle like thing who has to actually walk around to build his towers, but they can only be built on certain nodes (trees). Having played Dungeon Defenders, I couldn't really get too into this game, but I can see how more casual type gamers will enjoy this game. The UI is pretty easy and the game has simple mechanics which will appeal to some, but just not me. Perhaps my qualm is the tower defense genre in games as a whole, but I did not enjoy this game. One example of a tower defense game I did enjoy was Dungeon Defenders but that's not your standard tower defense game.


An interesting Tower Deffence

nightassassin1 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

I believe Pixel Junk originated on the console market, but after doing so well it seems to have moved into the pc market now too. Me and my brother have played the original Pixel Junk Monsters for hours on the PS3 and so I was interested in getting this one for the PC. I have always been more of a PC player to begin with. The controls in this are pretty easy to get the hang of and so are the rules. I find it much easier to control a mouse than a joystick as well. I first thought this would end up being a port from the console, but if it is, I can't tell. The game is made very well and the controls are great. This ultimate version of the previous Pixel Junk Monsters adds a small amount of extras to it that enhance the play compared to the older version, but a cool feature that I really like is it allows for local and online multiplayer. A game is always more fun when played with a buddy. This is one of the better tower defense games out there at the moment and at a very reasonable price point of $20. If you enjoy tower defense games and like cartoonish graphics, then this is for you. I have heard some people say that they don't like the graphics and it hinders the experience for them, but I also know people who call themselves "pixel junkies" because they have spent a few hundred hours playing the game. I have found that the PC version is just as good, if not better. Not having my PS3 with me at college, I was unable to play this game until now. Definitely a good buy. I give it a 97. Could have improved just a couple things, but nothing worth mentioning here and would have liked to see different character choices.


Great Tower Defense Game

kai246 | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all kai246's reviews »

Having played a few tower defense games, I have played my fair share of bad ones. Thankfully this isn't one of them. For me, PixelJunk Monsters is a game where I can play a couple levels at a time and put down for the next session. There is not a lot of depth story wise however its presentation and game play means that I have a blast when playing. Essentially you are trying to protect your tribe from the wide range of monsters in the game. You do this by building towers each with different abilities. I felt that the towers were balanced in accordance to their cost and the money picked up went up at a steady rate meaning that I never felt cheated when losing a round. The presentation is great and it is definitely up there for one of the better looking tower defense games I've played. There are a range of different levels and with co op you can play with a friend, also locally. This game is fun to play and I definitely recommend you try it out.


Pretty but challenging

ivangroznyi1 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all ivangroznyi1's reviews »

PixelJunk Monsters is a nice tower defense game with sweet colorful graphics. But don't let it mislead you because the game can be hard. Fortunately the world in which we'll be playing is divided into areas of different difficulties, so you can first practise in the easy area before moving on to the medium one, and so on. But even in the medium part of the land the number of enemies and the speed that they will be incoming at can be pretty challenging. The game has an easy and comprehensive interface and is well designed, so learning to play it should not be difficult even to people unfamiliar with tower defense games. But it doesn't make the game boring or childish, it's easy to learn but still challenging.