Reviews for Shank


A fun game with lots of violence

N2tZ | June 8, 2015 | See all N2tZ's reviews »

Shank is a very approachable game. I was pulled in by the beautiful art style and the combat centered gameplay mechanics. I had fun with the game and it took me around 3 hours to beat it on normal difficulty. I didn't try co-op (no one to play with) and didn't bother trying hard mode since Steam reviews said in case of death you had to start the level again because there are no checkpoints. The game strongly recommends using a controller to play but I got by just fine using the keyboard. In the game you have your usual movement buttons, a quick attack, a heavy attack, a gun attack, a grenade button, block, throw, and pounce. The controls themselves seemed to be functional and responsive, except for some platforming areas. For example, pushing up while hanging on to a wall makes you climb up but pushing the direction towards the wall at the same time stops the climbing and makes you slide down. You start the game with your basic weapons: your shank/knife for quick attacks (never changes), a chainsaw for heavy attacks and dual pistols for gun attacks. Through out the game you unlock other heavy weapons and guns that you can change on the go. The unlockables aren't really upgrades, they're more like sidegrades. They're not more powerful or necessarily better, but rather they feel and control differently. Some of the unlocks are faster, some are slower but pack a bigger punch. In my opinion that gives the player a choice but doesn't necessarily force them to stick to the new unlocks. The enemies in the game are mostly divided to small, big and dogs. Smaller/normal sized enemies act as the default opponents. They move, dodge your attacks, grab you and even shoot at you when they have the chance. Bigger enemies/tanks are harder to beat and they tend to attack the player even while they're getting hit, so you have to keep an eye on them and be ready to dodge. Then there's dogs. I hate the dogs in this game since whenever they hit you they also pin you to the ground, forcing you to tap the quick attack button to free yourself. Fortunately they're easy to get rid of and serve more as an annoyance. The bosses are like-able and generally feel different from each other. The player has the option to find out a boss' weakness and exploit it or they can always just repeatedly hit the boss until their HP runs out. Overall the boss fights are pretty okay but nothing really memorable. For $10 Shank isn't necessarily a bad deal considering you'll get at least 2.5-3 hours of gameplay out of it. More if you decide to play the co-op mode or hard mode. You'll unlock all your weapons when you play through the normal mode but you do have the option to unlock costumes by doing different (hidden) tasks. Some of them include beating the game, some of them require completing certain achievements. In conclusion I would give this game 70/100. It's a decent experience but it could use some improvement. It has some replay value but since the story stays the same your only option is to go for higher difficulty.


Good for co-op.

Furrek | Jan. 13, 2015 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of brawler/beat them up/sidescroller games or whatever you use to name a game where you walk from left to right and press few buttons to beat every living (and not) things. Shank is kind of different. It's nice looking game, it's hilarious and have a not bad story. But that's still not enough to please me. So why did I liked Shank? Co-op! You can't play this kind of games alone. Sure, maybe some people will have fun, but for this kind of games partner is must have for a bloody fun which Shank is. Also, maybe some people have noticed that art style is similar to game called "Mark of the Ninja" - yup, that's a game from same guys.


An entertaining, sometimes frustrating beat em up

ninjamerson | Nov. 28, 2014 | See all ninjamerson's reviews »

Shank is an entertaining, somewhat casual beat em up with incredible presentation and great gameplay. The game's visuals are similar to that of a comic book, preventing any violence from appearing too graphic and adding to the overall action-packed theme of this game. The entertainment value of the game is entirely subjective, although i found it to be quite smooth and intuitive, with very little to complain about in the controls department. My only real gripe with the game is that the harder difficulty is a little to unforgiving, especially in levels that contain insta-kills such as long falls, as they do not allow you to make use of checkpoints and simply make you begin at the start of the level upon death. Keep in mind, though, that this difficulty is entirely optional, and you do not need to play on this difficulty if you do not desire.


Playable comic book.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

That's how I see this game. Very stylish hand drawn characters and backgrounds, lots of action. Cliche plot, but who cares, right? It's a beat 'em up. You play for an hour or so, and get up very satisfied. As I already said, I like the looks of this game very much. Same for music and audio in general. Professionaly made, with cool main theme. This game's worth a try, I own both parts, and I'm proud of it.



Alinasser | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all Alinasser's reviews »

SHANK; a beat'em up that i consider a CLASSIC, a 2d very very violent game that makes you feel relaxed after a gaming session. Game play: the strongest aspect in the game; great moves, smooth, satisfying, brutal, simple, beautiful, i just can keep playing. Graphics: cartoony looking which takes some of the brutality of the game off but it's certainly good looking and smooth on the eyes. Sound and Music, great and very fitting and LOVE the voice of the characters. Story: it's there but it's not very engaging, you want to revenge for something and so you are killing everybody on sight, but that's a normal in most beat'em up games so i won't consider this a big negative. Replayability: if you want to kill and chainsaw everybody, you will go back and play again and again.


Another great game from Klei

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

2D scrolling games aren't normally my kind of thing, but since I really enjoy Don't Starve I thought I'd give this a go. It's a fast paced (to me) "beat'em up" cartoon game, with a nice vibrant art style, a range of weapons and combos to dispatch your foes with a loose story thrown in to tie it all together (one of revenge). I haven't tried the co-op mode yet but I can imagine it would be fantastic. Not sure how it compares to other in a genre due to my lack of experience, but if you want a bloodthirsty 2D action game then you could do far worse than picking this up.


Fun Little arcade-like button masher

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This game is a fun brawler with great art design. It's challenging, fun and humorous. The action is non-stop and that makes me happy.


Great Hack and Slash 2d

iamkyo90 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

I really liked the game, everyone says it has graphics of browser if those ignorant test the game on their computers secure them runs slow, the story is very classical, as most video games, about revenge, I liked that apart to kill enemies Quintin Tarantino style has to jump and hang from platforms, also two-player story mode this spectacular, this game is highly recommended to play in pairs.


Absolute champion...

Gojko | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Independent "Indie" games are very popularized in recent years. One of those games is a Shank, by studio Klei Entertainment. Shank must avenge his beloved, who died at the hands of the most dangerous killers criminal underworld. With his knowledge of gang fights and guns, must travel through the underworld to take revenge on those who made his life was in ruins. Brutal, comic book style 2D beat 'em up game will tie you for your chair till the end of story. After that you can always play multi-player with your friend, or you can buy Shank 2 and continue story.



hellinperson | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

Shank is a 2D beat 'em up game developed by Klei Entertainment. Shank is a fast paced game with enjoyable platforming and gameplay. The graphics are cartoony and really good. I enjoyed this game, but it is quite short.