Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition

90

Terrific 3rd person combat

vipe_1 | Dec. 2, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Let me begin this review by stating that I had no experience with the Castlevania series before this game. This game looked interesting, and is actually a terrific third-person action game that is fun, yet challenging.

The game looks great, sounds great, and plays very well. Environments are diverse, enemies are varied, and the game requires the player to learn what works well against a certain enemy, and what doesn't. Powers and abilities are suitably fun, and the effects are very well done. Bosses are difficult enough and unique.

The story is dark, with a range of tones, and engaging. Newcomers to the series won't feel left out or confused.

I found completing this game to be a suitable challenge, and while not as much of an achievement as say, Dark Souls, still very rewarding. Those unfamiliar with the Castlevania series may find this a great gateway into this series.

86

It's Pretty Damn Good.

Kane987245 | Nov. 29, 2014 | See all Kane987245's reviews »

Regardless of it's flaws, this game is still a great one to have in your collection. Any Castlevania fan will enjoy it and kill so much time with its gameplay. The graphics are incredible and a beautiful sight to behold and will leave people stunned. Yes, it requires a controller, but really, why should someone care about that? It is easier to play with one on this particular game anyways so it is a good thing if anything. There are plenty of other reviews detailing the mixes of this game and what it is like. All you need to know is that it worth your money and wait for the PC port.

80

Boring killer

FrozenFireCZ | Aug. 28, 2014 | See all FrozenFireCZ's reviews »

I must say I never played a Castlevania game before, so forgive me when I lack some background for a proper comparison to the previous installments. Overall this game is fairly good. It has some problems like the strange hitboxes which seem a bit off sometimes (you can get hit even though the enemy's attack actually didn't reach you and things like these), but this happens rarely. The other negative point is the static camera which sometimes positions not very idealy, preventing you from viewing parts of the screen and sometimes missing hidden areas. In terms of art direction this game is gorgeous. Mercury Steam really had some talent working on the world design of this game. If you like gothic european fantasy art styles, this game delivered in my opinion. Art direction is stunning at times and I even stopped for a few seconds here and there to eyeball the scenery. It's a very pretty looking game. The voice acting is also of decent quality. Story might not be god tier like, but it's still remains interesting with a few surprising plot twists in the second half of the game. What needs to be said is: The game takes a lot of time to get really started. The first levels are basically tutorials where you gain new equipment and movesets. It gets more interesting after the 3rd or 4th chapter. The combat is a bit comparable to God of War's. Your weapon is a whip-like chain that lets you perform direct attacks to center on single enemies or areal attacks for groups of enemies. You can mix these attacks and also learn new movesets and combos the more experience points you gather. These combos and attacks can be combined with the light and shadow powers you receive throughout the game. That way you pile up a nice plethora of combos and movesets at your disposal which gives the combat system enough depth to not get boring. Not Devil May Cry-tier but still nice.

In short: Do you love european medieval gothic art styles and are looking for an action game with nice visuals and somewhat meaty combat system? Try it. Also try the demo first. Just know that the demo only represents the very beginning of the game and is not really a good indictation of how fleshed out the game gets.

70

So much potential, ruined

Traldera | Jan. 29, 2014 | See all Traldera's reviews »

Firstly, you should be aware this game is a direct console port, with no graphics overhaul and a controller is REQUIRED. I have a controller so the rest of the review is based on the assumption you also have one. Castlevania is a hack and slash game that requires more skill than most. This is because enemies are not mindless zombies, but well designed, deadly foes. Fight mechanics require that you either block or dodge incoming attacks. Failing to do so causes significant damage. This is not a game for the lazy. Unfortunately, this highlights the main problem with the game, which unfortunately ruins it to the point of the game being too horrible to bother with at times. The game has a set camera. You cannot rotate it. This would not be a problem if enemies couldn't go 'behind' the camera POV, which obviously makes watching them to dodge attacks impossible. The game is HUGE. You will not finish this quickly. From that point of view it is great value for money. Unfortunately they decided to drag this already long game out by 'encouraging' you to repeat levels you have already done. Rather than having purely lore based collectibles such as most games, this one puts your upgrades in hidden locations, and only reveals how many are in a level after you complete it. To add insult to injury, some are only obtainable after you get unlocks from later levels. This is terrible game design, and is just frustrating. This is not however a bad game. The combat is fun and has much depth. The combo list can be expanded through a levelling system of sorts and magic adds modifiers to attacks for different effects. The soundtrack and visuals are quite simply epic and could quite easily be mistaken for a new game release. Voice acting is fantastic, as expected from a Hollywood cast, and the story, whilst not amazing, is still compelling. If you have a controller, and the patience to deal with the camera issues, this game is a must buy. If however you are easily frustrated or are limited to a mouse/keyboard, avoid the game.

77

Castlevania - review

Neapolis47 | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Castlevania is a mix between God of War , Shadow of the Colossus and Devil May Cry , but also the two Darksiders , although closer to a conception of the open world genre. The only criticism that I would make to the game are the fixed camera ( sometimes really uncomfortable ) and the resulting shots, some levels of linearity and repeatability of a fund that starts to peep at the end of the game. Indeed, although the game also offer platforming , exploration and puzzle small , is fighting to lord and our hero Gabriel is not a fool . The great thing about Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is that despite the many combos available , you play great even utilizzandone a small part but without being " private " of something . Relying on blocks , counterattacks , to dodge , jump in and beyond even the magical powers of Gabriel is something congenial both hardcore gamers, and at the level Paladin will have to sweat a lot, both in patients and those less skilled , but who may have fun and get great satisfaction in return especially in the numerous boss -fight .

86

An aesthetic beauty..

XGpredator | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

If the PC version of Lords of Shadow made almost three years to reach us, all worth it! Technically most successful and enjoying all the qualities of the original work, this version so proves a delicacy that has well stood the test of time. Certainly, it is better to opt for a pad to enjoy it but if that does not put you off and you are a fan of the genre, you can not miss it.

95

So Glad This Made Its Way To PC

Kezzz | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Kezzz's reviews »

I'm not sure what all the fuss is about with this game being visually poor. Sure PC gamers knew that this was a console port so I beg to differ why they expect the game to look better apart from the resolution to their console counterpart. The game itself runs very well on PC and now putting that aside, the story and chapter narratives from Sir Patrick Stewart come hand in hand. A great blend like fine bourbon, it really captures the quest of Gabriel and his struggles through the campaign. The combat does feel a bit static at times but what is to complain about? This game was released a while ago and games nowadays have had engine upgrades, better animations and visuals. It had been a while since I last picked up my PS3 version and played the game and it felt good to receive the same experience not better or worse on my PC. A must buy for those who enjoyed the game on console and this particular installment of Castlevania. I know some players had an "on the fence" opinion about them.

90

An under-rated console port

blackrose | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all blackrose's reviews »

One of the biggest concerns I've heard is that this game is a bad port, or it having poor graphics. There are accusations of it being copied from a particular series, when the genre has become a stable in general. Any accusations and poor ratings on this front are purely for ignorant reasons. And now I'll head to the main part of my review.

The narration is mediocre, and while it does match the setting, it gives away important plot points before they even happen. The voice acting is good, but not great, easily earning around an 8 out of 10. The combat system fluid, and you learn to watch your enemies, find out their tells, and from there, act accordingly. The ability to where it's not just random adds a level of strategy to the game. The biggest boss battles are magnificent, movements of giants and golems are fluid.

Now for the kinds of weapon upgrades. You can grapple, ride larger monsters, and it's all needed to progress. If you don't want to miss upgrades, here's a hint. Go to previous areas. In short, the game has a ton of re-playability with all the content it has to offer. This game gets a 9/10 from me.

100

WORTH EVERY CENT!!!!

acuraice | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all acuraice's reviews »

This is my first Castlevania experience and must say that this game is unbelievable in every possible way. It's super challenging but rewarding when you finally accomplish the tasks at hand. The graphics are beyond anything i have ever seen and i own all the latest and hottest games on my Imac running windows 7. The game runs flawlessly and never skips a beat. Its a mix between shadow of the colossus,God of war and Castlevania all in one. Phenomenal gameplay,story and fighting scenes. Awesome voice acting!! The music is superb and i even have the soundtrack t it in my car. I can only imagine the amount of hard work that went into making this masterpiece!! I am dying to pre-order lords of shadow 2 for pc,hopefully green man gets it soon!! Buy this game,you will NOT be disappointed!!! With over 30 hours+ of gameplay it's Well worth $60-100 in my opinion.

60

Mediocre Port of a Mediocre Game

ecaudill | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all ecaudill's reviews »

3D Castlevania games have always been a mixed bag for me; ranging from "completely unplayable" to "not the worst game I've ever played". Lord of Shadows rates near the top of that list, but that's not exactly saying much.

The first couple of stages in the game really got me hooked. I even bought the game on the strength of the demo alone. There was so much potential there. Voice acting by Patrick Stewart and Robert Carlyle? Yes please! But somewhere around the 6-8 hour mark, I just completely lost interest. I forced myself to play another 5 or 6 hours, hoping for improvements, but I just couldn't continue.

The graphic are decent. Nothing spectacular, but nothing I would complain about either. The controls are ok for the most part, but can be a bit of a hindrance. The camera can be annoying at times. Enemies are for the most part bland, repetitive, and uninteresting.

And that's just it... everything about this game is mediocre. I wish it was the redeemer for 3D Castlevania, but it's not. Even when it's on sale, I have a hard time recommending this game to anyone.

85

Castlevania: Lords of the Shadow - review

Neapolis47 | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Castlevania Lords of Shadow tells the adventures of Gabriel Belmont, vampire hunter and demons interested to recapture the spirit of his beloved Marie, who died in mysterious circumstances. Gabriel descend into hell to fight with any kind of evil creature tries to stop him. From the simplest goblins going from Troll and exhibitions of various kinds until you get to more demons and werewolves beasts designed by the guys at Mercury Steam will have the quality you are never weigh the hours of play, attack patterns and various clashes with bosses end of level, dynamic, well diversified among them. Thanks to the relics with which come into our possession: a powerful glove will allow us to throw shockwaves on the ground for example, and the boots of speed will guarantee us the ability to execute strikes in deadly shooting and simplify the aerial combos. If you have never had the opportunity to get your hands on Castlevania Lords of Shadow this is the perfect time to remedy this lack. Konami has done a good job with this release and, except for a slight repetition in the fighting and the annoying fixed camera, the title can be appreciated even three years after its original release

65

Another porting..

simodeso | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Yes it's an another porting from console.. and a bad made one. I didn't like this game very much, (i never finished it ) because.. meh. Graphic is very very bad for pc, unless you don't play with a huge monitor and you have to stay far away from the monitor. The price is too high if you like a lot hack'n'slash you can like it.. unless you haven't played a lot of them. It's a copy from god of war very bad made so at you the choice, to buy or not to buy.

80

Great hack and slash

rupok93 | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all rupok93's reviews »

Initially one might have the feeling that the game is a clone of other hack and slash games but as the game progresses it becomes much more. The bosses in the game are very fun to fight and the combo system requires enough skill to differentiate it from other hack and slash games where button mashing = win.

The narration sound is not that good unfortunately. Graphics seem to be very nice even tho the game came out in 2010.

71

with respect to the PC

soad667 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all soad667's reviews »

I admit i was afraid of how the port will be, but thankfully all my fears vanished after playing it. Technically is awesome, everything looks so beautiful, gfx options are there, same about controls (rebind available).

There was some backlash to the game about the lack of mouse support. At first i got alienated by it, but turns out mouse is not necessary at all, but only because of the way the game is designed. The angle from which you play is usually still and moves slightly with you, like games used to do in the old times. This brings a classic problem from those days, at times you can't see the enemies that are in front of you, because they are at the bottom of the screen. Having a feature of turning the screen with two keys for left/right, or even better, free mouse look, would be ideal. But as it is now, you have to deal with it and mouse isn't needed for something.

It's a very decent game if you like those arcade beatem ups, epic story included. Make sure to try the demo available on Steam, to give it a try for yourself before buying. If the way camera is set doesn't annoy you, you probably gonna love this.

75

Great port

Stebsis | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Castlevania Lord of the Shadows certainly is a departure for the series from it's roots. This series has been at its best in its original format, 2d sidescrolling action adventure game with some platforming, or Metroidvania as it's known, and it still holds true. Lord of the Shadows isn't a bad game though, but it just can't rise up to the best in the series like Symphony of the Night.

You don't need to know anything about previous Castlevania games, it's practically always been like that with these titles. This is a reboot, and youplay as Gabriel Belmont from Belmont family who are vampire hunters and their job from throughout history has been to slay Count Dracula. Story is pretty good, it isn't anything noteworthy or the reason to play the game though, but it gives reason to go through everything.

Combat is where the game is really good at. It's sort of like God of War meets Castlevania. You have your classic Castlevania weapon, the whip, and you use it to combo attacks, heavy and light. It's fun to use the whip, but not so fun is the camera which is fixed meaning you can't rotate it usually, and it does get in the way occasionally. You also collect all kinds of sub weapons like daggers from enemies, these are limited so you have to decide when is best to use them.

One thing worth noting are the PC controls... they're not that great. I think it's everyone's personal preference and they're not abysmal like with Dark Souls, but chaining combos and controlling Gabriel is definitely easier with an Xbox controller and analog stick.

Lord of the Shadows isn't exactly for people who absolutely love older Castlevania titles and want something similar. This is clearly made to bait newcomers to the series and it succeeds in giving great monster slaying action in dark and atmospheric setting, and if you keep open mind as older fan you'll find fun action game with Castlevania theme.

100

Great Game, Great Price!

Marvelous | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all Marvelous's reviews »

Bought this the other day with the discount coupon. I really appreciate this deal, as the game is superb, and for such a good price too. I also received my email with my product key instantly. Thanks GMG for your great service.

80

Decent, but unorigional.

Zilly01 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Zilly01's reviews »

Catlevania: Lords of Shadow was a fun hack and slash, but it didn't do anything original. The game plays like a mix of God of War and Shadow of the Colossus. Most of the game focus on the God of War type action with combos very similar to Kratos, but there are several, large golem type bosses that require climbing and jumping very similar to Shadow of the Colossus. If you like God of War then you will probably like this game. The voice acting is top notch, but it is no Symphony of the Night.

82

Interesting and quite enjoyable

Mehican | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all Mehican's reviews »

I found this game pretty fun, though it seems to be quite repetitive. Definately fun though, I'd probably recommend it

77

A blast from the past with a fresh new perspective

reggs12 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all reggs12's reviews »

One of my fondest memories was playing Castlevania 2 on the Nintendo when I was a wee little boy. The original Castlevania was great for it's time but lacked the depth of it's sequel. Fast forward two decades later and you have what could be arguably called a God of War clone but is that necessarily a bad thing? The game plays with a refined sense of control that will have you using your trusty whip to dispatch of enemies while rolling out of the way of many unblockable attacks. At Castlevania even feels more fluid than a God of War but lacks some of the graphical polish of the latter. There are also times where the camera feels a bit further away than it should but it seems the developer was going with a set piece style level design instead of something more akin to a third person action adventure where you are allowed to move your view around. A huge bonus for setting the mood of this game is the inclusion of Patrick Stewart (of Star Trek Fame) voiceovers that give it a really creepy gothic feel only Sir Stewart can deliver. The upgrade system consists of the usual getting points by playing levels and then spending them to expand your repertoire of combat moves. Overall the game has some aliasing issues graphically but the gameplay is top notch. If your were looking for good time to get back into the Castlevania universe you can't go wrong with this title.

87

Whip smashing fun

hoveringbeef | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all hoveringbeef's reviews »

If you're intrigued or on the fence, try the free demo. It's basically how the game is throughout.

3D Combat, more of that typical "press the button now to do the special!" crap that you find in games these days, and you buy new moves with xp.

The accents are pretty much horrible and the narration I thought poor and lacking depth. Yeah it's Patrick Stewart, and? Still sounds boring to me. Physics can be annoying when you're visually out of range, or you're killed at the beginning of a move. You know, when the enemy has their sword behind their head, before they actually chop forward. But that's literally it for my complaints!

I like the story, though I'm only on chapter 4 (9 hours in, there are 17 chapters in total). Once you complete a level, you earn the right to try the trial for it: completing the level within a time limit, or meeting certain criteria. You can replay any previous levels from the world map screen whenever you want, which is necessary as you unlock more moves etc and have to go back to collect weapon upgrades you couldn't get to before.

Platforming is bountiful, along with those "where am I supposed to go now?" moments as you scour the screen. Puzzles aren't too hard, and you can forfeit the completion bonus to see how to unlock them, autosaves are plentiful, though if you die during a level you respawn with less health than before, which continues until you're totally dead and need to start the level over. Not that frustrating as the levels themselves never feel that long, and the chapters seem to have a different number of levels within them

82

The Hardest Step

Asrafil | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Asrafil's reviews »

It is known that one of the most difficult transitions for old franchises has been translating to the 3D era from their 2D roots. While Nintendo excelled in this regard with Mario 64 and Zelda Ocarina of Time, many more struggled and failed, Castlevania being an example in more than one occasion.

Lords of Shadow finally brakes the "3D curse" of the saga. Instead of trying to remake Symphony of the Night in 3D, the game takes inspiration from other popular action games from recent times (Shadow of the Colossus, God of War,etc) and mixes it with the lore of Castlevania while leaving the storyline from previous games and starting anew. A wise decision that gives us an interesting story that catches our attention thanks, in no small part, to the fantastic narration by Patrick Stewart.

As one plays through the game it is impossible not to notice that its ambition was much more than the game ultimately ends up being. The scenarios are vast when we look at them but narrow when we explore them. Sometimes they use that limitation to offer some great levels (the music box puzzle being its best example) but most times we yearn to explore more of those fantastic landscapes, and it's hard to believe that that wasn't the idea in the first place.

Despite its flaws, the sum of all its elements will keep us hooked and will surprise us more than one time, showing us with Lords of Shadow that, finally, Castlevania has successfully taken the hardest step of its history.

80

Not Quite A Castlevania Game, but Not Bad Either

nobodyman | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all nobodyman's reviews »

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is a lot of fun to play, but feels more like God of War or Darksiders than a Castlevania game, although I can't think of a better way to translate the series from 2d to 3d.

85

Great title

Cavalieroscuro | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is amazing. Yes, maybe isn't a "true" Castlevania (the game left behind itself the Metroidvania structure to adopt a God of War gameplay style), but it's a very funny game. The soundtrack is one of the best you can find, the graphic is also good (thanks, Kojima) and the game is pretty long, never boring. Plus, the PC version contains the two DLCs for free (and they are about 18€ on console) with a very low base price. Grab it now, and you will never regret.

87

Fantastically Underrated Game!!

metropolis702 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all metropolis702's reviews »

Wow! What a reboot! When I heard that they were rebooting Castlevania I was so 'meh' I couldn't even handle it. Yet I see pretty decent reviews and give it a shot. WOW. BLew my mind! The voice acting is some of the best I've seen in a long time in a video game, show stolen by Patrick Stewart and Jason Issacs. The game feel like god of war but with a slight twang. Definitely recommend!

Pro: Voice Acting Story Gameplay Amazing Bosses

Cons: Difficult puzzles You will get lost Confusing Platforming...at times

78

Good

Bolo | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Lords of Shadow impresses in terms of graphics, because the production operates great landscapes, which change as in Kaleidoscope. The creators of stab everything I could from your graphics engine, but przypłacili it's quite frequent computer animation. In the sound layer, noteworthy is the fact that the majority of the heroes did the famous actors. Among them you will find personalities such as Patrick Stewart, Robert Carlyle, Jason Isaacs and Natasha McElhone.